Doc.It Suite Software


 

Since 2001, Doc.It Suite, a document management platform, has been available to accounting and tax professionals. Doc.It Suite offers the user a variety of applications including document management, document capture & image-processing, and records management. The software addresses the 4-step process in a document’s lifestyle: gather, process, store, and deliver.

The web portal gives clients the ability to share documents and reports. Clients can also send files for processing. The policy manager feature ensures uniformity across the firm by applying the file naming and location policy to all documents as they’re gathered and prepared for storage.

Doc.It Suite integrates with other accounting applications, and is available as a monthly subscription service. Customers can log in to request support and gain access to resources and training videos, or they can call customer care during business hours to speak with a team member over the phone.

 

Doc.It Suite - Assignments
 
  • Doc.It Suite - Assignments
    Assignments
  • Doc.It Suite - Web portal
    Web portal
  • Doc.It Suite - Archive explorer
    Archive explorer
  • Doc.It Suite - Dashboard
    Dashboard
  • Doc.It Suite - Binder explorer
    Binder explorer
Supported Operating System(s):
Windows 10

16 Reviews of Doc.It Suite

Showing 1-16 of 16

 

Start your review of Doc.It Suite

Click to start
https://www.softwareadvice.com/cms/doc-it-review/

Angela from Collins Blay LLP
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

May 2017

May 2017

Superior Product and Customer Support Team

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Very user friendly and reliable client document organization.

Pros

Doc.It does what it is designed to do, and does it very well. Very intuitive navigation, and definitely makes your life easier if you make use of all the wonderful features offered. Autofile is your best friend! The Doc.It team has proven to be very responsive and helpful. Highly recommended software.

Cons

Unable to customize portal delivery email. Clients tend to disregard the notifications as spam. Job Queue could be more user-friendly and offer more options. We would LOVE to see an option to Autofile based on the client's Social Insurance Number.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Doc.It, Doc.It Inc.

Date: May 2017

May 2017

 

Andrea: Thank you for your feedback. I always appreciate hearing the team is executing the way we hope in supporting our clients. We continue to evolve our software based on client feedback and yours is in line with feedback from others.

Kevin, COO

 

Shabir from KBH Chartered Accountants
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

May 2017

May 2017

steadily declined over the years as Docit grew. Standard answer from support is "the next update"

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

At one time the benefits were big - especially when we went paperless. Today, i'm not sure the benefits outweigh any other PDF archiving and markup solution.

Pros

The integration with caseware for each of printing and the ease to which PDF documents can be marked up. Works well in the field as well.
Once the setup matter are dealt with on Portal (see below) use of portal is simple and easy.

Cons

Lack of ability to use with multiple locations having access to the archive other than over a terminal server.
Every time something is wrong and we talk to tech support - the response is "we hope that is in the next update"
The software crashes A LOT. Daily for some people. Especially when trying to email a document from Inbox - or trying to combine a number of documents. Or opening a document and turning on bookmarks.
The portal setup for a client and related instructions are utterly useless. Support knows this and nothing has been done - looks like the instructions are printed on a dot-matrix printer. I would NEVER want to send my client a document that looks like that, so I have to create my own document with instructions for my client. The automatically generated email says that the instructions are in the PDF. In fact, the PDF only has a username and password. No instructions, no link or web URL for the client to navigate to and certainly no instructions at all. This might be one of the most poorly designed things in Doc-it.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Doc.It, Doc.It Inc.

Date: May 2017

May 2017

 

Shabir: I'm sorry to hear you feel this way. We recently heard you were having some problems and I know my team has reached out to you. Please respond to him and we can attack the issues. I am confident we can turn this around and re-establish your confidence in us, our product and our support team.
Kevin, COO

 

Debbie from Somerville & Company, P.L.L.C.
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

May 2017

May 2017

The updates have made the software less user-friendly.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

The paperless feature and the quick accessibility of documents. There is no more searching for lost documents.

Pros

The best feature is the quick accessibility of documents. It is very nice to be able to access information while talking with a client on the telephone. This is a good program, but there are several areas that need improvement.

Cons

The updated calculator is horrible. Also, the program has become less user-friendly after the updates. There should be a copy feature from other documents.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Doc.It, Doc.It Inc.

Date: May 2017

May 2017

 

Debbie: Thank you for your feedback. I'm surprised, and disappointed to hear that you feel our latest updates have made the product less user friendly. Also, search is still part of the feature set. Please contact our customer care team so we can address your concerns.
Kevin COO

 

Stephen from J. K. Boatwright & Co., P.C.
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

May 2017

May 2017

Doc-It continually makes a better product at a better price and supports it well.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Ease of looking up items (just a few clicks and we have what we need), central repository, ease of scanning and sorting items. A lot less paper. Logging and tracking work.

Pros

Once set up it is very easy to use and maintain. Customer Support is stellar. Offers more features and functionality without add-ons than the competition. They take feedback well and generally put in the features we ask for or help to resolve any issues we have - features, functionality and/or troubleshooting new items.

Cons

Not fluid integration with all CCH and ThomsonReuters products - due to not being part of their suites. Would like it to be a little faster - recent improvements have helped, but it still needs to be faster.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Doc.It, Doc.It Inc.

Date: May 2017

May 2017

 

Stephen: Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate it and it guides our development. In addition, we are always looking for ways to reduce clicks and speed up the system.
Kevin, COO

 

Leslie from Ruby Stein Wagner Chartered Accountants
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

May 2017

May 2017

a very good document managment product with good support team. I find there is still growth to come.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support
Pros

it does what it is made to do well. The one license structure works well for our firm as well. one license for a product with many usable features.

Cons

The web portal I think need to be more simply to configure and manage. There is other portal comcept they should consider in the design that are secure and easier to manage and implement

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Doc.It, Doc.It Inc.

Date: May 2017

May 2017

 

Leslie: Thanks for your feedback. Yes, there is still growth to come. We continue to evolve the product based on client feedback.
Kevin COO

 

Cynthia from R L M Professional Corporation
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

May 2017

May 2017

Doc It has been an excellent tool in our office as we have moved to a "less paper" environment.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Document management, filing efficiencies, and ease of use are all benefits.

Pros

The best part of Doc It is its document organization. The archive and the editor are also excellent tools for any office . Software support has also been excellent.

Cons

I can't think of any truly negative aspects of Doc It perhaps doing updates? It's difficult to criticize a tool that is so valuable and effective.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Doc.It, Doc.It Inc.

Date: May 2017

May 2017

 

Cynthia: Thank you for your feedback. It is always great to hear from a satisfied client. We continue to strive to make our update process seamless to the user community.
Kevin, COO

 

John from Hyatt Lassaline LLP

May 2017

May 2017

Long-time doc-it user

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support
Pros

The integration between Scanning, OCR & archive is useful. Work in process binders helped clean up and organize document storage.

Cons

Difficult to access files remotely, pen input laggy, PDF editor not compatible with some of the common PDF files that we download & use and have to use a competitors product.

Still confused in the UI why you can access an archive via the archive explorer or binder explorer, and both can be made to have the same layout.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Doc.It, Doc.It Inc.

Date: May 2017

May 2017

 

John: Thanks for your feedback. As you know, we continue to evolve our product based on feedback from you and other users. The best practice to access the archive is through the binder explorer. For most users, it is the more efficient way to get where you want to go.
Kevin, COO

 

Andrew from Green Webber Company

May 2017

May 2017

Significantly changed the way our practice approaches client services.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Organization and efficiency provided our firm a game changing experience in how we can service our client base. Work flow platform should be developed further.

Pros

Upfront support was invaluable in setting up our firm in Doc It. With a few clicks of the mouse, I can have access to client information regardless of type of engagement or period to speak directly to with the client during a meeting or phone call.

Cons

I believe there is an opportunity to incorporate a CRM to capture the total client service experience. There may be an strategic alliance with say Client Track that could be incorporated to provide users an even more powerful tool.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Doc.It, Doc.It Inc.

Date: May 2017

May 2017

 

Andrew: Thanks for your feedback. We continue to build out our offering based on feedback and will consider your suggestion wrt Client Track. In terms of WF, please contact our customer care team and insure you have the latest update. There are a number of enhancements to WF in V4.5.

 

Derek from Embree & Co. LLP
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

May 2017

May 2017

New users - less than 12 months

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Time savings and workflow

Pros

Makes things easier from your desk chair, the workflow is good but would like to see some changes. The pdf editor is easy to use too.

Cons

Sometimes the system is slower compared to other programs/systems. A good example would be the changing the file name. In Doc.it takes a couple of seconds to get to the name change, but in windows explorer it is immediate.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Doc.It, Doc.It Inc.

Date: May 2017

May 2017

 

Derek: Thank-you for your feedback. We are always listening to our clients and how we can improve their experience. The 'name change' function is already part of our June release currently in QC.

Kevin, COO

 

Jeffrey from Thomas, Head & Greisen, PC
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

May 2017

May 2017

The Doc.It Suite of products works very well in our environment.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Among other things, Doc.It allows us to better adhere to our retention policies.

Pros

The PDF Editor is top-notch. Great stamps, abilities to modify size and shape of document and include notes and diagrams.

Cons

The workflow product seems to be the weakest link in the suite. But to be truthful, we haven't used it a whole lot.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Doc.It, Doc.It Inc.

Date: May 2017

May 2017

 

Jeffrey: Thanks for your feedback. We have added to the workflow significantly in the last year+. We are hosting a webinar for existing users to show the latest workflow at the end of June. I would encourage you and others from your firm to attend. Invites will be going out next week.

Kevin, COO

 

Sundeep from Ernst and Young LLP
Number of employees: 51-200 employees Employees number: 51-200 employees

May 2017

May 2017

Doc-it provides one with ease to paperless record keeping.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Ease of paperless record keeping.

Pros

The ability to annotate and mark-up documents with ease and allows paperless record keeping. The customer support is great when any issues result.

Cons

One area doc-it can improve on is being able to remove sign-off stamps - as these cannot be deleted once you close the document.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Doc.It, Doc.It Inc.

Date: May 2017

May 2017

 

Sundeep: Thank-you for your feedback. We are always listening to feedback from our users and continue to evolve the product.

Kevin, COO

 

Theresa from Theresa Ko Inc
Number of employees: 1 employee Employees number: 1 employee

May 2017

May 2017

A long learning curve. Felt like a computer programmer when started using program

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Less paper in the office

Pros

Ability to store documents in pdf. Easy to convert from jpeg to pdf. It is a paperless filing cabinet. It frees up physical space in my office and reduces paper printing.
Ability to customize with filing options.

Cons

It crashes when I try to drag and drop from Outlook email.
It crashes when I try to send an email with password protection and I drag and drop the protected pdf icon too quickly.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Doc.It, Doc.It Inc.

Date: May 2017

May 2017

 

Theresa: Thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear you are having a less than acceptable experience. I know our customer care team has worked with you in the past to resolve these types of issues. Please continue to work directly with them and we will assist to get them resolved.

Kevin, COO

 

Jason from CPA Group of Laramie, LLC
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

May 2017

May 2017

Favorable and productive

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Efficient workflow.

Pros

Helps our firm work more efficiently. Keeps us more organized and on track. I like that rules can be set to lock files down so they can't be edited or deleted.

Cons

I really wish files could be edited without having to open them up in the PDF editor. It would be so useful and a time saver to be able to edit documents in the preview window. I also really wish email files could be drag and dropped into the application easily without having to print them to my inbox and then save them over. I also do not like the roll forward process. It's cumbersome and requires a lot of our staff resources.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Doc.It, Doc.It Inc.

Date: May 2017

May 2017

 

Jason: Thank-you for your feedback. We have heard the previewer one before. We will be making that a true previewer (including MS office document formats) and then the behavior will be consistent across all types. That is why we have resisted. You should be able to drag and drop from Outlook. Please contact our customer care team for assistance. Noted on the roll forward process. I think we can make that more efficient.

Kevin, COO

 

Danny from Dudley & Associates
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

May 2017

May 2017

Great experience using Doc.It. Is everything you can expect from a Document Management standpoint.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support
Pros

We like the slick doc.it editor editing tools that come with the software. The ability to add actual digital signatures is a major plus for a transition to a paperless office.

Cons

There have been issues with autofile feature if your office is not setup properly. However, with careful startup planning I can see how this would be a very smooth feature.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Doc.It, Doc.It Inc.

Date: May 2017

May 2017

 

Danny: Thank-you for your feedback. (and the 10/10). Please reach out to our customer care team to assist optimizing your autofiling. A little time with setup/refinement can pay dividends for years.

 

Dan from Weiler & Company
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

May 2017

May 2017

Doc-It supports our accounting firm in using documents in pdf form, scanning, creating and archiving

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

The Doc-It software allows a mid sized firm to support all staff with an effective way of moving documents, and work with them without print to paper. Doc-It has supported our growth in scanning and archiving client data in an effective way. We insist that all staff use Doc-It in the approval of time reporting, so all staff use Doc-It daily and it has become a trusted part of every day in the office.

Pros

Doc-It delivers the tools that let our staff work with reduced print. We have archived over 15 years worth of documents, and the archive allows for immediate access to the document you want, be it tax, correspondence or financials without having to open Word, Taxprep, CaseWare or CTF research while the client is on the phone.

The Doc-It pdf editor and Doc-It scanner software organizes pdfs we create and let's us edit and work with pdfs effectively at a low cost per staff person.

Our clients like the portal software, where we host the portal in-house using secure SSL transport stra

Cons

We don't utilize most of what Doc-It can do. Work Flow software is our next piece we will implement, so I can't comment on that.

We do not try to scan all personal tax documents, and the scanning to tax returns is not cost effective for us at this time.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Doc.It, Doc.It Inc.

Date: May 2017

May 2017

 

Dan: Thanks for the feedback. We will be hosting a webinar on workflow near the end of June. (invites going out next week) This is an opportunity to see what our workflow can do for you and your firm. There is configuration and training to follow.

 

Mark from M&M Accounting Services
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

March 2017

March 2017

Use Doc-It Daily

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

We are a 10 person accounting firm and I use Doc.It everyday to store all my tax documents and track where all my work is (workflow). I can easily find documents when a client needs them and I know what all my staff are working on at all times. Doc.It has made my firm much more efficient and saves me and my partners plenty of time. I can work from the cottage if necessary. Support is excellent as well. They really understand their product and the type of work we do here. They have a really cool PDF Editor also.

Pros

Value. PDF Editor. Workflow. Scan tools

Advice to Others

Invest the time at the beginning to implement and train properly, it pays off in the end.

Review Source: Capterra