Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.55

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5


Pros and Cons

  • icon"Process Director switches the focus from custom solutions development to business process optimization."
  • icon"I like that through the WYSIWYG editor you can quickly build and create forms and assign each field visibility and access."
  • icon"Great customer support that goes above and beyond to help solve issues. Direct Assistance is available if you need one on one help to solve unique issues."
  • icon"Support when errors occur can be cumbersome. I don't have much experience in this area, so replicating errors, getting logs to capture the info, and deciphering the errors is time consuming."
  • icon"Troubleshooting issues - sometimes finding root cause is difficult. Bug fixes not clearly communicated as to how they were addressed in the next software release."
  • icon"You can usually do everything you need to do in Process Director, but it can sometimes be difficult to figure out the first time."

Have you used Process Director and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All Process Director Reviews

1-25 of 40 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Paulo

Verified reviewer

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2020

Low-Code Digital Transformation

Process Director has allowed us focus on delivering business solutions that improve our overall customer experience while streamlining operations, increasing accountability and transparency.

Pros

Process Director switches the focus from custom solutions development to business process optimization. The product makes its easy to tackle complex workflows quickly and effectively, allowing us to address evolving business needs without delays. Out of the box integration with Active Directory and built-in connectors to multiple database systems facilitate identity management and data connections to ERP systems or other applications. Full audit logs, report building tools, and digital signatures make compliance requirements a non-issue. The new web form builder not only elevates the end-user's experience, but makes form creation even easier. Forms are responsive and can be created and deployed in no time.

Cons

Process Director will challenge the "developer mindset" who'd like to get underneath the hood to address specific needs. Overcoming this requires you to think differently, and forces you to look at a challenge from different perspectives.

Reasons for choosing Process Director

We knew that Process Director would address our needs at the time with a robust feature-set that allowed for future growth and would push us into digital transformation.

Gregory

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Semiconductors

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2020

BP Logix Process Director working well for our use case

Overall, it was as expected to ramp up on learning the software, developing the application fro our use case, and making enhancements to the application over time. We were able to achieve the desired results for managing our workflow and crating the various reports needed to manage the biz process and drive continuous improvements.

Pros

Process timeline framework. Technical support. Controlling user access to the level needed. Regular software updates and free training on new features.

Cons

Troubleshooting issues - sometimes finding root cause is difficult. Bug fixes not clearly communicated as to how they were addressed in the next software release.

Reasons for choosing Process Director

The price and capabilities best aligned to our business case need.

Reasons for switching to Process Director

Needed much more capability than SharePoint offered to manage the workflow.

Anonymous

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

March 2018

I found this to be on par with other canned workflow tools. That is, not so great overall.

Pros

If you don't already have a team of coders, but have talented and technically-inclined individuals itching for a new challenge, this may be a good way to enable them to produce simple throwaway forms and workflows. Also found BP Logix tech support to be above average, though product development support is not included in the basic software license.

Cons

Don't believe the marketing hype. No, your staff won't be cranking out complex forms and processes within days, weeks, or probably even months. You will require a substantial training investment and years of experience for workers to become truly productive with this. It is like learning a programming language, except instead of writing code you are mousing everywhere. And, unlike code, which represents the utmost in flexibility, you are working within the limited confines of one tool that does not support such common development tasks as renaming fields, adding more than x number of records to a drop-down, or diffing files to find out what has changed. When your knowledge workers become frustrated trying to accomplish a task for which the tool was not intended--and this will happen for all but the simplest project requirements--you will be tempted to recruit your coding team to assist. This is a good way to alienate your coders, who probably won't want to invest the time learning a tool that is inherently inferior to what they already have and know.

Scott

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2022

The ultimate sandbox sounds great if you're trying to build a sandcastle.

Pros

The tools are VERY easy to use to get working products and processes, once you get past the learning curve (which, depending on how involved you want to be and where you start, can vary from steep to near vertical). It's largely fun to work with (again, once you know your way around). Seeing your workshopping immediately payoff with a working prototype / final product is very rewarding. The form builder gives you exactly what you need to setup most form types. It too is as simple or complex as you want to make it.

Cons

As I said previously, the versatility in Process Director is both its greatest asset and it's largest downfall. You can make SO many things work, but because of that, the learning curve can be VERY steep unless you have someone holding your hand. Just like you wouldn't write an instruction manual for how to play in a sandbox, it's understandably difficult to codify all the different ways you can work with PD. There is a robust set of documentation, but the largest part of cracking through and finding something USEFUL is knowing WHAT to search for. It's been a while since I was a new user, so it's possible they've improved their onboarding experience with some sort of tailored training, but when I was going through there were a couple of examples, but unless you were looking to build something VERY similar or exactly like the samples, they only helped marginally. Looking back at my journey with the software there are a number of things I would have done differently to better ease myself into the product. Maybe adding a list of things to avoid during your first couple of builds? Things like arrays (having multiple of a section of fields, like multiple vendors for a PO), filling drop downs from other sources, and most custom tasks should probably be avoided. The first couple of processes should be very simple with simple forms (either very few fields or nothing too complicated).

Reasons for choosing Process Director

Level of customization; reporting tools; sandbox type approach to design. Several of the other products we looked at did not have as free flowing of a form editor, which imo is the basis for everything else.

Ricky

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2017

A simple and easy to use software package that packs a big punch to solves unique business processes

- Process Director helps us provide solutions to niche processes that fall outside of the company's enterprise processes. - Moving from hard copy forms to an electronic format gives us visibility into our processes and eliminates the need to ask "Where are we on this process". - Automating our processes improves efficiency and eliminates a majority of phone calls and emails back and forth. - We have been able to develop simple processes for quick hits to improve a process as well as solve and improve complex processes.

Pros

- Easy for a non-developer to develop a process from start to finish, yet has the tools a developer needs to develop complex scenarios. - Scripting capability with the SDK allows the software to be extended to meet your process when the out of box functionality doesn't fit your use case. - Great customer support that goes above and beyond to help solve issues - Direct Assistance is available if you need one on one help to solve unique issues - When we were evaluating BPM solutions, Process Director was the only demo that actually presented a complete solution for our use case in the RFQ where other industry identified "leaders" in BPM were not flexible enough to provide a solution. - Process Director is a perfect fit to solve niche processes in our company that fall outside of our enterprise applications - Very easy upgrade process. The actual upgrade process has been less than 10 mins for us even between major version releases.

Cons

I don't have a con that I can list since I have yet to find a scenario that Process Director doesn't have a mechanism to solve.

Dan

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2022

Nice product overall - documentation needs a revamp

Pros

I can automate the workflow and perform tasks based on actions, etc.

Cons

It's very difficult to find the right "something" in the documentation. Often the definition of a word uses the same word to describe itself. Which ultimately doesn't define the word at all. Often there is more emphasis placed on "outlier" options for a feature than actual explanation of the feature. The search tool doesn't return pertinent results. It may, only I have to wade thru pages and pages of results to find the right item. In my opinion, the documentation is not very useful as-is (it's an internal joke to send someone to the documentation to get an answer). I am a former ASP.NET web developer. I want more control over how my forms look. For instance, multi-line input boxes. Give me a way to auto-grow the box on the page as I type (not just a cursor grab spot to make the box bigger). Also, give me a way to make the box 100% width within the containing table cell/div. I also want the ability to create a sub-form that I can pop-up and capture more information and to place the action buttons. For example, when I click an action button that requires a comment, I want to have a pop-up that prompts for the comment vs. forcing the user to enter one on the form prior to clicking the action button. Its a much cleaner look and flow that way. The dev env needs help. Overall, it's easy to use only it forgets where its at often and I have to traverse the partition tree again. What I find also frustrating is that I can't get at the form control properties from the design view.

Reasons for switching to Process Director

Needed something more flexible.

Stephen

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2022

Best Business Management tool for either rookie or pro

We have been using Process director for more than 7 years. It saved us dozens of paper, we highly transfer from our paper-based model to an electronic-based model. We use PD from student service to administration service, from all programs to all departments. It's easy to use whether the user is in the institution or outside.

Pros

Once you design the form, you may start from the word document(for any 32-bit version), or you may just get started from a web based. There is no installation required if you want to create a form. From the web-based portal, there are a lot of modules you may select from. After the template is done, you may use workflow or timeline to trigger the form.

Cons

For the array features, it's highly recommended that the nested array could be implemented.

Reasons for choosing Process Director

Variety modules, mature products.

William

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2022

Almost There!

Pros

The workflow engine is robust and flexible - #1 asset; rapid app development is easily achievable; perfect for all-in-one apps (front-end data collection, document storage, workflow/task/notification engine); customer service and training are topnotch

Cons

GUI and app look and feel are lacking and seem dated; wish Process Director was a little more user friendly for non-techs - great product, but still a little too difficult for our non-tech users to develop apps; $$$ for higher ed - could really use the features in mid and upper tier offerings, but too expensive; not a knock but would like to see more "examples" in documentation

Robab

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Semiconductors

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2022

Easy to set up, flexible, great customer support

Pros

Flexibility, Change control, easy to learn

Cons

like to have defined test cases to test the new additions before implementation. it is all to the user to come up with test cases. I used to be the developer for the tool and I have xfered this role to a new employee and by now this feature might be available

Reasons for switching to Process Director

Sharepoint reached its limits and was not scalable

Karthikeyan

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2017

Using BP Logix implementing Electronic Employment Application Process

It is very developer friendly and we were able to use this product for all developers with little bit of learning from BP Logix perspective. Also this product helps to develop the flow as engine and it nicely integrates with our company proprietary software.

Pros

Developer Friendly : Lot of components are really reusable that helps the developers to save considerable amount of time Timeline : One of the best object I have come across. Very user friendly and it is really very easy to extend for complicated decision making flows. PDF Creation : Creating PDF in multiple documents get accomplished in very simple steps. Business Rules & Business Values : Both are very user friendly and able to connect to our back end database very easily.

Cons

PDF Sizing : One of the biggest concern in BP Logix now is, PDFs are not creating with the size optimized and over the period of time, this will be big concern for us. "Processing Please wait....." GUI : Message that displays when moves from one form to another form cannot be customized. Lack of support Edit Mask : For the field that has special data type like phone, email, hourly rate dollar amount, BP Logix doesn't offer a easy way to edit mask a field.

Shaun

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2020

Process Director drives our digital transformation

Our implementation focus has been driven by public safety, compliance issues, and return-on-investment. We are resource constrained and by re-engineering processes with Process Director we are often able to speed up processes, reduce or eliminate manual intervention, improve data accuracy and compliance while freeing up people to address higher value add tasks.

Pros

The ease of use and extensibility of Process Director has been a game changer for us. We have been able to leverage data across the enterprise to re-engineer processes to achieve much greater efficiencies, compliance, data accuracy and cost savings. The flexibility that Process Director offers through their SDK has allowed us to easily extend the functionality of the product to address virtually all challenges that we have come across. We have literally changed our project discovery process to focus on what the business needs to make their processes more efficient and not around the limitations of a platform or tool.

Cons

I have no cons. When a limitation to their software exists BP Logix support staff often suggest an approach that you may not have thought of. We have been able to address limitations that are a result of a unique requirement through the use of the SDK.

Tim

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

June 2022

Flexible and complete solution

Pros

Rich features and well thought out development environment makes this a very powerful low code business process solution. Great support team and documentation / demonstrations are continually improved.

Cons

Arrays and databases are not very integrate-able in some instances. Automatically generating csv exports is a bit of a pain. Processing automated workflow steps requires additional manual setup.

Renu

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2020

Great tool to build, run, monitor and improve your business process

Process Director has allowed us to streamline our processes tremendously. It works well and ensures a great workflow between different departments.

Pros

Process Director was easy to install and not many additional infrastructure capacity was needed. It's also easy to maintain. Deploying the processes to different environments is made easy by export & import features. The upgrades are straightforward and not time consuming. The process timeline model over the traditional and complex flow chart model is innovative and easy to use. Complex business processes can be implemented with wide variety of custom tasks. Very convenient and low/no code solution. Process Director gives the ability to see trends over time. It allows you to build, run, monitor and do continuous improvement easily. The support staff and our Account Manager are very prompt and responsive.

Cons

I would like to be able to produce reports from templates to suit my users needs. The reporting tool requires prior knowledge and experience with some reporting tools. The Knowledge Views are helpful in querying some basic information but it can get tricky with arrays and it's slow in rendering data.

Maimoona

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2022

Process Director Review

With introduction of Process Director we have improved our end user experiences by reducing the overall processing time. Easily trackable requests/forms. Critical workflows were optimized with implicit parallelism. Improved accountability of each request/process owned by various entities. Helped in enhancing and improving organizational processes continuously.

Pros

Its a code free tool which made our lives easier to automate the processes in lesser time. It was even easier to learn about deployment, development and administration. Within span of 9-12 months we were able to automate about 45-50 process and all of them are working perfectly fine. A Lot of re-work reduced.

Cons

So far applications/forms in our University hasn't faced any critical issue . The team was supportive enough to spend hours with us in making this electronic application forms going LIVE.

Reasons for choosing Process Director

It was suggested by one of our leadership team , as this software was already used in the organizations he worked with.

Steve

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2022

BPM software that is easy to configure and deploy.

Very happy with the tool. We've used it for over a decade and consistently get great value and ROI.

Pros

Process Director is really easy to configure to meet our needs. Whether it's a simple form and process, or one that is more complex, we can always find an deploy a solution relatively quickly. I will say, it helps immensely to have a tech lead who really knows his stuff, but even when we first started out and we were first learning about the tool and it's capabilities, the support from BP Logix was always there to help us get going.

Cons

We made some critical design choices that have proven to be less than ideal, based on ease of downstream configuration. If we knew then what we know now, we obviously would have set things up more efficiently. It's been tough to untangle some of those decisions, but I suspect that is not specific to this software.

Alan

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT