All LibreOffice Reviews

1-25 of 2,163 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Justin

Information Technology and Services, 201 - 500 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed August 2021

Great alternative to Office with compatibility getting better all the time

User Profile

YoYo

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Open Source version of Microsoft Word

It's Microsoft Office with it's older user interface that we are all used to. And it's free. There is no need to pay hundreds for Microsoft Office when LibreOffice does the same thing but free.

PROS

It's basically the free, open-source version of Microsoft Word. I have been using it for over a decade now (back when it was called Open Office), before Google Docs even came out. If you need to open a Word document that Google Docs can't open but you don't have Word, LibreOffice is great for that.

CONS

It doesn't open word doc format perfectly all the time. There are still some marginal differences some times. Which is okay, it is not expected to. But it can be great if that could be done.

Reason for choosing LibreOffice

We still use Google Docs for the collaboration and most of our documents are stored on Docs. But sometimes you need something to be done in Word, and that's when we use LibreOffice.

Reasons for switching to LibreOffice

Enterprise software at enterprise rate is a little too expensive when there are better free options avaliable.

User Profile

Zuhairah

Verified reviewer

Internet, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Free office suite

It save some of my budget for my software costing as this software is free to use either or work or personal purposes. They may not have have all the premium feature that bigger software like Microsoft Office has, but they still has their own strength.

PROS

The best feature with LibreOffice is the flexibility of the document format that can open other software document format like .docx or doc. It is very important because it will not change the document layout and placement of the text or table. It is free to use and using open source which it will receive constant update from user to upgrade the software.

CONS

This software is full of bugs and things to be fix. The auto-save feature is not as reliable and i have experience my document is crashing and the auto-save can't recovering the document back to the last save point. I had to create the document back from the start and it is consuming so much time.

Reasons for switching to LibreOffice

More feature supported with LibreOffice and free to use.

Hagen

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2021

Not for everyone, but great that it's there

It's not easy to specify LibreOffice's niche, and it depends a lot on the technical abilities of the users. For scientific publishing and documents there is LaTeX. Technically also for presentations, but I didn't bother so far. For notes, simple text-based collaboration and even website publishing I recommend markdown. For posters and flyers use InDesign. All of these require more or less experience and reading documentation. I think LibreOffice fills the gap for those who just need a general-purpose Document processor from time to time or use it's web-based version by Collabora to collaborate. While these people could use Google Docs or Microsoft Office as well -- and I even recommend them from a usability perspective -- these come with a significant hidden cost, given the dependencies on Microsoft Windows in the one case and the unclear situation around "telemetry" in both cases, aka. they might spy on your documents, which is potentially problematic. If your documents contain personal or company-internal information -- they almost definitely do -- think twice if you might want to bite one of the other sour apples: Spending time on learning a more specialized tool, getting used to LibreOffice's okay but suboptimal usability, building specialized web-based applications for your use-case, or automating those people who spend their whole day in Excel-Sheets.

PROS

Well, obviously the main argument to use LibreOffice is that it's released under a free license and therefore free to use, in general. But aside the zero price, LibreOffice plays an important political role that affects companies all over the world: Microsoft Office is the undisputed market leader in native Document software, which effectively keeps people and organizations from switching to free operating systems, since it's dependent on either a Microsoft operating system, or an even more expensive macOS. Given the previous monoculture in this space, the importance of LibreOffice as a free alternative, that can be made to run on any operating system and even be used web-based is outstanding. Writer and Calc, the most important ones, are not perfect but usable pieces of software I would recommend to my mother. The worry about file format incompatibilities with Microsoft Office seems to be much less of a problem nowadays. And I would recommend you anyway to use free document formats inside your organization and PDF Forms (LibreOffice Writer and Draw help you with that.) and HTML sites for everything that leaves the house.

CONS

Bad experiences mostly come from LibreOffice Impress. It works for me to create simple presentations with simple animations, which is everything I need. But even that is kind of annoying: Creating a blank slide involves changing the "Master Background" which is apparently decoupled from the slide layout, which is as unintuitive as it gets, and often starting an itemized list creates arbitrary bullet sizes, indentations and font styles you have to take care of.

Reasons for switching to LibreOffice

Initially for budget reasons, I stayed for interoperability, open document formats, privacy, Linux compatibility, and a web-based deployment on my Nextcloud.

User Profile

Suhailah

Verified reviewer

Retail, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2021

Cheap document creation software

Even though LibreOffice is free to be use, this software is often updated by the community to make it better and to have more feature and tools. I really have a great experience working with this software.

PROS

LibreOffice offer a free to use account, also with premium account that start as little as USD0.10 per month. It has every document type that Ms Office has, like spreadsheet and and word. It also has a text search function that let me to search content on the document easily without having to skimming thru all the text manually.

CONS

One of thing that i thing thing this software lacks is, they don't have a feature to convert the document to other format type like PDF file format. Sharing the file need to be done manually, as there are no cloud storage offered thus i need to use third-party cloud storage service to share it.

Reasons for switching to LibreOffice

LibreOffice is free and has more option and type of document that can be created in this software.

User Profile

Ron

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2020

Excellent for small businesses!

Overall, LibreOffice was a very nice and useful tool to have in the office, before transitioning to GSuite. The features in LibreOffice are more powerful than GSuite, generally speaking, and there are far more use cases. However, the likelihood of incompatibility or data corruption when transitioning between LibreOffice to other similar software is a little bit higher, even if it can be negligible. That said, it is still a fantastic choice of software, and it's up to you to determine whether or not the pros balance out or exceed the cons. I believe it's worth a shot!

PROS

The software mimics Microsoft Office quite a bit, so the learning curve is very small. Being that the software is free and open source, it's an excellent ethical addition to the workplace especially during a time where pirated software can be frequently found in the small business world.

CONS

Compatibility between MS Office and GSuite can be dicey sometimes. Most use cases are fine and not worth worrying, but if you do a lot of work with importing and exporting data and need a consistent way to edit/parse it, LibreOffice may not be your best initial choice for the workplace. LibreOffice can also be slow depending on your computer; a lot of the stuff that is trivially quick to do in a program such as Excel can be a little bit of a crunch with LibreOffice's equivalent.

Reason for choosing LibreOffice

LibreOffice was the best way, at the time, to ensure that our office was not pirating software (due to unethical practices by a previous manager). It worked out as an office-wide tool for years, until GSuite's options expanded and became more refined, at which point it became beneficial to switch. However, I still firmly believe that even despite LibreOffice's flaws, it still makes for a magnificent alternative to paid or cloud-oriented products.

User Profile

Maisarah

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2021

Great free alternative for creating document

Managing and editing all my document files with LibreOffice is quite easy. Not only offline, it is also available for online usage. The template in this software is not that many, but still good to be use. Overall, me and my team very satisfied using this software.

PROS

LibreOffice tools for creating and editing document is on par with other famous software like Ms.Office or Google Docs. The size is not too big and not slowing my computer even when i am opening redundant document files at the same time.

CONS

It takes some time to fully grasp all the feature of this software, because it is totally difference mechanism from other document creating software. Other than that, I really don't have any problem with this software.

Reasons for switching to LibreOffice

LibreOffice is free and has a many feature that can edit the document smoothly.

User Profile

Josh

Verified reviewer

Design, 1 employee

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2021

Best totally free standalone software office suite and good alternative to Microsoft Office.

Libreoffice is a great free alternative to Microsoft office or 365. It has almost the same features though different icons and ways to do things so there may be a little learning curve if you normally use Microsoft office. Few more steps to save it into Microsoft formats, but it is amazingly useable and feature rich for free.

PROS

It's totally free and open source and it gets regular updates which is awesome!! It is close enough to Office suite that it can be used as a great alternative to Office if you don't want to pay for it or didn't get it included with your computer.

CONS

The most annoying thing is saving documents into office file types. You have to actually export the document and then pick from the many file types. If you have just save it saves it into LibreOffice's own file type which when sending it to clients they don't know what that is or how to use it.

Reason for choosing LibreOffice

I chose libreoffice because it is totally free and almost as good as Microsoft Office. I use google sheets if I need something edited by 2 people at the same time and need collaboration. I would choose Microsoft office if you got it free with your computer, but if you built your own computer and it has a clean version of windows with now office suite and you don't feel like paying for Microsoft office then definitely get Libreoffice it is almost as good as Microsoft Office and is totally free and is open source.

User Profile

Abel

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Libre office is the best free alternative in the market

I totally recommend this product, I am a faithful follower of free software and I believe that this is one of the best indispensable tools that an office for making all kinds of digital documents has little to envy to other products with very high costs.

PROS

Of the best tools to make office documents of all kinds and for free, it has a continuous update service and a large community collaborating in this project. Simple to install and very easy to use since it looks a lot like other paid services that have a very high cost and in this case libreoffice is completely free.

CONS

The biggest problems I have seen in this software is that for computers with few resources it is quite heavy and very old versions of the product are required to avoid the high consumption of resources in the system.

Reasons for switching to LibreOffice

Microsoft is a very expensive technology and requires reluctant subscriptions in this case.

Zoran

Writing and Editing, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Libre office: reliability and quality available to everyone

Libre Office actually helped me publish my first book. It's much simpler for me than other programs and systems. Simply, I entered the entire manuscript much easier into the laptop, processed it and sent it to the publisher. I'm happy and I'll be working on all my books on it.

PROS

speed and ease of use glass upgrade system, and that it is free in this version

CONS

This is not a disadvantage, but sometimes at the beginning of work it bothered me that I get constant instructions about the features of the system. That's not bad, indeed, it just slowed me down in work.

Reasons for switching to LibreOffice

Because of the high price. I didn't have the money for it.

Santiago

Verified reviewer

Internet, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2023

Why libreoffice its a good choice

Really useful and easy to access to anyone who need to use the office suite

PROS

As always it is a free suite! you can have access to it at any moment without worries and its really useful and easy to use like his other counterparts

CONS

maybe when you open the program it is a bit confussing the pop at the begining

Reason for choosing LibreOffice

because its easy access to use it,its free,and its easy to learn how to work with it

Reasons for switching to LibreOffice

Because office 365 sometimes you cant use it because you have to gain a licence to use it

Rodrigo

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2020

Everything you can ask for from a free office

I use LibreOffice almost daily mainly for reading and file conversion tasks, also because many companies and governments have used the OpenDocument format, which is much better worked on Libre. The improved support for CSV is really fundamental for my work, especially when I exchange data between programs and I need to make adjustments. I just don't use Libre completely, because standard Microsoft files like DOCX and XLSX open better and look better in MS Office - LibreOffice often messes up these types of files.

PROS

I love the fact that it maintains the purity of the traditional office layout, while in other programs everyone switches to the ribbon tabs (I particularly hate the ribbon). I really like Libre Office Calc's CSV support too, which lets you deal with different row / column separators. Command line automation options are also great for solving document conversion and repetitive tasks with scripts, even when calling by other programs.

CONS

There is nothing I dislike about LibreOffice, for the purpose for which it is intended. Perhaps the fact that standard Microsoft files, such as doc / docx and xls / xlsx, do not always open correctly, as it is relatively common in more elaborate files, that LibreOffice makes a mess. But that usually doesn't affect me and I alternate between the two programs.

Reason for choosing LibreOffice

Abiword seemed very simple and very expensive (at the time, it would was paid), and at the time also had poor support for my language. With the end of OpenOffice I tried to find alternatives, and the first attempt was with Apache OpenOffice, but in the tests it seemed to me an outdated copy of the original OpenOffice, with little or no improvement. LibreOffice stood out to me for having a foundation focused only on its purpose, and it has really been getting more and more things, getting better and showing itself to be a living project.

Reasons for switching to LibreOffice

It was not quite an exchange. In fact, MS Excel's CSV support is terrible, as well as OpenDocument support is also terrible, and as I use it a lot, I ended up having to use LibreOffice for these tasks and MS Office for others where it works best. The ideal would be to do everything with a single program, but in computing this would be an illusion.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Greatest document management solution for Linux users

In the last months i have been testing different Linux distributions, leaving Windows i had no longer their Office package and i needed a new software for Document management. Once i installed Kubuntu i found LibreOffice extremely helpful, trustworthy and intuitive.

PROS

I'm very satisfied with its variety of options, inside this software everyone can access databases management with LibreOffice Base, presentation creation and edition with LibreOffice Impress, general text document creation with LibreOffice Writer and even calculation and information analysis with LibreOffice Calc. It automatically saves the progress made every several minutes preventing progress loss, what's more, it has a feature for data recovery that allows to continue any assignment or document as it was left before any accidental occurrence happened. Their format compatibility provides helpful overall usage and saves time as file conversion is no longer needed. You can export text documents as pdfs or odt formats which tend to be more common among MacOS and Linux users. As a work environment their user interface is very customizable, making it highly flexible for reading oriented tasks as well as document producing ones.

CONS

One relevant downside is the fact that it lacks mobile app deployment, what may result tedious if the personal mobile phone is closely related with work activities. Nonetheless, for Desktop-centered activities it proves to be highly reliable and efficient.

Reasons for switching to LibreOffice

The user interface was very uncomfortable to deal with. It was very "bloated" too. Microsoft software is impractical in Manjaro Linux which is my preferred operating system.

Carlos Hugo Martin

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2022

Experience with LibreOffice

We have used it for the generation of reports, comparative graphs, evolution graphs, business presentations.

PROS

The most important feature is that the consumption of resources is lower than that of other software such as MS Office. Many of its functions are different from those of MS Office, but the result is the same and sometimes better. It allowed us to save on the licenses necessary to work.

CONS

The documentation and help that it has is not very detailed or is not well explained, having to resort to an internet search engine to find out how to do an action that was previously done in MS Office.

Reason for choosing LibreOffice

For the price of the licenses, plus it doesn't have many features that LibreOffice does have.

Reasons for switching to LibreOffice

Because of the cost of the licenses and the similarity in the functionalities it offers.

Dima

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2021

LibreOffice - a complex tool at no cost to you!

This is really a great product, all and all! It is free of charge and you get quite a bit under the hood! If you need to do a few basic routine tasks with documents and to perform some basic spreadsheet calculations, this is a great place to start - and you don't have to pay anything for it!

PROS

There are a lot of advantages and since this is a free software, these stand out more than those of paid competitors . One can easily setup and install this on your machine, the document editing and making slide shows is very simple and after fiddling around for a few minutes you will find your way around most basic features. The spreadsheet functionality is also very good if you want to perform a simple calculation which is still a bit too complex for a plain calculator. And for more advanced users, there is a lot to sift through, there are a lot of powerful functions and formulas you can find for yourself, assuming you have a good background and know what you are looking for.

CONS

Sometimes there is a compatibility issue with margin formatting and other styling clashes where you can't save it in another format, like an MS Office format, without risking some glitches. One way around it is to export to PDF, if the end user only needs a read-only access. Another con is that there is really a myriad of different options and one needs to have some experience with document management to know how to utilise these properly. A beginner will probably use only 10% of what LibreOffice has to offer.

Reasons for switching to LibreOffice

LibreOffice offers 95% of everything that MS Office offers, but free of charge.

Aimen

Program Development, 1 employee

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2022

LibreOffice - An alternative to Microsoft Office

LibreOffice can be good for a quick editing of documents, which aren’t demanding or complex. A simple text document can be easily formatted and edited with no issues. But for professional work, like a modern presentation or a beautifully crafted chart, LibreOffice cannot do this flawlessly. These unexpected errors are horrible and should be fixed as soon as possible, because nobody wants files to be lost for no reason. I ended up switching to the free Microsoft office web package, which I use occasionally. I couldn’t stand reinstalling the whole LibreOffice package every now and then and being constantly asked to donate.

PROS

Whether presentations or charts, tables or documents, LibreOffice makes all of this possible completely free of charge. All the most important features, like creating presentations or excel tables/calculation, a person needs for document management can be found, implemented and exported in this program. Another great thing is that it’s open and free and multilingual, so anyone can use it.

CONS

Although being a free alternative to Microsoft Office, it still has a lot of issues. The general layout of LibreOffice is a bit outdated and slow. It happened a lot during my days of using LibreOffice writer that the program experienced an „unexpected error“ and my files sometimes even got lost, which made me very angry. But we should keep in mind that LibreOffice doesn’t charge a penny for their products. Another bad thing is that there’s no automatic updating yet. So you have to manually reinstall the whole package, if there are new updates, which made me frustrated.

Reasons for switching to LibreOffice

I couldn’t afford a very expensive subscription of Microsoft Office, until I found out there was a free web based Microsoft-Office option, which made me switch back to Microsoft Office.

User Profile

Praveen

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

A free and powerfull office alternative to microsoft office products

Overall, this is a great software suite for office. There is hardly anything that you can find fault in and it offers almost everything that is offered by the premium options. On top of everything else, it is completely free. It is a truly great software and I recommend it very highly. You might end up never paying for an office suite again.

PROS

LibreOffice is a full suite of office software including products for editing documents, presentations, spreadsheets, databases and vector graphics that are on par with what other competitors offer. On top of that, it's completely free! Even for commercial use. It's compatible with all microsoft file formats such as .word , .ppt etc. Although this product is free, you will not see advertisements and there is no hidden paywalls. There is a great team of developers behind it which ensures you are constantly updated with the latest features that are on par with premium softwares such as those from Microsoft. The user interface will be not what you are used to if you are switching from Microsoft office, but it's not a deal breaker as you will quickly get used to it.

CONS

There is no cloud storage available if you relied on cloud syncing capabilities of your previous office suite. But this can be easily solved by manually uploading your documents or setting up something like Dropbox or Google Drive for your computer. There are also less templates compared to Microsoft Office but you have the option to find and manually install them from the internet.

Reasons for switching to LibreOffice

Office 365 is expensive and I have to pay continuously. LibreOffice offers almost everything that Office 365 does and its free and open source. It's a great software.

David

Medical Devices, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

Microsoft Office alternative worth checking out

We originally chose LibreOffice because it seemed to be the closest to which we were familiar. My wife (long-term MS Word user with a Master's degree) struggled finding the functions she needed as opposed to how she did it in Word and got very frustrated. We tried it for probably a month before switching back to Office 365

PROS

All of the fairly simple functions of MS Word are here, too. Even some of the medium-complex functions are included if you know how to find them. Never really got as far as needing the advanced functions so not sure about those.

CONS

We had some compatibility issues with other documents created in MS Word or other apps and then discovered that the version we were using had some goofy defaults that allowed this compatibility to happen (as I recall).... it cleared up after we adjusted the settings but it probably shouldn't have been this way.

Reason for choosing LibreOffice

Seemed to be the simplest to learn based on how close the functions were similar to MS Word and MS Excel

Reasons for switching to LibreOffice

When I retired, my "free" copy of Office 365 my employer provided expired so I wanted to find a low or no-cost alternative to save money.

User Profile

Hafizah

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT