User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(488)

488

4 stars

(324)

324

3 stars

(98)

98

2 stars

(19)

19

1 stars

(9)

9

  • Pros

  • "It is so easy to use and the support is quick and very helpful "

  • "It is easy to use and customer service is great."

  • "It is easy to use and the support is very helpful."

  • Cons

  • "This con is both a pro and a con - the software updates often which is great for bugs but sometimes the new features are too much to learn .... if that makes sense. :)"

  • "Developing new templates for forms takes a bit of time to set up, but then you have your form laid out exactly as you need it."

  • "The membership module can be difficult to use at times, there have been many updates but it hasn't gotten much better."

Browse Church Windows Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 938 results

November 2018

Lisa from Heritage Memorial Church

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Awesome Church Management Software!

Church Windows has helped our church operations in so many ways. The reporting and budgeting options in Accounting have been especially helpful in financial planning and oversight. The payroll module simplifies all things related to payroll (direct deposit, taxes, W-2s, etc). Giving statements are easy to produce, as well as giving reports. People tracking is always a challenge, and the Membership module does so much to help. The support is fantastic, they know the program, and many of them also serve in their local church. Overall, Church Windows is an outstanding product!

Pros

Our church has used Church Windows for many years. It seamlessly tracks people, giving, accounting, and payroll. Each module can be used by itself, or integrated to all work together. The support people are fantastic--friendly, patient, and easy to understand. Training is readily available through online video tutorials, brief online training sessions, workbooks, and the program help feature. The user-friendly software is great for beginners, offers many features for seasoned users, and versatile enough for church volunteers and employees alike.

Cons

Nothing. I love everything about Church Windows!

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied January 2019

Lisa, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better software. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows Support

May 2019

George from Church of the Good Shepherd

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2019

Aging Technology

We use church windows to manage our parishioners’ records and all donations. We have been using this solution for more than 15 years. While it has served us well, it has not grown with changing technology. We are in the process of moving to a cloud-based solution.

Pros

Robust church management solution from a well established provider. Cost of maintenance is negligible. Feature-rich.

Cons

Single platform (Windows only). No viable cloud option (they offer cloud service, but it is really just their regular software on VM). Difficult UI, not intuitive.

Reasons for Choosing Church Windows

Good mix of price and feature. Most economical for our desired set of features from the other program we considered.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied May 2019

George, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows

January 2020

Don from JackDaw Systems

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Church Windows is a mixed blessing.

We use Church Windows to run and administer a medium sized church (About 150 active members), and have in the past used other software for the same purpose. From the point of view of the user interface, Church Windows is far superior to all the others -- when it is working. Which is about 70% of the time. The rest of the time I am attempting to fix its frequent connectivity issues.

Pros

The User Interface is intuitive, powerful, and well designed. The Accounting module in particular is quite sophisticated, containing many standard and specialized reports. Our accountant loves it. It's modules are well integrated, and when it is working, it works beautifully. The local version, (as opposed to the Web version) is reasonably priced.

Cons

It is very touchy, installation wise. Wireless networking is not supported; neither are APUs, you MUST have CPUs in all Church Windows PCs for it to function reliably. It periodically loses connectivity, and sometimes requires reinstalls in order to correct problems. I am the administrator of the system, and frankly, if the users didn't like it so much (particularly the treasurer), I'd suggest a change. I am underwhelmed by their tech support; they tend to disclaim responsibility for problems, claiming networking issues, Windows issues, etc., are the cause even though no other software we use seems to have the problem.

Reasons for Choosing Church Windows

For Shepherd's Staff, see "Why did you make the switch?" above. For UMIS, because it was clumsy, inaccurate, and horribly difficult to use. For Servant keeper, we preferred the User Interface and Reporting structure in Church Windows.

March 2020

Sean from Faith Lutheran Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2020

Church Windows is a pretty good Church Management software, plain and simple.

As a younger individual who is able to use all of the tech that this program offers, most churches are not up to speed. let a lone up to the gathering point of contributions needed for the cost.

Pros

Church Windows can help you track your membership, donations, accounting, and schedules. Highly supported and the team is available to help with anything you need.

Cons

Sometimes too much of a good thing can be bad. While all the features offered by Church Windows are magnificent, many churches will never need even half of the potential this offers. When you see the price tag that may become clear.

Reasons for Choosing Church Windows

Church windows seemed to be what we needed and for what its worth, it did what we needed but in the long run was too much for our congregations.

May 2019

Patricia from Wythe Presbyterian Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Long-time user

The church Session likes the Income and Expense Statement that they are given each month. Also, reports for individual committees.

Pros

I have used Church Windows at two different churches. Compared to other church software I have used, Church Windows is superior in ease of use, and support. The cost is very affordable. . Support is excellent, especially using e-mail.

Cons

I would like to see more ability to build reports. Sometimes it is frustrating trying to get the information needed.

Reasons for Choosing Church Windows

Cost. We are a small church with limited resources.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied May 2019

Patricia, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows

August 2019

LAURIE from Fayette Presbyterian Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Church Windows - an A+ Product

We've been using Church Windows for about 15 years now. I love the history of transactions, how easy it is to use, and the good price for customer support.

Pros

It's very user-friendly and the layout makes sense - I can find what I'm looking for and complete tasks easily and quickly.

Cons

Occasionally, there are bugs, as with any software. We've had to call support a couple of times and they are very helpful.

Reasons for Choosing Church Windows

It had the features we needed and seemed more user-friendly than ACS.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Useful

I like using Church Windows. It has been good for our congregation.

Pros

The modules and how payroll and donations work with accounting.

Cons

Having to use an "accounting" rather than "financial" module. I don't like having to enter bills and pay them.

Reasons for Choosing Church Windows

It was more church oriented and had the module for the congregation.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied May 2019

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows

May 2019

Brittney from Grace and Peace Lutheran Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Church Windows

I use it for attendance, donations, and membership.

Pros

There are MANY features available. We use if for many different reasons.

Cons

Some of the menu options seem "old school". Not easy to navigate unless specifically trained, or read the manuals.

Reasons for Choosing Church Windows

Cost effective, and much more options available.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied May 2019

Brittney, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows

May 2019

Kristy from Columbus First Assembly

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

You get A LOT for your money with this program!

I use the membership, donations, and accounting parts of Church Windows. It is a very thorough program with a lot of content, but if you take the time to learn how to use it well, it can really increase your productivity!

Pros

Our office originally switched to Church Windows because we wanted to be able to use one program for our membership and financial needs. Church Windows does this and a whole lot more! There is so much content to this program, that I am still discovering new things after years of using it! It was very daunting in the beginning, but I have found the Church Windows customer service to be invaluable. No matter how big of a mess I've ever thought I made, they are always able to walk me through it and get everything in its proper place with minimal effort. They are amazing!

Cons

Because there is SO much content, it can be quite difficult to master. I believe that the individual/s using this program should be someone who is able to teach themselves and learn by trial and error. Especially in the beginning. The program will do just about anything you want it to, but sometimes it can be difficult figuring out how to communicate it correctly.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied May 2019

Kristy, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows Support

January 2020

Debbie from Trinity United Church of Christ

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2020

Earlier versions better

When we first started using Church Windows, it was designed with specific denominations in mind, helping to prepare denominational required reports. That feature is now gone. They have also made it easier for churches that do not use offering envelope numbers to use, and more difficult for those of us who use envelopes to use for reports. Generating reports has become more complex and requires much more time than older versions. Change is not always for the good!

Pros

I like that it has many features that make data keeping of church membership possible. We have used this product for over 10 years.

Cons

What is a problem with this software is that each update makes it more difficult to use and removes options that we had found useful and easy to use.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

A Valuable Tool for Church Administration

Overall, Church Windows has served us well, and we would be unlikely to consider switching to a new church software program. There is untapped functionality for us within the current suite of modules - for example, we have not historically used all the options for tracking attendance and communicating with members. We look forward to making even better use of it as time permits our secretary and volunteers to learn how to use those parts of the program.

Pros

We use Church Windows for accounting, payroll, membership records, and donation tracking, so it is an integral part of our church administration. Because we are careful to enter data accurately and use the suite of software systematically, Church Windows is an excellent way for us to manage information and make timely reports to church leaders. We like having one software package to handle so many of our functions, and there is some efficiency to the learning curve because of similarities across the various modules. One of the best things about Church Windows is the quality of the tech support. Our annual fee allows us to contact the support staff whenever we have questions about how to do something or correct something, and since the software is used by several individuals (a staff person and church volunteers) with varying degrees of expertise, questions do arise. The tech support staff is knowledgeable, clear, and responsive to both email and phone inquiries. That helps keep our system running like a well-oiled machine!

Cons

Some of the modules seem less user-friendly to us. For example, the Donations module where we record individuals' giving and generate reports for tax purposes is not intuitive to use, and we found it very difficult to set up quarterly and annual statements in the form and format that we desired, when we began using Donations when the software publisher updated an earlier Church Windows module, Contributions. We interacted extensively with tech support in the course of that transition, and, although they were as helpful as possible, we felt that the software was less flexible than we would like. So, the bottom line is that it can take some effort to learn how to use the software, and in an environment where there is turnover in the church office or among the volunteers handling church administration, that is a bit of an obstacle.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied May 2019

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows

May 2019

Tammy from First United Church of Christ

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Why I Love Church Windows!

Pros

Church Windows is a very user-friendly software. It's easy to navigate through the different modules. I use the Accounting, Payroll, Membership and Donations modules the most. I went to their location in Columbus for one day of training when I started using this software. It was very helpful and our instructor, CSR, was excellent! Since then I have been able to breeze through the accounting module with ease. It's great for printing financial reports for meetings, payables and receivables, tracking income and expenses, creating individual funds, writing checks and processing payroll. For the most part it's super easy to use! If I do have a question that I just can't figure out, I call their customer support and they're very friendly and helpful.

Cons

The only draw back to Church Windows is when you call customer support, they can't help you right away. Someone has to call you back, normally it's within the hour. But sometimes it can be longer depending on the day and time you call. By the time you get a call back you're on to something else and you have to go back and remember why you needed them to help you. There have been times that I have figured it out before I get a call back. I believe you can pay more for immediate assistance, however I don't call very much so it's not worth the extra cost to our church. Some may want to pay the extra to get immediate assistance until you're more familiar with the software, then you can switch to the lower cost. Because it won't be long you'll be proficient and won't require much support!

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied May 2019

Tammy, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows

May 2019

Roger from St. Luke Lutheran Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Bang for the Buck Is Hard to Beat

We are a medium size church and I am the part time bookkeeper so my thoughts on the program are related to the parts of the software I use (as well as the integrations with the other modules) For the money, it's hard to beat how easy the program is to use and how quickly I can accomplish most tasks with it. I've looked at some slick web based programs that handle "work from anywhere" better, but they cost thousands of dollars per year when you add up all the features you need, and they don't offer the flexibility and ease of use Church Windows offers.

Pros

Church Windows does a lot of things nicely. I love the way the Donations module dumps our members donations into income accounts in Accounting with the press of a button. Payroll, which is tailored for churches (handles ministers with no problems) also integrates with Accounting automatically. The Accounting module allows me to book typical church transactions quickly and easily, but provides the ability to do complex accounting transactions as well. While lots of church management programs claim to handle fund accounting, Church Windows does true fund accounting which allows our church great flexibility in tracking designated donations and spending. While not perfect, the program is an excellent value.

Cons

Church Windows has a web based version that uses browsers to view Windows type screens and I find this clunky to use. I'd much rather have an app on my phone that I can use to pull up membership data when I need someone's phone number and an Accounting app that would let me enter transactions remotely when I'm away from the office. The Accounting module also lacks an easy way to handle credit card transactions - I'd like to see something like Quicken that let's you check off the charges when you reconcile the monthly credit card statement. It handles credit cards fine, just not as easily as Quicken or Quickbooks.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied May 2019

Roger, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows

May 2019

Stephanie from Congregational Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Church Windows review

I recently spend about 3 months evaluating other church software programs for our church. We wanted something to reach a younger audience more quickly and something more integrated with a modern web-design. I read online, talked to people on the phone and evaluated lots of other Church-oriented software. None of them had all of the components that Church Windows had. Most did not have an integrated payroll and lots did not have integrated accounting. And ALL of them were a lot more money. For churches not willing or able to put tons of money into a software option, I believe Church Windows is the best. As I said before, there is a steep learning curve at first and lots of little quirks, but overall it does a great job of keeping all of the information that a church needs to keep in one place with easy access.

Pros

The best thing about Church Windows is that it is integrated and fairly inexpensive. You can get a donations module, payroll, accounting, membership AND scheduling with online access for a low monthly fee. AND for only a little more per year, get unlimited phone support. The support is amazing. Never have I called and not gotten an answer to any issue that I was having. The modules are all integrated and talk to each other so there is no double entry or having to make sure to remember to upload something. Payroll is great and always updated with latest forms. The accounting module is good and fairly easy to use, especially for people that may not have formal accounting training. I don't actually use the scheduling, so I cannot evaluate it. Membership and Donations are also integrated and fairly easy to use. You can send professional letters and print any donation letters that you might need.

Cons

Unfortunately, Church Windows is not always intuitive. There are tons of things that it can do and it can generate tons of data and reports, but you to know EXACTLY how to ask it for what you want. There is quite a steep learning curve to really get the most out of the program. The accounting software does use different terminology and reports than most professional accountants are used to. And the flexibility to create your own reports in Accounting is not there. This is fine for most people, but if you have a professional accountant on your staff or in your congregation, be prepared to explain some of the quirks of the system. Some of the issues are because the Accounting software has to completely integrate with the other modules and so there are limitations. I for the most part, think it is great. I has taken me about 3 years to really get comfortable using all of the modules and using them to generate the reports that I want and give me the information that I want quickly and easily. Church Windows is not really quite as modern and flashy as some of the other programs out there. It doesn't integrate with a website platform. It doesn't have the ability to produce more modern points of contact like texting, or online church directories, or some of the fresh-er and more tech integrated programs. BUT, it is a heck of a lot cheaper than those other programs AND it has good, solid, integrated payroll and accounting modules.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied May 2019

Stephanie, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows

May 2019

Charlotte from The Thomas Minor Society

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Use of Church Windows

Within my genealogy society, I am able to modify the membership features to show those that are of most importance to me (membership date, last paid date, etc.). It produces the reports I want - with some help from a telephone call. I always have telephone assistance to help me, and the people are always so patient and helpful and pleasant!

Pros

As Parish Administrator at Grace Episcopal Church (Alexandria, VA), I used the membership, contributions and accounting modules of Church Windows for some eleven or twelve years. I selected the software from others and was pleased with it, and more pleased with its improvements. I attended two of their training programs (conducted locally). I was always well pleased with the telephone assistance, when needed. After I departed from Grace Church, I purchased the membership module for tracking members of a genealogy society (I am the treasurer). The membership module satisfies our dues payments and allows me to maintain membership information and produce a directory for our members (some 350 of them). I continue to be pleased with the telephone assistance. I am more than happy to recommend Church Windows.

Cons

The contributions postings to accounting that was orginally offered. The contributions entries were totaled by day, confusing my bank reconcilations. This was changed during the time I used Church Windows; so it is no longer was a problem. I saw an example of email addresses entered in the household window, rather than in the individual window. Yes, there may be individual email addresses, but I would like to see an email address within the household window (even if it is a duplicate within an individual window).

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied May 2019

Charlotte, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows

May 2019

Melissa from Faith Presbyterian Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Great features but not always uiser friendly

Despite the above reasons, I am very happy with Church Windows. It gets the job done and the reports are clear and concise (when I can locate the ones I need!). The customer service is second to none. They have always gotten back to me the same day and they are wonderful about walking me through things that I do not understand.

Pros

The features are really great. It has everything we need and even some things that we don't! The reports are clear and concise and there is a variety as far as what types/kinds of reports are available.

Cons

The user-friendliness ability is lacking. There seem to be way too many steps to do one task. Also, it is not compatible with our label machine so we have to do our labels though the program provided by the label maker (Dymo) instead of through Church Windows, which is what we would prefer. One thing I really, really wish that Church Windows offered was the ability to separate families/people into groups that we choose as opposed to the default groups. There is also no way to do a mass delete of people/families, this is especially inconvenient for people who have only attended once or twice or for a function of one kind or another. Instead, I have to go through the entire list of people one by one and delete them. If I had a couple of days to devote just to that task, then maybe I could get it done but I don't so I can't! There should be a way for people to automatically drop off the rolls after "X" amount of time. It is a huge hassle to manually go through 1000+ people in order to see who needs to be dropped or moved to inactive.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied May 2019

Melissa, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows

May 2019

Fred from Smith Memorial Presbyterian Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2019

Church Widows Software Review

I have been using this product for many years and have, despite the "cons" I have listed, found it to be a very usable and functional product. When our church was audited we came away with a very positive review. I have recommended this software to several churches that were using QuickBooks. ps. I have used other church accounting software in the past and I know there is church accounting (fund accounting) software that handles fund accounting with great ease but the price of this software is far beyond what a small church could easily afford. Church Windows is a far better product for church operations than QuickBooks.

Pros

Solid software. Software provides a solid foundation for small church accounting operation at a cost that a small church can afford. It is easy to use with flexible reports. It's focus is built around churches and church activity. It does not try to be all things to all like QuickBooks does. Because of this, in my opinion it is a much better product for church fund accounting and member needs than QuickBooks. Customer support is good. When there is an issue or question I have found the support team to be very knowledgeable of their product and easy to deal with.

Cons

Because of the way fund accounting is implemented in Church Windows a great deal of work, caution and consistence must be observed to keep Church Windows balances matched to multiple actual bank accounts. Making payments from multiple bank accounts different bank accounts does not work. All payments must be made from the same account and then funds must be transferred to cover payments. Some improvements should be done to provide more information in some screens. Tech support has not been open to providing additional information to some reports and screens. There are some inconsistency between application modules layouts that take a little "getting used to." These are minor issues though.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied May 2019

Fred, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows

November 2018

Joseph from St. Paul's UCC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Good Program with Great Customer Support

We are a small, small town congregation. We use the program for all our membership and financial records of the church. In general we have had a positive experience with the Church Windows program and helpline.

Pros

The Customer support is one of the best selling points of this program - professional, helpful, patient, and prompt in their replies. In regards to the program it is great how the system for Members, Donations, and Accounting are woven together, there is the ability in detail to establish security settings, and the system creates a trail for every action. For Accounting the system is robust for Fund accounting and provides a number of reports with the click of a button. We are glad to see the most recent overhaul to the software that has made significant improvements to the program.

Cons

The online mobile version is cost prohibitive for a small and medium sized congregations limiting its value for less centralized congregations and use in the mission field. Though the report creation tool is powerful, it is complicated to the point of needing to relearn how to create new reports each time one is needed (a definite time sink limiting the ability to readily create new reports). At times search results are baffling in that they do not appear to generate the full data one had requested. The interface between the Donations Module and Membership Module has the ability to create duplicates of people in which an individual's information is spread over two profiles. Lastly we have never found a meaningful use for the Scheduler Module as it is a self-contained module that can't be utilized to automatically populate online calendars or sync with other devices.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied January 2019

Joseph, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better software. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows Support

November 2018

Mary Katherine from St Mark's Lutheran Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Sufficient for our needs, but always room for small improvements

Church Windows is a good general record keeping software for a church. We don't use some of the features (like class attendance) but those features that we use have helped us.

Pros

I appreciate that this software helps us to keep track of our membership and visitors both, gives us a central repository for their details and helps us to track attendance trends. Where there are options to customize some of the fields that appear in the main panel for each individual person is helpful as I was able to reorder per our interests and remove from view fields that aren't important. That I could add more tags than just Member and Visitor has helped to keep a better distinction between former and inactive members as well as visitors who are 'friends of the church' (i.e. frequent attendees) versus our more occassional or one time visitors. We upgraded a few months ago to Version 21.18.1 - I like that the newer version has a more modern look and feel than the older version we had, and maneuvers around better.

Cons

-That the Comments field is 'buried' on another tab instead of being an option to include on the main tab/panel of individual's information -Address entry is more steps than should be necessary, and there's no way to label addresses, such as for members who only reside in the area part of the year but provide their off-season address to us as well. -Rather than having to hunt through tabs on an individual's record, could the interface go to more of a central screen that scrolls through fields so you don't have to switch between sections so much? -I wish there was a way in Attendance Entry to have either (or both): A. Member names bold face and visitor names not so that it is easier to pick out your members when your list of names is large B. a feature where you can temporarily hide other categories of people to make the list of names shorter. -I have had to learn the hard way through experience to enter any visitor info for a service before I do Attendance Entry because if you stop to add a name mid-way through inputting attendance, you have to close out and bring the attendance back up again to see the new name. Could this be fixed? -When you export reports to Excel, there are way too many tiny or semi-merged columns to be able to do a proper sort function without having to basically deconstruct the report before you can work with it. There should be an option for report export that is just raw data with minimal formatting that would make this easier to work with.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied January 2019

Mary, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better software. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows Support

November 2018

Joy from St. Paul's United Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

November 2018

I am very pleased with the software. I like having access to ongoing learning options in the webinars (I used to receive emails about these dates coming up but now I don't which causes me to forget to go looking for them myself!) It takes awhile to become familiar with the software and how it works but now that I am comfortable I am most pleased that I can produce so many reports. I am sometimes frustrated that I don't have enough data from members of the congregation or ministers to produce more detailed and comprehensive reports. The creation and development of them is sound. The support staff is excellent in solving problems and being friendly and supportive. They respond in a timely manner.

Pros

Ease of extracting information from the data to create reports. The number of boxes where details may be entered is excellent - every possible situation has been considered, including winter or out-of-town school addresses plus different last names for individuals within the family unit plus multi-level phone numbers and emails.

Cons

I love to have the support of the software by speaking with a real person. My patience challenges me at times to wait for the phone call back! Sometimes there are difficulties in choosing the right report ie. directory vs. basic because the format of the directory report is good but there are decisions embedded there which override any selections I might make for the report ie. individual vs. family identities

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied December 2018

Joy, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better software. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows Support

November 2018

Tonja from Woodmont United Methodist

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Professional & Productive

CWindows has been most beneficial with membership, donations and payroll for me. I hardly ever have a church member find an issue with their Giving Statement, and that says alot about the software. The revamped membership module has integrated members & visitors so much so that keying in data is a breeze. And I doubt that I'd be doing payroll if it weren't for Church Windows. Seriously, ya'll are the reason I wear so many hats over here!

Pros

I liked the software so much at my church job that when asked to "help" with the membership and receivables at the church I am a member of, I gladly accepted ... with one condition: that they purchase and use CWindows! The software is so easy to use, across the board, that I knew anybody would be able to come in behind me and learn it as quickly as I did.

Cons

The latest update was more of a complete rewrite. I lost a good bunch of data in this update, too. I've had to re-key alot of that lost data, some of which I was unable to retrieve. I'm still learning what the new update is capable of doing. It's almost like I'm having to learn a whole new program. I feel very inadequate at times when I'm in the program now.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied December 2018

Tonja, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better software. You should not have lost any data as part of an upgrade process, we apologize. If you experience data loss after installing and update for Church Windows, please contact us. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows Support

November 2018

joann from horizon church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2018

CW Review 11/13/18

The best part is the payroll and the taxes. We originally were using QuickBooks and trying to "tweek" it to work. CW takes a lot of the guessing and headache out of the payroll differences in a church setting.

Pros

To be honest, the customer support. From the moment someone answers the phone until someone calls you back, the professionalism and friendliness is unmatched. I always feel like I am calling a friend who is knowledgeable about the software. At first I struggled to comprehend some of the aspects of the software because I do not come from an accounting background. It did take me some time to feel comfortable with what I was doing but once I was I no longer had fear that I would "screw" something up.

Cons

I wish some of the techs would tone down the accounting terminology when trying to explain things to me. Like I said I didn't come from an accounting background so the lingo was somewhat foreign and I felt lost when they would explain things to me. The software seems to be continuously updated which if I had the time to explore some of the new upgrades I believe I would be able to utilize them. Not sure if you have this or not, but a video explaining some of the new features that accompany an update would be nice.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied January 2019

Joann, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better software. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows Support

November 2018

Bobbie from Presbytery of Utah

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2018

Church Windows Review

Overall, not a bad experience and the wonderful customer service/support really makes up for other inefficiencies. 3.5 out of 5 stars overall.

Pros

I love that support is always prompt and responsive. Any time there is an issue, they are willing to help as quick as they can and they are always very kind and informative. I like that only one user may be logged in at a time to prevent duplicate or missing information. That is smart and helpful in our Presbytery! I love the tax reporting feature in the Payroll Module. It is easy and efficient!

