User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.75

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"For us, it's a perfect solution for a small business that needs a tee sheet management software and a great POS."
  • icon"All the great advice from them helped us to choose the solution that best suited our day-to-day reality."
  • icon"I love the integration with Lightspeed and the fact that we can have house accounts for our members that can be viewed efficiently and accurately."
  • icon"Every software has their small issues, however the Chronogolf team is always there to fix our problems quickly."
  • icon"Not being able to edit once booked, no scorecards, cannot add a guest and sometimes the app was overloaded and ran slow."
  • icon"Paying multiple players at the same time sluggish. That online booking is either all or nothing for the client to pay online."

All Lightspeed Golf Reviews

1-25 of 169 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Jenifer

Verified reviewer

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2018

Chronogolf is a tee-sheet management system that actually cares about their clients!

When we partnered with Chronogolf they were still a young company and not all of the features we needed were there, but they have been great at growing with us and constantly upgrading to provide a better product.

Pros

I love how easy it is to use, it's pretty much fool proof! It's very intuitive and all of my employees pick up on it quickly, especially all the millennials joining the work force. The super clean and tidy interface is also very easy to explain to customers and we have found our web-based bookings have increased due to this. I also love that they are continually in touch with updates and take the time to ask what feature their clients need or want to see next. The personal touch goes a long way! That's what we as golf course operators provide for our customers so it is nice to see a tee-sheet management company who does the same for their clients.

Elizabeth

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2022

Lightspeed is the perfect solution for all our golf course needs.

I'm so grateful that we chose Lightspeed as our new partner for tee sheet and POS management. Our new website is incredible and our PitchCRM campaigns are very successful. We look forward to continuing our partnership with Lightspeed.

Pros

Lightspeed software is incredibly easy to use and offers tremendous features to help you manage your business. The dynamic pricing tee sheet feature is key for our business and the Business Intelligence and POS reporting gives us the data we need to analyze our revenue. The added value you find with website management, CRM, and other tools are great to maximize the value of partnering with Lightspeed. Every piece of the Lighspeed puzzle offers dedicated support teams that assist with any question quickly and with almost immediate responses for tee sheet and POS management. I'd highly recommend Lightspeed to any golf operation of any size.

Cons

As with any change, there are growing pains and challenges. While Lightspeed training is excellent, there are a couple features on occasion that we have requested specifically to improve upon or add for an even better experience. The biggest hurdle is the same as you would face in making this kind of transition with any new software program and that is simply the learning curve involved and time it takes to setup all of the tools and items needed to start operating normally again. The good news is that Lightspeed makes it about as painless as possible for such a significant transition.

Reasons for choosing Lightspeed Golf

Lightspeed was an all-encompassing product that was not overly complicated. It offered all the features we needed at a fair price.

Reasons for switching to Lightspeed Golf

We needed an operating system that had dynamic pricing as well as multiple other improvements that CPS simply could not offer. Lightspeed gave us the tools we needed to bring our club into the modern era for golf course management.

Bailey

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

January 2022

Worst Reporting System I've Ever Seen

Switching after 11 months, if that tells you!

Pros

Not much to say, not much was good. Restaurant software was OK, but barely.

Cons

The reports Lightspeed provides are a joke. There is no rhyme or reason to how reports are carried through to accounting systems, and total amount NEVER match, leaving the client to sort through an accounting nightmare all on their own. They offer literally no help in terms of navigating the system, simply stating that "they can't tell you how to handle your money". When you have to ask for help over and over again, you eventually receive short, smart-alek responses, as if you're not worth their response in the first place.

Reasons for switching to Lightspeed Golf

We were conned into thinking this program would be easier than our previous system.

chris

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2019

We are extremely pleased with the Chronogolf system. Best System out there!

The experience working with Chronogolf has be very positive. The are a great team player with golf facilities. We are looking forward to seeing the growth of best of business relationships to further our business and no trade times! We feel we have found a long term partner to help grow our business by providing an open platform to provide better services to our customers.

Pros

It is a modern cloud based system that is simple or as complex as you would like. If you are coming from an older style point of sale system it will take a little while to get up to speed, but don't worry the support services are prompt, competent and patient. The ability to work from home to manage the system has been great for our management team. Reports are detailed and easy to run. Collecting customer information is straight forward. Different modules are available as your comfort level with the product increases that will help differential your golf facility from the crowd. The system works seamlessly with Lightspeed and has resulted in improved bottom line performance in every department category. It is easy to make informed decisions on performance as you go along.

Cons

There is so much capability with this system you can get overwhelmed in the first peak season. We are really looking forward to the off season to strategically go through the system for improved performance. It is a intuitive system but there is a lot of potential to challenge your team.

Reasons for choosing Lightspeed Golf

We really appreciated the open ended nature of there software company. They are willing to partner with the best of breed companies to improve the overall value of there product. No Trade Times was another option we truly appreciated!

Reasons for switching to Lightspeed Golf

Time to modernize our system and personal skill sets to better reflect the modern golf market.

Tim

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2019

Chronogolf has been the best by Far

All that said, Chronogolf is an excellent program that my golf course plans to use for years to come.

Pros

I've used a few different tee sheet management software programs throughout my time working at golf courses, and Chronogolf has been the best by far. This program has great, very intuitive features that I felt the other services I used were lacking. Some of my personal favorites are included below: - A very nice way to price out golf per individuals, or groups of golfers (we have many different price points and golfer "types" here, and the ability to set the daily pricing by the hour, and easily change a golfer's specific pricing by changing his or her "type" makes it very easy and quick checking in golfers) - The ability to click and drag a tee time to change the time is awesome. So much easier than going into the reservation and changing the time, or deleted and recreating - Having a way to set colors to different types is great and gives a quick way to see the demographic of golfers on any given day - The tournament module is awesome (still needs a few minor tweaks) But as a course that hosts many tournaments, I use this module very frequently and it provides a very easy way to manage the tee sheet on a tournament day - Probably the biggest feature is that it is cloud-based. I can access any information I need to at any time I need which is very useful and important to me.

Cons

This program, like all others, does have a few minor flaws, and some bugs (sometimes runs very slowly, or just glitches tee times out) but all that is very minor and usually does not cause any lastly problems.

Reasons for switching to Lightspeed Golf

Chronogolf is a lot faster, more intuitive and the customer support is off the charts.

Bayley

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2021

LIGHTSPEED IS A GAME CHANGER

Pros

I like how you can easily monitor your store at anytime, so easily.. on your phone, computer, I pad. It has a number of super helpful reports, easy inventory tracking. Overall lightspeed is just the best POS software out there, hands down.

Cons

Anything I've come across to be difficult or that I've struggled to figure out, I've called support and been helped immediately. We've had a couple errors with the payment machine, which refreshing the webpage fixed.

Reasons for choosing Lightspeed Golf

N/A

Reasons for switching to Lightspeed Golf

Windward was confusing, and old. We wanted something user friendly, cloud based and reachable from anywhere.

Jed

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Sports

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2022

21st. Century

This company has done everything that they they said they would. Training could of not been better.

Pros

Cloud based, all we need is an internet connection and I can use Lightspeed anywhere! The Food & beverage software blows away any other product.

Cons

One thing that I would like to see is to sell multiple packages to different people but paid by one person in one transaction. ex. two sisters or husband and wife. One glitch is customers in F&B can charge to a house account even though they do not have one. They do have a work around but its not the best.

Reasons for choosing Lightspeed Golf

More features and better price. The people at Lightspeed just seemed to be honest and straight forward.

Reasons for switching to Lightspeed Golf

Way more features that we were looking for. Digital tee sheet, online booking, rewards, member management, food service point of sale, email, website, cloud based.

Carolyn

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Sports

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2022

Excellent customer service

We switched from golf now to light speed during Covid. We learned as we went. Fortunately the program is set up so well, we were able to have a smooth transition

Pros

I love that it is so easy to use. I also love that my rep gets back to me so quickly with answers. He also will reach out just to check in. I try to schedule tutorials with him. Very helpful

Cons

Is it strange to say there are too many reports? But seriously you can get lost with the ways to analyze the data.

Reasons for switching to Lightspeed Golf

Covid

Stacie

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2022

Great Product

Pros

I love the back end reporting from Lightspeed and the way it feeds into Quickbooks. It saves me time!

Cons

Sometimes the filters for reporting can be hard to access but that could be user error. :)

Reasons for choosing Lightspeed Golf

It all came down to reporting. Lightspeed Golf has a vast arrary of reports that can be generated during the season and for our year end. Being able to pull data on an ongoing basis ensures that we are on target.

Reasons for switching to Lightspeed Golf

We were using a system that was only for golf. Therefore the only aspect of our business that was being tracked was tee times. Lightspeed allowed us to integrate golf, retail and our restaurant all into one reporting system.

Karen

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Sports

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2022

Product selected by our corporate

It is hard to compare with our previous product software, the switch-out was made during the pandemic and financial status of Chapter 11. The pandemic regulations by the state, city & county and federal restricted using automation for online bookings required to informing the customers of mandates. The product is meant for memberships, which the direction was delayed due to Chapter 11 status.

Pros

Immediate support through Online Chat support from the techs and tutorial articles.

Cons

Due to not being a membership we are not able to use the software at the maximum capacity. Chronogolf and Light Speed was easy to install.

Russell

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

2

March 2022

Muskoka Highlands Golf Links

Overall my experience with Lightspeed has been good.

Pros

Very easy to use and differentiate between different member types. Online booking is simple for our customers.

Cons

It may not be a Golf con, but it would really help our POS if Lightspeed fully integrated with Moneris on all of their platforms. I know they do with Restaurant, so why not with Retail? I'd love if there was a mass-edit option for member types on Golf and Retail. At the end of each season, members lose their designation and only get it back when they pay their dues. This would save us time having to manually change their member types.

ROBERT

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Sports

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2020

Nehoiden Golf Club Chronogolf Testimonial

In December 2018, we started to collect Member payments through Chronogolf, and completed the implementation/transfer phase from our previous management system. It was immediately apparent that Chronogolf was far more intuitive, and the customer service is a complete 180 from what we experienced with our previous system. The team at Chronogolf is readily available, and you can direct message them at almost any point during the day. Our main contact Mylene was great with training and answering all of our questions as well. We soon felt we made an excellent choice in Chronogolf. From the member side, they provide a Member Portal which allows our private members to set up automatic payments, see their current balance, see play history and keep an unofficial GHIN at the Club. Invoices are also automatically emailed to members at the first of each month, and cards kept on file are charged on the 15th. We provided our own instructions to members for how to activate their Chronogolf Member Dashboards, and as a result have had to so less admin work collecting and accounting for member checks and individual monthly payments.

Pros

The 2019 season was our first with Chronogolf, and our experience with the system from to this point has been stellar. From implementation and working with the onboarding and customer service teams, from opening day and throughout the season, Chronogolf has been the product we were looking for in a golf management system, even though we are a 9-hole private course that does not utilize tee times. We are using the management system to renew our memberships, pay GHIN fees as well as outstanding 2018 fees, check in members and guests at the first tee, charge guest fees before rounds, and send out monthly billing statements to members with outstanding balances. The 2018 golf season was our first with a golf management system, after years of using several third party tools to collect annual member dues, monthly fees, as well as guest fees at our golf course. We went with a management system [Chelsea Reservations] after some research that we thought would fit our needs. While the system proved adequate, it helped us realize what we really needed in our system, and we started to once again explore the various options most used in the golf industry. After much work to compare and trial a few our of top choices, we decided that Chronogolf would best suit our needs for the 2019 season...

Cons

I believe this question is not applicable at this time.

Reasons for choosing Lightspeed Golf

Our first year with Chronogolf has certainly been one that has enabled us to streamline our workflow, cut down on administration time, and will certainly help us in this upcoming offseason to collect annual dues for 2020, as well as see detailed reports on rounds and revenue from the 2019 season. We look forward to continuing to adapt Chronogolf to fit our specific needs, and will certainly see the benefits of the system in the seasons to come.

Reasons for switching to Lightspeed Golf

Before the start of the 2019 season, Chronogolf worked with us to train the starters who would be working with the tee sheet, as well as collecting payments from members and their guests at the first tee for guest fees. Chronogolf offers us a customized training session with the starters, along with a practice tee sheet / POS setup, and a series of tutorials for all involved. With these training materials along with working with the system from opening day, our starters quickly determined that Chronogolf was far superior to the previous system we utilized, and starters were soon comfortable managing both the tee sheet and POS no matter what their technological skill level. Note that since we are a private walk-up course that does not utilize the tee time reservation system, starters add members and guests to the tee sheet upon arrival for tee off, and also account for guest fees at that time either by charging the member account, or collecting a credit card payment for the existing balance. As the season went on, any time we had a question or issue, we reached out to the Chronogolf team and they were happy to respond. It is a running joke here at Nehoiden that we seem to come up with unique scenarios and situations, and the team at Chronogolf seem to always find an answer for us either right away, or after consulting with others in the related departments. They also check in with us through an assigned support person, so we never feel out on our own with the system.

Sharon

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2019

I am very very pleased with the Chronogolf system

I love the fact that I can work from home, I can watch the tee sheet  and bookings, look at sales is very convenient .  The online help at the bottom right of the screen has been  a life saver.  Early in the season after we went live we would run in to different scenarios that we need help with.  It was as easy as typing in the question , responses and solutions were within minutes.  No waiting on hold on a 1-800 number listening to music. This help was 7 days a week as well.  As an accountant by trade , I am all about numbers , so I love the reporting and the different ways you can segment and isolate data. We also wanted the feature where we had the ability to process payments over the winter.  Almost 25% of our membership use our winter payment plan, were they can divide their memberships and services into 6 equal payments.  This can all be done now through Chronogolf and the Stripe feature.  I was began working with representative and she walked be through a couple of different ways to do this and she sent me a helpful follow up email recapping our training system. There are training modules you can access and go back to take a refresher on if you think you need to learn more. 

Pros

Last year our golf course made the decision to switch from paper tee sheet and an antiquated POS system.  We didn't make this decision lightly either.  Cost, practicality , ease of use were just some of the many factors we considered when we went shopping for a replacement.  We even did a site visit to one of our local courses who was using the Chronogolf product.  The manager very generously spent a couple of hours with us showing us how he used it and what he considered the pro's and con's .   Our board of directors made the decision in February to go with the Chronogolf product and I was appointed the person in charge of implementation and training.  I have to say before I started, I was apprehensive , actually dreading the switch.  Well, I have to admit I was pleasantly surprised.  After an initial conference call, I was appointed a trainer/facilitator to help our golf course and myself navigate this process.  My trainer represenative, was polite, patient and very accessible.  I say patient because I certainly have basic computer knowledge , but I was worried I did not know enough technical stuff.  Anything I did not know represenative walked me through it.  We built our tee sheet and POS system basically using the template they provide yet still customizing it for our own specific needs.  We worked away on the off season an we were ready to go live on time for our opening.   I love the cloud based aspect , for us this made accessing information so much quicker. 

Cons

The one time this summer that Chronogolf experienced a system wide issue as a result of AWS being down, they were very quick to reach out to all of us through a message on the tee sheet and email that the problems we were experiencing were theirs not ours.  That saved us time , instead of running around test our wifi and routers thinking the problem was us.

David

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2019

The Point of Sale system, Lightspeed, is brilliant.

Overall the software is brilliant from a club management point of view and makes my life so much easier.

Pros

- The system works seamlessly with Lightspeed POS and makes our day to day tasks so much more efficient. As a result we are so much more accurate with all our work. - The subscription selling process is so simple and customizable for each customer it gives my staff confidence they will get it right first time every time. - The dynamic pricing model is brilliant and moves with our demands to reflect a price which is reasonable for the amount of traffic we have on a given day. Once set up you don’t need to worry about it again. - We use the events page to sell our junior camps online. This is a great portal to have as we can send our customers a link so they can read all about the camps and sign up online. This can be used for social events and banquets to sell ticket also. - With both pieces of software integrated (POS and Tee Sheet), it saves us double work setting up memberships and green fee types in both. Lightspeed is also integrated with Xero accounting software so our accountants can see their accounts the following day! - The software has a chat system and the Chronogolf staff are always there to help. Most issues are solved immediately but any that aren’t are resolved with a couple of days.

Cons

- The organisation of the system takes time but once a member of staff has responsibility for this it works well. - The system can be slow at times but this is rare. - Golf shops products need to be made up from scratch but this also gives us the ability to create them the way we want too. - When sending out sms or email messages from the tee sheet it doesn’t keep a record of what was sent to look back at.

Greg

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4