User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(12)

12

4 stars

(5)

5

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse Barracuda Backup Service Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -33 of 17 results

August 2021

User Profile Picture

Zyren Christian from Caspio

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2021

Barracuda Backup Service

Pros

As part of IT Team we're tasked to do Businesses Contingency plan for any disaster or loss of any kind of data. With the help of Barracuda Backup, I can manage to proper data backup and recovery, and data encryption. Features like advanced security, advanced replication and instant data recovery really helps us to manage our plan for business Contingency

Cons

I didn't have anything to dislike about this software.

February 2021

Jerry from TSAA

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Museums and Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Barracuda Backup works, and works right. It is what we needed.

We had a Backup Exec solution, but it wasn't working for us. Barracuda Backup was exactly what we needed. It allowed us to backup all our physical servers, all our virtual servers, and all our databases. The system was extremely easy to setup. We have an on-site component that backs up everything, and all of that gets sent to the cloud. Restoring data is fast and easy. Working with Hyper-V virtual machines is straightforward, but there seems to be more compatibility with vSphere than with Hyper-V. With vSphere, you can spin up a VM on-site, but Hyper-V optiosn are only Cloud LiveBoot.

Pros

The system is extremely easy to setup. We set up the physical device in minutes, we set up and configured the cloud portion within hours, and were ready to go. Installing the agents on our servers was a snap, and it was quick and easy to verify that data was being backed up. The restore process was also quick and easy to verify.

Cons

It could work better with Hyper-V VMs. It seems to work better with vSphere than with Microsoft Hyper-V. Like LiveBoot for vSphere vs Cloud LiveBoot for Hyper-V.

Reasons for Switching to Barracuda Backup Service

Better features and performance with Barracuda Backup.

July 2018

Brian from Aircraft Precision Products

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2018

For the most part everything works as it should but other times it has issues with certain scenarios

safe secure and efficient backup system

Pros

very easy to use, setup and to understand. the Tech support is always available and the systems, though gets errors a lot, has not failed me when I need it at recovery

Cons

I get backup errors quite frequently when backing up hyper v, I have found thread on forums where tons of there have the same issue and Barracuda always blames Microsoft and says to contact them when I believe its a bug in barracuda that could be addressed

July 2019

William from Claymont City Schools

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Barracuda is the Best!

Pros

We have an on-site backup box that runs every night. It has been in place for many years and has saved our tails more than a couple times! Once the box is set up, there is very little configuration to get your backups to start. If you need a backup solution, Barracuda is the best.

Cons

We have had a couple issues updating our box and recovering a certain backup, but both of these problems were solved by their great customer service.

April 2019

User Profile Picture

Renny from Big Sandy Area Community Action Program

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Barracuda Checks all the Boxes

Barracuda 290 appliance is an affordable and reliable backup solution. Add on Cloud and other Support services for a premium experience.

Pros

The agent software is very light weight and easy to install. With cloud replication I don't have to worry about restoring from a disaster.

Cons

You can only have one backup schedule per device. It would be nice to have more than one, for example: A Server with a database you might want to back up the file system once a week then the SQL twice a day. But its not that big of a deal, just back up the server using SQL schedule, the deduplication and retention policy takes care of the rest.

March 2018

Jim from Opto

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Backup that works

Pros

The reports are nice to see exactly what is running overnight and if everything has issues. Restoring from the browser is simple.

Cons

As with most Barracuda products, the interface can be really slow and annoying to use. Random backup errors happen but their support can help with everything.

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Barracuda Backup Service

Pros

So very easy to use and manage. Initial setup is simple as are restorations of files.

Cons

We have not identified any drawbacks at this time.

March 2018

Jim from Opto

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Backup gets the job done

Pros

It has a good interface and is easy to get to backups. It usually doesnt have any issues and if it does, they are simple to fix.

Cons

The interface itself is very slow and restoring backups takes a lot longer than it should. Customer support can often be difficult to deal with.

July 2021

Danielle from HitsTEch

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Barracuda Backup Service

Barracuda provided great customer service but the prices were a little higher than other vendors.

Pros

I like the fact that if a client went over their allotted amount of space that we'd receive an email notification which would then follow up with a new quote to charge for the new amount of space used.

Cons

There were multiple portals to access information, sometimes it got confusing know which portal was for which data.

April 2018

User Profile Picture

Grant from MileageCount

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Brilliant but very expensive

Great product but very expensive.

Pros

I like that Barracuda have 3 data centres, 2 in the UK that replicate data between them so any data that has been lost due to a disaster can be recovered very quickly and restored onsite.

Cons

As this product is qualified using the amount of TB's you think you may need in the future for expansion, this makes the solution very expensive.

August 2021

User Profile Picture

Rica Mae from Luzviminda

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2021

Barracuda Backup Service Review

Pros

I liked how Barracuda Backup team provide assistance to us when we encounter any problem or concern. Barracuda Backup is a very straightforward product for us dealing with company's backup scheduling and data management.

Cons

Providing more how to's, tips and tricks will be a good thing to do.

May 2021

Gabriel from Vikstar Contact Center

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2021

Very well built software

The software is very complete, which allows access in addition to the backup services (which, by the way, obtains in addition to saving files in the clouds, also manages to recover a good part of lost files, without any major problems), making other access options available.

Pros

Wide range of features, which makes the software much more attractive.

Cons

The value leaves a little to be desired

November 2018

Ron from IVES Training

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Reliable back up solution for our business

Very good reliable backup hardware an software. Local backups on the appliance and replicate to the barracuda cloud

Pros

It has grown with us as we now have more servers than humans.

Cons

some issues with hardware but support and warranty is second to none so any issues were resolved very quickly

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Easy to use Backup Software works with windows Mac and linux/unix

Easy to backup and see status of backups as well as get notified if there is an issue with server or a backup job

Pros

Easy setup, easy to expand storage, You can do cloud or local storage. You can setup Replication to another Barracuda backup Device or to their cloud if you so choose

Cons

I wish the User could restore files they deleted by accident without contacting us to retrieve what they are missing. Mac, Linux/Unix setup is a little more work to setup once you figure it out it does make sense though.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Great solution..once you get it running

Pros

The importance of a complete backup is imperative in today's environment. Me moved to Barracuda after a crash. Watching closely now to the backup files this product doesn't miss anything. It understands more than just our windows, but all of the apps we use.

Cons

Setup was tough. We do not have an IT "Team" so the learning curve was long. Now that we are up and going, it seems to be worth it. It is a bit pricey but a needed product

September 2018

sheldon from onboces

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Works but takes some tweaking

Its a simplified interface, with offsite storage built in. It just takes some tweaking to get it going properly.

Pros

Ease of setup. Has offsite/cloud storage for replication

Cons

Works but takes some tweaking to make it work without errors. I had to go through several techs to get this done.

February 2017

Zach from NEIT Group

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

Barracuda Backup

Barracuda Backup is our storage solution for a small business of about 60 employees. WE have several machines on it and it works well for what's needed. It warns about overages ahead of time to allow you to manage files and reduce the average. Don't like how you need the cloud based storage backup to rebuild a system and can't just use local backup