All QGIS Reviews

1-25 of 89 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Dilraj

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

Best GIS software for beginners

A great GIS software that is available to download free of cost. It provides large number of third party tools and plugins for faster data manipulation and analysis.

PROS

Best software for beginners and easy to install. QGIS is a powerful tool for custom geoprocessing to identify trends within the spatial dataset and create professional looking maps, free of cost. Able to handle complicated datasets easily. Allows easy task automation to schedule jobs on a daily basis.

CONS

The software can be a bit unstable and slow while performing heavy tasks, and fails to efficiently manage raster data unlike other GIS software available.

Raju

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2023

Exploring QGIS: A Comprehensive Overview

There are a variety of plugins available that can extend the functionality of the software and allow users to perform more advanced analysis. Try it as it is open source.

PROS

1. QGIS is a free and open-source geographic information system that allows users to visualize, manage, edit and analyze spatial data.2. QGIS offers a wide range of features including support for various data formats, geoprocessing tools, and plugins that can extend the functionality of the software.3. QGIS has a user-friendly interface that makes it easy for new users to get started with minimal training.4. QGIS is available for various operating systems, including Windows, Mac, and Linux, making it a versatile tool for a wide range of users.5. QGIS can handle large datasets and perform complex analyses, but users may need to ensure they have sufficient hardware resources to run the software smoothly.

CONS

QGIS may have a steeper learning curve for users who are not familiar with GIS concepts and terminology, but the software's extensive documentation and online resources can help mitigate this issue.

Jamal

Verified reviewer

Civil Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2022

new user 6 month

My somewhat recent experience with the program is to solve the problems of the layers that I used to export to and from other expensive programs, which I am doing now with the free program

PROS

The program is completely free, light and easy to handle with features

CONS

The permanent development of the program and keep abreast of the development that occurs with all programs and devices, and it is free

Reasons for switching to QGIS

money

User Profile

Chanchala

Verified reviewer

Research, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2022

Best open-source software for geospatial mapping!!

QGIS is open-source software that can easily download and deploy. It consists of a variety of plugins and tools to work with geospatial data.

PROS

QGIS is totally free software that helps us to perform spatial analysis, data management, geospatial data preparation, satellite data interpretation, etc. This software is updating day by day and adding very important plugins and features to it. QGIS has plugins to connect with other platforms too. For example, Send2GoogleEarth plugin can join with Google Earth Pro, Google Earth Engine Plugin can work with GEE platform. This software provides plugins and tools for quick land use classifications compared to other GIS platforms. Digitization of spatial elements like buildings, roads, streams, and land cover is very comfortable with QGIS. QGIS has the facility to load base maps such as OpenStreetMap, Google Hybrid, Google Satellite, Google Road, and Bing Arial by adding the URL. This service is very valuable for those who are working with base data preparation and interpretation.

CONS

QGIS doesn’t support adding data from file geodatabases. Sometimes QGIS is unexpectedly ended due to crash reporting. Especially at the time, we are doing digitization activities using google satellite images.

User Profile

Carlos

Verified reviewer

Architecture & Planning, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Powerful, reliable, easy to use, extendable... and free (as in free beer and free speech)

PROS

It is extremely powerful: it has plenty of built-in algorithms that range from data analysis, visualization, vector, raster... and it has thousands of 3rd party plug-ins that extend their base functionallities. Furthermore, if everything fails, it can be extended through python scripting. As result it can be used for any purpose that include geospatial data. Furthermore, it is reliable, meaning that it does not hang when working with large datasets or doing complex calculations. The fact that can be used in any major Operating System (GNU/Linux, Windows, Mac, Android) and can read and write a number of file formats (including, but not limited to, all open standards) makes it excellent for sharing your work with others, preventing any kind of platform lock-in.

CONS

It might be not well-known as Arcgis, even though it can do everything Arcgis can do plus more, at a fraction of its cost (0).

User Profile

Chancy

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

Review of QGIS

QGIS is very useful software in the Geoinformatics field.

PROS

QGIS is free and open-source software. QGIS supports all possible formats such as raster, vector, point clouds of GIS, and Remote Sensing. QGIS is highly customizable and the Developer can develop various plugins as per requirements.

CONS

QGIS sometimes encounters a bug and immediate Support is not available. QGIS needs more tools for raster data processing.

Felipe

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Very complete GIS software

PROS

This is a great open-source GIS software and is equipped with plenty of features and customization options for projecting and analyzing spatial data. Its interface with online maps from services like Google and Bing, which makes it easy to work with different basemaps. It's also a great alternative to ArcGIS, particularly for those who are looking for a free and open-source solution.

CONS

The software can be a bit tricky to navigate for those who are new to GIS or have limited experience with similar tools.

Reasons for switching to QGIS

Because the cost of ArqGIS

Anonymous

1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2022

A student's view on QGIS

My overall experience with QGIS is positive, the software does what is has to do.

PROS

QGIS is a good software to analyse and visualize data in. As a student geography we use QGIS often to do all sort of tasks. The mapping possibilities in QGIS are very good and extensive. You can also download free versions which is great if you're new to GIS, so you can try and see if you like the software without losing any money. I've been using QGIS for about 5 months now, in that time i didn't have any weird errors or crashes of the software, which i did have with the software that i was using before (ArcMap).

CONS

As I'm very new to QGIS, it's sometimes difficult to find all the functions that I need, there are a lot of options which can make it difficult in use. It is good to have an understanding of GIS if you want to use QGIS.

Alexis

Verified reviewer

Environmental Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Excellent GIS tool

a positive experience is easy to use and the elements are available to the user

PROS

a quality software and it is also free for all users

CONS

which is available to all users for free and has a large number of tools to work with

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

The best SIG software for the price.

PROS

The easy of use, all the community, reviews... the way it have to works, it's really smooth!

CONS

It's always updating, a lot of improvementes in any update, but sometimes a bug.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Ideal para quem está iniciando no mercado de Mapas

Elaboro mapas auxiliares para um Projeto Social com moradores de rua de minha cidade, e os recursos que o Qgis me disponibiliza conseguimos mapear os bairros com as suas demais características.

PROS

O produto é intuitivo para alguns recursos, mas o usuário pode encontrar vários tutoriais fáceis na internet de como explorar melhor os demais recursos. Recomendo estar sempre atentos nas novas atualizações e versões do programa. A montagem de Mapas de Cidades é excelente através do QGis, e se bem utilizado consegue-se um produto final excelente.

CONS

No início tive dificuldade em entender como funcionava a sobreposição de malhas, creio que seja confuso para o iniciante entender como de fato desativá-las ou ativá-las!

Reason for choosing QGIS

Tive dificuldade na instalação do ArcGIS e por isso comecei a explorar o QGIS primeiro!

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2021

Free and Powerful Open Source GIS Software

My overall experience with QGIS is great, and I will strongly recommend QGIS.

PROS

QGIS is a free and powerful open source software. The GUI is great and adding data to your data frame is much more easier (click a button and then select which data type you want to add within a single window e.g. Raster, Vector etc.). With availability of so many compatible plugins, QGIS can do all GIS activities and some remote sensing analysis. QGIS is great and installation is very simple.

CONS

I find it difficult to point out one specific part of QGIS that isn't great. QGIS software is robust enough.

Calvin

Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

A very capable tool

QGIS has been our most heavily used software amongst our teams. The versatility in function it offers has allowed us to partner wide ranging agencies in providing geospatial analysis, mapping, and data visualization services for different kinds of projects. It has been a very useful tool for us.

PROS

QGIS has a very vibrant online community that has been very helpful for me, especially during my early days using the software years ago. I struggled a bit to learn how to execute certain tasks like thematic layers styling and advanced spatial analysis. But thanks to the help [SENSITIVE CONTENT] guidance I received, I was able to learn quickly without much difficulty.

CONS

On our large scale projects where we deal with large volumes of data, QGIS can be very slow in processing tasks and commands, even on high capacity devices.

Jakub

Civil Engineering, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

QGIS is great!

It's not that welcoming to new users, but once you get into it, it's really good. QGIS should enable you to get most of your GIS-related work done - and all of that for the price you can't beat.

PROS

Great GIS software. It is evolving constantly, it's free and it does the job well no matter if you just want to take a look at a shapefile or you want to deliver more complex projects - it's there and it works. On top of that you've got access to a number of plugins which should bring all the functionality you need.

CONS

There are a lot of software/libraries dependencies and backward compatibility is not always a guarantee for your projects. Even if it's not ideal it causes the extended use of older version of QGIS when working on a specific project for longer.

Zidane

Verified reviewer

Mining & Metals, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2022

Le Meilleur SIG que jusqu'à présent

Dans l'ensemble, le logiciel QGIS m'a permis de réaliser des cartes exceptionnelles. Non seulement la qualité du résultat y est mais aussi une panoplie de personnalisation possible. Le top du top !!!

PROS

L'ergonomie du logiciel est sans pareil. Aussi, j'ai adoré la partie plugin qui vient compléter les manquement de la version de base.

CONS

Depuis les récentes version ( notamment à partir des versions 3.x.x) les interpolations inverses présentent des résultats presque à chaque fois ponctuels et la variable du facteur n'arrange pas les choses.

Reason for choosing QGIS

J'ai opté pour le logiciel QGIS pour sa simplicité, sa diversification ainsi que la qualité des cartes produites.

Jeremiah

Civil Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2020

Fully Featured Open Source GIS

Very positive experience with QGIS considering this is a free software. When compared to the paid options with similar features, there is little to complain about this product.

PROS

QGIS is open source with constant updates that continue to improve the software. Though some of the features may not be as robust as paid options, it is a great tool for anyone using GIS data regularly

CONS

The user interface is outdated and needs revamping. Some features are either difficult to find or sometimes buggy/not working.

User Profile

Pedro

Verified reviewer

Architecture & Planning, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

Qgis- One of the best GIS softwares

I use this software for my university career (architecture), I use for the analysis of terrain, and the nearby environment, where I can see a lot of information, For example, bus lines, rivers, land, electric lines for drinking water, etc. I really like this software as it is very easy to use for beginners.

PROS

QGgis is an open-source software, i like its easy and fast workflows, it is really easy to modify layer properties, attributes and other features, and i prefer it because it is just as good as other GIS softwares, but QGis is free. Really easy to use and learn, and you can find a lot of information about this software in youtube.

CONS

something I don't like is that sometimes the application closes and does not have recovered files, so you have to start again.

User Profile

Chandni

Verified reviewer

Environmental Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

QGIS is free which is its biggest plus point!

Like I mentioned above, the ease of use and the software being inexpensive is a huge advantage for anyone who wants to learn about geographic information system. Also since most researchers other than those working in larger institutions work on QGIS I feel it becomes easy to relay and correlate data in collaborations where 2 researchers might be working from different locations. Hence, it works really well for most of the people working with GIS and remote sensing.

PROS

The free software helps us researchers correlate our data through remote sensing as the software is relatively inexpensive in comparison to ArcGIS. Most of the data can be run through this software with ease and even the manual functions are better and easy to understand.

CONS

Only sometimes I do feel that the quality of our maps suffer since its free it has its cons. Otherwise it works really well for an amateur and intermediate users.

Irédon

Renewables & Environment, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT