What are FileCenter users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using FileCenter software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.81

26 Reviews

5
24
4
1
3
0
2
0
1
1
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"I like that File Center keeps the files and receipts on your computer (easy to sync between different devices using Google Drive or other Cloud Services)."
  • icon"It is easy to navigate files and folders, and I love the folder templates."
  • icon"It works like a charm with my Epson ES-500W scanner."
  • icon"I keep closing preview windows and forget where to add it back. That is so far the only con I have on File Center."
  • icon"This company is terrible I can't get support for a product I purchased multiple copies of less than a year ago without spending 100's of dollars with them again."
  • icon"So what, this was an update, not an upgrade, I have never needed tech support, why should I pay for an update."

Jump to:

Browse all FileCenter Reviews

  • Have you used FileCenter and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 26 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 26 reviews

Chris

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Design

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

Awesome Software - great replacement for Neat!

Overall it has been very positive. When I have had issues, support has been quick to fix. They have been open and responsive to product suggestions, and I feel as a customer that they value and appreciate us.

Pros

I ended up switching to FileCenter from Neat Software as Neat was getting too expensive and I found it very slow to log receipts/etc. I like that File Center keeps the files and receipts on your computer (easy to sync between different devices using Google Drive or other Cloud Services). You can set up your boxes and drawers however you want. I also like that DMS, Receipts, & Automate are all in the same software and in the preferences you can "hide" the ones you don't have - that way all my files and workflow can be accessed via FileCenter. It is easy to navigate files and folders, and I love the folder templates. Building reports and inputting receipts is a lot faster in FileCenter than it is in Neat Software, and I was able to file my taxes a lot faster! Support has largely been fast and helpful. This is a smaller company than Neat, so sometimes interaction with the team in their community groups takes awhile to hear from, but one gets the sense that they really are interested in what their customers want and need.

Cons

There is a delay in switching between receipt boxes/drawers as you wait for it to load. Once you are in it is fast - but it would be nice if the load time is a bit faster. This might be because I am using a Cloud Drive as the source for my files. There are also a few bugs (persistent settings preferences that don't save) that we have been waiting for awhile to be fixed - however the software updates themselves come regularly.

Reasons for switching to FileCenter

Neat was getting too expensive, lacked a lot of options, was slow to upload receipts/etc. no easy way to bulk download receipts.

Gordon

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2020

Simply the best for the price

Customer service has always been excellent. It is one of the pieces of software that I have recommended to many other small business owners.

Pros

I've used this steadily for over 10 years now and find it indispensable in getting rid of old paperwork. The fact that it uses it's own interface which also works with the windows file system is the main reason I bought it. Getting tied into proprietary software filing systems if I later switched to something else was not something that was acceptable. It is simple to set up and use, works like a charm, and is constantly being improved. The yearly upgrade price (around $40 for my version) is very fair and allows them to stay in business. Since the initial backers were from the legal profession, there are a lot of features designed for that market but they do not detract from my using it at all. It works like a charm with my Epson ES-500W scanner.

Cons

I know this is being picky but some years ago they took out the button that would quickly do a two page scan. I really liked that feature. Now that I have seen their Receipts software, I would love it if they could integrate some of it's features so I could use scanned names, invoice dates, etc for naming files. This is not a con but it would be nice.

Reasons for choosing FileCenter

It seemed like it would work the best for me and did not require a proprietary file structure.

Ray

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2021

Best Scanning Software Ever

Errorless use over last two years, the experience has been effortless and very productive.

Pros

Ease of use and full of features, able to sink with all the cloud services, editing, errorless use over last two years

Cons

Would like to see better PDF editing features

Jameson

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

January 2018

Terrible Customer Service

Pros

When it is functioning like it is supposed to it it great. We do a lot of scanning into and emailing out of this program and when it doesn't crash it works fine.

Cons

5-6 months after we bought File Center 9, File Center 10 was released. After 10 was released we started having issues with crashing and scanning. I reached out to tech support and they let me know that will not be supporting File Center 9 any more and told me I need to purchse Filecenter 10 for all the PC's that we are running to "possibly" fix the issue. This company is terrible I can't get support for a product I purchased multiple copies of less than a year ago without spending 100's of dollars with them again. The worst thing is they can't even guarantee upgrading will fix my problems. Do not buy this companies product.

Kevin

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2016

Founder and Owner

I usually don't write these reviews, but after finding FileCenter I feel I need to help spread the word about this great software product. If you run a small office, you should at least give FileCenter a try. It will make dealing with the daily flows of computer and paper files much easier, and your office staff will love you for it. FileCenter has a lot to offer in the paperless context. We primarily use it to manage our computer files, but it also has very robust scanning, PDF editing, and search features. In the manage context, all you do is "map" a folder location already on your network or local drive to a FileCenter "Cabinet", and it very cleverly displays your files in a Cabinet/Drawer/Folder paradigm just like a paper filing cabinet. This makes it much more intuitive than the traditional Windows Explorer, but all your data is still on the file system. So even if you removed FileCenter from your computer, your data is still there and accessible like it was before. As such, I strongly recommend a file system based approach to document management for this very reason. I've made the mistake of going with a database drive system with my last software and had a hard time getting my data out of the system when I switched software. While the likelihood of my switching from FileCenter is rare, there are so many more benefits to a file system based approach when it comes to document management, especially for small offices like me. Also, the customer support for FileCenter was very positive. They actually get back to you in a timely manner and have a good grasp of how to run an effective paperless office. They were able to give me a lot of good tips and best practices in working with FileCenter. Lastly, you really need to check out FileCenter's video library. It has a number of how-to videos on most of the primary features of the program that makes getting up to speed with FileCenter easy. I have found this to be an invaluable resource. Like I said before, I usually don't feel compelled to write these reviews but given the increased productivity FileCenter has given my office, I felt it was the least I could do to repay my gratitude to the makers of FileCenter. It's definitely worth your taking a closer look if you want a solid document management program.

Marianne

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2018

Filecenter

I find that I need to password protect FileCenter and the pdf’s that I am emailing. We are constantly reminded from IRS that we must protect our computers and our software. I am so happy that FileCenter has these features.

Pros

This software has a very quick learning curve. I had to teach it to an employee, and it takes no time at all. It’s easy to set up cabinets, folders and files and access them. I like the feature that allows you to send an email with password protection. Very easy to do. I scan all our documents for our accounting firm which includes tax returns and financial statements for our bookkeeping and retainer clients.

Cons

There is nothing I don’t like about this software.

Ronald

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Warehousing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2021

Good Product but Deceptive Pricing

Pros

The software does what it claims, and works very well.

Cons

Lucion's deceptive policy. Their site claims to subscription. Turns out that is exactly what there Maintenance fee is. I received a message informing me there was an update available, but when it came to installing it, I was told my maintenance had expired. So what, this was an update, not an upgrade, I have never needed tech support, why should I pay for an update? Standard S.O.P. for software in the industry is you get updates for free. Updates are because the software company has made a mistake in the programming of there product, why should I as a consumer pay for their mistake. Do car owners pay for manufactures recalls? If you are an individual using this software as I was, then there are better alternatives out there like Kofax Paperport. If you are a company that needs year round tech support for their product then the Maintenance fee might not be such and issue.

Reasons for switching to FileCenter

They do not charge for updates.

Jim

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2016

Great software

I have been extremely happy with my purchase of FileCenter Document Management. I use the software for my credit repair business. It makes my life so much easier when going to look for my files or even to store them by scanning or printing. I have contacted their support department a couple of times and they had a great response time and were able to answer my questions.

Pros

The software is so easy to set up and start using. I love the fact that I can set up templates for my folder structures as well as my file names so that we can all be consistent in our office when naming files. The OCR module is included in the package of software, as well as the ability to edit files. These two features alone is worth the investment.

Cons

None that I have experience yet

Response from Lucion Technologies

We are glad to have been able to help you out Jim. Thanks for being a customer and giving us the opportunity to serve you.

Replied October 2016

PETER

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

Helped me manage and organize files, saves me space and paper, it's a delight!

Save time browsing files without having to open them, save space by storing files on my computer, save money by buying less paper, not to mention the environment.

Pros

My 2 favorite features, among so many, are the file preview, where you can browse any file without opening and the print to pdf, feature, where you can take any web page, word document or email and turn it into an accurate pdf file.

Cons

There are so many functionalities with this, that it is hard to say anything negative about it, I absolutely love it! You may think it's a little expensive, however, when you see the amount of time, space and paper that you save, it's more than worth it. You have to ask yourself, how much does a new filing cabinet cost for the added files that you have accumulated.

Brien

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

File Center is my paperport replacment

There tech support is the best. Since moving from paperwork I get a lot of things done faster and my computer is organized better.

Pros

I like how I can print a pdf to my folders in file center then I can email the file to my vendors then place my file into a folder for that I know I have emailed it.

Cons

I keep closing preview windows and forget where to add it back. That is so far the only con I have on File Center

Reasons for switching to FileCenter

Paperwork would not update.

James

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Farming

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2017

Does what other could not, awesome powerful application for user at all levels.

This was the only software solution that could be found that did not require another sql server instance to be installed. Our many reason for purchase was to have an easier solution to archive company records. Very easy user interface. We use this primarily to manipulate scanned documents to an archive server. This makes it very easy for a user to 'know" exactly where they are on the network.

Pros

Easy manipulation of large network folder structure. No need to install sql server as competitor software required. Fast user learning curve. Customization for large user group or individuals.

Cons

No ability to integrate with a network copier. (4 stars for this) Updates can break connections with third party software.

Kent

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

January 2016

Simple Cost Effective Replacement to My Old System

I had been using another product previous to FileCenter, but the cost became to great to stay with them. After taking some time to search for a suitable replacement, I found FileCenter. Initially, I started by using the FileCenter Standard product at home to become familiar with it. I had wanted a home version of my previous software, but they were $40 a month/user and FileCenter was $50 one time for their standard version and $200 per user, one time for my business. After using the software for a couple weeks I was convinced to use FileCenter for my business as well. The things I love about this product is the simplicity. It took me some time to learn my last software and they wanted to charge me a lot of money to implement it for me. I installed FileCenter within 5 minutes and had my data imported into the software within 10 minutes. FileCenter has thought of everything and have great videos available online for me to view at any time. There was one time that I needed some help getting my Plustek scanner working with their software and I received a quick response from them with detailed instructions on how to get my scanner working. The review given on this site by Capterra doesn't give you all the features that are available on the software as it seems like they only reviewed the standard version. You can print to PDF directly into the software, as well as Version Control. I can also assemble documents in my software, but I am not sure how Capterra defines this feature. I also love the fact that I can have a file cabinet set up to integrate with my Dropbox and OneDrive accounts. This is great because then I can have the same cabinet set up on my home computer or vice versa.

Response from Lucion Technologies

This is for the Professional edition of our FileCenter product.

Replied January 2016

Greg

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

A great document manager and OCR engine

Saving documents and relying less on printouts. Searching PDFs that have been imported makes things easier to find.

Pros

Easy to import documents by scanning or saving into the cabinets, thumbnails make identifying documents easy, PDF editor has so many features.

Cons

The PDF editor has lots of menus and many features, while present, are hard to find.

Reasons for choosing FileCenter

Affordable and more feature rich than its main competitors.

Randy

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2020

Pop up is annoying

Pros

Great at editing PDF files and combining several PDF files into one.

Cons

I do not use the cabinets and drawers, preferring to use explorer, but I have to select Switch to Windows each time I search or save file. After one year of use an annoying pop up displays when the program starts saying something like your subscription has expired.

Reasons for choosing FileCenter

Price

Massimo

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Machinery

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2018

PDF for all

We use FileCenter to scan ad organize all the paper of our shop: orders, bills, drawings ... everything in one stable and well engineered software. Before we use Papermaster ... FileCenter is better.

Pros

Ease of use Stability Full of utility to use to organize and modify PDF

Cons

At the firsth touch you may have some difficults to reach all the functions.

Bonnie

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2017

I love using FileCenter. It has helped organize our business and makes scanning documents a breeze!

Pros

I love the ease of the scan feature. Being able to append and prepend documents without any fuss. Also being able to edit a scanned document is another of my favorite features.

Cons

There have been some instances where the software freezes up while trying to communicate with windows explorer.

jorge

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2018

File Center Review

Wonderful.

Pros

My office uses this software everyday. We scan and archive everything with file center. Very easy to use and has given my employees no problems at all.

Cons

None at the moment. My workers have had no issues and seem to like this product.

Albert

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2016

Fantastic Program

I used to use Paperport but switched to FileCenter. This program is superior in every way to Paperport and has more features. I use it everyday and I am very satisfied with the results. I recommend this program.

Pros

Ease of use.

Cons

None

Eric

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2018

Great software easy to use for businesses and families

Pros

Integration with scanners, management of PDF files (modification, merge, delete pages, insert pages, tagging, metadata...), web portal

Cons

The cost of the core system plus the cost of the web portal make this system quite expensive for personal usage (which is how I'm using it)...

dawn

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2016

Good value for your money

We love the software, especially for the price. It is easy to use, easy to set up , but packed full of features. We have used another electronic document management software, at a much higher price, but we have even more features with the more expensive software.

Pros

Ease of use; price, features

Cons

Training could be better

Elliot

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2016

Finally found a program that is user friendly

The program is very versatile as well as user friendly. There are more functions than I need, but reduces to simple for me. The Support that i received from Kevin Anderson, was exceptional. He was knowledgeable, and patient with me. My problem was immediately resolved. This is a winner.

Pros

Lots of options. Can take them or leave them depending on my needs

Cons

Nothing yet

Dan

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2016

Excellent Program

I've been using FileCenter for many years now. It just keeps improving. The program is fast and powerful. Makes working with documents extremely efficient. For anyone that works with a large number of files, regardless of the type, this program is a must! Support is also rock solid. They care about their product and work quickly to resolve.

Pros

Ease of use, clean interface, conversion ability and viewer. It's fast as well.

Cons

Nothing really, perhaps limited customization

Carl

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Warehousing

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2019

Met Network Challenges

The install was smooth and the licensing easy. Unfortunately, each license is for a separate user and not the whole company. so that I could register every license under the company and let each licensed user have the program.

Pros

Is made to be used in a network environment with shared drives

Cons

The license is individual for each user instead of an organizational license to be installed on XX number of machines.

Nancy

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2016

This software is the best bang out there, I should know.

I've been paperless for over 12 years, I have used several different companies software and this is the ideal paperless solution. Besides the ability to start using immediately, it has all the functionality I've seen with other companies plus some! I had a technical issue that ended up being in house (on our end) but the support we received was tremendous.

Pros

Ease of use.

Cons

I didn't start with this software and wish I had them originally.

Marcia

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2016

Great Customer Service Support

I sent in a request to Filecentre Support asking how to create a transparent signature. I was very impressed at the step by step instructions I received which were so well explained and easy to follow. I now have a transparent signature. I had been using a white background signature for years.

Showing 1 - 25 of 26 reviews
FileCenter

FileCenter

4.81/5 out of 26 reviews
PriceDemo