What are Concrete CMS users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Concrete CMS software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.61

51 Reviews

5
37
4
11
3
1
2
1
1
1
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Concrete5 got the nod after some research showed that it is a solid platform with enough support behind it to make it worth our time and efforts."
  • icon"Easy integration and good marketplace to get the third party integrations, also has the best templates for landing pages."
  • icon"It's intuitive, comprehensive in feature set, easy to set up, easy for clients to use, responsive, adaptable, and secure. The user community is supportive, helpful, and really, really smart."
  • icon"Lack of a REST API for using as a headless CMS (although I believe this will change with the next major version). No built-in way that I'm aware of to integrate React and/or Vue components."
  • icon"Our site was built on a version that was already on the fast track to becoming obsolete."
  • icon"The lack of development documentation can cause a few issues."

Jump to:

Browse all Concrete CMS Reviews

  • Have you used Concrete CMS and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 51 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 51 reviews

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

User Friendly Website CMS

I was able to come into my position having past experience with WordPress and easily figure out how to use Concrete5.

Pros

I like how modern and user friendly this content management system is. Many features are drag & drop so even a novice can create a web page, but there are robust capabilities that can be coded in as well.

Cons

I would have liked other options for viewing files, specifically images. And increased ease of navigation through the back end of the website.

Reasons for switching to Concrete CMS

Switched jobs

Raphael

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

Awesome tool for a better web

I build a lot of websites for different industries like medicine, construction, food, automation, real state etc. The principal benefit is the time I save building with concrete5.

Pros

Easy: installation, configuration, customization and to do improvements. A great community that help everyone in trouble (if hapens). Tons of add-ons and great numbers of theme options (could be more, but is ok).

Cons

A few options to customize a theme on core system and few themes selling on market place.

Reasons for choosing Concrete CMS

Concrete5 offer a better enviromment to build a solid website than the other I listed.

Reasons for switching to Concrete CMS

Concrete5 is a system to build an Internet more inclusive, with tools more easy to manage. Wordpress is a tool to make a blog and you need a lot of modifications to reach a basic Concrete5.

Marybeth

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

November 2019

Have we lost 15 years of work?

The theme we paid hard-earned donor money for was never upgraded to keep up with the updates Concrete 5 made to its operating system. Our theme no longer works with current versions of Concrete 5 (5.6) and I have no idea how to fix it. "Explanations" online require a Computer Science PhD to understand and I don't have the knowledge to figure out what they say to do. We've just let it go for years, but now we have t to change servers and I don't think the new server can handle the outdated version of Concrete 5 needed for our site to operate. YEARS of work are going to go down the drain if I cannot somehow salvage this. I have NO IDEA WHERE TO TURN for a plain-English response as to what to do.

Pros

Concrete 5 was OK in the beginning but now it looks like our choice to use this is going to cost us YEARS of hard work.

Cons

It is VERY hard to understand what to do with this software. Support is poor to nonexistent. Vendors are not required to keep up their products, leaving customers hanging. See our dilemma, below.

Reasons for choosing Concrete CMS

I liked the theme we had for our site. But had I known that the vendor AND Concrete 5 were both going to drop support for this version I would have gone with WordPress. It is better-known and easier to get help!

Reasons for switching to Concrete CMS

I wanted our organization to have a more modern-looking site with responsive pages.

Response from concrete5

I'm disappointed to hear this Marybeth. You're right that in the 10 years we've been open source we've changed a lot. Keeping your site on the latest version is something that does require ongoing attention from a somewhat technical resource. Version 5.6 is actually legacy at this point, we're all the way to version 8.5 and are looking at a version 9 release in 2020. Today, to keep your concrete5 site running in a healthy manner it will need occasional attention from a web developer, who we'd happily make an introduction to if you filled out the contact form or the "We can build it together" overlay at the top of every page on concrete5.org. That said, I'm sure it will cost more than the $30-$50 you spent 10 years ago on that theme, and I completely understand if that's not the right choice for your non-profit. This is pretty common with open source software, but we are working on some new hosting approaches that mitigate some of the challenges around this in the future.

Replied December 2019

Brian

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Online Media

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

Powerful, Extendable, User-Friendly

Pros

Concrete5 is great for everything from simple websites to custom, complex, applications. The peer-reviewed marketplace offers out-of-the-box solutions that save plenty of time and cost less than developing on your own with many add-ons available for free. Community support is fantastic with user forums and projects, including an e-Commerce solution that is robust and inexpensive to run with no monthly fees (seriously, the best e-Commerce package you're going to find). Sites can be deployed quickly with minimal costs and end-users can be trained often in minutes instead of hours or days. The platform is secure and allows fine-tooth permissions control. Internationalization is handled too for those that need to display their sites in multiple languages. Self-hosted and Concrete5 hosted options are available and maintenance is usually easily managed at the user-level. Without question, Concrete5 is the perfect mix of power and usability to allow sites to be deployed quickly at a reasonable cost.

Cons

There can be a learning curve and the technology used in the background has grown more complex over the last few years. This is not to say that it can't be used by those with less technical knowledge, just that like with any CMS there is a learning curve and some occasional pitfalls.

Reasons for choosing Concrete CMS

I have used Concrete5 for "business-card" type websites and complex applications including product lifecycle management, project management software, and health claims. Costs are very low to implement and the structure is robust and well thought out. Concrete5 allows me to build secure sites quickly that my clients love to use.

Jordan

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Great for end-users and developers

Love it as a developer and I love providing Concrete5 powered websites to my clients. Doesn't get too much more ideal than that!

Pros

I love to provide Concrete5 powered websites to my clients for many reasons. In particular though, the in-context page editing abilities of Concrete5, easy-to-use dashboard, customizable theme styles and extensibility through the Concrete5 marketplace make it a tool that suits a WIDE range of needs.

Cons

My only dislike with Concrete5 is the lack of native e-commerce functionality built into the CMS. If Concrete5 and/or the C5 community were able to develop some simple e-commerce functionality (much like woocommerce) I think C5 could re-gain some market share from other CMS tools in the industry today.

Reasons for choosing Concrete CMS

The complicated mess of plugins (and their delicate inter-connectivity) inside of Wordpress was a HUGE turn-off to me. Also the page editing interface in the dashboard is MILES behind what Concrete5 can offer with it's file manager and in-context page editing. These other e-commerce tools are nice and serve some e-comm needs nicely. Unfortunately though, they come at a premium price to Concrete5 and still don't offer all of the tools that make editing and updating content on a web page very easy.

Response from concrete5

Good news, there is ecommerce for concrete5 here: https://github.com/concrete5-community-store

Replied August 2019

David

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

Flexible, Customizable, Edit Anywhere Web Sites

We needed to upgrade a very old website and do it in stages, when we had time. We needed the website to work on mobile devices as well as computer browsers. Finally, we are a professional firm, so we needed a website that looked professional and not canned or weak. Concrete5 provided us with a solution that worked on cross platforms and provided templates that look professional from the start. We have also been able to develop the site in stages. While we are not completed, we are much closer, much faster than other tools would have provided us. Page styles give us some structure on different sections and multiple users also allow faster setup and maintenance. I will use this on other websites I manage.

Pros

Concrete5 is very customizable regardless of the template used, and many templates exist that let you hit the ground running. Most of the editing capabilities work on iOS, so you can perform most edits and design work on an iPad and mobile. The interface is clean and the version control allows some experimenting. I have used blog software and computer based software, but this allows the best of all worlds so far.

Cons

The learning curve to purchase a template and add controls to a web site took a little bit to figure out, but this is done very infrequently. Using a templated page, it also took some time to figure out some heading columns and other columns were fixed and not movable, but so many other areas are customizable, workarounds were fine.

Reasons for choosing Concrete CMS

I essentially chose Concrete5 over all other software items I reviewed because of the ability to design, edit and correct items on the fly, on my iPad or my computer. Real cloud development.

Reasons for switching to Concrete CMS

RapidWeaver allowed me much flexible and customizable development, but had to be done on my computer at home. The software provided the development and had to be uploaded to test how it worked. Concrete5 is a system installed on the website, so development of the site is a real cloud environment. This allows me to be flexible with my time and correct and edit when away from the computer as issues are found. I love Concrete5!

Brice

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Internet

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

Une bonne expérience utilisateur

Concrete5 me permet de me faire gagner du temps sur la maintenance et les mises à jour des contenus du site.

Pros

Le principal point fort est que le coeur du CMS Concrete embarque de manière native les fonctions essentielles pour une site vitrine. Vous n'avez pas besoin de plugin pour profitez d'une expérience d'édition agréable et intuitive. La solution est très flexible et permet une grande personnalisation du site.

Cons

Le faible choix des thèmes est un point faible. Aussi il existe assez peu de plugins de qualité lorsque l'on souhaite économiser du temps de développement.

Reasons for switching to Concrete CMS

Je suis passé à Concrete5 car j'ai trouvé la solution open source qui pourrait m'offrir une expérience agréable et intuitive dans l'édition des contenus des sites Internet.

Glyn

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

Powerful, easy-to-use website content management

We deliver content managed websites to our clients who find concrete5 easy to use. concrete5 has increased our client's enjoyment of the editing process and has enabled us to efficiently deliver sites that meet a very wide range of requirements.

Pros

concrete5 delivers a complete content management system including WYSIWYG editing, forms etc. without the need for extensions to accomplish basic tasks. That said, concrete5 also provides an excellent modern php framework for further development and the marketplace provides a range of useful AddOn components.

Cons

Documentation has previously been criticised but this is improving steadily and Portland Labs recognise the need to continue this.

Reasons for switching to Concrete CMS

Need something that was more intuitive for clients to use.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

Amazing CMS, easy to use for both developers and admins

A great CMS that makes updating a site easy. So easy, that as a web developer I choose it for my own sites safe in the knowledge that I can make updates quickly and easily without having to alter the code in most cases.

Pros

- As a dev, the Page object (coupled with page attributes, nav menus and page lists) makes structuring a website or web app a dream. The separation of page templates from page types also helps, the former being about layout while the latter is more conceptual. - As an admin, you pretty much have as much control as the developers of the site decide to give you. - The versioning system allows admins to roll changes back and work on changes before publishing them. - The permissions system is exceptionally powerful, allowing roles and/or individual users to be included or excluded from each permission. - The attributes system allows pages, files and users to be given custom properties of various types (e.g. text, image, colour).

Cons

- Lack of a REST API for using as a headless CMS (although I believe this will change with the next major version). - No built-in way that I'm aware of to integrate React and/or Vue components. - No equivalent to Wordpress + Advanced Custom Fields' "repeater" fields for adding an indefinitely long list of page/file/user attributes.

Reasons for choosing Concrete CMS

Speed and familiarity of both development and ongoing updates

Liv

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Sports

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

Concrete5 Easy to use

It's easy and fast to post, edit, and update. The menus are comprehensive and simple and makes keeping your site running easy.

Pros

It's intuitive - the block system is much easier than Wordpress. This power is in the simplicity - but you can make it as complex as you need with add ons. It's much easier to organize your site with Concrete5, also.

Cons

There may be fewer add ons than Wordpress options? But I can't say for sure.

Reasons for choosing Concrete CMS

The block system, and the menus. Wordpress has such a steep learning curve, concrete5 is far easier to get your footin.

Olivier

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2021

Concrete5 simply the best ^^

i'mm using ConcreteCms for all website, e-commerce, content management, proffessionnal software, intranet back end. I can do all with it, then i do :)

Pros

maning thing to say the content and page manaegament, the block system flexibility, the page's management, the easy way for the design development, and so on

Cons

perhaps the docs not completely done for new version

Reasons for choosing Concrete CMS

12 years ago it was the best for in context editing, and it's always the case in these days

Pamela

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Writing and Editing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

Intuitive, Easy Changes, Modern

I've used Concrete5 for two websites. One was for the Massage and Bodywork world and the most recent is for a Blog/Writer/Editor site. Its features are simple and easy to accommodate both types of sites.

Pros

It's versatility with blocks, stacks, add-ons, file sets, tree links. Wonderful to get the technical creative juices flowing!

Cons

Incomplete documentation. While it's largely 'computer intuitive' I still needed to go through some tutorials and documentation to get 'under the hood' understanding...

Reasons for switching to Concrete CMS

I needed something more versatile and easier to manipulate the webpages on my own.

Tim

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

Painless CMS

It has made it possible to both create customer sites for clients in the past as well as maintain a highly functioning enterprise website today. The learning curve is manageable and the addons are, typically, well tested and reliable. It is the best development platform I've used to date.

Pros

C5 allows you to set up either templated site frameworks or makes it fairly easy to adapt a scratch design to enterprise-level CMS. As a developer, I find set up easy and fairly intuitive. As a user and one who coordinates other users, I find it far superior to Wordpress in terms in managing and adding content. And, while no framework is bulletproof from a security standpoint, I've found C5 to be the best at preventing issues, easily backing up and easily restoring a site when stuff does happen.

Cons

There's a bit of a lag between the software's upgrades and PHP updates. Like Wordpress, functionality is managed via plugins created largely by independent developers. As host update PHP versions, there is frequently a disconnection between functionality and available/installed "stuff." In other words, the core C5 app may well be functional with an updated PHP version but the plugins in use will, on occasion, not keep up. That leaves short period of scrambling to either fix it yourself or make due until the fix is made.

Reasons for choosing Concrete CMS

Cost and easy of use.

Reasons for switching to Concrete CMS

The ability to quickly and affordably customize in terms of both appearance and functionality, It keeps development costs down while making content easy to manage after launch.

Garrett

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Design

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2021

The right CMS for me for years

No idea why people use any other CMS. Hard to be Betamax in a VHS world. Appreciate that add-ons can be tested on new sites before buying. Also the compact marketplace is easier to navigate, though there are some more advanced ones that haven't been developed/ported yet. The Major upgrade to Version 8 was manageable for them in a way other platforms can't pull off no matter how badly they need them.

Pros

When I first started using it more than 10 years ago the field of CMS platforms was pretty rough. It had the best user interface for users to manage content. More recently others have imitated their approach but they still show their clumsy roots in a way C5 doesn't. Impressed by their commitment to update and upgrade over the years.

Cons

The transition to the latest version a few years ago was a tad rough (it was a major update), but it was worth it. Required starting over for most sites, though the old version still runs so disruption was minimal. The user forum needs a shakeup and update. Wish it was easier to manage lots of sites, but luckily they don't require much attention. Some template designers use tricks that undo the ease of use.

Reasons for choosing Concrete CMS

When I was first in the market it was still early and many of the other ones were still too technical to implement. Don't know that any of them survived. I've dabbled in WordPress and avoid it like the plague.

Jeremy

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

concrete5 - The Best of Breed CMS

For me as a developer, concrete5 is a great base to build almost any project on. The extremely powerful attribute system lets you add custom categories so you can reuse tried and tested code for free. You can even add your own custom attribute types which can pull from other data sources. The built in user management system, complete with support for Oauth is one less thing you have to code.

Pros

As a user, I love the in page editing features of concrete5. You simply click the edit button, click the content you want to edit, type in the content, save, publish and you're done. No messing about with the dark recesses of a hidden control panel. All that you need is right there in the page.

Cons

As a developer, the documentation is sometimes quite a way behind the product itself or doesn't actually exist at all. This can be frustrating because the underlying architecture of concrete5 is built on the best of breed open source components, and to do things correctly without modifying the core can take time to figure out. It's usually pretty simple once you've figured it out though.

Reasons for choosing Concrete CMS

Joomla's control panel was frankly hideous. Wordpress is/was/always will be a security nightmare and the everything-is-a-post database is overly simplistic and hideous to work with.

Reasons for switching to Concrete CMS

Home grown CMS was too old to be of use and not as flexible, and had a much poorer user experience.

John

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2019

Hands down best cms / framework

Even for complexly applications it's usually my preferable platform even over frameworks as it provides the functionality of a framework yet still provides additional functional that is almost always useful regardless of your use case.

Pros

The system is architected using modern object oriented php. It's very easy for front end devs to create websites from mocks that are intuitive to edit for end users using the cms. It provides a foundation similar to a traditional framework for more complex applications with enterprise level permissions and features out of the box. Extending the cms uses an intuitive pattern allowing changes to persist thru updates to the software. It promotes professional programming design concepts and favors traditional programming design patterns over strict convention. The editing experience from a end users standpoint beats drupal, wordpress and joomla hands down. The security track record is impeccable as well contrasted to other cms systems.

Cons

Off the shelf plugins are limited but the plugins that are available are properly vetted and less likely to be insecure than wordpress. Developer docs are lacking but if you have a good understanding of php it's easy to follow the code as it follows industry conventions and concepts and theming is a breeze.

David

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Internet

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

Concrete is only as strong as the mix.

I used to build *all* my sites in Concrete5 version 5.6. That was when third party support was the most active. With the release of version 7 and continued in 8, that was severely reduced due to new addon requirements and some developers not wanting to re-write their products. In addition, Portland Labs had abandoned their eCommerce and discussion board addons, leaving some site designers high and dry, until the e-commerce function was added by the open source Community Store. I am hoping with the soon-to-be-released Concrete CMS (version 9), the third party situation will begin to improve again, I would be happy to return to the fold.

Pros

What's not to like about Concrete5? It's intuitive, comprehensive in feature set, easy to set up, easy for clients to use, responsive, adaptable, and secure. The user community is supportive, helpful, and really, really smart. It has a lot of functionality built-in that you would need to add in apps like WordPress and Drupal. Licensing addons is unique because it is developer, not client, centered, so you could re-assign licenses and reuse addons and themes. So far, great!

Cons

Unfortunately there is no substantial developer ecosystem, which makes a great product even better. Not enough themes and addons for working with multiple clients, no way to test addons prior to purchase, unless you purchase and then return the product (which would really annoy me if I was a developer). As a site designer, it would be to your advantage to be comfortable working with code. File Manager could use some streamlining and speed. Many templates and addons have been around for a long time, and may be in need of updating to meet current web standards.

Reasons for choosing Concrete CMS

At the time, it was the best CMS choice for both myself and my clients. A true CMS, not a blogging app, built for developers but keeping end users in mind as well.

Tim

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

Amazing and really well thought out CMS. Works out of the box

This is now my go to CMS, I don't need to keep going and installing updates to keep it secure like WordPress, none of my site have ever been hacked. The feature set out of the box is perfect and you don't need to get loads of extra plugins.

Pros

Amazing and really well thought out CMS. Works out of the box, easy to setup and is packed with features so you don't need loads of plugins. Great for editors and very good for developers to build off. The code base is excellent. This has been design with the basic user in mind, the UX and UI is very well thought out and being able to edit content wihtin the page without having to go to a backend is very valuable. The team behind this CMS is constantly improving and updating it but not just fixing bugs, really user improvement. The community that supports it is vast and there is always someone on the forums to help you out.

Cons

There is not much to dislike, some of the documentation needs cleaning up for really development heavy code but it generally is a well made CMS with very little flaws

Greg

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Design

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2019

Powerful Site Builder

Concrete5's page-centric approach makes this an easy win for custom websites. In page editing overcomes editor's apprehension. Site admins pickup basic page creation and updating quickly. Page versioning gives them confidence to make changes knowing they can be easily rolled back. File management is familiar. C5's use of MVC architecture gives developers complete control over the end solution. Theming is straight forward. Adding custom block-types views is easy for even new devs. And C5's "single page" types can leveraged for powerful front-end and back-end solutions. "Express Objects" in recent versions of C5 is a welcome and powerful addition. In short Concrete5's approach to CMS makes sense.

Pros

Concrete5 is incredibly easy to theme. Adding page templates is straight forward. "Single Page" types cover extensive customization.

Cons

Documentation can be limited. Caching is occasionally overbearing*. Scheduling pages or page versions is not consistent*. (*may be server related)

Reasons for switching to Concrete CMS

I built the original solution. But it was not scalable. I had used C5 in the past and it was the most obvious choice.

Ed

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Internet

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

Probably the best CMS

I have been using Concrete5 for over 10 years and cannot see me switching to any other CMS

Pros

- You can achieve absolutely anything your customers require with retaliative ease. - Happy customers - The community are always available to help and you can easily communicate with the lead developers.

Cons

The lack of development documentation can cause a few issues.

Reasons for switching to Concrete CMS

Sites hacked, unhappy customers

Ikechukwu

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

Congrete5 CMS Review

Concrete5 has all features on one page, you dont have tol be moving allover looking for a particular feature or tool or function, they are all right there before you on you backend screen

Pros

Powerful Backend Flexible CMS App and Date and admin Tools in one Place Integration in ways that is very smart and effective Use AI to provide insight

Cons

Not Very Popular and needs alot of awareness to see the beauty

Reasons for choosing Concrete CMS

It has all functionality on one page and very flexible to use and beautiful and smart features and development blocks

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2020

Excellent CMS!

Concrete5 made is easy for us to setup complete websites, including a built-in blog, for users who had little or no experience with blogging. Once we adjusted to the user interface and the customization methods, we were running smoothly in a very short time. Highly recommend it!

Pros

Concrete5 is like a breath of fresh air when it comes to content management systems. We have worked with WordPress for several years, but wanted to try something different. Concrete5 got the nod after some research showed that it is a solid platform with enough support behind it to make it worth our time and efforts. Setup is super easy and customization is pretty easy once you understand how it functions. Oh, and the fact that it isn't as popular as WordPress makes it almost a waste of time for hackers, so it's very safe.

Cons

Because Concrete5 isn't as popular as some of the other CMS systems, it doesn't have nearly as many free plugins or addons. Most of the time, what you need can be found, but it might require purchasing what you want or hiring someone to custom-create it for you.

Reasons for switching to Concrete CMS

Concrete5 offered us a fresh platform that wasn't being targeted by hackers or malware.

Wayne

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

Great CMS for 80% of websites on the web.

Pros

Concrete5 ease of use for the end user, is its clam to fame. Simple to learn on page editing and the ability to build out more complex pages.

Cons

From a development stand point, concrete5 can be hard to use for 3 or more developers on a project. There is no syncing process between local development environments and remote environments this can cause issues on large projects. Also scaling the CMS for very large project (250+ plus pages) might be an issue however, that is more of dev-op issue then a CMS problem.

Response from concrete5

Thanks for the great review Wayne, We regularly use bitbucket/github to collaborate with large teams on concrete5 projects and it works very effectively. We've also got sites that are serving well over 10m page views per month by just turning on full page caching and storing some assets in S3, all very easy with concrete5.

Replied July 2019

Dimitrios

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

Review on concrete5

Pros

This content management system is by far the most user friendly system in market. It has a lot of features implemented by default and allows an easy extensibility.

Cons

Unfortunatelly the concrete5 marketplace is not in the same level as marketplaces of other products.

James

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Concrete5 is the Best Content Management System for Small to Medium Sized Businesses

We can build a beautiful, fully functioning website in a minimal amount of time and then train the client on how to manage their website with concrete5 in under an hour.

Pros

Concrete5 is very easy for users to learn. It is intuitive. With just a minimal amount of training, non-technical users can manage a fairly complex website. Also, development is made easier than concrete5. Creating custom templates, extending concrete5 and designing for it is very simple.

Cons

Community isn't quite as large as Wordpress so there aren't as many plugins/add-ons for it.

Reasons for choosing Concrete CMS

Much more intuitive to use, building themes has more flexability and extending concrete5 is much faster to develop for.

Showing 1 - 25 of 51 reviews
Concrete CMS

Concrete CMS

4.61/5 out of 51 reviews
PriceDemo