Cons

I do not like how slow the software is, especially now that we access it through remote desktop. All the screens are slower and printing is excruciatingly slow. I wish you didn't have to hit the print button so many times on so many different screens before your report or confirmation actually prints. I feel like the software is difficult to learn. You guys do a great job making webinars and help materials available, which is great. But unless someone is trained on how to do things, I don't feel like the software is very intuitive or user friendly. I don't feel like an average AR/AP person could navigate through the system and figure things out without guidance/training.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied January 2019

Bobbie, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better software. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows Support

November 2018

Rebecca from First Presbyterian Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Church Windows

Most folk who work or serve as lay leaders in a church have an clear understanding of the business end of things. Because Church Windows software is specifically tailored for churches, it enables me to report information in a manner that is easily understood over a broad spectrum of skill levels. They offer tutorials for all their modules and their customer service is second to none. Its a very rare thing to not receive a call back the same day I place a support call. Their staff are courteous, knowledgeable, and well trained. Over the last 19 years I have recommended Church Windows many, many times and will continue to do so in the future!

Pros

I've been using Church Windows since 1999. I currently use the Membership, Contribution and Accounting modules. They've come a long in the last 19 years and they are constantly upgrading their software as the market demands. Over the years they continue to solicit, and implement, suggestions from their customers. It's one thing to sell a product, but its another thing entirely to keep folks satisfied with your product for almost 20 years!

Cons

Probably the reports features, but that is mostly due to my reluctance to try creating custom-made reports. Its one of those things that you get out of it what you put into it - so no fault to Church Windows, just me.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied January 2019

Rebecca, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better software. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows Support

May 2019

Gail from Dover Congregational Uited Church of Christ

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

I love CW!

I love the software. It is much better than what I use at my "regular" job. The help is amazing and its so convenient to have everything under one program. Our Church Council has wanted to stop using it multiple times, but I have been here 22 years and always say Im leaving if I can't use it :) LOL

Pros

The software is fairly easy to navigate and work with. I've been using it for over 20 years and I appreciate that the updates are typically subtle and don't take me by surprise. I do all of the accounting for a church, so I use most aspects of the software, including Payroll. I am SO grateful for the amazing techs that all call me back in a timely manner and have always been able to guide me through any issue I'm having. I would rate the Customer Service as the biggest Pro!

Cons

Some aspects can be hard to navigate. "Normal" people have a difficult time reading the financial reports and we have to convert some into Excel for them to follow. Im not crazy about the Contributions module, It can be difficult to pair family members and the statement generating feature is a bit slow and can be difficult to interpret. I wish I could change some membership aspects directly in the Contributions module.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied May 2019

Gail, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows

May 2019

Maureen from Clay Center United Methodist Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Rather keep using what we have than to try to learn something "better."

I dont know if we have solved anything but it does seem to make us feel the finances are correct by using this program. I feel for the ones that use nothing like in small Churches.

Pros

I like that we can call for support and almost all the time they are very helpful even for those of us that are very basic in knowledge. I like that membership, finances , receipts etc are all intertwined together. Not sure if there is anything better for a Church or not but Im not willing to relearn a system. It took our team awhile to get switched from Financial to Accounting and we struggled but like anything we adjusted - dont know how to compare as far as other systems but this seems to be fine. When someone suggested we try a spreadsheet we all said NO.

Cons

I dont like that i have to manually enter my figures from payroll when i go to Pay Bills With Outstanding Balance - with Financials those figures were automatically brought over and there was no chance of making a typo each month. It worries me every month i will make a mistake. Some of the processes seem repetitious to get to the end result but we have gotten used to it now. It takes 4 steps to enter things compared to the Financial program you used to have. Its also hard to wait for help when we call.............several of us only work several hours a week so when we go in we are not there for the whole week to wait for a call. We may be there 2 hours and leave until we come again. We have upgraded to the premium which helps but it is still hard when we have nothing else to do when waiting on support.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied June 2019

Maureen, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows

November 2018

Amy from Immanuel Lutheran Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

My Review of Church Windows

I LOVE Church Window software!! I have been using it for 15 years and every church should be using it.

Pros

You can do so much with the Church Windows software. It is a great way to keep track of membership and visitors. Keep track of offering and printing reports are pretty easy to do. Customer support always returns call quickly but with work with you as long as you need. I'm a secretary at 2 Lutheran churches. The both have Church Windows. One use it for every thing. The other just uses the donation and accounting. The second church is hard to get things done and organized since they don't use the full scope of Church Windows. I think I have them talked in to using it more. Church Windows makes my job so much easier!

Cons

The most trouble I have had with church windows is all the updates. The software is easy to use until they start updating the software. The seem to take something that work good and makes it more difficult to use. I'm sure that it works for the large or mega church but us little church just need simple software. Maybe they need a software for large or mega churches and another for small churches.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied January 2019

Amy, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better software. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows Support

November 2018

Dorothy from Eastside Church Of God In Christ

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Eastside

Our overall experience with Church Windows is great. We are able to keep track of our donations, pledges, great files for tracking membership and the information we need to update for emergency information and family information. Definitely a great tool for tracking our members and visitors donations and supplying them with their year-end reports for tax purposes. There are so many other services that we are offered but have not tapped into yet. Very pleased with Church Windows.

Pros

The service received. Have always received great help when I call even if it is a dumb question I am never made to feel that it is. Never have to wait long times for call backs. The Webinars are great and give instructions that are simple and easy to understand and you can get feedback during the sessions.

Cons

We do not use the accounting part and would like to see software that is simple math in adding and subtracting. We are a small church and all of our help is volunteer so we do not have an Accountant on payroll, just those that give of their time. So a software program that would allow us to enter donations, pledges, etc., and then be able to substract payments, and distributions would be awesome.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied January 2019

Dorothy, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better software. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows Support

May 2019

Jennifer from First Church Sandwich

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2019

A solid program from a company continually trying to better their product

This software allows us to keep track of membership and accounting. It is nice to have various companies that work in conjunction with them making certain projects much easier i.e. the Postage Saver add on makes bulk mailing very simple.

Pros

This software has incredible capability. The new upgrades have made the system much easier and user friendly, and I am looking forward to more as they become available. The company is easy to work with and has been very diligent in getting the answers whenever I have needed to call in with a question or a problem. I believe the customer service department has gone above and beyond for our needs.

Cons

Sometimes I feel as if the product has too much capability- there are a lot of components that we do not need. Still feel there are a few fixes that need to come along to make it more user friendly. Wish they would offer more frequent "intensive" question remote classes as opposed to basic beginner classes.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied May 2019

Jennifer, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better. We suggest the church consider our Live Web Training option. It's more personal training. We log on to your computer to answer specific questions about your data. You can find more information at the Training page on our website. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows Support

November 2018

Margaret from Campbell Memorial Presbyterian Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Church Windows Revew

It allows a small congregation to maintain payroll and accounting records without the added expense of hiring an accountant. I have always found the support team to be helpful and responsive. The free webinars are also very useful - particularly the ones designed for year-end procedures!

Pros

It is user friendly for someone who is not a trained accountant or bookkeeper. Allows me to print professional appearing reports that are easily distributed to committees. The reports provide the information needed for various finance committees. Stored history in the various modules is helpful when I need to recall various transactions or help a committee remember a particular vendor or reason for an expense. Reports in the donations module are helpful during our stewardship campaign to track pledges and donations and compare them to previous years.

Cons

I do not like the most recent version of Membership! I think the previous version was much easier to read and edit. The result is that I use membership much less frequently. I also used to use it sending email blasts to our congregation but now use Mail Chimp instead.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied December 2018

Margaret, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better software. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows Support

June 2019

Jeanne from St. John's Lutheran Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Church Windows

Keeping accurate data on our parishioners is essential and being able to extract the info for reports and such is also important. CW software is excellent for these tasks. It also helps us track membership involvement as well as interests. This info is used to encourage involvement and participation within the church, a goal we have to help people connect with God, to one another, and to the community.

Pros

Church Windows is useful for me as a church administrator because it is flexible, easy to use and has many helpful report options we use regularly. What I like most is that it is user friendly!

Cons

There is one report that is we use for each congregation meeting and it can't be created accurately. I have to create 2 separate reports and then merge them. It took a long time to figure out why this is the case, but after some tech calls and tests, we understand why it happens. I just wish it could be created in one report because it is a longer process to make it this way. It is only twice a year that we have to do this, so it is a small complaint in the scope of of all the wonderful reports we get from CW. Generally the reports are awesome, easy to create and useful.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied June 2019

Jeanne, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows

May 2019

Lisa from Clearmont Baptist Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Church Windows Software

I think I stated that all in the above paragraphs. I really could not think of the way I did it before (so much more time consuming) verses what I do today and I can get a lot more done when reporting is much better.

Pros

The software has made it very easy to keep up with weekly donations, to do the deposits for the weekly donations and it makes end of the year easier for tithe statements. Also, reporting is really good. I don't have to look up for paperwork but instead I document when I pay bills what it is for and it tracks it. It comes out a certain budget line item and it is a great way of running a report when someone wants to know what we have spent out of that account. I really like when we do the budget. It gives you a grid to help you for the following years budget to what you have spent that year and what we took in. I have used Church Windows for 10 years and it has been a pleasure working with them for any questions that I have. I like the online classes that does teach me something new each time that I can use.

Cons

I think 10 years ago when I started using it, it was the hardest to set up because I was not use to do anything like this on the computer but always by paper or in books. Once I learned the software, it was much easier than I thought it would be. I am grateful that we found this software. I did look at others and found that it was not as good as this one was in support, ease of use and reporting.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied May 2019

Lisa, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows

November 2018

Suzanne from St Luke Lutheran Church

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Excellent program with great support

Good, great, love it. Someone at the church recently wanted to change b/c they don't feel the membership database is up to snuff but I was very vocal that I really like the accounting module, and I have worked with MANY accounting programs.

Pros

I work mostly the the Accounting and I love the Flexibility. You can change entries, work in a current month without closing out the prior month and I find it user friendly. (see below for a colleague's opposite view re: membership.) LOVE THE CUSTOMER SERVICE. Seriously, I could not have learned this program without them. The very best, smart, patient. Great folks.

Cons

Accounting: 1. the A/R module is a bit odd. You can't reprint invoices after they're paid for example. It seems a bit less thought through than the rest of accounting, perhaps because it's an add-on. 2. There should be better interface between the modules. For example, when you change an address in Membership or Payroll it doesn't change in any other module. 3. My colleague reports that Membership a. had a steep learning curve and b. is not "user friendly" in her opinion.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied January 2019

Suzanne, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better software. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows Support

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2019

Over 15 years of Church Windows Use

The company has always been amazing with their customer service.

Pros

I love that everything is linked together - from income to expenses to membership

Cons

I cannot manipulate the reports as much as I would like to to print them out the way committee members would like to see them. Since the update to Membership, it takes a lot longer to get the reports I want and also to figure out how to get what I used to with just a couple of clicks. Also, I have no idea how much this affected my membership since that last major overhaul of the Membership modual, but over time, I have been finding that several families have one person whose membership information has been lost and the program will not let me edit or delete them to recreate them. I do not want to have duplicate individuals in the system, but that is what I will have to do to recreate the needed information. I have been too busy to look into this problem or to contact Church Windows, since I don't know how extensive a problem this might be.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied May 2019

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better. If you're having problems with the new Membership features, please call technical support for help. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows Support

May 2019

Susan from St. Peter Evangelical Lutheran Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Church Windows makes church accounting a breeze!

Overall, very satisfied and pleased with Church Windows -- having all our records interconnected (membership-accounting-donations-calendar) is extremely beneficial.

Pros

Been with Church Windows software for 15+ years, and have been thrilled with it from day one. Very user-friendly, and that's saying something since I have no accounting background. The support at Church Windows is always spot on, extremely helpful, patient, and above all, kind. They're never in a hurry, they never pressure me to get off the phone until I have all my questions and problems resolved to my satisfaction. I have seen the programs/modules and services (online reference, etc.) evolve over the years, and always for the better. They have even incorporated some of my suggestions for improvement!

Cons

Reports -- it is very difficult to produce/design a church directory, or similar type document; also very difficult to obtain a usable type of giving statement, both for the Quarter and for Year-End. Other accounting reports somewhat difficult to obtain needed info.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied May 2019

Susan, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows

November 2018

Beth from Trinity Lutheran Church - Fort Worth

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Church Windows is all you need!

The biggest advantage for both churches where I've used CW has to be the all encompassing package. We never needed a separate spreadsheet for payroll or Quickbooks for accounting and then worried whether the data reported was accurate. With the complete package, we can trust the integrity of the data.

Pros

I've used CW for 15 years and what I enjoy most is that it does it all and it's easy to learn. There's no need for other software packages or worrying whether it's compatible with or will interface with other software. It handles everything a church needs from accounting, payroll, donations and membership. Knowing you can trust the data that's shared within the modules is key. It keeps up with payroll tax changes and reporting and their customer support is the best! I currently use the web version, but for many years I had the desktop and both work equally well.

Cons

I've never been a huge fan of report writers, but it really is the best way to give every customer what they need. The reports they originally offered were all we needed and more.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied December 2018

Beth, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better software. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows Support

November 2018

Nancy from Edgewood United Church

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2018

Edgewood

The customer support is great and that's important.

Pros

It keeps everything flowing smoothly between modules so that everything is in one place and not fragmented. The church was using two or three different methods of keeping track of things prior to my setting up Church Windows.

Cons

It's a pretty good software program however since they have been changing it the Membership module is very cumbersome. Hard to follow. Not really user friendly at all. The person in our office that has to maintain this is very ready for a change. The reporting could be a lot more efficient. Now, if I want to see what is happening in a fund I basically have to look three places (four if the money is coming through the donations module) to be able to piece it together. This is not different with the changes but has always been a bit more cumbersome when someone asks for the activity in detail for a fund for the year. It is really mostly the membership module that is causing us to rethink whether or not this program still works for us, though.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied January 2019

Nancy, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better software. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows Support

May 2019

Jennifer from Collegiate Presbyterian Church

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Best Software for Churches!

One of the most exciting new options of Church Windows that we are utilizing is accepting donations through our website and with a mobile app. You don't have to be a tech genius to install and use this feature and it is affordable!

Pros

Church Windows is designed specifically for churches and has integrated tracking membership, donations, payroll and accounting into a very user-friendly package. Because fund accounting is so unique to churches, you need software that is specifically designed to track it, and it is why we initially chose this software package. I love the accounting module and having payroll linked directly to it, and tracking the funds, income and expenditures is a breeze! For any problems or questions, Church Windows is only a phone call away. I have never had an issue that could not be resolved by one of their technicians. They are friendly, kind, and they know their stuff!

Cons

Making the move from Financial to Accounting and Contributions to Donations is a learning curve that takes time and patience.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied May 2019

Jennifer, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows Support

November 2018

Diane from First Lutheran Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Great software product specifically for churches

We use the Membership module for tracking our membership, attendance and creating a church directory. We use the donation module for pledges and contributions, the accounting module for all our bill pay and reporting of the church finances, and payroll to do payroll and file our taxes. I have not yet brought Scheduler into play as we are relatively new in our building, but have used it in the past with great success. All modules are current, and bug-free. Installation of updates is quick and easy, even with multiple workstations.

Pros

The Customer Support! Although the software is very user friendly everyone needs help. The customer support, webinars and training offered cannot be beat! I've take classes on site, through the webinars and have spent hours on the phone being instructed on how to do tasks, and have always felt comfortable at the end of the day. We use all the modules offered.

Cons

Occasionally there is a delay in getting a call back from the Customer Support group, but I know it's because they are helping someone else conquer a problem as thoroughly as they will help me solve mine!

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied January 2019

Diane, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better software. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows Support

November 2018

VICKIE from LoveJoy United Presbyterian Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Church Windows from a Church Administrator's Perspective

The church where I work has been excited to be able to view financial statements that are so much easier to understand than what they had been previously using. Yes, I can give them the same reams of data that they had been trying to wade through, but I can also condense that down where they can just ask questions about a specific area if needed.

Pros

I liked being able to purchase a denominational specific version of the software. The updates address issues that are relevant to the ease of using the product. Call back time for telephone support is excellent. There is definitely a learning curve for the product; however, there are multiple ways available to assist with that such as the short live tutorials each month that last approximately 20 minutes and then are available to view at your discretion.

Cons

There are times when I find it difficult to discern how to word my search question in the Help section to find the answer that I am needing. I would also like to be able to even further tailor my reports.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied December 2018

Vickie, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better software. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows Support

November 2018

Jamie from WJL Properties

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2018

Amazing Customer Service

Overall, Church Windows is a great software and I could never say enough about the wonderful customer service. I can easily track day to day transactions and report to our Vestry board on a monthly basis. As we all know, churches run on budgets so it is important to be as accurate as possible every month to make sure we stay within the budget. Church Windows has been instrumental in showing us where we need to make cuts and where we can afford to grow.

Pros

Customer Service is amazing. I never have to wait on hold and they call back fairly quickly with a knowledgeable rep. Everyone I have spoken to has been extremely helpful and kind.

Cons

Having used software like Quickbooks my entire career, I am used to Intuit's ease of use. Pulling up the check register and being able to click right to the transaction. Church Windows is great and I can find everything I need and print any kind of report I would need but it's not quite as user friendly as I would like. I also don't like that payroll is in a separate icon and not built into the other modules.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied January 2019

Jamie, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better software. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows Support

May 2019

Leslie from Trinity Episcopal Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

You came through in a pinch

Overall the program is excellent. I appreciate the ease of reconciling bank statements and maintenance of member records. Also, remote access is well worth the price.

Pros

The amount of training and backup material for learning the programs is top-notch. Customer service support goes above and beyond. An illustration: while I was on vacation recently, my office assistant had a problem with re-installing the program on an older computer. It turns out that the problem was internal. Your tech person spent a great deal of time walking her through the network problem that affected the installation of your software. Your remote access is a blessing.

Cons

It's too big a program for a small church and your options for purchasing particular modules are limited. My personal opinion is that a less complicated modified version for smaller churches would be a profitable option moving into a future where churches are continually decreasing in attendance and increasing in budgetary restrictions.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied June 2019

Leslie, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows

May 2019

Barbara from Arlington Congregational Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Absolutely fabulous

Trough the free training webinars, the huge previously recorded webinars library on their website, and of course with the help of the Church Windows Support Consultants it was easy for me to learn about the Church Windows software. I continue to listen in to the lunchtime training webinars as they are very helpful to learn about new features of the software. I highly recommend Church Windows software even for a small congregation.

Pros

I have been working with Church Windows for 4+ years now and I cannot praise Church Windows software enough as I only received a couple of hours of training from the previous church employee. Coming in with an accounting background, it is easy to understand and learn, the free training webinars are easy to follow. I love the feature of reoccurring transactions, once it is set up correctly it is easier and faster to input transactions.

Cons

Using the payroll system the IRS form 941 is only available during the beginning of April (first or second week usually), I like to receive them earlier.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied May 2019

Barbara, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows

November 2018

Janet from Ebenezer Assembly of Christ

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Saved by Church Windows Software

I feel more comfortable starting my work day as I know that it will make sense. I appreciate the online support and the quick responses that we receive which are easy to work through. I wish we had discovered this software much earlier. I appreciate that it is affordable for small churches and that we don't have to struggle with poorly written programs because that is all our budget can handle.

Pros

I am so grateful for a program that is easy to set up, easy to navigate, and easy on brain power. I was using another program that caused me daily frustration and I hated to even open the program. When we switched it was like a mental vacation. I like the 20 minutes webinars that allow us to get training to refresher courses or that give us training prior to changes.

Cons

I'm not sure how to get the online help that I need which occurred when You Tube became the source. I have not had time to investigate how to navigate. I'm sure that once I have time to investigate it will be simple as the rest of the procedures.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied January 2019

Janet, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better software. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows Support

November 2018

Wendy from Wytheville Presbyterian Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Church Windows in Review

Keeping track not only of the churches bookkeeping but keeping up with what the Trustees are handling also. It gives the Finance committee a quick look at what is being done or not done so it can be addressed quickly.

Pros

I think the contribution area is the best. It gives an accurate and easy account of what my parishioners have contributed. It is easy to locate any area that I may have questions about. The online and telephone help is extremely necessary and most of the people I have spoken with have been very patient and explained how and why it was necessary to do something in the program.

Cons

I think setting up the fund accounts was the most difficult. I did not begin this program I am inherited it when I took this position. The fund accounts were difficult to learn how to set up but I have been using this program for 18 years now. Trying to teach someone else to use this program may be a little more difficult unless they have used an accounting program before.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied January 2019

Wendy, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better software. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows Support

November 2018

Lisa from Covenant UMC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Church Windows Software Review 11/13/18

Overall we have been very pleased with Church Windows software and especially the help staff.

Pros

The continuous updates and support of the Church Windows staff. I find the accounting side much easier to make corrections than the older version. I find the set-up of campaigns easier in in the donation version.

Cons

Donations. I find the new donations module very cumbersome, especially in entering batches. In Accounting it is one thing to edit an expense and have it drop to the bottom of the batch but in donations, to add a comment or make a correction and have it drop to the bottom of the batch means you have to pull the check and place it at the bottom if you want to keep things in order. It would be easier if you could make a correction and have it hold its place. In membership I find it more cumbersome to use the label section and the layout of the membership screen is hard to read. Overall the updates have made it less user friendly.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied December 2018

Lisa, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better software. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows Support

May 2019

Kim from Bethany Presbyterian Church

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Great software for church management

Overall, I have been very pleased with Church Windows. It is user friendly, and the customer support and online webinars are fantastic. I always receive a response promptly when we need support, and there are many offerings online to help with the various modules. We have multiple users with different job functions using the software and we have found it to be a very efficient and effective solution for church administration.

Pros

I like that the modules work seamlessly together. We are able to take the membership information entered by one staff member and use it to create a donations record in a different module which is managed by another employee. This information is then transferred to our accounting module. The same is true with the payroll and accounting modules, allowing for less manual entries.

Cons

We have had some difficulty with deleting inactive duplicate files and we frequently have updates to run, which can be time consuming since it needs to be run on the server and then each individual computer.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied May 2019

Kim, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows

November 2018

Cindy from Emmanuel Episcopal Church

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

The software switch was more than worth the effort!

Time saved in data entry, even with the learning curve of new software has been huge. Easy to follow menus. We changed software for several reasons. On the old software there was no way to customize reporting for anything in the General Ledger, searches for data or people were very limited, inflexible forms such as Statement format, and because of expense of the old software monthly. With Church Windows I have received prompt customer service when needed, sped up my data entry, and now have the ability to get the reports my Vestry has been asking for. Thank you Church Windows!

Pros

You are able to look up a single entry with a search! If you have to correct an entry the software will correct with a new journal entry so everything is above board for your audits. You can write a report of almost any information in the system not just "canned" reports! You have a choice of entering people and Members or Visitors and can produce lists and labels for either or. The report writing is easy to use and you don't have to be a programmer to create your own reports! Easy Look-ups for people, one click to choose, search for first or last names, saves a zillion clicks over the other software I was using.

Cons

Exported reports only come up easily for Microsoft Excel. Not so handy when you use WordPerfect or OpenOffice.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied December 2018

Cindy, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better software. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows Support

May 2019

John from Christ Lutheran Church - Oakwood

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Treasurer View of Church Windows

We upgraded from the PC version to the web version so our whole team could use the software. This made us much more productive and allowed us to work from home and spread the workload. Support is also great. I don't have a strong accounting background so I depend on support to tell me how to do things using the accounting approach.

Pros

Very logical division of features. We have 4 different volunteers using the software: Jan does Payroll, Cathy handles Donations, Dawn does our church membership and I do the Accounting as the Treasurer. In Accounting, putting in the Recurring Transactions is a great help. Over time, I've added most of our monthly bills; this helps keep things consistent and I don't need to think about what account to use.

Cons

Occasionally, I need to change a transaction. One screen lets me review the transactions but I have to go to a different screen to change it although it is right in front of me. Selecting it on the first screen would be better.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied May 2019

John, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows

May 2019

Donna from Bethesda Lutheran Church/The Lord's Cupboard

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Would recommend

Church Windows is a very east product to use. It really meets the needs of the church, has easy payroll functions with all the tax reporting forms needed and data entry is plain and simple. The church has been pleased with the product as well as the customer service response. Responses have been timely and the individuals extremely knowledgeable and easy to work with.

Pros

Church Windows Software meets our needs. We are a congregation of 500 baptized members. The ease of data entry in Donations and Accounting modules is especially nice. Reporting features over the years have been greatly improved and are user friendly. The ability to add data elements in membership is extremely beneficial for tracking and reporting information.

Cons

Overall, I can't give a "con" about the software. Perhaps something to note is not a con of the software but is my inexperience in designing a report. The feature is in the software but it seems cumbersome to me when I want to make a new report.

Response from Computer Helper Publishing

Replied May 2019

Donna, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of Church Windows Software. Your input is truly appreciated and helps make Church Windows better. Please let us know if you have questions by calling us at 800-533-5227 or email us at support@churchwindows.com Thanks again, Church Windows

Displaying 1 - 50 of 938 reviews