User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.50

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4

  • icon"And helps you keep track of your church income."
  • icon"What's not to like, covers every aspect you can possibly expect, the support end is the greatest ever."
  • icon"I love how helpful the support team members are, as well as the many training opportunities available."
  • icon"Reports took me longer to get ahold of. Some still seem more difficult to maneuver but I am learning more each time."
  • icon"Notices- Hard to set up and import letters and pieces of data."
  • icon"Sometimes, we have difficulty upgrading. Not sure if the problem is with CDM/Suran, or our computer system."

Browse all CDM+ Reviews

  • Have you used CDM+ and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 36 reviews

User Profile

Richard

Verified reviewer

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2018

CDM+ is an excellent software for managing congregational membership data.

Pros

A variety of modules allow you to link information about individuals and families including their attendance, giving, and groups with which they are associated. A mobile version of the software provides access to much of the data on mobile phones. Suran Systems continually improves and upgrades the software adding new features. Their support team is responsive, attentive, and cordial.

Cons

Not all pieces of the software are immediately intuitive, such as learning how to run reports that combine different data. So there is some learning curve. However, Suran provides regular training webinars and other helps online and their annual users conference is excellent.

Mary Lynn

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2016

From the Perspective of an Auditor/Reviewer

I review all of the churches in our Diocese (83) and create a report for the church and Diocese as to how CDM is used or not used to provide accurate and reliable accounting information. There are suggestion for improvements. I also do training - one on one and presentations at our annual Bookkeepers Conference. I am a resource person for the bookkeepers if they have specific bookkeeping questions.

Pros

The ability to create a Chart of Accounts to match the reporting requirements for the Diocese and provide meaningful information to the pastor, parishioners, and Finance Council. The input screens are similar in each of the modules which is helpful for new users.

Cons

There are areas of the program that a bookkeeper can override good internal control procedures. Example: data can be coded to accounts marked "Inactive." Accounts can be marked "Inactive" when there is still a balance in the account. When the Contribution Module is set to post to the General Ledger, the bookkeeper can still enter donations that do not tie to the General Ledger.

Medina

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

January 2016

Bad beginning

We switched to a church program rather than quick books mostly to help with minister taxes and payrolls. The person at CDM that set it up did it ALL WRONG. He obviously did not know what he was doing. When we started to do our minister taxes in 2015 ( for 2014) we had to redo the whole year. All the fling with the government and correct the program reports, etc. Since we didn't find the errors until April 2015, and tried to correct 2014 and 2015, however, there is still bad errors for the government in 2016 (for 2015) that we are having to redo and refile tax forms for the government. The customer service has been helpful in correcting this, but overall, the program has been a major night mare for me with lots of tears. It has been a difficult program to learn. I am good at book keeping and done this sort of thing for many years, but I DO NOT LIKE THIS PROGRAM. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE. It is not user friendly and I wish that we had never gotten it. It is kind of hard to start over with a new program, and maybe we just had a very BAD beginning, but I wish we were not using it. Sorry. I have never posted a bad review but this one has been a night mare with refilling all the forms for the government and trying to correct. It would have been better to never use them. I'm thanking that my husband has more patience than me in spending the numerous days and hours and even weeks to correct the night mare.

Chris

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

January 2016

CDM has truly revolutionized the way we track ALL areas of ministry and finances!

CDM has truly revolutionized the way we track ALL areas of ministry and finances I have been using CDM on a daily basis for the past eight years. Over the years I have watched as the software has grown and adapted to fit the church of today. We use CDM for several things: Attendance ' we track attendance for our sanctuary services, small groups, youth, children, and ministry teams. Address and Individual Records - Any files we have in regard to a member are housed inside this record for easy access. We image membership cards, baptism certificates, baby dedication certificates, marriage ceremonies, marriage licenses, background checks, wills, and pictures. Any documents we need to house can be easily filed, searched, and recalled. Mobile Applications ' I have the ability to customize how any device in our church can access our data. Our small group leaders can see attendance, phone, email, and addresses for only those who attend their group. They also log the attendance each time their group meets. Our staff can access phone, email, address, and attendance for all our members and enter visitation records, pastor records and attendance for any group they are enrolled in. From my phone I can even see the giving history for the past year on all our members. Children/Security ' Check In/Check Out allows us to print nametags and barcode receipts for all children as they enter our children's ministry area. By checking the students out using the barcode I can generate reports detailing when a child was dropped off and picked up and by what authorized adult. We have generated this report and it has been used in court for custody cases. Payroll ' Incredible tracking ' updates every time you open to ensure you are using the current tax tables. Our W2s and 1099s are complete in a matter of moments! Contributions ' We image every check that is given. The software auto loads the donor based on the check number it reads from the scanner. Contribution reports are a breeze and the reports are endless we can create. Accounting ' Incredibly user friendly and versatile. We pay all bills with ease and create amazing custom reports that answer and financial scenario you can come up with. Customer services is never an issue, the tech support team members are always personable and ready to stay with you until your questions are answers. Without hesitation I would recommend CDM!

Erlinda

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2018

I find CDM+ to be extremely user friendly. When I cannot figure it out, I call CDM. Always helpful.

It works! Therefore, it makes my job easier!

Pros

Again, it is very user friendly. I am a seasoned, but not sophisticated user. I am so grateful for their support system. Sometimes I use it a lot! We have used CDM+ for nearly 20 years. At times, people on "committees" have suggested other software. I don't know if I am being loyal or stubborn, but as far as I am concerned, the "system" isn't broken, so there is nothing to fix. I have convinced us to stay with CDM+!!! I like the softward, I like the programs.

Cons

Sometimes, we have difficulty upgrading. Not sure if the problem is with CDM/Suran, or our computer system. I don't dislike it at all, because I always call them for help when it is time to upgrade! They always deliver. We have used CDM+ for nearly 20 years

Christie

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

November 2015

One happy long time user

I've been working in CDM+ for the past 10 years as the bookkeeper and now Business Administrator for my church. When I came into this roll I had not ever used CDM+ before. It took me a week to really grasp how CDM+ works when it comes to the different areas of the program. One of the benefits to having CDM+ is it provides us with one program that does the job of 7! We use it to track all our visitors that come to our church using the Attendance Module. It also allows us to track all our regular attenders and members under the Membership Module. It then allows us to process their contributions to their record already in our database using the Contributions Module. It has an Accounts Payable Module that integrates right into our already existing church database. When it comes time to reimburse a member/attender their address information transfers right into Accounts Payable with a few clicks. It also allows us to pay our staff, process quarterly and annual state and federal tax reports thru the Payroll module. It provides us with a means to set up an event (both paid and free) that allow our church visitors, attenders and members (and outsiders too) to register for a particular event we will be hosting here at the church or even offsite. People can register in the office using a paper form which is then submitted via a staff member or volunteer or online using one of the many Web Ministry Tools CDM+ provides. Lastly, CDM+ also works as our church calendar using the Roommate Module. We track all the events, meetings, birthdays, holidays, vacations, etc using this module so we never end up having a conflict of room usage. We also love the Premier Technical Support CDM+ offers. There have been several times when I've needed help fixing an error in payroll, assistance in Accounts Payable or Contributions, or needed a little more assistance in how to add an event under Roommate. I can always count on CDM+ Technical Support to assist me over the phone. And with the assistance of the screen sharing program they are able to see exactly what I see and can talk me through my problem or issue.

Vicki

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2021

CDM+

CDM+ is a great program and the support you receive if needed is amazing.

Pros

There are so many facets to this software that I haven't even begun to use them all. CDM+ enables you to track attendance, contributions, set up forms for events, create online giving, run financial report... It is very easy to use and the report options are endless.

Cons

I have not found any reason to dislike this software. I have been using it for over 20 years and they continually update to stay current.

Jean

Industry: Accounting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2017

User friendly, the system offers endless opportunities of record keeping, greatest ever.

Pros

What's not to like, covers every aspect you can possibly expect, the support end is the greatest ever. I have called support many times, their response is punctual, helps me through whatever the issue is with an upbeat attitude, never makes you feel in-adequate. This software offers everything needed for a church.

Cons

With an update, it takes a little working with to get use too, as with any thing. I don't care for the set up in Roommate.

User Profile

Elden

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2018

Great Program

CDM+ is a great software program with awesome customer support. I love it and highly recommend it

Pros

This is by far one of the easiest programs to use. Its user friendly. And helps you keep track of your church income. I highly recommend it

Cons

I haven't found anything that i don't like about this software.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2018

A Complete Church Database solution

It was a good experience. Most of my experience was as a user in a church setting. I could easily log in, even from my phone, and retrieve any relevant data I needed fairly quickly. If there was something missing it was usually user error.

Pros

This does just about everything you would need it to do. There are not many functions I would want or need that CDM+ cannot accomplish. Pretty much a one-stop shop for this sort of software which is nice, and rare. +1 for a solid mobile app as well. The free trial is nice bonus as well.

Cons

Because it is such a massive program with so much functionality it can be overwhelming to get started. That said, they have tons of resources to help you along the way. My only other critique is the load time on the apps but that is also understandable when you take the amount of data into consideration.

Lynnette

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

January 2019

CDM+ review

CDM+ is user friendly and it is fairly easy to find the information you need. We have loved when our pastors or other staff members ask if a certain report or list can be pulled and we are able to do it easily with CDM+.

Pros

My favorite thing about CDM+ are the people behind it! Support is knowledgeable and wonderful. CDM+ is user friendly and capable to holding a lot of information we need to have for our church. We like when reports or information are requested by other staff members, and we are able to easily pull that information from CDM+

Cons

There are a lot of small things that could make this software so much better! I know a new version is coming out in the Fall of 2019 and I am very excited for the changes that have been announced. I think the program needs a much more updated look.

Peggy

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2017

Great software for church use

Pros

The software offers help with accounting, payroll, contributions, event organizing, membership and a security check in application that is very affordable. The customer service is excellent and the response time is very good. There is a host of reports to choose from that can be customized to your particular needs.

Cons

It is not as user friendly (intuitive) as I would like, but once you learn a procedure it is easy to use.

Jessica

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

May 2019

CDM+

I had no experience with CDM+ before taking the office manager position at the church I work at. I had little training and no accounting experience. I have found CDM+ to be fairly easy to learn and navigate through.

Pros

I think what I like most is the variety that the software is capable of doing. All the way from accounting to keep everything well organized to payroll.

Cons

I mostly wanted to leave a review to recommend that I think there should be a "Multi-Change" feature. Currently I have to go back and fix the general fund account where I log in contrubutions. It is quite timely because I have to click change for each indiviual contrubition and wait for it to load for each person. If I could go in and change each one and then save, I believe it would save a lot of time.

Marjorie

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2018

CDM+ has exceptional support and always available to take a call.

Processing payroll and filing taxes. They are always up to date on all the changes in taxes.

Pros

I really like how easy the software is to understand. There is a place for every detail about your congregation so that there is no need for any other program. CDM+ has it all.

Cons

Having two seperate places for visitors and members. I would like to have them all located in one spot with a marker that indicates if they are a member or a visitor.

Darlene

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2018

Great customer service and training!

I use this software everyday, all day long. I am able to keep Minister files updated with addresses, phone numbers, emails, and any other information that is needed.

Pros

So many options and abilities are available through CDM. I love being able to find information with one simple click.

Cons

I can't think of anything at the moment. The only thing I can think of would be the cost for smaller churches.

Vicki

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2021

Best Church Accounting Software Training out there!

Customer Support

Pros

We never used software for our church accounting. We researched many different avenues until deciding on CDM. The overall training and support to teach their software to a dummy was absolutely amazing. I was left with knowledge to run our church accounting system on a program that leaves no room for errors. When in doubt or when hit with something I was clueless about all I had to do was make a call and help was there within hours of the call. I am so glad we found CDM!

Cons

Reports took me longer to get ahold of. Some still seem more difficult to maneuver but I am learning more each time.

Lisa

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2020

CDM+ Is the way to go

I LOVE the customer support and I will continue to use CDM+. Constantly making improvements that make my job easier.

Pros

Accounting reports are easy to generate.

Cons

I wish you could email/not just print, individual paystubs to the employees at the time of completing payroll.

Theresa

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2018

The answer to our accounting and database problems, I love it

Pros

Payroll and Taxes Accounting Data base - Ease of finding addresses etc Treasurers and Ministers Reports

Cons

Notices- Hard to set up and import letters and pieces of data Emailing membership Can not think of anything else

Joe

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY