Caterease Software


 

Caterease is a cloud-based and on-premise catering solution suitable for caterers, event planning businesses, casinos, restaurants and more. Key features include event management, account management, marketing, print designing, query tools and scheduling.

Caterease offers features such as event calendars, dashboards, real-time web leads, staff scheduling, menu costing, customizable fields and reporting.

The solution offers integration with Zuppler, DocuSign, Vantiv Integrated Payments, Google Maps, Social Tables, Quickbooks, Sage 50, Constant Contacts and more. Zuppler integration allows users to book parties online, enter details and make payments. DocuSign allows users to electronically sign documents.

Caterease is available in a subscription or one-time payment option. It offers Android and iOS mobile applications. Support is offered via phone, fax and email as well as client training, documentation and FAQs.

 

Caterease - Event management
 
  • Caterease - Event management
    Event management
  • Caterease - Marketing tools
    Marketing tools
  • Caterease - Menu selection
    Menu selection
  • Caterease - Room booking
    Room booking
  • Caterease - Scheduler
    Scheduler
  • Caterease - Mobile app
    Mobile app
Supported Operating System(s):
Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP, Mac OS, Linux, Web browser (OS agnostic), Windows 2000, Windows 8, Windows 10

63 Reviews of Caterease

 

Start your review of Caterease

Click to start
https://www.softwareadvice.com/catering/caterease-review/
Software Advice Reviews (2)
More Reviews (61)

Showing 1-2 of 2

Samantha from catering company
Specialty: Catering Companies
Number of employees: 51-200 employees Employees number: 51-200 employees

January 2018

January 2018

Contracts are easy than ever to put together.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

This product pays for itself. It is so easy to use and I love that it is cloud based.

Pros

I love that we are able to save line items such as our most popular menu items and their prices. It saves a ton of time being able to select the menu items from a list instead of retyping the product and price every single time. We write up about 100 contracts a day and about 40% of them have similar items so it saves a ton of time.

Cons

While lots of menu items and venues can be saved in the program, it would be helpful if we could also save the tax for the certain county. Each time we need to go and recheck what the tax is for certain areas.

Review Source

  Response: Chris , Horizon Business Services

Date: February 2018

February 2018

 

Samantha,

Thanks for the review - it's great to hear how much time Caterease is saving you! Just so you know, there actually is a way in the program to save a limitless list of tax schedules. You can even link individual schedules to specific clients or off premise site locations, so the taxes update automatically each time. It's another huge timesaver!

Please feel free to contact our help desk and someone there will be more than happy to walk you through the specifics.

Thanks again!

Chris Kopriva
Caterease Software

 
 

Sheryl from K08 Sounds
Specialty: Banquet Halls
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

November 2017

November 2017

Customization is amazing!!!!!

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support
N/A
Pros

This saves so much time and basically pays for itself in the end! I love all the customizable features available and I recommend this to any event company/coordinator!

Cons

They charge for training which I am not a fan of. And also the customer service isn’t very accessible.

Review Source
 
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 61

Kris from Bon Appetit at Washington Univeristy St Louis

May 2018

May 2018

Caterease is easy to use and set up. For our daily use it provides most of the needed functions.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support
Pros

Online login function and can be used anywhere. Easy to copy multiple events, but pricing doesn't always copy. Query funtions for reports, finance and daily events.

Cons

When updates are made it takes too long to work out the kinks and get our individual set ups back to our settings. Would like better ways to compare year to year financials.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Caterease, Horizon Business Services

Date: May 2018

May 2018

 

Kris, Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, some settings need to be reset during major updates - otherwise, you will not see some of the new features. We do try to keep this to a minimum and notify customers ahead of time.

Also, try the "Yearly Sales Comparison" report. It offers a flexible way to compare year to year financials.

Thanks again for your review.

 

Jr from RKC

May 2018

May 2018

Very easy to use and great support and training available!

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support
Pros

Ease of use, dependability, easy training, fast support, extensive thought put in to each aspect of program.

Cons

On site training is very expensive. However, we have found the website and support desk can help us through most questions and training for free.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Caterease, Horizon Business Services

Date: May 2018

May 2018

 

Thanks Jr for your kind words. Just to let you know, we have many different options besides onsite training - many of which are free. Give us a call and we'd be happy to go over all of them with you and your team.

 

CLB from SAVOR...Peoria
Number of employees: 10,000+ employees Employees number: 10,000+ employees

May 2018

May 2018

Have used Caterease in various positions with 2 employers. Have used one other catering system

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Support
Pros

Ease of use across systems (adding an event, account or client is all done with the same + / - icon )

Cons

Unable to batch print or email documents as one attachment
Unable to view the content of sent emails from within Caterease
Unable to pull up an "outstanding invoice list" across accounts

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Caterease, Horizon Business Services

Date: May 2018

May 2018

 

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our software.

Just to clarify: You can batch print and email documents. You can also view the contents of sent emails from within Caterease. You can also review outstanding invoice lists across accounts.

In fact, you can combine all three and batch email attached invoices to all accounts with outstanding balances. Please call our help desk and we'll be happy to show you how. Thanks again for your review.

 

Travis from Wilshire Caterers

May 2018

May 2018

Caterease and its support staff is AWESOME

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support
Pros

Ease of use, our entire team from FOH to BOH, chefs and sales team are huge fans of using this software!

Cons

nothing! this software is really fantastic! it is easy to use, user friendly and the customer service is amazing!

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Caterease, Horizon Business Services

Date: May 2018

May 2018

 

Thank you Travis for such an nice review! We work hard to meet expectations like yours and your teams and we don't take anything for granted. Cheers..

 

Clarence from Commonwealth Caterers, Inc

May 2018

May 2018

Caterease has the best customer service!!

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

This software produces professional proposals, contracts, and invoices with ease that my staff and the clients love. It also produces very specific paperwork that helps my culinary team and event staff produce and orchestrate the best events possible. The friendly, efficient customer service at Caterease is exceptional!

Pros

We have used this amazing catering software for over 24 years! It has grown and evolved with the industry over the years and remains the best catering software on the market - that I have ever seen. This product pays for itself and the cloud based version allows my staff to work on the fly from any venue, which saves time and money. My staff loves using the Caterease program. The help desk is always friendly, efficient, knowledgeable, and far exceed my expectations of customer service in today's market. They truly go the extra mile!!

Cons

I do not have any cons for this product or the support staff - give it a try - you, your staff and your clients will be glad you did!

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Caterease, Horizon Business Services

Date: May 2018

May 2018

 

Thank you, Clarence, for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with Caterease. We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. You get five stars in our book, as well!

 


May 2018

May 2018

Caterease is a very detailed software for catering facilities but not the most user friendly

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

A lot of events/venues to have access to the same information/database

Pros

The possibilities are endless (Creating kitchen prep list, cost, ordering, budgetting, creating BEO's, templates, financial possibilities)

Cons

The software is a little archaic and is not the most user friendly. A lot of the functionality would certainly be used more often if the software was easier to use. A lot of duplicate information has to be entered

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Caterease, Horizon Business Services

Date: May 2018

May 2018

 

Thank you for the kind words. We've just released a brand new, cutting-edge version of Caterease. Please call our offices so we can arrange training on it for you. We want you to feel fully comfortable with all facets of the software.

You will find that there is never "duplicate information" that needs to be entered into Caterease.

Again - thank you for your kind words.

 


May 2018

May 2018

Bought the desktop version, was not told that it could only be run on one computer at a time.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

We now own this catering software forever-more, so if anything happens with whatever else we're doing, I know we can at least fall back on this.

Pros

The Vantiv credit card processor was good value, it dropped out processing fees a bit... But that's a different company. The Caterease customer service started out okay; they were friendly at least.

Cons

Very convoluted software, difficult to use, leaves you wondering 'why would they do that??' when looking at the way it was designed. If you buy one of the 'cheaper' versions, they lock most of the useful features (unlike a service like Total Party Planner). The customer service was OKAY at first, but once I realized we were not told of the restrictions the desktop version has, I asked for a refund as we had not even owned it for 6 months yet. You know that didn't happen. I've been told we'll get a refund for the unused maintenance service.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Caterease, Horizon Business Services

Date: May 2018

May 2018

 

We're so sorry that you had a bad experience with our software. The desktop version certainly can work on more than one computer at a time. I'm sorry you were told otherwise.

We've just released a new web-based version that is quite cutting edge. We'd love to give you a trial run on it if you would like to see all the new stuff.

In any case, please call our offices so we can properly review your account and see what we can do for you..

Again - we're sincerely sorry for your bad experience.

 

Lauren from ozarktech

May 2018

May 2018

worth it

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support
Pros

It is very user friendly and easy to use. I really like this software and would recommend it to anyone.

Cons

It is more expensive than it should be. To learn more about the software you have to pay even more than the first time.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Caterease, Horizon Business Services

Date: May 2018

May 2018

 

Lauren,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. As a note, I did want to point out that Caterease is actually cheaper than most other programs in this industry. Our Express version, for example, has more time-saving tools than any other application and is available for as little as $68/month. And access to our large, knowledgeable, friendly support team is included free with your subscription!

Thanks again for posting, and please be sure to let us know if you ever have any questions about the program.

 


May 2018

May 2018

Great Concept but Very Buggy. Slow customer service.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

If it was operational 100% there be many but every week there something going wrong

Pros

The concept is great tool for caterers, though you have to pay for every add on
When its operational - i love it

Cons

- Very over priced!!!
- Forever having issues with the program not working. I lose too much time having to followup with customer service to fix issues.
- Is hosted on a 3rd party platform and its forcing a new download access everytime. this make it slow as.. Other CRMs have been smoother operationally.
- You have to pay for every addon... completely stupid idea and makes for costly program. the Web forms are hosted on a separate website which means you cannot customise without using customer service.
- every update seems to create more issues
- its slow in operation to change to different screens
- it doesnt communicate with zapier so creating external forms or merging data is all manual

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Caterease, Horizon Business Services

Date: May 2018

May 2018

 

While we're glad you love the program features and concept, we¿re sorry to hear you've had problems. Please know we¿re extremely focused on the performance of our program, and developers work tirelessly to shave precious seconds off of features and ensure a positive experience for every user. Unfortunately, with variables such as internet speed, hardware and more it can be necessary for our team to work with you to troubleshoot your environment.

I realize you are a relatively new user, but I want to encourage you to not accept anything less than exceptional performance, and not assume that any slowdown is the norm for our program. Please contact our support team and we will do we all we can to bring your program's performance up to par with our thousands of other satisfied users.

Regarding price, please know our program has a huge list of features no other software offers, all for no extra price, and advanced modules with unique additional functionality are all purely optional.

 

Matt from The Deviled Egg

April 2018

April 2018

I love this program!

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support
Pros

My favorite thing about this program is that it looks just like my Office programs - so everything is so easy to use. I also love the cool browser-based dashboard and mobile app. I can¿t believe how much time this is already saving me - wish I bought it sooner!

Cons

Nothing yet! This program does everything I need and more.

Review Source: Capterra
 


March 2018

March 2018

Pretty Easy to use

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support
Pros

CE is pretty easy to use and fairly intuitive. As it's an industry standard program, companies of all sizes could use it.

Cons

Although it's user-friendly, if you do need training it comes at a price. I don't understand why they wouldn't have on-demand webinars/screen shots available.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Caterease, Horizon Business Services

Date: March 2018

March 2018

 

Thanks very much for taking the time to review our program! I'm not sure which company you're with, but please know that we have an entire list of free, self-guided trainings (including recorded classes and guidebooks) - as well as a library of brief video tips of the week (and access to the largest support team in the industry!). Feel free to contact our Help Desk and we will be happy to get you the resources you need.

Thanks again for the nice comments!
The Caterease Team

 

David from Blue Plate Catering
Number of employees: 51-200 employees Employees number: 51-200 employees

February 2018

February 2018

Great product that makes business easier.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

It makes our work easier.

Pros

The software is great overall! It interfaces with so many different programs, and it's been a huge help that makes our job easier. There is always more to learn about the software, so it's nice to keep adding to the list of abilities. In the past, we used two different programs for booking and invoicing, so it's a huge time saver. Our team only has to make updates once, so it minimizes potential for error.

Cons

I've had a support ticket for what seems like a simple fix in for a few months, and haven't really received much feedback on it. Also, if there is an issue with the interface, the support staff for each different software says that it is a problem with the other software, so that has been a little difficult.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Caterease, Horizon Business Services

Date: March 2018

March 2018

 

David - Thank you for the kind words! According to our records, you seem to be using a fairly old version of our program. As you probably know, your updates are completely free - and I have confirmed that the feature you requested will indeed be included in our next release (in testing now). As a matter of fact, we improved upon the request by adding a couple of options! Thanks again! Chris Kopriva Caterease Software

 

Cassandra from The Tangier
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

December 2017

December 2017

Our business used Caterease for 1 month. We switched software because it was not easy to navigate.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support
Pros

We liked that we could duplicate events with the same information, and that we could add accounts and contacts. Customer service was helpful with training.

