All Epicor for Distribution Reviews

1-25 of 78 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Pranagnya

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2020

One of the good ERP accounting Software

i) I was working for a medium sized plumbing company as a Solutions Providing Consultant and they were maintaining their records in Tally ii) After some Google search and research I found this Software iii) I really loved the Dashboards customization so that my client can customize it however he wants, he can see all the sales in a single place

PROS

i) I personally like Linux OS and this software is specifically designed to work on Linux OS ii) Its overall price is cheaper as there is no cost for OS iii) The Dashboard and export functionality impressed me iv)

CONS

While I was using it I couldn't import million records from Excel to this Software. I don't know whether they have upgraded the software or improved and made it to possible.

Reasons for switching to Epicor for Distribution

Tally is more of a book keeping Software but for an ERP it isn't the suitable or it isn't the best.

Vendor Response

Hi Pranagnya, thank you for your feedback about Epicor Eclipse. We're glad to hear the customization is working well for you and your client. Your feedback is invaluable. Please feel free to ask your client to email us at customerreferences@epicor.com to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.

Replied April 2020

Melissa

Wholesale, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Long-Time Happy Customer

Determining profitability at a line item level or at a customer level in our legacy software was almost impossible and very tedious so we used to make a lot of decisions at a high level versus being able to really determine where our issues were. We not have instant visibility and can make decisions daily vs waiting until month end and using volumes of spreadsheets to perform analysis. We have been able to grow our revenue without an increase in operational staffing.

PROS

Grove has used P21 for 12 years now and are very happy. We love the fact that we can see rebated costs in the software at order entry and determine exactly what we are making on an order. Everything is part of one package so you are not worrying about add on packages that integrate with P21 as it is all a P21 product. If there is an issue, there is only one vendor to deal with. Our inventory accuracy is extremely high and we can always tell where an order is in process simply by drilling down within the system. Great product.

CONS

If there was anything I didn't like I would say that there are some bells and whistles in other parts of the system that have not made its way to the accounting piece. For example, you cannot enter notes in accounts payable like you can in other parts of the software so you have to develop a work around. However, we have always figured out a solution to what we need.

Reason for choosing Epicor for Distribution

Rebates, rebates, rebates. Prophet 21 was the only product that was tried and true with rebate functionality. All of the other products either did not have the capability and wanted us to help develop it or were in the basic beginning stages of developing the product. We also like that we could get everything we needed with one software vendor vs using several.

Reasons for switching to Epicor for Distribution

As mentioned above, our legacy software was outdated and unable to provide the visibility to information that we needed to grow the business.

mike

Wholesale, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed December 2021

People need to know before they waste their money and time

I could never recommend this software for anyone, unless you have lots of money to waste and lots of time fixing issues they create and like speaking to someone you can't understand from another country when you are trying to fix something. I am currently working to find a 3rd party for support. For the money we pay for support and the money we paid for the software, there shouldn't be this many issues.

PROS

Integration from our old P21 system went pretty well.

CONS

Training was horrible. A lot of things we were not shown and things we were shown weren't always the right way. Support is even worse. Most of the time I can't understand their broken English. That is when I actually get to speak with someone. They are rude and mostly not helpful. It is not 24/7 support. They put out updates that crash the system and cause down time. They make major changes without any notification. Like a new print server so when you come in on a Monday morning, no one can print. Over priced!

Reason for choosing Epicor for Distribution

Management made the decision for me.

Reasons for switching to Epicor for Distribution

It was outdated software

Rod

Wholesale, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

Prophet 21 Review

We have experienced a exceptional partnership with Epicor. There have been some bumps in the road but ultimately Epicor listens and responds. We have participated in all of the User Conferences and User Group Conferences. There is an awesome World Wide User Group (WWUG) that is very active and supportive. We have tried to take advantage and apply all of the P21 features that we can and see great return on that effort.

PROS

The application is loaded with features and benefits, particularly on the distribution side of the software. Our business consists of both Light Manufacturing (35%) and Distribution (65%) which is one of the key areas of the P21 functionality. You can search the market and find excellent distribution software and also search the market and find excellent manufacturing software, but try to find one that is excellent in both. P21 is the leader in this area and they are continuing to enhance both "sides" of the application. We also like the Windows environment which makes it very easy for new users to learn the navigation. Epicor has a lot of third party partners and providers that can bring volumes of additional resources and functionalities to the table. The SQL database is open which provides a ton of value when it comes to additional functionalities. I also love the ability to modify the baseline software appearance with Dynachange, and basic functional logic using Business Rules, and many other similar features.

CONS

P21 was built on an older database structure and has become limited in modifications such as lengthening the Item ID, or improving speed, and other core database structure. This can be limiting, however the solution most of these has been introduced with the Web enabled P21 application. Otherwise we have had a great experience.

Vendor Response

Hi Rod, Thank you for your feedback on Prophet 21. We are glad you find it easy to use and rich in functionality and connectivity. We also appreciate your views on the partnership. Your feedback really is invaluable. Please reach out to us at customerreferences@epicor.com to share additional comments and find out more about our reference community. Sincerely The Epicor Social Team

Replied October 2019

Anthony

Arts and Crafts, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

P21

P21 has allowed us to track our production needs, while seemlessly helping us to control on hand inventory levels. Accounting has full visability of all transactions and can easily powerdrill into transactions for support.

PROS

Prophet 21 offers a complete package with accounting, inventory and light manufacturing modules to businesses of all sizes. The intuitive ease of use, and the ability to customize as needed has made this a very versatile software package.

CONS

This software package is so robust, it feels at times that it is impossible to learn about all of the features within the application. this forces me to depend on consultants and onsite engagements with Epicor employees to find new features that may be applicable to your business process. These engagements while incredibly useful are expensive.

Reason for choosing Epicor for Distribution

Epicor's package was more comprehensive out of the box. Other systems could do the same work, but it would have required additional customized programming to achieve the same results.

Reasons for switching to Epicor for Distribution

our original system was not Y2K compliant.

Vendor Response

Hi Anthony, Thank you for your feedback on Prophet 21. We are glad you find it robust and versatile. We also appreciate your comments on further learning. Please reach out to us at customerreferences@epicor.com to share further comments and find out about our reference community. Sincerely The Epicor Social Team

Replied October 2019

Terry

Wholesale, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2020

Great ERP system for mid size company

PROS

Integration with credit card processing and sales tax software.

CONS

Flexibility to integrate with E-commerce environment.

Vendor Response

Hi Terry, thank you for your feedback on Epicor Prophet 21. We're glad to hear credit card processing and the integration with sales tax software is working well for you. We note your comments on e-commerce integration. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at customerreferences@epicor.com to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.

Replied March 2020

Yoseli

Machinery, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2020

This tool is adaptable to your company needs

Easy to use when it came to placing orders, which is what we used the most.

PROS

The fact that you can feed it and update it with all the information that is important to your company, you can customize it and the options as far as I've been seen are numerous.

CONS

Sometimes reports were difficult to be pulled, took too long or were inaccurate. We had to pull them more than once and data wasn't the same.

Vendor Response

Hello Yoseli, thank you for your feedback about Epicor Distribution. We're sorry to hear the reporting is not working well for you. We would like to learn more about the issue you are experiencing so we can deliver a solution quickly. Please email us at socialmedia@epicor.com with your contact information, so we can assist you.

Replied November 2020

Sharon

Consumer Goods, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2017

Epicor Prelude

We have used the Prelude product since 1995. It has served us well over the years but is no longer in active development. Had all the integrated features we needed at the time. Real time, Order Entry, AR, AP, GL, Inventory, Purchasing. Pay a lot in support fees that supposedly went towards development, but new modules have to be purchased. Only basic enhancements integrated with upgrades.

PROS

Real time (as opposed to batch processing) based software solution with integrated modules. No redundant data entry needed. Visibility of data available throughout the company.

CONS

Have lost the majority of good people with working knowledge of the product. Not in active development.

wayne

Warehousing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2018

A difficult journey for a layman

increased productivity from order entry and production (kitting) processes

PROS

Ease of access to different programs from multiple points. Ease of adding things like contract pricing and customer item numbers

CONS

Lack of basic reports that make sense to me. (seems reports must have been written by a programmer that would not be using them on a daily basis). High cost of special reports and basic changes. Basic things like letting you move out of a field without entering anything and it is a required field.

Jay

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2018

Great concept, not user friendly

The base Eclipse program is very expensive, but is not user friendly. If Eclipse itself operated like JM, then I would give it 5 stars.

PROS

Only the job management adder is worth using. It is VERY user friendly when it doesn't act glitchy.

CONS

The base system is overly robust and requires extensive training for the average new employee. It is very expensive for a mid size distributor to commit to using.

Greg

Wholesale, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

Perfect for the Distribution Industry

We have been pleased with our choice of software and think Prophet21 is a good partner

PROS

Flexible and extensible Priced right Widely used in the Fluid Power Industry Good 3rd party support.

CONS

Production order scheduling is missing at the current time but on the roadmap.

Reason for choosing Epicor for Distribution

Ability to access the data for reporting, the community of fellow distributors on the product, price, and ease of implementing.

Vendor Response

Hi Greg, Thank you for your feedback about Epicor Prophet 21. We're glad to hear the solution is working well for your business. Your feedback is invaluable, and if you would like to send us an email to CustomerReferences@epicor.com, we would be pleased to receive additional comments and tell you about our customer reference program. Sincerely, The Epicor Social Team

Replied September 2019

michael

Automotive, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

User Friendly

Pricing and ordering guidelines are accurate and easily set up. Processing speed is good. Reports are easy to create.

PROS

Ease of use and almost no down time. Inventory, A/R, and pricing are all "real time".

CONS

Newer versions seem to jump around e.g. trying to open one application and getting another.

Reason for choosing Epicor for Distribution

Ease of use and value

Reasons for switching to Epicor for Distribution

ADP stopped supporting the platform we were using

Vendor Response

Hi Michael, Thank you for your feedback about Epicor Prophet 21. We are happy that it has been easy to use and set-up. However we would like to hear more about your issues with the newer versions. Please email us at socialmedia@epicor.com and we can assist you. We look forward to resolving it quickly. Sincerely The Epicor Social Team

Replied October 2019

Brian

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed March 2018

Nearly eight years after our installation, disappointed in my choice to install it.

PROS

I was finally able to find a reliable cost-effective third party program that effectively automated reporting; at least for the reports written with crystal reports.

CONS

Tired of filling out surveys that do not result in change that should be basic to this program ...

Vendor Response

Brian - Thank you for your response, we value your feedback. We are working with our team and will contact you to follow up.

Replied March 2018

Ted

Building Materials, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2018

Good system for distribution, Web based version of the software still lacking

PROS

Good distribution software, easy to use. Upgrades included in support package and are frequent. Company making good effort to introduce new features.

CONS

New web version of the system was lacking. It was recently released but i expected it to be more ready for prime time. Was disappointed had to stay with windows version of software.

Joseph

Wholesale, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2018

Great product. Additional modules are pretty pricey.

Fairly easy to understand and use.

PROS

Very robust, has the ability to do just about anything you could want. From custom pricing by customer to pricing for quantity breaks.

CONS

If you need to adjust anything, wording or calculations on an invoice all costs. Plus the cost of additional modules is up there.

Laurencio

Food & Beverages

Used free trial

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed December 2014

Buyer beware

PROS

It appears deceptively easy to use, but only after you become intimately aware of tab locations and features, and it has a somewhat pleasant GUI. Actually, there isn't much that I really like about it.

CONS

It has noticeable shortcomings, such as the inability to reference two or more items as one general preferred item. In other words, if you have the same item that is called 3-4 different item names depending upon the manufacturer of the item, it doesn't allow you to establish the preferred item, and we have been told this feature is a few versions away. The shipping address on POs is often incomplete because the user very often runs out of available space, yet typing in the order screen doesn't do the same thing. The most aggravating feature by far is the customer quotes.The software expressly forbids you to dictate a vendor other than what the system has established as the preferred vendor. It absolutely excludes the option. So what happens is that the order has to be changed to another vendor when processed. If you forget to do this at a later date, you can literally cost your company hundreds or thousands of dollars because the wrong vendor was given the PO.

Scotty

Machinery, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2020

Epicor Supply Chain

To be 3 months into this system I feel the transition went well and Epicor is so so so so much better than our previous system. This is a very good ERP system and from a Purchasing/Inventory stand point this system is very robust. There is nothing I feel like I need that I don't have.

PROS

For a large system Epicor Supply Chain is fairly simple. It makes it simple to find what you are looking for. Most of the separate quarries you would want to see are a click away. Most anywhere you have a part number entered, you can click into open demand, inventory history, or available suppliers.

CONS

We implemented about 3 months ago and setting up to manage our inventory properly took some work. We had done a lot of set up before going live but had a few bumps, nothing that caused serious problems though.

Charles

Business Supplies and Equipment, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY