User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(25)

25

4 stars

(6)

6

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "I enjoy using Ripple for our academic research/psychology studies. I enjoy that everything saves automatically and it is generally pretty user friendly and easy to use/teach. "

  • "Ease of use and thoroughness. It seems like they thought about everything- must have people on the team that actually do research so know what is needed. "

  • "The calendar feature as well as the completing tasks are crucially helpful in our longitudinal project "

  • Cons

  • "Mobile feature needs improvement, there should be an app! "

  • "My only concern with this software is that it logs you off after very few minutes of use. It can be frustrating to log in every ten minutes or so. "

  • "For the uses of my study, the updates and good customer service have led me to have no dislikes at the moment."

Browse Ripple Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -19 of 31 results

June 2018

Suzy from Penn State University

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

This software has facilitates my ability to keep track of and schedule research participants.

It has enhanced my lab productivity and enabled us to keep track of participant recruitment in a much more precise way.

Pros

It is HIPAA compliant, which makes it relatively easy to work with the IRB to get approval to use. It allows for lots of customization for your study design. It is easy to add and remove study team members with different levels of access. You can send reminders for members of the team to do different tasks associated with participants and study events. You can set up study events based on expected dates or that are triggered based on the completion of other study events. There is a registry (database) that houses all the subjects that you have entered. It is easy to query this database and select potential participants into specific studies.

Cons

I would like to see an easier way to input large numbers of potential participants into the registry from a csv file. I would also like to see a more integrated calendar and scheduling system and emailing system.

May 2020

Brianna from Pregnant Moms' Empowerment Program

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Remote Work Made Easy

My team is able to track recruitment and retention, which is very helpful when deciding which community organizations we should put more energy and resources toward. We then thank our community partners for the referrals and strengthen our bond by referring our participants to them. This community networking has played a role in when and how we communicate with participants, another aspect that is well tracked in Ripple. We can also assign Ripple tasks to team members and associate them with specific participants, thus accounting for everyone on our team and in our program.

Pros

Our team transitioned almost everything to Ripple, before the coronavirus began to affect our research protocols and data collection. Our familiarity with the product prepared us to transition to remote work very smoothly. We have greatly appreciated Ripple's customer support and desire to enhance the system's features. Some of our favorite features include the creation of tasks and the ability to track recruitment and retention strategies. Without Ripple, our administrative team would have a hard time communicating participant information in such detail.

Cons

There is always room for improvement, but it is evident that the Ripple team values customer feedback and is working around the clock to provide as many relevant features as possible. I imagine it is difficult to field the amount of feedback that they receive, but their communication about their goals and progress is fantastic!

Response from Ripple Science

Replied May 2020

Hi Brianna, Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that Ripple supported your move to remote work during this disruptive pandemic. We look forward to enhancing the application more in the future, especially in regards to task management and ensuring you can focus on nurturing your participant relationship. Thank you!

June 2018

Shailee from University of Montana, Dept. of Psychology

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2018

We use Ripple in my developmental psychology lab for recruiting and managing participants.

Pros

Keeps the whole lab on top of recruiting and running participants through our study. It's a great way to see what tasks are completed, what still needs to be done, and who is doing what.

Cons

It is not always the most intuitive to use. Specifically, the interface gets clunky as participants increase. The two-page system (when extra participants roll over onto the next page) is very confusing. I'd prefer to scroll down a single page than click through different pages of the status headings. Furthermore, the calendar would be much more useful if the event were clickable. Then, users would be taken to the page with the participant information when the event is clicked. Adding export functionality would also greatly improve the usefulness of the Ripple calendar.

May 2020

Jacob from University of Utah-College of Psychiatry

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Great Interface with Lots of Potential

Pros

It is really easy to use and is optimal for recruitment workflow as well as tracking participant status in a study. It's also great as a quick reference to look at participant contact info.

Cons

The dates logic can be kind of wonky. For example, it normally prompts the next study visit some amount of days after the last visit. This is great, but some visits occur a set amount of time after the baseline, not the last visit, so this can make the set dates really off for some participants. The dashboard could also be more useful in regard to showing a richer database set, such as how many participants completed a study phase for example.

Response from Ripple Science

Replied May 2020

Hi Jacob, Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you find the Ripple recruitment features so beneficial. In regards to your feedback on scheduling flexibility we recently released a major update to this functionality that will allow you to truly customize the date calculation process. Take a look at the Study Settings - Events page to take advantage of these new features. Thank you!

May 2020

Stephanie from University of Michigan

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Best Research Management Software

Ripple is invaluable! It's efficient and prevents steps from falling through the cracks. I highly recommend research teams schedule a demonstration with Ripple wonderful team to learn how Ripple can work for your project.

Pros

Ripple is incredibly easy to use and customizable to your specific project needs. Ripple is so efficient, Research Assistants on our project were able to take on more responsibility and tasks, eliminating the need for an entire position. Ripple makes it easy to track all the moving pieces of a research study and tasks each staff member needs to do. It's also effective for project managers to see aggregate data for reporting.

Cons

The only features that could use improvement is the recruitment tab. Sources are unsearchable and it can take a while to locate a specific source.

Response from Ripple Science

Replied May 2020

Hi Stephanie, Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear Ripple's flexibility and efficiency have helped optimize your project team. We are making some improvements to searching and filtering in multiple areas of the app, and based on your feedback will be sure to research how the same enhancements could be applied to the recruitment tab. Thank you!

May 2020

Charis from Wayne State University School of Medicine

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Ripple is a must for human research!

Ripple has been a game changer. When the alternative to tracking participant contacts is an excel spreadsheet, there really is no comparison. Not only is it easy to use, it is easy to teach. Especially during this transition to working remotely during the pandemic, Ripple has allowed our team to get a study up and off the ground.

Pros

Ripple makes it easy and convenient to create participant databases, keep track of enrollment stats for regulatory and grant writing purposes, and get new studies off the ground from existing ones. One of my favorite features is the web link to the screening form. This allows you to share a link through social media, advertising websites, e-mail, text, etc where participants can then input their own information and automatically pop up in your database. Ripple is also extremely useful in longitudinal studies because it gives suggested dates for next appointments based on your settings. Ripple essentially serves as a screening and enrollment log and gives you fun graphs describing the demographics of your sample and the effectiveness of various recruitment tactics.

Cons

Most of the things I would like to see out of Ripple are already in the works (i.e. integration with outlook calendar). However, Ripple is not great about notifying team members for new events. For example it would be great if team members would get a notification when a new task is assigned to them or when a new participant is added from a screening form. Our team was initially curious about the benefit of Ripple of REDcap since we primarily use the latter for data collection and there is some overlap. Personally, I think the two work in tandem and should not replace each other. While REDCap has minimal scheduling features, they are not nearly as sophisticated as Ripple.

Response from Ripple Science

Replied May 2020

Hi Charis, Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that Ripple has been so valuable to you during the switch to remote work. Hopefully you have had a chance to take advantage of our recent updates to flexible event scheduling. We appreciate the feedback regarding notifications. We are working on updates to the personal user homepage and hope to incorporate some better visibility into personal tasks as part of that. Also, be on the lookout very soon for the release of the Outlook Calendar integration. Thank you!

June 2018

Rachel from University of Montana

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

As an early adopter of Ripple, I have seen many improvements in functionality and features.

Pros

My top three features are: 1. Participant database. We keep participant information (securely) and can use various parameters (e.g., age, gender) to determine if an individual is eligible for a study. We also can track our contact with potential participants, as well as which studies they've participated in (and use this as exclusionary/inclusionary criteria for future studies). 2. Study management. Although there is still room for improvement (see below), it is super helpful to be able to create groups (experimental conditions) and track participants within each group. We also use the task function as reminders and records of the specific tasks associated with each session (e.g., preparation, data entry, follow-up, etc.). 3. Recruitment sources and analysis. The recruitment source database is great for maintaining record of all recruitment sources, contact information, and a log of our contact with each source. It has also been useful to see which sources have yielded the best lines for recruitment, so we can put our limited recruitment resources to best use.

Cons

There are a few features that I would really like to see: 1. Automated session confirmation and reminders. It would be really helpful if we could send scheduled participants a session confirmation (text or email) and then a reminder a day or two before a session. 2. Calendar function that allows us to automatically push de-identified session information (at the time of scheduling) to a cloud calendar so research assistants can see when they have a scheduled session. 3. Random assignment to study conditions. I would love to see a random assignment function to study conditions/groups. 4. More clarity on study set-up parameters (and how to use them to track number of participants by these parameters). There are loads of options for indicating various demographic parameters for a study. For example, indicating number of boy and girl for each age group. However, it isn't intuitive how these nested parameters are trackable within the study dashboard.

May 2020

Janine from UC San Diego, The BRIDGES Project

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Great for research!

My team and I have had a great experience with Ripple! [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has been and continues to be extremely helpful. She responds and meets with me via zoom right away, for that I am very appreciative!

Pros

My research team has been utilizing Ripple since 2018 and we are extremely in awe of all the features it provides. We are able to safely and privately access participant information using our work computers instead of carrying around paper documents. I believe being able to organize and keep track of participants' confidential information remotely has been extremely important, especially during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Cons

I think I would prefer the calendar to remain the same even when tasks and visits get completed. Whenever we complete participant visits, their name and appointments get deleted from the calendar since they are completed. I would personally prefer for their names to remain on the calendar as a way to keep track of when those visits were instead of looking into their charts/pages.

Response from Ripple Science

Replied May 2020

Hi Janine, Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear Ripple has been beneficial during the pandemic upheaval. We know that safe and secure access to your data is integral to your success. Regarding your feedback about the calendar, there is the ability to filter and show completed events at the top of the Calendar page. We also have some updates planned to add additional filter options to the calendar. Thank you!

May 2020

Leah from University of Michigan

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

The recruitment software you didn't know you needed

I use Ripple every day for the recruitment of participants. It has created a great platform that allows for creativity and customizability for each project while ensuring complete organization and ease for contacting many, many people a day. In a previous research setting, I used RedCap for the entirety of recruitment. In comparison, Ripple goes above and beyond anything I've experienced previously.

Pros

The things I like most about Ripple are the ability to customize variables, the recruitment progress tracker, the ability to assign tasks to coworkers, the ability to screen participants through the software and not have to input data later, and the overall ease of navigation.

Cons

Something I feel could be improved is the contact log. I wish there was a way to track recruitment progress by looking at particular types of contacts (whether that be email, phone call, texting, etc.), as well as archive particular contacts (just one phone number) for each person. A VERY simple fix that would change my life would be when clicking on "Add Contact", the 'Contact Date/Time' would automatically update with the current date and time so I do not have to manually put it in for EVERY contact I create under each participant.

Response from Ripple Science

Replied May 2020

Hi Leah, Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear about the positive impact Ripple has had on your research. We are always looking for ways to improve the app and are excited about our upcoming releases that should address some of your feedback. Coming soon look for major changes to participant contact method management, as well as improved default dates on both the contact log and event completion. Thank you!

May 2020

Erin from University of Michigan

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Ripple Review

Pros

It is extremely helpful to organize your recruitment process into groups of individuals (e.g., those you need to email, ineligible), and mark where individuals were recruited from. This lets our study team know how much progress has been made and from which source we are seeing the best recruitment. Additionally being able to organize enrolled participants into groups helps when you have multiple conditions. Lastly, the comments feature is great to note down details.

Cons

It is quite easy to accidentally move a participant from one group to another with your mouse, which causes confusion later on. Perhaps once a participant is placed into enrolled, there could be a feature to double check movement of participants so that subjects do not get accidentally shifted around.

Response from Ripple Science

Replied May 2020

Hi Erin, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you are getting so much value out of Ripple's recruitment tracking features. Hopefully you have had a chance to take advantage of some of our latest enhancements to participant statuses and events. We appreciate the feedback on accidentally moving participants. This is something we will definitely take a look into and see if we can make the app more error proof. Thank you!

May 2020

Lebogang from Setshaba Research Centre

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Working easy and smart with Ripple software

I am more involved in scheduling of participants and what I really like about the systems is that when you update the visit date as scheduled Ripple already gives you the net appointment date , that is so amazing.Then you are going to find those participant in the calendar highlighted in different colors. I also like the fact that if you miss to update participant or they somehow miss the visit, they stay red making it very easy for you to follow-up.

Pros

The fact that the software is not user dependent, it does everything on t's own and also the audit trail.

Cons

The fact that it tends to be user dependent at times, if you don't d certain things correctly it will not play along. It is guided by the user

Reasons for Choosing Ripple

It's easy to use

Response from Ripple Science

Replied June 2020

Hi Lebogang, Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that the scheduling features in Ripple have been valuable. Hopefully you have had a chance to utilize our most recent updates regarding flexible event scheduling. We are always looking for ways to improve the product and plan in the future to provide more automation, hopefully reducing some of the user dependency. Thank you!

May 2020

Taylor from University of Memphis

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Clinical Researcher's Best Tool

Ripple has allowed improved the research team's cohesiveness as we are all able to use Ripple simultaneously and can easily pick up where another team member left off. Additionally, having Ripple has been a LIFESAVER in our transition to remote work and we were able to keep data collection going with minimal delays.

Pros

Our work is longitudinal and we rely heavily on participant contact for our retention. We love the contact log for tracking how often we reach out to participants and what methods of contact we used. It is easy to recognize when someone needs to be scheduled or called and allows us to keep participant information in an easily accessible place.

Cons

The most challenging part of ripple has been navigating the imbedded screener. We have had issues with the current screener indicating new participants are eligible when they are not. To avoid this, we simply move the participant to their enrollment/ineligibility status manually.

Response from Ripple Science

Replied May 2020

Hi Taylor, Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear how much Ripple helped your move to remote work, and hope to continue to add features to facilitate your team's collaboration. We are always looking to improve the app and will take your feedback regarding the internal screener forms into consideration as we build out our roadmap. Thank you!

June 2018

Lisa from Purdue University

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Customer support is outstanding and responsive to our needs

Pros

We love that it is a cloud-based, HIPAA-compliant participant management software. I also find the tasks manager to be useful in organizing the everyday structure of our study. Our lab uses the automatic triggers, which are very useful though they could be programmed to be a bit more flexible in terms of the events that trigger them. We also use the bulk tasks and assigning features often, and they are very helpful and user-friendly.

Cons

There are some small usability and aesthetic details that are less-than-ideal (e.g., when typing in descriptions the window does not expand so you can only see small chunks of what you're typing, there is no easy way to get to "My Tasks" without looking through a list of everyone else's tasks, when viewing a participant profile the whole page scrolls together so you either lose your place in the list of participants or on the profile page if you need to scroll, etc.) There is no easy way to see a list of all participants in a study, unless you don't create statuses. Study setup was more difficult for our study where participants complete different components of the study (and different number of assessments) based on which group they are in - however, we have been able to work around this with some creativity and the help of the Ripple team.

May 2020

Rachel from University of Michigan

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Simplifies research!

Pros

Ripple features assist in many phases of the research process from recruitment to scheduling to tracking longitudinal participants. The scheduling features and integration with google calendar are very helpful, and the ability to predict the next appointment for longitudinal research is essential for our projects. Tasks associated with each event ensures our study stays on track as well.

Cons

There can be a learning curve to understanding all the features of Ripple, and training involved in teaching colleagues, but once you master them the utility is worth it.

Response from Ripple Science

Replied May 2020

Hi Rachel, Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you are taking advantage of Ripple's Google integration to help with your scheduling needs. Hopefully you have had a chance to try out our recent updates to expected event scheduling. Your feedback on training is appreciated, and definitely something we are looking to expand upon. Look for updates to our support documentation coming soon. Thank you!

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Ripple has been an extraordinary help to my team and I in terms of organizing our project.

Ripple has almost eliminated our need to use multiple different spreadsheets, calendars, and databases to keep track of all the components of our study. It's features have made our staff feel much more organized.

Pros

I love being able to customize so much within Ripple. Adding custom variables to each participant and creating our own event structure has really helped us keep track of important, unique variables in our study. Additionally, the bulk task feature has been immensely helpful for experienced members of the team as well as newcomers to ensure all responsibilities are completed. These are features that cannot be found elsewhere.

Cons

In our research study, the day to day schedule for our team is constantly changing, for both our participants and our staff. Unfortunately, Ripple's calendar feature is not customizable enough for us to rely on.

May 2020

Naomi from UCSD

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Easy and effective

Pros

The calendar feature as well as the completing tasks are crucially helpful in our longitudinal project

Cons

Mobile feature needs improvement, there should be an app!

Response from Ripple Science

Replied May 2020

Hi Naomi, Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that Ripple's calendar has been beneficial to your research. We have recently made some minor improvements to our screener forms to ensure they are more mobile friendly. We know that mobile access is an ongoing need for our customers and hope to continue to enhance Ripple to address this need in the future. Thank you!

July 2018

Rachele from The Minds Lab

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2018

Using Ripple has been a great way for my entire lab to be organized and efficient.

Pros

We love the flexibility of the program and how easy it can be to create a system that works for our specific needs. The calendar has been a particularly useful tool for us to stay organized and connected as a lab. The same goes for our Tasks tab.

Cons

Some of the Dashboard statistics are not very helpful, and information is asked of recruitment sources which is then no utilized in the Dashboard statistics. We would like to be able to exclude pilot participants from our general participant lists, but there is not a function to mark a participant as a pilot participant. We would also like a global place to organize all participants in our lab, regardless of what study they were in. Then we would like to access this global information to see which studies a participant has been in to help us shape future participant recruitment plans. We would also like to see the participant's age in the 1-line summary of participants displayed in enrolled or potential participants tabs. Would love to be able to email right from the system, but I also see why this would not be advantageous in some situations.

June 2018

Merranda from University of Michigan

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Intuitive, easy to use, versatile, and can be changed to work for multiple types of studies.

It makes managing studies so much easier. The friendly format ensures less mistakes happen. I can formulate tasks to appear based on various events. Since there are so many little things that need to get done in the recruitment process, everything is much more streamlined now.

Pros

I like that the basic structure is so easy & intuitive, but it also allows for so much user-specific changes that make having multiple studies under one account so easy and efficient. I am a study coordinator, and using one study with ripple and one without, all my RA's prefer using ripple.

Cons

For the uses of my study, the updates and good customer service have led me to have no dislikes at the moment.

May 2020

Summer from University of California, Irvine

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Ripple for Small Studies

Ripple helped us shift our research study folders from paper to electronic, which provided everyone with equal accessibility and better ease to change and input information as needed. It has helped our team become more organized and focused.

Pros

I enjoy using Ripple for our academic research/psychology studies. I enjoy that everything saves automatically and it is generally pretty user friendly and easy to use/teach.

Cons

I think that the searchability of the software could be improved. Sometimes you need to know exactly how to search for something in order for it to show up, even if you know it definitely exists within the database.

Response from Ripple Science

Replied June 2020

Hi Summer, Thank you for your review! We are glad Ripple has helped transition your research to a digital and remote friendly format. Ease of use is one of our primary goals, so it is great to hear that you have found Ripple easy to learn and teach. We have plans to improve filtering and sorting on some areas of the application, and hopefully we will be able to expand these improvements to include searching in general. Thank you!

June 2018

Ketlyne from UMich

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

very good experience with ripple and responsiveness of team in troubleshooting problems

Pros

having a single streamlined place where we can track participant information and contact in a hipaa-compliant environment. as well as write notes and assign tasks related to participants so team members can pick up easily where the last person left off

Cons

downloading data. would like option to not not include PHI (ie, have option to select participant ID only) when we download recruitment and demographic data. as it is now, there is only one download option, and it downloads everything recorded under each case, including PHI.

June 2018

Vrinda from Banyan Botanicals

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Amazing customer service. Fantastic platform- so easy to track participants without confusion

Pros

Ease of use and thoroughness. It seems like they thought about everything- must have people on the team that actually do research so know what is needed.

Cons

Would love an added feature that helps you download participant data into an excel file- we have other platforms for that but would be helpful

Response from Ripple Science

Replied June 2018

Hi Vrinda, thank you so much for the review! We are glad that you found Ripple comprehensive and easy to use. Regarding the export to excel option, this feature can be found under Site Admin> Export. Here you will be able to download any study participants into an excel file. Thank you!

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Ripple has facilitated greater ease, organization, and more effective collaboration in our research.

Greater ease and efficiency in our research. I love the effective collaboration the software promotes.

Pros

The option to create and utilize checklists for every step of the recruitment and study process is so intuitive and helpful--I love the functionality of the software as a whole, but especially the interface.

Cons

Site logs users out EXTREMELY fast. I know this is important to ensure privacy and confidentiality of sensitive information, but perhaps a prompt that notifies the user the page is about to log off could be utilized. Also, in order to login to ripple science, you need the direct link to the login page. It's not searchable using google and can't be found through the ripplescience website. A simple google search directs users to the purchasing page, but without the direct link being emailed to me by my study coordinator, it's hard to see how users should navigate to the login page.

June 2018

Erin from Banyan Botanicals

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

I have appreciated the ease and organization of this technology. It has been a pleasure to work with

Pros

Compared to another platform that we use in our team, I appreciate that everything can coexist in one database with all the studies that we conduct. I love that you can make live changes - it is extremely intuitive and user friendly.

Cons

To date, I have not experienced anything that stands out as a major con with the software. Perhaps one of my colleagues may find something, but thus far as a team, we have been pleased. It has made our jobs easier.

June 2018

Cecilia from University of Michigan

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Ripple has made keeping track of hundreds of participants for our clinical trial easy and possible!

Pros

It is incredibly useful for keeping vast amounts of information about our participants in an easily accessible (but secure) location. This software is specifically designed for studies trying to keep track of many participants and has so many functions specific to that goal.

Cons

My only concern with this software is that it logs you off after very few minutes of use. It can be frustrating to log in every ten minutes or so.

June 2018

Rachel from University of Michigan- Department of Psychiatry

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

I used Ripple to create a registry for research patients.

Pros

I loved Ripple's customer service! They were always willing to adapt tools within the software to fit the growing needs of study coordinators and think outside of the box to get us what we needed. The recruitment tools are great to keep track of all of your efforts and budget your time and money efficiently. I had very little experience in setting up a database and coordinating a study when I started this project, but Ripple made it so easy to designate data fields and upload data!

Cons

Ripple wasn't necessarily designed to be just a registry which is what our site originally purchased the software for, but Customer Service reps were willing to walk us through step-by-step to figure out how to get the most out of Ripple. We liked it so much we actually ended up managing all of our new studies with this software!

May 2020

Grace from George W. Comstock Center

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Great Tool for Organizations

Overall wonderful experience with Ripple.

Pros

Easily accessible and very quick to learn the software. Wonderful tool for all types of organizations.

Cons

Navigating to your own company site is hard. I would like to see the ability to find your organization in a drop down menu on the main Ripple page.

Response from Ripple Science

Replied May 2020

Hi Grace, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that Ripple has been easy for you to learn and access. We will definitely take your feedback regarding navigation into consideration as we look to improve the app in the future. Thank you!

June 2018

Daniel Elbich from Lab of Developmental Neuroscience

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Overwhelmingly positive.

Pros

The learning curve to using Ripple isn't very steep. I was able to get a good handle on it within just a few sessions. I also like how is it is fairly easy to customize to specific study needs or parameters.

Cons

I would like either an expansion or no limitation on the number of potential studies that Ripple can have ongoing. For larger labs this can become a problem due to different collaborations or study requirements. Also there could be some improvements on some smart adjustments for dates and projected return visits for studies with multiple time points. At present if you have to update event A, events B and C need to be hand adjusted. This can become troublesome for 20 or 30 something contingencies all centered around prior events.

June 2018

Giorgia from Penn State University

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

I used Ripple for my dissertation participant recruitment and it was so easy and useful!

Pros

The interface is very user-friendly and allows you to easily keep track of your project progress. It helped me to really stay on top of my rate of recruitment.

Cons

It is more difficult to use when you have many people on a project, but that just takes some organization on the part of the team.

June 2018

Afsara from University of Michigan

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Overall easy to use platform that could be made better with a few adjustments!

Pros

The software has a user-friendly interface and I like how we are able to customize how we sort our participants.

Cons

I would like to be able to click on participants on the calendar and be directed to their individual file; the current version does not allow this.

July 2018

Laura from UofM, Dept of Psychiatry

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Database start-up, database user

Pros

I enjoy the ease of use. It has a great interface that is very very intuitive and clean. I also appreciated how well it migrated our data from our previous system.

Cons

Haven't found anything to complain about yet. The one time we did find something that did not work well for our team (and there wasn't much) was reported to Savanna, our customer service rep, and changes were made in the software within about 6 weeks.

June 2018

Natalie from Penn State University

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Great software for managing sensitive information

Pros

It is easy to securely login to Ripple from any location and machine, which means users are not restrained to one location in order to be able to access important information. In addition, Ripple's ability to track progress was instrumental in helping multiple research projects in our lab meet critical deadlines.

Cons

It is currently difficult to assign more than one ID to an individual (e.g. if they participate in multiple studies within one lab). Adding this feature would help users track the participants that have participated in several studies.