All DNSFilter Reviews

1-25 of 75 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Matt

Information Technology and Services, 2 - 10 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed September 2021

Finally, DNS Filtering that makes sense

Nathan

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

We have been with DNSFilter for quite some time, and WE LOVE THEM!

Secure data, employee productivity

PROS

Great functionality, easy to use, easy to configure and manage. This software helps keep our systems safe and has increased employee productivity.

CONS

I honestly have no cons. We have been very pleased with every facet of DNSFilter. Any cons I ever have, the very quickly make an update that fixes them before I can even complain.

Eli

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

Good Product with Better Functionality than Competitors

Overall, my experience with DNSFilter has been positive. I would recommended the product.

PROS

DNSFilter helps keeps systems secure and monitored. Roaming agents allow the systems to be protected where ever they are located.

CONS

False positive malware detections can cause frustrations with customers who are not aware of the current IT security landscape.

Reasons for switching to DNSFilter

Cisco Umbrella roaming agents cause problems on systems that we do not have with DNSFilter roaming agents.

Dirk

Hospital & Health Care, 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed February 2022

Very promising but does not deliver…

PROS

Deployement is easy to start, Dashboard looks good.

CONS

fine tuning is difficult and lacking in several domains. The usefull extras are expensive. Customer support is not responsive at all. Be careful with sharing your credit card data during the trial period. They charge you immediately and if you cancel you lose access to the service (even when charged).

Don

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

DNSFilter is the best value for money in content filtering we've found.

Great feature set, solid performance, easy admin control, fair pricing. Gives us a way to do advance content filtering at a very affordable price.

PROS

OpenDNS went from free to unaffordable under Cisco. DYN got bought by Oracle, which then shuttered DYN's Internet Guardian. It was almost as if the market was conspiring to take away all affordable options. We were thrilled when we found DNSFilter (to their credit, the DYN people referred us!) DNSFilter gave us sound filtering at a very affordable price. We've got options to whitelist and blacklist , to create a bypass password, to customize the appearance of block screens and even allow users to submit possible false positives for follow up. DNSFilter offers a range of reports on usage and blocks on a level you'd expect to see only in higher priced alternatives. Their "per DNS request" pricing scheme is an innovative approach that's fair and reasonable and puts advanced web filtering out there for organizations which otherwise could never afford the features and functionality. After the initial configuration, it's more or less "set it and forget it" if you choose to take that approach, but even if not, normal admin work takes little time.

CONS

Sometimes it can be hard to keep up with new features. The company does send email announcements out, but I'll have the experience of logging in, seeing something new and wondering how long it's been there. That's about the worst thing I can think of to say about our relationship with DNSFilter. They deliver what they promise, and they continue to innovate and improve their product.

Paul

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2021

DNSFilter is an extremely versatile and flexible solution.

Extremely easy to set up and configure. This product just works, with very little tinkering required.

PROS

Very, very easy to set up. All I had to do was provide them the outside addresses of our routers. They figured out if they were in the same geographic area, and created unique 'sites' for each area. I could then customize each site with its own rules and logo, or apply the same filtering across any or all sites. Choosing what will be filtered could also not be simpler. All of the functions are clearly displayed and easy to configure. You can filter by categories, or create black/white lists individual sites. More importantly, unlike with a local appliance, by installing a DNSFilter client, users remain protected when they are roaming. Unlike a lot of companies DNSFilter has not lost their customer focus as they have grown. They constantly reach out to users with webinars to explain new features, and actively solicit (and act on) customer feedback. Billing is straightforward, and customer service (the very few times I needed to contact them) has been excellent and fast.

CONS

There is only a single password to override the filtering.

Reasons for switching to DNSFilter

DNS Filter requires no hardware appliance, and can be implemented for remote offices as well as portable machines.

Marc

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Great Product

I'm very pleased with this product overall.

PROS

I've used this service for several years after switching from a pricier competitor. DNSFilter is very simple to deploy and maintain. I use it for 3 different networks. It's reliable, performs well, and the policies are very configurable. I don't currently use all the features they have to offer.

CONS

We started using DNSFilter when the pricing model was per internet request. They've since changed pricing to a per user model which recently made it more costly for us. However, the service is still tremendous value for the $ and is probably still less costly than competitors. I didn't even bother researching alternatives when our rates went up.

Reasons for switching to DNSFilter

I was seeking better value for basic DNS services and features and this product hit the mark.

Lonnie

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

DNS Filter filled a gap

Overall the experience has been great! We needed a software to add web protection and this fit perfectly. We’ve only used the Windows deployments so far but I’m happy to know that we can expand to various other setups if needed. It’s protecting us and our clients from online threats that would’ve otherwise not known about.

PROS

The software is lightweight but very effective. Very easy to deploy once you get used to the online portal.

CONS

The filtration can be a little bit too strict. There could be an ad or a link on the page that shows is good, but the page won’t open until you dig deeper to find the culprit. Whitelisting usually resolves that. Sometimes it’s hard to find the culprit.

Greg

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

DNSFilter works well with pfSense firewall/router at our high school.

I found myself wanting to find and use all of the features of DNSFilter, so I called their excellent tech support and the sales rep, who also knew his product very well. It was necessary to learn more about Google Workspace for Education in order to take advantage of

PROS

First, it worked with my specific firewall/router, pfSense. Second, the cost was appropriate for our school. Third, it is easy to make separate policies for students, teachers, administrators, staff, and IT. Fourth, a roaming client is included. We successfully tested it's capabilities, and will be installing it on all of the students' Chromebooks by pushing it out from the Google Workspace for Education dashboard.

CONS

Insights Reporting shows yesterday's activity when you first use it. It is a small annoyance when you want to see current activity.

Reason for choosing DNSFilter

I have tested 3 of the other DNS content filter offerings, and DNSFilter worked perfectly (see my previous comments above) and gave me the reporting I wanted, for the price that our school could afford.

Reasons for switching to DNSFilter

Many reasons. DNSFilter does not adversely affect the performance of our pfSense firewall/router. The artificial intelligence used by DNSFilter seems to make it very responsive to new threats, and keeps false positives to a minimum. In fact, I have not experienced a false positive, nor have I been able to get around DNSFilter to get to a blocked site.

Matt

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

We've been incredibly happy with DNSFilter!

At our school, we switched from Cisco Umbrella to DNSFilter just before the 2019-20 school year and couldn't be happier. The initial setup only took 30 minutes or so, and that included creating a custom block page with our logo. Filtering is set by categories, blacklists, and whitelists. In addition, there are options to block threats like cryptomining, malware, phishing, proxies, and others. You can also create different policies based on the source IP address. So, we could have the faculty and staff VLAN have one policy while the student VLANs have different policies. The pricing is also great in comparison to Cisco Umbrella.

PROS

Easy to use filtering DNSFilter is an easy to use content filtering solution. Policies are easy to update, the DNS servers are fast, and support has been great the couple of times we've run into issues.

CONS

Like any DNS content filtering solution, you need to prevent users from using different DNS servers to get around the filtering. We use our firewall to block outbound DNS traffic to any other hosts which does the trick.

Reasons for switching to DNSFilter

We initially made the switch from Cisco Umbrella (OpenDNS) based on cost as we were trying to find ways to stretch our tech budget.

Matt

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

Finally, DNS Filtering that makes sense

Our overall experience has been great. No complaints from end-users regarding their internet connections, and the admins are very pleased with the intuitive management dashboard.

PROS

- The product has been incredibly reliable and any issues we've encountered were a result of a configuration on our end, not an issue with the product itself. - The overall configuration of sites and granular policies is very intuitive and easy to use. - The reporting features are far more in-depth than are previous solution.

CONS

The lack of alert notifications is the only issue we've encountered while using the software.

Reason for choosing DNSFilter

The price point, management dashboard, and ease of use were all deciding factors in choosing DNS Filter over the alternative products.

Reasons for switching to DNSFilter

Our previous solution was incredibly difficult to configure with granular policies and typically required opening a support ticket for a back-end configuration. Also, the reporting was too generalized and slow to serve any beneficial purpose.

Rob

Broadcast Media, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

I have tried them all, DNSFilter exceeds all my expectations.

Save money, protect our users and network from Malware.

PROS

Quick response, low cost. Excellent alternative to the slow and expensive competitors. New features are constantly coming.

CONS

No email alerts available. Reports could be better, I would like the ability to drill down to the user/machine level.

Lee

Retail, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

DNSFilter

PROS

This product was a drop-in replacement for a previous DNS filtering service we had been using. The previous solution was not dependable but DNS Filter has been a marked improvement. DNSFilters DNS servers respond quickly and reliably.

CONS

I have only been using DNSFilter for a few months and I have not yet found any serious flaws.

Reason for choosing DNSFilter

Cost

Reasons for switching to DNSFilter

Reliability issues with Webtitan

Anass

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

DNSFilter was definitely the right choice for our company. Easy to install and easy to use .

PROS

DNSFilter is a software that offer a lot features that we may find somewhere else but really expensive. We have been looking for a good web-filter with a limited budget, DNSFilter offered a better, easy software to use and a perfect price for us. The support team are awesome, always answering quickly and efficiency. I will would recommend this software as they keep doing update and add more features without asking to pay more. Really good deal.

Mark

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

Good function for good value

PROS

Easy to use, easy to set up, easy to monitor. Very simple to use in multiple locations. Good support. Minimal performance impact.

CONS

The online reporting sometimes has issues when switching between time periods. It appears to get confused on the time period.

Matthew

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Great Product

Very happy and would recommend it.

PROS

Ease of use. Simple to deploy. Configuration made sense.

CONS

Block pages are tough to configure at times

Reason for choosing DNSFilter

Ease of use and price.

Michael

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

DNSFilter is easy, affordable DNS security

PROS

DNS filter has been easy to use, we just got our partnership about a month ago and deploying it has been simple. A couple snags but support is very fast to respond and fix the issues or give me the steps to resolve the issue.

CONS

Adding new clients to the portal causes a lot of useless noisy emails

Paymon

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Affordable content filter for schools

Our students are protected from online threats, inappropriate content and advertisements thanks to DNSFilter.

PROS

Affordability, ease of use and functionality.

CONS

When license price is increased significantly.

Reason for choosing DNSFilter

Affordability

User Profile

Andrew

Verified reviewer

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING: