User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(15)

15

4 stars

(1)

1

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

5.0 / 5

Value for Money

5.0 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse LocationIQ Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -35 of 15 results

May 2020

User Profile Picture

Tony from MULTIMEDIA DYNAMICS

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Accurate Reverse Geocoding

Great experience, excellent support

Pros

Locationiq made it easy to integrate in fast and returns with accurate results

Cons

I did not see any cons with this sotfware

Reasons for Switching to LocationIQ

Google increased their rate beyond reasonable

September 2020

Duccio from Corsidia SB Srl

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

The BEST alternative to Google Maps and Geolocation APIs

When Google APIs became too expensive LocationIQ came to the rescue.

Pros

Easy to set up and integrate, fast, reliable, great support.

Cons

I'd like the ability to insert custom markers (pointers) in the static maps API because it would help with branding.

Reasons for Choosing LocationIQ

Better docs, easier to integrate, better for our use case.

Reasons for Switching to LocationIQ

Google APIs became expensive.

June 2020

Rotem from Psngr

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

Good, open Location data API

We use LocationIQ primarily for geocoding data and finding places or addresses for given coordinates. We use the place information to complement our location data and display meaningful information to the user in our mobile app.

Pros

The API is simple and easy to use. We managed to integrate LocationIQ in a few hours initially. Support is excellent and responsive. We are very happy with the product, as it gives us a solid fallback for Google Maps APIs.

Cons

Geociding results are often inaccurate. That is, when converting a coordinate to a place or address, the results returned by the API are often too far away from the requested coordinate. We had to implement workaround in our product for such cases where LocationIQ returns inaccurate results, and we rely on alternative APIs for filling in the gaps.

Reasons for Choosing LocationIQ

Best cost / quality ratio

Reasons for Switching to LocationIQ

Google has a cap on free quota and premium quota is quite expensive. We are a startup and we found LocationIQ to be a very good alternative to Google Maps. LocationIQ provides larger free quota which allows us to continue running our service and develop the product further while keeping operation costs low.

June 2021

Matthew from Emerging Response

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Public Safety

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

General Purpose Geolocation API

We wanted map-able coordinates for street addresses and this does exactly what it claims to. Easy to setup and use, would recommend.

Pros

We like that this is API-compatible with Nominatim and just works. Put it in and it was ready to go just that easily.

Cons

If a location isn't found, it sometimes returns a generic match rather than indicating no results. We understand the use cases where that's the best option, it just isn't quite what we want.

Reasons for Choosing LocationIQ

Pricing

Reasons for Switching to LocationIQ

More powerful, and we'd like to pay to support the community

May 2020

Matthias from Computer Software

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Reverse Geocoding

I am using the Reverse Geocoding feature of LocationIQ to get the city names of some coordinates extracted from a GPX file.

Pros

Works great without any problems, just as expected!

Cons

No cons -- never had any downtime or problems, simply works!

Reasons for Choosing LocationIQ

Most important thing was a good documented API that describes all features -- top!!!

December 2020

Jordan from Daate

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

The best solution for geolocation

Pretty good

Pros

Simple to use. Not expensive at all. Does the job.

Cons

it's nt easy to determine the city name.

Reasons for Choosing LocationIQ

cheaper

Reasons for Switching to LocationIQ

expensive

May 2020

Maciej from Comarch S.A.

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Good way to know, where things are

Pros

I've installed a GPS in my car. To tighten my privacy and security I installed a dedicated server to handle notifications from my GPS. LocationIQ was my choice, because its license is available in various options - for my needs the free one was the best option. The accuracy of address determination it pretty good, although in dense urban areas it sometimes give false results. However, the value for money ($0 in my case) is very, very good. Free license is a good starting point. LocationIQ sends you weekly usage reports, which help you track the moment, when license upgrade is needed.

Cons

Sometime the accuracy lacks, especially in dense urban areas (in my home town address returned was 2 streets away, while other location services provided accurate location). Also sometimes usage reports can be confusing - especially when minutely limit sees to be reached, and device is configured to send reports twice a minute.

September 2020

John from PHA Realty

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Fast and reliable

Pros

It was easy to setup and get running on my site. The data has been accurate and reliable and the price makes it incredibly competitive especially when compared to google maps api.

Cons

I don’t have any cons. The service works exactly as I need it to and the price is great

Reasons for Choosing LocationIQ

Price and reliability

Reasons for Switching to LocationIQ

Less expensive

June 2020

User Profile Picture

Andre from MoBerries

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

Affordable location API service

Pros

Easy to install and to use. A reliable and affordable alternative to Google Maps API.

Cons

The dashboard UI could be improved. We were missing the possibility to adjust subscription payments.

Reasons for Switching to LocationIQ

Pricing

June 2021

Florian from None

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

LocationIQ Positions name

Pros

I like to get addresses out of positions with Traccar thanks to LocationIQ

Cons

No I don't miss anything. It's just working in the background without any nessesary to think about it

May 2020

User Profile Picture

Nathaniel from Software Industry

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Great Alternative to Google for Geocoding & Reverse Geocoding

Pros

The API is relatively straightforward and it's nice to not be locked into Google's mapping ecosystem. LocationIQ is saving us quite a bit of money right now.

Cons

The interface for devs could be a little nicer but honestly that's a super minor concern.

Reasons for Switching to LocationIQ

Maps looked WAY too expensive.

September 2020

Clifford from Coded, Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Great Geocoding Tool

LocationIQ is, in my opinion, the best free service for internal geocoding for most companies. Commercialized and high-volume products are priced fairly, and US addresses & lat/lng coordinates have high fidelity. International addresses have improved significantly over time.

Pros

- Free version has suited our internal needs for geocoding some of our data, best free service I could find - Paid version is reasonable and straightforward. We would likely use if our usage ever spiked or we needed to offer commercial usage - API queries are flexible and help with Address Validation as well as geocoding

Cons

- There used to be significant problems with international addresses (we are a US company, but store some international addresses), but these have been vastly improved in the past few years - We haven't used the map utility in a while, but it was somewhat more difficult to implement and style than other similar tools. This was a couple years ago and may have improved.

August 2020

Timothy from WinDynamicDesktop

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Excellent geocoding API for open source project

Pros

The daily quota of geocoding requests in the free plan (10,000) was the highest I found when researching alternative products. This makes LocationIQ fantastic for an open source project that needs geocoding.

Cons

None, the REST API was very simple to integrate into my app and I have received no complaints from users regarding the geocoding functionality it provides.

September 2020

Bart from Stichting Klub Aktivo

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Excellent for static maps (and more). Generous free tier.

We are using LocationIQ for small static maps displayed at recreational event pages. The maps are created dynamically based on the city name where the event takes place.

Pros

The ease of use and the generous free tier.

Cons

There is a learning curve although not steep.

Reasons for Switching to LocationIQ

Google Maps became a paid product.

September 2020

Alexandre from Homer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Excelent API

Excelent!

Pros

It's free with lots of functionalities. We use it to get bounds of some neighborhoods.

Cons

Sometimes some neighborhoods bounds are not correct. But when I reach customer service, they fix the problem.