All CaptionHub Reviews

1-20 of 20 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Martin

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Translation and Localization

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2020

CaptionHub streamlined our transcription and subtitling requirements.

My overall experience is very positive. Previously having to reach out to third parties in order to obtain estimates was timely and frustrating.

Pros

Ease of use, functionality and speed. The ability to get an overview of a project quickly to provide a quote estimate is very valuable to the sales team.

Cons

None as of yet as I have not had to do bigger projects.

Reasons for choosing CaptionHub

A colleague was familiar with CaptionHub and recommended it.

Sam

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2020

At Last: Voice to Text that Works Well

I get asked for transcripts and captions and I preface my introduction to CaptionHub the same each time: I tell them it works really well and if the contributors have clearish diction then they'll get a 90%+ accurate transcript. SO, I'm definitely an evangelist for this software. I would say I haven't tried any others so I can't compare. I tried Dragon years ago and wasn't good. I find the software works well for me. I also look at the approval functionality and that's interesting, we Doni;t use that, but I can see how that would be essential in certain circumstances.

Pros

I love the fact it it can transcribe a 3min video with 90`%+ accuracy, and that it can spit out transcriptions and captions in different formats. I like the interface for setting timings of captions. That's great.

Cons

There's nothing I disliked about this software. I wouldn't phrase it like that. I'd say 'Things that could be improved'. The interface isn't as intuitive as I'd like. So I wish it could be redesigned so I don't have to spend 3 mins trying to remember how to get the Transcript. If I used it more than once a month then I'd remember.

Luke

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

March 2018

A simple way to add subtitles to short video.

Pros

Relatively easy to use and edit/tweak the subtitles after the fact. Quick transcription and processing is good, as is the ability to download an SRT file.

Cons

The transcription has trouble with grammar, guessing where sentences start and end can be troublesome. It also has trouble differentiating between different voices, so subtitles run continuously despite a change in speaker which can be difficult to edit. It's also a massive pain that a new 'project' is actually just a new video. There's no option to organise a project with multiple videos or versions into one bin or folder which is an organisational mess. I've discovered that the features here aren't much better than those of YouTube's auto transcription which has me questioning the value of the service.

Response from Neon Creative Technology

Update response: We agree, better project management is important and to address this, we released project tagging that can be defined by the user. This allows you to organise, categorise and sort your videos, as well as running reports like filtering your Chargeable Activity view by tag. As for YouTube's transcription service, which relies entirely on Google Translate, with CaptionHub you have access to multiple transcription engines, including the advanced Speechmatics V2 engine. We have also released our Custom Dictionary feature to bias speech recognition so that you can auto-transcribe technical terms with confidence. The features available in the Pro Pack includes sophisticated alignment tools, custom dictionaries, the ability to manage your projects with metadata, as well as automatic edit detection and subtitle positioning.

Replied November 2019

Nina

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

February 2020

Feedback and suggestions

I think the transcription and translation abilities on caption hub are great and it's a great software to have a subscription to! Thanks!

Pros

The software is user friendly with a very straight forward design that's easy to learn. The transcription works really well with American English.

Cons

I wish the transcription would work just as well on British English as it works on someone with American accent. Also the software is quite tricky to use on a 13 inch screen - if there was a way of modifying your workspace that would be great! I have discovered a bug when you edit a caption, you then have to click out of it and click on it back again if you want to split or merge two captions, otherwise it doesn't change the most recent edits. Additionally I'm using a wacom tablet and I can't select a specific bit/place/timecode on a timeline, I need to click on it with a mouse.

Alan

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

March 2018

Impressive subtitling service. Easy to use and fast to export.

Pros

Making amendments is simple. English subtitles pretty pretty accurate (75%). Options to export as text file or as a video file with burnt-in subtitles. Sending the translations across to other people for amendments is very easy and there is no need to explain the software.

Cons

Can't change the font or background of the subtitles. Translations only gets under 50% correct. In English, doesn't do well with even mild regional dialects. I would like to make individual changes to the source video file (replace the video) of translations videos but you can only change the original source video.

Response from Neon Creative Technology

Alan, thanks for your response. We have introduced a variety of changes to speech recognition in the last 12 months, including an upgrade of the core engines. We have also released a new feature whereby you can customise rendered subtitle fonts, font face and size, background colour, font colour, outline and transparency - as well as the existing screen positioning. If you need any help enabling this feature, please let us know.

Replied November 2019

Jon

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2018

Very pleased with the capabilities and ease of use

Pros

The speed and accuracy of the AI based transcription is excellent, but it is the ability and ease at which one can then go and make small alterations to the automated text generated that really proves the value of this software. Great stuff

Cons

I would very much like to see this sort of feature-set available for live streaming capabilities too. Allowing the auto-captioning of a live stream with this sort of accuracy and speed would be incredible.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2018

The platform is really intuitive and easy to use for both linguists and LSP.

Being able to work on subtitle translation on the same platform from creating the source subtitles to exporting the rendered video.

Pros

The possibility to have a timeline with a waveform makes it the go-to platform when you need to work on the translation of subtitles into multiple languages.

Cons

Not being able to edit the source and then update it in the translations view. Not being able to adjust what kind of e-mail notifications you want to receive.

Lars

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2020

An essential tool in the Vice workflow

Pros

I like that CaptionHub automatically analyses video for cuts and scene detection.

Cons

I don't like that CH reduces the audio quality of a video, making it harder to discern fine details in speech.

preeti

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2020

Easy to use software

fairly easy and straight forward - the face it integrates with our video streaming systems makes uploading and downloading so much easier.

Pros

it does what it says - creates captions and saves time with regards to subtitling.

Cons

some tools are not so easy to understand and could be labelled better for new users.

Jonathan

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Translation and Localization

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2020

Content Overall

CaptionHub is more affordable than other subtitling agencies and allows my company to use our own linguists which is very nice.

Pros

I like that I'm able to made several edits and render it several times with the charge only being once. It allows room for error and tweaking and that's convenient.

Cons

It was pretty annoying when I wanted to subtitle a few minutes out of 60. I would delete the captions and the screen keeps a tiny black rectangle, so I had to manually deleted a majority of the captions. There was no way to delete them in bulk, it was very time consuming.

Reasons for choosing CaptionHub

Price and ability to use our own linguists here.

Reasons for switching to CaptionHub

Price and ability to use our own linguists here.

Peter

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Media Production

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2020

Made life easy

Pros

We were producing 2 kiosk apps featuring several films on each, in 12 languages. Having this translated and timecoded manually would have been expensive, time consuming and error prone. Sending it back and forth to the client for feedback would also have been clumsy and difficult without captionhub. Caption hub allowed us to simply download approved subtitles for every language in a fraction of the time, in any file format we needed for our application. Made life very easy indeed.

Cons

Some of the UI is a bit dated and could be improved.

Raul

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2018

Intuitive and easy to use, a great tool.

Much faster and better quality captions translation.

Pros

It is really useful to the able to see the translated subtitles live in the video as you work, that provides better context and reduces the steps needed in the translation and QA process, and therefore the time needed. Also, the fact that it is possible to download final subtitle files is really useful.

Cons

The Fact that it is not possible to introduce a change in the source subtitles and then implement to the translation projects once they are started, that would be really useful in some projects.

neil

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2018

easy to use and good customer support

We have a new policy of making sub-titled video available to all employees, from an inclusivity point of view. This is a cost effective way of achieving that.

Pros

Easy and quick to use. Taking a finished video, producing a transcript then publishing captions takes very little time, and there's even a function to translate into other languages (but we haven't used that function yet).

Cons

producing a video with the captions burnt in (so you can copy and share the video widely across your platforms) requires the upgraded version of Captionhub

Serenella

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Translation and Localization

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2018

I've been testing Captionhub to be used in a Postgraduate Translation Course for didactic purposes.

I am going to integrate the teaching of CaptionHub in my new MA module on Professional Skills for Translators.

Pros

The UI is quite user-friendly and the tools I liked most are: Autocaption, Autotranscribe and Autotranslate.

Cons

Unfortunately, from a didactic perspective, students cannot perform timecueing from scratch, which is quite inconvenient, but hopefully it will be implemented soon.

Paula

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Chemicals

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2020

Simple and effective tool to manage video subtitles

Pros

1. Easy and collaborative way to subtitle and manage video projects 2. User interface is quite User friendly - simple and straightforward

Cons

1. Accuracy of auto transcribing can be enhanced 2. Inability to insert multiple videos in the timeline.

Stefano

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Farming

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

February 2020

Easy to use but some features should be added

Pros

Easy to use tganks to the fact that there are not too many options available still a few more features would be nice to have

Cons

It would be good to skip some part of the video in some language and to download more video size

Pasmi

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5