PestPac Software


PestPac, a WorkWave software, is a web-based field service management solution, offering unique, features to improve productivity, profitability, and customer satisfaction. PestPac is a scalable solution that can serve single technicians or large business with hundreds of technicians and staff.

PestPac provides a convenient solution to track and manage field technician activity, sales processes, job scheduling, customer invoicing and billing. The solution offers robust tools to improve lead flow, optimize route plans, and track appointments. The digital logbook allows back-end users to navigate through documents, inspection reports, certifications and other key business documents. In addition to the core features, the solution also offers few additional modules like GPS tracking and route optimization to enhance product capabilities.

The service performance measurement tool helps businesses gain insights into new opportunities and monitor their service quality. The solution can also be accessed using PestPac Mobile application available for both Android and iPhone devices. Field technicians can time in and out of service appointments, add proof of service, get directions for service location, and accept customer signatures and payments with PestPac mobile apps.

94 Reviews of PestPac

Overall rating

3.70 / 5 stars

Filters:

Showing 1 - 20 of 94 reviews

September 2016

Ramon from MightyMite Termite Services

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

September 2016

Even with minor bugs, I'd still recommend PestPac

I started working with PestPac via handheld only as a Pest Tech. Then I worked with it for 2 years as an administrative assistant. I transferred to a company that hired me as a Department Administrator. Dealing with PestPac at a management level and an employee level are 2 very separate things. Dealing with it as a technician I was only utilizing it's minor functions with limited access to what I can and cannot do. As an administrator, I have noticed I am utilizing it some of the reports every day. The reports could definitely use some work, but I understand it's a work in progress.

Pros

Customer service. Workwave has definitely got better customer service support than other software companies. I worked with PestPac before for about 2 years. After that I dealt with Workwave and had to help start another company up. Since working with them, I'm learning to adapt to the new technology and the customer service is great. I don't understand how people can complain because all I do is call them up or email them and I get a response usually within the day. If they can't solve a problem right away, they figure it out, and then call me back and teach me how to do it.

Cons

Only issue I'm really noticing is that with the old technology (Motorolla handheld devices), most of the routing on the handhelds seem easier because they can route their day on a map. But with the new iOS (iPhone 6) it seems like there isn't a map for them to work off of. Nor does it give them directions to another property. Other then that, I'd still recommend PestPac to small and large pest control companies.

February 2018

Lawrence from Kingsway Inspections

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

February 2018

Better than what is available from others, but technologically outdated user experience.

Better than alternatives, but average user experience overall.

Pros

We are a startup pest control company in California and have used PestPac for two years. It is web-based, so a totally familiar browser based experience. Good support form sales reps. Regular software updates. The company was founded as Marathon Data Systems, rebranded a few years ago as Workwave and was recently bought by a European investment group called IFS. The company serves a variety of field service companies including pest control.

Cons

>One of the most expensive solutions with relatively very high base rate and monthly per-user fees compared to similar alternatives.
>Outdated interface that significantly limits how quickly our staff can work with software. For example, there is no use of pre-fetching data, batch uploads, continuous backup, data validation, etc. Data moving between your computer and the AWS server has periods of noticeable lag even with high speed internet access. Data moving to and from your device and server are limited to one operation at a time.
>The parts of the software staff see are not intuitive and difficult to use. Although parts of the software see regular updates, these updates seem aimed mainly at larger accounts with more advanced customer relationship systems. The data entry screens, state forms, reports, etc., have not seen any meaningful updates in years.
> There are numerous bugs in the online system that have persisted the whole time we've used Pestpac. Some things are given attention, others never make it. Many of the support requests on their product forums remain unaddressed for months or years.
> The company seems to spread itself thin by focusing on on sales to several kinds of small field service based businesses. The quality of the user experience with PestPac is lacking, and probably similar to others' experience.

October 2017

Haley from Thorn

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

2 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

October 2017

Could use some improvement

Really great software overall, but it is on the pricy side.

Pros

The software makes it really easy to track the progress of work that is being done. When can easily keep track of how many pests are caught/sighted in hotel rooms, apartment units, or single family homes. You can also set up to automatically schedule follow ups, that way nothing gets missed or forgotten. They have good reporting features to keep track of things. When an apartment manager wants to see one progress on one specific unit, we can pull a report just on the one apartment, instead of giving them everything, so it's easier for the managers to distinguish and read the reports.

Cons

There is a task feature, so you can create tasks for yourself or others so you can schedule follow ups or check back in with clients. In the past, this has been very helpful, however, with the last update, they have changed the task feature. It still keeps all your tasks in one place, but it is much more difficult to navigate and you basically have to open up the task in one window and open separate windows to view customers accounts to see the history.

January 2018

Richard from Pest Control

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

January 2018

PestPac - Great software for independent pest control owners/operators!

Pros

I spend over 30 years in corporate management of the large, national pest control company before I left and bought 2 local pest companies. I can tell you PestPac is loaded with features that the larger companies would die to have! I went paperless 30 days after integrating all of my accounts into the system. Reduced the need for 1 office person/bookkeeper. Technicians love the app on their I-phone and can review the orders for the upcoming week/month. What I like best is the ability for techs to take pictures and embed in the work order to alert our customers what we have done for them during the service (removed a wasp nest, killed an ant mound, moved dog bowls, etc). Great overall software!

Cons

It is not really easy to learn and the only way to learn is by trial and error. The initial trainer assigned to my account was not very knowledgeable - so after I complained they assigned the best of the best and she was AWESOME!

September 2016

Joseph from Pest at Rest LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

September 2016

Great Product - Must Have

Pestpac has been a great value to my company. I am able to access it from my desktop and mobile phone. With the Marathon Mobile app I no longer need to email each technician their route. They can view, update notes, and even upload photos and documents. Saving time and money.

Pros

It's software allows you to file several city and state mandatory reports seamlessly. Track technician activity to the minute and submit reports to customers instantly via email. It has saved me time and energy and provides customers more control of their account that I could have given them prior to using it.

Cons

I wish the community portal had more answers to the questions that are posted. If they did, this would significantly reduce if not eliminate many calls that come through the customer support line.

September 2014

Richard from Gecko Pest control


Ease-of-use

1 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

2.5 of 5

September 2014

Learning curve much too steep; not able to print on plain paper

Pros

I do admit that chat support has always seemed helpful. I think with how complicated the program is to use, it's necessary.

Cons

I purchased the software for a startup company. I own a very large service company in another industry and was very familar with service industry software. I wanted a product that was specific for pest control because of the use reporting of chemicals. I also needed a program that would handle auto payments by credit card and checks. Pestpac does both of these,but it is too awkward to use. Every step, from putting in a new customer to scheduling a service time, took too much effort. The program has a back end that is run by lookup tables. Every aspect of the software has to be programmed through these lookup tables before the software can be used.

For example, let's say you want to put a chemical in the lookup table. First, you do the basics, like name, epa number, active ingredient. Then you need to define how you want to report the ready-to-use amount. The problem is that you first have to go to another lookup table and define that a gallon is indeed a gallon. And need to do this for everything. If you put out rodent bait, you need to define a block as a block before you can add this product to your lookup table.

After I spent 10 hours watching videos on how to set up some lookup tables, I tried to put a customer in the system. I had a customer that had a one-time service for indoor fleas. I put the info in and went to print an invoice, and it was just random information on a piece of paper. No lines, no format; just random info. I called PestPac to find out how to print a formatted invoice and was told that I need to purchase forms from them to do it.

So what you need to do is purchase all the forms you may need from marathon. These would include service tickets, invoices, contracts, and billing statements. Then depending on the form you need to print just load that form in the printer each time you would need to print one. Sounds easy right? Does this make sense to you?

I did get a call from Marathon Data Systems about this issue, and there is a workaround. They have a module for printing on plain paper, but it costs extra.

September 2016

Dorothy from Armor Pest Control

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

September 2016

I really like pest pac!

I've used several pest routing software systems, and Pest Pac is by far the best. I love the fact that all users can access the information, and the tutorials are extremely helpful. The fact that I can utilize the tutorials when I need them, on my schedule, is awesome. I recommend pest pac all the time.

Pros

It is super easy to use. It has a lot of features in house, as well as mobile functionality out in the field too.

Cons

Sometimes I have to leave a message for their support team when I have a question, but they always get back with me normally by the end of the day.

April 2017

Ben from Axiom

Company Size: 51-200 employees


Ease-of-use

2 of 5

Customer support

1 of 5

Functionality

1 of 5

April 2017

This software is archaic and does NOT work. They support is terrible.

RUN! There are software that you can customize for pest control for less money than this software. They nickel and dime you for each feature. The reports aren't accurate. There is no way to find an accurate report on attrition or growth because they don't know how to program correctly. To run a business of any size on this software is a mistake because you'll never know for certainty what your profitability is and will simply have to guess. I was accustomed for 7 years and they are terrible at addressing concerns that are their fault. Unfortunately, they are The Who's who in pest software, but save yourself some time and headache... look elsewhere and have someone program a crm from another software platform specific to your company. You will spend the same amount of money from lost revenue and customers using this software, but will have something that actually works. All they do is market to upsell features that don't work. Terrible company and terrible software.

Pros

It supposedly has lots of features. However, support guides you to set them up incorrectly because the software is designed for pest control based on 30 year old practices, not modern day business.

Cons

Everything. The reports aren't accurate. The customer support doesn't give proper guidance to fix problems with their software. They don't even understand how the software is programmed, so when there is an issue... they tell you to do something as a workaround that causes more problems. Do yourself a favor and run away! As fast as you can.

March 2015

Jason from MSC Inc


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

March 2015

Marathon Data System PestPac and RoutePoint Provide Excellent Support

Pros

PestPac and RoutePoint by Marathon Data Systems have become essential software in our daily operation of both our pest control and HVAC service companies. Our 500 users rely on the software throughout the day to provide service and billing to our customers. Marathon Data Systems has been an excellent partner in the past 10 year helping us to custom tailor the software to our business needs. They have always provided top notch support to ensure we can put forward the best experience to our staff and customers.

I would highly recommend Marathon Data Systems and their PestPac or RoutePoint software to any service company to handle their daily operations.

Cons

Customizations of the software do take time and effort on the part of the customer.

February 2015

Daniel from Broken Arrow Pest Control, LLC

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Customer support

2 of 5

February 2015

I see things different. Many problems.

This is not a program for a company wanting to go paperless. You can have invoices, statements and inspection reports customized but you are going to PAY $$$ for it. Then they want you to give your customers the inspection report as an invoice not the actual invoice. The only document you are allowed to customize for the mobile app is the inspection report and they told me that they are going to be stopping that too. If you have a customized invoice on the desktop side you cannot print the customized one from the app. If you do print the invoice from the mobile app you will not be able to view the same invoice again. The invoices that you can print from the desktop side are not the same as ones printed from the mobile app. If you have target pests on your service order the tech will not be able to edit or even see what those targets are on the mobile app. If you forget to time into the order on the app you are out of luck because you cannot customize the time in/time out. If you time out of an order you cannot reopen it to make changes or corrections. Their inspection reports, service orders and invoices do not meet our state regulations. I even showed the reports to several people at our state regulatory department and they agreed with me that it wasn't correct. I had them prepare a document to tell pestpac that it was incorrect and they made some changes won't do any more because they are too busy with everything else and are not making customizations anymore. There are a lot of complaints just like mine on pestpac's message boards for customers. So don't be fooled by all the other good comments, this program is not as great as it sounds.

Response from WorkWave of WorkWave

Replied March 2015

Thanks for providing your honest feedback. We've reached out to you a few times unsuccessfully. Please give us a call back when you have some availability. PestPac was designed with the concept that someone in the office should be reviewing and posting invoices to ensure accuracy. The invoice/inspection report can then be automatically e-mailed the same day. The Report Writer Module (included for hosted customers) can be used to create custom forms. Users that prefer not to do this are welcome to request billable programmer time to create custom forms. We are more than happy to review and update any discrepancies with state-required forms. We do not charge programming time for this. Printing enhancements for the mobile app are on the road map for this year. Custom printing is a larger development project to take on, but it is on our radar. The latest app release has provided the ability to view target pests. Please make sure you have updated your Marathon Mobile app. Thanks, David!

August 2015

Alec from SureShot Pest Control, LLC


Ease-of-use

2 of 5

Customer support

2 of 5

Functionality

3.5 of 5

August 2015

PestPac Good and Bad

Pros

The customer service is great when you speak or communicate with any employee. I've never had an issue with anyone being rude or waste my time. They listen to the issue and try to solve it. The product itself gives you a lot of tools at your disposal, sometimes too many :)

Cons

What bothers me the most about the vendor could be extensive:
1. The time it takes to get in contact with someone that can actually solve your problem.
2. The staffing that you have for PestPac Mobile is horrible, I've come to the conclusion that you basically have one person (the programmer) that can actually solve the "real technical" issues, and when you're out in the field trying to work...and you have an issue...You don't have time to wait. It has cost our company a lot of money and a lot of wasted time. To the point where we have considered canceling our service with you.
3. Also, it appears that at one point in time you had free videos on how to use pestpac for general use. Now there are webinars and seminars that you need to pay for to learn...Really? Everything is attached with a dollar it seems. Or maybe I have not been directed to the appropriate site.
4. One of the biggest bothers it this... We are a small business and it seems as though when we write reviews or participate in the forums online, nothing is considered. You should really hone in on putting a value on your small customers, or you will lose them. That's currently where we stand.

May 2017

Laurie from Certified Pest Management, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees


Ease-of-use

2 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

May 2017

It has been very difficult to use, where as, I am a Quickbooks user and it is so different. I only use, (know how to use, a small fraction of what the software capability is)

What really would be nice is to have a one on one in person at my desktop training or a class in town. I have a hard time to take extra hours out of my day to study video training, where I feel I still may not quite get it. I would though make a point to take time out of my day to go to an actual class, where I feel it would be beneficial.

Pros

Reports- Keeps track of the chemical use. I like that my applicator can input information, while working in the field. I like the automated emails and how it separates the bill- to from the location of service. I like the way the invoices and statements look.

Cons

Time consuming to learn how this software works. Over the phone training is not for me. Although the one on one is very nice, but I feel Webinars would be a better way to educate.

August 2018

Anonymous

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

2 of 5

Value for money

1 of 5

Customer support

1 of 5

Functionality

2 of 5

August 2018

constant issues

Pros

The idea is good and having agreements, gps and other aspects are pretty good ideas, when it works, if the product work and didnt have to wait for calls back durring work ours and pricing would be better.

Cons

Customer service, pricing is costly, nickel a dime you for every little module, I started with this and ended up having to pay alot more after transitioning over and you become stuck, then you get a call when your having issues sometimes a day later or several days later, modules that dont work because issues you still have to pay, for instant, we have been paying and they make sure you pay and the contract module to send to customers isnt working. this is one of a few issues.. then they reconcile you account for the benefit of them making more money not to make sure the clients are taken care of but to make sure that we are paying them. example was they reconciled my account and took off a user that they said we havent been paying for and was part of the initial agreement so they removed this and now we cant all log in at the same time. Or we are paying for lead management, its not working for weeks yet we still have to pay, so much more.... I had windows version since 1999 and switched over to cloud based and 1st they always answered the phone and fixed issues right away, now its not the same...

December 2016

Elizabeth from Brussell Exterminating

Company Size: 11-50 employees


Ease-of-use

2 of 5

Value for money

1 of 5

Customer support

2 of 5

Functionality

2 of 5

December 2016

Used to be great, but has declined over the years

I was a pest pac user from 2008 to 2016. Over the years little changed in the way of improvements. It was exciting to have a software that had the ability to invoice customers, compile great reports, schedule customers, track leads, process credit cards, process ACH, track commission, connect third party collections partners, track employees, provide up to date state forms, and had communication elements. All this sounds great and like a 1 stop shop. The only and main issue is most of the features don't function at all or as they should. Scheduling took years, the scheduling aids simply did not work at all. I went to a Pest Pac conference and found many other customers that had the same complaint. Pest Pac lead tracking is a joke. I called to complain and the sales person agreed. He tried to sale me another add on services. The only thing worst than the lead functions are the reports. Pest Pac is very antiquated and hard to master. If you do not put information in exactly right you can make an error that cannot be corrected. The report will probably never work for any customer. You would have to be a full time data entry expert to enter information in a way that did not jack up the reports. Finally, billing is holy hell. The service is too pricey and the add ons are a trap. You have to buy add on to use some of the basic features that apart form the package. Tech support also sucks. I ended service in August and received an email in September that said they were still working on an issue I reported in July. Don't bother with Pest Pac. Every other software provider provides the same features in a simpler way. Avoid Pest Pac at all cause.

Pros

Mature company that was a been in the service industry for a while.

Cons

Slow unresponsive tech support, too expensive, feature do not work or work well. To use basic feature you have to pay for add on services, the billing department sucks. The company does not respect the fact that they support other business and the software is vital to the operation of a business. The system goes down for hours at a time and when they do system updates

September 2016

Robert from Markle Termite & Pest Management

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

September 2016

Want to grow your business... Here is the answer

This product, if used correctly will not only help you manage your customer base but will also provide vertical depth to your business.

Pros

Their RouteOp feature is the answer to immediate increased bottom line growth for your business.

Cons

No CRM or marketing automation; leads and sales process needs additional development

August 2018

Heidi from JP Pest Services

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

August 2018

A bit intimidating at first, but...

It took a solid 6 weeks or so to really get the hang of it, but now I would be lost without it. It is very thorough with providing all of the information that a pest control company might need to run a successful business.

Pros

Lots of features. Easy to use. Very detailed. Great list of reports and functions.

Cons

Can be a bit intimidating when you first start to learn the software.

October 2017

Tony from Big Blue Bug Solutions

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

October 2017

PastPac has allowed ur company to save money in the routeing of out techs and sales staff.

It has helped us to better manage our service staff to better serve our customers

Pros

I love the best fit feature, which allows our CSR's to know very quickly which tech can respond to a service call the quickest.

Cons

We haven't had the time to use all the data the is available to us . I would like a few tips to help us expand out knowledge of the software.

December 2017

Richard from Rid X Pest Disposal

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

December 2017

Expansive program but difficult to navigate

Decent program, widely used nut could be more streamlined and user-friendly

Pros

Has many features and functions, lots of settings to choose from and ability to go mobile is very useful

Cons

Difficult to navigate through and set up. Customer service doesn't always respond in a timely manner and can sometimes be vague in their response

August 2017

Kelly from Healthy Homes

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

August 2017

Great software not user friendly

Pros

Features like running credit cards on field and auto entering tax codes when adding customers are what we absolutely have to have.

Cons

This software is not user friendly and takes a long time to learn the ins and outs. I have seen there will be a lot of changes next month so I'm hoping this will help.

March 2015

David from Tuxedo Mosquito Control


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

March 2015

Best thing I have done for my company

Pros

The best part of PestPac is that it works and it has made my job easer and more efficient. Going paperless, having all tech's using the handheld (cell phone), and being able to run everybody's routes once a month and then only a few adjustments during the month have saved me hundreds of hours a month. Plus, integrated credit card processing allows me to automatically post charges to customers' credit cards after approving the completed services for the day. Easy and fast.

Cons

I don't really have anything that I dislike. Some things could be a little better, but every time I say that it shows up in a future release. They are developing so fast and putting out quality.