Kareo Clinical EHR Software


Kareo is a Web-based EHR, medical billing, and practice management used by thousands of physicians across the United States. This system suits small practices and billing companies. With Kareo, practices can schedule patients, confirm insurance, manage delinquent accounts and the collections process, store patient documents, develop customized reports and more.

Practices can be up and running within 48 hours of signing up. The system starts at a low monthly rate with no contract, no set-up fees without the worry of maintaining and updating the software.

Kareo Clinical EHR can be used across a wide variety of medical specialties, including mental health, family medicine, pediatrics, cardiology, chiropractic, podiatry and more.



222 Reviews of Kareo Clinical EHR

Overall rating

4.00 / 5 stars

Filters:

Showing 1 - 20 of 222 reviews

April 2014

Lee Peter from Southern Illinois Medical Specialists, LLC


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

April 2014

Ease of use, full features

Pros

Having working with various paid and free electronic health record services at various institutions, I came across Kareo while researching for my presentation on mobile technology, cloud computing, and medicine at a national medical conference. The features, intuitive interface, ease of use, and HTML5 programming, which allows cross-platform interface and real-time update speed was remarkable. I've seen institutions spend millions of dollars on electronic health record/ambulatory medical record systems for the physicians' offices. However, the amount of time it takes to get the staff trained, the monthly subscription fees, the lag time for the providers due to complexity of the systems, constant system crashes, and the need to do extensive programming for these paid systems make me wonder why nobody has come up with a free EHR/AMR system that has all the features needed for physicians and mid-level providers without all the hassles. Most EHR/AMR systems are user-friendly for the billers and clerical staff, but not intuitive or user-friendly for the clinic staff and providers.

This is not the case with Kareo. Kareo is extremely easy to navigate for any physicians, midlevel providers, and clinic staff. They can get the system running with little or no training because the interface is extremely intuitive and simple with built-in and customizable templates that allow you and your staff to complete intake, history, physical, and charting in minutes. The system has all the features that meet Stage I and II CMS meaningful use and allow your practice to obtain the EHR bonus with ease. Most of all, it is built for both mobile and desktop platforms. My staff and I can access Kareo EHR system with our mobile phone, PDAs, iPads, and Google-based pads with ease. The integrated billing features and electronic prescription features, along with integration with various laboratory and diagnostic test centers make Kareo a complete EHR solution for small to mid-size practices. It is not easy to impress me, having built the entire IT infrastructure myself for my own practice and for several medical practices around the country. Kareo's cloud-based EHR system makes it easy for migration, conversion, and implementation, without having to upgrade to expensive server systems. Any office with a desktop and mobile device can get the system up and running within hours, not days or weeks or months. I am impressed and amazed with all the features within Kareo. I would recommend any office looking to migrate, to convert their existing costly EHR, or to migrate from paper charts to EHR should consider Kareo.

Cons

It needs a patient health record/portal and automatic appointment reminders to patients via text to mobile phones, e-mails, and letters.

February 2019

Roya from Yashwant Chaudhri MD APC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

February 2019

Knowledgable - Affordable - Reliable - Easy to use - On it

We implemented Kareo into 3 of our behavioral health clinics a few years ago to get rid of paper charts and improve our collection processes. Not only were those 2 goals met, we have seen an increase in patient satisfaction, provider compliance with documentation, and our clinical processes have become streamlined. Kareo has benefited not only our business, but our patients which is our top priority.

Pros

Kareo has everything any practice and/or speciality would need from an EHR / PM system. Kareo has a user-friendly scheduling platform that allows office staff to efficiently complete their duties. Our providers have had a positive experience with the clinical platform that allows them to e-prescribe, document effectively, as well as ensure compliance with CMS, MACRA, MIPS, etc. The billing platform is also easy to use, but what I like most is the reporting system. You can literally run a report for anything! Kareo rocks!

Cons

What is there not to like? Kareo is the only way to go! #teamkareo

January 2019

Sandy from ClaimPro Medical Billing

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

January 2019

Kareo is the best!

Kareo is always trying to improve and they tell you their progress in that area and give routine updates. Kareo is mindful of billing requests and takes suggestions very seriously.

Pros

Kareo is the best software and most user friendly software I have ever used! One click later you can almost always find what you are looking for and the help you might need if you don't! It covers nearly every aspect of billing without being redundant or confusing. If you are just starting out this is the one to get, if you have been at this for a while then Kareo will cover all your bases at a pretty reasonable price.

Cons

The aspect I like least is the support HOWEVER; this has greatly improved since I started with Kareo about three years ago. I had to call support just last week and it could not have been better so I hold high hopes for this area!

August 2017

Linda from Linda Buseman PMHNP, LLC

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

August 2017

I began to use this system with templates that I created. I have used different systems and found this feature to be difficult. I have designed my own website so I am not a stranger to template making tasks.

I appreciate the discount for e prescribing only. I am a single person office, pay for a schedule system that is excellent and allows the pt. to prepay, and tech support is five + stars.

Pros

I can e prescribe and this is a great time saver. However, I would like to more easily print scripts for controlled substances without using 1 sheet per script. I treat ADHD and my patients often require 6 scripts.I do not use the scheduler, notes, etc. Because I do not take insurance, it appears that the insurance features would be beneficial. I also like the ability to find diagnoses for ICDM-10 by referencing ICDM-9.

Cons

One must find the pharmacy in demographics so as not to waste time. Using the prescription generator oftentimes will display those applicable pharmacies as does the demographics page.

June 2017

Jerome from Revive Life House

Company Size: 11-50 employees


Ease-of-use

2 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

2 of 5

June 2017

KAREO is difficult to use for Beahvioral Health.

Pros

Very easy to learn how to use on your own. Other than that, it is not the easiest program to use for behavioral health.

Cons

Very slow and cumbersome and not user-friendly for counselors
1 Cannot enter groups all at once (having a preloaded listing of clients and enter a visit in and have it populate automatically in all their charts)
2 No treatment planning option at all; other programs have treatment plans that ties notes and counselors to specific treatment plans (cannot update them electronically);
3 Even when you choose more than 10 clients per page, you still have to scroll down; window does not fit screen; if you get out of it, it defaults back to 10 clients; slows down progress
4 You should be able to print all notes out for client at one time

I have worked at both the state and federal level and while their systems were much more in-depth, they were more user-friendly and ease of navigation.

July 2014

Michelle from Health Back Center, Dr Rebecca Pearson LLC

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

July 2014

Easy to setup and train new staff; powerful enough to really perform

We selected Kareo to use right out of the gate for a veteran Doctor opening a start-up clinic with zero initial staff. Kareo training support during our initial phase was excellent, consistent, and readily available by phone and by online chat (a feature that we LOVE). After the initial training phase, they have remained readily accessible, although due to the stability and ease of the product, we rarely need assistance even at the 9 months marker. As a consultant in billing and insurance for over 20 years, I have put it through the paces really hard, expecting optimal performance, and placing many demands on performance and accuracy that some might not. Kareo has performed well while enabling me to easily train four new staff (who had no previous experience in the field) how to run the front office functions and even the initial entry of encounters for billing. We like the security available to various levels of user profiles! Very helpful to include or exclude certain functions by employee. Another area we really use is the TASK function. With several employees, billing located in a different location, and all working different shifts, the task function is a huge plus for this software. Kareo makes it easy to set up or switch and to comply with today's insurance, billing, and EHR regulations. An added bonus is that if we, or you, ever decide to outsource the billing portion, say, for instance, if you lost staff or just wanted to move billing out of the clinic, Kareo is positioned to immediately pickup and continue those functions seamlessly because of the cloud-based system. We particularly like the security of that backup plan. We couldn't be more pleased on performance and ease of use. The highly competitive rate, month to month no contract, and no large upfront costs or maintenance fees are all excellent features as well! With two generations of healthcare providers and a combined over 50 years in the field, and having previously owned a physician billing software company for more than 20 years, we are pleased to give Kareo a high recommendation.

July 2014

Michelle from Health Back Center, Dr Rebecca Pearson LLC

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

July 2014

Easy to setup and train new staff; powerful enough to really perform

We selected Kareo to use right out of the gate for a veteran Doctor opening a start-up clinic with zero initial staff. Kareo training support during our initial phase was excellent, consistent, and readily available by phone and by online chat (a feature that we LOVE). After the initial training phase, they have remained readily accessible, although due to the stability and ease of the product, we rarely need assistance even at the 9 months marker. As a consultant in billing and insurance for over 20 years, I have put it through the paces really hard, expecting optimal performance, and placing many demands on performance and accuracy that some might not. Kareo has performed well while enabling me to easily train four new staff (who had no previous experience in the field) how to run the front office functions and even the initial entry of encounters for billing. We like the security available to various levels of user profiles! Very helpful to include or exclude certain functions by employee. Another area we really use is the TASK function. With several employees, billing located in a different location, and all working different shifts, the task function is a huge plus for this software. Kareo makes it easy to set up or switch and to comply with today's insurance, billing, and EHR regulations. An added bonus is that if we, or you, ever decide to outsource the billing portion, say, for instance, if you lost staff or just wanted to move billing out of the clinic, Kareo is positioned to immediately pickup and continue those functions seamlessly because of the cloud-based system. We particularly like the security of that backup plan. We couldn't be more pleased on performance and ease of use. The highly competitive rate, month to month no contract, and no large upfront costs or maintenance fees are all excellent features as well! With two generations of healthcare providers and a combined over 50 years in the field, and having previously owned a physician billing software company for more than 20 years, we are pleased to give Kareo a high recommendation.

May 2018

Jennifer from Missions Services Organization LLC

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

May 2018

Very easy for anyone to use and learn!

Having multiple Drs under one set up was originally tricky. Once I was able to get in there and move around a little I was able to do what I needed and patients have not been affected.

Pros

The reporting ability and the ease of being able to explain a balance to a patient. Scheduling a patient on the right day/time is important and being able to time block and customize for 5 Drs has been beneficial.

Customer Service reps are always there when we need them to walk us through an issue, which isn't what we always experience.

Cons

Updates can be tricky. If we had notice of exactly what pieces were being updated, it would help out quite a bit. However, updates aren't that frequent and usually its for the better.

February 2017

Cara from Craft Behavioral

Company Size: 2-10 employees


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

February 2017

Good Value for your money

Started small with just the billing platform and have expanded to billing support, EHR, and marketing. The EHR and billing work seamlessly and accounts can be viewed in EHR. Pt reminders are via phone, text and email. Most insurance verification can be done on the platform. Labs and other ancillary services can download results into the EHR.

Pros

It's the total package. You can purchase as much support or as little as you feel you need. Marketing made a big difference for us. The pt reminders have made a huge difference also.

Cons

Sometimes your team gets changed and there is a getting to know you stage.

February 2017

Kevin from Spectrum Behavioral Health LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

February 2017

Kareo Works Well For Outpatient Mental Health Clinic

We are a small (7 therapist) clinic. We switched from PIMSY to Kareo EHR. It has been a very positive experience. We have used it for 15 months and our therapists really like it. The program is very easy to use. The support team has been very responsive and has taken some of our suggestions and incorporated them in the program. We just had our state certification inspection and we received the highest possible rating with favorable comments on the completeness and uniformity of our notes and records. We have had a few glitches but Kareo has responded very well to them. I would recommend it to any outpatient mental health clinic.

Pros

Very easy to use, open multiple windows without loss of speed or functionality.

Cons

Occasional glitches on calendar moving appointments around but they are working on that

October 2017

Jeffrey from Now solo practice. Prior: UC Davis Med Group

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1 of 5

Value for money

1 of 5

Customer support

2 of 5

Functionality

1 of 5

October 2017

Extremely frustrating, very poor functionality. After 1 year I left the company.

From Kareo: no significant benefit, mainly frustration. From your program to review Kareo: this was easy, helpful and productive. You know how to keep a person on-point.

Pros

Initially, the electronic software (EHR) was free, which allowed considerable forgiveness of the product. I initially appreciated the technical support from people who cared about their product and service. Unfortunately, the most common replies to questions from I.T. were apologies for not being able to provide what customers wanted and needed the most, see below.

Cons

1. Creating progress notes frustrating. Must save notes before changing screens, otherwise all information LOST. No auto-save. Saving data prior to change in screen, must save and CLOSE the document. Multiple steps to re-open again. Always inefficient.
2. Doctorbase is an "answering device for providers" to provide caller's phone number. The glitch for NEW callers: NO NAME provided, no message recorded. 10-15 "unknown" callers by end of day: 1/2 -3/4 were salesmen or bankers wanting to give loans.
3. When I changed companies, unable to transfer data in bulk. Had to transfer every patient individually. Other companies ALL had ability for bulk transfer. Would have to transfer emails individually, all 15,000.
4. Limited & unsophisticated ability to create progress notes to limit key strokes.
5. Requesting program upgrades: infrequent, rarely helpful, never quick or responsive even for minor change requests.
6. Initial support staff NEVER heard from again. I had to sort out problems by trial and error . I had 10 years prior experience in sophisticated programs before this disaster.
7. This is only a few of the problems I had before leaving. 6 months later, I received a call from Kareo asking how I would like to improve my experience & upgrade the system. They apparently did not know I was long gone.
8. Working with pharmacies never smooth or easy.
9. Many more issues, unfortunately, that I have suppressed.

September 2016

Michelel from Lakewood Family Health


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

2 of 5

Customer support

1 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

September 2016

Awesome product, ABYSMAL support

Pros

Easy to use EHR, support however is nearly absent. If the product is not go down in flames, they need to sell it off to a company who can do a little cpr to stop from running screaming from the building when they cant support, answers to questions about their monthly invoice, or even help configuring the program so you can actually use it. The lack of support is just baffling!

Cons

Once we got the system, it was like the vendor fell off the face of the earth. First our sales rep quit calling us, then our success coach disappeared, and so on and so forth. Messages are left in a cabbage patch where calls are not returned. They keep overbilling us for products and services we are not using or that they have failed to provide, and then there is nobody to talk to to correct the problem.

Response from Charlton of Kareo

Replied September 2016

Hello Michelle, We appreciate your candid feedback. We'd like to reach out for more information and address the issues you mentioned, including questions about your monthly invoice, configuration of the program and your experience with support. Please email us at customersuccessteam@kareo.com to confirm your account information and provide a phone number where we may contact you. Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we appreciate the feedback and will address the issues you identified.

December 2018

Shelly from RiverCity Family medicine

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

December 2018

Happy practice

Pros

It takes Care of most of our needs and is user friendly. We love the fact that Kareo listens to our needs and works on updates. Their customer service is outstanding.

Cons

There some few areas that need to be improved sooner than later.

1 -When you send a referral the demographics should be included and the options to send labs and studies.

2- when you upload results for the Dr you should be able to assigned them to the dr for reviewing and signing off on them. ( we can do labs and studies but not referrals or consuls or other important things.

3. The hospitalization and procedure section needs to be improved. Because when people get admitted to the hospital they generally have studies done and that section does not allow you to add any more than one thing per day.

4. I feel there should be a place for the hippa to be documented in the demographics sections. We currently use the note section in the demographics and document it there.

February 2019

claudia from ross e gardner, m.d.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

February 2019

Dependability When Needed at all Times

It's a blessing to be able to get assistance when you are trying to do your billing and be assured that you are going to be paid for the work that you are doing to keep your business going and be sure that the patients insurance company are billed and pay for the service rendered to the patients to keep the practice afloat and the revenue come in. Being able to get assistance when a problem arise and not be put on hold or hear a voice response and never get the help that needed for you to complete a days work. No hassle nor problems in regards to contact or response to the assistance when requested.

Pros

The accessible ability and easy in the usage, and the assistance given in my billing.

Cons

No complaints nor problems at the present time.

September 2016

Jennifer from Mission Services Org

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

September 2016

User friendly, dependable software

I have been using Kareo for 2 1/2 years and we haven't had any major issues w/downtime and/or malfunctions w/in the systerm

Pros

This software is user friendly and the ability to show others makes it helpful.

Cons

Some of the report options. Drs will ask for something in particular that I just can't produce. There are also a couple options that are editable when info is entered we feel should not be.

August 2017

Dr. Harshad from Dr. Harshad Patel MD PC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

1 of 5

Value for money

1 of 5

Customer support

1 of 5

Functionality

1 of 5

August 2017

poor urgency handling customer concern

Pros

Pros would consist of the ease of learning the fundamentals of working the EHR. It is pretty self explanatory once you fire up the application.

Cons

Our practice is located in Arizona, and the time on our EHR is incorrect since the base of kareo is located in California our system is on California time as opposed to Arizona. We have brought this issue to kareo, nothing was done there was no resolution to this matter and the time is still incorrect. One major issue that we are having is, we use a desk top for the use of kareo and as well as an Apple IPad. We are having an issue accessing "labs and studies" on the iPad and every time we open up this tab our app not only kicks us out but does not allow us to access the labs from the iPad thus causing Dr. Patel to then have to leave patients room come to the front to look at the labs, majorly taking away from Doctor Patient time. This matter has been brought to kareo's attention numerous amounts of times, and still it is not resolved we have been having this issue now for a total of 3-4 months. We call and receive a very typical answer from them stating that "we have our engineers working on it and someone will give you a call" no one ever gives our office a call back. we are very dissatisfied at this point with kareo and cons definitely out weigh the pros with this system.

February 2019

Alisha from Sequim Chiropractic

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

2 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

February 2019

Robust Software

Talk to other companies using Kareo and ask them what their difficulties are. It really is a good program, but there are some areas that may not work for your practice.

Pros

Billing reports are very detailed and useful. Very easy to access patients and schedule them. Very aesthetic dashboards.

Cons

Customer service and communication is definitely lacking. I don't expect any billing software to be totally perfect, but whenever they release a new update there tend to be quite a few bugs in the update.

November 2017

Angie from New Life Men's Health

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

2 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

November 2017

Not the best, but not the worst

Pros

The software is easy to learn and use. It is easy to verify the patients insurance and you can save it each time you verify it.

Cons

not an easy way to apply credits to another service line or another date of service, clearing house rejections do not always have a clear explanation to why they reject. When charting, it will not auto save and if you do not do chart quick enough, it will kick you out of the system and you loose everything you've charted on.

June 2018

Matthew from Digit-Futura

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

June 2018

Kareo is Good For Small Practices

I think they are a good program overall but i would be cautious before using them.

Pros

I felt like this company really understood how to brand, sell their product, good customer support, and had great usability. I felt like they were overall a good program and would recommend to smaller practices that are interested in building their practice and patient reviews.

Cons

I felt like the program was limited, had some bugs here and there, and was overall had the issues of new programs. I don't think bigger brands could deal with this bugs and wait through the length process to hear back from technical customer support for issues that shouldn't exist in the first place. This brand was also a little too sales focused, not genuine, which is a huge turn off for me.

August 2017

CRISTAL from Pathways Psychology Services

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

2 of 5

Customer support

1 of 5

Functionality

2 of 5

August 2017

Bad Customer Service

Newer use than our old one but not what our intentions and not user friendly, aesthetics could be better and better synchronization with the practice management

Pros

The scheduler is very helpful, I like that we can place a color coordination. I also like that you can view it when you hoover your mouse over it.

Cons

The view settings, you can not adjust your views. Reports are hard to set up and customize even with the Excel Ad-In.