Caterease software


73 reviews(4.5/5)
73 reviews(4.5/5)

Caterease is a cloud-based and on-premise catering solution suitable for caterers, event planning businesses, casinos, restaurants and more. Key features include event management, account management, marketing, print designing, query tools and scheduling.

Caterease offers features such as event calendars, dashboards, real-time web leads, staff scheduling, menu costing, customizable fields and reporting.

The solution offers integration with Zuppler, DocuSign, Vantiv Integrated Payments, Google Maps, Social Tables, Quickbooks, Sage 50, Constant Contacts and more. Zuppler integration allows users to book parties online, enter details and make payments. DocuSign allows users to electronically sign documents.

Caterease is available in a subscription or one-time payment option. It offers Android and iOS mobile applications. Support is offered via phone, fax and email as well as client training, documentation and FAQs.

Supported Operating System(s):
Windows 7 , Windows Vista , Windows XP , Mac OS , Linux , Web browser (OS agnostic) , Windows 2000 , Windows 8 , Windows 10

73 Reviews of Caterease

Showing 1 - 20 of 73

Start your review of Caterease

Click to start
  • mindy from Have Party Will Travel

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    August 2018

    We love Caterease

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    We have used Caterease for over 10 years. We couldn't run our business without it. Thank you for your support.

    Pros

    The software is easy to use. It keeps track of all of my events. The support team is always great to help me with any question that I have. I am not very good with technology and they always answer my questions in terms that I understand. They stay on the phone with me until my problem is resolved.

    Cons

    I wish the e mails through Caterease would hold an attachment.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: Capterra
  • Danny from The John Marshall Ballrooms and Homemades by Suzanne

    Number of employees: 51-200 employees

    August 2018

    I Never Want For Anything

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    I really do love this system. You can check overlapping of events.. it has flags that identify each event as "Tentative" if they have not yet committed, "Definite" if they have and other important markers. You can customize HOW you want to see or view most things. I really could not imagine that anyone would not just love this system.

    Pros

    It covers just about anything you could want it to do. There have only been a few things ever I wished
    it could do and it couldn't. It is easy to use and reports are easy to obtain. I really love this software.

    Cons

    No Quickbooks interface. It would be nice to be able to transfer an invoice into the accounting system. Instead, I literally have to re-type every event over again into Quickbooks. This can be frustrating when you are receiving deposits or payments on events that are two or three years down the road and need to enter the event to apply the payment to it; along with all of the other daily invoices you have to do. And then keep up with all the menu / rental / room changes and updating THOSE in quickbooks.

    I do wish the notes and comments section on events would automatically place the initials of whom ever made the comment and the DATE . This could be tied to your log in. Often times there could be 3 or 4 people working on an event and if they forget to put their name.. and the date.. you dont know who they
    are. Also anyone can CHANGE or EDIT another persons notes or comments which I dont like. There is
    an "audit report" you can produce that will tell you who did what... but its not that easy to read and it takes some experience of looking at it to understand what the report is telling you.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: Capterra
  • Verified Reviewer

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    August 2018

    Caterease Review

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    It was very functional for catering management. I liked how everyone could update it in live time.

    Cons

    It was a little clunky in some places. But I also think it could have been set up better on management end.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source: Capterra
  • Candi from Turf Catering Company

    August 2018

    Makes my job so much easier!

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    This software is fabulous - you can access your program from anywhere in the world when you have Caterease Connect. The reports/queries are easy to manipulate to find the requested data. The engineers listen to our specific needs - requests show up in the next build! The software is VERY simple to use and can be customized for specific needs. The mobile app is great to check upcoming events on the fly. You can run a query to see how much of each item on your menu you've sold for a certain period of time, the forecast what the change in revenue would be if pricing increases/decreases. You can compare sales for a certain month /period to previous years, forecast future time periods and more. The time savings is phenomenal. What used to take hours can be produced in minutes. Our company has used Caterease for so long, I don't know how we would function without it.

    Cons

    The ONLY problem I have is sometimes tech support doesn't answer the phone because they are tied up on another call. BUT, emailing the support desk usually gets an answer quickly.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: Capterra
  • Elise from Indian Ridge Country Club

    July 2018

    The Caterease software is easy to use and perfect for our needs at Indian Ridge Country Club.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    The ability to clearly communicate while standardizing information that is distributed to a number of departments within our country club.

    Pros

    Ease of use. I also appreciated the responsiveness of the sales team when our Club requested to update from outdated version to current version 18.

    Cons

    I am pleased with the software, which I use daily. If I could make one change, I wish all the fields allowed us to change font style and size.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: Capterra
  • Jet from Holiday Inn Express North Platte

    Number of employees: 51-200 employees

    July 2018

    We use Caterease for our Hotel Conference Center booking and catering.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Time savings and a great way for staff to stay up-to-date on scheduled events. Prevents double booking and overbooking for staff available.

    Pros

    Makes scheduling easy & can customize to fit our needs. Mobile app makes checking on schedule while out of the office a breeze! Awesome customer service and great training available. Video tips are always accessible to learn a new feature or to review how to do something.

    Cons

    So many components to learn the function of and some features are added cost. Would like more "side by side" function of having multiple managers (ie: scheduler & event manager) on screen at once.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: Capterra
  • Marie from Marigold Catering

    July 2018

    Caterease is customizable and easy to use on the go!

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    How customizable it is! We were really able to take the software and use it how it best suited and helped our company. And each of our Sales Team can customize their screens and views to how it best suits their day-to-day needs. The Caterease team constantly provides updates and strives to better fit everyone's needs. We recently switched to the web-based server and it makes a huge difference for our Sales Team.

    Cons

    As with any software, there are bugs/glitches, etc. but the support teams works quick to fix them and update the software with changes.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: Capterra
  • Shirley from Kimbles Food By Design Inc

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    July 2018

    We have used this software since 2000 and LOVE the ease of use and customer support

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Happy Customers!!!

    Pros

    Ease of use, professional quality documents for our customers, Customer service is always very helpful

    Cons

    I can't think of a thing we don't like about the software we use it daily and have never had any issues - this is truly the easiest and most complete software to manager our catering business

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: Capterra
  • Kim from Six Star Events LLC

    July 2018

    The customer service was great. They helped us get the most out of the software.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    It is incredibly convenient to help run my business out of. Having everything in one place makes life so much easier.

    Cons

    I did have to go through many tutorials to understand how to use a lot of it. However, the tutorials helped so much.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: Capterra
  • Niklaus from Anderson Hospitality Management

    June 2018

    Caterease is powerful and there's a lot to it.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    The sheer amount of features with Caterease is astounding. There is so much it can do from scheduling and pricing events to inputting menu items, and much more! The integrated tutorials are helpful.

    Cons

    The interface isn't as intuitive as I would like. It seems like it's in need of a facelift. I feel like we maybe use 20% of all the features we're able to use.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Caterease, Horizon Business Services

    July 2018

    Niklaus, Thank you for your comments about our program. We pride ourselves in the robust collection of features we offer to satisfy the needs of any catering and event planning operation. We also deliberately design our program to mirror the functionality of the most common Office applications ¿ to keep the learning curve small. From our records, it seems you are using a version of Caterease that is many years old. There is no charge at all for your company to update ¿ and take advantage of new design options as well as a host of powerful new features! I think you will really like the look and feel of this latest version, which reflects the modern design of other Windows 10 applications. Feel free to contact our help desk today and anyone there will be able to assist you.

  • Kris from Bon Appetit at Washington Univeristy St Louis

    May 2018

    Caterease is easy to use and set up. For our daily use it provides most of the needed functions.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    Online login function and can be used anywhere. Easy to copy multiple events, but pricing doesn't always copy. Query funtions for reports, finance and daily events.

    Cons

    When updates are made it takes too long to work out the kinks and get our individual set ups back to our settings. Would like better ways to compare year to year financials.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Caterease, Horizon Business Services

    May 2018

    Kris, Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, some settings need to be reset during major updates - otherwise, you will not see some of the new features. We do try to keep this to a minimum and notify customers ahead of time. Also, try the "Yearly Sales Comparison" report. It offers a flexible way to compare year to year financials. Thanks again for your review.

  • Jr from RKC

    May 2018

    Very easy to use and great support and training available!

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    Ease of use, dependability, easy training, fast support, extensive thought put in to each aspect of program.

    Cons

    On site training is very expensive. However, we have found the website and support desk can help us through most questions and training for free.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Caterease, Horizon Business Services

    May 2018

    Thanks Jr for your kind words. Just to let you know, we have many different options besides onsite training - many of which are free. Give us a call and we'd be happy to go over all of them with you and your team.

  • CLB from SAVOR...Peoria

    Number of employees: 10,000+ employees

    May 2018

    Have used Caterease in various positions with 2 employers. Have used one other catering system

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Pros

    Ease of use across systems (adding an event, account or client is all done with the same + / - icon )

    Cons

    Unable to batch print or email documents as one attachment
    Unable to view the content of sent emails from within Caterease
    Unable to pull up an "outstanding invoice list" across accounts

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Caterease, Horizon Business Services

    May 2018

    Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our software. Just to clarify: You can batch print and email documents. You can also view the contents of sent emails from within Caterease. You can also review outstanding invoice lists across accounts. In fact, you can combine all three and batch email attached invoices to all accounts with outstanding balances. Please call our help desk and we'll be happy to show you how. Thanks again for your review.

  • Travis from Wilshire Caterers

    May 2018

    Caterease and its support staff is AWESOME

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    Ease of use, our entire team from FOH to BOH, chefs and sales team are huge fans of using this software!

    Cons

    nothing! this software is really fantastic! it is easy to use, user friendly and the customer service is amazing!

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Caterease, Horizon Business Services

    May 2018

    Thank you Travis for such an nice review! We work hard to meet expectations like yours and your teams and we don't take anything for granted. Cheers..

  • Clarence from Commonwealth Caterers, Inc

    May 2018

    Caterease has the best customer service!!

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    This software produces professional proposals, contracts, and invoices with ease that my staff and the clients love. It also produces very specific paperwork that helps my culinary team and event staff produce and orchestrate the best events possible. The friendly, efficient customer service at Caterease is exceptional!

    Pros

    We have used this amazing catering software for over 24 years! It has grown and evolved with the industry over the years and remains the best catering software on the market - that I have ever seen. This product pays for itself and the cloud based version allows my staff to work on the fly from any venue, which saves time and money. My staff loves using the Caterease program. The help desk is always friendly, efficient, knowledgeable, and far exceed my expectations of customer service in today's market. They truly go the extra mile!!

    Cons

    I do not have any cons for this product or the support staff - give it a try - you, your staff and your clients will be glad you did!

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Caterease, Horizon Business Services

    May 2018

    Thank you, Clarence, for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with Caterease. We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. You get five stars in our book, as well!

  • Verified Reviewer

    May 2018

    Caterease is a very detailed software for catering facilities but not the most user friendly

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    A lot of events/venues to have access to the same information/database

    Pros

    The possibilities are endless (Creating kitchen prep list, cost, ordering, budgetting, creating BEO's, templates, financial possibilities)

    Cons

    The software is a little archaic and is not the most user friendly. A lot of the functionality would certainly be used more often if the software was easier to use. A lot of duplicate information has to be entered

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Caterease, Horizon Business Services

    May 2018

    Thank you for the kind words. We've just released a brand new, cutting-edge version of Caterease. Please call our offices so we can arrange training on it for you. We want you to feel fully comfortable with all facets of the software. You will find that there is never "duplicate information" that needs to be entered into Caterease. Again - thank you for your kind words.

  • Verified Reviewer

    May 2018

    Bought the desktop version, was not told that it could only be run on one computer at a time.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    We now own this catering software forever-more, so if anything happens with whatever else we're doing, I know we can at least fall back on this.

    Pros

    The Vantiv credit card processor was good value, it dropped out processing fees a bit... But that's a different company. The Caterease customer service started out okay; they were friendly at least.

    Cons

    Very convoluted software, difficult to use, leaves you wondering 'why would they do that??' when looking at the way it was designed. If you buy one of the 'cheaper' versions, they lock most of the useful features (unlike a service like Total Party Planner). The customer service was OKAY at first, but once I realized we were not told of the restrictions the desktop version has, I asked for a refund as we had not even owned it for 6 months yet. You know that didn't happen. I've been told we'll get a refund for the unused maintenance service.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Caterease, Horizon Business Services

    May 2018

    We're so sorry that you had a bad experience with our software. The desktop version certainly can work on more than one computer at a time. I'm sorry you were told otherwise. We've just released a new web-based version that is quite cutting edge. We'd love to give you a trial run on it if you would like to see all the new stuff. In any case, please call our offices so we can properly review your account and see what we can do for you.. Again - we're sincerely sorry for your bad experience.

  • Lauren from ozarktech

    May 2018

    worth it

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    It is very user friendly and easy to use. I really like this software and would recommend it to anyone.

    Cons

    It is more expensive than it should be. To learn more about the software you have to pay even more than the first time.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Caterease, Horizon Business Services

    May 2018

    Lauren, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. As a note, I did want to point out that Caterease is actually cheaper than most other programs in this industry. Our Express version, for example, has more time-saving tools than any other application and is available for as little as $68/month. And access to our large, knowledgeable, friendly support team is included free with your subscription! Thanks again for posting, and please be sure to let us know if you ever have any questions about the program.

  • Verified Reviewer

    May 2018

    Great Concept but Very Buggy. Slow customer service.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    If it was operational 100% there be many but every week there something going wrong

    Pros

    The concept is great tool for caterers, though you have to pay for every add on
    When its operational - i love it

    Cons

    - Very over priced!!!
    - Forever having issues with the program not working. I lose too much time having to followup with customer service to fix issues.
    - Is hosted on a 3rd party platform and its forcing a new download access everytime. this make it slow as.. Other CRMs have been smoother operationally.
    - You have to pay for every addon... completely stupid idea and makes for costly program. the Web forms are hosted on a separate website which means you cannot customise without using customer service.
    - every update seems to create more issues
    - its slow in operation to change to different screens
    - it doesnt communicate with zapier so creating external forms or merging data is all manual

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Caterease, Horizon Business Services

    May 2018

    While we're glad you love the program features and concept, we¿re sorry to hear you've had problems. Please know we¿re extremely focused on the performance of our program, and developers work tirelessly to shave precious seconds off of features and ensure a positive experience for every user. Unfortunately, with variables such as internet speed, hardware and more it can be necessary for our team to work with you to troubleshoot your environment. I realize you are a relatively new user, but I want to encourage you to not accept anything less than exceptional performance, and not assume that any slowdown is the norm for our program. Please contact our support team and we will do we all we can to bring your program's performance up to par with our thousands of other satisfied users. Regarding price, please know our program has a huge list of features no other software offers, all for no extra price, and advanced modules with unique additional functionality are all purely optional.

  • Matt from The Deviled Egg

    April 2018

    I love this program!

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    My favorite thing about this program is that it looks just like my Office programs - so everything is so easy to use. I also love the cool browser-based dashboard and mobile app. I can't believe how much time this is already saving me - wish I bought it sooner!

    Cons

    Nothing yet! This program does everything I need and more.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: Capterra
Do you use Caterease?Write a Review
In just fifteen minutes, the experts at Software Advice can help you narrow down the right software for your organization. Call us for a Free FastStart Consultation: (844) 687-6771