Cons

Overall, the software just wasn't convenient for our business. It was complicated to navigate. We needed something simple and easily customizable with features like a calendar and a contacts section. Caterease had these features, but they just weren't easy to navigate when you're busy.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Caterease, Horizon Business Services

Date: December 2017

December 2017

 

Cassandra - We are very sorry to hear you are having difficulty getting started with Caterease - particularly in the area of navigation. Caterease is actually renowned for its fluid and intuitive navigation. We call it "Zig Zag Technology" and I honestly think that once you've experienced it for a while you'll wonder how you ever lived without it! While most software programs force you to navigate using a very rigid, step-by-step approach, Caterease lets you "zig-zag" from anywhere to anywhere. Say you're looking at an email from a client and you want to immediately open that client's event - a simple mouse click brings you right there! I know you've only used the program for a month. Let us provide you with a private trainer to assist you, and I'm certain you will love the flexibility and power of Caterease once you've gotten more familiar with it. Remember, there is always someone here to help you with any questions. - Kind Regards, Joe Biasella, Caterease Director of Support

 

Sol from Pure Solutions Consulting - chefsol.net
Number of employees: 51-200 employees Employees number: 51-200 employees

November 2017

November 2017

The program has revolutionized the ability to move from Mom & Pop to Corporate Seamlessly.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

The software has changed my life and given me thousands of hours of time to better manage my business and my employees. Caterease has allowed me to take many companies from paper and pen to the cloud. Caterease has put many of my clients businesses back in their control.

Pros

The ease of use and windows familiar aspects of Caterease are perfect. Mark and the sales team have helped me as a food service consultant serve many of my clients needs. Customer Support is always available and knowledgeable. The software is not just a program but a catering operational system. I am able to customize so many parts that makes the system adapt to any company with comfort. I started using caterease years ago and the company has made updates many times and has made it exciting to look forward to. Years ago i would spend countless days and weeks making complex spreadsheets to calculate so many informational needs that i had to repeat weekly. Caterease has been built with so much functionality that my weekly repetitive work has dropped down to almost zero and my time as well as my employees time has spiked in productivity. This Software is priceless!!!!

Cons

What i like least about the software was that i had little access to information on events without my computer!! BUT they recently released the Caterease APP.... Now me and my team access event info on our phones and cant be happier.

Review Source: Capterra
 


November 2017

November 2017

Loved using Caterease, was a bit of a struggle to learn

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Loved having all info in one digital and accessible place.

Pros

I love how you can implement other software with it like Allseated and Constant Contact. It is also so detailed and allows you to keep all your info into one digital place!

Cons

I will say that it is a challenge to learn and because of the viewing settings, all users can customize their views which makes t nearly impossible to use any one else's.

Review Source: Capterra
 

Tera from Service Systems Associates

July 2017

July 2017

I would recommend Caterease to any catering company

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support
Pros

We use Caterease in over 20 of our accounts and it has been a great relationship from Mark in the sales department to Theo and the other tech support crew in the tech support department. The program itself offers all the tools we need to build proposals, beo's, contracts, invoices, etc. It helps us manage our financial viability with the reporting tools it offers as well as prospecting new clients. Caterease offers ongoing training and new tips to help maximize the program to its fullest potential. I would recommend Caterease to any company offering catering services from an off-site caterer to any on site facility.

Cons

We haven't found anything that we don't like. It does everything we've wanted it to do as far as a software is concerned.

Review Source: Capterra
 

Wendy from Commonwealth Caterers

June 2017

June 2017

Caterease is simply the BEST!

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Because we love this software so much, there isn't much we don't like about it. Try it out and you'll understand what we mean.

Pros

I have been using this amazing program for over 24 years. It is the most versatile and user friendly software I have ever used. The prints are flexible - yet SO professional. Anytime I call or email, the response time is amazing, their customer service far exceeds today's standard! I always appreciate the friendly, patient, & efficient support staff, they have an awesome product and an amazing staff to support it.

Review Source: Capterra
 

Shirley from Kimble¿s Events by Design

June 2017

June 2017

Caterease has helped make Kimble's Events by Design the successful company we are today!

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support
Pros

We do love our Caterease package!! We have been users since 2000 so we have grown up with Caterease!! It is efficient and easy to use and gives us all that data and management tools we need to make our events a success!! We also just decided to research the mobile version of the program as we are going to have a sales person in the field in a couple of months! It truly is a great partnership!

Review Source: Capterra
 

Kelly from LUX Catering and Events
Number of employees: 51-200 employees Employees number: 51-200 employees

June 2017

June 2017

Caterease has quite a bit of experience with catering software. Unfortunately, it can be challenging

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

If everything is working perfectly, bids are much easier to write.

Pros

We like that Caterease is can be almost endlessly customized. This becomes overwhelming at times. It seems like it works best for hotel and banquet facilities.

Cons

The customer service is often rough. There seems to be an attitude that everything is always user error. It might be, but we would like to hear a little more concern when we call in.

Review Source: Capterra
 

Nikol from Hose 22

December 2016

December 2016

Works great!

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

It's crazy we used to cater using Microsoft word documents! Caterease has changed the game and paid for itself.

Review Source: Capterra