What are Rock RMS users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Rock RMS software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.85

86 Reviews

5
80
4
3
3
1
2
0
1
2
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer Support

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"I've heard people say that Rock would be a good fit for my situation. There's no cost to download and try out the program, so I gave it a try, just to kick the tires a little."
  • icon"This provides the benefit of seeing how other churches and ministries set up and use Rock."
  • icon"Our big attractions to The Rock were based in it's cost-effectiveness (it's an open sourced platform) and it's power."
  • icon"Likely a localized problem, but we had to migrate an EXTENSIVE amount of data over from our former database."
  • icon"There is nothing from from our standpoint that we don't like about Rock RMS."
  • icon"It takes time to configure. Of the rest there is nothing of which I can complain."

Jump to:

Browse all Rock RMS Reviews

  • Have you used Rock RMS and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 86 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 86 reviews

Paul

Company size: 51 - 200 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

May 2022

Great Product, Greater Community

User Profile

Shawn

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

RockRMS is the easiest to use, implement, and train on software I have ever used, period!

More people are using our Church Management System than ever. Ministry staff interact with it, and the data helps them to build relationships with people. Event Registration is enabling us to streamline the process of people signing up and not losing that data in the process Groups as a central tool (instead of just small groups) gives our teams a common tool that provides clear understanding or what smaller groupings of people look like. eRA is a revolutionary tool for our team. We've never had this level of insight into who is connected to our church We haven't even fully integrated our giving processes, and we're anxious to leverage Rock's abilities there, as it's WAY easier.

Pros

The most valuable things about Rock to me: 1. Rock is open AND extensible. We no longer have to compromise on the way we manage our ministry. The software can be configured to work with the way our ministry teams need. 2. Rock's community... I'm continually thankful for Rock's community. From Core developers working with and solicting the community on how to make the next version better, to the level of support we get from other churches, it's all top-notch. We previously paid thousands of dollars per year for a lesser product with less support 3. RockRMS' "Shop" has given us access to tools and ways to accomplish the 'fringe' needs that pop up in a supported way. We can say 'yes' to the "Is it possible" question instead of "not with our software" 4. RockRMS has documentation and real-world examples that work for someone on the administrative/management end, such as myself. However, the documentation and examples are also approachable for my ministry and volunteer staff

Cons

The biggest hurdle that I (and my org) had to work to overcome was taking a more involved and invested approach to integrating and using the software in our ministry areas.

Brandon

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

RockRMS

We have been able to automate some of our processes (i.e. either through the data-automation jobs, connection requests, or workflows), which saves us time and allows us to invest that time into our congregation or other areas of ministry. We have been able to do a greater level of personalization through our communications (email and print). For communications we are able to add conditions to show or hide text based on the person's attributes or details. For example, we email quarterly giving notifications letting the giver know they can access their up-to-date giving statement online. In the email we check if they have a login and if they do we present them with a link to the giving history page, however, if they don't have a login we present different text in the email detailing where they can create an account and then how they can access their giving history--you could also send them a personalized link that automatically has them logged in for a specified period of time or only logged in for that specific page and no other without requiring a full login.

Pros

There are many things to love about RockRMS but the customization and flexibility of its core features and plugins, and its active community are by far the best. The core developers for RockRMS are constantly improving and adding new features, many of which you may not see in other church management systems. Rock has many tools that enable customization and uniqueness for the church and its various ministries (e.g. workflows that can be used for simple registrations, feedback forms, surveys, submission requests, automated communication responses, etc.). The two biggest areas of customization for our church are email communication templates and check-in. We are able to make the communication as personalized as we want (pulling details from their registration, groups, or person record). We also do a lot of custom check-in tags for different events (daily designs for KNL/VBS, notification labels about Promotion Sunday, adding group attributes for table assignments when checking in for an event or dinner, etc.). RockRMS doesn't have a typical support team like other church management systems. If you do need support, the RockRMS Core Team and the Community are very active in both the Q&A forums and online chat channels. This provides the benefit of seeing how other churches and ministries set up and use Rock. RockRMS also has a number of Partners who can also help set up and troubleshoot issues, or even do custom development for your instance of Rock.

Cons

I don't really have any cons with RockRMS but what I have seen for the staff-user side of it, it can seem a little daunting or too technical--especially when transitioning from another church management system. The key to overcome this is training; this can be staff training, directing the users to read the documentation, or watching the training videos provided by RockRMS.

Reasons for switching to Rock RMS

For the longest time FellowshipOne hadn't added new features or UI improvements. RockRMS had a large assortment of new features and better UI design. FellowshipOne's internal system and InFellowship system (external site) were two separate systems requiring different logins. In RockRMS you still have the idea of an internal and external site (and multiple sites should you want more) but it is all contained in one system and doesn't require multiple login accounts. The reporting features in RockRMS are also an improvement and allow for more complex reports. There is a learning curve when transitioning from FellowshipOne's reporting to RockRMS's reporting but this is where the documentation, training videos, and the Community are super helpful. Lastly, the fact we have control over our instance of RockRMS allows us to easily add custom configurations and development. We are able to do complex dynamic reports with direct access to the database

David

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

Amazing Community Centric System

Pros

I love the community behind Rock. You are never alone. There is always someone in the community willing to step up and help at any moment.

Cons

There is nothing that I do not like. RockRMS is not perfect but you can customize it based on your needs.

Reasons for switching to Rock RMS

We needed all of our data to be in one place and usable beyond just collection.

Madalyn

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2021

Too complicated to use unless you have a programming team

This would work really well at a church with a large IT team, or group of people who can program.

Pros

The best features are probably how customizable it is. We were able to build groups, a database, forms, registration, etc., all in one platform.

Cons

It required so much development and was not plug-and-play. This may suit larger churches, however, with only one IT person on staff, our development process of the platform was rather slow. We needed more robust registration and application systems, calendar and scheduling tools, and a room reservation system and it was going to take us months to develop.

User Profile

Josh

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2018

Leave expensive ChMS systems

Pros

Have you ever thought it was weird that a private hedge-fund bought both Fellowship One and Shelby and created a quiet monopoly in the ChMS market? Rock is the free, open-source rebellion against monopoly higher prices and lower service for church software. With Rock you have a church database system that allows you to automate ministry workflows and view ministry reports. Want to see "Show me everyone who's attended twice, who's not in a small group, who lives within 2 miles of an open small group". And then you can put that into a list to send an email to them, or make a list for a pastor to call. The best part of Rock is how easy it is to get help and support in the community slack chat. Rock users hang out there all day and answer each other's questions.

Cons

You install Rock on your own server. 1-click, handled-for-you hosting has not arrived yet (2018-10-18). (But it may have by the time you read this) Going from "I'm interested" to "we are setup and running" is the hardest part. You'll probably need a tech-savvy person at your church OR work with a Rock Partner (professional consultants). One common path is take advantage of Microsoft's $3,000 non-profit credits to host on their Azure cloud hosting. So if between saving the money you'd spend on your current ChMS and having effectively free hosting on Azure, there's a big incentive/budget to get yourself over the "we are now setup" hurdle.

User Profile

Chris

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

Fully featured, incredibly customizable, and a pleasure to work on

I have heard from many of the church staff from different ministries that they genuinely enjoy using Rock, and it saved us from using multiple different systems with separate, redundant databases of our congregants. Everyone's jobs are made easier with Rock. The community is incredible and the core development team works closely with us to make sure that any changes we're making are the best they can be for us and for the community. It's an absolute pleasure working with Rock.

Pros

Although I am a developer that has made many customizations to the software, I am consistently impressed with how well-designed all of the features are, and how many of them there are. A church could do incredible things with this software without employing a developer. But when we do choose to customize or build new features, Rock makes this process incredibly easy compared to other systems I have worked on. New versions are released all the time with a plethora of new features. Just when you think Rock couldn't possibly do any more for your church, they announce a new version with things you never knew you wanted but now must have!

Cons

Anything I could mention here would be nitpicking.

Kevin

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2021

Rock RMS well... Rocks!

We absolutely love Rock RMS, it's helped us scale from up to 20 locations and we can manage a lot through the interface.

Pros

The thing we link most of all is that it included all the features we were trying to use with multiple different platforms and the ability to customize and automate using workflows.

Cons

The cons are that if you really want to dig in a customize. You have to be willing to dive in a little deeper that the surface level. You should start to make workflows and learn LAVA and SQL to be able to pull in information from your church database.

User Profile

Brandi

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

An awesome relationship management system for any size church

We were on Arena and migrated to Rock v7.3. Before go live we did a huge amount of planning, process redesign with the inidivual ministries as well as training everyone. Once we went live, we had probably the best softwear launch ever in my 20 years of managing software releases. We launched to 9 campuses across kids, students, volunteer check-in, events, connects, groups, and next step registrations, integration with Pushpay and Secure Give, email and text to workflow etc. We are getting ready to deploy 7.4 next week and will start testing v8. We are super excited to start utilizing content channels to basically replace our website and have partnered with a group of churches to build a mobile app completely open source with Rock as the back end. Our mission is to impact our world with the love and message of Jesus Christ to everyone, everyday, everywhere. Rock helps us to use technology to do that!

Pros

Rock is so powerful right out of the box but because it is open source, intuitive, and there is huge support community that comes with it...Rock has completely transformed our IT department. We can quickly delivery small, medium and large asks from all areas of ministry. This in turn is changing how the ministries are looking at processes in general and they can see results.

Cons

Truthfully there aren’t really cons, the folks at Spark are awesome in helping us to customize where needed on the more complex functions and where it make sense they actually add the functionality to core product. They are growing and so is the community of Rock developers.

User Profile

Mark

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2018

Not only is it the most affordable, it's simple the best!

We are using the Rock to help us bring together the reach of the web and the power of data to make disciples.

Pros

I love how flexible it is. We generally don't have to worry about workarounds like we did in systems past. We love how it fixed so many of our difficult problems without becoming a problem itself. The community is also a great part. You aren't buying into a company, you are joining a community.

Cons

Waiting for the newest features and tools. It can seem like forever when it's something you didn't even know you needed until you heard it's coming soon. Then you have to wait until it's polished and ready. When it's here though, it's basically Christmas.

Jo

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

Rock Rocks Data and Event Management

We have been using Rock for over a year and are very happy with the change from our previous management software.

Pros

Rock is so user friendly and intuitive. I use Rock daily for data capture and retrieval and event set-up.

Cons

I have not found anything that I dislike about the software at this point. I have had no difficulties in finding solutions to my needs.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2018

COMMUNITY + VISIONq

Awesome, the team behind Rock has been incredible and the community via slack has helped me more than I can count and we are still just implementing the tool. If you are a developer church or if you are an admin that just needs to get your church organized, Rock has a solution that fits the smallest and largest of churches.

Pros

The team that supports Rock is incredible, and the people/Churches that use Rock are incredible. The ending result is a momentum that has fast forwarded Rock RMS past most, if not all, of the top applications that have been around for twice as long as Rock has.

Cons

Nothing to report here. Rock so far has worked to close the gap on anything that arises as an issue.

Michael

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2017

Rock brought us into this century

We were stuck on another piece of software that still looked and ran like it was from the early '90s, but unable to afford anything better, for years. We got into Rock very early after its launch and haven't looked back! From an admin standpoint, I've been extremely happy with the direct access to the data it's afforded me, while keeping the users in a wonderful and user-friendly environment that's available from anywhere. Most reports are available easily enough per the documents, but every once in a while you'll find a more esoteric view of your data that can't be done "out of the box" yet (the reporting functions are growing quickly). No problem- the amazing community has helped us generate any reports we could hope for using powerful tools like SQL queries. And that's an important point to mention, despite the fact that there's no official support for Rock, the community is by far the best support for any product I've ever seen. Since launch, we've digitized so many previously analogue processes and saved our pastors so much time in their days, thanks to the power and accessibility of Rock - everything from inquiry forms, requests, signups, checkins, spiritual growth process tracking and followup, can be centralized in Rock itself, making it our one stop shop for our staff A word of personal advice: if you're trying to save a few bucks, you may be looking at running Rock locally on a Windows Server, but if you do, understand that you'll need to be comfortable configuring SQL servers and web servers, as well as firewall rules and SSL certificates. I highly recommend any of the many hosting companies who support Rock instead, if that's not your particular cup of tea...many of those companies make Rock a nearly turnkey solution.

Pros

Flexibility and power afforded to the admins- open source with plugin structure means that you can leverage anything available in the incredible data stored in Rock

Cons

It's not as easy for end users to generate any little report they can think of on the fly, so it's extremely helpful for the administrator to be passingly familiar with SQL

Christopher

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2017

Excellent Start, Even Better Plan

We moved from Arena to Rock in tandem with some changes we were going through as far as how we do ministry. Rock either has a feature or gives you the tools to make the feature, for whatever your church can dream of. Rock is a very powerful ChMS solution that continues to get better without forcing you to make budget cutbacks in ministries to afford it. A really easy to overlook benefit to using Rock, it's really easy to understand what you're looking at when a page loads because the pages are designed with that in mind. This is a huge benefit when training Volunteers or rotating staff (like interns). The community is great! There's a strong community of Rock users that share a Slack channel and help one another innovate at their church and to fix problems when they arise. You no longer have to sit through the tier-0 checklist you normally get when calling tech support, rather you get to have a conversation with real people that have been working with Rock since before you ever knew about it. Being a part of this Rock community is what keeps me from being afraid of tackling all of my church's ChMS needs "without a team". The most exciting thing about Rock is how customizable it is. Rock's Workflow Engine allows you to be very attentive to all of your attendees without having to manually check up on each person. You can do processes as simple as texting someone who visited for the first time a thank you message and an invite to coming events. You can even build full-featured follow-ups to someone joining a small group to make sure it's a great fit. The possibilities are actually limitless. It's honestly a blessing to use Rock to leverage our technical skill to empower our ministries to do things that they've never tried to do before in fear of the administrative overhead. My church has only scratched the surface of what Rock can do, and it's already making a difference after being on Rock for less than a year

Pros

Customization, Community, Growth Potential

Cons

Host Server has to be Windows Server running IIS, Database has to be SQL

Van

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2017

Great product!

Our mission is to love people as we lead them into a growing relationship with Jesus Christ. This software helps our teams do exactly that by making the technology invisible and bringing relationships and connections to new levels.

Pros

Rock is so powerful and open. Our church is a fairly large multi-site church in West Texas and Eastern New Mexico. We had been looking for a product to transition to for several years that met the needs of our ministries. Rock has met all those needs. There are tons of great features and a growing app store and eco system that allow you to add just about anything you and your church can dream up. There's great community support that's free and several amazing vendors that can support churches of ANY size or develop custom code for a feature you wish you had. You can run it on your local server or install it in the cloud. It's easy to learn, intuitive and works on ANY device. It's mobile friendly and your teams can expect to be able to do anything from their smartphones that they can do from a computer. The developers have a great roadmap and have a track record of hitting or beating expected release dates. It's also great to finally feel like we have a voice with our CHMS platform. Can't say enough good things about it.

Cons

I honestly haven't found anything that I don't like. It's really hard to find anything. If had to choose something that I like "least" I guess it would be the documentation needs to be updated a little but that's being SUPER geek nit picky because the documentation is MUCH better than our former software.

Tom

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2017

Hands down, the best church management system we've ever used.

Full-featured church management system that scales to churches of any size. The product is highly extensible and built on cutting-edge technology.

Pros

Rock comes with a ton of functionality out of the box, and the user interface is snappy, clean, intuitive, mobile-friendly, and highly customizable by non-developers. The Rock community is just as responsive as the product, so the combination of superb/forward-thinking innovation and community support makes this product second to none. Amazing, new features are always being added to the product by the core team or by developer/partner contributions to Rock's app store. The mission statement at Southeast is "to connect people to Jesus and to one another." Rock is one of the tools that helps us accomplish this goal on a daily basis. I look forward to seeing the Kingdom impact that this product will have as it gets rolled out to more churches and organizations across the globe.

Cons

It not only takes a village to raise children, but also to speed up the development of an open source project. Rock needs more people with skin in the game giving financial, prayer, development, product evangelism, training, and documentation support. The sky is the limit with God's blessing and the backing of more Kingdom workers.

Joseph

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

Great community-based tool for managing church/house of worship data

Rock RMS is THE tool we are using to manage all internal data. Congregants can log in and register for events, give tithes, and make changes to their family profiles, and it is all updated in real-time for staff to manage. We use it for project management, resource reservation, and mass communication. It is very good.

Pros

The web based interface is very easy to use, and it is very customizable for the organization's particular needs. The history tracking feature is very helpful.

Cons

At times the interface can be slow to load, and some of the parts of the GUI, it is not always clear if you need to click a "save" button or if it is auto-saving.

Brent

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

The next generation of church management systems is here!

This is a monumental shift in what is out there. Instead of shoving your church data into a pre-built box solution from a vendor, this is a set of Legos that comes pre-assembled, functional out of the box, but allows you to fully customize what you see, where you see it, and even how it looks. If you have further skills, you can even code your own integrations with this. They didn't lock it down like so many vendors do.

Pros

Open source, shared community, highly active Slack support community, plugin shop, fast growing wave of adoption... Look, this is the future of church software. It does everything we had with a very expensive vendor of the past 15 years and it does so better, with more ability for customization, and is free to smaller churches. Larger churches should support the core team for sure, but even that isn't forced. The heart behind this product is incredible and the product is constantly improving with 2-3 major releases a year! We're seeing more flexibility and customization happening than we've had in the past 15 years combined and we're on year 1 still.

Cons

- There is a learning curve with self hosting, but there are 3rd party partners that you can pay to migrate or set you up, and extensive step-by-step documentation exists as well. - You don't NEED a developer to use this, but having one can sure make things easier and allows you to customize.

Josh

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2017

Recently implemented Rock install and loving it.

Lower cost, more power, more flexibility, greater ease of use.

Pros

Rock's feature-set far exceeds our previous solution that cost > $1k / month. Biggest pro is access to data: if we are recording the data, there is no limit to how it can be processed or viewed. Second biggest pro is flexibility: the entire software is open source and extensible. Beyond that, we were very surprised at how much customization and flexibly were available without ever writing a line of code. Lastly, Rock is a much more polished solution than other options we've looked at: more features, mobile friendly, a UI that just makes sense.

Cons

The flexibility definitely requires knowledge and time to setup and administer. We definitely wouldn't change that because of the flexibility it provides, but you should expect to need a knowledgeable point person that has time available.

Paul

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2017

Phenomenal - better product than the paid options out there

Customizable, powerful Relational management system for our church that also drives our website.

Pros

The Development team - they continue to crank out quality updates that are flexible to the unique needs of various churches, but are powerful and relevant to what we need. The pricing model also works for non-profits. There is no cost, but you are encouraged to support the product based on the number of users you have in your church/group. We transitioned to this product from another product that cost us in the five figures to purchase and then also to maintain/develop. Not only has our experience been better, but we are excited about what is coming. We do support the development team as suggested because we believe in the mission of the company and in the product they are producing.

Cons

Some features that we had in our old management System are currently not available although that is rapidly changing. A missions trip module has just been developed and by the time of this post, should be publicly available.

Derek

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5

August 2015

Great features and huge potential for this new product

Rock RMS is the future here at Central Christian Church in Arizona, where I work as the Network/Systems Administrator. We are migrating from Arena (Shelby) to Rock this year. As a large church (10,000+ weekend attendance and five campuses) we have robust needs and requirements for our Management System; from event check-in, communications, website, people management, contributions, process/workflow management, reporting, and more. I have been able to watch Rock develop from a bare-bones system (v 1.0) to a robust and feature-rich product that can perform all the functions a church like Central needs. But, it is flexible and intuitive enough to be used by smaller organizations (not just churches!) without robust in-house development and IT support. For me, the biggest feature/benefit with Rock is its flexibility and configurability. As you think about the data you need to maintain, the tasks you want to automate, the ways you want to communicate, you will find that the flexibility with Rock can make it possible. Spark Development Network is actively developing the product, adding features/function/polish. As an open-source product, Rock RMS is also seeing an active and growing 3rd party developer community offering further improvements and features. The support community is also developing rapidly, as more people use the product and become familiar with it. The community forums are a great resource for users to get their questions discussed and answered. Finally, the documentation that Spark has provided (and continues to create/update) is fantastic! There is a treasure-trove of manuals and videos that dive deep into all the great functionality in Rock, without being too technical or difficult to consume. My experience with Rock, and the community surrounding it, has been excellent. I know that the Spark Development Network team (and others) have been working tirelessly to make this product as excellent as it can be. And, the work continues!

Matt

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2016

Exactly what we needed

Knowing the investment of time and learning needed, we were looking for the right church software for several years. We were impressed with the rock community and the potential with the software 18 months ago. We implemented a few portions of the software 12 months ago, and decided to baby step our way into all of its capabilities. We knew early on in the implemtation process that Rock was going to something really good for us. And already, with out even using all of the features, we are in love with the program. We don't even want to think about the "dark ages" (life before Rock RMS) any more. As a church administrator and a ministry leader of a church, Rock has been an incredible resource for our church.

Pros

Customization, ease of use, powerful tools, Rock Community.

Luke

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2017

RockRMS has fantastic tools to track and reach your congregation

Pros

Out of the box, Rock comes with, based off of the different systems we've used, the best and most well thought out feature set for tracking congregational involvement and reaching out to the people at your church. The developer's commitment to make these tools available to churches of any size and resource level puts this software into a class of its own, which is truly focused on utility and ministry needs, not providing some tools in return for collecting huge monthly fees as well as processing fees from the church's tithe money. Additionally, because the software is open source, there's a large and growing community of users who support each other with their experience and expertise, in a way that's generally much faster than support we've received from competitors who were paid large amounts to support their own product.

Michael

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2016

Rock can do it all

We have been very pleased with Rock's capabilities. What comes in the "out-of-the-box", core features has been so much for us to explore and implement, while also having the ability to grow in almost any way through all the open ended features if you have a capable developer to bring larger churches to the next level. As a medium sized church we have found that with a little work we can have Rock doing so much for us that we weren't able to do with a pervious database. With no developer on staff, I have still been able to learn some basic things that have helped us go beyond the core features and tailor-make Rock do things specific to our needs.

Pros

Adaptability, the community of support, the core features, the cost.

Cons

Finding a good external hosting company, wanting to do more beyond core features but needing increasing skills in IT and Development that we currently do not have.

A-A'ron

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2017

One size never fits all, but Rock can be molded to fit perfectly.

Rock RMS is a community supported (support can be provided by a third-party at cost) open-source (meaning it's free as in 'freedom' and free as in 'free food') ChMS. While Rock, I feel, takes a bit longer to get setup and running compared to other options it does allow you to customize a lot of aspects of it. I would highly recommend reading their awesome documentation to get started. Once you learn how to play with and use all the neat little tools and Lego blocks to customize Rock for your church you will feel like a super hero! If you ever get stuck, the Rock community is always willing to help. I've only just begun to unlock the potential Rock has and I'm very happy with it.

Pros

Actively supported Great Community Open-Source

Cons

Intimidating at first. While not required, to get the most out of it you'll want some experience with HTML.

Showing 1 - 25 of 86 reviews
Rock RMS

Rock RMS

4.85/5 out of 86 reviews
Learn More