User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(434)

434

4 stars

(375)

375

3 stars

(108)

108

2 stars

(15)

15

1 stars

(2)

2

  • Pros

  • "I like that this is great software and it is totally free. It does everything that other office suites do and I'm certain that it doesn't spy on you."

  • "It does everything that I need it to do. Formatting is comprehensive and easy to use. Most of all it is free!"

  • "This free productivity suite is super fast and intuitive, great alternative to other products in this cathegory"

  • Cons

  • "Has some issues, takes a while to understand some functions, and has a few difficulties but nothing serious"

  • "Some "heavy" files take a few seconds longer than normal to open, but it's tolerable."

  • "Could do with better support. Other than that it works perfect."

Browse LibreOffice Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 934 results

March 2020

Eduardo from Tigo Honduras

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

A spreadsheet software that interprets data from different software

I solve an essential task in my work, the calculations. I use LibreOffice spreadsheets to create quotation documents, as well as budgets. Also, we benefit from the fact that it is a free software for which you do not have to pay any license.

Pros

LibreOffice is easy to use and allows me to make any calculation easily. This software is essential to manage sales or purchases in my organization, since I can keep all the data sorted. On the other hand, it is free software, so you save a lot of money that costs a license of a spreadsheet software. Also, I also like that it has Excel support, so I can open the same documents in both programs without the documents changing their structures.

Cons

I cannot criticize software that gives me totally free features and that are fundamental to my daily work.

Reasons for Choosing LibreOffice

LibreOffice is a free software, so it did not generate expenses for the purposes we are using.

March 2020

Ron from SaaS Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2020

Excellent for small businesses!

Overall, LibreOffice was a very nice and useful tool to have in the office, before transitioning to GSuite. The features in LibreOffice are more powerful than GSuite, generally speaking, and there are far more use cases. However, the likelihood of incompatibility or data corruption when transitioning between LibreOffice to other similar software is a little bit higher, even if it can be negligible. That said, it is still a fantastic choice of software, and it's up to you to determine whether or not the pros balance out or exceed the cons. I believe it's worth a shot!

Pros

The software mimics Microsoft Office quite a bit, so the learning curve is very small. Being that the software is free and open source, it's an excellent ethical addition to the workplace especially during a time where pirated software can be frequently found in the small business world.

Cons

Compatibility between MS Office and GSuite can be dicey sometimes. Most use cases are fine and not worth worrying, but if you do a lot of work with importing and exporting data and need a consistent way to edit/parse it, LibreOffice may not be your best initial choice for the workplace. LibreOffice can also be slow depending on your computer; a lot of the stuff that is trivially quick to do in a program such as Excel can be a little bit of a crunch with LibreOffice's equivalent.

Reasons for Choosing LibreOffice

LibreOffice was the best way, at the time, to ensure that our office was not pirating software (due to unethical practices by a previous manager). It worked out as an office-wide tool for years, until GSuite's options expanded and became more refined, at which point it became beneficial to switch. However, I still firmly believe that even despite LibreOffice's flaws, it still makes for a magnificent alternative to paid or cloud-oriented products.

July 2019

Barbara from Binghamton University Psychology Department

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

2.0

July 2019

Great for small group or individual use but not across platforms

As a student, I liked using LibreOffice as an alternative to Microsoft Office, especially if a professor insisted on uploading .docx files to Blackboard or Banner with no alternative file type. However, now that Microsoft is becoming more proprietary, LibreOffice is not keeping up with the features and integration, and much of the formatting that my coworkers prize are lost when uploaded elsewhere, making LibreOffice outdated in our workplace.

Pros

It's free and looks a lot like Microsoft Office. It carries out the major functions: writing a document, creating a spreadsheet, even adding formulas and embedding images. Because it is less bulky than Office, it moves faster and its documents are faster to email. Files can be saved in many formats including .doc. You can open .docx files without paying for a Microsoft license.

Cons

Many features do not open correctly when importing from Microsoft. Formatting, special conditioning, and even many formulas will not import to LibreOffice, so cross-platforming is not possible.

Reasons for Choosing LibreOffice

Google Docs did not yet import .docx files.

May 2020

Rodrigo from Dapa Sistemas Ltda

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Everything you can ask for from a free office

I use LibreOffice almost daily mainly for reading and file conversion tasks, also because many companies and governments have used the OpenDocument format, which is much better worked on Libre. The improved support for CSV is really fundamental for my work, especially when I exchange data between programs and I need to make adjustments. I just don't use Libre completely, because standard Microsoft files like DOCX and XLSX open better and look better in MS Office - LibreOffice often messes up these types of files.

Pros

I love the fact that it maintains the purity of the traditional office layout, while in other programs everyone switches to the ribbon tabs (I particularly hate the ribbon). I really like Libre Office Calc's CSV support too, which lets you deal with different row / column separators. Command line automation options are also great for solving document conversion and repetitive tasks with scripts, even when calling by other programs.

Cons

There is nothing I dislike about LibreOffice, for the purpose for which it is intended. Perhaps the fact that standard Microsoft files, such as doc / docx and xls / xlsx, do not always open correctly, as it is relatively common in more elaborate files, that LibreOffice makes a mess. But that usually doesn't affect me and I alternate between the two programs.

Reasons for Choosing LibreOffice

Abiword seemed very simple and very expensive (at the time, it would was paid), and at the time also had poor support for my language. With the end of OpenOffice I tried to find alternatives, and the first attempt was with Apache OpenOffice, but in the tests it seemed to me an outdated copy of the original OpenOffice, with little or no improvement. LibreOffice stood out to me for having a foundation focused only on its purpose, and it has really been getting more and more things, getting better and showing itself to be a living project.

December 2019

Abel from Score Capital S.L.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Libre office is the best free alternative in the market

I totally recommend this product, I am a faithful follower of free software and I believe that this is one of the best indispensable tools that an office for making all kinds of digital documents has little to envy to other products with very high costs.

Pros

Of the best tools to make office documents of all kinds and for free, it has a continuous update service and a large community collaborating in this project. Simple to install and very easy to use since it looks a lot like other paid services that have a very high cost and in this case libreoffice is completely free.

Cons

The biggest problems I have seen in this software is that for computers with few resources it is quite heavy and very old versions of the product are required to avoid the high consumption of resources in the system.

August 2019

GERARD IAN from Lone Wolf Tech LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Libreoffice Is a Robust Set of Office Automation Applications

I like that the LibreOffice software supports several other document types. In particular, an accessible document format called OpenDocument Format or ODF, PowerPoint, Excel, Word, and Publisher formats. The FOSS package is constructed on the foundation of OpenOffice technology, which makes it an efficient heir to the obsolete Open Source Office platform.

Pros

LibreOffice is a robust set of office automation applications that aim to unleash a creative and productivity-driven environment for charitable organizations, homes, companies, and public sector agencies worldwide. And at the end of the day, the office-based suite also delivers a comprehensive portfolio of plug-ins. Furthermore, it offers some layouts that empower end-users to improve the performance of their workflow and generate more documents more swiftly and wisely.

Cons

The user interface can be a little confusing at some points in time. At the same time, it only takes a bit of effort for one to familiarize themselves with the UI.

Reasons for Choosing LibreOffice

With a clean and easy-to-use user interface and functionality-rich features, LibreOffice can generate meticulous and highly professional documentation of all kinds: engineering diagrams, financial and marketing communications, leaflets, prospectuses, thesis work, and correspondence.

February 2020

Abinadi from Akamai Technologies

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2020

The Best free production suite

Again it is just great it is very simple to use and you can make anything you need. if you are looking for more advanced options you may need to think on one of the pay competitors overall it is an awesome suite for productivity

Pros

LibreOffice is a great solution for any startup company that needs access to an office suite without expending lots of necessary funding in the packet. it will give you all you need to start up and more is simply great and easy to use

Cons

It is getting better with the time however its incompatibility with some of the premium version is not good. often I find myself fixing the documents that I exported from MS Office or Google Docs so if they can fix that it will be a great option even for larger enterprises or not profit organizations

Reasons for Choosing LibreOffice

No change I simply use both for different things. for example, in my home computer, I use Libre Office while at work I use both Office and G-docs

March 2020

Jacob from Georef Systems Ltd.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Full Office Suite to Fill Wholes in Paid Office Packages

It's been an excellent go-to office suite to fill in the holes left by anything that is not offered by MS Office, or you don't use often enough in Office to make it worth paying for.

Pros

-The full suite is open source & free -It offers some features not offered in Microsoft Office or Google; for example, the Draw app allows you to edit PDFs and create flow diagrams in an intuitive way simply not found in Office -Opens just about any file type you could think of and is fully compatible with MS Office

Cons

-Interface is a a bit outdated -Some processes of setting things up are difficult to find and not very intuitive to use -Editing PowerPoints or sometimes PDFs changes the formatting, requiring a lot of reworking; however, this is not the case for most files, and I believe this is improving with time.

February 2020

Giovani from UEPG

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

The best deal among free softwares for productivity programs!

It was needed in a doctorate thesis that I was helping to develop. I had a great experience and it made an excellent job on crucial details of the project. In my opinion, the few problems that I faced were due to poorly made designed structures of the component softwares of the LibreOffice that can be solved by getting used to such dfficulties and avoiding them. These problems however can be most likely solved in other updates to be made for LibreOffice in the future. LibreOffice will provide a positive experience to anyone that wants a free software with a variety of resources that otherwise you would need to pay for it in other options in the market.

Pros

Without any investment, you will get a family suite of programs that will help with the production of information.

Cons

It has minor bug problems and some complex stuff to set up when using, along with a few poorly designed features that can be hard for new users.

February 2020

Aline Cristina from Aline Cristina

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

LibreOffice a good free software alternative.

My experience with this software is very good, it is very easy to handle, it is also a great alternative for those who do not want to spend money with Microsoft Office 365.

Pros

What I like most about this software is that it is light and practical, it is a great option for those who don't want to spend money on an office package. Easy to move you will not find any difficulty to handle.

Cons

What I least liked is the fact that the appearance is not very attractive, but the rest has nothing to complain about in this software.

October 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Does most things. Does them easily. Does them for free.

I have used LibreOffice for years in tandem with Microsoft Office -- largely to do work on personal systems that did not have Microsoft Office licenses. Keeping the limitations of LibreOffice and it's compatibility with Microsoft Office in mind, I have run into few issues using it in this capacity. In many ways, I prefer the more traditional outlook of LibreOffice to Microsoft Office; while Microsoft is switching its software to primarily using cloud-based saving, LibreOffice does not make the maddening assumption that the user will never want to store a file on the local system. And as LibreOffice is regularly updated, I am certain that it will continue to get better, rather than more annoying to use.

Pros

LibreOffice is actually a suite of software products. That said, the biggest pro of the entire suite is that it offers virtually all of the functionality found in the Microsoft Office suite at none of the cost. This review focuses on Writer, Calc, and Impress as those are what I use. Writer, in particular, spares no feature I can possibly imagine needing for standard word processing tasks (such as writing reports). Unless there is a specific feature in Word that is needed for something -- what that would even be, I don't know -- Writer does the job just as well. Similar points to Calc and Impress -- although the differences can be a bit more glaring in those cases. Still, for most users in most contexts, the LibreOffice suite is more than suitable. Plus, on Linux, it's really your best and only option.

Cons

Navigating the GNUsphere can be a little weird for the uninitiated. For the user reading this review, you likely have knowledge of what you're getting into -- or at least a strong enough interest in using Office software for free to figure it out. However, the code behind formatting rules in Writer, as an example, differs from that of Word even if the actual formatting rules are the same. So sending a LibreOffice-generated document to a colleague using Microsoft Office can sometimes lead to strange formatting problems and additional work. In the case of Calc and Impress, users will likely find that the features simply do not stack up to those offered in Microsoft Office's equivalents. Particularly with Calc, equivalents to certain advanced formulas found in Excel may not exist, or may not operate in the same manner.

October 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

An excellent suite solution for analysts

We have used Libre Office (and open office, as it was known previously) for a long time. It's a solid product, it does anything you'd expect from a suite and it has all normal benefits or a large open-source offering. It works well, tracks Office suite very closely and exceeds it in important ways. In calc for example it has something like 10-20% more formulas than say Microsoft Excel (though it is missing a few excel formulas). We like Calc particularly for one feature- the ability to compare two spreadsheets. This is useful for modeling where you have multiple people working off a base sheet over a long period of time, and then if you need to merge or figure out where primary differences are- either in formulas or data and where specifically- it makes it much easier to get down to this quickly. This is something that is not really possible in online versions of Google Suite (or Microsoft Office, to our knowledge), so it saves a lot of time. Libre also- perhaps unsurprisingly for an open source suite- has better import/export options. Too many to list here, but one we like particularly is being able to export a sheet to an image in one click. If you do this a lot, it saves quite a bit of time. One weakness here is that if you are heavily integrating with Google or MS suite users, google apps scripts won't carry over at all and MS macros are sometimes limited significantly. The mathematical graphing of formulas is also very nice in Libre.

Pros

Libre Office has a number of great things not found in other suites, esp in our case but definitely not limited to: * number numerical and mathematical features (esp spreadsheet enhancements over excel) * number of import/export options and document format compatibility * formula editing and charting * also, it's FREE. (and open source, though we do not use or plan to use this aspect, nice it's there) * being that it runs locally and not in cloud, this means you have 100% control of your data so it's good for very proprietary information These mostly relate to Libre Office Calc (the spreadsheet program) because that is primarily what we use LO for. It's Writer document-editing program is pretty advanced and probably better overall- or at least in significant ways- than Google Docs or MS Word, particularly if you have a document you re-use a lot. It's styles feature are much more advanced than other word processors. We don't have much opportunity to use styles or Writer relative to Calc though, so this review mostly focuses on Calc.

Cons

It's a download. Most software these days is run anywhere from a website, especially if it's end-user facing. However Libre Office being totally free, you have to download it and run locally. It's pretty large (hundreds of MB), but with big drives these days not too much of an issue. You do have to maintain your own backups and updates though, which can be an issue. Also you have to install the whole thing, so even though we primarily use it for Calc, people who use it get everything. It also being a desktop app, lacks modern collaboration features with multi-user editing that you find with online suites from Google or Microsoft. This is more about it being free and offline, but important. Would also say that if you are tracking latest whiz-bang features from Microsoft's suite, Libre Office tends to be several years behind it. Most people this doesn't matter, and for some important things it's ahead... but it's very application-specific so you probably should do a lot of research to make sure it's right for your case.

September 2019

Ishanka from Global Systems Solutions International

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

The best alternative for the MS Office if you are looking for free software

Of course, in some aspects, Libre Office cannot compete with Microsoft, but at the same time, it has all the software needed for work. It doesn’t demand powerful hardware and it is easier to learn. Office suite LibreOffice perfectly copes with most of the tasks associated with working in text or spreadsheet documents. This software package, without any tricks, is absolutely and unconditionally free. However, it is not perfect, especially if you switched from Microsoft Office. LibreOffice remains a highly competent office suite, and this free software continues to improve. Due to its rich functionality, LibreOffice is ideal for many people who need a free alternative to Microsoft Office.

Pros

LibreOffice is a powerful office suite with an intuitive interface and rich features aimed at productivity and creativity. LibreOffice includes several applications, such as Writer - for working with text documents; Calc - for working with spreadsheets; Impress - for creating presentations; Draw - for vector graphics and drawings; Base - for working with databases and, finally, Math, focused on working with various formulas. LibreOffice allows you to work with documents of all types. It is compatible with Microsoft Office documents and with the new open standard ODT (OpenDocument Formats). The interface of the software in the package is as simple as possible. There is a detailed "Help", so this office suite is perfect for inexperienced PC users; This is a completely free open-source product; It supports many languages; LibreOffice can be used on many UNIX-compatible systems, such as MS Windows, Mac, Linux; Low requirements for the hardware of the computer. It will start without any problems and will work even on the oldest computers.

Cons

But like any software, LibreOffice has its disadvantages: The functionality of some LibreOffice programs is inferior to the functionality of similar programs from the MS Office package; Some programs that are in MS Office have no analogs in this package.

July 2019

Rajatkumar from The One Technology

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

LibreOffice - A genuine helper

My organization generally follows linux principle to work upon. Opneness of code and development in open source technology like Kubernetes, java, python. Our primary os is Ubuntu. For that reasons, LibreOffice is a natural choice for Office work and collaborative report generations. Overall happy with my choice as libreoffice as it is not expensive as MS Office.

Pros

It is freely available. It supports the Windows, Linux both environment. Adaption of notebook bar recently is very helpful in organizing menus and choosing tasks. Most important tool for me as a report maker of whole day work is .. Export to PDF. Portable format support. Rapid and active development of this project is plus one point here. zotero plugin support for libre-office is undeniably useful for researcher and uni students open server collaboration facility is useful for online collaborative work support for wide variety of extension and file format makes it a desirable choice. some small suggestion box and tools are implemented very well targeting the need of end user

Cons

some issues are regarding formatting.. several times you get a faded document once you open an MS Word document here. There is compatibility issue with respect to MS format and The document foundation format. ODF formats are not widely acceptable due to dominance of Microsoft Office products. Recent changes in interface are good. but need more of that to match with modern era

March 2019

Sébastien from Omnívoro

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

The Best Free and Cross-Platform Office Suite Available, Period

Because there is no need to get a license in order to use it, it has been helpful in giving friends and family members who aren't tech-savvy access to this software on their own computer to be able to work freely on their own projects. It has worked really well on all major operating systems and it is a breeze to help out when something is not going as well as planned, since one file will open exactly the same on any machine. There is even a portable version of the suite that makes it possible to execute the software directly from a USB stick, which was also handy more than once. In work settings where there is no budget to install paid software on all machines, LibreOffice really is a lifesaver. Even though it is free, it has all the necessary features to get the job done and that is why it consistently becomes the number one choice to use, especially on Linux systems and in companies with less than ideal budget.

Pros

LibreOffice has a complete suite of tools that includes a word processor, a spreadsheet application, tools for drawing and presentation as well as a database manager. The word processor integrates flawlessly with other components of the suite: you can easily enter mathematical formulae, insert tables from a spreadsheet or drawings as multimedia files. It can also export to PDF with great results any kind of document that's opened with it. Apart from PDF, it can also export to various other formats depending on the type of document (including PNG, SVG, HTML, EPUB, etc.). One other clear advantage of LibreOffice is that it is free (as in open source) and uses by default open formats, which makes it easy to use with different software that use the same file extensions. It's also quite lightweight and works even on older systems. Since it works on different operating systems including Windows, MacOS and Linux, it can be used in work environments with machines used for different purposes without any problem. There are many templates and extensions available to customize the experience and the way styles and paragraphs are handled makes more sense than with other alternatives: it is clear what result is obtained and changes are easy to apply to a whole document.

Cons

One has to be careful with the database manager as there are a number of cases of corrupted databases that have been reported. LibreOffice also tries its best to import files that use a format from other popular suites but sometimes, the formatting will not match exactly what is expected, especially with DOCX and XLXS files when special components such as macros are involved. Because it uses Java to be cross-platform, it can feel slower than other alternatives and it doesn't look as well integrated as native applications for that reason. It can be tedious to design flowcharts with LibreOffice Draw because aligning elements between each other and resizing them is not always as intuitive as it could be. Opening PPTX (PowerPoint) presentations with LibreOffice Impress sometimes causes notorious lags and display errors with multimedia files. There are non-obvious workarounds, but this can be an issue when receiving presentations that are designed for other pieces of software.

January 2019

Santiago from El Brunch Show

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

A free, safe and reliable office automation, a revelation.

For any entrepreneur, the costs of the programs are usually a limitation, as an independent worker it is vital for me to have advanced programs and high professional skills, in order to offer my clients a quality service, so I have achieved with LibreOffice, find a faithful ally to all the work I must do, from processing reports for a service request, to developing all the presentations that my clients require to know the capabilities of my work, it is thanks to LibreOffice that I have managed to save the money that other commercial options they ask for the same capabilities that I get with LibreOffice, at the cost of a donation to your project if it is to my liking, or I download it and later with the payments of my clients I can finance this wonderful experience.

Pros

One of the things I like most about LibreOffice, is that it allows you to use any of its programs just by downloading it, it's great to have free software available for your equipment, whatever your operating system, it's precisely that mobility and adaptability of your platform, which has led her to always include them in the list of programs that I must download once I format the computer. The saving of money is abysmal, you can install as many times as you want in as many teams as you like, and after so many years of constant work of its developers, it is possible to have versions adapted to the languages of your region. There are no limitations to use it, in addition you have everything that private office sells you completely free, you have word processor, calculations, presentations and much more, do not hesitate to use it today.

Cons

For iOS its interface has reached beautiful levels, and little by little they have brought that high quality feeling to their other platforms, that is why I can not negatively qualify any of its components because LibreOffice itself is a true revelation.

October 2018

Nairoby from CANTV

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Use makes the expert

Pros

- For those who do not know, is the competence of Microsoft Office, open source and I can say with complete certainty that it is very good and can perform almost all the same, if we are casual non-advanced users. - It is easy to install, intuitive and easy to use, it is multiplatform, it comes in different languages, it has a portable version that can be carried on a pendrive. - Currently I use the version Version: 5.0.1.2 and although it is free, I do not have the freedom to update it in the pc of my work. - A great advantage of LibreOffice package tools over your competition, is that I can export to PDF or HTML without installing anything additional, as it is included in your menu. - It is important to familiarize yourself with the format in which the documents are stored as it can be confusing when sharing with another person, usually sent in .odt or in the case of Cal I send it .ods and if by chance they tell me that they can not open it, because what I do is recommend that you download LibreOffice before converting it. - You can make tables, insert images, graphics, make macros, bring templates by default for trades, communications, cards, curriculum, all tools are compatible among themselves, from my point of view has greater variety in fonts. - If you want to start in the world of free software, the first step is to install LibreOffice.

Cons

LibreOffice allows you to open a .doc, an .xls, but it is possible that something will move or something will be unraveled at the design level, the content will be there but something can be distorted. Cal has its limitations in terms of macros, the number of columns, has few styles of graphics compared to Excel. The documents in LibreOffice seem to be slower to open.

August 2018

Ray from Trimal

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

LibreOffice- essential for grad students

I've used LIbreOffice since its beginning in 2011 and prior to that I used OpenOffice. LibreOffice is, for me, a superior alternative to MS Word as I have no concerns about vendor lock-in.

Pros

LibreOffice is very intuitive because it is based on rather traditional menu structures that make it easy for users to find features. It offers most of the features that MS Word offers, and most of the time implements them in an easier to understand fashion. LibreOffice can import documents from MS Word and does so usually flawlessly. To avoid compatibility problems with MS Word, I advise using .odt format to create and edit your documents and only convert to .docx when necessary to send a copy to someone who uses MS Word. This will avoid most corruption problems. LibreOffice is available in portable format. You can run it from a USB flash drive on any computer. This was extremely convenient for me when travelling and doing research- I could use any convenient computer and run my own complement of portable-apps including LibreOffice. LibreOffice appears to be very efficiently coded- check out the size of the installation code (around 200mb) compared to MS Office 2013 (nearly 800bm). The Document Foundation, which supports the development of LibreOffice, is dedicated to open standards to avoid proprietary vendor lock-in. The software is free to download and use- this is essential for grad students working on a budget. Open source software helps ensure that people have access to excellent software tools irrespective of their capability to pay.

Cons

Sometimes it cannot import MS Word documents that have special formatting. It's more difficult to find quick solutions to formatting complex documents. It appears that the majority of professional instructional materials focuses on using MS Word.

November 2017

Ray from Trimal

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

I have been using LibreOffice since 2010, and OpenOffice since 2003. Excellent.

Pros

LibreOffice forked from OpenOffice in 2010 and has since become the premier open source office suite. It has many pros: -- open source license and thus is free. Most importantly, it is created by a community of developers who believe good quality software should be available to everyone, not just those who can afford it. Most of the world's population cannot afford a license of MS Word, nor do they have access to the internet. Open source software ensures that disadvantaged populations have better access to good software. Additionally, the open standards used by LibreOffice ensure that user's data will remain accessible and not locked into a proprietary format from which it cannot be extracted. - standard menu. LibreOffice has smartly chosen to continue using standard menus rather than "ribbon menus" which many people find confusing because they change based on the task being performed. Few studies have proven that ribbon menus offer any productivity advantage whatsoever. - easy to use. All of the features of LibreOffice are quite easy to use and plenty of third-party documentation and tutorials exist online. - rapid development. New versions of LibreOffice are released every six months. - LibreOffice has plugins for use with Zotero, an open source reference manager. This makes it an indepsensibe tool for university students and researchers.

Cons

- because it is under rapid development, the "FRESH" releases of LibreOffice sometimes crash. The "STABLE" version is, well, more stable, but I've still had it crash or freeze on me, although its unusual and no more often than MS Word crashes. - While LibreOffice can open and create MS Word documents, sometimes the formatting is not exactly the same.

February 2020

Harlan from Roofing contractor

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Its Free!

The best benefeit of Libre Office is that it is a free download and free to use. For a small buisness it helps to save on the start up costs of an office. I do not miss Microsoft office nor it's expense!

Pros

This Office software Product competes favorably against Microsoft Office. It can read Word document files as well as Excel Files and Power point files. You can also create files that The Microsoft Office suite can read

Cons

Although the suite of software is Free, The breadth of functionality is quite as good as the Microsoft office suite of software... But its Free!

Reasons for Choosing LibreOffice

WE just liked it

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Libre Office Review

One of the most important business problems that I have seen my company resolve by using Libre Office is that we are able to utilize Libre Office at the fullest capabilities and resolve customer tickets much faster; because before it was time consuming to copy the file from the server and paste them in my local PC and then open them via excel, but with Libre Office is FREE to use and downloading the application is simple and fast. I would recommend other users who have not used Libre Office to use it before purchasing other competitor Office applications such s MS office which is pricy.

Pros

Libre Office is free to use on any platform of PC, what I like about Libre Office is that it consist of the 4 major applications that MS Office would charge a fortune in this day in age; Libre Office has word, powerpoint, excel, and Access; In Libre Office the application naming is different they had it at Writer, Calc, Imporess, Base for data base; even though the naming of the application is different compared to MS office or Google Applications, Libre Office has the same features as you would for writing a document, making a powerpoint, creating excel sheets, and developing a database; same features but FREE. Libre Office makes it easy to use and there is no need to learn tutorials on how to use Libre Office because I have seen the same generic icons across other applications. I am using Libre Office in my day to day activities for work purposes as well as to open and view client docs and financials and etc. our systems team has installed Libre Office in our servers so we can easily open and view documents mostly excel docs.

Cons

I have not had any issues using Libre Office

December 2018

Opeyemi from Blessed Academy, okuokoko

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

libreoffice review

Pros

This document editing app is simply the best i have ever used. i came across this application as an alternative to the mainstream software when i decided to try Linux and since then i have never gone back. The software is lightweight, easy to use, feature rich, a plethora of helpful options and most of all, it is free. Open source; this software as against the other popular options does not make its users wait a very long time for updates and the regular updates that comes to this software is as a result of how other people with software development knowledge can add features they thought are missing and on and on it goes until the software gets to the very top on the chart of document editing softwares. Spell check integration; what makes writing fun on the libre office is not only the fonts and the many options that aids productivity but also the spell check integration and the uniqueness of this spell checker is the fact that it is not only limited to the writer app, it can be judiciously used in every of the softwares embedded in the libreoffice suite. Cross platform support; finding out that libreoffice is not only limited to the linux operating system heightened my interest even more as having it on the windows platform and on macos means i can do away with the paid alternative i had been putting up with for years now.

Cons

is there something i don't like about this software? The answer is no, i love every bit of it as it handles all the task i throw at it as a writer.

February 2020

David from Religious Institutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Great for a free alternative to MS Office

Pretty happy with it overall.... If you need a simple word processor or spreadsheet app like 90% of users, it was great.... Also has advanced function and features for the rest. Kind of a hassle when it made itself default app for many document types that had to be reset when I also upgraded to MS Office 365 when i bought a new laptop.

Pros

Ability to have a many-featured word proccessor and full function spreadsheet app for no cost. Had no problems installing or with documents compatibility between other MS apps.

Cons

It was sometimes hard to find the feature or function that I wanted to use because it was not located where I "expected" to find it. This became less of an issue after using Libre for several weeks and taking the time to figure out where everything was found. To be fair, this happens on almost any new software version like when MS introduced the "ribbon" and you had to learn all over again how it works.

Reasons for Choosing LibreOffice

It seemed by the reviews that it would be a good fit for our needs (had to consider my spouse in the learning curve), the functionality and document compatibility were not an issue, and it was free so was a win-win

December 2019

Irfan from DatumSquare IT Services

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Best Free alternative of MS Office - Plus great option to use for Linux User

Its my daily routine as a Linux user to use LibreOffice because of its extensive features and because most of the times clients use MS Office so I can easily open and edit files sent by my clients to me using LibreOffice. Great free and opensource alternative as I said before to MS Office

Pros

- One of the major benefit of LibreOffice is cross platform availability because it is available on Linux, Windows and Mac. Because I am a Linux user so I am using LibreOffice since long time and it has great features just like Ms Office does - Completely free and full feature which is a huge plus. Also Ms Office documents can easily be opened and edited using LibreOffice too - A huge opensource community uses LibreOffice and because of it there are a lot of templates available for Word and Impress (MS PowerPoint equivalent). - It also supports free plug-ins ans using these plug-ins core functionality can be extended - You can convert documents to PDF very easily like on one click which is great especially because its totally free

Cons

- On opening MS Office files sometimes little layout issues can occur for Word and Spreadsheets - No Outlook and OneNote equivalent available which is kind of an issue for Linux Users like myself - For MS Office users or other beginners it can be difficult to learn some of the advanced features of LibreOffice

January 2019

Jayne from Self

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

reliable, powerful, essential

I'm a consultant with nonprofits and work with clients all over the world, most using Microsoft products. We've been able to work together, sharing files and editing each other's work, very easily. Sharing files is a substantial part of my work, so it's essential I have a reliable tool.

Pros

What I love about this software is that it's free and of high quality. It looks and feels like any word processing, slide show presentation or spreadsheet software, including Microsoft's office products. It does everything I want it to do in terms of producing documents, creating presentations and crunching numbers. I can open old files created in other programs relatively easily, and I can save my material as a Microsoft file, which my clients usually prefer.

Cons

The support documentation is lacking, and the support forums often aren't helpful to those of us who are not software programmers and coders. I'm an end-user and need help focused on someone that is simply using the software for everyday office tasks - but often, I cannot figure out how to find that help. Also, saving a file as a Microsoft file often affects the layout - not in a good way. There also seems to be some accessibility issues - I created files for a client who told me this, but she couldn't easily explain what the problem was.

November 2019

Radoslav from eSoftware

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

LibreOffice - create your all documents with ease

I have been using the software in my work when I was Junior. On the machine I have been working there was an install of the LibreOffice. I found it pretty cool and useful for some kind of needs. I was able to create some documents and graphics that I needed. I was also able to open MS Office files, which most of our company used - that helped me not to have the need to convert the document in order to open it. I think the software supports small business needs and personal needs - when in school or University. So for everyone with that needs, I pretty recommend it because even it is open software it gives you a lot of features that can make your documents very cool.

Pros

I found it cool because of: 1. It is an open-source software. It is free and you can use it how you want for creating your powerful documents. 2. For me, LibreOffice includes applications that are enough for working - like software for creating documents, presentations, sheets with calculations and creating databases for your needs. 3. Its design is very intuitive - I think this is one of the most important features when you need to do your job fastly and without sparing much time on understanding how to work with the app. 4. There is support for opening many types of documents, even those from the MS Office, also PDF Documents. This feature makes it helpful in order to open documents that do not have the need to be created by the product you use. 5. There are many different types of extensions that you can customize with your needs. 6. Easy to install and use within groups of people.

Cons

I think the product is quite good for its features. However, if you think about using it as for your business needs, I think it won't do your best job. There is no support. There are also no value-added features that can be powerful for your business. However, if you have a small starting business, you can try organizing your documents. Also, it is very cool for study purposes, where you do not need that type of support and many features.

October 2019

LUCAS from Self Employed

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Writing and Editing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Very solid free office suite. Transition from Microsoft Office requires an adaptation period

Very light and solid office suite, when used by itself. If working with colleagues or clients that use a different suite, requires some preparation and the habit of saving documents in a few different formats, if the user wants to be sure.

Pros

Very light and fast office suite, constantly makes security saves while you work on the documents. In the case you have a blackout or your computer is suddenly turned of for any reason, its recovery feature never failed to restore the archives. If transitioning from ofher software suites, expect to need some time to get used to the placement of tools, and the way formatting works. Usually works better than I would expect on computers with weaker hardware.

Cons

Probably, the main nuisance is the need to save documents in two or three formats to guarantee they will be opened by software from the other office suites. Also, for the later stages of work, when changing platforms, it is recommended to also save the document in pdf, as changing from Libreoffice to Microsoft Office can result in loss of formatting, comments, highlights or other features. Evidently, this is not an issue with Libreoffice, as it is a cross-platform situation, but this should be taken into consideration

August 2019

Jason from Self employed

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Graphic Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Great software

I use LibreOffice's word processor to draft documents and reports. And I use the spreadsheet software to manage my sales and inventory. In general, it's one of the first pieces software I install on all of my computers.

Pros

LibreOffice is free and comes with all the standard office applications you'll need.

Cons

Some of the menus are hidden at first until you configure them, compared to OpenOffice which has them available by default. Also incorporating a database in to your spreadsheets has a learning curve.

Reasons for Choosing LibreOffice

I chose LibreOffice over OpenOffice because it receives more frequent updates (Libre is a fork of Open.) And I chose it over WordPerfect and Office 365 because of the price point and the lower system requirements.

December 2019

Bethany from Underground House of Prayer

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Just like Microsoft Word

Libre Office has been amazing for me personally and for my organization. I love that it is free and I love all of the functions it provides.

Pros

Libre Office is free and offers all of the same types of programs as Microsoft office does. It is so similar to Microsoft Office that it was easy to learn and easy to learn all the functions it offers.

Cons

We are satisfied customers! There is nothing that we would say as a negative after almost 5 years of using it on a daily basis.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

LibreOffice is my go to word processing solution every time

I use LibreOffice in my business and for personal use, in fact I encourage my friends and family to install and use the program. It does everything MS Office does and more and is easy to use. In my opinion its the Best free alternative to MS Office and I don't miss a thing.

Pros

I"m always using LibreOffice on my desktop, its a suitable and free alternative for Microsoft Office. The things I love about LibreOffice is it ability to use plugins aka extensions that enhances its functionality. There are language and translation extensions, Dictionary extensions, Clip Arts extensions, Templates for calender, formating etc. LibreOffice also has features which allow the user to export documents in multiple format e.g. PDF and even .doc plus its own format which is .odt LibreOffice also opens documents of other formats such as .doc, .xls. Basically anything from Microsoft Office The Interface is very similar to that of Microsoft Office so in my opinion there is no learning curve. In fact I remember once working in Calc where I was plugging away and forgot I wasn't using Excel I can do everything in LibreOffice that I would do in Microsoft Office and more and remember LibreOffice Is free Through the use of an extension I can save documents in multiple formats I can save my documents on Google Drive and this is a built in feature LibreOffice takes much less space on my hard drive than that popular commercial word processing software

Cons

There is nothing about LibreOffice that I dislike

September 2019

Gihan from People's Bank

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

LibreOffice, free & open to all

LibreOffice is a powerful office type application that has modern and fully featured tools. Best thing is it is an open and free software for anyone also who aren't rich for buy a software. LibreOffice works with most operating systems such as Windows,Mac,Linux etc. There are many apps in this that we need in file editing like Writer(text formatting),Calc(data analysing),Impress(presentation),Draw(painting) and such other apps. So we can edit texts with many features,easily analysing data and presentations with media rich contents and and others.When we documenting files there is a feature named automatic spell check that corrects our typing words. So we don't have worry about some mistakes.Calc is really easy to understand and work with it.There are so many styles and tools for presentations in Impress.So many tools to work with Draw to design graphics. Because of these tools we can edit our office files completely and professional.Also there are some problems regarding LibreOffice.Sometimes some file types doesn't match with this application,so documents get confused.And also I think that still the user interface not match with modern office types.It should be developed.With these modifications LibreOffice becomes a good office application.I highly recommend LibreOffice for document purposes.

Pros

Free and open software. Working with most operating systems(Windows,Mac,Linux). Impeccable documents with automatic spell check. Support for many file types (doc,ppt,xlsx,etc.). Easy to use and have multiple features.

Cons

User interface still not applicable with modern type. Sometimes some file types not adjusting with LibreOffice(spreadsheet docs,Impress presentation files,etc.)

July 2019

Amanda from Cybernet1

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

LibreOffice is our go to office suite for Docs

To get LibreOffice at no cost is amazing. At work we suggest Libre Office to all our customers if they want a way to read, edit or create office documents. When customers buy a new computer and they are on a budget Libre Office is the only way to go.

Pros

I love that I can open other documents from other software companies with LibreOffice without having to pay an arm and a leg. The spreadsheet program is just as easy to use as excel. The appearance is a bit different but as with any software I got familiar with it and now I don't have to think about it. I was able to use the spreadsheet program when exporting names and address from one program to another and it worked perfectly.

Cons

So far I have not found a least. I like it so much I use it at work and home.

February 2020

Kevin from eCommunities

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Great software, just a few rough edges

We've been using Libre office for many years, and open Office prior to that, and it has been a wonderful, stable, effective replacement for the costly Microsoft Office.

Pros

This software package has every feature you would expect from a top-shelf Office Suite and is fully integrated from app to app, able to put the power of all features into your documents and sheets. And it has the added benefit of full support for all Microsoft document formats, on top of its default Open document format.

Cons

Because this is an open-source product, and constantly evolving, the user interface has gone through a number of major overhauls and is changing often. Overall the UI is usable, and somewhat intuitive, however it is generally rough around the edges and not as attractive as It's bigger competitors like Microsoft Office.

Reasons for Choosing LibreOffice

Libra office is a fork of open office, and seems to get more releases and features than open Office.

September 2019

Luiz Henrique from UFERSA

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

One of the best text editor...

t is a free and affordable program. Use to solve just about any problem and write all the college assignments I need. It's practical, intuitive, essential features for those who need to save time with a busy schedule. Any other program can easily read your files without problems, it is extremely compatible with other platforms.

Pros

I use the tool practically every day. Extremely practical and intuitive, it sets up the best text editor I know and have ever used. Its navigation bar is always well distributed throughout updates, and its features are always optimized. And to top it all off, we still have the powerful text recovery tool for unexpected incidents, always avoiding major inconveniences. Here we have the definitive tool for making, editing and creating text. I recommend!

Cons

Sometimes it happens that the program crashes. It is not a usual and recurring problem, but it can happen. Also, depending on the size of the document, it may take a long time to execute and sometimes crash during the process. Any program functionality that requires more processing, if the machine is not ready, you may experience problems.

October 2018

Mack from Mack Skinner Technical Support

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Libraries

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Best MS Office Alternative

Not only do you benefit from the initial cost of the program (as opposed to MS Office) you also benefit due to free updates. Sharing LibreOffice documents of all types with Microsoft users has proven to be flawless, with few or any very minor compatibility issues.

Pros

LibreOffice is a great alternative to costly Microsoft Office suite. It is compatible with Word, Excel, and PowerPoint documents and is completely free. It utilizes a standard toolbar as opposed to the "ribbon" used by current Microsoft products, which may make it easier for some users to adapt. In addition, the Linux version of LibreOffice is the finest office suite available for Linux users. Ability to export files to .pdf format is a big plus.

Cons

While the default file formats are fine, if you are sharing documents with Microsoft users you will need to either use the "save as" option to change the default format, or change the program's defaults to those of Microsoft products, i.e. .doc, .docx, .xls, .xlsx, etc. Also, the product does not contain any built in clip-art, but such clip-art is readily available elsewhere.

July 2018

Francis Carolina from elbrunchshow.wordpress.com

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Your best option in an open source office suite

When you need to import or export data tables with geographic attributes, they are required to be in specific formats, so that they can be used in Geographic Information Systems, such as the .csv format. Since the release of Microsofts 2007 suite, those formats were no longer present. Therefore the use of LibreOffice, allowed to fulfill my work, even optimize it.

Pros

I have worked in a free software environment and I have tried other similar LibreOffice options, and the latter is the one I liked the most. It is very comfortable and easy to use, you do not need training to start working with that. It has some qualities that are distinguished: You can work on Linux, Windows and Mac; is free; It occupies little space on the disk and is easy to install. It is functional, works in various extensions, including some that no longer come in private software, but are widely used in special programs such as cartography and geography.

Cons

There is something that I do not like free software in general and that LibreOffice does not escape, it is the technical support assisted by the community that uses it and develops it. Generally, if you have any concerns you should go to the forum, and sometimes these forums can be overwhelming.

May 2018

Santiago from Free-lance

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Pleasantly interesting

You save money, a similar proprietary software can cost you more than per license, but LibreOffice can be your office computer support just by downloading the program. You can use it on computers with few resources, which allows you to avoid investing more resources in a hardware. Another benefit is the number of formats that you can read and export, you can go from a pdf to a .doc, it adapts very well to the price and function ratio. I have no major complaints.

Pros

That's the good thing about free software, that you can find packages like Libre Office with a lot of potential and completely free. If your computer does not have large resources, or you can not pay a private license, this software is for you, you have the whole package. If you have knowledge in traditional office automation, you will not have any problems.

Cons

The interface could be more attractive, I know they have devoted a lot, and it is not fair to describe something wrong with this computer proposal, but I want it to improve because it offers everything without a large payment except a donation. If they make those small changes they could attract more users who stop using private office automation. Another aspect that I recommend to change, is the language, if a person wishes to use Libre Office in Spanish he must install an additional pack, for that reason, it is preferable to do a multi-language installation, and that the user with few clicks decides the language of his preference.

August 2018

Kathryn from K & D Specialties

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Great Office Alternative

Pros

I love that this powerful software is free. I am not a fan of Software As a Service which keeps you paying every month forever or having to buy extremely expensive software. Libreoffice is free though you can and should donate something toward continued development and it is more than enough for most small business use. I use the spreadsheet app the most to track my business expenses and inventory. It does all the calculations and charts I need to stay on top of my business and satisfy my accountant. The document app also gets used a lot for my business correspondence, book writing, notes, etc. Both apps allow me to easily format my input anyway I want to make both functional yet eye pleasing documents. I also like how it handles PDFs.

Cons

It is not Office so don't expect it to do everything just like it. It doesn't hook into other software, a fancy spreadsheet will look a little different, etc. but it does so much that it is a suitable replacement.

February 2018

Cesar A from Gobierno del Distrito Capital

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

An office packet all in one for free

Libreoffice bring me the possibility to do create my documents and presentations without any worry about licenses or payment, this is the best option for people who cannot afford the payment of a private software.

Pros

The possibility to use all the office software for free is the best feature of Libreoffice, this software brings all you need, word processor, presentation creator, sheets manager, pdf creator and so many other features, all this for free. The tools of this software are so similar and powerfull as MS Office are, you can create documents, presentations and work with data in a very easy way.

Cons

There are a lot of incompatibility between Libreoffice and MS Office and this can be a great limitation, because the most of people uses MS Office and sometimes when you share and document created in Libreoffice with someones who uses another software this can be a little corrupted or do not adjust perfectly to the other software, creating a problem for people who works with other application for presentations and documents.

February 2020

Sherrie from Little Sprout Preschool

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Libre VS Microsoft Office

We use LibreOffice Writer for all of our parent communications, our LibreOffice Calc for all of my excel like spreadsheets and charts. The program has never failed, locked up or glitched.

Pros

Free Easy to use Similar keys and shortcuts as Microsoft Office Conversation from Microsoft Office files were simple Comes with equivalent excel, word, drawing, etc.

Cons

Files can not open from a cell phone Some transfer of files distorted the layout Some shortcuts are different than Microsoft

Reasons for Choosing LibreOffice

Price, I was starting a new preschool and didn't have the money for all of the software needed to start so I thought I would give Libre a try. I have stayed with them for 5 years. Although we now have money in our budget to purchase software, we really don't need to as Libre has worked for us for years. We will be making our first donation to the developers this year for their efforts of offering a quality program for businesses to start with.

August 2019

Rocky from Mirasee

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2019

An alternative to Microsoft Office. Only not as a easy to use.

My office was looking to save money and reduce our needs of using Microsoft Office. LibreOffice was an alternative. In a few days, my coworkers would send me blank documents that 'looked fine' on their screen. I had bug reports from some team members about screen tearing, and my team struggled with knowing were certain options were.

Pros

It's free and fully functional as a text editor.

Cons

It's buggy. Things that look great in Google Docs or Microsoft Office will break here. There's also an issue where content will mysteriously change or warp. This is a problem in Microsoft Office as well, where you press Enter and suddenly, your copy breaks/images disappear/page jumps. But it happens more frequently in LibreOffice. Finally, when scrolling, sometimes text will leave a shadow - so the screen doesn't refresh correctly. This is 2019, and text software has been the same for a long time. There's absolutely no reason why this should happen.

August 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Powerful MS office clone and fast

Great! We are using for contractors that we don’t want to spend money for full Microsoft office suite. And it works great! Even installed at home.

Pros

Easy to install and use and pleasantly surprised with features for free and fast office software

Cons

No support and file conversions from Word and excel tricky

Reasons for Choosing LibreOffice

Free and easy!

February 2020

Tyler from twaitecreate

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

LibreOffice is great.

It's been very pleasant and I recommend it for people looking for a reliable office suite.

Pros

As a freelancer / new business owner LibreOffice was very appealing as it seemed to be packed with the features I needed, and being 100% free of cost allowing me to record ideas and other important information such as keeping track of business finances - LibreOffice Calc is awesome for that by the way! I also love how the suite is available for all platforms as I own several computers with different operating systems, this is really nice because I don't need to learn new software to do the same tasks. It is very customizable to your needs, everything seems to be very lightweight and loads up quick, it doesn't ever freeze up - this is great because you can run this software no problem on a low-end PC.

Cons

The main top bar interface feels a bit jumbled, I wish there were more export options for more uncommon file types, more template options would be nice.

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Just what I need

Pros

LibreOffice pretty much allows me to do anything that I could possibly want to do in a similar suite (like Microsoft Office, or iLife), but without the necessity of paying for a full suite. It integrates almost seamlessly with most other Office products, so I never have to worry about file compatibility or anything of the sort. It runs smoothly, and rarely crashes--usually only if I'm asking it to do a lot of work all at once, and even that might be more due to my computer's capabilities than the capability of the software.

Cons

There are some key features that it seems to be missing, especially when it comes to Calc, and it slows down a lot when making a big ask. It can take some time to boot up, as well, but once it is up and running it works well. It occasionally has trouble parsing alternate file types and loading them with formatting intact, but never seems to have an issue with exporting to various file types.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Pretty Great Option for Linux or Non-Hosted, Open Source Productivity

Ultimately LibreOffice is a fantastic solution for a non-cloud, productivity suite. It gives you the ability to open and create documents in a ton of formats, and it's open source. I would definitely recommend this for anyone who doesn't want or can't spend on MS Office, and needs an application that can reliably be used while offline.

Pros

LibreOffice was my daily driver for productivity for several years. It's open-source which gives me a lot of confidence that the code is safe and doesn't come with a bunch of telemetry baked in. There were very few things I had trouble doing in LibreOffice once I figured out where everything is in the interface. Great compatibility with a variety of file formats. It's fantastic that software like this exists.

Cons

The only real downsides to LibreOffice are the user interface which is somewhat less intuitive if you're used to using MS Office applications. It takes some exploration and patience to find some of the functionality. I've also noticed that LibreOffice tends to take longer to load than Office does. I haven't done any investigation into templates for use in LibreOffice, but I've also found that it's marginally easier to make nicer-looking documents using Office or Google Docs, however I think spending some time customizing document formatting rather than using the out-of-the-box styles would probaby fix this issue.

August 2019

Eric Eduardo from Asociación Mutual de Venado Tuerto

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

A growing open-source Office alternative

There was a decision to switch to a free solution to reduce costs, as all computers had Microsoft Office installed. We decided to install LibreOffice to the employees that didn't use the software or just a reduced amount of features.

Pros

LibreOffice is a complete solution for editing documents, spreadsheets and presentations, offering an cost-free alternative to paid alternative such as Microsoft Office. It does all the things you would expect even on a premium software, and there is a good amount of extensions for improving the overall experience (though it is still a bit in early phases compared to other open-source software). It is also fully compatible with OpenOffice files, however files made in Microsoft Office can be a bit of a lottery.

Cons

The interface has been a trouble for us, as several employees could not get used to. We also got performance problems on our Linux computers, leading us to switch to another alternative (WPS Office in this case). Despite its compatibility with Microsoft Office documents, we often got reclaims as the formatting wasn't showing correctly: images being broken in Excel documents, and a broken design for Word documents.

July 2019

Jeff from Heisuikan School of Martial Arts

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Best office package around.

I have used this package going on 4 years now with NO problems at all. It simply works, as someone who works on Linux, Windows and MacOS systems I like products that have cross functionality. This package works perfectly on Windows and Linux systems and is the default office application I go to daily.

Pros

It works just like the major player in the industry but its FREE! On top of that it has features the others do not such as the ability to open and edit PDF documents.

Cons

Nothing, the package works and acts like the major players in the field but it doesn't cost nearly as much, nor does it require extensive training.

Reasons for Choosing LibreOffice

Licensing agreement is more open with Libre Office over Open Office and the package is much more affordable than MS Office.

April 2020

Abid from Bank Alfalah Limited

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

INCREDIBLE SOFTWARE FOR PROFESSIONALS

My overall experience with LibreOffice is excellent as I am using this application since 2015 and never faces any issues while doing day to day working. As a professional banker I found LibreOffice full of wonderful features and necessary tools.

Pros

LibreOffice is very powerful application for professionals for their routine office working. LibreOffice supports multiple formats including MS Word and one can easily import files for smooth working. Large number of built-in fonts, tools, and buttons are available which helps and support the user to write Letters and inter office memos in a very easy way. You can add clip arts, images and graphs to your files which improves the presentation of documents. The software can be downloaded free of cost and helping number of students and professionals around the world.

Cons

Some features in LibreOffice not works when we import documents from MS Word all other options and tools are perfect.

January 2019

Ronald from Information Technology and Services

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Free Reliable Substitute for expensive MS Office

I used MS products at work. Now I use LibreOffice personally, and in my home office, mainly to save money. I found there was almost no new learning curve for LibreOffice. LibreOffice does everything I need. It suits me fine.

Pros

LibreOffice includes substitutes for most all the MS Office components. LibreOffice modules are Writer (documents), Calc (spreadsheets), Impress (presentations), Draw, Math, and Base (database). Extensive free documentation and tutorials can be downloaded from the Internet. If you ever have a question you'll easily find answers with a Google search. Document and spreadsheet can be saved to, and read from, most common formats; this helps compatibility. Updates keep LibreOffice current.

Cons

Although LibreOffice works similarly, naturally it is not exactly the same as MS Office. Some specialized spreadsheet macros I use in MS office needed to be rewritten to work in LibreOffice.

February 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

One of the best office suite alternatives available

Overall this suite gets the job done. If you are a Linux user, even though there are other options, this is the most traditional and known one. Anyway, I totally recommend to at least try it out (it can't hurt since it free).

Pros

The biggest point in favor to libre office is that it offers, as a suite, essentially the same amount of functionalities that its main competitor Microsoft Office (in my opinion) does. The fact that is not migrating to the cloud can also be considered as a good point, since nowadays everyone is, but there are still people that are more used to having local files or may want to work offline. There's also the fact that is capable of running on Linux, Windows and MacOS being one of the best (and sometimes only) option, specially if you use more than one ecosystem or work with people that uses a different system.

Cons

I would say its biggest con is the fact that some options require you to go the extra mile, forcing you to look deep down in some of its menus instead of having a given functionality (for example, a formatting option) easily accessible from the interface. There's also the known fact that opening MSOffice-generated documents in LibreOffice (and vice-versa) may result in some awkwardly formatting.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 934 reviews