Doc.It Suite software


16 reviews(4.0/5)
16 reviews(4.0/5)

Since 2001, Doc.It Suite, a document management platform, has been available to accounting and tax professionals. Doc.It Suite offers the user a variety of applications including document management, document capture & image-processing, and records management. The software addresses the 4-step process in a document’s lifestyle: gather, process, store, and deliver.

The web portal gives clients the ability to share documents and reports. Clients can also send files for processing. The policy manager feature ensures uniformity across the firm by applying the file naming and location policy to all documents as they’re gathered and prepared for storage.

Doc.It Suite integrates with other accounting applications, and is available as a monthly subscription service. Customers can log in to request support and gain access to resources and training videos, or they can call customer care during business hours to speak with a team member over the phone.

Supported Operating System(s):
Windows 10

16 Reviews of Doc.It Suite

Showing 1 - 16 of 16

Start your review of Doc.It Suite

Click to start
  • Angela from Collins Blay LLP

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    May 2017

    Superior Product and Customer Support Team

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Very user friendly and reliable client document organization.

    Pros

    Doc.It does what it is designed to do, and does it very well. Very intuitive navigation, and definitely makes your life easier if you make use of all the wonderful features offered. Autofile is your best friend! The Doc.It team has proven to be very responsive and helpful. Highly recommended software.

    Cons

    Unable to customize portal delivery email. Clients tend to disregard the notifications as spam. Job Queue could be more user-friendly and offer more options. We would LOVE to see an option to Autofile based on the client's Social Insurance Number.

    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Doc.It, Doc.It Inc.

    May 2017

    Andrea: Thank you for your feedback. I always appreciate hearing the team is executing the way we hope in supporting our clients. We continue to evolve our software based on client feedback and yours is in line with feedback from others. Kevin, COO

  • Shabir from KBH Chartered Accountants

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    May 2017

    steadily declined over the years as Docit grew. Standard answer from support is "the next update"

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    At one time the benefits were big - especially when we went paperless. Today, i'm not sure the benefits outweigh any other PDF archiving and markup solution.

    Pros

    The integration with caseware for each of printing and the ease to which PDF documents can be marked up. Works well in the field as well.
    Once the setup matter are dealt with on Portal (see below) use of portal is simple and easy.

    Cons

    Lack of ability to use with multiple locations having access to the archive other than over a terminal server.
    Every time something is wrong and we talk to tech support - the response is "we hope that is in the next update"
    The software crashes A LOT. Daily for some people. Especially when trying to email a document from Inbox - or trying to combine a number of documents. Or opening a document and turning on bookmarks.
    The portal setup for a client and related instructions are utterly useless. Support knows this and nothing has been done - looks like the instructions are printed on a dot-matrix printer. I would NEVER want to send my client a document that looks like that, so I have to create my own document with instructions for my client. The automatically generated email says that the instructions are in the PDF. In fact, the PDF only has a username and password. No instructions, no link or web URL for the client to navigate to and certainly no instructions at all. This might be one of the most poorly designed things in Doc-it.

    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Doc.It, Doc.It Inc.

    May 2017

    Shabir: I'm sorry to hear you feel this way. We recently heard you were having some problems and I know my team has reached out to you. Please respond to him and we can attack the issues. I am confident we can turn this around and re-establish your confidence in us, our product and our support team. Kevin, COO

  • Debbie from Somerville & Company, P.L.L.C.

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    May 2017

    The updates have made the software less user-friendly.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    The paperless feature and the quick accessibility of documents. There is no more searching for lost documents.

    Pros

    The best feature is the quick accessibility of documents. It is very nice to be able to access information while talking with a client on the telephone. This is a good program, but there are several areas that need improvement.

    Cons

    The updated calculator is horrible. Also, the program has become less user-friendly after the updates. There should be a copy feature from other documents.

    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Doc.It, Doc.It Inc.

    May 2017

    Debbie: Thank you for your feedback. I'm surprised, and disappointed to hear that you feel our latest updates have made the product less user friendly. Also, search is still part of the feature set. Please contact our customer care team so we can address your concerns. Kevin COO

  • Stephen from J. K. Boatwright & Co., P.C.

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    May 2017

    Doc-It continually makes a better product at a better price and supports it well.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Ease of looking up items (just a few clicks and we have what we need), central repository, ease of scanning and sorting items. A lot less paper. Logging and tracking work.

    Pros

    Once set up it is very easy to use and maintain. Customer Support is stellar. Offers more features and functionality without add-ons than the competition. They take feedback well and generally put in the features we ask for or help to resolve any issues we have - features, functionality and/or troubleshooting new items.

    Cons

    Not fluid integration with all CCH and ThomsonReuters products - due to not being part of their suites. Would like it to be a little faster - recent improvements have helped, but it still needs to be faster.

    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Doc.It, Doc.It Inc.

    May 2017

    Stephen: Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate it and it guides our development. In addition, we are always looking for ways to reduce clicks and speed up the system. Kevin, COO

  • Leslie from Ruby Stein Wagner Chartered Accountants

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    May 2017

    a very good document managment product with good support team. I find there is still growth to come.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    it does what it is made to do well. The one license structure works well for our firm as well. one license for a product with many usable features.

    Cons

    The web portal I think need to be more simply to configure and manage. There is other portal comcept they should consider in the design that are secure and easier to manage and implement

    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Doc.It, Doc.It Inc.

    May 2017

    Leslie: Thanks for your feedback. Yes, there is still growth to come. We continue to evolve the product based on client feedback. Kevin COO

  • Cynthia from R L M Professional Corporation

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    May 2017

    Doc It has been an excellent tool in our office as we have moved to a "less paper" environment.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Document management, filing efficiencies, and ease of use are all benefits.

    Pros

    The best part of Doc It is its document organization. The archive and the editor are also excellent tools for any office . Software support has also been excellent.

    Cons

    I can't think of any truly negative aspects of Doc It perhaps doing updates? It's difficult to criticize a tool that is so valuable and effective.

    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Doc.It, Doc.It Inc.

    May 2017

    Cynthia: Thank you for your feedback. It is always great to hear from a satisfied client. We continue to strive to make our update process seamless to the user community. Kevin, COO

  • John from Hyatt Lassaline LLP

    May 2017

    Long-time doc-it user

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    The integration between Scanning, OCR & archive is useful. Work in process binders helped clean up and organize document storage.

    Cons

    Difficult to access files remotely, pen input laggy, PDF editor not compatible with some of the common PDF files that we download & use and have to use a competitors product.

    Still confused in the UI why you can access an archive via the archive explorer or binder explorer, and both can be made to have the same layout.

    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Doc.It, Doc.It Inc.

    May 2017

    John: Thanks for your feedback. As you know, we continue to evolve our product based on feedback from you and other users. The best practice to access the archive is through the binder explorer. For most users, it is the more efficient way to get where you want to go. Kevin, COO

  • Andrew from Green Webber Company

    May 2017

    Significantly changed the way our practice approaches client services.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Organization and efficiency provided our firm a game changing experience in how we can service our client base. Work flow platform should be developed further.

    Pros

    Upfront support was invaluable in setting up our firm in Doc It. With a few clicks of the mouse, I can have access to client information regardless of type of engagement or period to speak directly to with the client during a meeting or phone call.

    Cons

    I believe there is an opportunity to incorporate a CRM to capture the total client service experience. There may be an strategic alliance with say Client Track that could be incorporated to provide users an even more powerful tool.

    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Doc.It, Doc.It Inc.

    May 2017

    Andrew: Thanks for your feedback. We continue to build out our offering based on feedback and will consider your suggestion wrt Client Track. In terms of WF, please contact our customer care team and insure you have the latest update. There are a number of enhancements to WF in V4.5.

  • Derek from Embree & Co. LLP

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    May 2017

    New users - less than 12 months

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Time savings and workflow

    Pros

    Makes things easier from your desk chair, the workflow is good but would like to see some changes. The pdf editor is easy to use too.

    Cons

    Sometimes the system is slower compared to other programs/systems. A good example would be the changing the file name. In Doc.it takes a couple of seconds to get to the name change, but in windows explorer it is immediate.

    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Doc.It, Doc.It Inc.

    May 2017

    Derek: Thank-you for your feedback. We are always listening to our clients and how we can improve their experience. The 'name change' function is already part of our June release currently in QC. Kevin, COO

  • Jeffrey from Thomas, Head & Greisen, PC

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    May 2017

    The Doc.It Suite of products works very well in our environment.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Among other things, Doc.It allows us to better adhere to our retention policies.

    Pros

    The PDF Editor is top-notch. Great stamps, abilities to modify size and shape of document and include notes and diagrams.

    Cons

    The workflow product seems to be the weakest link in the suite. But to be truthful, we haven't used it a whole lot.

    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Doc.It, Doc.It Inc.

    May 2017

    Jeffrey: Thanks for your feedback. We have added to the workflow significantly in the last year+. We are hosting a webinar for existing users to show the latest workflow at the end of June. I would encourage you and others from your firm to attend. Invites will be going out next week. Kevin, COO

  • Sundeep from Ernst and Young LLP

    Number of employees: 51-200 employees

    May 2017

    Doc-it provides one with ease to paperless record keeping.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Ease of paperless record keeping.

    Pros

    The ability to annotate and mark-up documents with ease and allows paperless record keeping. The customer support is great when any issues result.

    Cons

    One area doc-it can improve on is being able to remove sign-off stamps - as these cannot be deleted once you close the document.

    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Doc.It, Doc.It Inc.

    May 2017

    Sundeep: Thank-you for your feedback. We are always listening to feedback from our users and continue to evolve the product. Kevin, COO

  • Theresa from Theresa Ko Inc

    Number of employees: 1 employee

    May 2017

    A long learning curve. Felt like a computer programmer when started using program

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Less paper in the office

    Pros

    Ability to store documents in pdf. Easy to convert from jpeg to pdf. It is a paperless filing cabinet. It frees up physical space in my office and reduces paper printing.
    Ability to customize with filing options.

    Cons

    It crashes when I try to drag and drop from Outlook email.
    It crashes when I try to send an email with password protection and I drag and drop the protected pdf icon too quickly.

    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Doc.It, Doc.It Inc.

    May 2017

    Theresa: Thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear you are having a less than acceptable experience. I know our customer care team has worked with you in the past to resolve these types of issues. Please continue to work directly with them and we will assist to get them resolved. Kevin, COO

  • Jason from CPA Group of Laramie, LLC

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    May 2017

    Favorable and productive

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Efficient workflow.

    Pros

    Helps our firm work more efficiently. Keeps us more organized and on track. I like that rules can be set to lock files down so they can't be edited or deleted.

    Cons

    I really wish files could be edited without having to open them up in the PDF editor. It would be so useful and a time saver to be able to edit documents in the preview window. I also really wish email files could be drag and dropped into the application easily without having to print them to my inbox and then save them over. I also do not like the roll forward process. It's cumbersome and requires a lot of our staff resources.

    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Doc.It, Doc.It Inc.

    May 2017

    Jason: Thank-you for your feedback. We have heard the previewer one before. We will be making that a true previewer (including MS office document formats) and then the behavior will be consistent across all types. That is why we have resisted. You should be able to drag and drop from Outlook. Please contact our customer care team for assistance. Noted on the roll forward process. I think we can make that more efficient. Kevin, COO

  • Danny from Dudley & Associates

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    May 2017

    Great experience using Doc.It. Is everything you can expect from a Document Management standpoint.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    We like the slick doc.it editor editing tools that come with the software. The ability to add actual digital signatures is a major plus for a transition to a paperless office.

    Cons

    There have been issues with autofile feature if your office is not setup properly. However, with careful startup planning I can see how this would be a very smooth feature.

    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Doc.It, Doc.It Inc.

    May 2017

    Danny: Thank-you for your feedback. (and the 10/10). Please reach out to our customer care team to assist optimizing your autofiling. A little time with setup/refinement can pay dividends for years.

  • Dan from Weiler & Company

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    May 2017

    Doc-It supports our accounting firm in using documents in pdf form, scanning, creating and archiving

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    The Doc-It software allows a mid sized firm to support all staff with an effective way of moving documents, and work with them without print to paper. Doc-It has supported our growth in scanning and archiving client data in an effective way. We insist that all staff use Doc-It in the approval of time reporting, so all staff use Doc-It daily and it has become a trusted part of every day in the office.

    Pros

    Doc-It delivers the tools that let our staff work with reduced print. We have archived over 15 years worth of documents, and the archive allows for immediate access to the document you want, be it tax, correspondence or financials without having to open Word, Taxprep, CaseWare or CTF research while the client is on the phone.

    The Doc-It pdf editor and Doc-It scanner software organizes pdfs we create and let's us edit and work with pdfs effectively at a low cost per staff person.

    Our clients like the portal software, where we host the portal in-house using secure SSL transport stra

    Cons

    We don't utilize most of what Doc-It can do. Work Flow software is our next piece we will implement, so I can't comment on that.

    We do not try to scan all personal tax documents, and the scanning to tax returns is not cost effective for us at this time.

    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Doc.It, Doc.It Inc.

    May 2017

    Dan: Thanks for the feedback. We will be hosting a webinar on workflow near the end of June. (invites going out next week) This is an opportunity to see what our workflow can do for you and your firm. There is configuration and training to follow.

  • Mark from M&M Accounting Services

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    March 2017

    Use Doc-It Daily

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    We are a 10 person accounting firm and I use Doc.It everyday to store all my tax documents and track where all my work is (workflow). I can easily find documents when a client needs them and I know what all my staff are working on at all times. Doc.It has made my firm much more efficient and saves me and my partners plenty of time. I can work from the cottage if necessary. Support is excellent as well. They really understand their product and the type of work we do here. They have a really cool PDF Editor also.

    Pros

    Value. PDF Editor. Workflow. Scan tools

    Review Source: Capterra
In just fifteen minutes, the experts at Software Advice can help you narrow down the right software for your organization. Call us for a Free FastStart Consultation: (844) 680-2046