All MAPCON Reviews

1-25 of 144 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Patrick

Building Materials, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2016

A great product with even better customer service

I have been working with Mapcon for about 4 years now and I was the one tasked with building the system from the very bottom, up. The system has its ups and downs and shortcomings like any other program (some times automatic reporting is a bit tedious); however, the ability for it to maintain records, notify affected employees, and allow our users to create and check the status of work orders and inventory is invaluable. It has saved our company both time and money, which is a must in this economy. And, if I ever experience an issue, their customer service are prompt, knowledgeable, and always easy to work with. You get a person every time and there is no hassle. Great product with even better customer service.

PROS

The ability to obtain reports, manage inventory, and track work requests to completion Track spending through different departments

CONS

Automatic reporting doesn't always send out to list Some options are hard for non computer savvy users to understand

Vendor Response

Hi Patrick, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We have passed along your comments to our trainer, Steve, since he will be at your location soon for training. He will go over the reporting options with you. I¿ve been talking to you for years now and appreciate your kind words about our customer service. As you know¿call if you need us. :) -Diane ¿

Replied November 2016

Flint

Automotive, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2016

Great Software and getting better.

So far we have been pretty happy with this software. Support has been really helpful too. They were quick to fix a bug I found in the mobile app. I like that they seem eager to constantly improve their software too. For us our ultimate goal is to utilize the mobile app as much as possible and have a completely paperless system. For now we are still printing the PM's and entering them in manually until we can get everyone using the mobile app.

PROS

The mobile side of the system is what drew me in. I like the idea of being able to create work requests, work orders, complete pm's etc. all from the mobile app. I also plan to use the mobile app to help track some of our inventory in the future. I also like that the person requesting the work can get updates on its status by email.

CONS

For new users it can be difficult for them to understand sites and zones and just getting them started in general. Also, I would like to have more storage space for attachments. I would like to be able to have equipment manuals and even some videos for some of the assets and pm's. I have been able to somewhat work around this by using dropbox and just supplying links but that seems to be hit or miss on the mobile side.

Vendor Response

Hi Flint, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. Our marketing team is actually working on creating a video explaining Sites and Zones. It will be on our website soon. We have taken your software feedback and sent it directly to our programmers for them to consider for future releases. Thanks again! -Diane

Replied November 2016

David

Chemicals, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed November 2016

Good, not great

Unfortunately the PO side of MapCon is not as robust as I had hoped. If I fully understood the lack of ability for reporting options I may not have upgraded at all. At least with the old system we could create our own reports. I expected an upgrade to be not only more user friendly but also, at minimum, have the same capability of the original. The upgrade is nice but the limiting of M #'s and Assets seemed to a bit sneaky. While yes the quote mentioned numbers, the original MapCon had no such restriction and I believe that aspect should have been a talking point. As for customer service, we have have had to make multiple calls to follow up on requests. I expect better communication. We should not have to make those follow-ups to see where things are at.

PROS

Better interface than original

CONS

Not as flexible as original, limited M #'s and Assets, specialized reports have to go through MapCon not created in-house,

Vendor Response

Hi David, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We try to make our system scalable so it will fit both large and small organizations. This is why we price our systems according to number of assets and inventory parts as well as number of concurrent users. Our user quick reporter is not available from the purchasing module currently but it will be soon. We do offer an advanced business intelligence reporting tool, but it does require a more advanced level of report writing. We are continuing to improve internal procedures to meet our clients needs. Hopefully these improvements will ensure nothing falls through the cracks.As for our customer service, we pride ourselves on our world class support and truly believe the experiences you have had were the exception, not the rule. That being said, we do appreciate your feedback and will work hard to make sure our service is always consistent. Thanks again! -Diane

Replied November 2016

Todd

Newspapers, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2016

Older Version 5.1SP4

It is a good system for the price. Systems are only as good as the planning of configuration and data entry, most offer very similar features. This system will do most of what is required, however do to the age of our version, it lacks in mobility and domain integration. The newer systems offer this mobility and integration, however it parses out, and charges for, some of the modules that are all included in the older version. Regardless, costing is sensible compared to other systems and it is a company that listens and does try to build and address problems related to their customers.

PROS

It works for our specific needs. It is not too much and too expensive to where it is justifiable to purchase and make it work for if we put effort into making sure the data is accurate.

CONS

There are bugs, it does lock up and at times corrupts data. Some of the batch changes do not always works well. The mobility can be cumbersome. We know it may be due to the age of our system, which I can only speak from.

Vendor Response

Hi Todd, Thanks for sending this review. We appreciate your being a customer of ours for so long! If you ever change your mind and think you would like to upgrade, you know how to reach us! -Diane

Replied November 2016

Ken

Mining & Metals, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2016

Administrator

For the most part it is working well. There are a few issues that we need to work through and are hoping that it can be used in the manner that we need. It is sometimes difficult to set up a partial inventory. I still wants to print out the entire location inventory instead of just specific locations. We also have issues with the auto re-order attaching parts to an existing requisition instead of creating a new requisition. Over all it is working well for us and is building significant history for repairs and parts. We will continue to work through these issues and hopefully we can get the results we desire.

PROS

Due to the repetitive nature of the software it is easier to train new employees on the basics of Mapcon.

CONS

We have been working on the barcode module and are finding that because of limitations we may not be able to perform all of the functions that we would like.

Vendor Response

Hi Ken, Thanks for leaving us a review. Our trainer, Steve, will be coming to do on-site training at your facility soon, and he can help you work through some of these issues. In the meantime, feel free to call us for support if needed. -Diane

Replied November 2016

Rudolph

Consumer Goods, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2016

Mapcon 5.10

We are using Mapcon version 5.10 the oinsight version. I have seen the newer version of Mapcon and what I saw of it has most if not all of the same features as the 5.10 version. We have been using Mapcon from 1997 to present day. We use the Equipment records, Purchasing, Inventory, Work order and Preventive maintenance of the system. We have generated 262106 work orders and 98221 purchase orders. We use our Mapcon! Over the years Mapcon support team has come to our rescue many times with their remote Assist Customer to come in by wire to fix the problem or by training in person or over the phone so we could fix our own problems. When we needed features that was not part of the stock system, they would build it through there custom programing. Also the cost of this was reasonable, especially when compared to other software company's modifications or add-ons. It is my opinion that anyone that chose to use Mapcon would be happy that they did for the cost savings of the software and the support team that Mapcon offers. They are upfront with what options are available and would never leave you out in the cold.

PROS

Its ability to do what is needed.

CONS

none.

Paula

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2016

Working with Mapcon

Before joining the SXP family, i had never used a CMMS program. Now, almost 6 years later, I love it. It makes my job so much easier. Entering the information into Mapcon is a time consuming task, although very user friendly, however, once it is all entered and you begin your process of work requests, work orders, reports, and especially the PM program. i could not have asked for a better system than Mapcon. Mapcon's customer service reps are spectacular as well. i used them alot in the first year & have had situations in the previous years to have to call. Never have we ending our call unsatisfied. The training that we have received from Mapcon, via computer or on site, has been great as well.

PROS

The fact that i can create our own reports based on the different requests from our various department heads.

CONS

Sometimes the inventory on hand gives me a fit and takes me a few minutes to figure out where I went wrong. LOL other than that i am really very satisfied with the program.

Joe

Oil & Energy, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2016

#LOVEMYMAPCON

I have used Mapcon for over ten years and can't imagine my life without it. We track work orders, purchases, inventory, preventive maintenance schedules, and equipment with this software. Users include positions such as my own as the administrator, all the way to our Process Operators. The software is utilized by Safety and Production Coordinators, Lab and Maintenance Managers, as well as Maintenance and Process Technicians. If you do your work putting information into the system, getting information out is a breeze. While I know no other CMMS programs, I also care not to.

PROS

The thing I probably like the most is how Mapcon offers such a reliable and efficient way to track work, spare parts, labor, and purchases. Customer Support is always available when the need arises and Mapcon is diligent in improving the software continuously. They are open to suggestions and striving to make the software work for you.

Leah

Warehousing, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2016

Simplistic, Easy to Use, Great reporting!

Mapcon has been a great tool for our maintenance program. My experience with this has been long because we built it from scratch with this software. I love the flexibility of the software. The software itself is very easy to use and train others to use. The customer service level has not been consistent. In my experience, there are employees that exceed expectations and there are other employees who make obtaining information or answering questions difficult. One example of this was that I was sold this software with the understanding that I could train 1 person at all of my facilities. When I went to set up the online training I was told I could only have 3 at a time and I would have to pay for multiple training sessions. The first person who told me this was not helpful. The second lady that I spoke with worked it out for me after she found out what had been done previously. I also had another experience with a customer ser

PROS

The software itself!

CONS

The Customer Service inconsistencies.

Vendor Response

Hi Leah, Thanks for the review! I am glad I was able to help resolve the training situation. Please let me know if I can be of any further service. I'm always here if you need anything! -Diane

Replied November 2016

Pete

Chemicals, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2016

Great, cost effective maintenance solution

Many maintenance management packages are packed chock-ful of features that you never use. MAPCON is simple and has all the most important functions, and comes at a much lower cost than alternatives. We are upgrading to the latest version, v6.3, which brings better, more versatile reporting tools and web-integration (including support for mobile devices).

PROS

Simple, all important functions, very good pricing (cloud and outright purchase)

CONS

Multiple currency support has had to be custom developed for us, as it only handles USD by default. Scheduling of shift teams only works if your shift pattern recurs on a seven day week. We have 4x12 hour shifts, so can't use any of the automatic resource allocation and scheduling.

Ray

Oil & Energy

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2016

Nice new features and stable interface

We started using the new version of the software in October . We upgraded from their older system which was written on a different platform. New interface is nice as well as the web based program structure. Overall we are pleased with the new version and are looking forward to the enhancement features we will get in the future

PROS

Web based interface

CONS

Some features and protocols don't go well with the way we operate on a po level and work order level.

Charles

Machinery, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed October 2016

I am disappointed in you

Your program is way to difficult to use, it has windows that lead to no were waiting my time. Training new staff takes too long. I am switching over to Cworks Plus you should too

PROS

It looks good

CONS

It appears as if you think its ok to sell me an advertisement for a even more complicated system, instead of a system that works well and is user friendly

Vendor Response

Hello Charles, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your experience with MAPCON. Your input on user friendliness and training will be taken into consideration when enhancing our software and services. We are working on some training and implementation services that may have helped make your MAPCON implementation go smoother. We wish you the best in your future maintenance management endeavors. -Diane

Replied November 2016

Mark

Oil & Energy, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2016

Mapcon 5.0 Review

I have been with my company and used Mapcon 5.0 for the past nine years. It is a wonderful product and I would recommend it to anyone in need of a high quality CMMS. The canned reports are great and the customer support is outstanding. We are starting the process of upgrading to the new 6.0 version.

PROS

Customer service

CONS

Creating personalized reports can be difficult

Randy

Automotive, 501-1,000 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

Easy set up and use with world class support

I would recommend this product if you have to manage facilities or repair orders

PROS

As someone who set up, upgrades and supports the product I love the support the most. Once or twice over the years I have had to update the server and getting this product back up was easy. they offer to remote in to assist at no charge. the developers are in house which makes it special IMO

CONS

its java based, java updates can cause issues. it runs on sql which can put a little stress on a server if it shares resources, but product is light and run tons of other stuff on same box.

Reason for choosing MAPCON

price and familiarity this company has been around longer than Microsoft.

Joseph

Utilities, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2019

Solid software

Good overall experience. Wish I could export data on my own easier (custiomization).

PROS

Mapcon focuses on the work as much or more than the accoutning aspect. It is made for streamlined functionality.

CONS

Limited ability to customize without Mapcon doing it.

Megan

Oil & Energy, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2018

Mapcon review

Support techs are helpful but not always knowledgeable about the business needs.

PROS

Auto emails POs to vendors. Integrates invoices with accounting software.

CONS

The reports are not good. Difficult to get information "as of" a date.

adam

Chemicals, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2018

love it

customer service is great

PROS

keeping track of our equipment and getting emails when pm's are do

CONS

little hard to use at first but you will get the hang of it

Ryan

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE