What are GitHub users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using GitHub software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.76

4,898 Reviews

5
3,741
4
979
3
70
2
4
1
1
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"It has greatly improved its bug tracking and project tracking mechanisms. It has a number of great add-ons which can help in software quality and maintenance."
  • icon"Another great benefit is that you don't have to invest for the security of the code as that is handled by Github itself."
  • icon"It has integrations with any popular CI/CD system, which makes it easy to use. The compare/pull request UI is really awesome and helpful."
  • icon"I personally was confused by pushes and pulls and was worried I was going to mess things up."
  • icon"A lot of fake and spam results come up with search very hard to filter out actual solution which makes it very time consuming."
  • icon"I hate the web interface and the difficult way to sync with a local client - The paths are confusing at times too."

Jump to:

Browse all GitHub Reviews

  • Have you used GitHub and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 4,795 reviews

Andrew

Company size: 51 - 200 employees

Time used: Unspecified

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

April 2021

GitHub Review: Great software service for a version control system

User Profile

Mario Humberto

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

Otima plataforma de desenvolvimento colaborativo de projetos de softwares

utilizei muito em projetos na industria e no comercio nas empresas que colaborei em desenvolvimento de software aplicativos para desktop e crm e pdv e assim como a criação de consultas de repositorios e correçoes para sbgd em relatorios das industrias e volumes de vendas e mercadorias do grupo acessos de gestores na sede da empresa e otima a comunidade colaborativa de desenvolvimento.

Pros

Facil de usar podemos navegar pela plataforma e consultar editar e baixar os codigos fonte do projeto personalizar a sua necesidade e colaborar na plataforma para melhorar outros projetos e salvar na sua conta ou usar os comandos do git( clone, add, commit, push) podemos consultar e colaborar dentro da plataforma de desenvolvimento de sotwares.

Cons

muito bom poderia ter a plataforma em portugues e preço da mensalidade da plataforma para empresas e otimo. utilizo sempre que estou alocado em algum projeto de desenvolvimento.

Reasons for choosing GitHub

e muito facil de utilizar porem precisa ter conhecimento de programação, assim que conhece a programação e facil interagir na comunidade colaborativa, tem fontes e repositorios, que ja sao corrigidas e atualizadas com push e manten o controle das versões, na sua biblioteca e otima opção para trabalhar com varios desenvolvedores, trocar ideas no brainstroms e aplicar as correçoes no repositorio do seu codigo fonte do deu repositorio.

User Profile

Emiliano

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

One of the best git services out there

We use it to share a repository with a Unity project (games for mobile and PC mostly), and it's really been helpful for us since our struggles to collaborate due to Unity nuances in particular, helped us to learn how to build better code that's maintainable on a team, this things are often overlooked on one-man projects. By Github being free and world renown it's quite easy that colleagues already have an account, thus making it easy for us to give them access for a code review, game-jams or collaborations in general.

Pros

Github is world renown, it's been making my life easier for years. We mainly use with colleagues or friends to work on game development projects, and it's easy to use even for non-coders since they include a Windows and MacOS GUI out of the box, and it's compatible with any git manager out there. They recently added the ability to have free private repositories, which are great.

Cons

The fork and pull request process designed to propose changes on third party repositories seems a bit troublesome to me in particular, but I understand why they did it, and I just got used to it.

Reasons for switching to GitHub

I mainly started coding on Gitlab since they've offered private repositories for free and the paid plans were cheaper, but Github updated their prices and features last year (2020), thus it made me prefer to have everything on one place. Also, Github is more advanced and robust in regards of features and security in general, I feel safer there.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

Best source control system ever

It always sent clear messages to help myself find myself at the development, no matter the stage it is. It always provided simple and safe tools to helpe me whenever I needed. In general I am very satisfied with the tool. Nowadays I do not pay for any use, for I do not ned it, but I will gladely pay again when the time cames.

Pros

In addition to being one of the first platforms of its kind and a great choice for software project management, github went further and became a true developer network, the first one I guess. Many companies hire exclusively considering the particular repository of each developer what mekes the employees even more eggor to lear the environment.

Cons

Not much but yet a little above the price if compared to other rivals.

Reasons for choosing GitHub

It was the most popular of that time (and probably yet the most popular)

Reasons for switching to GitHub

Between others git was developed by Linus Torvalds, a code versioning tool by developers to developers and it led us to use git, from there we needed something remote, something easy to use and them we ended up using git, the most popular of that time (and probably yet the most popular)

Mohammed

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

Mi2020 reviews

Pros

How it can be use to solve tickets and I like how easy it is to use

Cons

I will like you guys to improve the internet connection in speeding the connection faster then expected

Santosh

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2022

Excellent Developer Tool - GitHub

- The overall experience with GitHub is excellent and very satisfactory. The tool has many good features provided OOB for many customers to get go from the initial setup itself.

