User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(643)

643

4 stars

(207)

207

3 stars

(21)

21

2 stars

(6)

6

1 stars

(1)

1

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse Amazon S3 Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 850 results

March 2021

User Profile Picture

Proinsias from Frans Digital and Photography Services

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Online Media

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Difficult to setup, but when you do, you will be delighted

I work on websites with many photographs and useing Amazon S3 has greatly imporoved my page loading speeds. Its has save me money as I do not have to pay extra for Web Service Space. Also Amazon S3 on its own is like a CDN or Content Delivery Network. On one of my projects, I am storing PDF files on S3.

Pros

Great Value for money when it comes to Cloud Storage Great for Photographers to help boost there page speed loading and Google Ranking Reduces costs on te Web Host Server as Pictures, PDF Files and Video are not on the main server

Cons

Difficult to setup and get all your credentials Can be cumbersome if you have a lot of photographs or files. You may need to invest in a plugin to automatically upload the content to S3 automatically.

Reasons for Choosing Amazon S3

Cost to be honest and quailty and reliability of service.

Reasons for Switching to Amazon S3

Cost of storing Photos on a web server and the page loading benifits at a greatly reduced cost

September 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2021

A reliable cloud storage service

Pros

Amazon S3 was designed to be scalable according to the needs of organizations, providing flexibility for developers with the simple user interface. The document management is flexible and can be customized according to organizational policies. Particularly, the migration is simpler than anticipated because of S3 support and tools that are available. Additionally, the price is reasonable in comparison to other services.

Cons

Searching for files within a bucket is always a challenging and time-consuming task. Additionally, it needs to improve the overall reporting functionality, as it makes things confusing.

April 2019

Gary from OutterEdge Limited

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2019

Amazon S3

Overall, S3 is a great provider for storage solutions. You just need to watch the bills and see how you can keep them in check.

Pros

It is true that AWS is a juggernaut in the industry. This is the reason I used them as my primary offsite backup repository. Many popular applications like Backup Exec integrate very nicely with S3. There is tons of documentation out there for most applications on how to use S3 with their products. The free trials for the first year are nice too.

Cons

I kept noticing that my data pool was getting larger and larger due to the types of devices I was backing up. Amazon "micro" charges for everything and my bill started to grow exponentially. You are charged for data coming in, out, at rest, long term storage, not stored long enough, lists, etc. This started to become unwieldy. Their charges are not high but in my case they just grew too much so I had to switch solutions.

August 2021

marius alin from DOTWEBIM SRL

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2021

S3 Daily Evet Day

It's perfect from our point of view!

Pros

Is easy to set up on our websites and in our products. Has high speed and low latency when delivering files and images.

Cons

So far no cons. And hope not to find any!

Reasons for Choosing Amazon S3

easy integration with laravel the main framework we use in all the projects we have.

July 2021

User Profile Picture

Vicente Jose from Levi's

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Great for storage

This is the place where I have stored most of my data. The fact that it is integrated with many tools is key for me. Also, in terms of pricing, it offers different storage options, which is a great idea for data you need to access frequently and data you don't have to access to often. I highly recommend S3 (and AWS in general) also because the console is very user friendly and you don't need to be an expert in the cloud to work with it.

Pros

I have used Amazon S3 for a few years in different companies and I really like how useful and easy to use it is. You can store your data, objects and files here for little cost and access them from a variety of tools.

Cons

When you signin to another account or with another AWS user, in another tab in the same browser, it logs out, which is very inconvenient.

June 2021

Mukul from Bitsys

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Reliable S3 Storage in every continent to achieve low latency.

I am using S3 for the backup as well as CDN purpose and my it never disappoint me because of the tight integration with other AWS services like Lambada etc.., it support full IAM policy so the segregation of storage bucket make it unique as well as object lock feature make it total safe place to store backup.

Pros

AWS S3 is having a presence in each and every country so the latency is very much less as well as guarantee of 99.999999999% up time gives peace in mind to every user that their data is safe and in reliable Data Centers. As AWS is the oldest cloud based storage solution so it has a compatibility with all of the leading backup and disaster recovery software like Veeam, Cloudberry and others,

Cons

Pricing is bit on higher side as compared to others like Backblaze and Wasabi cloud storage (for the hot storage) on the same time for cold storage and glacier pricing is way cheap but in the case of cold storage there is a wait time associated when the matter comes to the file retrieval.

December 2021

Vignesh from Product-io

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2021

Easy and Convinient

We use s3 for all our data storage purposes like images, videos and files.

Pros

S3 SDK support is really good. SDK is for all of the programming languages. The community support for s3 is great and is one of the reasons I use it the most.

Cons

Few parts that are difficult to do is directory wise public access or changing permissions of directories.

Reasons for Choosing Amazon S3

High availablity Brand Name

Reasons for Switching to Amazon S3

Ease of use Good UI for quick changes and access

October 2020

Kunal from Farmers Insurance

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Scalable and Inexpensive storage solutions

Great experience using S3. One of the best storage solutions i have come accross. S3 does not require any region selection. Files can be accessed globally.

Pros

Lifecycle Configuration management does not require any overhead or administration once the policy is set. Once the Lifecycle rule is set files are moved to archival without any manual intervention.

Cons

Once the file is deleted the file is still visible since S3 takes time to update. This sometimes creates confusion.

Reasons for Choosing Amazon S3

Because we are already using other AWS products. So Amazon was a preferred vendor

September 2020

Franklin from Rice's painting and sandblasting

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

The best cloud storage system available

Pros

That offers 4 different classes of storage

Cons

It takes a little bit of time to learn this system but once you do you will never want to use anything else

Reasons for Choosing Amazon S3

The overall price and layout of the system was much more to my company's needs

Reasons for Switching to Amazon S3

Was have trouble with my storage system and wanted to try something new

February 2021

User Profile Picture

Marco from 4wardPRO

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

On of the best object storage service available in the cloud

The Region availability is all over the globe and you can use it to store any type of file like documents, images and generic files. The commands are available via the web portal, API and AWS CLI.

Pros

The cost is affordable. You can use a S3 Bucket to host static websites (eg: Angular, Vue.js, ReactJS) and the performance will be super fast.

Cons

The AWS UI is a little bit old and ugly. Set permissions can become complex and not easy to understand.

Reasons for Choosing Amazon S3

The AWS stack offers a lot of functionalities in the AI world

February 2021

Franco from Telecommunications

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

Best storga to assets files

I have 4 years using this software and I work with storage solutions physical and cloud, It is the one of main service for AWS and every year release new features and It is good for the community.

Pros

It is really easy to use for development web applications, due the pricing is really cheap and the data transfer is to low latency, you can storage unlimited objects for all your projects. It is useful for integrations with other software like wordpress, joomla, web pages, etc.

Cons

I think the main cons that I see for this software is the learning path for integration with others cloud solutions, because in this times the integral solution is the relationship between cloud providers and the api calls for this software is too low.

Reasons for Choosing Amazon S3

I belong a community builders for aws and I have many certifications in AWS.

November 2020

Michael from Self employed

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Storage made easy...and with additional functionality!

AmazonS3's features paired with the considerably low cost (like really low) is just excellent.

Pros

I liked that not only could I store things in the storage but could use video files there and link them to products in my Wordpress site for the purpose of enabling downloadable video files (as well as streamable) to my customers.

Cons

Probably the not so easy to use aspect of the software. You can get bogged down by all the settings but if you carefully pay attention to tutorials online, you shouldn't have much of a problem.

Reasons for Choosing Amazon S3

AmazonS3 was far more affordable. I was able to figure out how to get my customers to watch the videos online hosted on my AmazonS3 as well as get them to download from there instead of having to pay large amounts to Vimeo to do the same.

December 2021

Parth from Liberty Mutual

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2021

Simple Storage Service: Amazon S3

Amazon S3 is appropriate for facilitating any kind of item. Energetically suggested assuming previously utilizing with some other AWS administration since combination becomes simpler. It is useful for any association that has a committed IT Department. Not suggested in case the organization doesn't have a group with experience in AWS administrations that screens it since it could wind up being a wreck or costly.

Pros

Exceptionally accessible and repetitive; we don't stress over the assistance having vacation Basic utilization from various structures utilizing Amazon's SDKs, or roll your own An enormous number of container approaches and security changes in accordance with tailor use to client needs Solid reconciliation with the AWS biological system, particularly concerning access consents. It's astoundingly steady you can believe it'll remain on the web and accessible for anyplace on the planet. Its static site facilitating highlight is a secret jewel - it gives maybe the least expensive, generally steady, most high-performing static web facilitating accessible in PaaS.

Cons

The entire AWS environment has a great deal of confounding and unintuitive arrangement choices, and S3 is no special case. Fortunately it's entirely comprehensively utilized, to the point that you can dependably observe arrangements on outside destinations like StackOverflow. Getting IAM consents perfectly for Static Website facilitating require somewhat experimentation since S3 defaults to security rather than open access.

November 2021

Chirag from Risk Administration Services, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2021

Easy data archiving and data governance

We use S3 for several things such as archiving unused data from fileserver, storing backups, storing logs and more. I love the storage classes offered by S3. We can store data in standard or save costs by storing it in Glacier automatically using easy-to-configure lifecycle management rules. Some of our database backups get stored in S3 in a write-once-read-many model and can't be removed until a certain date has reached. We also enjoy creating rules to move unused data in S3 to cheap Glacier storage. We also have been replicating S3 data to different regions and accounts for additional data safety.

Pros

The most impactful feature of S3 is its immutability. We can put expiration date on stored data and nobody can delete that until the expiration date has passed. That allows backup data to remain secure.

Cons

Amazon doesn't make a desktop client like FileZilla but specifically for S3. While there are desktop clients available, a product from Amazon would be appreciated by non-technical users.

Reasons for Choosing Amazon S3

We decided to migrate our entire infrastructure to Amazon and S3 became a natural choice for us. We felt that Azure was the next closest competitor. Both Amazon and Azure had programmatic methods of storing and accessing objects in S3 and blob storage, respectively. We had prior experience with S3 that made it easy for us to choose S3.

August 2020

MANAS from LOWES

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Highly available distributed storage system with additional features and settings

I am having a great experience with Amazon S3, it really dose the things required in a really great way

Pros

This is a core part in most of our use cases , be it big-data computations , databases like redshift, aurora and snowflakes, be it for building a static or redirecting website and what not , it is i think the cheapest cloud distributed storage system and can be integrated with almost everything, integrate it with AWS Athena to analyse on file data, or run copy commands on snowflake or redshift databases to move the data around from or to db etc, or use it on hadoop hive tables by creating the external tables, it supports integration with java, python, or command line interface , so that you can automate the processes without any issues, and the s3 buckets can have security group attached, and lots of settings available in part of security, and can publicly expose some files , can create static web pages & redirecting web pages for both http and https (need some help from cloud front)

Cons

the file naming we is a problem if we have a starting sub string as a file name, example if i had 2 files namely aaabbb and aaa , when i like to select the data of aaa, the data of aaabbb is also selected , because the s3 always treats the file name as filename* and one more thing is the static web support is good and easy to setup for http but for https its difficult need the help of aws cloud-front

April 2020

Sushank from Xento Systems Pvt Ltd

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

A Simple and affordable storage in cloud

AWS S3 is Simple Storage Service by AWS which allows you to store data on the cloud at an affordable price. You can use s3 to store large data like static data, documents, images, videos, etc on cloud and access it anywhere. We can host static websites on it if you owning a business and want a simple solution to host a static website you can use this option.

Pros

In this growing world, data is the most important so storage of the huge data is very important, Amazon's Simple Storage Service (s3) is the best and affordable cloud storage service available in the market. We can store huge and any kind of data on S3 like Documents, Text Files, PDF, Audio, Video, etc. There are multiple storage options available with S3 like frequent data and infrequently used data can be stored on AWS Glacier low-cost storage. The data is secured on AWS s3 with multi-level access protocols eg public, private, etc

Cons

AWS S3 is not compatible with system-level like desktops, it should have something with which it can use used that will be very easy. We can not store more files more than 5 GB in size

February 2020

Loiane from Citibank

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

S3 is still the leader in cloud-based distributed storage

S3 has, truly, changed the world at least when it comes to distributed storage. To call an API, push data to it, and then forget about maintaining the datacenter that houses with is a concept none of us would have believed in the recent past but here we are with monumental amounts of businesses depending on S3 and succeeding with it. Amazon has aggressively developed and released features steadily since the initial launch of S3 and each wave of features is impressively useful and complimentary to the previous feature-set. We use S3 for literally dozens of applications ranging from buckets that store public UGC for web apps to internal data vaults that hold sensitive and private information that is encrypted at rest. S3 has fit so many of our needs and saved us countless hours in trivial datacenter maintenance.

Pros

Objects are globally available but can still be geographically "homed" to a specific region. At-rest encryption can be configured for storage of all objects in an S3 bucket. Cost savings can be achieved by selecting the desired storage class that matches the type of data you're storing. Object life-cycles can be configured that will automatically take certain actions on an object when it reaches a certain age. Object versioning in S3 prevents a lot of anxiety around object corruption in multi-user applications. Object attributes can be set through headers that can facilitate intelligent hosting natively through S3 or through CloudFront CDN hosting. Full-featured static websites can be hosted using S3 and CloudFront.

Cons

Presumably due to the number of press pieces on corporations having data compromised from S3 buckets due to their own negligence, Amazon has invested a lot into preventing unwanted public access to S3 buckets. These extra layers can be a bit cumbersome to those of us who "got it" from the beginning and already know how to secure and S3 bucket.

May 2019

Ridhi from Blush Hair and Makeup Design

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

A Simple Cloud Object Storage

Amazon S3 helps to setup the industry level infrastructure with no big investment and do not require the long term commitment as we can buy the storage space on hourly wages. The different storage classes help us to remain within the budget.

Pros

Amazon S3 is a simple cloud based object storage. The different storage classes are designed to manage the data as per the requirements of the objects. The Intelligent S3 Tiering upgrade or downgrade the storage class based on the access patterns of the object to enhance the availability and durability. The S3 cross region replication helps in replication of the S3 objects in other regions. The multi-factor authentication delete on S3 bucket is really a life saver feature to protect from accidental deletion of objects.

Cons

Amazon S3 is not as simple as its name, the objects locks and versioning features are amazing but not easy as the learning curves sharp. The Storage monitoring provides limited number of notifications under the free tier.

Reasons for Choosing Amazon S3

Amazon S3 is the industry leading solution by Amazon Web Services. It has solutions for all startup’s and large enterprise. The cost effectiveness is one of the reasons that I have selected the Amazon S3 over other.

November 2021

Daniel from Triptongo

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2021

Amazon S3 is a solid brand, but not for amateurs

I started using S3 as a off-site backup tool, and then I scaled up to use other services. It's serves it purpose rather well, but tends to be a little cumbersome, with many changes along the way and somehow a strict business model.

Pros

Amazon S3 defined the cloud in the begining. It's services were disruptive and much needed. I think that S3 it's a very solid option for backup and file retention.

Cons

However, it's not for the casual user. There are other, new and easy to use services aimed to the small business, wich offers a better way to deploy, are more cost-effective and have a more down-to-earth approach.

Reasons for Choosing Amazon S3

There where no other platforms available that could be integrated with cpanel at that time

Reasons for Switching to Amazon S3

Backups are super important when you deal with many servers. Make it in-site leaves you vulnerable if your hosting provider has severe issues and became unavailable. We started to store all our clients data in a separate instance to prevent loosing data. Amazon S3 was the perfect fit for this.

October 2019

Binujaya from Sysco LABS Sri Lanka

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Amazon S3 – The best collecting information platform

Overall, Amazon S3 is amazing software if you are looking to input a large amount of data in storage and be perfectly secure that your files won’t be used anywhere or by any chance deleted by mistake. The software was tested and there are a lot of satisfied customers that are using Amazon S3. Plus it’s not that expensive to use. Everyone can afford it.

Pros

Amazon S3 is an amazing software tool that provides data storing and keeps the data intact. You can input a lot of data into Amazon S3 without any problem. You can add everything starting from some spreadsheets, pdf, and finishing with some large size images and videos. The data will be one hundred percent safe and no one can ever use it except you. This is a very reliable and inexpensive tool to use. This is the main reason why I like this software. Because of the security settings that they have and a large amount of data than you can enter without any restrictions.

Cons

The one disadvantage that Amazon S3 has it’s the interface. It works very slow and sometimes if you are uploading a bigger amount of files that might take a while. Also, some settings like CLI are a bit complicated to use. One more thing that I dislike is that there is no way to rename a folder in Amazon S3. You will need to copy all of the files and then paste them into a new folder that you will have to make and then delete the old folder. It’s just a waste of time doing all this when you can simply rename the folder, but you have to do it.

April 2019

User Profile Picture

Esra from V-Count

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Simple Storage Service for everyone

Before S3 we stored our sensitive files on hard drives where also our web application resides. One day it crashed and the files were gone. We started to use S3 and now our application does not depend on where is resides. We don't worry whether our storage is enough. I also use S3 to store my personal files. It is very cheap.

Pros

Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service) is an object storage service for the cloud. You can store any amount of data and access it anywhere in the world. You may stop depending on hard drives for your web applications and start using Amazon S3 to store your media files, log files etc. It provides 99.999999999% durability which means you may lose just one file in 10,000 years. S3 has versioning option which helps you to prevent accidential deletions. Lifecycle policies help you manage and automate the life of your objects in S3, keeping you from leaving your data unnecessarily available. For example, you can set a lifecycle for your log files to be automatically deleted after 30 days. You can host a static website easily and in a cost effective way without worrying about the underlying hardware.

Cons

S3 has buckets to store objects and these buckets have universal names. So for example, you probably won't be able to open a bucket named "photos". Configuring security is a bit tricky. You have to be careful which buckets will be public and which will be private.

December 2021

Robert from Startech

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2021

Great software for some businesses

Amazon S3 helps us share important video files with clients directly as well as through embedding. It's great that we have 100% control over what people can view and what they can do with the file. Streaming speed is good, buffering issues being an exception rather than the norm. Overall it's a great product to use if you have video courses for example.

Pros

I like the fact that after the initial setup, the day to day usage of the product is easy. The software adapts to the IP you are uploading from to optimize the speed of the process. Rest of steps needed to be done to an uploaded file are processed at great speeds and no time is wasted using this tool.

Cons

I dislike the fact that if you need assistance and you don't have a high tier package, you are left with a forum that is not that helpful nor fast in resolving the issue. Some processes that you have to set up are complex and sometimes their FAQ or Knowledge Book does not contain the entire picture needed to understand how to set up a particular feature if you happen to need a feature that is not in popular demand.

Reasons for Choosing Amazon S3

More robust and safe Feels safer and faster than the alternatives Fits better with custom designed systems (e.g custom created website for teaching online)

March 2020

User Profile Picture

Kevin from eCommunities

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

A benchmark service for all others to aspire to

Once you get beyond the basics, the learning curve can be pretty steep, but given a bit of time to research the service can be a very powerful tool for a large swath of use cases.

Pros

Amazon's S3 service is the benchmark that all others compare themselves to and has inspired an entire industry of object storage services. In fact in our experience with other "S3 Compatible" services, they generally recommend installing the AWS CLI application in order to manage the advanced features of their own services. S3 provides a highly customizable service at a very cost effective price, with the added benefit of either reduced performance or redundancy for even lower prices.

Cons

In some cases the documentation and examples available are a little thin or spread out in different places. The examples specifically surrounding bucket policies are a bit cryptic but usable.

October 2019

Ankush from zendesk

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2019

S3 cloud storage review

Overall S3 is economic and reliable cloud storage which I'm using everyday. Introducing some more features like mentioned in Cons above could make it outstanding and it would be a win win over other products.

Pros

- It's fast and probably has cheap options available for you based on your need, like if you just want cloud storage but with less feature you can chose accordingly (Glacier or S3 bucket). - aws cli client/commands are really helpful which makes life easy and fast to list/analyze objects recursively. - you can easily set permissions to your buckets/prefixes/paths using cloud formation templates which is great to grant specific user specific permissions. - easy to set up versioning/auto deletion policies on your data so you don't have to worry about storage cost.

Cons

- The UI is not as helpful as it needed to be sometime. like the filtering/listing of object within your S3 bucket is sometimes weird, it only shows 300 objects per page and you can't control them to list more or less. - you can only visualize an object/file within the UI using sql if it's < 128 MB. If it exceeds 128MB there is no way to visualize this object within the UI and you've to create external table to visualize it or you download it local.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

a simple but fairly expensive cloud based data storage solution for your enterprise

Overall experience is very good, and aws cli interface which nicely works with python and the linux terminal enables one to smoothen the overall aws s3 experiences. Because there are no restrictions on filesizes or file types, any company can host its data on aws s3 and be sure to have reliable service. The caveat with aws s3 is that one must understand that it is not a traditional database storage system, therefore will not behave like one. also ensure the admin of the software must be well versed with the various concepts surrounding aws s3 to enable the best bang for buck. I would recommend this without reservations.

Pros

Literally anything and every type of file can be saved to s3 buckets without any limitations. Images,csvs and what not can be easily and safely stored to s3 buckets. One can provision users to have specific permissions regarding bucket access. Literally 99.999% availability at most times.

Cons

it is only as good as the user/admin who knows how to make the most out of this software. there is a deep learning process involved without which one could be flying blind and exposing otherwise sensitive data to the public. the search functionality is practically absent. So there is no easy way of choosing or searching for files. the date columns on the UI seldom work

August 2020

Jeffrey from Erie Insurance Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

S3 is a cost effective object storage solution for enterprises.

AWS S3 has helped us get binaries and artifacts to our AWS EC2 instances. It is also cost effective storage compared to our on-premises Nutanix hardware footprint.

Pros

It is available as a service as part of AWS. It works well with AWS IAM and allows role based access controls to be defined. It also works well with other AWS services such as EC2.

Cons

The encryption settings working with AWS KMS can be complicated. This can lead to objects being available through the web interface but not through the CLI.

April 2019

User Profile Picture

Vandana from Deloitte India

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Amazon Simple Storage Service for objective storage.

AWS S3 is the most efficient way to store the objects in cloud. Monitoring on objects can be also possible with the cloud watch. The backup of EBS can be also stored on S3. Under Free Tier user get the five gigabyte of S3 storage of standard class with fifteen gigabyte data transfer for twelve months. Region for S3 objects must be selected based on the speed and budget.

Pros

Amazon S3 is an industry-leading cloud solution for storing the objects. Managing and monitoring the object storage with Amazon S3 is simple and easy. S3 object tags help in managing the objects. S3 batch operation help in moving the objects from one bucket or object class to other. Features like cross-region replication help to replicate the data into the other aws region and reduce the objects latency. S3 Intelligent-Tiering storage class is really efficient as it moves the data as per the patterns and frequent access which helps to reduce the cost.

Cons

The latency of deep archive data is so high that it needs to be reduced. The One Zone-Infrequent Access is the least recommended for production environment as it provides the least data availability across all other storage classes.

April 2019

User Profile Picture

Nidhi from IES Interactive Entertainment Studios

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Simple Storage Service by Amazon Web Service

Amazon S3 pricing is designed so well that we can limit our monthly bill for S3 using the bill alerts. Different storage classes from S3 Standard to S3 Glacier Deep Archive can be set as per the objects needs. Big Data analytics help to manage and analyse the data lakes.

Pros

Amazon S3 provides the object storage with amazing web interface and a lot of features like scalability with great availability designed for 99.999999999 % on data durability. We can move our bucket's object to cost -effective storage class and the newly designed storage class 'S3 Intelligent -Tiering' move the objects based on access patterns. We can manage and monitor the objects with using tags and create the lifecycle of the objects according to tags. Multi-Factor Authentication can be enabled on delete operation which help in accidental delete operation. Versioning of objects can be enabled from bucket. The Cross-Region Replication helps in instant access.

Cons

Objects in the cloud are always vulnerable if firewall is not setup well. AWS snowball and snowmobile are either less availability or no-availability on geographical location.

September 2019

User Profile Picture

Esther from Information Technology and Services

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

A Bit Daunting at First, But Powerful Enough for Wide-Ranging Uses

Amazon S3 is, of all of the major public/private storage services on the enterprise level, probably the easiest and most-reliable. For most basic uses, it excels at being as easy as managing files on your own web servers. Additonally, when combined with Amazon Route 53, it can be a rapid static web serving option. However, when you start getting into advanced security options or attempting to ensure that your files are only accessible to your own applications, you need to be very adept at studying Amazon's specific ACL formats, lest you lock yourself out or, even worse, expose your data to public download. Nonetheless, there's probably nothing better in this area, and the time that you spend learning these skills is well worth it for this service.

Pros

Flexible storage options, integrates well with other Amazon Web Services options, able to be used for static web hosting, fine-grained security settings

Cons

Advanced security settings are often hard to configure, pricing is not always clear and it is possible to quickly accrue large fees when testing

July 2019

Scott from SearchMaster Software

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

A Top Cloud Tech Company

I needed a cheap alternative to storing my ever-growing data sets in-house, and also needed to expand my web server storage for backups and daily file usage. Amazon S3 allowed me to do all of that, and more, saving me hundreds of dollars per month in the process. Integrating S3 into my websites was simple itself because the protocols were already built into CPanel and the web apps I use, so it was just a matter of setting up S3 and then activating! Configuring the finer details and security was a bit trickier, but for the cost savings, I'll deal!

Pros

I don't believe I have found a single thing that the S3 platform CANNOT do when it comes to cloud storage. I needed a cheaper alternative for both long and short term data storage, and S3 delivers with it costing PENNIES PER GB to store files online. I love how configurable the storage platforms are, and how you can loosen and tighten security at will to allow exactly what you want, and nothing you do not.

Cons

Like most cloud tech, setting up S3 isn't for the faint of heart. I really wish these guys would build a wizard that would help folks who just need one of a few simple setup options rather than jumping through a hundred sections.

February 2019

User Profile Picture

Frank from SixPlus

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Market leader in what is becoming a crowded space

Overall, AWS is the safest bet in the cloud business. You can safely assume that it will be reliable, cost-effective, and cover basically any service that a cloud provider can offer. It's UI/UX is middle of the road and gets the job done. Having said that, there are other challengers that are providing compelling alternatives, making the decision not as much of a no-brainer as it used to be.

Pros

Amazon S3 is probably the first solution that comes to mind for a company looking for cloud services. It's basically created the space and as such has incredible depth and breadth of services offered. AWS likely covers any type of scenario your company might need and with data centers all over the world, data latency is at a minimum. Its uptime is similarly among the best in class. There are also many options for server loads and speeds that can help keep costs low for fledgling companies.

Cons

As with most companies that come to define a space, they always have a target on their back. In practice that means that there are more and more solutions that compete with AWS. They may not compete 1 to 1 with it, but for many companies, there may be another provider that has better UX and ease of use along with cheaper prices for their setup. AWS suffers from bloat which leads to a UX that can be a bit intimidating and cumbersome. They offer so many different types of services that it can be daunting to peruse through the menus and submenus. Their UI is fairly utilitarian and while not ugly per se, it's not as pleasant to use and look at.

December 2019

User Profile Picture

Krishna from PAX International

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

S3 - Low cost cloud storage and best for static content

We use S3 with Athena to parse data we receive from our customers. Using S3 and Athena, we were able to build a model which can automatically populate a set of tables from the CSV files.

Pros

Simple idea, so easy that any one who uses a PC can easily understand the buckets, navigation, sharing of content. Behind the scenes there will seamless redundancy, 99.9999999% availability and so on. Best of all it is not expensive

Cons

Literally nothing. The cost is cheap and we cannot complain about that. Ideal for static website content where you dont even have to spin up an Application server.

October 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

October 2019

For File serving, there's a lot of manual work that happens

Overall, it's better for large file serving than other alternatives we tried, which a very ui focused.

Pros

It's very cost effective storage that gives us a lot of control over access and permissions for files uploaded.

Cons

There are not great ways to make data public. These methods exist, but mostly require scripting or custom cloud formation apps.

Reasons for Choosing Amazon S3

We can't wget files from the alternatives.

Reasons for Switching to Amazon S3

Dropbox doesn't provide direct file links very easily.

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Great for file storage

This is the de facto industry standard for storing files. It's great and I'd recommend it to any team that has a website or something similar where they need to store/host files.

Pros

It's super easy to use. Cheap, reliable, and effective network storage. There is both a web GUI as well as client libraries for interacting with S3 via its REST API.

Cons

Some of the AWS CLI commands for interacting with S3 are a bit clunky. It would be nice if they streamlined the CLI to be a bit easier to use.

Reasons for Choosing Amazon S3

We wanted to keep our stack together as we were already using Amazon EC2

August 2019

User Profile Picture

Jesica from Business Insurance

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Amazon S3 is the great software for storing the data.

The best thing about the Amazon S3 is that it really helps in our business. It provide the best option to store and receive the files and documents in a simply manner. This software is so easy to use and learn for the new users. It is also great for the security purposes, so it provide the complete security all of our important files. Hence, it is the best cost-effective storage software.

Pros

The great advantage that the Amazon software provide us is that it is so easy to use and it is the well integrated tool. By using this software is that we can stored the data, documents and files in a more efficient way. The great advantage of this software is that it is the more stable software rather then its other competitors software. It is really very good software for handling the large amount of data and documents in a perfectly manner.

Cons

Amazon S3 software is so expensive and small size business companies cannot afford this efficient software. This storage software is not more usable and it just because of its high price. Moreover customer support is so poor. But I really must say that Amazon is an incredible software for the storage and organize the any hind of files in a more efficient way.

April 2020

User Profile Picture

Giovanni from Banco General

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

A very useful storage service for your website

This host allows me to store several websites in one place, since many of my clients have more than one website this is a perfect solution to have everything in one place, so you have greater control of the sites and you always know where they are.

Pros

It is a very reliable and stable service, your website will always be available to everyone who accesses it, its costs are relatively low, very useful for medium and large companies. You have a wide variety of customization that perfectly fit your day-to-day needs. You can go from a very basic service, which because it is basic does not mean that you will not have a wide variety of services, on the contrary you will have a wide variety at your disposal.

Cons

If you do not have experience interacting with amazon environments, you can lose a bit, as was my case at the beginning, but when you get the hang of it, everything looks easier. You can always find online course for this service that won't be expensive and you will learn a lot from them, then you will realize how easy is to use this service.

July 2018

Jugraj from Paxcom India Pvt. Ltd.

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Best Storage Space with very low operational cost and ideal file storage for other AWS services

Pros

Amazon S3 as short for simple storage service. It is a secure object storage ideal for keeping files that are used be aws services like Athena, Elastic Map Reduce, etc. We can perform ETL Jobs written HIVE queries on the data stored in Amazon Athena supported formats on S3 directly. Which provide great performance on huge amount of data. Amazon EMR is another service that treat S3 as a type of local storage means cost and time of read-write operations in same region is as low as possible resulting in faster Job execution. S3 is another place where all other services store there logs. Having a negligible cost makes it ideal place to store a huge amount of files logs and other.

