Nuxeo

Nuxeo Reviews

RATING:

4.20

(30)

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.20

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4

Value for money

4

Functionality

4

  • icon"The majority of our use cases for Nuxeo Platform are enabled via integrations through API & Integration Management solutions with other tools such as CRMs and internally developed applications."
  • icon"Very easy to manage your digital assets. Lots of option to protect your assets , review and share with required people."
  • icon"Flexibilty to build a system to fit our needs & processes vs changing our processes to fit an out of box solution."
  • icon"One major drawback from nuxeo is it is inability to edit documents from within the repository by launching Office, something you can do with other tools SharePoint and Alfresco."
  • icon"But this weakness was notable during training on the Nuxeo Platform as even developers had some struggles getting set up and capable early on."

Browse all Nuxeo Reviews

  • Have you used Nuxeo and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 30 reviews

User Profile

Todd

Verified reviewer

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2020

Nuxeo

Excellent overall experience setting up and implementing our platform

Pros

Open Source Platform that allows configuration for your organization's unique needs and processes.

Cons

Complicated backend setup. Documentation makes a lot of assumptions.

Reasons for choosing Nuxeo

Flexibility, Open Source, Adaptability with our data model

Reasons for switching to Nuxeo

Broaden our organization's asset management footprint and implement a complicated data model.

Response from Nuxeo

Thanks, Todd! We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. I'll share your feedback about our Documentation and backend setup with the team.

Replied April 2020

Chris

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2020

Nuxeo-o-o-o…

Our overall experience with Nuxeo has been stellar. Their professional services team has their game on for sure. Any major struggles we have had thus far have been related to our own product owners not having well defined requirements, which isn't uncommon in most companies. If you're well organized and know what you want to do, Nuxeo PS will enable you quickly, and their platform can do almost anything we've dreamed up needing to do.

Pros

Honestly the depth of API access to the Nuxeo Platform was an incredibly important selling point for us. The majority of our use cases for Nuxeo Platform are enabled via integrations through API & Integration Management solutions with other tools such as CRMs and internally developed applications.

Cons

While Nuxeo is incredibly flexible and powerful in precisely the ways we need it most, it has some weaknesses in install and configuration as well as native integration extension capabilities. Installation and configuration is not a huge deal for us since we went with their managed service in the cloud. But this weakness was notable during training on the Nuxeo Platform as even developers had some struggles getting set up and capable early on.

Reasons for choosing Nuxeo

Nuxeo Platform's "Open Source" nature helped make us very comfortable with their architecture and capabilities. Deep dives into the codebase actually generated some neat ideas within our own products along the way. While Nuxeo Platform is open and free for use, it's ultimately the Nuxeo Studio product which costs money, and we believe it to be well worth it. Nuxeo Studio acts as a configuration hub for all of the Nuxeo Platform components which saves an incredible amount of time and effort. The performance, at petabyte scale with Nuxeo is impressive. It's API depth is more than a thin skin, which for our needs was critical. We can ultimately do anything via API which we could via CLI or via Web UI.

Reasons for switching to Nuxeo

Microsoft SharePoint has turned out to be extremely non-performant with extremely large volumes of binary document data. Over the past few years generating many TB of binary file data and storing it in Microsoft SharePoint has been a constantly devolving game of performance and scalability. This is not entirely the fault of Microsoft SharePoint, as how we're using it is not how it was intended to be used. There are things we ultimately could have done to extend the life of Microsoft SharePoint, but the cost to do so combined with the effort to continue to maintain and scale it led to a realization that replacement was ultimately necessary.

Response from Nuxeo

Thanks, Chris! We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We're happy when our customers are happy, and I'll share your feedback about installation and configuration with our product team.

Replied April 2020

Lantz

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

February 2017

Nuxeo is greatly improved but still has its share of kinks

The out-of-the-box functionality for document management is solid and their are some very nice features, like being able to view changes between versions side-by-side. The search functionality tied in with Elasticsearch is excellent. One major complaint from our users is the inability to edit documents from within the repository by launching Office, something you can do with SharePoint and Alfresco. Another complaint is the UI--I personally think it's clean and reasonably intuitive, but for a user base used to SharePoint and Alfresco, it can be confusing. The other big piece of Nuxeo is Nuxeo Studio, which we use to configure our self-hosted Nuxeo instance. It's an interesting attempt at creating a web interface for configuring the application, but it's not at all intuitive and can be frustrating to use. It's also big money for the support license, which gets you Studio. Otherwise it's an IDE and XML config files if you need to make changes to the default application. The Nuxeo documentation has come a long way over the years, but there just isn't the kind of user support here in the USA as there is for Alfresco, which means that without out support from Nuxeo, you're pretty much on your own if something breaks. And it will break, which leads to my last complaint. It took our team a long time to get the application stable enough to use, and we had numerous bugs crop up along the way after application updates. Nuxeo was pretty responsive to fixing them, but some of them were obvious bugs that really should have been caught in testing. That said, I see improvement in this area as well, so it seems they're heading in the right direction overall.

Ramakrishna

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2018

Nuxeo is a very good Open Source document management solution for for the midsize companies/customer

Nuxeo is a very good Enterprise Content Management solution that offers many functionalities like Records Management, Documents Management and also Case Management.

Pros

Nuxeo- It is a verygood Enterprise Content Management solution that offers many functionalities like Records Management, Documents Management and also Case Management. In this search functionality is tied with Elastic search which is providing the excellent results. The other big good thing of Nuxeo is Nuxeo Studio, which we use to configure our self-hosted Nuxeo instance without any interrupts. I have been using Nuxeo integrated with our product since 5 years to manage our files. It is a powerful tool, especially for searching - since the indexing is super fast.

Cons

One major drawback from nuxeo is it is inability to edit documents from within the repository by launching Office, something you can do with other tools SharePoint and Alfresco. UI is not soo good to handle. Its too costly to get the studio lincense. Nuxeo has to concentrate on bulk uploading, it requires Nuxeo support assistance - and a maintenance contract.

Julie

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

April 2020

Like it, but room for improvement

Pros

Flexibilty to build a system to fit our needs & processes vs changing our processes to fit an out of box solution. This system has allowed us to update and add to as we move and grow, it is not a static system we are making constant personalized changes.

Cons

The version upgrades can be challenging causing customers to have to fully rebuild to reap the benefits of new releases, we have already done this once and are lining up for both the current release AND the release planned after that. Would greatly benefit from more of a SAAS model.

Response from Nuxeo

Thanks, Julie. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review! We understand upgrades can sometimes be challenging on the JSF UI, and our Professional Services team is here to help. Please feel free to contact us anytime.

Replied April 2020

Ramakrishna

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2017

This is a very good product for document management solution for customers

Nuxeo is a solid Enterprise Content Management solution that offers many functionalities.

Pros

This is a good product for context management and many possibilities for developers like Powerful engine to develop many applications in Records Management, Documents Management and also Case Management.

Cons

For developers it is frustrating some times to raise a ticket to Nuxeo and many times as there are bugs to be resolved in the platform. And it is a small community and still some tickets are remain unanswered, so those need to be resolved at higher priority.

Ahmed

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2017

Great open source content management solution with unlimited possibilities

Pros

Nuxeo is a solid Enterprise Content Management solution that offers many functionalities and development possibilities within the solution. It can be used in many departments and in several industries

Cons

Nuxeo has relatively still small community making it difficutl to get repsonses and asnwers to our questions

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2021

Love the ease of content management

Pros

This is a great centralized place for our department to maintain and share large files internally as well as make client facing links.

Cons

Search-ability can be tricky with this tool

Reasons for switching to Nuxeo

More economical

Ankit

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2018

We have used Nuxeo for Content management and replacing documentum.

We are using it for the Migration of the data from the documentum and storing it for fast retrival on the frontend. So far so good.

Pros

The customization is easy and you can do we can make changes according to the the need through Nuxeo Studio, and deploy on the platform. The Platform responds well to the changes and does the job quickly. The API's are there to connect to the platform but I feel they are in naive stage and need more development.

Cons

The data Ingestion gives a lot of trouble while ingesting though other methods rather than the web UI. And the Locale and vocabulary thing is still not sorted. We needed one variable in different languages but that is not yet supported in the platform yet

User Profile

sangam

Verified reviewer

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

February 2018

Nice DAM tool to use.

Pros

Very easy to manage your digital assets. Lots of option to protect your assets , review and share with required people.

Cons

Customization is bit difficult in Nuxeo as documentation is not so great. Sometimes you will not get much information over internet.

praveen

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2018

Im using nuxeo for 2 months and I feel its a good product

Pros

1.Cloud Connectivity: Despite being an on-premise system, Nuxeo Platform is able to connect with cloud services and enable users to access them from the system like local programs. 2.Scalability: With Nuxeo Platform, companies developers and creative teams can double their working speed. 3.Rich set of REST/Automation API ,

Cons

1.When they fix one issue they will create more regression issues so it will be better if they overcome this problem.

Frédéric

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2021

Un DAM solide pour la gestion de gros volume de contenu

C'est une solution robuste fiable et personnalisable

Pros

Nuxeo présente de fortes qualités : - Un DAM solide et capable de supporter de très forte charge d'assets (Large Tiff, ou Videos 4k) - Un moteur de workflow BPM avancée - Un écosystème de connecteurs ( Check in out drive, AI, SF, CMS...) - Une personnalisation BO de tout le système, interface compris évitant les couts cachés

Cons

Un pricing un peu élevé mais à voir suivant les cas clients....pour les acteurs de la grande distribution ou de gros agences ce n'est pas trop un pb.

Reasons for choosing Nuxeo

Nuxeo témoigne d'une solide expérience depuis 20 ans dans le domaine de la gestion de client avec de beaux cas clients.

Anonymous

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2018

Best open source LGPL document management system

Good digital document management system for totally free of cost. I

Pros

Nuxeo platform is open for extension and we can make changes the way we need wither with code or with the Nuxeo studio Nuxeo have powerful search support with Elasticseach. Easy to customize and easy to deploy

Cons

Documentation should improve Community for development is very less, this makes new additions will take longer time to stable

Reza

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2020

New project for large storage

very good.

Pros

Design and plugins, use very low resources.

Cons

Documentation about ES should have more info

Daniel

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2019

Nuxeo Platform

Pros

nuxeo is a very powerful tool for the treatment of documents, I like because it is versatile and extendable.

Cons

I think your flow component needs to improve

Response from Nuxeo

Thanks, Daniel! We appreciate the review. We'll share your feedback with the team.

Replied April 2020

Peter

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2017

Users Satisfied with Solution

Hi over the last three years we have been using Nuxeo CAP 6.0 and we have had one major stability issue that we were eventually able to resolve with the help of Nuxeo support. The issue was related to Nuxeo losing its connection to the database every night, due to us shutting down the database to do nightly backups. Nuxeo wasn't able to recover therefore people weren't able to login in the morning. Nuxeo support did provide us with a fix that was easy to implement, So since then it has been quite stable. Other than the one major issue the users are happy with the software. We are using it out of the box as a document management system with only a few configuration changes to the document form. It serves its purpose well.

Mohamed

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2017

Using Nuxeo Platform

Nuxeo is a powerful open source CMS and provides tons of features for enterprise content management. It is developer friendly and developers have lots of opportunities to deep dive into it and do their customization. Through their Operations chain we can achieve most of the things we want and we really like this feature. The only part we are not feeling good about is the Nuxeo UI. Also the Studio which comes with subscription. Nuxeo should provide some documentation to create the data types and workflows without using the Studio so that the users who don't want to use Nuxeo Studio can benefit out of it. Overall we like this product and we are in the phase of completely replacing a vendor CMS with Nuxeo. Thanks

Ravikiran

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5