IBM Maximo Application Suite Software Reviews

IBM Maximo Application Suite Software Reviews

Find out more:

FrontRunners 2020

Find out more:

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.18

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer Support

3.5

Value for money

3.5

Functionality

4

  • icon"Amazing integration capabilities. In addition, the solution has many features in the box that accelerates the adoption."
  • icon"Maximo can be customized quite a bit to fit different needs for different users. This allows you to set different priorities and Maximo will fit your specific requirements."
  • icon"Well reputed software as it is built by IBM. Good customer service and support."
  • icon"Work orders separate from engineering orders and even if you change them from one to the other they get lost in maximo purgatory."
  • icon"Expensive but get what you pay for. Can be confused by all of the bells and whistles when learning functionalities for the first time."
  • icon"Companies use it for show no for work because it takes to long to learn it and if you have a problem with it your stuck. Labor intense system others can do with petty cash funds."

All IBM Maximo Application Suite Reviews

1-25 of 76 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Greg

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2019

Essential for Reliability Centered Maintenance

Maximo is an essential piece of software for any maintenance organization to track and manage work orders, manpower, and maintenance costs. Routes are especially useful for setting up preventative and predictive maintenance in the most effective and efficient manors. To get the most out of Maximo carefully plan the structure of your asset and location heirarchy and ensure every asset is included.

Pros

Ability to track and manage work orders so you understand what is happening at your facility. Re-using and duplicating job plans takes away the tediousness of writing equipment specific maintenance procedures.

Cons

Very powerful for building and tracking maintenance KPI's but can take training and experience to use to it's full potential.

Adi

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time used: More than 2 years

EASE OF USE

4.5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3.5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3.5

August 2016

Maximo expert started as a consultant and now at the client side

Pros

Capable and has amazing industry verticals which set Maximo apart from all competitors. The addition of HSE manager was a great value and the recent Supply Chain functionalities enhancement were spot on. Overall, when it comes to having an out of the box product with deep industry understanding, Maximo is the way to go.

Cons

##Product 1: The product lacks standards business processes, just like SAP, Maximo must ship with standard business process. Stressing on the same point, I'd rather spend time and money understanding the standard business process and using it as a starting point than having the absolute freedom to create whatever because this is where "replicating legacy systems" starts. ##Product 2: It is difficult to justify Maximo investment compared to Oracle EBS or SAP! unless you really need a specific industry vertical, Maximo is one system which require million integrations. Hence, Maximo must ship with, not only the excellent MIF capability, but also with free integration adapters to major systems from Oracle and SAP. The cost of maintaining a custom integration between Maximo and those systems is just to high compared to integrations between Maximo and less demanding systems. ##Vendor 1: If IBM is not able to provide a fully integrated ERP system, then they have to make the product more appealing by reducing the cost of getting up and integrated with the existing ERP system. Not only by offering a generic way to integrate but also to provide a set configurable integration adapters with business cases. ##Vendor 2: The licensing scheme has to be revised to become more flexibly, every product has weaknesses compared to competitors and if IBM cannot offer a full ERP then they must take it easy and compensate somewhere else.

Jagadish

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time used: More than 2 years

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4.5

August 2016

Maximo technical architect

Pros

SOA frame work,applications supports maintenance domain

Cons

Need focus more FMEA analysis and enhance product to handle important Reliability concepts,the way SAP is coming as a single platform for enterprise giving customers to re think on having separate infrastructure for Maximo.

Miley

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2022

The most comprehensive asset management software in the market

IBM Maximo is a powerful software that is loved by us and our clients when they figure out the ease of use and how they're capable of managing their large base of assets with the extensive capabilities of Maximo. This masterpiece from IBM is very powerful and can be used for different applications. One great example of how the software can be used is to assign tickets to different employees based on the type of work they do. Maximo allows employees to choose from a wide range of applications.

Pros

Maximo is one of IBM's masterpieces, with true comprehensiveness to manage enterprise assets. It is powerful and versatile, and it's easy to use. It's by far the only end-to-end asset management software on the market. It can serve as a centralized database for your equipment, and it will help monitor and manage your assets. If you have a lot of equipment, Maximo is the way to go. It can help you keep track of everything, and it has all of the tools you need for managing, maintaining, and servicing your equipment.

Cons

I find the product's ease of use to be its best feature and also the most frustrating. The user interface is confusing when attempting to learn how the program functions; modules have similar features, but not all of them are intuitive. I switch between browsers depending on which one works best for different tasks.

Rania

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2022

Asset Management, Monitoring and Predictive Maintenance in a single tool

The IBM Maximo system is one of the best software that I have used. It has made countless tasks easier. There are many reports that can be customized to the needs of the company. The reports can be used to make decisions to help improve productivity and quality of service while keeping up with maintenance and failure predictions to prevent any previous failures from happening again in the future with the detailed in-depth historical reports.

Pros

I have been using Maximo for about 2 years and have been very happy with the ease of use and the reports it generates. I have been using Maximo to track our equipment and work order requests. I have found the maintenance history reports to be helpful in predicting equipment failure. I also use it to track employee time and generate reports on individual employee work habits. It would be nice if it could compare time worked from day to day, but it does not so far.

Cons

Maximo has many features that can be useful to businesses, but it may also be confusing for some users. The software is expensive, and much of its cost may be due to its advanced feature set.

Paul

Industry: Utilities

Time used: More than 2 years

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2016

Administrator and End User

Pros

It's simply the best! IBM seeks to have the best CMMS product available and they have that and they continue to make it better all the time!

Cons

I think the licensing scheme is confusing and hard to understand. I think it's a road block to asset owner's looking for the best CMMS. I think the cost is prohibitive. I realize it's an expensive product to produce and maintain but I also believe it's severely overpriced. Requires asset owners to lean heavily on implementation partners who do not fully understand the product (as an end user) and as a result they are not able to help match the customer needs with the product ability.

Kayley

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2019

maximo in planning

i enjoy maximo, its alot easier to use the the last two systems i have used in utilities. i feel like mentioned in the cons for my team an interated system for a planning tool would be better for my role.

Pros

- easy navigation - main information needed very easy to see - everything needed is in one place. - saving options are easy so things are no lost - easy to add and view attachments

Cons

- not always good to use with planning, a planning tool intergrated with maximo would be good for my role. - freezes quite alot - only one person can amend at a time so if you have amended something it will not let you save it.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2022

THE Work Order Tool

Pros

Maximo is crucial for companies which have equipment in the field. Combined with closed loop automations, Maximo's integration features greatly help any organization to issue work orders automatically to keep everything in shape.

Cons

Like most IBM products, it is bit expensive.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2022

Maximo is extensive tool to utilities sector operations

IBM should come forward and ask customers issues in Maximo, and assist them with support.

Pros

stable product, cover lots of areas which are usually required in any industry to run their operations.

Cons

Expensive, Deployments are only through MDS

User Profile

Blake

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

January 2019

Complicated Asset Management Tool

I feel like in trying to be endlessly customizable, Maximo is endlessly complex. We have daily issues with users not being able to execute basic functions of their job (finding old work orders, searching for an asset, setting up a custom queue, etc.)

Pros

1. Highly customizable. 2. Runs in a virtual environment. 3. Made by IBM, so it'll be around for the foreseeable future.

Cons

1. Very busy UI. 2. Screen-to-screen navigation is clunky (browser back button breaks) 3. The search is more complicated than it should be, nearly unusable. 4. Our company's "Quick Guide" is 45 pages long—that's saying something. 5. Need multiple IT developers and DBA's to run the software at an enterprise level.

Dominic

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2018

Best in class EAM

Maximo is a very complex system that can be configured to your exact needs. While there is some upfront learning curve, once you get the hang of it, you're only limited by your imagination as to what you can solve with Maximo. We've tracked everything from people, to refrigerant, to timecards, to schematics, and so much more.

Pros

Maximo can do EVERYTHING. And if it can't, you have the tools within the product to build it. Maximo has a multitude of add-ons, industry solutions, etc. that add functionality to meet the needs of nearly any industry or use case. We've been implementing Maximo at clients of all sizes for years now and never had to tell a customer "No, it can't do that".

Cons

The only drawback for some customers is license pricing. Compared to the rest of the market, IBM is in the higher end, but you get what you pay for and much more with Maximo! Also, IBM's COTS mobile solutions to interface with Maximo are a little lacking, but there are a multitude of 3rd party solutions that will work even better.

Steve

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2019

IBM Maximo Tracking System

Employee time tracking was added to the system. After getting a baseline of time the system was able to compair the logged calls with the time the employee works daily. Also after getting a years worth of data some of the report was able to show graphs of how well the equipment was working or not working.

Pros

The program is good at getting things done in the background. Importing the current records can be a problem if someone was to go and make changes after the snap shot was taken. All updates after the import wouldn't get imported. The uses are endless as to what function that you may have just set it up they way you would like a report to run and it works every time unless the server goes down.

Cons

The learning curve for the system is massive and will take some time to get used to and proficent in the workings of how things are running.

Scott

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time used: Free Trial

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4.5

January 2015

Three years of use

Pros

The product is very straightforward and easy to use. With a little work and thought on the input end, the system grows itself into a very powerful tool. The gentlemen who performed my startup took time with me and reviewed what I was looking for out of the system. Then they ran a quick, mocked-up model to ensure the outcome was what I really was looking for. I was able to provide all my input data in simple Excel spreadsheets that they scrubbed and uploaded into the system, and it has been growing since. They are highly supported; I am still treated with the same attention and aggressiveness as I was when we first started. Every couple months, I look to have additional reports and queries created, and the same amount of professionalism is still shown with each request.

Cons

With the way we have the system set up, we have 10 different locations. The only drawback is if we transfer an asset from one plant to another, the receiving plant can not see the asset history. We have the system set up so each plant only sees its own assets, so this way, they just have the options of choosing the asset for their work orders. This way, they are charging the labor and part to the correct assets.

Donny

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Cosmetics

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2020

IBM Maximo a multi use system

Maximo is a overall good program for analyzing all data.

Pros

Maximo is great because you can track and analyze a lot of data with one program.

Cons

When I was a calibration technician it took a lot of time to set each calibration up.

Kayleigh

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2019

End user review after 2 years

This has improved traceability and accountability, efficiency and reporting.

Pros

This has replaced several systems meaning you can find a wealth of detailed information in one place. It is easy and quick to produce reports and categorise information. Everything is precise and you can tailor the pages you view to your needs, sharing them with whoever needs to see them. Creating your own queries is also very useful.

Cons

Unable to view jobs planned in preferred order however I believe that this is a company limitation rather than the application itself.

Reasons for switching to IBM Maximo Application Suite

Company wide upgrade

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2019

Great for inventory management

The maintenance branch of my company uses Maximo to keep track of our warehouses inventory and help fulfill janitorial orders to all the buildings on campus.

Pros

Maximo is very organized and highly customizable. It excels at inventory management. It's also very easy to learn, I can teach new workers the basics of how to use it for the uses they need it for in a short amount of time.

Cons

Since it is self hosted, there are times that it can be slow because of server problems or heavy use. Make sure you're running Maximo on a server that's powerful enough for your use.

Scott

Industry: Utilities

Time used: More than 2 years

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT