User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(17)

17

4 stars

(8)

8

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse QGIS Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -28 of 22 results

November 2019

User Profile Picture

Tharindu from Water Supply & Sanitation Improvement Project

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

QGIS - The Best GIS Platform

After starting with QGIS, my design flow in QGIS involves over 80% of the total work. Before QGIS, creation of pipe lines, adding lengths manually, introducing elevations to thousands of notes along with demands usually consumed over a month for each scheme. But with QGIS, the time requirement changed to a matter of hours, which is unbelievable. Pipelines are automatically generated with exported shape files, demands are exported with demand buffers, which are created and managed in QGIS and all elevation data sets are all there in the same project.

Pros

QGIS is a free software, with exceptional customization as well as some amazing built-in features. Compared to most other GIS platforms including paid ones, QGIS offers a hassle free user experience since we can handle/ manage all our files within a single interface such as creating-converting-managing all data layers very easily. The other major upside is the availability of a ton of third party plug ins, which will help you do almost everything you need. As a daily user of the software, QGIS has become an integral part of my design workflow in modelling and managing water supply pipe networks. With the latest QGIS 3, we received many new features to further enhance the level of presentation compared to what it offered before. This was a very nice surprise and a much welcomed bonus to all users.

Cons

Unlike many free apps, there are literally no downsides to using QGIS compared to the alternatives.

Reasons for Choosing QGIS

In my opinion, QGIS is the best platform, that offers all the customization you will ever need with a massive amount of built-in and third party plugins.

Reasons for Switching to QGIS

Mainly, QGIS offered an all in one solution, compared to arc map - arc toolbox - arc catalog combined workflow, which was simple and smooth. Not to mention, QGIS is totally free

November 2019

Mauricio from Gobierno de la Ciudad de Buenos Aires

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

QGIS, a Geographic Information System for data visualization and analysis

I have generated a series of dashboards capable of creating geostatistical maps, all are visible in my linkedin profile: https://www.linkedin.com/in/mauriciomarquezgoa/

Pros

It is a free, intuitive, easy-to-use software, with a lot of documentation on the web, capable of solving complex spatial data problems. Add-ons make it the best free GIS on the web.

Cons

The map composer has an extension called Atlas which is able to add HTML elements, Javascript among others that allow expressions and function to make intersections to the flight that give a great dynamism to the configured maps.

Reasons for Switching to QGIS

For the cost of the software license and because I did not obtain the documentation that allows me to resolve the contracts they had when using it.

August 2020

COOPER from Freelancer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Hard to use

I will never use Qgis again if i have a choice, the overall stability of the software really contributed to it's downfall.

Pros

Qgis is a free, open source software, so the price is literally unbeatable.

Cons

While the features of Qgis are adequate for most GIS tasks, however the stability of the software really ruins the experience. The amount of times the software crashed, on several different PC's is unacceptable.

November 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Excellent Open Source GIS software

I have loved discovering this software. It is all that I had hoped I could find since ESRI products are so so expensive and it is my budget. But QGIS days everything I need for professional mapping and analysis.

Pros

This is a full-featured, intuitive GIS software with many devoted users who develop add ons for some many situations. The software is updated regularly. It connects to all the databases and sources I need.

Cons

The installation is a little difficult at times and it requires uninstalling the previous version. The tool bar graphics can look a little dated graphically.

Reasons for Choosing QGIS

The price, the functionality, the ability to just start using it

Reasons for Switching to QGIS

ESRI is way too expensive for a small start up like myself. QGIS does what I need for a donation.

July 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Ideal para quem está iniciando no mercado de Mapas

Elaboro mapas auxiliares para um Projeto Social com moradores de rua de minha cidade, e os recursos que o Qgis me disponibiliza conseguimos mapear os bairros com as suas demais características.

Pros

O produto é intuitivo para alguns recursos, mas o usuário pode encontrar vários tutoriais fáceis na internet de como explorar melhor os demais recursos. Recomendo estar sempre atentos nas novas atualizações e versões do programa. A montagem de Mapas de Cidades é excelente através do QGis, e se bem utilizado consegue-se um produto final excelente.

Cons

No início tive dificuldade em entender como funcionava a sobreposição de malhas, creio que seja confuso para o iniciante entender como de fato desativá-las ou ativá-las!

Reasons for Choosing QGIS

Tive dificuldade na instalação do ArcGIS e por isso comecei a explorar o QGIS primeiro!

July 2021

User Profile Picture

Dilraj from Click Labs

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2021

Best GIS software for beginners

A great GIS software that is available to download free of cost. It provides large number of third party tools and plugins for faster data manipulation and analysis.

Pros

Best software for beginners and easy to install. QGIS is a powerful tool for custom geoprocessing to identify trends within the spatial dataset and create professional looking maps, free of cost. Able to handle complicated datasets easily. Allows easy task automation to schedule jobs on a daily basis.

Cons

The software can be a bit unstable and slow while performing heavy tasks, and fails to efficiently manage raster data unlike other GIS software available.

September 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2021

Free and Powerful Open Source GIS Software

My overall experience with QGIS is great, and I will strongly recommend QGIS.

Pros

QGIS is a free and powerful open source software. The GUI is great and adding data to your data frame is much more easier (click a button and then select which data type you want to add within a single window e.g. Raster, Vector etc.). With availability of so many compatible plugins, QGIS can do all GIS activities and some remote sensing analysis. QGIS is great and installation is very simple.

Cons

I find it difficult to point out one specific part of QGIS that isn't great. QGIS software is robust enough.

April 2021

User Profile Picture

Oder Henrique from SPMA

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Renewables & Environment

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2021

Great software in what it proposes

I have been using the program for more than 6 months and even then I have no interest in changing software, as it perfectly meets my map creation demands. I can create everything from less complex maps for personal use, to maps for professional use.

Pros

The main benefit of QGIS in relation to competitors is related to cost-benefit. The software is compatible with the most popular operating systems such as Windowns, Linux and Mac. A few months ago I started a course to become professional and 4 months ago I got a new job opportunity thanks to my knowledge and skill with the tool. In addition, QGIS support is very complete, where I can solve problems in a short time. It is possible to download different versions of the program, depending on each demand.

Cons

Comparing QGIS with some similar but paid programs, it is possible to notice that some problems happen more frequently, where the software proves to be more unstable and sometimes the program closes for no apparent reason, however, these are quite sporadic situations and do not affect my Yield.

February 2021

User Profile Picture

Deepit from Kingston University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

Still the best Open Source GIS Software

IT has most features on it for GeoSpatial use along with added Geoprocessing tools and plugins, surprisingly found it a first choice for maybe handling with rasters imagery for simpler work. QGIS does everything I need for professional mapping & analysis. The software is updated on time and regularly. easily connectable to other applications even including hardware GPS devices through plugins and has an easy integration with Excel Databases and supports most Excel Database formats. User Friendly GIS option.

Pros

Its pretty useful options if you want to convert from on format to another such as GDAL files having formats of Raster imagery such as converting grid files, image files to ASCII files etc including numerous other formats. Budget friendly option for Geospatial professionals plus easy to use tools for other professionals in the field of Environment or planning for their mapping work. Add on's are another useful feature, recently used and add on for adding surveys for data point collection of reviewing of data points, many developers are able to make add on plugins for QGIS.

Cons

There can arise issues such as lag or time taken for some geoprocessing tools, installation loading times, time taken for bulk tasks, in general using ArcGIS is more easier and better. Tool bar graphics can be out of date.

November 2021

User Profile Picture

Omar from own enterprise

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Environmental Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2021

The software you need to get started with GIS

Pros

It is the best software for beginners in Geographic Information Systems. It has a dynamic and intuitive interface. Very easy to use and teach students. It is compatible with all operating systems Everyone knows or has ever worked with this tool, and it is impossible to get bored if you love maps!

Cons

It has very few points against it, maybe it takes a little while to process heavy images and it has many updates that sometimes confuse me.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Easy to Use Powerful Mapping Program

Overall I am very satisfied with what I am able to produce using QGIS. With this program I can assemble great visuals for inclusion in my reports in a short amount of time.

Pros

This program offers an easy to use and effective mapping software. The capabilities of this software are above and beyond what I would have expected from a free program. I use QGIS at least once a day for various mapping projects whether it be preparing a site map, a tax map, or topographic maps. It makes mapping sample points, or integrating various graphical project data simple. I had no previous formal GIS training and I found this program easy to understand a pick up quickly.

Cons

Some file formats are not accepted as imports into QGIS so they may require a conversion before uploading. Additionally, the buffer function was removed from newer versions of the program.

November 2019

Nadeesha from SLPA

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Best Software Available in Market to Fulfill Your Mapping Needs

This is being used to prepare maps with info-graphics.

Pros

This is the best software I used in my life which fulfill all your day today mapping works.this software has a vast plugin library, which contains thousands of plugins, specially cater for your requirement. For example there is a plunging which import satellite imaginary into your project. So that you can produce high quality geographical info-graphics with the use of satellite imaginary. This is a only one small feature in this open source software among hundred of other features and wonder is all of this are supplied to you free of charge.

Cons

As I described about QGIS equipped with everything. Therefor nothing to dislike

April 2021

Condrae from Smith Warner International

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

QGIS is a must have

I use QGIS to create and display mainly shapefiles and line work on maps for our design company. Working near the sea, its a great way to visualize shoreline changes over time and to plan for future changes.

Pros

QGIS is a must have for anyone doing spatial analysis or GIS related work. Its free and comes with a lot of capabilities similar to other products like ARC-GIS. Adding various types of layers to your map and changing the display properties are all helpful in getting you the right output. Having the ability to integrate many different file types is a great feature that makes this software awesome. The support community is also great making it easy to get solutions to any issues you may have.

Cons

There aren't any notable drawbacks to using this software. As a beginner it will take a couple days to remember everything however after that its just a breeze.

March 2021

Vicky from JBA Consulting

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Pretty easy if you know Arc

Multiple ESRI licences were prohibitively expensive. Can now keep those for niche applications.

Pros

Free to install and will load all ESRI shapefiles. Not very familiar yet with full range of tools etc. Can do everything that Arc GIS can, some things better than Arc. Layouts are easy to do neatly, and to save. Always available, no waiting for an organisational licence. Free for all employees to use, so we can save our ESRI licences for applications that really can't use anything else.

Cons

Some dialogue windows open with tiny font. Not always intuitive to find the tools you need. Not keen on having to switch from Arc but that isn't really the fault of QGIS.

August 2021

Calvin from Bentry Company Ltd

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2021

A very capable tool

QGIS has been our most heavily used software amongst our teams. The versatility in function it offers has allowed us to partner wide ranging agencies in providing geospatial analysis, mapping, and data visualization services for different kinds of projects. It has been a very useful tool for us.

Pros

QGIS has a very vibrant online community that has been very helpful for me, especially during my early days using the software years ago. I struggled a bit to learn how to execute certain tasks like thematic layers styling and advanced spatial analysis. But thanks to the help [SENSITIVE CONTENT] guidance I received, I was able to learn quickly without much difficulty.

Cons

On our large scale projects where we deal with large volumes of data, QGIS can be very slow in processing tasks and commands, even on high capacity devices.

November 2019

RANGANA from SLPA

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Open source software that serves better than paid ones

This is being used to create maps with data that facilitate the analysis process.

Pros

This is the greatest software that I have come across in my life to do GIS jobs. Even the software is freely available, it performs way better than most of the paid products in the market.

Cons

There is actually nothing to dislike about this software. Everything is strategically placed and tons of third-party plugins are available to make your work easier.

October 2019

User Profile Picture

Paolo from Myself

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

A fantastic open source replacement for expensive proprietary solutions

Pros

If you need a GIS Desktop tool, QGIS is the way to go. It is rich of features, open source, and easily customizable using Python. And has a vibrant community!

Cons

I like everything from this fantastic software

October 2019

User Profile Picture

Rahul from IIT MADRAS

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2019

Suggestion for improvisation

Pros

First of all its openware software, so its very useful in student research work.

Cons

Some features like buffer analysis etc. takes too much time to get achieve desired results.

November 2019

User Profile Picture

Caterina from Brigham Young University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Open Software at its finest

Pros

One of my favorite aspects of QGis is clearly that it is an open software that has several benefits. It is very well updated and well taken care of. Its compatibility with Open Street map is perhaps one of its greatest assets.

Cons

It is not a very intuitive tool and some of its features are hard to complete.

December 2019

Fabio from World Bank

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Capital Markets

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Great tool for geodata analysis

I have used QGIS for spatial analysis during my masters.

Pros

QGis is a great tool for geodata analysis, using the features of the app it is possible to create maps and input data in it.

Cons

It is not the easiest platform for geodata analysis in the market, however this is mostly due the high number of features that QGis has.

November 2019

Jay from NMIMS MPSTME, Mumbai

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Industrial Automation

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Detailed and diverse tool

Pros

I used QGIS for my traffic simulation project and honestly, this tool was mostly used to create various shapefiles. This extracts every kind of tiniest road possible which makes it very precise to use in simulation. Also, the software is not too heavy and can be used without any lag. They also provide Grass GIS for advanced applications.

Cons

For basic and advanced GIS applications, this software is just ample enough. No cons as of now.

November 2019

Katie from Aramark

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Wonderful Open Source GIS Software

My over all experience with QGIS is great. It's an amazing value with it's community created tool box.

Pros

QGIS is a wonderful GIS software that is open source. If you need a specific tool that QGIS doesn't have you can create your on with there software. As a result of this, there is a community of people that create tools for QGIS and you can access all of them through the QGIS program.

Cons

The software can be tricky to new users. However, there are many excellent web tutorials teaching you how best to use QGIS