About Trainerize

Trainerize is a cloud-based personal trainer solution that helps fitness professionals, health clubs and trainers to connect with their clients. The application allows fitness studios to create a personal training program for each client, track meal plans and communicate in real time. Trainerize can be accessed on smartphones and tablets using native mobile apps available for Android and iOS devices.

Trainerize enables trainers to customize workouts by adding videos, photos  and workout descriptions. Training plans and workouts can be created for each client using built-in templates. The solution sends automatic notifications to trainers when their client checks in. This also helps track the clients' workouts, viewing results and rewarding them with badg...


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Web browser (OS agnostic)

598 Reviews of Trainerize

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.62 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(408)

408

4 stars

(163)

163

3 stars

(20)

20

2 stars

(2)

2

1 stars

(5)

5

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 598 results

February 2019

Jacqueline from Online

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Great Software

I love the app and think it's a great concept. There's lots of room for improvement. I've been using it for about half a year now and I'm getting more used to it. But it wasn't too easy to figure out initially.

Pros

1. I like the timers for the circuits and the rests. 2. I like the ease of creating the workouts. 3. All the video demonstrations are great. 4. The automated messages, reminders to workout, ability for clients to check-in. 5. Data! Weight charts, measurements, progress pics, tracking stats 6. Love how you can deactivate clients without having to delete their data. 7. The daily recap sent to email. 8. Ability to upload meal plans

Cons

1. I don't like how you can't modify a program from your phone. There are a lot of things you can't do from the phone and have to be at a computer to do. 2. It'd be nice to link the Apple Watch. 3. The check-in and start now is confusing to my clients. There should be one button to start the exercise and that should automatically check you in. 3. It would be nice if there was a fast forward or a skip for the circuits, just in case they need to skip an exercise. Maybe they're injured or for some reason can't do that one. Instead of waiting until the time is up, they can move on. 4. It would be cool for my clients to be able to watch the demo video during the circuit. Instead they have to pause the workout to watch the video. It would be great it the video played while the time continued so they can do the exercise while watching the demo video. 5. Should be a way to add drop sets or a variation of reps. 6. Would be cool to keep a client subscribed to a program and still be able to customize one or two things on their program without unsubscribing them/converting to custom plan. 7. Small issue, but I'll still mention it: on the newer iPhones, it's hard to fast forward the demo video because the slider is very low. The exercise doesn't start until he explains it so usually 5-10 seconds later and most people just want to get to the demonstration part. 8. Inability to send video over the messaging app 9. Would be nice to be able to load multiple meal plans

Response from Trainerize

Replied May 2019

Hey Jacqueline! Thank you so much for your review and feedback! We are so happy you like the ease of creating workouts and tracking your clients progress in Trainerize! Good news, we will be integrating with the Apple Watch soon. We are also going to implement a feature that allows clients to skip exercises in interval workouts! Stay tuned :) - Team Trainerize

July 2020

Jennifer from Fitbody Fusion

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2020

Excellent Fitness App

Very easy and enjoyable to use. Has everything I need to track and communicate with clients in one easy spot.

Pros

So many things! I love the way you can build workouts and easily implement then into clients plans. Love that it tracks your progress from workout to workout. Also love that it graphs body weight, stats, has pictures, steps, habits and even a meal plan option. I seriously can go on and on about the app :)

Cons

I wish that there was a notes section by each exercise so you can add in a lil something about that exercise. Like if you used dumbbells or cables. Also when messaging it would be great if there was a send button and that the messages didn't send by hitting enter.

Response from Trainerize

Replied July 2020

Hey Jennifer! WOW - thank you so much for your review and kind words! We're thrilled to know that you like the Trainerize app and the ease of building workouts for your clients. Your idea of adding a note section for exercises, sounds like a cool feature to have in Trainerize's future. Could you email help@trainerize.com with more details on how that would look? We can pass that on to the developers and they can get in touch with you if it is something they are going to add to Trainerize. - Team Trainerize

July 2020

Zavud from University of Trier

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2020

My review for Trainerize

Trainerize in general is a very good software for people who are into health and fitness. I am very happy to keep using their software as long as they keep updating the features as they currently do.

Pros

I love using Trainerize and there are a lot of reasons for that. One of them is its easiness to use it. You can easily make an account and start being healthy! One of the greatest things about the software is that they have the BEST customer service ever! I had a lot of problems at the beginning but all of them were solved very soon with the help of their customer service. Also, workout data they are showing are incredible easy to understand.

Cons

I have had some connection issues although I was sure that my internet connection was very good. When I am not using different apps in the background the software works fine. However, when I have to use some of the apps at the same time, I seem to have a lot of freezing issues as well.

Response from Trainerize

Replied July 2020

Hey Zavud! Wow! Thank you so much for your amazing review! We are so happy you like the ease of navigating with Trainerize and our Customer Service as well! Good News! We are in the process of releasing a brand new version of the app (we invested over a year in rebuilding it from the ground up) that is going to improve the performance and overall stability of the app! Stay tuned! :) - Team Trainerize

March 2017

Frank from Frank Lech Personal Training

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2017

So Much Potential, Misses the Mark

I've tried 6 or 7 of the most popular personal training apps and decided to go with Trainerize. It's best at creating workouts quickly and easily, and has excellent client monitoring features. Unfortunately, there are still a lot of bugs. There is nothing worse than logging a whole workout during a session with a client, and then the app won't save it - losing everything. It has essentially forced me back to pen and paper. The integrations with fitbit and myfitnesspal sound impressive, but they don't import activity data. Makes no sense. If you can sync some of the data, why not sync the MOST IMPORTANT data? I have people tracking their activity with fitbit or with other apps - but now they have to enter it one more time into Trainerize. Customer service is frustratingly slow, it takes three days to get a response - even when you purchase an annual plan that promises "priority support" and a "dedicated customer service manager." The response will always be, "our team will consider it." Then nothing. If you want an app improvement, there has to be enough votes collected by the Trainerize community (which most users probably never take the time to visit) to work on it, even if the development team is fully aware of it and knows it makes sense. They remove features without warning. Before, when you created exercises for the app, you could link to a youtube video OR use photos. In many cases, it made more sense to use a photo (stretches/simple exercises). After taking weeks to create, edit and upload all these photos for my exercise database, they removed the feature and lowered the quality of my photos so much that all the user could see was a pixelated mess. Their response was essentially "Too bad, so sad." Without these (and some other) problems, this app would be unbelievable! But with it's continued crashes, it loses it's usefulness and can be more problems than it's worth. Might be fine if you're only using it for online training. Recommendation: It's still probably the best app, but I will revisit the others. DEFINITELY, don't sign up for a year - go monthly for a while and see how it works for you.

Pros

Easy to use, easy to create workouts (and great flexibility to adjust workouts on the fly), many automated features, excellent client monitoring (including a new push notifications system).

Cons

Crashes, losing data, won't sync what counts, requires client to have internet connection, poor communication from customer service that responds to, but does not solve, problems.

Response from Trainerize

Replied July 2019

Hey Frank! Thank you for taking the time to review us and provide feedback! We are sorry we weren't able to get back to you sooner, we recently realized we were able to reply to reviews on Capterra and are now trying to get back to everyone. We are so happy you find creating workouts in Trainerize easy! In regards to the crashes, we are in the process of releasing a brand new version of the app (we invested over a year in rebuilding it from the ground up) that is going to improve the performance and overall stability of the app! If you would like beta access to try it out please email us at help@trainerize.com and we would be happy to give you access! In regards to MyFitnessPal, we can only sync the data they send us. We are working on improving our integration with them to hopefully include more data soon. Thank you for your patience while we work to grow and improve Trainerize. - Team Trainerize

June 2020

Karla from Sudor Taino Group Fitness

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2020

The good and the bad.

It is decent but always keeping my eye open for someone that offers the features I mentioned which are key.

Pros

It was somewhat easy to navigate and had good customer service.

Cons

NO group reporting for the challenge groups and no live training features in the app

Reasons for Choosing Trainerize

More features for the price and customer service.

Response from Trainerize

Replied June 2020

Hi Karla, Thank you so much for your review and feedback! We are so happy you like the ease of navigating with Trainerize and our Customer Service as well! Good news! We are currently in the process of developing an in-app live-streaming workout feature many more exciting things! (habits, workout of the day, appointments) Stay tuned! :) - Team Trainerize