User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

5.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

5.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(78)

78

4 stars

(2)

2

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(2)

2

  • Pros

  • "Easy to learn and use. Cost effective. Great community support."

  • "It's so easy to use. You can create whatever data metrics you choose. I love how I can keep track of our church members and put faces with names. "

  • "Flexible and Powerful, but also easy to use with great documentation and a great community of support"

  • Cons

  • "Lacks some of the features of other RMS systems, but they are continually improving it."

  • "There is not a customer support area, but there is a huge community of users that can be utilized."

  • "Check-in must use Zebra printers (which are pricey)"

Browse Rock RMS Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 82 results

March 2018

User Profile Picture

Shawn from Calvary Church

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

RockRMS is the easiest to use, implement, and train on software I have ever used, period!

More people are using our Church Management System than ever. Ministry staff interact with it, and the data helps them to build relationships with people. Event Registration is enabling us to streamline the process of people signing up and not losing that data in the process Groups as a central tool (instead of just small groups) gives our teams a common tool that provides clear understanding or what smaller groupings of people look like. eRA is a revolutionary tool for our team. We've never had this level of insight into who is connected to our church We haven't even fully integrated our giving processes, and we're anxious to leverage Rock's abilities there, as it's WAY easier.

Pros

The most valuable things about Rock to me: 1. Rock is open AND extensible. We no longer have to compromise on the way we manage our ministry. The software can be configured to work with the way our ministry teams need. 2. Rock's community... I'm continually thankful for Rock's community. From Core developers working with and solicting the community on how to make the next version better, to the level of support we get from other churches, it's all top-notch. We previously paid thousands of dollars per year for a lesser product with less support 3. RockRMS' "Shop" has given us access to tools and ways to accomplish the 'fringe' needs that pop up in a supported way. We can say 'yes' to the "Is it possible" question instead of "not with our software" 4. RockRMS has documentation and real-world examples that work for someone on the administrative/management end, such as myself. However, the documentation and examples are also approachable for my ministry and volunteer staff

Cons

The biggest hurdle that I (and my org) had to work to overcome was taking a more involved and invested approach to integrating and using the software in our ministry areas.

August 2019

Brandon from Crossroads Christian Church

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

RockRMS

We have been able to automate some of our processes (i.e. either through the data-automation jobs, connection requests, or workflows), which saves us time and allows us to invest that time into our congregation or other areas of ministry. We have been able to do a greater level of personalization through our communications (email and print). For communications we are able to add conditions to show or hide text based on the person's attributes or details. For example, we email quarterly giving notifications letting the giver know they can access their up-to-date giving statement online. In the email we check if they have a login and if they do we present them with a link to the giving history page, however, if they don't have a login we present different text in the email detailing where they can create an account and then how they can access their giving history--you could also send them a personalized link that automatically has them logged in for a specified period of time or only logged in for that specific page and no other without requiring a full login.

Pros

There are many things to love about RockRMS but the customization and flexibility of its core features and plugins, and its active community are by far the best. The core developers for RockRMS are constantly improving and adding new features, many of which you may not see in other church management systems. Rock has many tools that enable customization and uniqueness for the church and its various ministries (e.g. workflows that can be used for simple registrations, feedback forms, surveys, submission requests, automated communication responses, etc.). The two biggest areas of customization for our church are email communication templates and check-in. We are able to make the communication as personalized as we want (pulling details from their registration, groups, or person record). We also do a lot of custom check-in tags for different events (daily designs for KNL/VBS, notification labels about Promotion Sunday, adding group attributes for table assignments when checking in for an event or dinner, etc.). RockRMS doesn't have a typical support team like other church management systems. If you do need support, the RockRMS Core Team and the Community are very active in both the Q&A forums and online chat channels. This provides the benefit of seeing how other churches and ministries set up and use Rock. RockRMS also has a number of Partners who can also help set up and troubleshoot issues, or even do custom development for your instance of Rock.

Cons

I don't really have any cons with RockRMS but what I have seen for the staff-user side of it, it can seem a little daunting or too technical--especially when transitioning from another church management system. The key to overcome this is training; this can be staff training, directing the users to read the documentation, or watching the training videos provided by RockRMS.

Reasons for Switching to Rock RMS

For the longest time FellowshipOne hadn't added new features or UI improvements. RockRMS had a large assortment of new features and better UI design. FellowshipOne's internal system and InFellowship system (external site) were two separate systems requiring different logins. In RockRMS you still have the idea of an internal and external site (and multiple sites should you want more) but it is all contained in one system and doesn't require multiple login accounts. The reporting features in RockRMS are also an improvement and allow for more complex reports. There is a learning curve when transitioning from FellowshipOne's reporting to RockRMS's reporting but this is where the documentation, training videos, and the Community are super helpful. Lastly, the fact we have control over our instance of RockRMS allows us to easily add custom configurations and development. We are able to do complex dynamic reports with direct access to the database

April 2019

Donna from Fuel Community Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

April 2019

Rock RMS Review

Pros

Overall the system was adequate for my daily operations.

Cons

The customer service was very difficult!

January 2021

Luke from X Factor Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Great package but...

Pros

There is so much that Rock can do. We loved the fact that everything is completely open source and customizable. There is little that Rock cannot do.

Cons

We are a small church and have realized over a long period of time that you almost have to have a full time person or team that is solely responsible to rollout Rock and maintain it. I know that it spectacular for larger churches with large staff but was far too much for a medium sized church to implement.

October 2018

User Profile Picture

Josh from Simple Donation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Leave expensive ChMS systems

Pros

Have you ever thought it was weird that a private hedge-fund bought both Fellowship One and Shelby and created a quiet monopoly in the ChMS market? Rock is the free, open-source rebellion against monopoly higher prices and lower service for church software. With Rock you have a church database system that allows you to automate ministry workflows and view ministry reports. Want to see "Show me everyone who's attended twice, who's not in a small group, who lives within 2 miles of an open small group". And then you can put that into a list to send an email to them, or make a list for a pastor to call. The best part of Rock is how easy it is to get help and support in the community slack chat. Rock users hang out there all day and answer each other's questions.

Cons

You install Rock on your own server. 1-click, handled-for-you hosting has not arrived yet (2018-10-18). (But it may have by the time you read this) Going from "I'm interested" to "we are setup and running" is the hardest part. You'll probably need a tech-savvy person at your church OR work with a Rock Partner (professional consultants). One common path is take advantage of Microsoft's $3,000 non-profit credits to host on their Azure cloud hosting. So if between saving the money you'd spend on your current ChMS and having effectively free hosting on Azure, there's a big incentive/budget to get yourself over the "we are now setup" hurdle.

August 2018

User Profile Picture

Chris from Willow Creek Community Church

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Fully featured, incredibly customizable, and a pleasure to work on

I have heard from many of the church staff from different ministries that they genuinely enjoy using Rock, and it saved us from using multiple different systems with separate, redundant databases of our congregants. Everyone's jobs are made easier with Rock. The community is incredible and the core development team works closely with us to make sure that any changes we're making are the best they can be for us and for the community. It's an absolute pleasure working with Rock.

Pros

Although I am a developer that has made many customizations to the software, I am consistently impressed with how well-designed all of the features are, and how many of them there are. A church could do incredible things with this software without employing a developer. But when we do choose to customize or build new features, Rock makes this process incredibly easy compared to other systems I have worked on. New versions are released all the time with a plethora of new features. Just when you think Rock couldn't possibly do any more for your church, they announce a new version with things you never knew you wanted but now must have!

Cons

Anything I could mention here would be nitpicking.

August 2018

User Profile Picture

Brandi from Christ Fellowship Church

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

An awesome relationship management system for any size church

We were on Arena and migrated to Rock v7.3. Before go live we did a huge amount of planning, process redesign with the inidivual ministries as well as training everyone. Once we went live, we had probably the best softwear launch ever in my 20 years of managing software releases. We launched to 9 campuses across kids, students, volunteer check-in, events, connects, groups, and next step registrations, integration with Pushpay and Secure Give, email and text to workflow etc. We are getting ready to deploy 7.4 next week and will start testing v8. We are super excited to start utilizing content channels to basically replace our website and have partnered with a group of churches to build a mobile app completely open source with Rock as the back end. Our mission is to impact our world with the love and message of Jesus Christ to everyone, everyday, everywhere. Rock helps us to use technology to do that!

Pros

Rock is so powerful right out of the box but because it is open source, intuitive, and there is huge support community that comes with it...Rock has completely transformed our IT department. We can quickly delivery small, medium and large asks from all areas of ministry. This in turn is changing how the ministries are looking at processes in general and they can see results.

Cons

Truthfully there aren’t really cons, the folks at Spark are awesome in helping us to customize where needed on the more complex functions and where it make sense they actually add the functionality to core product. They are growing and so is the community of Rock developers.

September 2018

User Profile Picture

Mark from FCC Memphis Mo

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Not only is it the most affordable, it's simple the best!

We are using the Rock to help us bring together the reach of the web and the power of data to make disciples.

Pros

I love how flexible it is. We generally don't have to worry about workarounds like we did in systems past. We love how it fixed so many of our difficult problems without becoming a problem itself. The community is also a great part. You aren't buying into a company, you are joining a community.

Cons

Waiting for the newest features and tools. It can seem like forever when it's something you didn't even know you needed until you heard it's coming soon. Then you have to wait until it's polished and ready. When it's here though, it's basically Christmas.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

COMMUNITY + VISIONq

Awesome, the team behind Rock has been incredible and the community via slack has helped me more than I can count and we are still just implementing the tool. If you are a developer church or if you are an admin that just needs to get your church organized, Rock has a solution that fits the smallest and largest of churches.

Pros

The team that supports Rock is incredible, and the people/Churches that use Rock are incredible. The ending result is a momentum that has fast forwarded Rock RMS past most, if not all, of the top applications that have been around for twice as long as Rock has.

Cons

Nothing to report here. Rock so far has worked to close the gap on anything that arises as an issue.

September 2020

Jo from Lifegate Church

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Rock Rocks Data and Event Management

We have been using Rock for over a year and are very happy with the change from our previous management software.

Pros

Rock is so user friendly and intuitive. I use Rock daily for data capture and retrieval and event set-up.

Cons

I have not found anything that I dislike about the software at this point. I have had no difficulties in finding solutions to my needs.

January 2017

Michael from Christ's Church of Flagstaff

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2017

Rock brought us into this century

We were stuck on another piece of software that still looked and ran like it was from the early '90s, but unable to afford anything better, for years. We got into Rock very early after its launch and haven't looked back! From an admin standpoint, I've been extremely happy with the direct access to the data it's afforded me, while keeping the users in a wonderful and user-friendly environment that's available from anywhere. Most reports are available easily enough per the documents, but every once in a while you'll find a more esoteric view of your data that can't be done "out of the box" yet (the reporting functions are growing quickly). No problem- the amazing community has helped us generate any reports we could hope for using powerful tools like SQL queries. And that's an important point to mention, despite the fact that there's no official support for Rock, the community is by far the best support for any product I've ever seen. Since launch, we've digitized so many previously analogue processes and saved our pastors so much time in their days, thanks to the power and accessibility of Rock - everything from inquiry forms, requests, signups, checkins, spiritual growth process tracking and followup, can be centralized in Rock itself, making it our one stop shop for our staff A word of personal advice: if you're trying to save a few bucks, you may be looking at running Rock locally on a Windows Server, but if you do, understand that you'll need to be comfortable configuring SQL servers and web servers, as well as firewall rules and SSL certificates. I highly recommend any of the many hosting companies who support Rock instead, if that's not your particular cup of tea...many of those companies make Rock a nearly turnkey solution.

Pros

Flexibility and power afforded to the admins- open source with plugin structure means that you can leverage anything available in the incredible data stored in Rock

Cons

It's not as easy for end users to generate any little report they can think of on the fly, so it's extremely helpful for the administrator to be passingly familiar with SQL

January 2017

Christopher from Rockford First

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2017

Excellent Start, Even Better Plan

We moved from Arena to Rock in tandem with some changes we were going through as far as how we do ministry. Rock either has a feature or gives you the tools to make the feature, for whatever your church can dream of. Rock is a very powerful ChMS solution that continues to get better without forcing you to make budget cutbacks in ministries to afford it. A really easy to overlook benefit to using Rock, it's really easy to understand what you're looking at when a page loads because the pages are designed with that in mind. This is a huge benefit when training Volunteers or rotating staff (like interns). The community is great! There's a strong community of Rock users that share a Slack channel and help one another innovate at their church and to fix problems when they arise. You no longer have to sit through the tier-0 checklist you normally get when calling tech support, rather you get to have a conversation with real people that have been working with Rock since before you ever knew about it. Being a part of this Rock community is what keeps me from being afraid of tackling all of my church's ChMS needs "without a team". The most exciting thing about Rock is how customizable it is. Rock's Workflow Engine allows you to be very attentive to all of your attendees without having to manually check up on each person. You can do processes as simple as texting someone who visited for the first time a thank you message and an invite to coming events. You can even build full-featured follow-ups to someone joining a small group to make sure it's a great fit. The possibilities are actually limitless. It's honestly a blessing to use Rock to leverage our technical skill to empower our ministries to do things that they've never tried to do before in fear of the administrative overhead. My church has only scratched the surface of what Rock can do, and it's already making a difference after being on Rock for less than a year

Pros

Customization, Community, Growth Potential

Cons

Host Server has to be Windows Server running IIS, Database has to be SQL

July 2017

Van from Hillside Christian Church

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

Great product!

Our mission is to love people as we lead them into a growing relationship with Jesus Christ. This software helps our teams do exactly that by making the technology invisible and bringing relationships and connections to new levels.

Pros

Rock is so powerful and open. Our church is a fairly large multi-site church in West Texas and Eastern New Mexico. We had been looking for a product to transition to for several years that met the needs of our ministries. Rock has met all those needs. There are tons of great features and a growing app store and eco system that allow you to add just about anything you and your church can dream up. There's great community support that's free and several amazing vendors that can support churches of ANY size or develop custom code for a feature you wish you had. You can run it on your local server or install it in the cloud. It's easy to learn, intuitive and works on ANY device. It's mobile friendly and your teams can expect to be able to do anything from their smartphones that they can do from a computer. The developers have a great roadmap and have a track record of hitting or beating expected release dates. It's also great to finally feel like we have a voice with our CHMS platform. Can't say enough good things about it.

Cons

I honestly haven't found anything that I don't like. It's really hard to find anything. If had to choose something that I like "least" I guess it would be the documentation needs to be updated a little but that's being SUPER geek nit picky because the documentation is MUCH better than our former software.

September 2017

Tom from Southeast Christian Church, Louisville

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Hands down, the best church management system we've ever used.

Full-featured church management system that scales to churches of any size. The product is highly extensible and built on cutting-edge technology.

Pros

Rock comes with a ton of functionality out of the box, and the user interface is snappy, clean, intuitive, mobile-friendly, and highly customizable by non-developers. The Rock community is just as responsive as the product, so the combination of superb/forward-thinking innovation and community support makes this product second to none. Amazing, new features are always being added to the product by the core team or by developer/partner contributions to Rock's app store. The mission statement at Southeast is "to connect people to Jesus and to one another." Rock is one of the tools that helps us accomplish this goal on a daily basis. I look forward to seeing the Kingdom impact that this product will have as it gets rolled out to more churches and organizations across the globe.

Cons

It not only takes a village to raise children, but also to speed up the development of an open source project. Rock needs more people with skin in the game giving financial, prayer, development, product evangelism, training, and documentation support. The sky is the limit with God's blessing and the backing of more Kingdom workers.

February 2020

Joseph from Fellowship Greenville

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Great community-based tool for managing church/house of worship data

Rock RMS is THE tool we are using to manage all internal data. Congregants can log in and register for events, give tithes, and make changes to their family profiles, and it is all updated in real-time for staff to manage. We use it for project management, resource reservation, and mass communication. It is very good.

Pros

The web based interface is very easy to use, and it is very customizable for the organization's particular needs. The history tracking feature is very helpful.

Cons

At times the interface can be slow to load, and some of the parts of the GUI, it is not always clear if you need to click a "save" button or if it is auto-saving.

August 2018

Brent from CedarCreek Church

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

The next generation of church management systems is here!

This is a monumental shift in what is out there. Instead of shoving your church data into a pre-built box solution from a vendor, this is a set of Legos that comes pre-assembled, functional out of the box, but allows you to fully customize what you see, where you see it, and even how it looks. If you have further skills, you can even code your own integrations with this. They didn't lock it down like so many vendors do.

Pros

Open source, shared community, highly active Slack support community, plugin shop, fast growing wave of adoption... Look, this is the future of church software. It does everything we had with a very expensive vendor of the past 15 years and it does so better, with more ability for customization, and is free to smaller churches. Larger churches should support the core team for sure, but even that isn't forced. The heart behind this product is incredible and the product is constantly improving with 2-3 major releases a year! We're seeing more flexibility and customization happening than we've had in the past 15 years combined and we're on year 1 still.

Cons

- There is a learning curve with self hosting, but there are 3rd party partners that you can pay to migrate or set you up, and extensive step-by-step documentation exists as well. - You don't NEED a developer to use this, but having one can sure make things easier and allows you to customize.

September 2017

Josh from The Creek Church

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Recently implemented Rock install and loving it.

Lower cost, more power, more flexibility, greater ease of use.

Pros

Rock's feature-set far exceeds our previous solution that cost > $1k / month. Biggest pro is access to data: if we are recording the data, there is no limit to how it can be processed or viewed. Second biggest pro is flexibility: the entire software is open source and extensible. Beyond that, we were very surprised at how much customization and flexibly were available without ever writing a line of code. Lastly, Rock is a much more polished solution than other options we've looked at: more features, mobile friendly, a UI that just makes sense.

Cons

The flexibility definitely requires knowledge and time to setup and administer. We definitely wouldn't change that because of the flexibility it provides, but you should expect to need a knowledgeable point person that has time available.

July 2017

Paul from Fellowship Greenville

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2017

Phenomenal - better product than the paid options out there

Customizable, powerful Relational management system for our church that also drives our website.

Pros

The Development team - they continue to crank out quality updates that are flexible to the unique needs of various churches, but are powerful and relevant to what we need. The pricing model also works for non-profits. There is no cost, but you are encouraged to support the product based on the number of users you have in your church/group. We transitioned to this product from another product that cost us in the five figures to purchase and then also to maintain/develop. Not only has our experience been better, but we are excited about what is coming. We do support the development team as suggested because we believe in the mission of the company and in the product they are producing.

Cons

Some features that we had in our old management System are currently not available although that is rapidly changing. A missions trip module has just been developed and by the time of this post, should be publicly available.

August 2015

Derek from Central Christian Church of Arizona

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

August 2015

Great features and huge potential for this new product

Rock RMS is the future here at Central Christian Church in Arizona, where I work as the Network/Systems Administrator. We are migrating from Arena (Shelby) to Rock this year. As a large church (10,000+ weekend attendance and five campuses) we have robust needs and requirements for our Management System; from event check-in, communications, website, people management, contributions, process/workflow management, reporting, and more. I have been able to watch Rock develop from a bare-bones system (v 1.0) to a robust and feature-rich product that can perform all the functions a church like Central needs. But, it is flexible and intuitive enough to be used by smaller organizations (not just churches!) without robust in-house development and IT support. For me, the biggest feature/benefit with Rock is its flexibility and configurability. As you think about the data you need to maintain, the tasks you want to automate, the ways you want to communicate, you will find that the flexibility with Rock can make it possible. Spark Development Network is actively developing the product, adding features/function/polish. As an open-source product, Rock RMS is also seeing an active and growing 3rd party developer community offering further improvements and features. The support community is also developing rapidly, as more people use the product and become familiar with it. The community forums are a great resource for users to get their questions discussed and answered. Finally, the documentation that Spark has provided (and continues to create/update) is fantastic! There is a treasure-trove of manuals and videos that dive deep into all the great functionality in Rock, without being too technical or difficult to consume. My experience with Rock, and the community surrounding it, has been excellent. I know that the Spark Development Network team (and others) have been working tirelessly to make this product as excellent as it can be. And, the work continues!

July 2016

Matt from Hallmark Baptist Church

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2016

Exactly what we needed

Knowing the investment of time and learning needed, we were looking for the right church software for several years. We were impressed with the rock community and the potential with the software 18 months ago. We implemented a few portions of the software 12 months ago, and decided to baby step our way into all of its capabilities. We knew early on in the implemtation process that Rock was going to something really good for us. And already, with out even using all of the features, we are in love with the program. We don't even want to think about the "dark ages" (life before Rock RMS) any more. As a church administrator and a ministry leader of a church, Rock has been an incredible resource for our church.

Pros

Customization, ease of use, powerful tools, Rock Community.

June 2017

Luke from Highlands Church

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

RockRMS has fantastic tools to track and reach your congregation

Pros

Out of the box, Rock comes with, based off of the different systems we've used, the best and most well thought out feature set for tracking congregational involvement and reaching out to the people at your church. The developer's commitment to make these tools available to churches of any size and resource level puts this software into a class of its own, which is truly focused on utility and ministry needs, not providing some tools in return for collecting huge monthly fees as well as processing fees from the church's tithe money. Additionally, because the software is open source, there's a large and growing community of users who support each other with their experience and expertise, in a way that's generally much faster than support we've received from competitors who were paid large amounts to support their own product.

September 2016

Michael from Desert Vineyard Church

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2016

Rock can do it all

We have been very pleased with Rock's capabilities. What comes in the "out-of-the-box", core features has been so much for us to explore and implement, while also having the ability to grow in almost any way through all the open ended features if you have a capable developer to bring larger churches to the next level. As a medium sized church we have found that with a little work we can have Rock doing so much for us that we weren't able to do with a pervious database. With no developer on staff, I have still been able to learn some basic things that have helped us go beyond the core features and tailor-make Rock do things specific to our needs.

Pros

Adaptability, the community of support, the core features, the cost.

Cons

Finding a good external hosting company, wanting to do more beyond core features but needing increasing skills in IT and Development that we currently do not have.

April 2017

A-A'ron from Pinon Hills Community Church

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2017

One size never fits all, but Rock can be molded to fit perfectly.

Rock RMS is a community supported (support can be provided by a third-party at cost) open-source (meaning it's free as in 'freedom' and free as in 'free food') ChMS. While Rock, I feel, takes a bit longer to get setup and running compared to other options it does allow you to customize a lot of aspects of it. I would highly recommend reading their awesome documentation to get started. Once you learn how to play with and use all the neat little tools and Lego blocks to customize Rock for your church you will feel like a super hero! If you ever get stuck, the Rock community is always willing to help. I've only just begun to unlock the potential Rock has and I'm very happy with it.

Pros

Actively supported Great Community Open-Source

Cons

Intimidating at first. While not required, to get the most out of it you'll want some experience with HTML.

March 2018

Adam from Lakes Area Vineyard

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Great concept & idea, but hard to implement

Pros

We loved the fact that there would be a cheaper and just as effective alternative to Community Church Builder. It has all of the bells and whistles that we would need and seems like a super slick platform.

Cons

Well, it'd be great if we could get it launched. We wished that there were people that Rock RMS would suggest us to contact in case we wanted help in launching the platform, building/setting up the server, etc. At this point they provide several manuals on how to implement, which is great if you are super "tech savy" and know your way around servers and deployment of sites, but we don't. So in other words, there isn't a lot of direct support to get implemented...people that will help you or do it for you, from start to finish. I did post some questions on their forum and answers were given really quickly (which we did appreciate) but the answers were given at a level that you'd have to have enough server/web knowledge to understand what they were saying.

Response from Spark Development Network

Replied March 2018

Hi, Adam. You're right, support does look a little different in our open source model. We do have the online guides and videos, and the Q&A site, but it sounds like you might have missed our Rock Partners. They offer migration and support services. You can find a listing on our website at: https://www.rockrms.com/partners?Category=13.

October 2018

Elizabeth from Watermark Community Church

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Administrative Staff Praise!

I get to use Rock as a team leader for our children's ministry. I use it to help track attendance for children week over week to see that parents are not showing up and help me to know to ask the parents how they are doing and if I can serve them and pray for them.

Pros

Easy to use and visually easy to see what I need to see to do my job. I can easily find the information I need to know about the parents of the children I am responsible for. I can see history and make informed choices about the future weeks instead of going off my gut and memory. I now have the tools to save money and love people better that are in my ministry.

Cons

I haven't found anything yet that has been a problem.

November 2016

Amber from Miami Church

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2016

Helping us grow!

I am part of a church plant in Miami, FL. We started off using Rock RMS, and it has been a huge help for building our church and keeping communication intact on our team. We have two full time staff members, while everyone else is part time or volunteering, so we don't have the budget for a huge database that comes fully equipped with certain features we don't really need yet. Rock RMS is open source and very customizable. It takes some time to get it up and running, and we had great support from their team (thanks again, Trey!). One of my favorite features is the ability to send emails or text messages directly from Rock RMS - it saves me tons of time each week! I'm excited for all the possibilities Rock RMS will give us as we grow.

Pros

- Customization gives you possibilities. - Send communications (emails, SMS text) directly from site. - Create reports and see data on metrics.

Cons

- Customization/open source means you have some up front work when you want to use new features.

August 2018

Carla from The Crossing

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

RockRMS Rocks!

The people are friendly and reachable. The Core Team listens and makes changes when needed. By far, so much better than any corporate software company I have dealt with.

Pros

The ability to do so many things without having to be a developer, etc. The community that supports Rock is amazing and answers questions to much faster than any tech company. Out of the box Rock does so much more than your usual church management system, but the fact that you can customize so much of it without having a developer, has truly changed my job as a DB Admin in incredible ways.

Cons

There are some assumptions made about how you should handle your data that I would make differently. So, it is a little frustrating when I run up against those things, but the community is always there to help with a solution.

August 2016

Ashley from Hallmark Baptist Church

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2016

Rock is wonderful!

The Rock has made keeping up with the people in our church almost effortless. Attendance, membership dates, prayer requests, specific needs, and reminding us of upcoming birthdays are just to name a few things it does for us. With profile pictures, important dates, and connecting people through the relationship feature, this software not only helps formally build our records, but informally we are able to get to know our members and visitors better. I have loved everything about the Rock.

Pros

It's easy to learn how to use and it does everything I would want a church management software to do.

July 2017

Morgan from Willamette Christian Church

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

We Love Rock

Pros

The fact that Rock is so customizable and learning how to utilize that customization capability is so easy, makes this an incredible software. It has impacted the way we interact with our congregants in every way. Also information is easily accessible to our staff and easy to find.

Cons

To utilize it's full capability you need a staff member who is devoted to learning the ins and out. You don't need to hire someone specifically for Rock but you do need someone on staff who is willing to learn the ins and outs and put the time in to make it great for your organization.

March 2018

Kyle from New Hope Church

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Perfect for our church. We love the functionality and you can't beat the price.

Rock has more robust communications, including texting. Workflows to automate tasks are a huge time saver. Each member's profile page is clean and has everything you need at your fingertips.

Pros

We love the features out of the box but the strength of Rock is that it can conform to the way you do ministry. Most Church Management Systems constricts you to doing ministry their way. Rock fits to your processes and procedures. The automation with workflows is a huge time saver leaving more time for ministry.

Cons

The support system is weak compared to other Church Management Systems. They need to provide a better on-boarding experience. The manuals are good but not everyone learns by reading. I would suggest more videos and examples in the manuals.

November 2017

David from Hallmark Baptist Church

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

This product had revolutionized our church management.

The organization of member information enables us to minister more effectively to their entire family.

Pros

It's so easy to use. You can create whatever data metrics you choose. I love how I can keep track of our church members and put faces with names.

Cons

You have to really think about what categories you need with the program. There are also several steps to forming groups.

February 2019

Holly from Christ Fellowship

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Changed the game for us

Pros

Implementing the Rock RMS system was the biggest thing that we did to be able to better understand - and structure - our church data. It is user friendly for ministry leaders, yet powerful enough to build strong analytics from it. The open source model creates a network of partners that can help you out if you don't have a large IT team.

Cons

There is still a learning curve with Rock, and probably a few too many data fields (that can cause confusion at times).

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Rock on with Rock RMS

We have been able to have our entire organizations RMS as well as our web page tied together in one application. So learning it is huge, but the time saved is well worth it.

Pros

There is nothing held back as far as access to your data. The community all works together to support and create add ons as well as core features. So enhancements are made quickly.

Cons

It was overwhelming at first because it was so massive with its features. But given time, you can easily jump in and swim like a pro.

November 2016

Don from The Rock Church

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2016

Very Pleased

The Rock Church has been using RockRMS for over a year and have been very pleased with the features and the community of users behind it. We would recommend this software to any church large or small. If all church software was built around this same paradigm, it would be so much easier for startups and smaller churches to survive. These guys ROCK RMS.

Pros

Easy to learn and use. Cost effective. Great community support.

Cons

Lacks some of the features of other RMS systems, but they are continually improving it.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Rock empowers the global church to grow!

As our church has grown, the issue of scalability was quickly becoming an issue. We had over 20 years of data to transition, so not just any church management tool would work. Rock is sleek, user friendly, but most importantly is ready to scale with the global church! It's already allowing us to reach more people and has simplified processes for our admin volunteers, which has already made more margin for staff to do ministry.

Pros

Our church LOVED the switch to Rock. Its simple, clean and intuitive user interface made the easiest tool to train our staff team on. People were literally cheering and clapping throughout the training over the simplest of things.

Cons

Likely a localized problem, but we had to migrate an EXTENSIVE amount of data over from our former database. We love all the data because it's so rich and has helped us grow, but we're still slowly gaining back some of the reporting capabilities we took for granted in our previous system. We miss the ability to mine all the data for great reporting, trend and pattern watching, too.

August 2018

Mark from Watermark Community Church

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Rock enables Ministry

We have been using Rock for about a year, and have already started to allow our church staff to focus more on ministry and less on administration to allow us as a staff to focus on the people and not on the event/administration.

Pros

Flexible and Powerful, but also easy to use with great documentation and a great community of support

Cons

We have yet to find any problems with this system. The community is there to support and work with you whether you are a church of 50 or a church of 30,000

March 2019

Wayne from Sherwood Park Alliance Church

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Excellent First Year - One Year in Productive Use

Since going live with Rock for our Church Management System, we have integrated more aspects of our church into one system, lowered our operating spend and improved our serve to our congregation. It has been more than we hoped for.

Pros

The ongoing development of the product. The donation model of license fees. The strong features for churches. The quality of the code. The Rock team.

Cons

The new features that keep coming take time to evaluate.

May 2018

Tim from Highlands Fellowship

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Rock is designed by the church and has thought of every detail imaginable.

Pros

The flexibility of what the rock can do is amazing! I don't know why everyone in church world isn't using the rock. It has been one of the best decisions we have made as a church.

Cons

Least would be the time to build things out for more complex features. Wrapping your head around workflows at the beginning is hard but once you get it the power is amazing!

November 2016

Jake from Accounting in Motion

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2016

WOW! Great Potential!

I recently walked through the implementation of Rock RMS at a church I was working for. The software functionality is incredible and sports the latest in developmental advancements and functionality from Content Management to Customization. I don't think I have seen a more powerful resource management system (especially that is open source). The collaboration and creation of this software has been miraculous. I attended the Rock RMS conference in Phoenix about one year ago and could see that so many brilliant people were pouring their heart and soul into developing, testing, and refining this software. While it may always be in development, the team behind the software is great and the software itself offers capabilities well beyond other systems. While the implementation and setup may require some special skills (as well as the customization), there is support to help from a willing and intelligent community, which is the backbone of any great software.

Pros

This product can be tailored to handle anything.

Cons

May be difficult to initially customize.

August 2018

Andrew from Manna Church

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Amazing ChMS

It has been incredible - I have actually learned a TON of new things using this product. Just the fact that there is a community ready to answer any questions instead of a slow sale's staff saying they'll 'get to it' is great.

Pros

This is a church software unlike you have used before. It is open-source, fast, user-friendly and completely customizable. You can use it out of the box with no issues if you desire and there is a community of churches waiting to help you with any wild questions you may have.

Cons

Check-in must use Zebra printers (which are pricey)

November 2015

Robbie from Renovation Church, Simpsonville SC

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

November 2015

Rock continues to help us grow relationships....

The ability to look at my iPad or cell phone on my way to a hospital visit to see everything I need to know about the person before I walk through the door is HUGE! The way this software can be customized is unbelievable! We came from CCB and this is SO much more useful. The fact that it is free is great, but we believe in Rock and how it is designed for the work of the Church so much that we are donating money to further the development. Being a open source project you can look at the code. The top line of code is.... "To God Be The Glory". That says it all. Support is a funny word. With our past experience we had a number we could call and with enough time and the ability to explain the problem to the "right" person we could get a resolution... eventually. Rock itself has no number to call. What they offer is a community of users that are eager to help one another solve problems and develop customizations to the software to make it suit each individual ministry. I have found that with one post to the community forum I have an answer very quickly. There also is now a support company that has created a division to be a "one stop shop" for everything from hosting to support for Rock. ChMS software is just a tool. Our staff would not want to go back to doing ministry without THIS tool.

October 2016

Kelley from Fox River Christian Church

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2016

Great Software, Better Community

We've been on Rock for about 18 months now. We are thrilled with the flexibility of Rock. We have complete access to all our data so any report we want can be generated. We have the ability to add fields we need and if needed purchase or write plug-ins to fill any integrations we need. The only function that isn't there yet that staff ask about is volunteer scheduling. We were able to do our migration to Rock ourselves. There are partner vendors available to help churches that don't have the IT staff to handle doing it alone. The developers regularly seek feedback on features and are very open about what is coming next. The community surrounding Rock is AMAZING! There is an active Q&A board and Slack channel. Questions are answered quickly by someone in the community. Questions and problems of all types are answered respectfully and helpfully. It doesn't matter if you are an IT person, developer or ministry staff, questions from the most basic to the super complicated are welcomed. The community is very willing to share anything that they have built or coded. Ask someone how they did something and they will likely send you the files or code needed to do it. It is great to have software, developers and a community that truly want to make my local church as efficient and effective as it can be!

August 2018

Tiffany from Fellowship Greenville

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Great RMS system

We have been using this system for over a year, and the customization you can do is immeasurable.

Pros

This system is easy to use out of the box, but also has many areas for customization.

Cons

There is not a customer support area, but there is a huge community of users that can be utilized.

August 2018

User Profile Picture

Paul from Southside Fellowship

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Great Product, Greater Community

We have been using it for over a year and continue to be excited about future version releases.

Pros

User Friendly. Web site and Church DB all in one. Lots of modern features built in to the core product.

Cons

No Paid support ; although the community is very supportive via social tools.

January 2019

Kaylin from Blue Ridge Community Church

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Rock RMS Review

Rock is amazing! God is using this product and the people behind it and ALL about the church!

Pros

Open source, mobile friendly, customizable, constantly coming out with new features, ministry minded.

Cons

Hard to learn, must be self taught. Significant computer knowledge needed.

November 2018

Andrew from Blue Ridge Community Church

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

The RockRMS, Becoming the Standard

Pros

The Rock RMS is a church management software that we recently began transitioning to from another leading provider. Our big attractions to The Rock were based in it's cost-effectiveness (it's an open sourced platform) and it's power. With knowledgeable programmers, it can be integrated to perform nearly anything your team can think of. It can also integrate with Planning Center Online. In addition, there are many options out there for help getting started with RockRMS if you are lacking the expertise within your local church.

Cons

The length of time it takes to transition from our current church management platform to The Rock. It's understandable why it takes so long but it should be noted that it isn't a quick transition.

July 2016

Josh from West Side Christian Church

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2016

Moving to rock

We're moving from Arena to Rock for our church. We love the ease of use and that it's built mobile first. We look forward to digging into the workflows to make the most of its abilities. The community is great--we can jump on slack and get any question answered by people who know and USE the product daily.

Pros

Simplicity. UI. Integrations. SMS capability.

Cons

Check in process, but it's getting better.

May 2017

Grady from Gateway Baptist Church - Montgomery, Alabama

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

Incredibly powerful and user friendly cloud based database and community tool for churches

Improved office productivity, improved communication with our members, and much more

Pros

After years of using two other church database and communication tool solutions, Rock is a breath of fresh air. If far surpasses the previous solutions we have tried. We love it's intuitiveness and ease of use. It has a powerful feature set, yet is adaptable to each church's needs. It provides our members the opportunity to more easily connect with one another and with opportunities within the church.

Cons

We have no complaints at all about Rock. I was concerned at first about the lack of a "tech support" department, but their online guides, user forums, and Rock partners who provide support have completely alleviated that concerned. We love Rock RMS!

July 2019

Erik from Bethany Baptist Church

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Kicking the tires

Pros

I've been a long time user of another church management software. I have a lot of friends that have switched over to Rock RMS. I've heard people say that Rock would be a good fit for my situation. There's no cost to download and try out the program, so I gave it a try, just to kick the tires a little. My reaction was mixed. It has a nice clean interface. You can tell this is not the first time for these programmers. It seemed solid and organized.

Cons

I was surprised how much it couldn't do out-of-the-box. There was quite a bit I heard that it could do, but then learned those features required extra setup or installing some kind of add-on that was written by someone else that may or may not be able to help you if you had any trouble with it. I am not ready to start over all the customizing that has been done with my current program. But, maybe someday.

November 2017

Allison from Hallmark Baptist Church

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

we use the Rock for our check in and church management - it has everything you need in one system

Pros

That I can access it from my phone or computer and that we can minimize the amount of info that people can see.

Cons

I wish when searching for a person, you could click on the whole family, instead of each individual .

Displaying 1 - 50 of 82 reviews