Pros

- The most important feature that we use at a very critical phase is the version control, creating pull requests for the developers to review the code base continuously, for continuous integration and continuous deployments for merging code and deploying code to production - The tool is very easy to use and navigate without any prior experience - The tool has very good support team to resolve any issues in the process - The tool is very widely used by enterprise companies in the market to manage the code base

Cons

- The pricing could be more reasonable as compared to the other tools in the market - The UI can be more intuitive for the users to work with - The tool can include more features in the tool that could be used by many customers instead of building custom API's and having issues in the workflows.

Reasons for choosing GitHub

- The pricing was less when compared to the other tool we choose. It did not had other integrations we are looking for.

User Profile

Tsitsi Hazel

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

GitHub Collaboration Review

It is a secure, scalable and reliable tool used to effectively manage version-control of any software, ideal for various types of code. GitHub has a wide range of capabilities and security measures.

Pros

Users can manage their time more efficiently by doing code versioning and code review. Multiple developers can stay in sync with each other and can develop their software products in collaboration with one another. Open Source software products can be created, accessed and improved publicly and developers can contribute to the Open Source project from anywhere in the world. GitHub can be used as a resume as it helps with visibility and reputation building for developers by allowing recruiters to view their interesting projects when applying for job opportunities.

Cons

The intial learning curve can be tricky for new users. Onboarding requires a bit of detail and practise with regards to cloning repositories, creating a fork/ branch, pushing changes to code and raising pull requests when getting started, but once this process is well understood, the product is easy to use.

Reasons for choosing GitHub

GitHub is more widely preferred and used by software developers globally, uses less bandwidth and provides visibility of projects for future version improvements and for recruitment.

Tiffany

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

Our Company Loves GitHub!

Great experience with GitHub.

Pros

Our entire company uses GitHub to some capacity and it has been great. In terms of product management, it keeps everyone in sync and organized even across teams. We love the ability to be able to customize the software to our liking. It's extremely easy to use.

Cons

Because our company uses it for both product management and development, certain boards can get overwhelming. Overall, I don't have many negative things to say about this software.

Reasons for switching to GitHub

We were using GitHub for development from the start, but decided to stop using Jira and also use GitHub for product management to allow for a more seamless experience.

Omar Eduardo

Verified reviewer

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

Great for teaching coding classes!

After you get past the steep learning curve, GitHub is definitely a tool that helps you be more efficient. It is an industry standard, and I would consider it a step above all of its other competitors.

Pros

I work as a software engineer for a large consulting company, but as a side job, I teach a programming class. I use GitHub to share with my students all of the sample code and slides that we work on during our classes. To me, one of the most important features is being able to work on my projects on multiple devices, than span across different operating systems. I have a two laptops (one of which is a Mac!) and a desktop computer. With GitHub, I can quickly sync my code and documents between devices and seamlessly pick up were I left off. If I ever make a mistake and need to go back to previous versions of my slides or code, I can quickly restore them with the excellent versioning features. For my students, it is very freeing knowing that every project or problem that we solve during class will be immediately available to them right after class. I helps them concentrate on learning and understanding the programs instead of having to copy everything to their computers.

Cons

The initial learning curve is high... specially if you are new to code collaboration tools. Newcomers usually spend a long time learning the git commands, and how they can solve problems. For newcomers, I would recommend the GitHub Desktop client (even if it is frowned upon by more experienced devs), to get a hang of how the branches, commits, push, pull and operations work.

Reasons for choosing GitHub

GitHub is the most reputable repository tool on the market. It uses industry standards and it is very secure. Also, it supports a wide range of programming languages, so it is ideal to host any type of open source software.

Harshal

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

Best Source Code Management tool for internet based collaboration

It may be a bit difficult to get around it in the beginning, especially if you shift from traditional Code Versioning Systems. Once you get around how it works, its quick and easy.

Pros

The best thing is that its internet based and unlike VSS you don't have to set it up rigorously for your organisation. Almost all IDEs provide quick and seamless collaboration with this.

Cons

Since its completely internet based, I am not too sure about its security. While the entire world is moving to cloud, I believe some parts of intellectual property should still stay inside the boundaries like either on intranet or at max VPN protected extranet.

Reasons for choosing GitHub

We heard a lot about it, from friends, ex colleagues, and many others on the internet also. They all said it was reliable. We started with some not so protected code and then gradually shifted all of it on the github.

Reasons for switching to GitHub

We needed a completely internet based tool to seamlessly share code with other developers and clients.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

Github - Central point for your code

A Good experience, github has not only provided with storage for codes but also a platform bringing development collaboration, intergeration with pipelines and a good developer community for different issues.

Pros

1. Provides good Version Control features 2. Easy of use 3. Collaboration between Teams 4. Good Integration support

Cons

1. No Support on mobile devices 2. Require working knowledge before usage 3. Complex UI , can be more intuitive

Reasons for choosing GitHub

1. Market leader for repository 2. Good Technical Discussion communities 3. Availability of various open source codes with GitHub

Yunuen

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

Apoyo para el desarrollo de software

Me gusta mucho esta plataforma ya que cuenta con funciones interesantes y muy completas.

Pros

Me gusta que es un software bastante completo te ayuda a dar seguimiento a los errores y además brinda resolución de problemas.Es una herramienta gratuita y fácil de usar que admite archivos de rebaja lo cual es importante para fines de documentación.

Cons

Que solamente se pueda implementar un sitio estático a través de la instalación de Github.io.

Reasons for choosing GitHub

Porque tiene una plataforma más atractiva y funcional.

Raj

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

GitHub Software Developer review

Recommended software to maintain version control

Pros

Ability to collaborate and work on the source code and maintain the track of branches and bugs

Cons

The analytics features provided can be improved

Reasons for choosing GitHub

The wide community of GitHub and its ease of integration of it into the Microsoft platform

User Profile

Ansh

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2022

Easily Track And Report Bugs, Monitor Project Progress

GitHub's powerful set of tools help developers track and fix bugs in their code, manage projects with ease, and automate their workflow. With GitHub, teams can comment on code, discuss issues, and review changes before they're merged into the main codebase. And with GitHub's integration with popular third-party tools like Jira and Slack, developers can get even more out of workflow.

Pros

GitHub is a great tool for programmers because it has a lot of features that are useful for programming. GitHub can be used for bug reporting, bug monitoring, and management. Additionally, GitHub can be used for integration and automation. Additionally, GitHub provides team reports and comments functionality. Finally, GitHub is also great because it is constantly improving its functionality. It offers a complete suite of tools to help your team manage bugs, integrate with your existing workflows, and automate repetitive tasks.

Cons

GitHub is the leading platform for software development and collaboration. GitHub is the place where developers come to share code, work together on projects, and build amazing software.

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

Smoothest experience using github

Using github my code management process is much simplified and i can focus more on development

Pros

Github provides plethora of features which is very helpful for managing our code bases

Cons

I do not have any dislike with this software

Reasons for switching to GitHub

Bitbucket was costing a lot more for our usage.

Ava

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Wireless

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2022

Powerful tool for developers and to be able to carry out a wide variety of projects as a team.

It has been a great step for the development of my personal and commercial projects, because I can work hand in hand with my colleagues, being able to carry out projects from scratch either in private or public repositories, assigning tasks, being able to follow them, exchange ideas and even solve problems in the code in a short period of time. In addition, when working together with other colleagues, it is much easier to complete projects on time and deliver successful projects.

Pros

There are several aspects that I like about GitHub as a software developer, having this high potential tool at hand makes it much easier to carry out projects of great value, since in one place it is possible to carry out the entire process necessary for a clean code.I like that it allows to be able to manage in a more reasonable way the time of development of versions and the time that is needed for the review of the code, because by being able to allow access to whoever you want to be able to solve any problem in the code, it makes it easier for them to solved in the shortest possible time. Not only does it guarantee a clean code but it also allows synchronizing the development of the code, that is, different tasks can be assigned to several members so that the progress of the project is rapid. A valuable feature of this tool is that it makes it possible to get the original code and even make changes without having to worry that the other team members will not have the updated version, this saves time and avoids overwriting the code which can be a great benefit error. In addition, assigning tasks allows the project to be much more fluid and that the workflow does not fall on a single person and the best thing is that it is simple to track progress. For example, assigning tasks gives me and my team to have better coordination and be able to advance in each task quickly.

Cons

GitHub is an ideal tool for developers and programmers and even students since it allows you to work in private or public repositories, being able to interact with other developers, however, before being able to use each of its functions smoothly, you need time to fully understand it said software, this is because its learning curve can be somewhat high and more so if you are a beginner.

User Profile

Meraz

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2022

Must have for all Development Endevours

It is a safe, scalable, and trustworthy technology that can successfully handle the version control of any program, making it appropriate for a wide variety of code. GitHub is equipped with a comprehensive set of features and safety precautions. We have aggressively elucidated a lot on the manner that standard getting resources are not really helpful when trying to find a solid engineer. Top designers don't hunt effectively for new opportunities and don't use regular work sheets or LinkedIn. It is recommended that you search in certain locations for high-end technological expertise. How exactly does one go about locating a designer in this day and age? On the stages where the IT people group gathers to collaborate, exchange coding techniques, and learn from one another, you will find programming engineers.

Pros

Setting up and getting started with Github is quite simple. When you begin a new repository, you will be guided through the process of effortlessly adding your source code from your computer to your repository using a few simple instructions. It also has a large number of other capabilities, such as task management, problem management, interaction with DevOps for deployment, static hosting of websites, and a great deal of more functionality. Additionally, it has a high level of extendability and enables you to integrate a large number of market-sourced components. You have the option of keeping your source code private or making it available to the public.

Cons

Some time for me Because GitHub was developed without a simple user interface, verifying even the smallest and easiest things, such as a date, requires you to hover over another date in order to give you the exact hour and time of a commit per se. Because of things like these, using GitHub may be challenging for those who are just starting out with the program, but it becomes easier the more you work with it.

Reasons for choosing GitHub

Bitbucket is too expensive.

User Profile

Fábio

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

GitHub for devs and for security reviews

Overall, GitHub offers all main features of git in a user friendly website. Everything can be done through the interface, including creating your own static site.

Pros

GitHub is the most well known git implementation. For security reviews, GitHub offers many solid information regarding source code commits. It is easy to search for a new source code change on both command line and GUI, making it easier to detect new changes and potential vulnerable code. It also is easy to understand what was changed to the source code after a security fix, allowing for easy comprehension of the implementation.

Cons

Since it is an implementation of git, the learning curve of more complex commands and features is very steep. The average user will only use the basic features (like git clone, which downloads a copy of the repository to the local machine, or git pull/git commit, which will publish the changes to the remote repository), but when trying to use the more complex features (like merging, purging code, reverting a state) it can be time consuming to learn.

Reasons for switching to GitHub

More developers use GitHub

Elian

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

Github Review

My experience with Github has been awesome and it continues to be like so. Is very handy and I use it on my daily routine.

Pros

I mostly like the ease of use and in the same time the big hand that Github gives me and my colleagues every day to accomplish our daily tasks and be coordinated with each other.

Cons

To be honest I think that Github is the best code hosting platform and is very hard to find any disadvantage. I use it every day and I am happy.

Reasons for choosing GitHub

Ease of use and the possibility to do a lot of things like project management, task planning, versioning, collaboration, review etc.

Reasons for switching to GitHub

Bitbucket was inly focused in versioning and code hosting and did not provide all those functionalities that Github offers.

emil

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

An assortment of undertakings for associating with GitHub

We have proactively expounded a lot on the way that to track down a solid engineer, normal obtaining assets are not exceptionally supportive: top designers don't look effectively for new positions and don't utilize ordinary work sheets or LinkedIn. You should utilize specific destinations to track down top tech ability. So how might one track down a designer nowadays? Programming engineers can be found on the stages where the IT people group shares coding tips, works together and gains from one another.

Pros

Administrator takes your code and changes it into a powerful, dispersed pipeline. You can keep on utilizing your current devices, dialects, foundation, and contents. Official forms a rich DAG structure, however such that regards positive designing and doesn't repress it. You can utilize Prefect's useful API to change scripts with insignificant snares; or you can get to the conceded computational diagram straightforwardly; or any blend thereof. It depends on you.

Cons

GitHub is dead-easy to use in the fundamental list of capabilities. The arrangement is negligible and all forming observes guidelines and so forth We had no issues setting up access for different clients and when private archives opened up even in the complementary plan it was an easy decision. Githubs Actions region large assistance - when set up appropriately and can assist with computerizing errands like sending more than a few servers. It is an exceptionally useful asset, however perhaps more convoluted to arrangement then in other comparative products.

Reasons for choosing GitHub

With regards to working, I focus on my qualities and client stories regardless of anything else. Keeping that in mind, I've set up a progression of pre-run runs to plan and facilitate explicit conditions inside the setting of PI arranging ages and client stories. Accumulation Refinements empowers us to tweak our preparation collectively, and we have the choice of setting off individual client stories to run after the past run. This actually intends that while we'll be working rapidly, we'll have the option to prepare of time.

Dandre

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

Essential to every developer

Overall great experience, for bot myself and my team.

Pros

Github is secure, promotes collaboration and is free for the most part. The core features of git is free and for further more "niche" features you can get enterprise. Github is great to go and check how you dependencies work in projects that you use and to see anything from issues to versions related to the source code

Cons

One (I want to say annoying) thing is that all the repositories is stored in one place. I would love to just be able to separate personal projects with fun projects and shared projects with the use of a folder structure. Also difficult to get a hold of GitHub documentation, i found myself learning trough Youtube videos instead of practicing from a document page (I am sure there is but i could not find it)

Reasons for choosing GitHub

Free to use. Secure and popular.

Reasons for switching to GitHub

Licenses are expensive and limits the number of members in our team.

Jakub

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

Github Action solves automation issues

Generally it is ok. The usage is simple. Connection 3rd party apps to GitHub works well but not out of the box. Sometimes there was an encoding issue when using 3rd party apps to push changes - but they were probably client issues rather then GitHubs.

Pros

GitHub is dead-simple to use in the basic feature set. The setup is minimal and all versioning follows standards etc. We had no issues setting up access for other users and once private repositories became available even in the free tier it was a no-brainer. Githubs Actions area big help - when set up properly and can help automate tasks such as deployment over several servers. It is a very powerful tool, but maybe more complicated to setup then in other similar produts.

Cons

The product management additions seemed as a good idea first, but rendered unusable (for us) since it people (devs) tend to use one app for versioning in command line and other apps for tracking and reporting. Comically joining them was not well received. The GitHub desktop app can cause authentification issues for non experienced users.

Reasons for choosing GitHub

Userbase and pricing (can be free) for organizations.

Reasons for switching to GitHub

GitHub seems to be used by a broader userbase. We wanted to fit in easier. Plus the private repos became available in free tier. Until then BitBucket was the better choice. GitHub actions help a lot in CI/CD.

Charles Boampong

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2022

The best project management tool for software developers.

We're currently building an advanced Learner Management System and the workflow and collaboration via GitHub is so rewarding.

Pros

Our team of web developers live in different geographical locations but GitHub offers us the best environment to meet, collaborate and manage projects. It offers modern tools that help developers to work remotely and yet be more effective and productive than if they were to work in one physical location. It is the number 1 platform that I'd recommend for every web/software developer. The ability to track all the changes you make during the lifecycle of any project and it's flexibility to allow other team members to make their contributions to the project is so cool.

Cons

Not any that's affecting our projects yet.

Reasons for choosing GitHub

It appeared to have more positive reviews.

Reasons for switching to GitHub

Someone recommended GitHub to us because of the few hitches that we were experiencing that time.

Masoud

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2022

Secure, innovative and feature rich, a competitor to all other providers

I cannot imagine working without GitHub, to be honest. I appreciate that there are many other alternatives these days but GitHub to me is the industry standard that makes developer jobs a lot easier and manageable.

Pros

When you think about source code management you'd think of GitHub straight away. The security is taken seriously on GitHub and the CLI has made using it super simple and convenient from the comfort of your terminal. The offering of integrations with different DevOps tools is a must-have these days that you'd get out of the box with GitHub. Another important factor that makes GitHub stand out is its reliability which in the entire time that I've used it has always been available and has never been down. GitHub has not stopped innovating new features and improving their services after all these years and it's amazing to see that they offer a new feature frequently.

Cons

I'd love to see a feature-rich mobile app from GitHub to allow managing the repositories easier and more practical on small screen devices.

Reasons for choosing GitHub

I believe GitHub is more reputable between developers and more reliable compared to other competitors.

User Profile

Amitava

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2022

Goto Source control for software developers

Pros

I've been using GitHub for more than 10 years. It is the goto hosted Git service for my personal and enterprise SCM platform. It has pretty much everything you need for software development starting from source code management to issue tracking, project management, build tools (Actions) and online code editor. I also use GitHub CoPilot which is great productivity tool saving at least 30% of my development time every day.

Cons

There are no complains really! I love everything about GitHub.

Reasons for choosing GitHub

Better offerings, free plan is less limiting and better and faster UI.

Reasons for switching to GitHub

I find GitHub much better product, better offerings in terms of features and user experience.

Showing 1 - 25 of 4,795 reviews
GitHub

GitHub

4.76/5 out of 4,898 reviews
Learn More