What are Pantheon users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Pantheon software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.53

15 Reviews

5
10
4
3
3
2
2
0
1
0
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Pantheon is has wonderful UI that is easy to use."
  • icon"Integration our favorite applications into our website projects is awesome. Great Security Tools, and User Access Management."
  • icon"I love their technical support and every employee I have worked with. They are super-friendly, love their job, and want you to succeed."
  • icon"At first, I hated the fact that I couldn't install plugins and themes directly on the Live environment."
  • icon"It has resulted in _not one_ Pantheon-hosted website in my portfolio ever being hacked and."
  • icon"Mind you, it was because my sites were going to become too costly to host their when they don't necessarily get as much traffic or get a lot of traffic but not page views."

Jump to:

Browse all Pantheon Reviews

  • Have you used Pantheon and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 15 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 15 of 15 reviews

User Profile

Aamir

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Far beyond hosting

It was great a wise decision to opt for Pantheon to host our website and other landing pages. It has delivered all we expect from a hosting solution. It is actually much more than that.

Pros

It delivers excellent website hosting speed with highest uptime. Instant responses from their support have always helped to get things done appropriately and timely. It is very reliable for the security of our web contents. It is highly scalable to meet our needs always.

Cons

Lack of payment options. Bit complex during initial setup.

Reasons for switching to Pantheon

Pantheon manages the updates, security and scalability at their end which resultantly make us relaxed from these hassles.

User Profile

Ali

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2021

Managing‌‌ & maintenance websites is easier than ever via Pantheon WebOps

I recommend this WebOps platform for units that use WordPress, Drupal, and WooCommerce CMS with the position of IT manager and consultant of organizations as well as the management of the development teams and the site designer. Daily management and changes in the theme and personalization of site features and plugins may cause temporary disruption in the main site while performing, but with Pantheon, everything is tested and deployed in the sandbox, and the final result without bugs and the final version safely and easily replace the old version.

Pros

Changing theme codes and debug new features is so fast and easy via live tools is wonderful and safe, and it has a lot of great features for site developers and web designers. The convenience and simplicity of the main dashboard when reviewing all projects are all in one place and we can see the progress or stoppage of each project at a glance. Integration our favorite applications into our website projects is awesome. Great Security Tools, and User Access Management.

Cons

Cache settings and advanced features are very limited, It is very important to be able to put a password on each of the projects on the dashboard, and different admins and web developers can be added to the task.

Reasons for choosing Pantheon

Pantheon has been with excellent speed and more facilities and has been specialized in this field and similar fields for many years and great infrastructure.

Reasons for switching to Pantheon

Better price and access to the required web tools

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

Could be much better

When Pantheon works, it is great, but when there is a problem, don't expect any real help.

Pros

When the Pantheon system works, one person can handle dev ops for a large number of sites.

Cons

The Pantheon "one button push" system doesn't work. I still haven't figured out why I am sometimes forced to log in a second or third time to Pantheon WHILE I am working on pushing a site. There have been some frequent down-times with the dashboard and a recent issue that resulted in a complete Pantheon outage. Support does nothing more than point you to a cryptic, generalized support article that makes you fix all problems even if it is a Pantheon caused issue. Scheduled backups don't always succeed. One button push from server to server can be buggy.

Peter

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Oh my, where to start?

After checking out the website and picking a plan, I arrange a call with sales. That was three days after my initial inquiry. Oh, don't bother trying to call, nobody answers the phone. Anyway, after the call, I signed up and got cracking, that's when things went south. The site tells you, you can host 15 sites for $300.00 when in fact, you get to host only one. I reached out to the poorly trained support staff and spent countless days and hours back and forth requesting a refund only to be told I'd sign some contract. WRONG! I'd signed nothing. Sadly the original sales guys seem to have now gone to ground and have left me dealing with a so-called senior member of the billing support team who has tried to blackmail me into signing up again to get a refund on the original plan. The whole process is clearly set to try and SCAM people into signing up and paying for something they are not going to receive. I've dealt with a lot of hosts over the years and 99% are decent and helpful, even when things go wrong, sadly this is not the case with Pantheon who is only interested in the bottom line.

Pros

Didn't get that far. Unfortunately, the process broke down, and then I was basically told tough.

Cons

Customer Service = ZERO The website and pricing structure are VERY misleading. Sales are good at getting you to commit by failing to mention important information.

User Profile

Rob

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Recommended for ALL WordPress and Drupal site owners

The main business problems Pantheon solves are that, internally, our team can rapidly spin up WordPress sites and get right to work on client requirements. Externally, from the client's perspective, the money they pay us goes right into their site needs, plus they get a fast, secure website that can handle a lot of traffic and store a lot of media, even with just the "Basic" plan. They don't have to pay extra for things that shouldn't be add-on options, but standard, like a CDN or HTTPS. You wouldn't buy a car with a mo-ped engine or no door locks. Why would you buy a hosting plan that is slow and doesn't keep the bad guys out?

Pros

I love how it's built from the ground up to be secure and high-performing as well as having a workflow that enables me to spend less time on DevOps and more time delivering high-value business requirements to clients.

Cons

At first, I hated the fact that I couldn't install plugins and themes directly on the Live environment. Pantheon has also published numerous workarounds for various plugins that want to write to the Live environment's directories. But after getting used to this reality, I realized that such a strict web hosting environment security protocol results in two benefits: 1) it has resulted in _not one_ Pantheon-hosted website in my portfolio ever being hacked and 2) it helps me weed out the non-secure plugins and themes that don't follow best practices on security.

Reasons for choosing Pantheon

I've lived in a web development world before WordPress and after WordPress. I prefer WordPress, and specifically Pantheon's WordPress, over the pre-WordPress world and anything else like Drupal or no CMS at all. It's not perfect, but it does strike the right balance between power, flexibility, and user friendliness.

Reasons for switching to Pantheon

I switched away from GoDaddy, HostGator, A2, SiteGround, and a variety of other hosts because none of them has this next-generation approach to hosting. They still rely on the old cPanel tricks to "git-er-done". My clients' businesses are worth well more than that low level of effort, so anytime I can I make the recommendation to switch to Pantheon.

User Profile

Jason

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Love Pantheon product & company, and would highly recommend!

We're able to start getting into automated testing, which is something we weren't able to do with Acquia.

Pros

I love the DevOps nature of the product. Every site and environment is set up in containers and easy to duplicate. I love their terminus program, which makes it easy to script up various things, like making backups, duplicating environments, clearing caches, and operating drush on any site/environment. I love their technical support and every employee I have worked with. They are super-friendly, love their job, and want you to succeed.

Cons

The learning curve coming from another provider. We had to change the way we organized and committed our code. But once that was done, it has actually made it easier for us to jump into new functionality and sites.

Reasons for choosing Pantheon

Easier time getting proof-of-concept up & going.

Reasons for switching to Pantheon

Price and DevOps features

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

Fantastic Platform for Drupal Developers and Owners

Very nice, intuitive, and easy to get started. You can setup your first project in seconds. Great not only as a hosting solution for production websites but also as an educational / training platform for web developers learning Drupal / WordPress.

Pros

Pantheon is easy to use and setup your first site on. It has good integration with popular Git platforms and its own Git. Multidev environments help to demo features easily and really benefit the QA and development workflow.

Cons

As any cloud hosting it has certain limitations due to its cloud nature.

Reasons for choosing Pantheon

Pantheon offers great easy to start sandbox option.

User Profile

Zahra

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Writing and Editing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2019

Great for dev, test and live

Pantheon didn't fail us one bit. It was WP end to end and we loved it. Later they started drupal as well. We still miss the multidev as kinsta doesnt have it. Multidev helped us stay away from many issues from the start and yes... ruined our habit along the way.

Pros

Multidev. Without a doubt, the multidev was a feature i loved the most. We don't use pantheon anymore but its our first go-to choice when recommending others

Cons

Pricing. It became very expensive to maintain our sites on pantheon. We moved to kinsta, because it was cheaper for us.

Reasons for switching to Pantheon

Godaddy was just weird.... felt broken and old.

User Profile

Sandra

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Amazing Hosting for Developers

Pantheon is lighting fast hosting that is great for having several developers working on things at the same time. This allows my team to work seamlessly without causing code conflicts. It makes the production line so much more expeditious.

Pros

This platform is great for development centric needs. It provides seamless integration with GIT and allows developers to work together utilizing a multi-dev setup.

Cons

This setup can be used by anyone, but it does have a learning curve. I would not recommend it for low tech clients to utilize directly without someone techy to intervene.

Reasons for choosing Pantheon

Overall the functionality provided was a much better fit for our needs and the clients' needs. It came down to the perfect fit and they were it.

Alexis

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2021

Works well for managing multiple websites

If they could fix the glitch so that the plug-ins could be installed directly to the live site I'd go 10 stars.

Pros

I use this software to develop and manage multiple websites from development to test to live. It helps keep things organized and back up what's already been done without affecting the live sites.

Cons

Often moving through development - live can have some hick-ups when working with certain WordPress plugins and severely impact their ability.

Lisa

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

Pantheon Hosting

Overall, we have have had a great experience with Pantheon. Pantheon is responsive, their tools are intuitive and they are great about communicating any issues that they may have and keeping us posted on resolutions. We have had no down-time since we moved to Pantheon.

Pros

Pantheon is has wonderful UI that is easy to use. I love the the development, test and live environments and how easy it is to moving code from one to the other. The automatic backups are also great and can be a life-saver when in a jam. Pantheon support threads and help are also exceptional. I've only had to contact the pantheon on chat once. They were quick to respond and pointed me in the right direction.

Cons

The only drawback I have found is some Drupal modules do not work well on Pantheon due to Pantheon's security settings. For example, exporting Drupal Webform results to CSV will not work without a patch. Pantheon is aware of the issue, and points to a user patch that does help. That said, I would rather have good security than ask Pantheon to bend its security rules for a Drupal module.

Reasons for choosing Pantheon

Pantheon offered everything we needed to manage our site, without all the headache of managing the server and all it's updates. It is fine tuned for Drupal, the CMS we use, and since it is hosted, we don't have to panic when we lose power on campus. The site will still keep running.

User Profile

Quratulain

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2019

The best website management platform out there

Pantheon remains my platform of choice to develop client sites and deploy them there. Unfortunately, their per site plan works against them in some cases where customers expect to host multiple sites within the same plan.

Pros

I love the code management and seamless transition between dev, test and live environments. It is rare to work on a platform that is both beautiful and provides tons of features and functions. Since the code is fully locked on test and live environments, I never had problems when it came to malware, or bots attacks. Just never happened.

Cons

Pantheon revised their pricing strategy earlier this year and I had to move my sites out. Mind you, it was because my sites were going to become too costly to host their when they don't necessarily get as much traffic or get a lot of traffic but not page views. Unless you're hosting a membership website or an ecommerce portal where the average user visits 3-4 pages, the revised plans don't make sense.

User Profile

Eric

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2019

A WebOps platform for serious developers

When firing up a new customer web development project, it used to take me a half-hour or more to set up and configure all of the links in our development chain which included Git repos, deployments, server accounts, and more. Now, with a few keystrokes and clicks, I have the most robust development setup I've ever used.

Pros

I love the simplicity and workflow that Pantheon's platform enforces. Also, their command-line tool, Terminus, allows me to interact with the Pantheon platform programmatically using single commands or even writing bash scripts, which can save hours of time.

Cons

I didn't understand what a time-saver it was sooner.

Reasons for switching to Pantheon

It saves me time, frustration, hair, and money.

Harsha

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2021

Managing the webOps in an easy and intuitive manner

The overall experience is good as per customer point of you but need to work on some bugs. The support system need to be improved. Editing Features can be added.

Pros

Incredibly fast to develop a workflow can be obtained. Many projects in multiple branch environment can be created. Provides an easy and fast way of securing our data.

Cons

The support of features old pop-up when we login to the user interface. The support on this platform is comparatively less. The innovative module updates fails sometimes

Reasons for switching to Pantheon

Wanted to check the interface and the features available

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Pésimo servicio a clientes

Al querer cancelarlo después de 3 años hicieron un cargo adicional y al reclamar dijeron que no hacían reembolsos así que mucho cuidado con darles el numero de su tarjeta de crédito

Pros

Es un herramienta fácil de usar auque sus certificados SSL tienen problemas

Cons

Esconde muchas cosas cuando quieres cancelar, te secuestra información

Showing 1 - 15 of 15 reviews
Pantheon

Pantheon

4.53/5 out of 15 reviews
PriceDemo