All Jira Reviews

1-25 of 12,769 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Jakob

Sports, 11 - 50 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed November 2020

Functional and Effective but not Pretty

User Profile

Jenny

Verified reviewer

Human Resources, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2024

Jira is essential for all product teams

It's been a good experience overall. Easy to use and not many confusions in general.

PROS

- Essential for sprint planning and organising tickets - Easy to assign epics to tickets so that we know how long it takes for us to work on each epic through the timeline - Easy to move tickets around different sprints and statuses - In general essential for teams to work in an agile environment

CONS

- Sometimes hard to locate previous tickets when they have been completed - Tickets have been piling up in backlog from before I joined company and after. Wish there were ways to easily filter based on content (perhaps with AI) or based on date the tickets were created so that I can delete some. - Wish I could move sprint ordering around by dragging

Julijana

Staffing and Recruiting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2024

Great for multi-project management

PROS

I liked that we could build different project hierarchies and layer down the different sub-projects and sub-tasks. The timeline view was also very helpful.

CONS

It was a bit complex to set up and to get the non-technical team on board using it.

Reasons for switching to Jira

We wanted something more dynamic and that could host more complex projects.

Mark

Design, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2024

Adequate Project Management Tool

PROS

It's useful as a collaborative tool, it's easy to make notes and changes to tickets, and the owner will be notified through the tool itself and by email. Good for calculating progress and fairly good for mapping out sprints and progress through agile delivery.

CONS

It is not easy to pick up. Different displays and boards are not easy to understand or find. Working on multiple projects can be quite confusing

Rahul

Insurance, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2024

Jira: Bext project management tool for SAFe

PROS

some of the best features are: 1. Task creation and their category (analysis task, execution tasks , bug etc) 2. Tracking of each tasks using kanban board 3. Effort Estimation of tasks 4. The report like burn down chart.

CONS

1. Sub tasks (e.g Defect sub tasks) should also have points to track the time taken by each sub tasks. 2. Macro creation to get some graph created for managers should be easy to configure. 3. May be a common forum where we can go and ask our query.

Reasons for switching to Jira

Jira was very user friendly especially for Agile framework and hence when we moved to SAFe, we switched to JIRA

Nomfundo

E-Learning, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Make life easy plan with JIRA

Walk in the park . Everything is setup you can choose between company-managed and team-managed templates. Ship easily.

PROS

Ready made templates. They make it easy. PLAN they already have your job is to choose.

CONS

Track can multifunction making it hard to track

Reasons for switching to Jira

Wanted something better and I got it all here

User Profile

Ritesh

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2024

Decent Task and project tacking tool

PROS

Jira is one of the most used tool by my current working company. We usually create tickets, log time on the tickets and change status of the tickets. Both the company and the workers are happy with this tool. By far this is the easiest tracking tool that i have ever used in my career. The UI and UX is well designed.

CONS

This does not has much cons but they could improve their UI on the dark mode becuase dark mode feels a bit off. Also, i often forget to stop the log of time but i could later edit it. i hope they come up with an idea to fix this issues.

User Profile

Isael Alexander

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

The project management tools of the greats

PROS

We really like the way and ease of project and task management that it offers us, as well as the easy integration that it has with other vendors, which allows for easier management of incidents.

CONS

We really like the way and ease of project and task management that it offers us, as well as the easy integration that it has with other vendors, which allows for easier management of incidents.

User Profile

Purna

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2024

Efficient Task Management with Jira

PROS

It is highly customizable, and efficiently tracks and manages tasks, issues, and bugs across multiple projects. You can use it for both small and large-scale projects.

CONS

It takes a while for you to get used to all of its features. It is a bit complex for first-time users.

User Profile

Siddham

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2024

Fantastic Product!

Jira has somehow become an industry standard product for task management and it's holding this position for a reason. There's always a room for more features but it is a great product, even now.

PROS

From its user interface to all the features, everything seems to be perfect in Jira, at least, for task management. Other aspects are great, as well.

CONS

Customization in UI is not always possible which is sometimes annoying.

User Profile

Ernie

Verified reviewer

Automotive, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2024

Many, many options if you can every figure out how to use them!

PROS

Jira is a very detailed tool. There are many ways to track, label, and route work.

CONS

The tool is fairly complex to use much less administrate.

Ajesh

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2019

Finest application for the Agile software lifecycle

I use JIRA in all the Agile software development for classification and bug tracking for every user with Dashboards. I am satisfied with the JIRA features but I think JIRA needs to provide more integration towards CICD tools so that user can get more idea about the bug tracking.

PROS

Easy to create Agile dashboards to track bugs in different development life cycle. We can also extract informations regarding the user specific tickets created and worked for any period of time. Also we can attache documents to gives an entire idea about the the bugs and time tracker in comment section provides how much time it takes to fix the bugs. In the software industry JIRA is one of the widely used Bug tracking platform. The idea of classification of tickets like EPIC,Task are very useful to identify the work load needed for that ticket.

CONS

Need exact date and time of the ticket creation and comments when the ticket gets older, right now it describes like the ticket is "created more two weeks ago". JIRA also needs to integration with CICD tools for more information regarding the bug tracking and fixing. JIRA should provide a dashboard for each user how much time he worked on a ticket to track the overall work time and also it will be very easy for the Administrator also.

Reason for choosing Jira

JIRA provided more features for the Agile development Lifecycle that suited our work environments and continues to give more features everyday.

Reasons for switching to Jira

Redmine lack Agile development life cycle features like an effective dashborad , exact classification of tasks and the work time logging.

Derek

Media Production, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Using Jira Software and Service Desk

We have been using Jira (and Confluence) for over 10 years. We currently have over 500 projects in Jira with a user base around 2000. We do agile web and app software development and run a support desk with kanban. Each team has their own projects with their own specific needs, from workflows, custom fields, permissions, and notifications. We do not use the cloud product, but a 3rd party, hosted, server version.

PROS

Extensibility. Jira really can be all things to all users. There are so many business workflow processes that we have implemented and all in Jira: advanced software development, workflows for processing contracts and invoices, and support work with incidents and service requests with approvals. Lastly, with the large dev community and a large pool of app add-ons, we are confident we could extend Jira to be what we need it to be.

CONS

If you don't understand the principles of Agile software development, there will be parts of using Jira that will be foreign to you and will likely go unused. There is a steep learning curve on the administration-side. With so many functions and features, it can be difficult to know all of your options. The "schemes" that power the project administration can also make it difficult to troubleshoot your setup.

Reason for choosing Jira

We liked Jira's look and feel and ease of setup and use.

Reasons for switching to Jira

Jira is created for the purpose we needed, whereas Sharepoint was being used because we were already paying for it. Reporting was lacking in Sharepoint and everytime we wanted to make a small change, we would have to use developer time.

Glenn

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

Great Collaboration Tool For Teams

Great way to collaborate with team members and outside vendors on ticketing and projects, with a lot of integration opportunities. Would highly recommend to users not currently using JIRA.

PROS

It is a feature packed program that helps teams collaborate using a ticketing system. Much easier way to work with team members to fix issues, deploy updates and collaborate. Using this system between employees, departments, consultants and others we have been able to streamline collaboration on projects. It also has a lot of integration, including with Slack, to expedite notifications.

CONS

There is definitely a learning curve with this project and it can be a little hard to get the hang of, but once you do, the UI of the program will make sense.

Reason for choosing Jira

More features and integrations over Basecamp.

Reasons for switching to Jira

Switched content and development companies who use JIRA instead.

Randy

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

The software an engineering department can not live without

Jira cuppled with Agile processes have driven the velocity and overall engineering teams to new heights at the company. I don't see a world where once you are on it you are with it for better or worse.

PROS

First of all I want to say Jira is DOMINATING the market. There is little that Jira cannot do which makes it a no brainer of everything most startups and companies will use. I love that Jira for the most part is a one-stop-shop for Engineering teams, IT teams, Knowledgebase, ticketing systems. You don't really see issues with using Jira until you get bigger. The fact that I can link Jira tickets to my Git commits and add confluence documents to my tickets and google drive files ALL IN ONE is ourtagious and its something my company loves inside and out.

CONS

Just like every software out there you cannot be perfect in all ways. Because Jira is a one-stop-shop the biggest issues we have is customization of Jira. Not because Jira cant be customized, but only because it can be customized so much that we need set Jira admins whos sole job it is to manage Jira for the entire company because of the huge learning curve because it takes so much time how to figure out even the littest changes to make our lives easier. On top of that, a big issues I see if that as you grow in Jira it is a money pit at times to have it scale with the company. At this point, we are so vested in Jira we cannot get off of it. Adding SSO, and Confluence, and CI DI, and all the features that they promote arent dominating their fields, but its like "Well.... We are on Jira and they don't integrate well with other software so if we want the best features I guess we will have to use all their software"

Reason for choosing Jira

Like I said, Jira is leader in the market for Engineering teams, it makes the most sense. Jira is the best software for startup companies needing it.

User Profile

Aaron

Verified reviewer

Wholesale, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

The best option available, and a great value

PROS

This software is so great, that you really don't need to train people on how to use it. Project managers will be familiar within a day, and users will understand it quickly because Atlassian put a lot of work into an intuitive user interface. This is the best option on the market if you want something that scales across your company without draining your energy. Not only will you run projects through here, but you can also setup all your standard business processes to run through here. Using the marketplace, there are some great extensions for Jira. We built our entire accounting team into Jira, and used it to know we were following through with our key daily, weekly, monthly processes. Using a scheduler plugin, we were able to create tasks, with subtasks, delegate them, follow up with progress, and print a custom summary report at month end outlining completion, completion date, user, and notes.

CONS

You will likely want confluence or google sheets to keep overall big picture notes.

Reason for choosing Jira

All the features you need already exist. It's mature, but fully cloud, and feels fully cloud.

Sudhir

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

One of the greatest defect tracking and project management tools in the industry

Project and Time management in many cutomer projects

PROS

I find this software to be very versatile and useful. It has functions that make work easier when it comes to organization, planning, and meeting goals. It facilitates effective teamwork; it is simple to keep track of the activities that must be completed and the notifications of changes to any action work well. It has multiple views and is used to manage projects, so people who want to see an overview of the work can use the To-do List or simply the Roadmap, and team members who are trying to balance their daily activities can use the Dashboard to plan their workload. I like it because it easily adapts to what you want to do.

CONS

In some circumstances, receiving notifications has become difficult, preventing real-time monitoring. Although simple and adaptable, defining and organizing the sorts of work items might be difficult at first.

Reason for choosing Jira

JIRA is quite easy to migrate. Easy to train and educate the team in fastest time possible. Easy to handle the administrative tasks and correct when needed.

User Profile

Jitendra

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Best Agile development software in my eyes

Basically using Jira as my go-to software for tracking and managing any project be it business enterprise level or personal level. I would recommend anyone reading to this review to go try it and without a doubt, certainly you wouldn't regret ur decision!

PROS

Quick and easy management and organization of my backlog tasks, the flexibility of setting up almost any integrations for bug tracking with ease, works flawlessly when used alongside other Atlassian products like Confluence. Best pricing options seen till date. Overall takes my agile workflow to the ultimate level with the amount of extensiblity that is second to none in my opinion!

CONS

At times there is some flakiness in the outcomes of the actions but generally not a lot worrisome. Also the availability, although can be improved using a private cloud probably, does suffer some occasional hiccups here and there. The bug tracking is comparatively the most improvable area i suppose. It is good don't get me wrong, but can be so much more better with just a few tweaks here and there that's all.

Reason for choosing Jira

None of them stand a chance to match to this all-in-all amazing product!

James

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Streamlines management of complex workloads across a large team for efficient task management

The biggest transformation in how we work has been the increase in efficiency and accountability that Jira has provided. As with all similar types of task management software, the most important Factor in success is team buy in, and we found that Jira helped us to track tasks and project work in a more granular way which helped staff plan their workloads better while increasing productivity.

PROS

Jira allows us to efficiently manage a tasks across a wide variety of different projects, assigning work easily to each team member and allowing us to run a clear process from briefing through quality checking. It has allowed the team to communicate more effectively and improved the overall quality of delivery with better expectation management.

CONS

We've used a variety of different task and process managment tools in the past - and still do for direct client work where they have a preference (e.g. Basecamp, Asana etc), and the interface on Jira is maybe not as attractive, but it works fine and allows good interaction.

Reason for choosing Jira

We've used a variety of different task and project management solutions with clients in the past, but Jira proved to be a better fit for us as an organisation, primarily because it was better suited to the size of our team and the number of projects we were working on.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Jira is great tool for agile teams

Overall, Jira has some great features for project leaders but this product can be difficult to transition to due the lack user research on Atlassian's part. The transition can be slow and tough but once the teams are trained up the tool, the tool can become invaluable to work with.

PROS

Jira helps team discover agile foundations with the guide of a scrum master or project leader. The sprints provide guardrails to teams take smaller chunks of work. Jira provides a centralized location to work in and can reduce the amount of communication gaps.

CONS

The greatest opportunity Jira has is that the user experience is rough in the fact that the product needs in-depth training to properly use it. For example, there aren't any youtube tutorials or best practices documents on why the end user would use label or a component. Most project leaders I know do not have a standardization why they use that and it causes confusion on project teams. The product isn't a plug and play, it is more that any user will need several lessons on simple actions such as creating a story, creating a Jira board, and creating Jira JQL. At the end of the day, there is a steep learning curve for this product and that increases the resistance for enterprise teams to go agile.

Reasons for switching to Jira

The organization was having a agile transformation and was reducing the number of waterfall projects.

Brian

Verified reviewer

Restaurants, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE