All MantisBT Reviews

1-25 of 99 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Fernando

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2022

Good and easy issue tracker

We use MantisBT to help desk, IT project management and software development tickets (bug a new funcionalities)

PROS

Easy use and API and plugin capabilities

CONS

I would like a more modern user interface and better statistic funcionality

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

Feature Rich bug tracker

Proper tracking of daily tasks.

PROS

Can track multiple projects and multiple users working on it. The filters given are really awesome, it helps a lot to track the project and user workflow. Many functionalities are given with simplicity like forms, user tracker, project-wise tracking, road maps, user account, project details, etc. Various User levels are given to work with, so it's easy to assign, resolve and close the issue for higher / lower level user too. The detailing about any task gives in-depth info of any project, in which child task, parent task functionality plays the major role.

CONS

The UI is not at all user-friendly, the non-technical person could not understand it easily. The concept of child class/ parent class is tedious to understand in the first view. The links for "Bug Update" page (Pencil icon) and "bug view" page (hyperlinked Bug ID) are located really very close, so while updating the task, it creates confusion.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2022

Very simple bug tracking

PROS

The main dashboard is simple and easy to use and distributes issues by statuses with a very handy timeline. You can manage many projects and sub-projects. Also, it is very useful to link your GitHub repo and see code diffs directly from MantisBT.

CONS

The Roadmap view is only a list of closed issues, it lacks a Gant Chart, agile reports and Epics management. It lacks support to integrate other repositories natively.

Diane

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2020

Keeps my world running smoothly

I've been using the product for over five years and it does the job.

PROS

I use this product daily to manage all tasks involved in multiple online development projects. It is easy to use, keeps everything organized in one place and is easy to update and customize to my needs.

CONS

It currently meets my needs so no critique at this time. It would be great to have additional training on features we may not be aware of.

Reason for choosing MantisBT

Inexpensive, easy to install and easy to get team up to speed on how to use it.

Pamela

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2019

MantisBT for Support Ticket Tracking

We use MantisBT for our Support Staff to report, track and research problems our customers have encountered with our software product. At the same time, it is also used by our software development team to report and track issues and enhancements with our software. Being able to correlate the two is something that other support tracking software cannot do.

PROS

It is easy to use, customizable and works well for integrating issues between support and development teams.

CONS

Not that it is truly a bad thing, but there are just so many fields as options, it can be overwhelming.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2019

Ugly but free and works

I've been using Mantis in both companies I cofounded. Everyone was horrified at the UI, but I never had a single issue with managing it.

PROS

Free Has everything for bug tracking and project management Simple enough to never break

CONS

The UI is, as they'd put it in the action movies, "one ugly m.er" - aesthetics of a service elevator Configuration must be done by editing PHP files, not cool

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2019

Mantis Review

overall it good for small companies

PROS

Good Bug tracking tool. Can be integrated with other tools easily. Can track multiple project at the same time Different roles for different users search is very easy to use and multiple options are available for search

CONS

Boring UI Reporting is not much strong compared to other tools

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

Takes some time to get used to. But totally worth it

Ive been a user of jira for three years. To be honest, it wasnt a smooth transition. But the customisation mantis provides was worth it.

PROS

As a user of this software, i have been pretty much basically been able to customise it to the max. I can pretty much make the tickets look the way i want.

CONS

Sometimes there are the occasional hiccups like missing token error mesage. Its very annoying since you have to go back in the browser to submit the ticket again

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2018

Rock solid Bug Tracker

PROS

- Simple installation and use. - Allows customization to address different project needs. - Useful integration with Testlink allowing to assign bugs to test cases

CONS

- UI is very outdated. - The reporting tools are limited. - The installation files lack any kind of documentation.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2019

It is a simple bug tracking tool and can be used in more than one project

Mantis is a good bug tracking tool, it is free and can be used in several projects.

PROS

It is free, easy to use and has a simple workflow to track the bugs.

CONS

The interface could be better to have a better user experience. Sometimes the icons get me confused.

Maria Agnes

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

Simple but good bug tracking tool, serves its purpose

It let me tracking my daily tasks plus I learned all the basics of bug tracking process from this tool

PROS

It's a good platform to track issues for multiple projects and users. It offer a good, user friendly interface not pretty but functional with all the features you would expect for a bug tracking platform. Overall, this is a small program, very straigthforward making it very handy and probably the best option for new users or startup operations.

CONS

Though its UI is clear and concise, need to improve on some graphical look and feel. It's also not as customizable as other bug tracking tool/project management like JIRA

Giorgia

Machinery, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

A useful tool for multiple functions

I'm using this tool to manager our quality system of a testing laboratory . And in particular I use mantis to manage system anomalies, to manage tests, and to manage the laboratory's instrument inventory.

PROS

The best thing about the tool is that it is very flexible and allows it to be used for several very different applications. Within our company it's used as a database for anomaly management, for non-conformity and quality issues management, for patent portfolio management, for accredited test laboratory management.

CONS

Nothing in particular, but a colleague of mine takes care of the "customization" of the tool according to our needs, but it is not entirely easy to implement these changes to the code. Obviously it's normal that it's like that and that to modify the code you need someone "expert" who knows the language in code

Yorick

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2017

The product looks very RAW. sorting is very limited on the product but the search function is great.

Keeping task in order and help you back track a task and check the work done on it.

PROS

Help keeps assigned task in order. Also can review other people task and check their progress. I like the color coding for different type of task which really helps

CONS

It could have been more user friendly. I would prefer asana over this product. sometimes i don't receive mails for the new task assigned to me but that could very well be a problem with the mail client.

Mike Lester

Real Estate, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2019

If you are looking to kickstart with a FREE bug tracker, go with Mantis

What i really liked about MantisBT is the simple and straightforward approach to tracking and squashing those pesky bugs! It is a real monitoring tool to keep track and address issues in the development or post-go-live of the project. Not much after that.

PROS

What I liked about MantisBT is the simple workflow it requires of the user to report, track, and update "bugs" in your projects (software). Instead of keeping track on the old and clunky offline Microsoft Excel, we deemed it best to implement a simple bug tracking system to quickly address issues in our software development project.

CONS

What I liked least about the software is that it is very limited in terms of its features and being an Open source solution, lacks the commercial support of similar paid software.

Rushi

Consumer Goods, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

Best for the Bigger Projects and Time consuming for the smaller one

Its the very good software as its free and I am Technical. Don't use it if you don't have Technical Knowledge.

PROS

- Open Source and Free - Lots of Functionality to track and maintain the Bugs - Make the issues relationship and get the perfect estimation. - Great Reporting for the Ongoing Projects - Easy to upload on the server.

CONS

- Take lots of Space on the server and if its shared hosting it will become super slow - The Layout is very much Outdated looks like 90's OLD Movie.

Arjun

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2017

Fantastic open-source bug tracking tool

Bug testing, tracking tickets, product management

PROS

Open source, easy to configure and customize, has all the basic features we need, makes testing and tracking issues very easy

CONS

Very basic user interface, does not integrate with other tools, sometimes the configurations are too complex to bother

Elena

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2019

Mantis for bug tracking

I used mantis for managing a project acceptance test phase but it was not so useful

PROS

I like most the easy usage of this software even for customer care members, or for users who don't have technical background moreover you can choose your own language

CONS

I dislike the lot of fields to fill in for opening an issue and the issue organization itsefle which is not easy to understand

User Profile

Daniel

Verified reviewer

501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

If you want to control bugs, MantisBT is the best solution.

PROS

Suitable software to track errors, inform the team through fault reports. It is important to highlight that MantisBT has a free license that allows multiple options to carry the day to day of the software that is already in the test stage. For the user, it has a nice interface and the team can be notified of each stage of the test cycle.

CONS

Your options are limited when it comes to customizing and creating new reports and more accurate tracking of manual test cases. Does not allow direct interaction between users.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2018

Nice Opensource Bug Tracking Tool

A great tool if you want to use Open Source tool.

PROS

Mantis is easy to configure OpenSource tool.

CONS

If you are struck with the setup, it is very unlikely you can an answer as this is used by very less people. Very difficult to setup work environment on Linux system

User Profile

Maicol

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE