User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(14)

14

4 stars

(8)

8

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse AWS CloudFormation Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -29 of 21 results

December 2021

User Profile Picture

Shefali from Kroger

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2021

Must to drive infrastructure-as-code best practices

AWS CloudFormation has helped out organization to adopt infrastructure-as-code best practices and have much needed cost savings on cloud infrastructure.

Pros

Infrastructure-as-code best practices, infrastructure configuration in a template based approach, infrastructure automation provisioning, cost savings, no manual overhead

Cons

Need support for multi cloud Infrastructure configurations similar to Terraform tool

April 2021

Chetan from Persistent Systems

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2021

The best IAC tool for AWS Cloud

If your entire infrastructure is in AWS cloud, then this is the best IAC tool. I would say even better than Terraform in certain aspects if you are not aiming multicloud or hybrid cloud

Pros

It is easy to provision AWS resources and update them. It supports rollback. It also allows seeing the changes that will be applied using changesets. It is transactional , either all the resources are updated or none are.

Cons

The error messages when running the Cloudformation stacks are sometimes not easy to decipher.

Reasons for Choosing AWS CloudFormation

We have clear strategy that we will be using only AWS cloud. Cloudformation is better compared to Terraform when it comes to state management of the infra, the possibility of rollback and the transactional nature. In Terraform we have to explicitly maintain the state in S3 bucket. Cloudformation takes care of this as it is managed service. Being transactional , we are guaranteed that the infra will always be in consistent state.

August 2021

Martin from POAP

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2021

A valid alternative for IaC

So far it has served us well, but we are moving to CDK in the near future

Pros

- Templates are written in a YAML subset, which is arguably preferable to JSON - It provides many options to properly manage the stacks lifecycle - When coupling with Cloud Development Kit, it makes up for a powerful IaC solution for AWS - As with any other AWS service, you can manage CloudFormation in the best way that fancy your team needs

Cons

- It's hard to understand that some resources that are possible to tag, don't support tagging in the templates - Templates can get complex over time

Reasons for Choosing AWS CloudFormation

The majority of the team already had some experience with CloudFormation

September 2021

Raamnaaraayan from Infosys Limited

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2021

Infra-Provisioning Made Exceptional with AWS CloudFormation

1. I make the best out of CloudFormation for performing all my Infra-Implementations in my Dev, QA, Pre-Prod & Prod Environments. 2. It has amazing community support from which I can refer and practice best strategies for my deployments. 3. For detailed clarification regarding the features, excellent customer service support is provided by AWS. 4. It has a well-designed Documentation which helps me to effectively use the features and integrate with other AWS services. 5. The cost management by making use of its Stack creation is marvelous and no resource will be running in the background once you've decided to delete the stack. 6. For automation of multiple resources, I make use of combining CloudFormation with CodePipeline so that I can deliver my resources without any compromise in its integrity or configurations.

Pros

1. AWS CloudFormation offers me a spectacular platform to build and provision my organization's infrastructure requirements. 2. It provides me the feature of automation with various DevOps software seamlessly. 3. The compliance standards followed for each resource creation is top notch. 4. I can create, modify or delete the stack which is derived from my CloudFormation Template with ease. 5. It brilliantly integrated with multiple third-party software such as Git, Jenkins, Ansible, Docker, Kubernetes through its fascinating API functionality.

Cons

1. Once you create the stack in CloudFormation, you won't be able to change the name of the stack. 2. Deep understanding about the usage of scripts is required in order to establish connection with other resources. 3. For troubleshooting, the tracking of error logs in the associated CloudWatch entries is quite challenging in CloudFormation.

Reasons for Switching to AWS CloudFormation

The switch to AWS CloudFormation was made because all of our client requirements were entirely based on AWS Resources. The best way of handling your Infra-provisioning using AWS Resources is exceptionally done by AWS CloudFormation

August 2021

User Profile Picture

Ramindu from Virtusa Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2021

CloudFormation is the go-to solution to automate infrastructure builds on AWS

Pros

AWS CloudFormation is a infrastructure-as-code solution that allows you to bootstrap infrastructure and services within the AWS space. It contains a very comprehensive set of features to build out infrastructure with the necessary security controls and service integrations that you would need.

Cons

AWS CloudFormation has a steep learning curve for a service that only supports AWS.

June 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

Help to build AWS Infra on clicks.

Overall it is very good service to minimize and reuse all infra building work.

Pros

AWS CloudFormation help to automate and deployment of AWS Infrastructure. It is easy to build Templates and and deploy infra into different AWS accounts. and you can easily maintain versioning so if you want build older version infra will be easy. The best thing with AWS is Technical support, There is lot of support documentation and training videos available. Also AWS technical support team is available for 24X7.

Cons

When we do setup multiple AWS Services using AWS console to migrate it to different account AWS cloudFormation has little complex procedure. I feel happy if AWS cloudFormation template gets created with click.

April 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2021

Great application for viewing your deployment logs

Great service which addresses the deployment needs.

Pros

This service is a great way to look at the recent build, deployment logs for your services deployed on the cloud in various environments.

Cons

The builds sometimes take more time in running and the deployment logs are not displayed. Sometimes the stacks needs to be deleted if it can't be rollbacked.

October 2021

User Profile Picture

Aditya from Taxadda

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2021

One of the best cloud services

My overall experience was nice, It takes your application to a whole different level. Right now, A lot of companies are using cloud services to make thier application much more robust and easy to use and I feel one of the leading cloud providers are AWS.

Pros

The best thing about AWS Cloud is that, It has a lot of different features that we can use to make our app much more robust, fast and easy to use. It proivdes us with functions like cloud watch and email sending which we can use to keep an watch on our application and notify the developer whenever something happens.

Cons

The documentation for AWS Cloud is not upto the mark, As a begineer I found it a bit too hard to understand. A lot of the things were not clear and I was only able to make use of the features with the help of my superior

December 2021

User Profile Picture

Navneet Singh from Cognizant

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2021

The aws cloudformation review

My overall experience with AWS Cloudformation is quite amazing. It helps us in a lot of ways to complete our tasks done. Also managing, creating, updating, and deleting resources becomes easy with cloudformation.

Pros

The thing I like most about this software is that it has a ton of features. Also, it supports various IAAS like terraform, etc., and other serverless frameworks too. It is very easy to use and you can easily find good documentation about this. Also, the design tool of cloud formation is very good.

Cons

There are no cons to this software. It servers its purpose.

August 2021

User Profile Picture

Praveen Kumar from Successive Technologies

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2021

AWS CloudFormation: Same place to use multiple AWS services

I am very happy with the features and the ease to create resources on the AWS cloud.

Pros

We use this service to create multiple resources on the AWS cloud infrastructure. Like EC2, VPC, Route53, etc we create these services through CloudFormation.

Cons

Sometimes it takes more time to find the CloudFormation templates to create the resources on the AWS cloud.

Reasons for Choosing AWS CloudFormation

AWS CloudFormation is more powerful to create the resources on the AWS Cloud and we are using only AWS Cloud provider.

December 2021

User Profile Picture

Ernesto from The Beat

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2021

Quickly replicate your infrastructure or environment

We turned mandatory to add every micro service deployed to the CloudFormation template.

Pros

AWS gave us a way to start multiple services from a JSON or YAML file, CloudFormation. It is also possible to maintain, debug and assign environment variables that can be migrated easily to any other region.

Cons

There is no counterpart. It is as simple as it sounds, you can design a template that can start multiple Amazon services, no catch.

July 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Perfect for any cloud stack

Pros

It's super easy to create a cloud stack on any application. Cloud formation allows you to easily create a cloud stack, but also let's you manage security and roles easily.

Cons

When it comes to creating a cloud stack through the yaml file, thats when it gets super complicated. I really wish that they found a way to be more user friendly. It takes time to learn it before you finally get it right. Keep it in mind.

April 2021

Chetna from Irish Manufacturing Research

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2021

Ideal tool for Building IAAC services

I prefer CloudFormation templates for Serverless development

Pros

Cloudformation works with YAML/JSON files and has simple syntax to build large scale applications. It works well for deploying applications across multiple regions with simple code and is very useful for development and deployment in higher enviroments of software development lifecycle where console access should be read only/restricted

Cons

Sometimes I feel the error scenarios/messages are not well handled. I spend a lot of time debugging CFT templates

June 2021

Christopher from Restless Software LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Infrastructure As Code

Overall my experience with cloudformation has absolutely been positive. Automation of infrastructure is made easy once you become familiar with setting up your templates

Pros

The feature that are most impactful is the compatibility with multiple services. You can simple write a template and deploy entire environments in minutes form servers to databases. If you use Amazon's CDK you can take it a step further and write infrastructure as code in languages like typescript or python. The CDK then deploys directly to cloudformation.

Cons

What I like least about cloudformation are the error messages. Occasionally they can be a bit vague, which of course makes debugging take longer than it should. This happens most often when permissions/roles are off.

November 2020

User Profile Picture

Justin Emanuel from Walgreens

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

AWS we love Lambda

Multiple locations and databases . Some services aren't available everywhere .US Virgina servers is awesome and had Evey new update

Pros

AWS has a great CMS IAM were easy to use to add users . Setting admins and restrictions to Accounts were easy to setup up.

Cons

2 factor authentication sometime would rest multiple times durning server run time which causes disrubtions .wehn scaling up servers you may get over charged .

Reasons for Switching to AWS CloudFormation

Had more Developer with certifications

January 2022

Kevin from NewWave Telecom & Technologies, Inc.

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2022

Ease use of AWS Operations

Pros

Having the option to make another application utilizing either yaml or json inside cloudformation, you can even prearrange this out or utilize the architect apparatus that aws has included

Cons

The designer tool device is muddled to utilize however gets simpler to use subsequent to investing more energy in it and with thinking of a portion of the code to go with the creator you can make an application

September 2020

Aysan from TD bank

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Very useful for replicating infrastructure for different environments

Overall I really enjoyed this tool. It helped me to understand AWS services better and learn infrastructure-as-a-code which was very satisfactory for me.

Pros

With some level of AWS experience, I was able to start using cloud formation. As I got experience with other AWS services I could easily map it to my Cloud Formation stack. So basically my cloud formation skills grow at the same time as my AWS skills grows.

Cons

I was hoping this tool also support a basic editor view which allows me to design my AWS architecture without providing all the details. More like draw.io functionality. I'd like to keep all my AWS design artifacts in AWS other than back and forth between draw.io and AWS cloud formation

May 2021

David from 2K

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2021

Infrastructure as code

Pros

Cloudformation makes it possible to deploy stacks that create and update services by simply updating a template. I usually use it with the AWS CDK because I’m a JavaScript developer. It makes it very easy to spin up new environments very easy.

Cons

It can be slow to update and create. Sometimes it fails to delete and you have to delete the stack manually.

August 2020

Mehran from IBM Canada

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

A great infrastructure as a code tool

Overall I am very satisfied by this tool when I learned it.

Pros

It is very rich and inclued almost all of AWS services. The GUI is very good and the outcome looks great. It validates the architecture very well and provides proper warning and suggestions as needed.

Cons

There is a learning curve with this tool. Even as an experienced DevOps person you need to spend good amount of time to learn important features of this tool.

August 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2021

Seamless way to spin up cloud resouces

Overall, cloudformation has made the deployment a cakewalk. Much recommended to everyone who wants to use it.

Pros

It makes deploying EC2 instances so easy. With a few clicks and customization, you have a full fledged stack ready

Cons

Editing the Cloudformation template can be challenging. The format available is only JSON/YAML which limits the customization.

August 2021

Omar from Norm Software

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2021

Great Cloud Based Service

Pros

Adding AWS allows for my company to use and maintain less physical servers

Cons

You get what you pay for. Obviously the price for a small company makes a difference