What are DocSend users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using DocSend software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.57

51 Reviews

5
32
4
18
3
0
2
0
1
1
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Professional, flexible, scalable technology that makes every start-up look good and gives every investor a sense of confidence."
  • icon"Customer support is responsive and really interested in helping you."
  • icon"User friendliness and absolutely great customer service. Overall a transparent and simple tool with a lot of helpful options."
  • icon"Can't verify info stored on a space (without re-downloading) since the preview given is nearly unreadable. No sortability in the headers."
  • icon"It is true that longer multi-page documents were cut off after 5+ pages, but the material that was left was only distorted by less than 10% of the content."
  • icon"Sometimes confusing to differentiate between content, spaces, etc. Sometimes confusing to figure out how to create custom links."

Jump to:

Browse all DocSend Reviews

  • Have you used DocSend and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 51 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 51 reviews

User Profile

Dave

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

DocSend: Don’t raise funds without it!

Having received numerous business plans in the past via DocSend, I was incredibly impressed and quickly decided that we had to use it to communicate with our prospective investors and partners. Getting set up with DocSend was fast and easy, and managing documents and communications has been a breeze. What really keeps me coming back is the fast pace of innovation with new features and ideas. Raising money is a top priority for many companies. DocSend is an essential tool to make fundraising a success.

Pros

Professional, flexible, scalable technology that makes every start-up look good and gives every investor a sense of confidence

Cons

Sometimes confusing to differentiate between content, spaces, etc. Sometimes confusing to figure out how to create custom links.

Reasons for choosing DocSend

Combination of price and performance

Reasons for switching to DocSend

Products like Dropbox and Google make it easy to share files and create links, but they don't offer nearly the customization available with DocSend.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

DocSend, The BIG BROTHER of documents and presentations

DocSend has help us out in the sales department to: 1.- Get a much clear idea of how many people are really taking the time to see and read our documents. 2.- Realize who is really interested in the information, since it gives you a report on how many times a single user enters your document. 3.- Get an idea of what page exactly is the one that our users pay more attention to, since we can access statistics of how many minutes per page each user invest on.

Pros

1.-Easy of use for managing documents on the platform 2.-Extremely easy way to upload files to the software 3.-Weekly reports by email 4.- Really love that you could see who access your files, how many times and the time spent per page

Cons

I think personal version almost no reporting, something that could be a withdrawal since next subscription plan is 4.5x more expensive

Reasons for choosing DocSend

The deep and rich inside information that you can get by using DocSend is impossible to get if you try to use Google docs to share your documents and get an impressive idea on how your clients are using and consuming your information

Wayne

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Management Consulting

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

November 2019

Buyer Beware! DocSend Does Not Prevent Document Downloads

Pros

Pricing looked attractive. BUT it turned out this was a "you get what you pay for" situation.

Cons

DocuSend falsely claims that you can set the software to disallow downloading of documents. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] This is NOT true. What they don't tell you is that anyone can simply Print the document to PDF. When I challenged their customer service people on this, they claimed that they couldn't stop it, but that their software would distort the document so it is not readable. It is true that longer multi-page documents were cut off after 5+ pages, but the material that was left was only distorted by less than 10% of the content.... meaning that it is possible that a substantial leakage of your confidential info could occur. It wouldn't be so bad if they simply owned up to the lack of this feature in their software; then a buyer can decide whether the feature is necessary and the rest of the package is worth the price. But their lack of transparency on their website, coupled with their inept customer service response gave me a total lack of trust in this company.

Laura

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Logistics and Supply Chain

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

Great tool to share files securely

Pros

We like the integration with gmail. It allows us to share large files easily, while keeping track of who opens it.

Cons

We feel the e-signature feature needs lots of improvement. We would love to see form completion and signature so we could have share our business agreements/contracts using this platform. Also it will be great to share videos privately and keep track of who watches de video.

Reasons for choosing DocSend

We still use the other when we need to send an agreement that needs to be signed

Peterson

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

DocSend is simple and incredible.

Pros

The plan is popular contrasted with different items. It utilizes shading or textual style well indeed and utilizations serif typefaces well indeed. The capacity is basic and can be seen instinctively. All pointless data can be covered up and utilized instinctively well. The stacking speed is very fast contrasted with different items. Factual data is exceptionally exact, and it is inventive to be connected progressively. Envelope the executives is simple and all around carried out with different mists. Another extraordinary benefit is that it very well may be seen by embeddings pictures.

Cons

I have not run into a bad thing yet. I have had no issues, no glitches and no adverse responses to my utilization of the stage. I would nearly say the expense per client, yet for this quality it is definitely worth the cost and has effectively demonstrated itself to be important.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2018

Best way to track docs that are being sent

Pros

Love the ease of use and how in depth info they give you. I am able to track everything from who is opening my document, when they are opening it, what kind of device and where they are. I have been using docsend since it beginning stages and it has came such a far way and is huge now.. We use it to do e-signatures on waivers we send out as well and the open and click rate is through the roof wether you use it or not it is super simple for someone to sign a doc.

Cons

They have had a few bugs here and there which is lost me some time in work but as they grew and got stronger the service downtime has been minimal

User Profile

Dr Raj

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2020

Required Software for any Entrepreneur

Pros

The fact that I can track who views it, where it's viewed, and how many times is a big deal whether for fundraising or business development.

Cons

Yes, I wish I could share videos securely and track views within docsend or with a standalone docsend video feature. It's my number 1 future feature want.

Reasons for choosing DocSend

My friends said Docsend is the best for Entrepreneurs. I also went to a Docsend networking event when I moved to SF last year and My friends said Docsend is the best for Entrepreneurs. I also went to a Docsend networking event when I moved to SF last year and [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was amazing. was amazing.

User Profile

Sanjit

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2018

This is an essential product that works well and provides excellent tech support.

It helps me track prospect content engagement.

Pros

I really like the analytics it offers that shows engagement of the user. I also like that users can download content if they want. And finally, I love the way content looks on mobile.

Cons

I wish they had a feature like Pocket so people could save content for later. Also, I would love users to be able to listen to content rather than just read it.

User Profile

Daniel

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

Great tool, great UX

great, use it all the time, I promote it actively

Pros

control confidential information, get insights, simple and good UX

Cons

I think you guys could upgrade the logo and look of the interface, but thats not really too relevant as it is about function and function is great

Reasons for choosing DocSend

it does the job for me

User Profile

Oleg

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2020

One of the best tools to measure customer engagement

Pros

The Top-3 features I really like are: 1) viewing total time a user spent on every page to track what pages works well and what should be improved 2) custom links for the specific user to track what is relevant for him and what is not 3) integration with PersistIQ for tracking the behavior of every user without creating the custom link for everyone manually

Cons

1) The free version is very limited, you cannot even display a social preview for your documents, which makes you unable to evaluate the real impact (Docsend's icon, instead of a social preview, decreases the open rate) 2) All custom links are displayed in one list and if you're using a lot of them - it's hard to sort them and to find the right one 3) you have always keep in mind that you should use the specific link for your team, it would be better if you could filter visits by IP to screen out team visits (like Google Analytics does)

Michael

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2019

Great tool for sending documents and getting quantitative feedback

Valuable tool for fundraising and sales documents

Pros

Awareness of when your audience engages with time sensitive documents (eg fundraising pitchdecks)

Cons

Generally good value - our usage ebbs and flows so wish we could price by usage if minimal activity that month

User Profile

Maxime

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Design

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

Docsend is a good analytics tool for your presentation

Pros

- Very user-friendly - Easy to understand analytics for our documents - Support for many document types - The tool also gives the facility of giving a live walkthrough of the documents via phone or in person.

Cons

- NO Support for pitch videos - It's little expensive - Sometime the website is very slow.

Response from DocSend

Maxime, thanks so much for the review! We'd love to help you out with any questions around pitch videos / site performance. We'll follow up with you in just a moment.

Replied June 2018

Kayla

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

Founders should use DocSend for sharing pitch decks and data rooms

Pros

DocSend is great for secure document sharing and tracking. Founders should absolutely use it for sharing pitch decks and confidential data room materials because it is secure and provides helpful insights and analytics about who viewed your deck. I recommend that you require viewers to submit their email addresses before being able to review your materials so you can reach out to them to connect directly.

Cons

I wish there was a free tier for founders who are just starting their companies and are trying to limit their expenses.

GRANT

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

Keep your decks confidential-and get feedback

Expiring links on decks hosted in the cloud is super helpful to control where decks go and to whom they're shared with. Its not a silver bullet, but it makes it just a little harder to hit forward and share with someone that may not have as high integrity as you'd hope.

Pros

I love the feedback on the decks I send out to potential investors. Who has reviewed them, how long they spend on them. Its also VERY mobile friendly so that's amazing. I've heard from 1st hand sources of companies where well meaning investors offered to share a competitor's deck (they declined). This is less likely to happen with DocSend and a link that expires on a date you set. Especially impressed with the new features that the DocSend has rolled out in the last month.

Cons

I want the same features and support for video!

Adrian

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2018

Docsend makes my life much easier in being able to track marketing & sales leads and their interest

My marketing team is VERY small and budget constrained, and DocSend really helps me make the most of all my efforts .

Pros

The customer service and attention to detail with clients is incredible. They respond very quickly to all types of questions and follow up to make sure that everything is going smoothly or has been resolved. The software is great as a marketer to know what types of content and pages are resonating or not. I'm not flying blind in what is REALLY working or not.

Cons

There are a few features that can be iterated on for heavier users of the platform to help make mass lists or document creation faster and more streamlined.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2018

Makes sending documents so easy!

Ease of sending documents.

Pros

I love that you can upload a document, send it to any recipient, and still update that doc without having to blast everyone that has access.

Cons

I wish you could send electronic agreements via DocSend. Like what DocuSign does - it would be amazing to have that feature.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

Secure file sharing

I like that you can personalise each folder and make it public or private

Pros

You can save and share your documents safely. You can even set an expiration date and the document cannot be viewed anymore

Cons

Link creation can get tedious and has a lot of steps

Response from DocSend

Thanks for the review! Out of curiosity: have you tried our Gmail or Outlook integrations? They'll save you a ton of time by integrating directly into your inbox so that you can quickly create links on-the-fly without even having to go to docsend.com.

Replied August 2018

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2019

A great app for startup fundraising

DocSend was an integral part of our fundraising process, and it will continue to be for future rounds to come.

Pros

DocSend makes it very easy to share and manage access to sensitive information. When we fundraise, we use DocSend so that we can easily share presentations that would be impossible to control access to via standard email. Using Docsend means that we can control access to, and track data on everything we send out. We can see who views our deck, who shares/fwds it, and track our success metrics. Even better, when we make a critical change, we can revoke access to the original document and issue a new version.

Cons

I don't have any real complaints about this application, but one thing that would be useful is an easier way to redirect an old document link to a new document - without having to send a new link. I anticipate that this will happen so it should be fine.

Jim

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

Pretty software, but quite limited

Trying to get prospects to review quotes. They seem more willing to do so in DS than in emails. Plus, we know it when it happens.

Pros

It looks very nice. Overall design is easy to work with. Receiving reports, when people review, is very helpful.

Cons

Very difficult to accomplish certain tasks. Can't verify info stored on a space (without re-downloading) since the preview given is nearly unreadable. No sortability in the headers. Moving sections is tedious. Not having the most basic functions (like: Back) is a bit annoying.

Christopher

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Great Tool for Sending Proprietary Documents

Pros

DocSend makes it easy to send proprietary documents to investors, customers, and potential partners. It accepts a variety of formats, but we especially use it to share PDFs that others can view for a limited time without saving to their own computers. It gives us more control over changing versions of documents, and removing allowed viewers after a certain amount of time.

Cons

DocSend's pricing is a bit steep, and doesn't yet support non-document formats like spreadsheets.

Ovidiu

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

January 2018

DocSend has an easy interface, and is a very user friendly tool. However, it lacks functionality.

I cannot say we had any unfortunately. This is due to limitations of the product.

Pros

User friendliness and absolutely great customer service. Overall a transparent and simple tool with a lot of helpful options.

Cons

The value of the service is far low from the exorbitant amount of money required for the subscription. In addition, the limitations seriously impede any serious transfers to be done. For instance, word files must not contain more than 100 pages. This is a big limitation for an organisation such as ours where we specifically work with large files and we want to send them encrypted. Also there is no voice or video conferencing options with the secure presentation. In a period when dozens of free encrypted file transfer services offer similar options sometimes for free, DocSend needs to really up their game and look at the market they compete with, work on the limitations of the tool, and think about the prices especially for users that end up paying 30 dollars a month for one file transfer.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2018

A very good analytics tool for presentation documents

Securely send files that can only be accessed with an approved email for privacy

Pros

DocSend is very easy to use; the analytics are easily understood and it supports a lot of document types.

Cons

DocSend can't get through some corporate firewalls that make clients unable to access the document/s.

Simon

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2019

A must have

Intuitive, smart, professional.

Pros

Tracking the opens & time spent on each slide, one click NDA, data room spaces.

Cons

Price for multiple users is hefty for a startup so we just have one admin.

Reasons for choosing DocSend

Tracking, data room look and feel.

Reasons for switching to DocSend

Tracking and data room spaces.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2018

Document Tracking

We are sending our documents externally, and sometimes they share it with others. We would like to prevent the spread of these files to different people. We can track who opened it and they should ask permission if they are not allowed.

Pros

It's free and easy to use. Our firm uses this platform in tracking the documents we send out externally, so we can prevent unauthorized access. We can also set an expiration date so it can only be available during the time being.

Lizzie

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2020

Useful for sharing documents and keeping track of who views them

It works well, just a shame not easy way of integrating data of views into other apps

Pros

- That you can see live who is viewing - The ability to see time split by page - The ability to create multiple different links for each document

Cons

- It would be great if it could integrate with CRMs to store data collected by it

Showing 1 - 25 of 51 reviews
DocSend

DocSend

4.57/5 out of 51 reviews
PriceDemo