User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(214)

214

4 stars

(182)

182

3 stars

(52)

52

2 stars

(9)

9

1 stars

(8)

8

  • Pros

  • "The amazing number of features. The support is awesome and the costs are reasonable."

  • "It is so very easy to use. Great support from Club Express, any time needed. Our members love what they can do, by themselves."

  • "Great value for the price! I have not seen any other software offering the same features for a better price."

  • Cons

  • "It's a little annoying when they keep updating the features, but they are very good about helping us to navigate new things."

  • "Sometimes the 'full feature set' of options is more complex than what is needed. The manual and videos are fairly good but could possibly be better, with more examples of application functionality."

  • "It has almost too many options. LOL - it is getting hard to navigate, but on the other hand I like the ability to use the additional options. "

Browse ClubExpress Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 465 results

January 2020

Martin from McLean (Va) Citizens Association

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Solid service offering and very good value

We needed a product/service that handled membership operations (dues, renewals, info updates, mailings) without depending on continuous availability of a "computer-techie" volunteer or a paid IT support contractor. ClubExpress meets this core requirement very reliably at quite reasonable no-contract monthly fee based on active membership. The integrated Website functionality lets us have an on-line secure repository for our documents accessible by all or various subsets of membership. Included telephone and email support from ClubExpress is responsive and available to any member (not just a few admins.) Overall we are quite satisfied with the service and consider it very well worth the fees.

Pros

Completely Cloud-based Most functions menu-driven and accessible without requiring "superuser" access or professional technology expertise Access-controls to support Members-only information/functions, driven by Membership database Includes basically unlimited SMTP (email sending) for membership bulk mailing "Ahead of the curve" on compliance with privacy protections High reliability

Cons

Component "building blocks" don't fit perfectly with the usage patterns of our (local civic) organization Limited site-performance data collection or analytics built in Editing function (for generating emailings, news articles, etc) is a little complex for completely non-technical users, and a little rough.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

We looked at a "top ten" list to select initial candidates and then did a more detailed comparison against about 20 criteria of ClubExpress vs. Wild Apricot, another strong candidate. One key plus for ClubExpress was the ability to allow Website and membership management functions to be selectively delegated to club officials like Committee Chairs or the Treasurer, everything didn't have to flow through one or two super-users/admins. Another was the "building-block" approach of composing a Website using a variety of standard functions (e.g. News, Event Calendar) that are configured and maintained via menus (vs. coding of any kind.) We also liked their cost model, and included unlimited phone support, bulk emailing and on-line storage.

January 2020

Toni from Laguna Plein Air Painters Association

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2020

Anxious to Get Started

We believe we've made the right decision with our switch to ClubExpress and that they will provide the support needed for our nonprofit to sustain and grow. Presently we are behind schedule for completing the set up, so we are anxious to finish and get to work.

Pros

ClubExpress appears to be the prefect solution for our nonprofit art organization as an affordable integrated member management program with the added web-based features we desired (directory, calendar, storefront, photo albums, custom video page). We appreciate the available tutorials and webinars. Our set up is not yet complete, so we are not presently fully operational, but we anticipate that our first impressions will soon proven correct.

Cons

We're behind schedule on completing our set up for various reasons, but from what we have been able to learn and accomplish so far, we found some of our biggest challenges in the areas related to edit windows with what we perceive as inconsistencies with tools and formats (i.e., we can't add a linked button to the homepage but we can accomplish this task in a news article). We're used to the ease of "drag and drop" templates and applications that we use now, so we are struggling a bit to learn how to use the new tools, symbols and options being offered that are not as intuitive to us. We're challenged with the photo upload variations. Volunteer opportunities don't have the option to be added to the calendar. Storefront products can't be copied to save time in adding multiple inventory variations of the same product type. The program allows for multi-level Membership Types but we had to pay extra for a customization to show the Membership Type in the Member Directory. This being said, we are confident that ClubExpress will prove to be the best solution for our needs and that we will continue to learn and appreciate what ClubExpress has to offer.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

Initial cost and perceived better customer support

January 2020

Rachael from JNET Business Networking

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Business Supplies and Equipment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2020

The Challenge of Evolving with Technology Demands (UI/UX)

I love them, but I also really understand their limitations. I refer not to just the technology limitations, but the mindset limitation. Each time I share (perhaps 100+ now) possible modifications to simplify processes, I get the response of a programmer, not of a designer and UI/UX thinker. In other words, I get the excuse as to why it IS and has to stay that way, rather than the "ah-hah! Yes, we should figure that out." I recommend that, as a group of executives, you do a Mindset ReSet leadership retreat (which I do, btw). Your attention to professionalism, organization, and your customers is outstanding, and I would love for you, as a group, to be able to break through the often restrictive set-up that slows down design and user experience innovation. With much respect and gratitude, I wish you much prosperity in this New Year.

Pros

Your offering has the best value for the money. The customer support is wonderful, second to none. The constant attention to upgrades - and that you plan them ahead - shows incredible organization and constant dedication to your customers and to your product. The features are very robust. It shows that you are really listening closely to your customers' requests - perhaps better than any competitor out there - and responding to them! I do believe that it is possible to offer robust features in a more simplified and intuitive way. The longevity of several staff members is very impressive, and their dedication to problem-solve with and remember their customers' specific needs and preferences is VERY impressive. I have felt that on several occasions. When asked if I'd recommend Club Express to others, I want it to be a 10 based on how outstanding you are for the reasons above. Yet, the feedback I receive from many of our members - and the amount of volunteers' time for the learning curve - makes it difficult to recommend it to other organizations' executives when they may not have the same level of volunteer support. Make your site more intuitive and efficient and I will gladly recommend you to everyone!

Cons

1. Club Express focuses on developing a new function, rather than first on how the user can best experience it. I suggest greater ease and intuition (UI/UX) with feature development. E.g., when the new Events/Calendar functionalities rolled out 1-2 years ago, it greatly increased the complexity (and number of mouse clicks) to set up an event. More features are okay, but should be intuitive and efficient. 2. Your data organization is not conducive to simple, obvious changes. Good, intuitive design does not require the tiny-text prompts that I turn off, but have to do so in the site code. What should be simple changes are stuck behind the organization of how the database was structured. Get rid of the instruction prompts (obvious to modern-day computer users); do not let them affect Chapter Finder and other key functions. Information should be built separate from functionality. 3. More attractive, fully responsive template options 4. Mobile set-up (duplicative efforts) should not be needed and currently degrade for tablet 5. Give us more CSS control; place classes on div's, etc. so that our CSS can target them 6. Member registration MUST be simplified; I detailed a PPT of 20 ways to improve it and was shocked that none of the modifications were possible. 7. If you had a modern-looking, fluidly-flowing app that automatically input information from the website databases (directory and design), then you would rock our world and really step it up in many organizations' eyes. :-)

January 2020

Robert from SS Class Association

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Maritime

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Easy and Flexible Software

Overall, we are very happy with everything that ClubExpress provides for us. Their software and services are priced very reasonable, and the administrative tools make it very easy to perform weekly and monthly tasks to manage our members and their interests.

Pros

This software has all the tools necessary to build really great web pages for our sailing club. All the administrative features are available for managing our club members, and all the tools work well to manage our club documents and photos. The membership administration is superb, since it allows our members to manage their own contact information, and profiles. At the same time we can administer all our member subscriptions and activities in one place. Membership renewal is very important for our club, and the ClubExpress administrative features allow us to simplifiy this annual process.

Cons

Only a few hiccups were discovered. Originally we had some difficulty uploading groups of photos into our club's photo albums, but that issue seems to be resolved now. One other frustration is managing our historic documentation. There appears to be no way to view documents online, so members who wish to view an historic document must download the document to their computer. Consequently, we need to shrink the size of our documents, by dividing them up into smaller categories. That way the smaller documents are quicker to download, while our larger documents take much more time to download. We find this to be somewhat cumbersome with current technology.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

The ClubExpress software fits very well with our sailing club activities.

January 2020

Neal from Utah Rocket Club, Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Reduces Club Officer Work and Improves Member involvement

The decision to move our web presence to ClubExpress has been good. Our group is small so cost was a concern but the overall ease of membership renewals and ease of updating content makes up for it. Plus the ability to have events that can be paid and registered all through our website has been a huge improvement and has allowed the website to bring in enough new funds that it has displaced the costs.

Pros

THe software is stable, relatively easy to use and has the functionality that are needed for a non-profit organization or club. Overall the tool is a great solution. I don't have to spend hours updating a CMS system and no longer have to worry about hackers attacking my site and having to fix/rebuild it. The support staff is excellent and know their product and its capabilities very well.

Cons

Some of the interfaces are a little klugey to use. They are constantly improving them however. There are some limitations to what can be done in terms of customization and tailoring the workflow and overall appearance of the site. Nothing that is a showstopper, but it has slowed us down a couple of times. I do wish they would update some of the templates and have more responsive options.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

Functionality and price. ClubExpress was reasonably priced and we were not penalized for having a complete and robust site through them.

January 2020

Sally from The Australian Sociological Association

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

A Club Express review from a non-profit perspective

The Club Express support during the trial & building phase was second to none. The support we received meant that we had a seamless transition from our old site to our Club Express site, including the migration of all of our members. We only went live 3 months ago but we are confident that we will be with CE for years to come.

Pros

The Club Express (CE) platform is intuitive, modular, adaptable and continually developing and growing. As a non-profit membership professional association, with only one employee, Executive Officer (EO), and a bunch of volunteers, the 7 level password feature has been incredibly useful in terms of organisational management; being able to assign members access to a single page and/or module etc spreads the work load and, in turn, creates space for the EO to focus on other matters such as developing strategic initiatives. As a single employee association, the exceptional Club Express support back-up affords extra support for our members as well as making the association less reliant on the tacit knowledge of a single person. In terms of creating our site, this was done by the EO with CE support - no developer expenses required:-) Our association has 26 thematic groups, which our members can join. The Sub Groups CE module has empowered the conveners of our thematic groups who can be administrators of their own groups. Among other benefits, this feature has streamlined communication between the conveners and their members and has also reduced the EO's administration time spent on thematic groups, again creating space for the EO to dedicate to other matters. Above all, the fact that CE are continuing developing their platform means that if it doesn't currently do something we want, we know that it will likely be doing it down the track.

Cons

The Club Express default email address (where our newsletters and renewal reminders etc come from) was blocked by all university firewalls and some industry workplaces. This was not a CE issue per se but it was a hiccup we thought we'd covered by emailing all members ahead of the website transition asking them to white-list the address. It's a small thing but we'd prefer they weren't called Club Express! We get why they have that name but it doesn't have the right tone for us as a professional association. At the end of the day, their platform proved too good to knock back just because of the company name!

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

We chose Club Express because their platform ticked more of our needs & wishes boxes.

January 2020

Jeff from International Guild of Musicians in Dance

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Fine Art

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Outstanding customer service

We are solving our problem of managing all aspects of our memberships, communication, marketing, and having a well-functioning, good looking website to present to the world. The overall experience has been great.

Pros

ClubExpress supports EVERY user, as in every member of our group, not just administrators. This is a huge help to our small group. Example: Yesterday I had a member who was having an issue posting to the discussion forums via email. I checked everything I knew to check as an administrator, and still couldn't understand why he was having an issue. So I was able to direct him to speak with CE support, and they were able to resolve the issue for him - Helpful for all of us. One other thing is that the development team seems to listen to suggestions and implement desired changes/features rapidly when they hear from enough users. In fact, there is an email address dedicated to receiving ideas/suggestions. CE also had designer help us realize our vision for the look and functionality of our new site as we built it. They are also very thoughtful and transparent about data privacy/ownership/usage in their policies.

Cons

The interface for writing/publishing text on pages is a little clunky.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

Better match of needed/desired features and cost (overall value).

January 2020

alan from Merrimack Valley Striders

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Club Express Improves Club Management Experience

Club management on ClubExpress has made it easy to manage many aspects of the organization. The platform is stable with a robust set of tools to support the club's needs. Security and privacy is solid and trustworthy.

Pros

ClubExpress has many modules that helps organize our running club's organization. The membership module works flawlessly with little to no manual intervention required from administrators. The website generation tools make it easy to create new web pages to support club programs. Event creation and registration is valuable and versatile. Communication tools allow us to create surveys, polls, and email blasts to the membership. ClubExpress keep adding new capabilities like apps and text messaging to keep up with the current preferred methods of receiving notifications. Platform upgrades add new features and fix bugs to improve the user experience. The money management module works well with no issues. Above all, ClubExpress provides all these capabilities with the flexibility to tailor the privacy of content and its members.

Cons

Some content generation can be difficult to wrangle with the supplied tools after a platform upgrade. Some module upgrades to address bugs and customer requests can be a challenge to get working.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

ClubExpress was selected as better choice to protect membership privacy. Also, ClubExpress was recommended for running club management by our over-arching organization, Road Running Clubs of America (RRCA.)

January 2020

William from Groton Neighbors, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Groton Neighbors - "It takes a Village"

As a Village organization dependant upon volunteers with limited computer literacy, a major concern was whether or not we could actually find members willing to work in a space outside their comfort zone to run our business. Any undertaking like ours requires process and detail oriented leadership, a team of intrepid and fearless volunteers...and the right tools and partner in ClubExpress. We have all of the above and could not be more pleased with the results.

Pros

The ClubExpress platform is a perfect fit for an all volunteer non-profit like Groton Neighbors. It is comprehensive, versatile, user friendly, and affordable. Features tailored to the needs of Villages allowed us to focus our energies during start-up on shaping and building our organization confident that we had the infrastructure needed to run it. We have grown considerably since opening for business 3+ years ago and ClubExpress has grown with us.

Cons

Initially most transactions were discreet - that is, repetitive tasks had to be completed individually. This never impacted our membership but it can be tedious for an all volunteer Virtual Office Staff like ours. ClubExpress has listened to their customers and responded with a steady stream of improvements designed to make our jobs easier.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

Recommendation of other Villages, Village specific features

January 2020

Matt from Lake Stevens Chamber of Commerce

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Very robust, but sometimes clunky

Overall we've been happy with the product, and are just really getting into the depths to which it can help our organization grow and prosper. The customer service is top notch, quick to respond, and willing to make adjustments just for us. This is a very powerful web service and we are looking to getting to fully know it!!

Pros

The ClubExpress system is very robust with a very wide variety of modules, and endless ways to customize them. We are only 6 months in to using it, and I am sure we have not yet figured out all of the ways or organization can benefit. The email editor, once learned, is very powerful and can be manipulated with a wide variety of options. Customer service is top notch!

Cons

Some of the procedures to complete steps can be a bit cumbersome: for example if you make a change in a change box, select save on the change box, but forget to select save at the bottom of the page, all changes are lost. Reports seem to take one or two dialog boxes to generate (could be condensed). Web editor feels clunky. Some editors have limited font options, and edits sometimes don't take on the first try.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

Ultimately, the price was significantly less, and the product did everything (and more) than our previous service.

January 2020

Mimi from Duke Campus Club

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Great for a simple social organization

Implementing this system has been really helpful to our organization overall. First, there are multiple Admins so no critical dependencies ( a big problem for us before). And more and more members are paying online with credit cards so fewer trips to the bank for the Treasurer. And renewals are considerably more successful. Having the calendar widget on the home page has made registering for events much easier for members. We use the Emailing module for our newsletters so they are accessible in a tab in the nav bar.

Pros

It is fairly easy to use once you get started. We have a fairly simple set of requirements since we are a social organization and therefore don't use a lot of features. We do use it for events and membership renewal. The automation of the notices for the renewal feature is really helpful. The events module is very good though it has some limitations. The very best thing about CE is that the support is really fantastic. They are very responsive and I mostly get an answer to my question the first time I try.

Cons

Emailing. It is very clunky and often, even after testing, the final product does not look good (wrong justifications, colored background of header texts). And there is no record of the email going out (how many people got it, bounces etc --that info goes to the sender but there is no area where it is retained. The other feature we don't like is that you cannot have closed groups, that is groups that cannot have more members. So we have to hide those groups which make it impossible for the members or leader of those groups to access the email feature for communications (leader to member) or look at the internal page (the blue circle with the white "i"). And we don't like it that there are some features that are required to be used and cannot be suppressed, like the News tab which is useless to us.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

The product was much more complete than competitive products. The support was terrific and there is another local organization who liked it.

January 2020

John from SIR Branch 134

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Comprehensive Cloud Based System for organizing, managing and growing membership based non-profits

1. Public and Private (member login required) website. Implemented within 30 days. 2. Membership database implemented in three days. 200+ member records bulk-load by Club Express in one day. 3. Sons in Retirement (SIR) is an interest (activities for men in their retirement years) based organization. The ClubExpress platform provides for creation and management of categorized interest groups of activities managed by designated member coordinators. Members may join or leave individual activities at any time. 4. Financial management of member dues payments and organization event registration and fee payments via an event calendar. 5. Availability of version and a mobile app

Pros

Comprehensive integrated cloud based software for a custom public/private website, member database management, club and activities organization, communications, financial management with access to on-line, telephone, user manuals and webinar customer support. The total monthly cost is based on the number of active members with no long term contract commitment. A 30 day trial period was provided which allowed ample time to review, learn and use the basic functions including configuring our initial website.

Cons

The Club Express platform is technically and functionally comprehensive. Our organization chose to implement the system ourselves rather than purchase and engage Club Express support. As a result many volunteer hours of effort from club members were required. A new function, text messaging, comes at extra cost which appears to our members as not justified. The News article function is good for brief, one page or less, articles. However, our organization monthly newsletter icurrently includes eight pages and is emailed in pdf format to most members, printed and post mailed to a few members. We must resort to using Microsoft Publisher and uploading the pdfs to a ClubExpress document folder, creating a custom page with links to the newsletter documents making the newsletter available on our website.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

Our organization is not a pubic service entity and does not solicit financial or in-kind donations. APLOS , an outstanding company, offers fund accounting and donor management along with member management and website. The ClubExpress platform and especially the Interests group function, fits our organization needs and focus.

January 2020

Deborah from LWVBC.org

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Political Organization

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Comprehensive Member Management

Overall, our organization's leaders feel more in control, more easily able to track transactions, than they were before we contracted with Club Express. Club Express might be even better for us if more of our members were enthusiastic about its very sophisticated feature--or even comfortable with them. The commercial aspect of Club Express doesn't quite suit us because we provide a lot of information free of charge to users, i.e., voters.

Pros

The developers and other staff seem to be constantly available to help. They typically answer emails immediately. In my organization (a nonprofit working for informed citizen participation in government) the membership team and the finance team appreciate Club Express features that handle dues and event fees and donations and the like. As webmaster I work much more on preparing Custom Pages with information about our work than on member rosters and bookkeeping.

Cons

Custom Page construction with the Page Rows remains awkward. Spacing is inflexible, fonts change for no apparent reason -- frustrating. Developers are constantly revising--improving--the software, which can be hard on users. The volume of instructional manuals is overwhelming. There is no "help" guide for specific problems.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

We had a website and used website software but we had never used member management software. Club Express was recommended by people in other chapters of our organization in various parts of the U.S. We looked at their websites and compared websites of other member management software vendors, I can't remember which ones.

January 2020

Ryan from The Sheboygan Rifle & Pistol Club, Inc.

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Complete Club Management Platform

This has been extremely well received by our members and we noticed a huge uptick in applications for membership at our gun club. The ease of use of the platform makes it simple and easy to update and provide as much information as we can to members and the public alike to increase interest and participation in our Club activities. Members are still complimenting our website committee and with online renewals the administrative savings are immense. Online renewals were going to be a make or break with our Club and ClubExpress and they exceeded on all ends. I set up the renewals incorrectly and one phone call and ClubExpress was able to fix my mistake. Members were shocked how easy renewals are while still being through: we can display our range rules and members have to sign off on them before renewing. Finally, we've seen an uptick in our optional raffle ticket purchases for our annual gun raffle. Members were able to easily add on their purchases and since the funds go into different "accounts" in ClubExpress' log, we can easily separate membership dues from raffle ticket purchases.

Pros

The front end for website creation is simple and easy to use, but the system is extremely robust in the back end (administrative systems). Right now we are going through renewals and nearly everyone was shocked by how simple it is to navigate. It's hard to list just one: they really thought of everything and keep updating and adding more features to their platform. The system is extremely through. Finally the two times were I had issues, ClubExpress has answered the call and had the problems solved extremely fast; they know their stuff and and fix problems quickly.

Cons

Knowing what we know now, the original set-up costs were higher than we needed to purchase. However, knowing what we know now, we would have definitely chosen ClubExpress again; we see no reason to change from ClubExpress anytime soon.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

If we hired a local company to build a website from scratch it would cost over $15k and we would be dependent on them to update the website. Furthermore, the website would become stale over time. Researching ClubExpress and their concept: develop a cookie cutter club website platform and generate a website using their system was so common sense that my only regret was time we debated the decision.

January 2020

Vern from Golden Link Folk Singing Society

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Music

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Good Software for Clubs

I can easily get the reports that I need: lists of people who have purchased tickets; or lists of people buying memberships either through PayPal (or finances application) or by cash or check. I like the Event Calendar portion of the software. Most often I am entering just Basic Information and Location. I like being able to add a linkable email address or website, and to include a contact phone number. Having a button to include a hot link to a map application is great. The ability to make multiple copies of an event, either recurring weekly or monthly, is wonderful. I am still learning some of the other features such as having an event that spans multiple days. The Money tab features are broad, but include the things that I need as a treasurer. I primarily use Trans/Payments by Account to get information on activity. This I check almost daily. User Payments/Credits lets me see who has paid by cash/check versus by PayPal. Finally being able to click on an event on our home page, go to Administrator Option, and then create a report makes preparation for a concert very easy.

Pros

Club Express is easy to navigate. The learning curve was relatively brief for the things that I use: aspects of the People tab to locate members or update membership, the Website tab to access and update the Event Calendar, and the Money tab to keep tabs on purchases of tickets or memberships. The Event Calendar is full featured. Some events recur with slight change from month to month, and this is easy to enter. Other events might recur irregularly, but it is easy to search for an event and duplicate it with changes. There are lots of options in some of the menus, and it takes some time to determine what is the best choice. I like to view some reports online as a pdf, other times I prefer downloading in MS Excel format or csv format.

Cons

No real issues anywhere. The wealth of options can be overwhelming at first, but it is quick to learn.

January 2020

Brian from Colorado Pilots Association

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2020

Reasonably good site for hosting club web presence

The support has been great. I work in a support role in my day job and I must say calling CE is a frictionless experience. I've emailed on a Saturday or Sunday and gotten responses back during that time - usually because my question is either answered, or the issue fixed. Overall, my experience with Club Express has been good. There's a long list of things I'd love to improve, but for what the software does, it does it reasonably well.

Pros

The hosting software does a reasonably good job in helping create a packaged online presence. For someone not familiar with creating a website there is a lot to be done when creating a site, from the server setup (and administration), creating databases, store functionality (credit card transactions) and other programming. Club Express has all of this packaged up into one reasonably easy to deploy environment. There are certain methodologies which you have to understand in order to best use the site software, but this isn't any different than learning any other software package. With any software/site support is absolutely essential to helping smooth out the rough edges and I've found Club Express support to be very helpful and I can usually get my issues squared away within one call and certainly less than a day.

Cons

While the site is easy to put up, there are some areas where the design is a bit clunky and challenging to use. As long as you stay within their parameters you're probably be fine, but no single organization fits perfectly into that box. Sometimes it's easier to change the code than it is to change the organization culture... other times, the culture has to change to fit the code. Neither of those operations can be very comfortable. One usually requires money, the other usually requires many meetings and often tears as old ways have to change. The site software tries to do many things and given the demand of everyone going mobile these days, the mobile software falls short. It's far FAR easier to to manage on a desktop than on a phone or tablet. Their recently released texting functionality is a great example. Neat feature - but completely unusable unless you're at a computer. Can you do it on a phone? Sure - but the mirad of menus one has to navigate through to send a text makes it useless. It's better just to start a group text before the event and use that going forward.

January 2020

Dave from Ohio Valley Woodturners Guild

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Don't look any further

Seven years ago I was on the team to find and implement website software for our growing club. We searched for a year but when we found Club Express and worked with them and the demo software we were all convinced that for our purposes this was the best solution that we had seen. We have been using the software now for 6 years and have no desire to look elsewhere. From day one their software support team help desk has been the best I have ever worked with in my 35 years of messing with computers. They respond quickly, speak English and when we are having a difficult time implementing something they will often do the coding for us at no extra charge. Early on we had a very complicated event/registration we wanted to get on the calendar. I told the support person what we wanted/needed and he did it for us. We have copied and modified that event several times since with little difficulty.

Pros

I love that it is WYSIWYG. What you see is what you get. I don't have to know HTML or any other programming language. I love that it is user-friendly. I love that I can delegate certain pages and/or functions to other folks and they can't mess in areas that they don't belong. I love the unlimited space available at no extra charge. I love the modularity. There is a module for almost anything a club would ever want to do. I love the clear and extensive documentation that is always up to date. I love that there are constant improvements and additional functionality being added. There are many more things to love but most of all I love the stellar support via email and/or phone.

Cons

I don't like that there is no way to download more than one photo at a time. Multi-photo uploads are supported but not downloads. I don't like that photo searches bring up multiple instances of the same photo and only returns 100 photos instead of all that meet the criteria. There needs to be better ways to manage photos. Maybe an interface like Windows Explorer.f The survey module needs to do better reporting of results. Maybe something similar to what Survey Monkey does.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

It was the best value and does everything we need and much more.

January 2020

John from Cobb County Democratic Committee

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Political Organization

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2020

The Great and Not So

We have observed a moderate increase in fee-based memberships which helps to support our political efforts in the county. The integration of membership management and related financial transactions gives us much better visibility into our operations and gives us the ability to identify and work with those members who have demonstrated a strong financial commitment to our organization and its work. As noted in the Cons above, we have been quite disappointed with event management (it is way too hard to configure and manage events especially when the majority of people interested in and attending such events are not actually formal members in the CE member database) and email communications for our audience of over 10,000 interested parties but not formal members. We have lowered our expectations for a single system to do everything for our large, county-based political organization interacting with a very large population of people most of whom are not formal members of the organization. I would not recommend ClubExpress as the single, do-it-all system for other such political organizations, but I would recommend it for formal member management and web presence.

Pros

The product is very good for managing formal memberships within our county political organization. We were able to configure not only the usual demographic information but could also create custom data elements to identify and track members who have formal voting rights for the business of the organization. Managing and maintaining our web presence is easy without having to resort to web/HTML coding which to date is an option but not one we have needed.

Cons

As we intended, we migrated our custom website and member management system, our third-party event management services, and our third-party email communication services all to ClubExpress. After moving all of these, we found great value for the website and member management functionality. Unfortunately, the email communication and event management services in ClubExpress have failed significantly to meet our needs, so we have quit using those services in ClubExpress and gone back to our former service providers, MailChimp and Eventbrite, for those services. This has resulted in incremental costs we had planned to eliminate.

January 2020

Deborah from League of Women Voters of Boulder County, CO

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Hard to Imagine Managing Without It!

Very good. We especially appreciate their willingness to adapt to a long-term goal of using the system to connect local chapters to theirs state ones and mesh the local and national databases.

Pros

This software has greatly improved our outreach and communications internally and externally and thus increased the scope and effectiveness of our organization, all the while being relatively easy to use. We can manage our member database easily and have saved much volunteer time though automated volunteer sign-up and member and event management, not to mention communications to our membership. The support response has been excellent with one support person assigned to our account, with others available if that person isn't. Club Express is continually improving and expanding what it can offer.

Cons

There are occasional issues such as non-members having difficulty joining if they have been on our non-member mailing list due to a conflict of their login as a non-member. The person attempts to join via the website without an administrator knowing they are trying to do this, and thus they are not able to join. Club Express has indicated it is working on a solution to this issue.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

ClubExpress was rated one of the best by PC Magazine when we investigated options. Then, we found one of our other local Leagues had been using the software and highly recommended it. Having that League's guidance on how they had installed and used it convinced us to choose it. Also, Club Express seemed to offer us a better possibility of linking all our local and state chapters through it.

January 2020

Leigh from SaddleBrooke Pickleball Association

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Great Website Tools for a Club

We have a club in a senior retirement community that has over 700 members using different computer platforms. We use the site as a promotional website as well as a way to keep members informed on events. Our members LOVE being able to see and post images of club activities. The secured areas allow us to keep documents available to our Board without having to keep separate cloud-based storage. We use the survey capability to perform our elections each year as well as interest surveys.

Pros

Full-featured for what we needed. This program provided both a public-facing website as well as a secure members-only area for disseminating information, organizing events, handling application and payments to join, and a location for storing important files for our members and our Board. As an administrator you have great control over accessibility of each area. The tools introduced the last couple of years have allowed us to tailor website pages to meet our needs. And it's so easy to email our membership as well as subgroups of our membership.

Cons

For our organization, the only thing it was missing was the ability to create a waitlist for events and then to add folks on the waitlist as slots for an event opened.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

Flexibility

July 2018

Matthew from International Coach Federation South Florida Chartered Chapter

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

End Board Member Burnout

More members, easier event planning, and marketing. We were recognized by our Global leadership for doubling our membership 2 years after implementation. Other chapters have asked for our help in implementing the same software and procedures.

Pros

We used free tools like Gmail, MailChimp, Weebly and Paypal. Nothing spoke to each other and our membership database was a nightmare. Membership, programming, and treasurer each kept separate databases and our records were a mess. Our committee did an exhaustive review of 5 software packages before deciding on Club Express. Now everything is in one place. We have doubled our membership and cut the workload for board members in half. 2 years after implementation our chapter was recognized for our leadership. Club Express was the reason. Simply automating renewals and dues reminders was huge. Tracking attendance and collecting satisfaction polls helped up to create programs that better serve our membership. The integration with the website keeps everyone informed. New events show up on the calendar. New members show up in our searchable member database from the homepage.

Cons

Software this powerful also requires some learning. Many of the functions have small "icons" instead of drop-down menus. It has taken me a while to learn the iconography and I often click the wrong option before finding the one I really want. I wish it was more intuitive, but that is a very subjective statement. Intuitive to me may not be that way for you. We have 3 board members that have become experts on Club Express and we have not had any issues training the next generation as they take over our chapter.

February 2020

Pauline from Army Football Club

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Great Product, Requires Computer Knowledge

Overall Club Express has made managing our club much easier. In particular the automatic reminders when it is time to renew their membership. We run our annual golf tournament with Club Express and the registrations can get involved with personal info, golf team info, clothing info, and sponsorships. Once you learn how to set up the registrations, it runs relatively easy, with reports available to you on all levels. And when you have questions, the support staff works with you to set up what you need, test it, and be sure you are getting the results you need.

Pros

Talking to their staff prior to our decision was easy and they asked all the right questions, things we did not think about on our end. I appreciated how Club Express worked with us to import our data. They made it easy, discussing the import fields, how things should be structured, and our requirements.They kept us advised every step of the import and made the initial process of set-up easy.

Cons

Understanding some of their terminology took a bit, but I believe part of that was our inexperience in this type of software.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

We knew someone who was using it and they recommended it to us. BUT the options from Club Express are what sealed the deal. It gave us a way to manage our membership, do our golf tournament with relative ease, send email to all our members, as well as sending email to only a group of them. It was like one stop shopping. Plus while we have continued to use the product, they make updates, improvements, and new options almost yearly.

January 2020

Jennifer from At Home in Alexandria

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Improving our data management

After the usual growing pains we have found this system to be a wonderful upgrade and is enabling us to work more efficiently in all aspects of our operation. We still have features we have not implemented (like Forums and Ad Hoc Reporting), but that will come with time. I'd like to particularly credit the tech support staff for answering my every dumb question and implementing some upgrades that we have suggested. I think the caliber of the tech support is just outstanding.

Pros

Our small non-profit "village" had cobbled together at least 6 other software applications to conduct our day-to-day business. It was duplicative and a bit of a mess. Using ClubExpress enabled us to bring everything under one umbrella - managing member and prospect records, entering payments and donations, event registration management, sending out email blasts, and providing volunteers the ability to accept service requests online, anytime. Plus, members can access the system to update their records, RSVP for events and make their payments and donations. It's been a terrific upgrade.

Cons

The transition was a bit of a challenge as you might imagine as we bring all these functions under one roof. Our staff is very busy and had to fit in training on the fly. It took several months for all of us to feel comfortable using the system. That's not the fault of CE, but just a fact of transitioning. It would be much better for a group to start out with CE versus transition to it, though the CE customer support has been absolutely outstanding and the training videos and regular webinars help a lot. Some of our members and volunteers still do not access the system, but that's ok since so many are actually using it.

January 2020

Ron from Ride Yourself Fit, Inc

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Ride Yourself Fit Website

Ride Yourself Fit is a non-profit 501c3 club for bicycling, walking and healthy eating with an overall motto of fun, fitness and fellowship. We are able to get the necessary information out to our membership and the general public in an easy and complete manner using this software.

Pros

The ease of use and the variety of options that fit the club's needs for a website. Periodic updates are received and the manual contains good information. The event calendar has many options and is easy to develop for various events. Registrations and payments for events is simple as well and membership renewals.

Cons

Would like to see a few more options that allow individual users to develop and save information. As an example, RYF uses a variety of colors that define specific programs and activities. These colors are not part of the standard colors offered by Club Express. The webmaster must use the HTML color code number each time that specific color is desired. There should be an option to save these specific colors in a semi-permanent basis for future use. Also some improvement could be better interaction with an Excel spreadsheet for downloading large spreadsheets and data.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

A full website provided a much better opportunity to disseminate our message and information than just a social media platform. Club Express was recommended to us and we looked at the other user's website. We saw the ability it presented and chose Club Express.

January 2020

Yvonne from Illinois Paralegal Association & Insurance Collection Executives

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

ClubExpress=outstanding value for small to medium non-profit & customer service can't be beat

I work with many other AMS and I really like ClubExpress. The greatest thing about CE is the customer service. I appreciate being able to either email or call with a question and get almost immediate response. I also appreciate that they accept suggested improvements and eventually implement those suggestions that are compatible with most of their clients.

Pros

I guess I would say that I like that CE is always rolling out improvements. Over the past 5 years, there have been improvements that I wanted and eventually, they have implemented those improvements.

Cons

I would have to say that what I like least is that we can't tailor the software to meet every one of our specific needs. This software is for multiple nonprofits and clubs and has to meet the needs of a wide range of clients. I would like to see a Search function added to the website, and that is one drawback we are currently experiencing.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

CE's demo was impressive; they offer "live" supprot vs. "support ticket"; located in same time zone as the association executive director; scheduling of blast emails.

January 2020

Kary from Snojoke Ski Club

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Sports

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2020

A good product for a Ski Cloub

As an admin and one of the founding people at getting Club Express into the club, I have been on the front lines with this product since day 1. It has been an evolutionary process and you need strong IT people to set this up correctly. The product is not the most intuitive, and the user interface could be much simpler, but once people are trained in how to use the software, most adapt reasonably quickly. Older members have the most problems and it is typically with the payment and sign up for events process.

Pros

It put our 400 person ski and sports club online for the first time. It is reasonably easy to use once people get trained on the product. The company has good tech support which is available online or on the phone without a long wait period. They are very responsive and have adopted some of our requests for improvement.

Cons

The payment scheduling is not functional for us. We need each member to be able to know exactly how much is owed on a particular trip or event and to have the amount correct in the box when they go to pay. Right now there is a "pencil icon" that must be changed to the correct amount. This is particularly troublesome for trips with multiple payments as not all members sign up at the same time. Repeated attempts to get this to change have been unsuccessful. It is the main issue that keeps me from giving 5 stars to the product.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

We talked to other users and there really wasn't much on the market that was set up for our type of ski and sports club.

January 2020

Elisabeth from Bradford Sportsmens Club

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Membership Management Made Easy

Our overall experience with Club Express has been wonderful. We joke that this has brought our Club into the 21st Century! We have 500 members and growing and without Club Express, I don't know how we would have managed!

Pros

The ease of use of the Club Express software as an administrator is what I like about it most. We went from managing our membership on paper to this system, and it has been a life saver. Our old website had no functionality and was only informational. We now have all of our membership information in ONE place for all admins to see in ONE place, and no longer have boxes and boxes of paperwork and endless spreadsheets. We also now can manage and coordinate events with our membership, take credit card payments online, take in new members thru our website, and facilitate our membership renewal seamlessly online. Reporting in Club Express is also endless. You can extract information on your membership, financials, communication...to your hearts content. I also really like the fact that Club Express regularly makes upgrades to their system, to incorporate new features. The attachments upgrade was one of the features that have made our renewal process much more streamlined.

Cons

Having minimal experience setting up a website, I found the construction and editing of the Home Page to be a bit confusing and difficult. In particular the upper part - where the login and profile sit. Luckily we signed up for a website technician to built it for us, enabling us to focus on the main content of our site.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

We chose Club Express over all other products because of the ease of use for both admins in particular, but also for our membership.

January 2020

Catherine from International Association of Claim Professionals (IACP)

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

IACP Review of Club Express

My overall experience after identifying them as our new web platform has been overwhelmingly positive. No regrets for moving over to them at all

Pros

Ease of use, ability to program events, registration, payments and email communications, as well as Member management. Overall cost is reasonable and customer service is very good.

Cons

While the reports are voluminous, it should be easier to: Identify what data elemnents are in each report from an informational screen vs running each one to see what it includes. Filter a report for the information you need, choose my own data elements. The system is set-up to recognize the individual as the member and the reports are geared that way. Our group the company is the member so many of the reports leave that information out making it hard to run one report vs 3/4 and some outside Excel work. My group is international so better formating of phone numbers etc., is needed. Overall there should be an ability of a "Super User" to have more freedom creating reports Also a better export of data for my accountant from CE to QuickBooks On-line. Still doesnt work very well.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

N/A

January 2020

Kevin from Michigan Geocaching Organization

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

State Geocaching Organization

ClubExpress definitely has a learning curve, but it is a powerful and mostly straight forward service tailored around clubs and organizations like ours. The people behind the organization are absolutely excellent to deal with. If I get stumped, customer support is always ready, willing and able to help and almost always comes up with a good solution. They have fixed my errors on more than one occasion. I can't say enough good about them. I have recommended ClubExpress to a few other organizations similar to ours and will continue to do so. My scores on this survey only reflect that the product is not perfect. Close, but not quite.

Pros

The product offers multiple ways to accomplish the same or similar tasks, from fairly simple to very complex. After a learning curve for someone not familiar with web development, I find it well thought out and pretty well implemented. I have yet to find something that I really need to do that I can't find a way to do it. There are plenty of features this product has that I have not explored, but it keeps me coming back to see what else it can do.

Cons

I think the editors for various functions could use a little work. The editing screen gets a little tongue tied at times and the cursor has a mind of its own. Exiting the current session and starting back up always seems to fix the problem.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

I did not make the choice. I believe the fact that it was created for clubs and organizations, not businesses, was a factor. Also, being charged by active member had to be a consideration. The business model fits us pretty well.

January 2020

Jon from Grand Traverse Newcomers Club

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Social Club Usage

We provide services to a social club of new folks moving into a recognized vacation & retirement area. We have over 30 recognized activities (sports, book clubs, culinary, educational, etc.) and regular special activities. We were at a point where we could not manage the club with our home grown software and had passed board-level rules that would limit future growth in the club. After using the software for a year, the board rescinded the rules and now allow unhindered growth.

Pros

Payments option. New member sign up process. General overall flexibility. The help desk is very good. As a point of reference, I have managed similar help desks in Fortune 100 companies.

Cons

Some of the features, while generally useful, can be a problem without other features. Biggest example; the latest release of software allows users to more easily remove themselves from a scheduled event that requires registration. Unfortunately, an automated waitlist option is not currently available. Consequently, a hand-managed waitlist option can be subverted if someone cancels from an event without telling the organizer. Another person, who isn't on the waitlist, can easily sign up for the newly released spots and the person who has been on the waitlist doesn't have a chance to be added to the event.

January 2020

john from Calgary Ski Club

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Club Express

less admin time, better reports, easier for members in most cases to sign up for events.

Pros

Fairly intuitive and easy to learn, lots of options, great support with manuals, videos and help screens. Can customize to a fair extend.

Cons

Very slow sometimes and glitchy. Sometimes out of the blue a function does not work properly. Ie when signing up for event we have a waiver that comes up that needs to be acknowledged. One person signs up OK. Then another person, same membership status, no changes on event, tries to sign up and the waiver does not appear. Lots of odd stuff like that. Mostly it just happens one time and you are left scratching your head. Then some thing similar happens in another function. A few functions are more complex and take longer than they should to complete. ANd there are a few processes that just don't make sense. ie The list of registrants appears or disappears depending on registration option setting which is stupid. If I set the option to show registrations, the list of registrations should show regardless of whether registrations ae open/closed/admin.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

better options

January 2020

Chemene from Houston Metropolitan Alumnae Chapter, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

The customer support alone is well worth the investment

It's been great. Members are using our system more. We are disseminating more info through our members only portal and having coordinators for different features have helped spread the work around more efficiently.

Pros

I liked the fact that as we were converting from another platform without support how accomodating CE was. As I was building our site from the ground up without much experience in website building, they stopped in whenever I hit a roadblock and I didn't incur fees other that out monthly fees. Over the, CE has continued to respond to issues we encountered and address them quickly and communicate often with progress or alternate solution to solve our problems. We are a volunteer organization which often requires the time of a regular paid position and CE has made it easy to support our members and provide a much needed member management solution that we did not have previously.

Cons

There are a few features that I would like to see implemented but nothing that are deal breakers for us.bi would like to see more opportunities to export data and filter it other than in the canned reports but overall it works for us.

January 2020

John from Tampa Sailing Squadron

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Experience of Sailing Club

Generally, CE has solved our most pressing needs: A more robust website presence with many extra features like event calender, event registration, interests, surveys, ad hoc forms.

Pros

Range of features and capabilities. Ease of use (mostly). Ability to play in "sandbox" demo site was a big plus for the individual committee members.

Cons

Minimal integration to Quickbooks. Changed roster information has to be manually determined and re-entered into Quickbooks. Current "export" is an all or nothing which trashes the Quickbooks info because member number is not a matchable field to Quickbooks. Page editing is still very difficult to do. Especially with imported excel spreadsheet/tables. Inability to assign resources long-term and be able to bill (boat slips to be billed on a quarterly basis). Limited capability for reporting. Existing reports are usually unreliable and new reporting module is too little actual value that isn't worth extra cost. Need to expose entire database to each club via SQL stored procedure (which is very secure to other clubs) and allow them to create their own reports with third-party software. Still cannot create lists of members for interests, committees, etc. easily. Need to add members one at a time rather than select several from master list.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

Majority of committee ruled. I was holding out for the UK option which allowed for boat slip assignment and billing and better Quickbooks interfacing (but I was Treasurer in charge of that). Majority was concerned with monthly fee in British Pounds and Club Express looked better to them and the demo site was a plus.

January 2020

Bob from Lone Star Corvette Club

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

ClubExpress for a Large Car Club

For the past 10 years we have been able to do online membership signup, renewals, and reminders. This has resulted in significant savings in postage and supplies plus increased renewals. We publish a monthly newsletter that we used to mail to our members. Since ClubExpress, we've gone to email notification with the newsletter available online. This, alone, saved the Club over $18,000 the first year.

Pros

ClubExpress allows us to communicate instantly with our 1,200 members. It also makes it easy keep our members informed of upcoming events and activities. It allows us to register both members and non-members for these events for both single and multiple activities and run meaningful reports about them. Ten years ago we had to use a paid third party to maintain our website. It was never up to date. ClubExpress lets us design and maintain our present site internally for free. The Club has an annual event that encompasses three days of events and includes17 different activities. ClubExpress makes it possible for us to do online registration, take credit card payments, and administer the event. We couldn't do it without it.

Cons

Custom reporting could be better. As it is, all data collected for an event can be output to Word, Excel, CSV, and pdf. It can then be manipulated but not always easily.

January 2020

Paul from Sheboygan Rifle and Pistol Club

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Solid product - Okay development from ClubExpress

The final product is fantastic from our point of view. We have a much better web presence that communicates with our members, potential members, and the general community in ways that are clear, appealing, and functional. Getting to this point required a lot more time and effort on our part than we anticipated due in part to decisions we made as an organization, but also due in part to communication problems with CE. To be fair, when we brought those communication issues to light, CE was responsive within short order, but the process still required much more effort on our part than we had been told would be the case and more even than we anticipated. That said, if we had it to do over again, we would still make the switch to CE, but we might choose a different, less expensive implementation option than we chose the first go around.

Pros

* Contains all the features of our "must have list * Has most of the features of our "wish list" * Reliable service * Little to no downtime * Regular communication about issues with product features

Cons

* Software is fantastic but implementation team from CE struggled at times with communication * Sales and service seem to have a communication issue resulting in over-promising what can be delivered within a given time frame * Some elements are a bit clunky or cumbersome for our specific implementation

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

The ClubExpress option presented the best balance of cost and value for us. We are paying less than we would in any other mode other than completely self-maintained, and we do not have the issues with member burnout from the demands of maintaining a complex website at no pay in the evenings and on weekends.

January 2020

George from Village Vettes Corvette Club

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Club Express Fan

Very, very positive. Tech support is great, accessable, and quite clear in their responses.

Pros

It's tailored to clubs & social organizations making it's functionality ideal for us. The modules are, I believe, are unique to our (clubs) environment.

Cons

Formating is a bit of a PIA and can be cumbersome. Picture & photo upload is limited to resident computers only. There's no direct access to social media or cloud storage which is a definite negative. Event questions are very limited and do not offer If-Or linking. Event registrations can be confusing for the non- tech users/ members.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

Ease of use.

January 2020

Susan from East Falls Village

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2020

Good Software for Clubs and Social Groups

We are generally satisfied with Club Express, however, we have had to develop work-arounds to accomplish some of our necessary functions. Email renewal notices show only generic information so that members do not know what the actual cost of renewal is until they log in to their accounts. Many of our senior members do not log into their accounts and pay via U.S. mail. As a result, we must still mail paper renewal notices to many members.

Pros

Club Express is good integrated software that allows a group to track its members, payments, member communication, programs, and activities, including paying for activities. It also manages some aspects of its web presence. With a little instruction, it is reasonably simple to use.

Cons

There are a number of areas where the software is not designed for a group like East Falls Village where household members have equal standing in the organization. The concept of Primary and Secondary members with some processes limited to Primary members is difficult to manage. Household members are not handled equally in Club Express and data must be entered repetitively in fields that should carry over to secondary member fields. The system is also optimized for member online access but somewhat difficult for handling member accounts where paper records are needed.

January 2020

Eleanor from Cultivate NSW

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Review from the Land Downunder

We had a myriad of technologies from spreadsheets, to MailChimp, email, and a separate event booking software. We were paying a lot of transaction fees and nothing was integrated and everything was pretty much manually operated. Our membership and supporter database are growing very quickly. We are putting on more events and we wanted to increase member benefits by giving them a site where they could find resources, book events, advertise their businesses many other benefits. Our Executive Officer is employed up to five hours per week and prior to ClubExpress she was spending a lot of her time on ineffective and cumbersome manual processes. ClubExpress has freed her up to do more strategic functions.

Pros

We love the fact that it allows us to manage our small but growing association from one platform. It gives us a professional, low cost management tool to manage members, events, communications, and some of our finances. We particularly love the directory options (members, business and projects) that are spatially enabled and the ability to make some private and others public. We are looking forward to connecting with Quikbooks Lite to manage all of our finances and then we will have all functions in one platform.

Cons

Setting up newsletters is a little clunky. Design options are also a bit limited. Search functions are not intuitive - very techy and some are very long winded and somewhat old fashioned.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

Functionality, price, ease of use and responsiveness. It has made a huge difference to our association and we felt the difference immediately it went live. We lovvvvvvvvve it!:-)

January 2020

Michael from SeaRayders Cruise Club

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Solid software for managing our Club

Pros

We are a cruise club and our main purpose is to host cruises for our members. With Club Express my members can easily sign up for a cruise, pay for the cruise online, and even see which other members will be joining them. I can track attendance which enables me to recognize those who are active with the Club. I can advertise the Cruises with photo albums and emails. Member photos allow our members to get to know each other a little easier. We need to notify the marinas who will be attending a Cruise. Club Express wrote me a report whereby my Fleet Captain can instantly print a PDF "Cruise Roster" to send to the appropriate marina. We also host a number of social gatherings . For our Christmas party I was able to create a dinner menu that each member chose from. With this report I was able to easily plan for quantities. There's a lot to like with Club Express and in my opinion the pros outweigh the cons.

Cons

Club Express wasn't designed for MY Club but for ALL Clubs. The system is somewhat non-intuitive and it took quite a bit longer than I expected to setup. Since my Club is somewhat unique I often have to find workarounds for situations where I could, if allowed, write a bit of code to personalize the software for the Searayders. There's some system 'quirks' that require me to provide additional training for my members i.e., the 'primary' member must pay the dues even though our Club doesn't really have primary members or secondary members.

January 2020

Amy from Woodlands Newcomers and Friends

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Club Express Review

The software has been great for keeping our resources in one place and visible to all of our members. It allows our members to be more in charge of their club experience. The financial side of our functions is much smoother now that we only accept credit cards through the website.

Pros

My group has many interest groups with in the larger club. The event calendar is great for letting our members know what is going on and getting involved with everything that our club has to offer. Events have lots of options during set up so they work well for large club wide functions like our luncheons as well as the casual interest group get togethers that our members attend. The forums are also wonderful and have helped communication within our organization.

Cons

There is a learning curve to this. It was/is extremely hard to get by in from some of our group leaders when we switched to this software. We held individual trainings for our leaders to teach them how to post event/send event related email etc.. It would help tremendously if we could invite members of a certain INTEREST GROUP to register for events. The committee work around that we use is very clunky and time consuming to manage. Our interest group leaders also need a way to have a wait list for attendees as our event fill regularly. Leaders should receive an email notification when someone cancels but they don't.

January 2020

Stephanie from Homesteaders Christian Homeschoolers

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

ClubExpress Revolutionizes Club Communications

I have found ClubExpress, overall, to be very useful in communicating and keeping files and records. The few cons that I mentioned hardly inhibit my use and do not diminish the value of ClubExpress to my group.

Pros

I really like the many options available to us from forums to picture sharing and album storage -- the registration/sign-up capabilities, the shortcuts available, running reports. I like the ease of finding members and all the records I can keep on file within my profile that are easy to access. Though we haven't used this amenity yet, I do like the availability of paying online for club events and registrations. Our group has been using ClubExpress for the past 10+ years, and it has revolutionized our communication and organizing -- everything at our fingertips.

Cons

I can only think of three things that I don't like or areas where I have difficulty with ClubExpress? Finding and accessing archived forums, forum post timing out and not saving, and maneuvering through a myriad of ever-changing options for registrations.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

The many options available!

January 2020

Jonathan from CoachNet Global

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Professional Training & Coaching

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

A Good Solution for the Cleveland ICF Chapter

ClubExpress has been a great solution for the chapter. We look good on the site, and we're able to do everything we want. Our team is excited to deploy more of the options available and raise our game even farther. As an all-in-one software option, ClubExpress helps us stay on top of what our members need.

Pros

The ClubExpress package has all the pieces we need in the ICF Cleveland chapter. We coordinate monthly events, manage membership in the chapter, and communicate what the chapter is all about. The software is easy to use, and has more options than we even need. ClubExpress is designed for uses like this, and we're excited to tap into even more of the capabilities. We also manage our mailing list with the software, and have had good success with that option.

Cons

The learning curve is pretty steep, and I don't find the software to be intuitive. However, the support system is an under-utilized asset for me. I suspect that once I have a better sense of the big picture strategy behind the software I will find the learning curve to be less steep.

January 2020

Frederick from The Cleveland Surgical Society

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Excellent choice for migration from older website programs

We are using this software to manage a surgical society that has been in existence since 1949. We transitioned to the internet (website) 10 years ago. ClubExpress has allowed us to integrate our meeting management and greatly improve bookkeeping for dues collection.

Pros

This program was recommended by a use in another professional society. For 10 years I was the webmaster for this Society's website using Microsoft Expressions. Though the software worked well, the manipulation of images, text and pages was tedious. Using the old site as a template, I was able to migrate and improve the information in the new system. I especially liked the functionality of assigning (limiting) roles to others without compromising security of site. The integration with PayPal was seamless. Behind the scenes I have been using this system as an archive of information allowing our organization to go "paperless."

Cons

On occasion navigation of the administrative pages is tedious. Some of the prepared reports associated with meetings are odd in format. However, the ability to choose the output is very useful. I would like to have an easier approach when building table. In some cases, the built in vocabulary is not applicable. For this organization the term "donation" is problematic for industry support. I would like to see a synonym table for some of the financial terms.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

ClubExpress was chosen based on a recommendation from another Society (Carnivorous Plant Society). I reviewed their website and could see the advantages immediately.

January 2020

Phil from Medical Group Management Association of Kansas

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Executive Office

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Member Group Management Software designed for the basic computer user

Club Express has decreased the amount of work I have had to do in conjunction with our membership. It has allowed us to redesign our website and has increased internet traffic through our website for member issues, exhibitors requesting information concerning conferences and the ability to direct all registrations for memberships and conferences through our website which is having a positive effect on increased membership to our organization.

Pros

We are an organization that manages membership of a state organization of medical group business management professionals and conducts conferences for its membership and let me also add that I am not a "computer wizard" of any sorts . We just recently switched to Club Express and I have found it to be so easy to access all the tools that I need to manage the financial affairs and member support. The software is split into several easy to follow groupings and I am just now setting up my first event through Club Express which has been a breeze. The Customer Support has been fantastic and they are always willing to answer any questions and guide me through any issues I may have. They have several support webinars which makes it easy to learn all parts of the use of the system.

Cons

I have not really encountered any issues with this software. It is such an improvement over the previous software we were using and has made it so much easier to track my membership and answer member questions that I could not previously do.

January 2020

Dave from Morris Register of Victoria

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2020

The Morris Register of Victoria

We now have a single version of truth (in real time) relating to our membership data and club vehicle data. This has saved a lot of time and angst for our volunteer committee members and allows us to present financial data (member status etc) with complete confidence. We also manage all of our documents through Club Express. For our club, Club Express has taken important and sensitive club information off peoples' personal computers and put it securely in the cloud. We can now manage who has access to what, but more importantly, those who need access have it any time they need.

Pros

Easy to use, support our club administration very well. This package has taken us from using purely paper based processes where information was mislaid often, to real time membership data that ensures we have the most accurate information about our membership and a single version of truth. The website builder is also simple and flexible, and the blast email function is very useful.

Cons

The product is very US based and we have had some issues with using this in Australia. The spelling of words as per US standard has put a few of our members off, and we have had issues with the letter vs A4 format of printing, especially around newsletter labels. The time stamps on some things also causes some confusion as some items show up as yesterday based on the US time zone. I do believe these topics are being worked on though.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

More features.

January 2020

Amy from MAHL

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Automated Membership Management

We have recently updated from an antiquated system that was not meeting our community's needs. There are additional features we would appreciate, but are currently enjoying the modern, user-friendly interface. Their user manual is complete and thorough, help buttons are available on all screens for users and admins, and phone or email support is quick and efficient.

Pros

ClubExpress reduced our workload for membership processes by 95%, automating our correspondence, dues collection, and renewals.

Cons

Ours is a parent-child group, and we find it frustrating that families are not linked in the directory. Our members organize events, but an admin has to assist every time there is a fee. Our membership manager has to separately track additional criteria for renewal.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

Features, calendar, ease of use, privacy, financial capabilities

January 2020

Kim from Ford Yacht Club

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Club Express is a website content management system and Club Management

Great Support , easy to use, new features constantly added for free, and it does have a few fee based additional items if you need them. Also Quick-books integration for only $100 one time fee. Solid product 99.995% up time.

Pros

Club Express is a website content management system and Club Management in one package, very granular settings to allow different parts of our Yacht Club users to manage to aspect that applies to them, cutting down on the need for a webmaster/administrator. Does member management, Email blasts( easier than mail chimp) Group members by committee , function etc. Good event Calendar with signup, including paid events. And has good web design features/intial setup support. and support in general is outstanding. they also have a mobile app available.

Cons

I wish that the event calendar could be linked at a google calendar, you can click a button that says add to my calendar, but it doesn't allow the whole event calendar to be shown as a google calendar. And it does cost money every month, but for what you get it is a reasonable fee.

January 2020

Evgenia from Lightning Velo Cycling Club

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Sports

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

By Club Members For Club Members - They Understand

Club business is easier to do, document, train and delegate when members only have one product to log into. Once we completed the set up phase (with guidance every step of the way) our new board members were able to pick it up and run with it.

Pros

Designed especially for Clubs with all functions in one place. Our last web site design functions didn't include our emails, docs, calendar, membership database or photos. We had to have a separate product for each of those. Now they are all in once place. I only need to train our members on one product that includes everything. Oh, yeah, the App keeps everyone up to date. No more searching through emails to find out what our next ride will be.

Cons

Features that I expected to be in place are still in a Wish List Queue. I am sure they will come but I don't know when. New features are rolling out regularly so I know they hear us and respond.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

We switched GoDaddy to GreenGeeks and got free emails with our domainname.com. We dropped Constant Contact which cost about the same as ClubExpress but only did emals. Club Express let us abandon Google Docs, Google Calendar, and Gmail accounts. Club Express handles our Membership and Purchases/Refunds so we dont use Excel anymore.

January 2020

Lisa from League of Women Voters Orange County

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Club Grows as we Utilize New Features

Their support team never lets us down. Quick responses to our queries and happy to keep answering questions until we are satisfied.

Pros

Fulfilled our need to have member management together with communications and finances

Cons

Now that we use most of its features, we find that volunteers who want to help with it are intimidated by its process. Plus, because we use only volunteers and we oversee so many members, we have to be careful about who we allow into the system to maintain member privacy.

Reasons for Choosing ClubExpress

The high recommendation in industry trades such as PC Mag, etc.

January 2020

Toshia from Springlake Swim club

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2020

Lacking

I understand that moving to a new platform will have growing pains. Our hope was that having all processes under one umbrella would make all the administrative processes easier and more efficient. We are hopefully that eventually will be the case.

Pros

Having all administrative functions under one platform - membership dues, events, emailing, etc.

Cons

It is not intuitive and our members don't like using it. The emailing system is not nearly as good as MailChimp or Constant Contact from a creative or marketing standpoint. Text only emails are fine, but other than that, it's very basic compared to other platforms. We also lost contact with membership at one point because there was not a distribution list that allowed for contacting expired members from a certain year or season. We had to temporarily resort back to Mailchimp until the issue was resolved. Customer support is usually prompt with responses, but the level of actual helpfulness is not awesome. I mostly figure things out through trial and error, not from the instruction received from customer support. For it being sold as a platform intended to manage memberships, it's seriously lacking in some very basic tools common to member-based businesses, like guest pass sales & tracking.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 465 reviews