All MasterControl Quality Excellence Reviews

1-25 of 420 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Deanna

11 - 50 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed May 2021

Implementation of Doc and Training

User Profile

Joanne

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2020

MasterControl Quality Management system

MasterControl has allowed us to replace book shelves of policy binders, file cabinets of employee training and competency forms. Staff can all access the same document at the same time instead of waiting for the binder to be free. Regulatory requirements are easy to track within the system.

PROS

This system is flexible enough for a any regulated industry. It includes a document management module, employee training module, Quality module that included Deviations, CAPA, Change Control, non-Conformance; Quality, risk management, etc.

CONS

The suite of modules has not been certified as HIPAA compliant, except for the Documents module. Full HIPAA compliance is on their timeline for 3rd quarter 2020.

Reason for choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

MasterControl provided the most flexibility as we needed to implement a document management & quality system in a variety of clinical and non-clinical healthcare departments. Each department needed different standards and is regulated by different organizations. Some manufacture goods, others do not.

User Profile

Sara

Verified reviewer

Pharmaceuticals, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2023

Connected and Compliant eQMS

I have been a MasterControl admin for over 8 years. From the start, it was apparent that MasterControl is super customer focused and wants their customer to succeed in implementation and beyond. Their support is much better than what I've experienced with other software vendors and they value feedback and suggestions from the customers.

PROS

I love that all of MasterControl's modules are connected. Document management, training management, and Quality Event Management all talk to one another and help to streamline our processes. It's also very easy for basic users to learn.

CONS

My biggest complaint has been the lack of flexibility in Quality Event workflows. This is being solved by the new Advanced QEM product, which I'm super excited about.

Reason for choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

Prior experience with MasterControl by employees involved with the implementation lowered implementation cost and made the process easier

Erik

Biotechnology, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2024

Great QMS and MES combination

PROS

Validation on board, easy API Integration, QMS, and MES combined

CONS

EMEA backend support would be great, US support can sometimes take a while due to time difference

MIRYANG

Pharmaceuticals, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2024

Overall, I'm satisfied, but there are areas I want to improve on the MasterControl

Many authority errors occur, and complaints from users often occur. If this part is improved, the other parts are generally satisfied.

PROS

It is easy to manage documents and quality issues. In particular, the "Report function" can be customized and used, so it is possible to grasp the real-time status.

CONS

It's inconvenient that I can't set up in detail during my absence. I wish I could do each of the absent settings for each permission.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

Flexible & Scalable Modern Quality Management System

Overall, MasterControl Quality Excellence has been a game-changer for our company as we grow and has helped us stay at the forefront or compliance. It has removed a lot of manual work and given us confidence in regulatory inspections.

PROS

MasterControl Quality Excellence (Qx) gives us the flexibility as a global organization to configure what we need, as we need it, without needing to edit code or re-validate the system. It allows us to manage compliance and track documents (with revision and access control), training, and quality events. In addition the system is hosted in the cloud, so we do not need to maintain our own infrastructure or IT team solely for the software. By being in the cloud, we receive frequent quarterly upgrades with new features, monthly defect patches, and global 24/7 availability. We also utilize the VxT validation tool, which cuts our quarterly upgrade validation time down to hours, and the customer support team is top-notch.

CONS

There are some quirks to the system that take some learning, but MasterControl has developed an excellent self-study library of courses to help. In addition, the older quality events module presented some configuration limitations that required us to adapt our processes to match MasterControl rather than the other way around. Fortunately, MasterControl's replacement of this module, Advanced Quality Event Management, just launched in 2024 and is alleviating this pain point.

Sophie

Pharmaceuticals, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2024

Using MX Production in a GMP Pharmaceutical Manufacturing setting.

My experience is using MX to create electronic batch manufacturing records (eBMRs) to suit our process prior to manufacturing, throughout manufacture and then reviewing the executed eBMR after use. This has been a hugely positive one and i'm excited to see the further improvements we can make with MX.

PROS

The system is very easy to access and use. It allows for an easy audit trail of users and during the construction of templates edits can easily be made and approved by several users before release. During manufacture the ability to force steps to be filled in by an operator before moving on is huge. Reviews are so much quicker than before and we have beat many targets due to this.

CONS

In my role there aren't currently any aspects of MX that cause an issue.

Laurentiu

Pharmaceuticals, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

MasterControl Training module

PROS

Switching from paper based training to electronic MasterControl training module made a big difference in having a fast overview on the training status for employees, would not go back to paper never.

CONS

No complete compliance training report is available, you have to browse multiple default Jreports, ended up creating a custom report with the aid of MC.

Liz

Pharmaceuticals, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2024

MasterControl Quality Excellence

It has gotten much easier from the beginning. Working in it everyday allows us to grow more and faster.

PROS

It made our life easier with saving and controlling the revisions of documents. Also approvals, no more emails and can use packets to get everything done and captured.

CONS

Building the system and implementing to the company, many challenges.

Ewa

Medical Devices, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2024

Documents and packets.

PROS

As Document Control I like the most that you can quickly search for documents and track packets. I like a fact that we can also update documents at step 2 Doc Control and fix format etc.

CONS

I do not like that there is no notification whenever the packet is signed off by originator at collaboration step (after update).

Joanna

Pharmaceuticals, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2024

Review for box

Fbs needs extra support. It couid help us to close our capas and QIs quicker

PROS

Doc management js ok but the collaboration area needs improvement

CONS

Control copy and collaboration needs more features but I know you guys will get there

Lutz

Logistics and Supply Chain, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2023

7 successful years with MasterControl

We have been using MasterControl since 2016 and since then we have NEVER received an Audit finding (neither by our ~global customers, nor any regulatory body like DQS, district government or even FDA).I feel secure and relaxed, knowing our quality documents are in a secure, validated system that I can access from anywhere, and that they sit in a system even our customers and the regulators themselves are utilizing!As a Pharma/MedTech logistics company, an electronic QMS system is a necessity and we are looking forward to utilizing more innovations with our imminent move to the MasterControl Cloud, especially because of the very promising AQEM solution!

PROS

Document Collaborations, Deviation/CAPA forms, training structure (Course/Exam/JobCodes/Trainee) is excellent

CONS

Too many bugs in necessary utilities like Action Items and Extension Requests, Management of Change module not up to our quality standards, Jreports are very user unfriendly

Reason for choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

MasterControl was much cheaper than the others and offered a comprehensive "all in one" solution that we needed

sharon

Research, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2020

With A Quality Eye

It maybe confusing at first but once you understand how all the modules work and how you can adapt it to meet your needs it's great.

PROS

All documentation is in one place and excellent traceability. Electronic signatures reduces paper and time gathering wet signatures.

CONS

The system does require daily administration which needs to be recognised by business owner. The audit module isn't user friendly and could do with some improvements.

Reason for choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

MasterControl offered a one stop shop with the various modules and reporting process.

Reasons for switching to MasterControl Quality Excellence

Needed to be regulatory compliant

Ed

Pharmaceuticals, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2022

MasterControl Works

Overall experience with Qx has been excellent. Implementing most of the quality event forms had been relatively easy and end users have expressed having a good experience using the system.

PROS

I like how easy the software is to use for end users. It is also set up to be easy for admins as well.

CONS

The only con is that some of the features aren’t configurable for admins, so there are a lot of workarounds needed.

Reason for choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

Feedback from other customers who used MC recommend it.

Shaun

Chemicals, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2023

Solves problems

MasterControl solves a lot of problems for us but it’s difficult to sell to our employees

PROS

QMS required training verification and retention

CONS

The difficulty in transitioning to new upgrades.

Reason for choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

Purchased through our sister company at first

Susan

Research, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2020

Why MasterControl

PROS

What we liked most about this product was the ease of use for employees

CONS

The training module can be a bit cumbersome to use

Reason for choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

MasterControl best suited both our needs and our budget

Reasons for switching to MasterControl Quality Excellence

MasterControl offer so many more options including a Quality Management system

Donna

Pharmaceuticals, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Gold Standard for SUPPORT!

We have been using MasterControl for document control for 23 years. We added the Process module over 15 years ago, and created many custom processes for quality management systems. MasterControl assisted us with the development of the 1st system, and provided continued support throughout the years as we added more and more. We added the field based solutions to ensure industry best practices and to streamline validation process. When we experienced compliance issues with our previous learning management system, we knew the answer was to add the MasterControl Training system.

PROS

MasterControl from Day 1 has let us know that we were part of the team! We have always been supported and knew we could depend on them on this journey for continuous improvement and greater compliance.

CONS

As a long-time user, we have had open honest conversations over the years MasterControl continues to improve their products, and I know they listen to their clients.

Reason for choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

After experiencing "here is your software, goodbye," we really began to realize how exceptional the people and the service levels were at MasterControl. When we were less than fully informed, they offered their knowledge and support. When we asked for improvements, they asked questions and responded.

Reasons for switching to MasterControl Quality Excellence

3.5 years ago we switched to MasterControl for Training.

Jonathan

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2023

MasterControl User Feedback

Overall experience is good! Their customer service is definitely top-notch.

PROS

It's definitely a great quality compliance QMS that helps to control the quality. Everything has a record and cannot be simply removed or revised without a reason or explanation which makes it easy for auditing purposes.

CONS

Ease of use. I think this is the downfall of MasterControl Quality Excellence. The system itself is not intuitive and sleek. It's definitely a system designed based or how an engineer thinks but not so much of a normal everyday user will be using. User Experience (UX) is extremely important as more people are using digital applications and platforms.

Elias

Medical Devices, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT