All NordLayer Reviews

1-25 of 29 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Mas Idayu

Verified reviewer

Oil & Energy, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

Remote workstation is great with NordLayer

PROS

iPhone, Android, Linux, and Macintosh are all supported devices for this VPN, which allowed me to run the same VPN across all of my gadgets and get an excellent connection. Even during a trial version, NordLayer offers the most reliable IP address selection from various countries.

CONS

Currently, the only details accessible are a detailed description of the remote device's CPU and RAM and its connection time. Counting the time spent on a machine or in a group over a given period is problematic. Last week, it was impossible to identify whose computers had been accessed.

Fred

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2022

Fantastically easy to use but support not always helpful with backend issues

With all staff suddenly working remotely, we needed a secure option that allowed a dedicated gateway for remote staff to use. NordLayer allowed us to configure 50 staff easily and without any major disruption to business thanks to useful team admin interface and ease of setup/installation via the Windows and Linux client.

PROS

The online user interface and the software interface itself are easy enough for all staff to navigate, in particular admin can restrict settings within the app to ensure correct use and reduce tickets from staff having issues connecting.

CONS

Downtime on our dedicated UK Gateway has been frequent enough that we had to provision a backup server located in France which we end up using several times a month. Support not always helpful and tend to refer to basic troubleshooting when clearly a server issue.

Reason for choosing NordLayer

Based on a recommendation from a partner and our sister company were also making the switch to Nord at the time.

Reasons for switching to NordLayer

Went from having a small number of staff who needed remote access to the entire workforce and Nord was much easier to scale for the whole team.

Lawrence

E-Learning, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2022

Good VPN but lacking features and customisation

PROS

User interface is very simple and straightforward. Easy to install and deploy. Team management is also easy.

CONS

Having used NordVPN, it seems it has less features. Customer support is very unhelpful. When trying to use other protocols, they don't always work.

Chris

Package/Freight Delivery, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Doesn't get in the way of your day today work

Excellent. Easy to setup. Easily forgotten once connected. I never think; will I be able to do my work today? Will I be able to complete my work before the VPN provider kicks me off my dedicated IP? I haven't needed to contact support. As far as I know, we've only had a handful of issues connecting which were solved by a local (home) router reboot.

PROS

We as a team love that NordLayer doesn't get in the way of our work. Previous VPN providers we used were constantly causing issues. Once connected to NordLayer's VPN, you forget that you are connected. This is, in our opinion exactly what a VPN should do.

CONS

The software delivers on everything we need. There's nothing to complain about.

Reason for choosing NordLayer

Good reputation, one of the team used it personally. The product seemed to suit our needs perfectly and it has.

Reasons for switching to NordLayer

PureVPN was rubbish. Constant disconnections. Slow traffic. Approximately 10pm every night you would loose connection. Once you got disconnected, you could only reconnect once support disconnected you. Which sometimes could be several hours wait. The disconnecting got so bad, that one of the devs at PureVPN gave me a beta version of their app which allowed us to disconnect ourselves. It was a terrible product. Always getting in the way

Joel

Insurance, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Great solution for site to site connections

It's mostly great. The channel account manager has been helpful, was able to connect me to the right people in support to get me up and running.

PROS

The ability to connect the VPN in a router in order to connect a device to their VPN that otherwise wouldn't support VPN on its own. Their desktop clients are easy enough to use, even on Linux (which is entirely done in the terminal using the command line interface).

CONS

Hard to use without a static IP. I intend on getting a static IP later, but for now I have been holding off. Every time my public IP changes, I need to get level 2 support to update the VPN server to connect to the new IP. They say they'll have a feature in the portal some time next year allowing me as the admin to update it myself, but I'll probably have a static IP by then.

Reason for choosing NordLayer

More versatile than an SD-WAN.

Reasons for switching to NordLayer

I sort of switched from Tailscale. Was using Tailscale in another device. I tried using Tailscale in a router, but after several attempts, I was still unsuccessful at it.

Alex

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2022

Nord Layers is great for our business needs.

This has been really useful for allowing our international workers to easily connect to and user services inside the US, since many websites and services block international connections. Since this is our major use, our experience has been mostly great. Occasionally it appears that the IP our employees our using seems to get blocked by some sites, so they have to disconnect and reconnect a few times to try and get onto the site.

PROS

This allows us to easily manage VPN connections for remote employees without having to run a dedicated VPN service in our office. This keeps our bandwidth needs in office lower. It’s also super easy to manage our users using this software. Very customizable, with us being able to add dedicated IPs as needed.

CONS

We had a unique situation where we wanted to connect some of our multimedia devices to this service (Firestick, Apple TV), but we were unable to because no app was available to connect these. I know a NordVPN app exists on these devices, but it would be nice if a NordLayer one did as well. Or, if we could sign into NordLayer through the NordVPN app.Also, I can’t seem to find a way to request the app cycle your IP to another address. We have had issues where websites we connect to seem to have blocked the IP address currently used.

Reason for choosing NordLayer

There weren’t really alternatives that were designed for business use. We needed a product where we could control, add, and remove user accounts at will. This was honestly one of the only ones I saw.

Taylor

Verified reviewer

Logistics and Supply Chain, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2022

Affordable VPN for remote needs

Enabling Remote Workers to access work resources that are not typically available in their country has been incredible. Our alternative was a cloud based private VPN solution that was going to cost $6k to deploy and hundreds per month in operational fees. NordLayer does it for less than $100 a month.

PROS

The ease of use for both the admin configuration and the end user setup portion. Inviting new users is easy and teaching them how to connect to the VPN is quick. The network quality is also impressive. Our primary use is for our VoIP system, and there are no latency issues compared to local workers.

CONS

I don't have any cons. NordLayer has met all of our needs and I have never needed support, the product has just worked as advertised.

Reason for choosing NordLayer

Pricing, ease of set up.

User Profile

Florian

Verified reviewer

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Great and reliable VPN service

PROS

I mostly like the ease of use and the pro features like having company gateways with dedicated IPs in different locations worldwide.

CONS

I have to re-login from time to time on my devices. But I'm not sure if this is something NordLayer is responsible for or the OS.

Reasons for switching to NordLayer

Because of the pro features.

Sean

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Easy to Buy, Easy to Use

This allowed us to get a VPN up and running quickly to provide secure access to our systems during the pandemic.

PROS

The ease of setup allows you to get a VPN up and running for your company within minutes. Getting a gateway means you'll have a static IP for all of your VPN users, making it easy to poke holes in your firewall/add IPs to your cloud allowlists to get your users connected to your assets securely.

CONS

The app requires updates constantly, which is annoying to end users and tech support. A third party app is required to manage updates silently.

User Profile

Deborah

Verified reviewer

Information Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

NordVPN for Protection

PROS

I am a personal user of NordVPN. Although my home router provides security, I wanted an additional layer of security for myself and my family. This allows me to feel safer, particularly when we use our smartphones outside of our home Internet connection.

CONS

It's annoying to keep having to connect each time and there is a bit of a slowdown in data on smartphone, but it's a "con" that I will live with in order to have the security I want.

Benoît

Banking, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2022

Useful and secured VPN - used for security in a banking software environment

Easy to setup, easy to deploy, easy to manage, and secured.

PROS

Easy to setup, easy to manage access for teams and members.The dedicated VPN server with static IP address.New members joining the team are activated with only a few actions and are ready to work within a few minutes.The security is really important to us, and we rely on NordLayer to access protected IT resources securly.We also appreciate the availability on multiple devices (smartphone, Windows, Mac OS...)

CONS

Sometimes, the network fails to establish connection and we need to reboot the computer to get network back - mainly after application updates.But it seems that since latest versions we don't encounter this issue as much as we did.

Reasons for switching to NordLayer

We switch to get a really simple tool, easy to manage and to deploy

Brian

Professional Training & Coaching, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2023

NordLayer VPN

Overall, the experience has been good. Could be improved with more fine-grain settings that provide more control which is needed in an enterprise environment.

PROS

NordLayer integration is fairly easy. The App is straightforward and easy to use on both computer and phone. Seamless login with Azure AD SSO.

CONS

More control over how the admin settings apply to users could be improved. For example, I may want a subset of users to see only the dedicated VPN Gateway and have another group of users able to see all country gateways. Some settings are all or nothing and it would be better to be able to have more control. Having to download the MSI package for an RSS feed is a little wonky. It would be an improvement to be able to easily preconfigure settings and have a custom-built MSI for mass deployment in an enterprise environment. For example to be able to set the Protocol to IKEv2 instead of Automatic. Have had issues with Automatic Protocol since it pretty much defaults to NordLynx which doesn't seem as stable. Most issues we come across are resolved by switching the protocol off Automatic (NordLynx) to IKEv2. Lastly, it would be nice if setting the Automatic update setting would just automatically update the app instead of notifying the user that an update is available. Users without admin rights on the machine can't perform the update and are continually prompted that there is an update.

Raymond

Hospitality, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Fast VPN, Mac App need some improvement

It has been good and done the job for our company. The service is extremely fast and works all around the world (which has been tested by our staff).

PROS

Super fast VPN, we are able to host and stream with no issues and very little delay. Straight forward user panel and very friendly support.

CONS

The Mac App though the Appstore has caused me some issues in my MDM environment. The start with computer start features turns off sometimes and it is recommended to add the programs manually to the start up program on System Preferences. Also is there a way to link the app and the device so it will not sign out on occasion. Dropbox app has a way of doing this, and it remains signed in, even if your Mac Keychain is reset (in the case I user gets locked out of Mac and needs to use recovery / FileVault keys to gain access).

Madhav

Verified reviewer

Banking, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2021

Why NordVPM Teams

My overall experience with NordVPN is very good. I use NordVPN whenever I need to change my IP address.

PROS

NordVPN Teams is my favorite VPN because the data security and online privacy feature provided by this VPN is the best.We can change our IP adress and bypass geoblocks easily with Nord VPN. Online gaming experience is best while using NordVPN.

CONS

The internet connection gets reduced to a great amount while using NordVPN.

Vendor Response

Hey, Madhav! We appreciate the comment and thanks for the feedback.

Replied February 2021

Jaime

Telecommunications, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2022

Nice Product

Really good opinion about the product. We use the VPN every day, easy use and Multiplatform. We need to dig more about the other options like Remote Desktop etc. But for the moment we will continue using NordLayer because is a product that fit perfect with our daily business.

PROS

We made an extensive search looking for products like this. Finally this was the selected one, because it fit perfectly with our needs, and besides is really easy to use, Multiplatform and nice price.

CONS

Sometimes we have some issues depending on the computer and we need to modify the settings on the app. Minor issue.We need to dig about more possibilities like the Remote Desktop, now only made a heavy use of the VPN.

Abhishek

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

The best VPN so far

I am overwhelmed by this VPN. Highly recommended.

PROS

It is very easy to access the vpn with NordLayer tool. VPN gateways can be changed within a second.

CONS

There are so many updates and sometimes it it slow.

Reasons for switching to NordLayer

For tighter security, easy setup and access

Kate

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2022

The best VPN I've used and recommended

NordLayer is the best VPN I've used so far especially when I started working remotely. As the Admin Lead of our organization and the EA to our CEO, security is our topmost priority so the peace of mind that this software provides us is the number one selling factor, followed by its competitive price point.

PROS

Ease of installment and deployment and adding team members

CONS

Failure to connect to the internet when VPN is on -- does not happen as frequent though and is usually resolved by restarting the application

Reason for choosing NordLayer

Competitive price point and simple UI

Ned

Management Consulting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2022

Implement a company wide VPN easily and inexpensively, with great support

PROS

NordLayer makes it easy to implement a company VPN and secure company communications and traffic at a reasonable price. Great customer support makes it even easier.

CONS

Monitoring reporting is very limited, requiring the use of other tools if that’s important to your organization.

Harsh

Telecommunications, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: