What are Calibration Control users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Calibration Control software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.68

74 Reviews

5
53
4
17
3
2
2
1
1
0
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer Support

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"The ease of searching through the data. This software is very user friendly and customizable."
  • icon"APE Calibration Control is incredibly easy to use software that puts information regarding your tools in a organized and quickly searchable format."
  • icon"Ease of use, reliability, and hands down best support we have ever received from a software company."
  • icon"Occasionally the software losses connection to the database or the number generation for new calibrations is not unique."
  • icon"There are very few features in this program that have a negative impact."
  • icon"As a calibration provider mainly performing work in the field this has been more of an inconvenience than an obstacle."

Jump to:

Browse all Calibration Control Reviews

  • Have you used Calibration Control and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 73 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 73 reviews

User Profile

Jason

Verified reviewer

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

Excellent calibration software. Fits our operation perfectly.

Better management of calibrations through use of software. Before Cal Control we were documenting all our calibration data and records through Excel Spreadsheets. This has streamlined our process and allows far better data collection and record keeping.

Pros

This software is extremely easy to set up and use. We don't utilize every feature that's available, but it's nice to know it's there if we decide to. The customer support team is fast, friendly, and knowledgeable. The developer also seems very receptive to tweaks and modifications if you should happen to notice anything that may personally benefit your operation. Ongoing support and frequent updates are also a couple of things I like about this program.

Cons

I honestly have no complaints or dislikes. This software fits our needs and plays an important role in our daily operations. If I had one wish, it would be that this software tied into our instrumentation repair history database. That's of course no fault of this program; it's simply a desire to streamline our overall process.

Kevin

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Machinery

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2019

The most features with the smallest price tag

I have worked with calibration control through several version iterations and as with all software, bugs do occur. The important part to note is that all reported bugs are typically identified and fixed by the great team over at Calibration Control.

Pros

Calibration Control is simple to use and easy to self admin. This software is great for calibration companies as well as companies looking to just track and maintain company assets. The software allows for many customizations and the ability to suit many various needs.

Cons

The only downfall of Calibration Control is the ability to access and submit data without an internet connection. As a calibration provider mainly performing work in the field this has been more of an inconvenience than an obstacle.

Reasons for choosing Calibration Control

As a small business ease of use and value are important factors. Calibration Control may not have every feature of its other much larger competitors but, they have vast majority of what I need while still being easy to self administrate.

Response from Ape Software

Thanks for the great review!! You mention that the only downfall is that you need the ability to use CC without an internet connection (you host your DB in the Azure cloud). If you follow the instructions in this video, you can setup DB synchronization and get the offline (disconnected DB) functionality you need: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kw94bP2WKWY

Replied December 2019

William

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

Overall an "OK" product; not very intuitive and reports are weak. I would give it a C+.

it replaced an Excel spreadsheet; it adds more structure and control.

Pros

Viewing and sorting is very easy; easy to enter new gauges. It's fairly easy to use, but there are a lot of useless features that just complicate and confuse things.

Cons

Reporting and filtering are terrible. Easy to enter information in wrong fields, etc. We have to export everything to Excel if we want to perform filtering and generate reports. Very cumbersome setup.

William

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2022

Good choice for our needs

This calibration software helped us develop the capability of automating our equipment calibration, reducing the likelihood of missing calibration dates, maintaining supporting documentation, satisfying ISO9001-2015 requirements and ease of providing evidence during internal and external Quality Management System audits.,

Pros

This product has all the features needed for comprehensive measurement instrument calibration control, is easy to use, and helps reduce the need for manual management.

Cons

There really isn't anything I don't like about the software.

David

Verified reviewer

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

ApeCal has been an awesome tool in keeping track of all of our test equipment.

Pros

Notifications, sorting by any column, clarity from even a novice's view are able to understand what we are all viewing. The customer support is stellar. They've been able to remotely figure out every situation I've had with ease. Very sharp in not just ApeCal, but their understanding of computer operations and file storage has helped to rectify every imaginable issue. Clicking and dragging a picture or a calibration cert is so easy too!

Cons

The only thing I wish was easier, is when I enter a new calibration on an existing unit, I wish the 'company', 'as found' and 'as left' fields could be set to a default.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2019

Major Update of APE Software

It is mandatory that my group maintains our calibration certificates in an orderly manner as we are audited periodically. Thanks to this software we have passed every audit with flying colors since we implemented the APE Software. Special thanks to rep for talking me thru this update and actually doing the majority of the work as we were at least 10 revisions behind. She was excellent!

Pros

I like the way the screen can be laid out, sorted, things hidden from, view, etc. Much better than when we tried to do our own thing with EXCEL.

Cons

I am not good with Access so I went to a course on that just to understand what was going on in the background.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

Easy to use, reasonably configurable. User control and change tracking are great features.

Improved traceability back to national standards. Improved homogeneity of data entry.

Pros

Technical support service is incredibly helpful. I wish all software maintenance agreements came with support like this! Sorting and ability to custom name/define fields.

Cons

There are very few features in this program that have a negative impact. Once during an upgrade some of our custom reports quit working properly - but support to resolve the issue was quick and effective.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

Great product for the price, and some of the best support offered

Great Product for starting out needs, was able to grow with us to this point.

Pros

Easy to use, easy to set up users, and access. Tech Support was always available and more than ready to help.

Cons

older versions were a bit buggy, disconnects from database. Error message may not be real error so i really did not know what true problem was and had to call support, great thing is that support is the best and easy to work with.

Phil

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

Cost Effective Solution for a Small Company

Calibration Control has allowed us to move away from a disjointed paper system that was always a concern during ISO Audits. We are able to quickly provide answers to our auditors and show traceability. Customer service has always been very responsive and helpful.

Pros

We were able to add it to our existing SQL database. Lots of features for a reasonable price. Many new features and customization options have been added to Version 9. Looking forward to trying them out. Thank you for continuing to improve this product!

Cons

The software has had some annoying bugs at times, but the developer continues to make changes to improve the operation of the product.

User Profile

Nicholas

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

Amazing Calibration Software

The guys at calibration control have amazing customer service and a great product. If i have an issues they respond and repair the issue usually within 24hrs, which is great as i know they are based on the other side of the world.

Pros

Very simple to use, amazing customer service. Professional and comprehensive reports

Cons

The report designer is a bit difficult to use.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

Our experience with Calibration Control has been very positive, better than three others we tried.

Allowed training of new persons to be easier based on the software. Left me open to spend more time on the actual processes and not as much on how to use software to manage them.

Pros

It is easy to use and very economical for the features. We had a different package that was touted as "easy" but found it difficult and pricey.

Cons

Setting up the software for login of new users when using SQL database requires IT support as there is no easy way to do it through an interface from the software.

David

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2019

First Time Exposure to Calibration Control

Overall experience is quite positive! When I ran the limit of the Manual and needed further assistance, the APE Software Calibration Control Customer Service Representative, CSR, was extremely helpful, and is representative of the heart and strength of the company. She abundantly answered all of my questions and provided insight into the power of the software. Representative introduced me to the 'Teamviewer,' which, in my view, provides for dynamic customer / representative interface. Through the use of Teamviewer, more than vocalization of what to do, over the phone, was displayed as she showed me real time what to do and then let me demonstrate what she had shown me, in order to ensure I fully understood the concepts. Having been, myself, a trainer within Quality Assurance, the foregoing indelibly etched what I learned. Representative apparent sterling knowledge and understanding of the software spurred me, at one point, to ask her whether she was a program developer. I have had to make multiple calls seeking answers to perplexing questions and Representative has effectively answered all of them. Summarizing, based upon the power of the software and the company’s customer service, I strongly recommend this software.

Pros

There are several 'Pros:' 1. The program is virtually 'Instant On,' meaning very little time is lost waiting for the program to load, 2. An active user manual is available online for ready reference, 3. Updates are readily available, 4. Valuable informational status is readily seen, and 5. Fields have color coding to reflect current status of the tool.

Cons

The package is not readily intuitive, meaning use of the Manual and / or call-in to the company representative is needed; although, we used Excel, up to this point, to track calibration status and functioned from that point of view, which was one dimensional and did not provide enough information, the benefits of this package outweigh any negatives.

Reasons for switching to Calibration Control

The switch was made to better control our calibration process.

Cary

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

January 2016

APE software is an easy and efficient way to help capture calibration history for your company.

I have used this software for one year and I have about 5,000 gages currently that I handle. My overall experience with the software and APE staff has been very pleasant. I have experienced some issues stemming from security on my computer, knowledge and glitches in the software but I have had wonderful support every step of the way. Customer service is SUPERIOR. The Ape staff is friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable. Mark has many years of experience and takes time to understand your needs. One particular time there was a glitch with my system and Mark walked me step by step through what happened, why it happened and although he had never had that problem before was able to fix the glitch with me. A big plus is that they usually answer the phone when you call but if they do not, leave a message; they return calls and emails in less than 24 hours generally and in most cases within the hour. The biggest bonus is that Mark and Natasha are always listening to suggestions, concerns, and feedback and then look for solutions to incorporate it into the software to ensure that their customers are running efficiently. Natasha and I have worked on things before and when I would suggest or make a comment and she will stop me, write down the information and I will see the fix in a future update. The software I used prior did not do even 50% of what APE software does. APE gives me the flexibility to do what I need to do and with a professional look. As for the software its very user friendly no matter what the level of computer knowledge the user has. I have not had time to read the manual and still have been able to print reports, attach documents, attach links to policies and procedures and print certificates of calibration among basic calibration record keeping. The software allows for such a variety of options so that you are able to accurately record everything happening with each gauge, tool, machine, etc. By using features like measurement groups, notes, check in and attachments it is easy to with a click of a button know your tolerance for a tool, when it was last calibrated, who checked it out last, where it is located and any documentation such as manufacturers instruction manual, certification, and repair information right from your pc. My previous software was unable to do that and did not always know how it was filed.

Ronny

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Military

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

Outstanding Customer Service and Value

My overall experience with Calibration Control has been fantastic. I would say the best part about the software are the people behind it. The APE team's customer service really makes the difference. They are always quick to respond, willing to help with any issue and always seem to go above and beyond to meet the customer needs.

Pros

APE Calibration Control is incredibly easy to use software that puts information regarding your tools in a organized and quickly searchable format. Even with extremely limited interaction with this software you can quickly the needed requirements for calibration completed and documented quickly.

Cons

occasionally the software losses connection to the database or the number generation for new calibrations is not unique.

Jim

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

April 2012

Feature rich, this system is easy to use and transfers old data from V 4.x

This is the first Calibration software I've had occasion to use. Our previous version, V 4.x purchased by a previous administration, was OK but our Auditor did not like it. I believe it was due to the old interface and opportunity for errors. This version is updated, modern and has a much nicer look and feel for data input and reporting. I expect he will be satisfied with the data output. We transferred about 1,400 tools from our old system to the new and have added almost 200 more since then. After we get our tooling current from the data transfer we plan on investigating the Templates for more rapid entry of data. We are also going to begin to use this database and Bar Coded labels for Asset Management. I can't wait until we can get the software upgrade to make our jobs even easier. All in all, this is a great system at a great value that is performing above our expectations.

Pros

Implementation and support were superb using the telephone and Teamviewer application. Installation and personalized training in one step! Our data migrated without a hitch. Our Technician said the interface was familiar and has needed virtually no support while calibrating our tools. We purchased the label maker along with the software upgrade and, after a few modifications to a standard label, we have several custom labels for different applications.

Cons

A few glitches and inconsistencies in our old data caused some heartache in sorting and assigning new tool identifications; Good news was that this will be solved by an upcoming revision, but this is the only drawback so far. We did buy the Bar Code Wand but can't print Bar Codes on everything we'd like due to the size of the label and space restrictions and physical size of the bar code itself. This is not a software problem but it is something to consider for labels.

Adam

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2019

Great Value and Easy to Use

The program was installed and the information added within a week. The help I needed from APE Software was readily available and they were able to walk me through some of the problems and issues I was having during the implementation. Bottom line is the customer service is great. The program rarely gives me any trouble, and when it does the customer service techs are there to rapidly find the problems and apply a correction.

Pros

I really like the ease of moving around in the program. The filtering to specific items and types of equipment is very simple. Plenty of user defined fields to be able to add and track info you need to have for your business.

Cons

Would like to have a form letter as a report for outsourcing calibrations traceable to NIST standards. It is not very easy to be able to create and modify forms/reports.

Reasons for choosing Calibration Control

Great Value for the money, Simple program to understand and use, Provides the basic needs for my company (and then some), and Great staff and customer support that provided answers to all my questions and concerns during the evaluation process.

Kenneth

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2017

We needed to find a calibration tracking system that was a better fit. Cal Control is perfect.

Updated tracking and organization of calibration and maintenance events.

Pros

Between the included features in the program and the amazing customer service, we have not encountered a single scenario that Cal Control can't handle. The support team is responsive and professional, and has provided excellent insight to any problems I've needed assistance with. I very much enjoy the ability to customize every report and printout; it lets the program perform exactly as I want, and opens a lot of opportunity for expansion as well.

Cons

Some small functions take more manual entry than I would like. Specifically, when creating a new measurement template, I would like to be ale to copy an entire measurement group. When I mentioned this to the customer support team, they said it had been brought up before and that they would look into it in future updates.

Kurt Juul

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

Flexible software. Dedicated team behind. All your wishes are attempted to be met

Pros

I have managed calibration databases since 2002. In 2013, I was looking for a new and better software. I downloaded several trial versions from different companies, including a trial version of Calibration Control, which I immediately became very excited about. Since 2013 I have been a very satisfied user of Calibration Control. The support I get from the CC team is fantastic. Any wishes for new features and improvements are always attempted to be met. The CC team is very dedicated to make a great user experience.

Cons

It is hard to find any cons when a software, and the team behind, never have let you down through a period of five years.

Michael

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2019

Calibration Control

I manage all the inspection equipment and this software can track calibration dates, equipment history and where the equipment is used. I find it reliable and it provides comprehensive data for our inspection equipment.

Pros

I searched various packages to see which would work for our division. This package had good reviews and covered all our necessary requirements with beneficial additional functions. Support is available when required.

Cons

It would be good to check out to be able to check out/in multiple lines for one project in one go rather than individually.

Reasons for choosing Calibration Control

This package gave us what we needed, reliable software support is also provided when required,

Bruce

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2017

CC met all of my expectations and needs. The CC Team provided a flawless download and startup.

Eliminated use of archaic gage card system resulting in an electronic, searchable database, integration of MSA documents with the specific gage (no independent filing cabinets), can take the software to "the floor" using a tablet to address the gage on site, and automated calibration notification.

Pros

Software fields are flexible to use customer specific terminology. Software stores calibration certs, gage R&R results by gage for easy retrieval. With minimal training, gage technicians were able to convert from a gage card system to an electronic system. The software system allowed us to pass our AIAG MSA, ISO/TS 16949 audit with no issues.

Cons

Requires additional help to modify or create output reports. Minor modifications of existing reports is easy. Specific reports require MS Access knowledge. Once created, no issues.

Greg

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2020

Feature rich for the money. Amazing support.

Top notch.

Pros

The value for the money. Lots of features and well designed. And if you have an idea or a problem, you communicate directly with the programmers who are extraordinarily responsive. Best I've ever experienced.

Cons

It sometimes is a bit glitchy. But that is a probably a function the frequent improvements. Usually if I find a problem, it is fixed in the next release if not sooner.

Reasons for choosing Calibration Control

Best value. Responsive customer support.

Deb

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Machinery

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

Its been very good. Customer service is very helpful.

under industry you should have a manufacturing.

Pros

its easy to use. I am still learning and customer service has been very patient with me. I like that I can color according to calibration due date.

Cons

I wish you could print out gauging locations according to department. To better track if gauging is being moved from one machine to another, It would be easier to print out a list and give to the leads of each department of what is where and at which machine.

Bernie

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

Complex Calibration Made Simple

Pros

As the administrator, it goes in easy and the user's pick it up quickly. We have a number of users on the system from managers down to factory workers. They can easily access the system, get to the information they need, and make the transactions they require.

Cons

The previous version was a mess! Fortunately the point releases have fixed all the challenges and tech support helped get all the database changes needed done.

Tracy

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

I have found this program to be easy to use.

This software has enabled our business to easily maintain a complete list of all in-house assets. It is easy to use and easy to teach to new employees.

Pros

I like how searchable this program is! It is also very easy to use, new users are easily able to learn to use this software.

Cons

I find that it is more difficult to make this program custom than I hoped it would be, in regards to reports.

Jim

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2017

Excellent software!

When I have a problem their customer service with technical help is always perfect. I never worry when I encounter a problem since I know that help is just a phone call away. Software is intuitive and easy to learn. With frequent updates they seem to be always on the cutting edge of technology and their updates make sense and include the end user in their decisions.

Pros

Easy to use. Frequent updates to keep it current.

Showing 1 - 25 of 73 reviews
Calibration Control

Calibration Control

4.68/5 out of 74 reviews
PriceDemo