Cons

Amazon S3 is a object storage. We can update a file/object stored in it only way to update a file is to download it make the changes and upload it by deleting the old one in other words overwriting it. Which generate unnecessary read-write network bandwidth when we have to update small change in a large file. Another drawback is its maintaining versions of same file. we can do it but not as easy as other file storage systems. Also i find no way to integrating it with my local system like OneDrive is integrated into windows making hard to transfer file in and out of the system.

March 2021

Gajendra from IBM

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

S3Review

I am very happy with this this solve many of our client problem specially the archive backup and it’s give us a lot of saving.

Pros

It’s provide practically unlimited storage and very fast and access from anywhere any time. It support bulk upload and each object have its unique address.

Cons

The only limitation is this can not be used as a block storage and it do not support formatting and can used for object purpose.

December 2019

Manjunath from Informatica

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Amazon AWS S3 Review

The IaaS layer of AWS, S3 is a fast, secure & simple cloud storage. We use it to support our technical business and workshops. Use the webservice for application integration needs through API's

Pros

1. Very flexible and cost effective. Easy to use UI and learn S3 services 2. API first and as such integration is a breeze, so is orchestration 3. Identity & Access Management is also good 4. Backup & archival strategies can be implemented with ease 5. integrated with Amazon products by default 6. Versioning, Lifecycle policies and Replication is also pretty helpful asset

Cons

1. No feature for replication in a region and versioning of buckets for a region is expensive 2. Permissions can tend to become a complex nightmare 3. They can improve the service 4. No replacement for a file system..can become slow if you need to copy big files or for request like Post, Put as these are not free and can tend to be expensive for large storage of 1TB

December 2019

NOEL from Forecast5 Analytics

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Great option for file storage

Overall it has been a great tool for hosting files, both submitted through our web app but also internal files that we serve on our site. It allows us to control who has access to certain buckets and an easy way to securely receive files from our clients.

Pros

We use S3 buckets to store data that is submitted through our website. This is great because it allows sensitive data to be uploaded and transferred securely to our team. It also allows for quite a bit of security on the back end to ensure that no one is able to get in and access your files. When you want to host files for your website, this is a great option as well. Whether you're looking to host image files or some other asset. Linking to your S3 bucket allows for easy asset management.

Cons

S3 buckets are a bit complicated to set up. We luckily have an AWS administrator who handles most of it but I definitely found there to be a learning curve that required reading a few online guides to make sure I was configuring it correctly. With that complication, however, comes the ability to really control the security level of your buckets.

October 2018

User Profile Picture

Sanchita from Amdocs

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Amazon S3 - Amazing Simple Storage Service

Amazon S3 service is helping us in expending object storage on the go. It's helping us to save the money as Amazon S3 is very cost efficient. With the help of this we are also provide the security level that our customer need at the time joining or working with us.

Pros

Amazon S3 is a Simple Storage Service by Amazon Web Services to store the objects. Best thing in it is that it is highly scalable and no latency (except Glacier). It's extremely low cost service. You don't have to worry about security, durability and flexibility once you jump to Amazon S3 service. Best part in it that you don't have to end-up buying your own hardware storage space which need professional IT support. In Amazon S3 we should be paying for that service only that you are using it.

Cons

As it's a object storage space you can not install the OS or some dynamic site on it. managing the firewall is also a challenging part. We can not handle the file system of Amazom S3 service. You should be intelligent enough while selecting the S3 options or you should be getting extra load in your billing dashboard.

November 2018

User Profile Picture

Abhinav from OATI

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

An Object Storage Solution by Amazon

Amazon S3 scalability is the best thing helping for our business. It's also very cost effective as you don't have to pay what you don't want to use. In the today era AWS is a big giant and everyone want to host it services one best infrastructure.

Pros

Amazon Simple Storage Service also know as Amazon S3 is the one of the best service under the cloud solution with the most trusted name Amazon Web Service. Scalability is the one of the best feature we get under the hood of the Amazon S3 as you will never get out of space one the main time when you actually need the space and scale it back when we don't need it. Billing cycle is also very flexible and only charge you what you use. Operation Team can handle it and work under this is also infrastructure is more transparent.

Cons

Amazon S3 provide the object storage we can not run website all on it. It need helping hand from it's sister services like CloudFront, EC2 and RDS or Dynamo DB to make it really work. Managing firewall for it also one of the challenging part as you do not want the loophole in your storage solution.

January 2020

Felicia Ann from Education Management

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Amazon AWS

Okay .. it is worth the price. I would seriously paid double the cost for this product it offers so many tools and more. Between AWS and azure . I could never decide ... Both very useful products for anyone who wants to setup their own server.

Pros

How much tools you have at hand to be able to make and create designs and programs. Totally worth the cost

Cons

I setup a secret code on my account that failed to login to access my account and still have had no support to fix this issue.

April 2019

User Profile Picture

Ramindu from Virtusa Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

S3 is where the Internet stores its stuff

Amazon S3 has proven to be the best tool to use when storing application-related artifacts, with great programmatic integration through its powerful SDKs.

Pros

S3 has become the go-to standard for online artifact storage. It provides a great deal of options, from simply storing and receiving files, to hosting websites to programmatically maintaining application storage. Through effective and highly advanced security policies, S3 allows you to ensure no one else gets access to your data. The amazing integrations with different programming languages and frameworks via client SDKs allows programmatic integration with practically any software application that you may build.

Cons

The various options and configuration settings associated with setting up a simple S3 bucket can sometimes be overwhelming, and it may be hard to find the best fit for each situation unless you're an AWS expert.

May 2019

User Profile Picture

Utkarsh from Royal Academy of Engineering

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Public Policy

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

S3 - Simple, straightforward and superb

My experience with S3 has been really good apart from the bucket deletion and name problem. I would really suggest developers to give s3 a try but keep in mind the configuration. Its easy to expose all files to others.

Pros

S3 screams simplicity, be it the Web UI or the AWS api/cli usage. Some of the pros include: 1) Support for versioning of files stored 2) Static website hosting 3) A convenient data store for super cheap 4) Good amount of security and encryption options available

Cons

Deleting and creating buckets with same names takes pretty long time, which means that you have to change the dependent services. I am not really sure why this is the case but this is pretty annoying. Amazon hit a bit of a speedbump with S3 when the bucket sort of leaked files, but I think that was more of misconfiguration on users' end. Over time amazon has started to show the yellow 'public' label which should alert the users.

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Gurleen from Tech Mahindra

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

A Simple Storage Service for OBJECT STORAGE.

Amazon S3 is the one the best and cost effective storage solution in the market. Storage management and monitoring is also easy can monitor using the Amazon CloudWatch. The Different storage class like S3 Standard-IA, S3 One Zone-IA, S3 Glacier Glacier Deep Archive help to reduce the cost of the storage if used effectively.

Pros

Amazon S3 is an object storage service. It is highly scalable and data availability is also very good of all the different availability zones. Amazon S3 provide the 99.999999999 % (11 times 9) durability. It is the cost-effective storage as we can storage the objects in different Amazon S3 storage class. Best part in it is the old data move automatically move to the low cost storage class based on the access frequency. The cross-Region replication is helpful in to move the data into the local region to reduce the latency.

Cons

Amazon S3 should come up with the auto sync with the local drive option. Managing firewall for Amazon S3 is one important part and should be setup carefully AWS also help and provide suggestion on it but we should not follow it always. Buckets on Amazon S3 also helpful in running the low cost storage. We can not run a complete dynamic website on it.

April 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Scalable storage for scalable apps

Pros

In these days for AI, Big Data, machine learning you need data storage which is reliable in terms of your data always be available when you need it, when amazon launched Africa region servers in Cape Town it even made sense for us to use AWS for storage services and its very affordable prices as you only pay for what you use.

Cons

You really need to know what you are doing specially when comes to using S3 for machine learning some data sets might just increase your data storage you will need to optimise your data so as to reduce cost in storage.

August 2019

User Profile Picture

Rocky from Mirasee

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2019

Cheap Reliable storage in the cloud

Amazon S3 solved our storage needs. Prior, the company was storing everything on their own servers. If the site went down, so did our files. Amazon's reliability is why we use the S3.

Pros

Amazon S3 is like Dropbox/Google Drive, but on Amazon's cloud server. That means, it's fast with a 99.9% uptime. All of our public-facing course material is secured on Amazon S3, and I don't have to worry about the server being down.

Cons

There's a learning curve. It's kind of ugly - I'm not expecting someone to use it right out of the box. There's lots of options to choose from, and you could accidentally expose all of your sensitive data if you didn't set it up correctly.

Reasons for Switching to Amazon S3

Dropbox was cleaner, but expensive. S3 is reliable and priced waaaay better.

March 2020

User Profile Picture

Monish from lowes

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2020

Efficient and easy to use Distributed file Storage System

over all it is a pretty good experience

Pros

s3 auto rewrites the file, need not handle if file exists delete then write etc.. it gives ability to create static web pages, can be used as a redirecting page it can be used in sql copy commands, where a query generated results can be stored into the s3 file in different formats can set different permission models to a file or a set of files in a bucket has Java jar's, python support and ubuntu command line support so that it can be automated through programming

Cons

the file or folder name cant be a prefix sub string of other file name example : if i have file1.csv and file1.csv.zip if i delete file1.csv through code , it deletes both the files and the static web hosting dont support https, for this we have to do a workaround

September 2020

shana from Accenture

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2020

Amazons S3

It was easy to set up, but it was rather hard to debugg. Make sure you are aware of the configurations anf limitations before you star setting up because fixing things later on can be dificult.

Pros

Its very easy to set up and it merges well with a wide variety of AWS and third party solutions. Plus it has a very good price

Cons

S3s functionalities can be somewhat slow and limited. You are bound by a 300 items when looking through them, and the seatch function is also very limited. Lets Say I have automaticaly created 1000 reports and the naming convention for my reports al star the same, if I want to too look at the last 300 files, ill probably have to skip 2 screens until I reach the last one. If this happens with 10000, its gona be a pain. Also, using the search bar can take quite a while if there are more than 100.000 items in that bucket. I'd like it if there were a more advance search function or more filters when going through an S3 bucket.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 850 reviews