All Kontent.ai Reviews

1-25 of 36 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Chris

Verified reviewer

Insurance, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Switched from Umbraco to Kentico Kontent

Experience has been great. Technical documentation is good, and the example projects in various languages has been helpful.

PROS

Flexibility of content taxonomy, ease of implementation, speed of Delivery API, excellent tech support.

CONS

It is up to the client to determine how best to structure their content's taxonomy. There is a lot of flexibility in Kentico's Admin Portal, so some "best practices" and recommendations from Kentico would be helpful.

Reason for choosing Kontent.ai

Good feature set, reasonable licensing fees, hosted infrastructure.

Andrew

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2022

Kontent is central to a composable IT solution

Our experience with Kontent to date has been outstanding. The platform allows us to deliver content-rich experiences for our clients across multiple channels quickly and efficiently, which is a win for all parties. The platform features continue to grow and excellent communication and support makes adoption fast and seamless.

PROS

Kontent's API-first approach means we can quickly and seamlessly integrate with modern tech stacks and front-end frameworks (including React, Vue, Angular, etc.). The Delivery API, Management API, Webhooks and Custom elements provide versatility and scalability to meet the needs of ourselves and our clients.

CONS

Some upfront knowledge is required to get the best out of the platform, especially when considering content modelling. As Kontent is a headless CMS, one of the objectives should be to utilise content in the most efficient fashion. To do so requires understanding of content models and taxonomies, and once understood, it's very easy to execute. It should be noted that this isn't a negative about the platform, as this comment applies to all headless CMSs.

Reason for choosing Kontent.ai

We'd been working with Kentico's CMS platform for many years when the product was first released. The company has always had a strong vision and roadmap, and the support is excellent.

Elisa

Food & Beverages, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2022

Kontent Review

good

PROS

pretty straight forward from a user perspective, very flexible and adaptable

CONS

Requires loads of dev time to make basic changes and implement features that would be out of the box in other instances.

Andreas

Semiconductors, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2022

Retire FrameMaker

I am really looking forward to the next months in which I work on the integration of Kontent!

PROS

The GraphQL and REST APIs work effortlessly with the modern software stack. The Kontent team managed to create a simple but powerful user interface with a flat learning curve. And that can be proven by the coherent e-learning experience. It is made from people for people

CONS

The rich text editor could use a straddle functionality for tables. Referring to text passages is an important choice users would like to know exists. The integration of assets or linked items and components with list views seems not to be tolerable - could you improve upon indentation - better a clear relation between text and other elements - like making all elements able to be inline?

Reason for choosing Kontent.ai

Very good documentation. I am under the impression that you work hard for your product and believe in it. Many features have been on par with the alternatives, just a few improvements would be nice - but you also offer the custom elements which can compromise.Thank you very much to[SENSITIVE CONTENT] , she offered the best support one could look for - I had the chance to compare the support to other big players at that time. Thanks also to[SENSITIVE CONTENT] , who supremely supported the detailed review of my supperiors during the buying process.

Reasons for switching to Kontent.ai

We had no content management system, we used agile software development strategies with the XML coming along with DITA (Darwin Information Typing Architecture). Unfortunately, the implementation of DITA in FrameMaker is bad, very much so. Switching to another editor would not resolve our content management needs.

Kristian

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Headless CMS is critical to a modern digital platform

PROS

Ease of integration with modern tech stacks, ability to use latest front-end frameworks such as React, Vue, Angular, etc. Easy integration with a variety of back-ends using their SDK - we have used the Javascript SDK to integrate into Node.js projects very effortlessly. The API is feature rich, for example: - you may set it to preview mode, to set up your staging & testing environments to preview draft content items - fine grain control which content workflow steps trigger webhooks to your server - use webhooks to easily integrate with services such as Elastic Cloud, Azure, translation services such as Google Translate / Amazon Translate

CONS

Kentico Kontent has improved dramatically over the past 12 months, it was already a very competitive headless CMS before, now after all of the recent updates I am confident to say that it is the best product on the market and is my default selection for greenfield projects.

Reason for choosing Kontent.ai

Overall the best bang-for-buck - had all of the features that we needed, a very responsive and helpful support team which impressed me as well. Whenever we have questions about how to use the product, the live support always responds within 1 minute and the operator tends to have very good technical understanding of the product.

Ilesh

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

Kontent is an awesome Headless CMS and great for content editors and developers!

PROS

I like the Web Spotlight feature, the JavaScript SDK, the Management API, and the Migration Tool to add items via code rather than the UI.

CONS

Some features like the Taxonomy seem very basic and also the APIs don't cover all of the things we do in the UI, so we can't approach Kontent as do everything via code approach.

Reason for choosing Kontent.ai

We had this selected from the client and used our overall expertise to select the product

Marek

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Kentico Kontent - solution for headless

Well, I started journey with them when they were a Kentico Cloud, and now with a stronger brand, Kentico Kontent is going better and better.

PROS

Architecture API oriented, ready to support Headless solutions right away. The way they design content authoring approach, with versions, content repository, and other makes Kentico Kontet a perfect solution for business content-oriented projects.

CONS

Everything that was strange to me before, they fixed or changed very quickly, so nothing at the moment :)

Reason for choosing Kontent.ai

In my opinion, it's better product with strong support and willingness to evolve, stable and flexible at the same time.

User Profile

Michał

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2019

Simple to use, abstract, transparent, powerfull!

PROS

- Best support I have ever had, super competitive team, instant replies - Feedback is very welcomed. All the suggestions are noted, and reviewed by Kontent Team - Software Developers love this product. Its easy to use and has great SDK. Content models are abstract by itself, so you are not limited to anything. You can create your own blocks and use them the way you want. - Speeds up the product development and delivery - Image transformation API takes care of fitting the images to any screen resolution. - Ability to create custom form elements - Very elastic about workflow definition and has good granulation of access rights management. - Attractive free plan, comparing to other Headless Cloud CMS

CONS

- (As for 29.11.2019), I'm missing a mechanism for grouping content in directories so we can functionally separate top level content (for applications views/pages) from less crucial content. Because of that, developers often have to teach the end user where to start and how to use prepared models

Graham

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Kontent has developed into a strong CaaS contender

Great support from the Kentico Kontent team is encouraging the team to put the platform as a genuine alternative to the traditional CMS route.

PROS

• The Kontent platform has now evolved into a production-ready system • There's strong support from Kentico sales department • Good technical support from Kentico development team including sample code available for multiple frontend frameworks • The Kontent team are ready to adapt and evolve products to client/agency needs • There's Great integration possibilities g • Good customisation is now possible of the CMS editor • Competitive pricing model with the other contenders in the marketplace

CONS

• The platform needs agencies/developers to re-train or employ additional frontend developers to deliver public site if they committed to the Kentico EMS platform for their business, essentially either are a cost to an agency • Deprecation of features in the past has left a nervousness over the platform (e.g. Draft CMS Import module, personalization engine) • The product is focussed at clients who have a specific project fit and knowledge of technology

User Profile

Jeroen

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Content migration made easy using a API-first development strategy

One of recurring problems that we are solving is making sure we create a future-proof solution. Previously we had to go through (painful) upgrade procedures, to keep the WCMS supported and secure. Content as a Service solves this problem and allows us to focus on .

PROS

My favorite feature is the Content Management API. This API is very flexible, intuitive and easy to use. I have used the Content Management API to migrate thousands of content items from a traditional WCMS to Kentico Kontent. This included optimization of HTML and enabling support for Omnichannel publishing.

CONS

Some areas of the Content Management API are not finalized (yet). This sometimes requires workarounds to get the job done. It would be nice if we could speed up the improvement of the product within these areas.

Reasons for switching to Kontent.ai

We wanted to move from a traditional WCMS to CaaS.

Gagan

Computer Software, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

Kentico - DXP for future

My overall experience with Kentico has been amazing over the years and much less stressful than other DXPs

PROS

What I like the most about Kentico is Ease of use and support it provides.

CONS

Kentico can do better in providing more clarity on licensing options

User Profile

Brett

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

Powerful and efficient content management platform

PROS

It provides the necessary flexibility to develop high-level digital innovation, with platforms that adapt very well to our business needs. This is a headless CMS that facilitates the delivery of content through an API, generating versatility in the use of content that can be carried out on different platforms.

CONS

There's not much negative I can mention, just that the search function is not as efficient as I would like.

Tafadzwa

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2022

Good product

PROS

UI for this product is super simple to use. Things are carefully laid out and easy even for non technical people. Compared to kentico experience this is way better. When it comes to kontent entry, that is easy too. For data modelling it is slightly trickier in that there are some concepts that are non intuitive. Once you have learned them then that is easy too. Kentico as a company really do listen to the users. This year alone a few features have been release that we have been asking for for a while. The roadmap is public too so it is easier to plan around features that are still missing.

CONS

1. Web hooks aren't perfect yet. Some providers give you the chance to shape the json for a webhook before it is sent out. This is not possible with Kontent. 2. Custom Data validation would be useful. I hear this is on the roadmap 3. Need better tooling for managing content as code

Conor

Insurance, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2022

My Review

I'm very happy, as a developer, with the freedom Kontent has given us to design a headless cms. The CMS Content Editing is easy to use once you get over the learning period.

PROS

After initial set up, its is very developer friendly and gives you a lot of freedom to build what you want.

CONS

Initial set up and lack of an out of the box preview system has lead to some issues and time spent on creating our own preview model.

Reasons for switching to Kontent.ai

We were on Drupal 7 and restricted with upgrading within our company. Kontent allowed us to move to a React based website.

Marco

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

Great Headless CMS

Excellent!

PROS

Super easy to use and very flexible. Love the UI.

CONS

Lack of a preview function is a pain, but livable. Believe there is a solution now.

Alix

Financial Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2022

Headless CMS requires more development

PROS

The UI is fairly decent once developer-side is set up well.

CONS

Reliance on dev for the smallest of changes takes functionality out of CMS. To get basic functionality you must pay a lot of money for Web Spotlight and it's still quite limited.

Sam

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Kentico Content: The Future of CMS

Extremely positive. Their product is not perfect, but it is getting there. Also their customer support goes above and beyond for their clients. Best service I have experienced in any type of setting.

PROS

This software is extremely user friendly for base users, but also has the ability to expand its features for a user that may want to do more with their content than just text and images.

CONS

It is still in the phase of what do users find most useful / want.

David

Industrial Automation, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT