About Tourwriter


Tourwriter is a cloud-based business management solution designed for tour operators that offers both inbound as well as outbound tour management functionalities within a suite.

Tourwriter features itinerary creation which allows users to create travel plans for the customers using a drag-and-drop interface. Customers can view their itinerary both online as well as on their smartphones using the Tourwriter mobile app.

Tourwriter features lead management which allows users to filter contacts based on multiple tags such as age, location and booking dates. This enables users to send email campaigns to specific audiences based on defined attributes.

Tourwriter features pricing management which keeps a track of costs while agents prepare itineraries for their customers. This helps agents design tours that keep customers' budgets in mind.

The solution offers integration with accounting systems such as Xero and Quickbooks which allows users to export sales data directly to these systems which can be used in bank reconciliation.



Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Web browser (OS agnostic)

26 Reviews of Tourwriter

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.50 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(15)

4 stars

(9)

3 stars

(2)

2 stars

(0)

1 stars

(0)

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Filter reviews by:

Sort by: Most Helpful | Most Recent

Showing 1-20 of 26 reviews

Do you use this product?Write a review

July 2017

Kathy from See Italy Travel

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2017

Great implementation support! Easy to work with, full of helpful ideas and ways to improve workflow

Better workflow. Easier to train,cross train. All of my staff can see what has been sold or quoted so nor more confused sales agents trying to figure out what another agent quoted or booked. The tool is easy to learn, so when we hire new staff, it is faster to get them ready to sell.

Pros

Putting together an itinerary is quick and easy for our sales agents. Sending the booking request to the vendors is now a process that only takes a minute. Before TourWriter it was a very long process and there was a great potential for human errors. They are always willing to talk about a problem that may come up and offer a variety of solutions. This allows us to decide which solution is best for our company. They have great people working for them who really take the time to listen and explain and never seem to tire of our many questions! Our booking process has become very streamlined and we are now able to hire and train new sales agents since TourWriter is easy to learn and use. We have just completed the set up for our accounting module and plan to roll out the Groups module in the fourth quarter.

Cons

If TourWriter had the ability to assign a task to a co-worker then it would be perfect! We would then be able to get rid of the steps we have to add to Asana for each booking we process. Currently, the tasks in the to do list can only be set up for the person assigned to the booking. But we have many team members doing differnt tasks on each booking, so if we could assign them to the person responsible, then we would not have to go outside of TourWriter to do anything!

Response from TourWriter of TourWriter

Replied July 2017

Kathy, thank you very much for taking the time to review Tourwriter. We are delighted that you are already reaping the time saving benefits that Tourwriter provides. We are also thrilled to hear that you have been well looked after by the broader Tourwriter Team and that training new staff is quick and easy for all concerned. With regard to the item on your wish-list, we love customer feedback, and you will be excited to learn that the ability to assign tasks to a co-worker is on our Product Roadmap, for release at the end of the next quarter. In addition to this we plan to enhance the feature further by allowing you to optionally set default due dates for both your tasks (e.g. send a follow-up email 7 days after the client returns home), and task reminders sent to your team. If there is anything else you can think of, that will help us make Tourwriter your one stop shop for all your Tour Operator operational needs, please let us know!

April 2017

Monica from Costa Rica Travel Market

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2017

After much research and years of use - THIS IS YOUR BEST OPTION!

I own a small travel agency called CostaRicaTravelMarket. Most of my decisions are mapped on a grid. I will research fully, select the market options and grade each value proposition. This is the same process I followed when we decided to upgrade our itinerary management software and we hit a home run! The software if fantastic, versatile and very easy to use. I have to say the production of itineraries, reports, quotes, and pricing documents are very professional looking and efficiently produced. I have used it with FIT's and groups and the functionality is great. Definitely designed by people inside the field who understand fully the quirks and nuances our industry has! I have to say for us, it has fulfilled some CRM functions as well. It allows me to keep track of the tasks for each client, and it gives me great reports on supplier actionable lead times and payments. The implementation was wonderful! Alison is the most professional, courteous and thorough implementer and Account Manager ever. I was told the implementation could take anything between 2-3 weeks to a couple of months depending on my pace of response, as a lot of the actual customization they carry out will depend on the client's specific methods, supplier profile, data entry speed, etc. I was up and running in about 6 weeks. Agent presented me with a schedule on how the implementation would progress, all in a logical and efficient sequence. My timing in fulfillment of tasks determined the speed of implementation - on their side they were timely every time. I read some ones review below before writing mine, and I have to say I find it incredible to believe because from my own implementation, I can honestly say I was impressed at the team work they displayed and the flawless cooperation they provided from across the globe to help me advance in a speedy and efficient manner. I wanted my itinerary in a very specific way, I also wanted two other documents to create quotes and area suggestions. They created all three without me having to compromise on any change. I was in awe at how sometimes I felt I was asking for something that seemed impossible, yet agent would take on the challenge and come up with the way to get it done! Every time! I never heard a "oh sorry, no - that cannot be done...." So my final recommendation is you cannot go wrong with Tourwriter! Hands down this is the best alternative in the market and I strongly recommend it. You will not regret it.

Pros

The ease of use, the cooperation during implementation, their ability to recreate my wishes to a perfect itinerary that works with the industry quirks specific to my market. Finally, the system is never down!

Cons

A few steps in the data entry process could maybe be simplified, but nothing that is big.

February 2018

Claire from Pink Monkey Stag and Hen Ltd

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

I have been frustrated with Tourwriter from the moment I transferred the initial payment.

The software is great my issue is with the implementation period

Pros

The software is great, exactly what is needed for my business however the whole setup leaves a lot to be desired. The whole setup process has been painfully slow and not designed with my business needs in mind. * From the moment I paid the setup costs I was expected to wait 2 weeks until tourwriter sourced an implementation manager.
* Training is painfully slow, sticks to a script and in my experience at least 5 hours was a wasted, they did not judge my knowledge of similar systems and provided a rudimental explanation of task such as creating a folder in tourwriter - I have been using similar systems for 20 years I know
I already know how to create a folder and they could see in my tourwriter that the folders were already organised. I have to think was it deliberate just to waste the hours of training?
* I was told that I was not expected to use the system for daily business operations for 4 months even though I was paying full price for the licence, I find this ridiculous.

Cons

* Again the implementation of the itineraries has been painfully slow. I purchased 5 hours for the implementation of the itinerary to suit my business needs, after receiving my requests I was told it would be a total of 8 hours, now the itineraries are created in (what looks like) PHP coding. Having some knowledge of HTML I have been able to change text, colours sizes and perform basic tasks and I feel for an experienced user the tasks I asked tourwriter to undertake could be completed well within 5 hours, it seemed to me to be simple. To be fair to tourwriter stated they would not charge however I do feel that the coding came nowhere close to 8 hours so again it has made me question tourwriter, Also it is now 10 weeks since I bought tourwriter and I STILL do not have an itinerary designed especially for my business.

I do feel that tourwriter work the training and implementation totally around the needs of the tourwriter business and NOT around the needs of the customer.

The system itself is great however Tourwriter really need to focus on the customers needs, listen to their requirements and provide a usable system within at least 1 month not 4 months.

At present I would not recommend tourwriter due to the continual issues arising from the implementation process.

April 2017

Kim from Rothschild Safaris

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2017

Hard to set up, but extremely customizable. Saves time, prevents mistakes

It's a little hard to get this set up, probably because it is very customizable. Once it is set up, it works really well. Team is friendly and supportive and will work with your deadlines.

Pros

Very customizable with the help of their very capable programming team, helps save time and prevent mistakes in itineraries

Cons

Really hard to figure out most efficient way to use it at first- so many variables in travel!

Response from TourWriter of TourWriter

Replied May 2017

Kimberly, thank you for the kind words! One of the most pleasant clients our team has had the pleasure of working with. Glad we could help with automating all of the tedious manual processes that were obstructing efficiency of the business. Looking forward to more years of continued mutual success!

November 2017

William from The Art of Travel

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

Tour writer is very easy to learn and use. It has allowed us to do more work with fewer people.

The largest benefit has been the dramatic reduction in labor hours needed to produce a finalized itinerary.

Pros

There are numerous things we like about the software, but some of the major items:

-Ease of itinerary building
-Data analysis
-Report flexibility & generation

Cons

Overall, there are very few things we dislike/like the least about the software. Our biggest problem was the delay of the markup to gross feature. This has recently been added.

January 2016

Carmen from (small business)

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

1.0

January 2016

broken promises and poor service

My company purchased the software almost a year ago, and were told we would be up and running in 6 weeks. We are still waiting to be able to utilize the software to help us. We felt that the person training us on the services was rude and impatient with us, but continued to interface in hopes that the software would come together quickly. We have had nonstop contact with the IT team at TourWriter, and our itinerary still cannot be built as promised. Upon contacting the owner of TourWriter about our displeasure, he proceeded to blame our employee as the reason why the system was not up and running. We have invested thousands of dollars and hundreds of hours into this software and have seen no results and had no support from the TW team. This software is not worth the stress and hassle that it causes.

Response from TourWriter of TourWriter

Replied October 2016

The reviewer was only partly involved in the Implementation process and didn't go on to be a TourWriter user. Our most successful implementations are when the owner of the business is driving the change and adoption. Two major factors were; the main people who were trained by Tourwriter left the company just as we were completing their training program and custom reports. The new person that took over decided not to be trained and didn't follow our advice to apply best practice. We offered to retrain their staff and fix up the incorrect changes they had made in their custom reports, for no charge. Tourwriter staff spent around 30 hours of retraining, 30 hours of database loading, and 40 hours of correcting their continuous requests for changes to their reports, for NO charge. We eventually got Tourwriter to a stage where it was ready, they then decided to stick to their previous processes.We wish them all the best

May 2016

Nick from Golden Star Tour, Inc.

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

May 2016

the ideal product for any size tour operator

Surpassing a six figure revenue stream and still keeping our manual processes was becoming extremely cumbersome and error prone. I never realized a perfect software existed, that was tailor-made to fit a tour operators needs. Tourwriter is extremely efficient, familiar (looks just like MS Office) and easy to pick up. After everything is set up and implemented, the return comes in almost instantly. Our company has been using TourWriter over 5 years now, and I can't imagine how we used to do all of this by hand. Drag and drop itinerary creation, publishing proposal documents, booking supplier services, generating financial documents, its all automated. The only thing that's missing is a built in accounting module to link up to our QuickBooks, but we've seen software with this feature, and the price tag increases drastically. We have no problem sticking to the current export into QB method that's available here. Strongly recommended.

April 2017

Sebastien from Frogs New Zealand

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2017

Key software for our DMC

We have been using TourWriter for 10 years now and the software is at the core of our business, enabling us to efficiently store customer and supplier data, match all in itineraries, process book keeping, create custom documents, extract reports, etc. The essential tool for inbound travel companies and DMC in our opinion...

Response from TourWriter of TourWriter

Replied May 2017

Thank you for such a great TourWriter review Sebastien. It's great that you have embraced the full functionality available in TourWriter, particularly the accounting offering and the custom documents. The way you utilise the data extract reporting tool, to learn from 10 years of business experience, and to make meaningful business decisions, gives you an edge. Frogs New Zealand truly is an inspirational Inbound Operator, making it a niche travel operator TourWriter is very proud to work alongside.

April 2019

Xavi from Turismeactiu

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Ideal for real travel agencies

Great experience customizing tirps.

Pros

Amazing software that makes you saving times and customizing trips.

Cons

Price, if you are a small company price is maybe an issue, but even that it really saves time and work, worth it.

April 2014

Isabella from Shamrock Vacations

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

April 2014

Shamrock Vacations Quoting Software

Since beginning researching and comparing the range of software that could best fulfill our current and future needs, we quickly determined that the Tourwriter significantly outshone the others in terms of reputation, affordability, and support. After testing Tourwriter, and with one to one support we began using Tourwriter in Jan 2013. In fact, in addition to fulfilling the requirements of our current situation, the product offers a number of supplementary capabilities that could prove useful down the road. We have access to additional bespoke reporting, at anytime. It is continually being developed, and developers are open to listening to what we as customers need from the software.

Response from TourWriter of TourWriter

Replied April 2014

Hi Isabella, Thanks for the kind words. We look forward to working with you as you continue to grow. Cheers, Jason

November 2014

Hannah from Pomegranate Travel

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

November 2014

Excellent software

This is a great piece of software for those looking to create smart looking itineraries in an efficient manner. The team in New Zealand are very dedicated to getting the product just right for each client - tailoring it where necessary, and the support team in India are highly responsive to problems and really do help in fixing any snags which come up. Of course the product is only as good as the data you load into it and loading hotel and touring information, rates and photos is a big job (which TW will help you with). It's also an ongoing process to keep updating and refining the material, rather than a "one off" and it's done. In summary, I would highly recommend this industry specific piece of software to other tour operators.

May 2014

Karen from Ahipara Luxury Travel

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

May 2014

Ahipara Luxury Travel

Our experience with TW remains excellent on all fronts - the Database functionality works well feeding suppliers through to specific itineraries. The new publishing reports work well and the support that we have received from TW in creating new reports and customising TW for our use has been very good. Our main disappointment with TW is its limited online capability - we feel TW needs to move forward in making itineraries and data available online and also incorporate a map functionality so that clients can get a visual of where they are going in New Zealand

Response from TourWriter of TourWriter

Replied May 2014

Hi Karen, Thanks for the positive review. Fantastic news... we are developing stronger online functionality in the not too distant future. I will be in touch with more info.Cheers, Jason

July 2015

Samuel from Carameltrail

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

July 2015

Wonderful software

TourWriter is a wonderful software for travel agencies. It has changed the way we do our job helping us saving time and being more efficient! The support and training has been wonderful. It took us a few months to implement the software and start working with it BAU but thanks to the training and support service this process has been easy. Thank you so much for making our work easier!!

Response from TourWriter of TourWriter

Replied July 2015

Thanks Samuel, it's great that the TourWriter Implementation went smoothly, and you're enjoying the ongoing support. Most importantly we love to hear that TourWriter has transformed your Spanish travel business. and given you the platform to grow profitably. We love to hear that our clients are growing with us!

November 2014

Mario from Ecology Project International

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support