User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(15)

15

4 stars

(1)

1

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "It is not only open source in terms of the license but by concept. It simplifies technology and enables the customer to participate in the digital revolution."

  • "- one platform with all features build in to start digital businesses - its open source - flexible data modelling - workflow support"

  • "It's a tool for PIM/DAM/CMS/E-Commerce . Helpful to resolve all customer needs ..... It's easy to know and play on this. "

  • Cons

  • "-- Need to code for frontend -- E commerce Plug-in in not available for all. -- I am able to meet my all business need for my client till now. So do not find anything as cons for it "

  • "pimcore is a framework not a product some times :( custmizations are required. "

  • "It is growing in terms of features and technology stack, But i think some of the doc sections need to enhance more. "

Browse Pimcore Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -33 of 17 results

September 2018

Igor from basilicom GmbH

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

The only real solution of its kind

I have been working on a wide range of projects with Pimcore: pure CMS, CMS+PIM, CMS+DAM, PIM+DAM, E-commerce, REST Apis, Mobile App Backend, etc. Pimcore could handle all of those without issues and was joy to use! It also made the development much faster than building everything from scratch.

Pros

It can cover almost all of the needs one could imagine in a digital transformation project (CMS, DAM, PIM, Web-2-Print, ...). But what I find really excellent is that one is not really forced into using any of these components. Pimcore makes it very easy to integrate with external services and that is something that very few other systems manage to do.

Cons

Pimcore is moving fast. That means that updates can be somewhat painful (ExtJs 3 to ExtJs 6, Zend Framework to Symfony). But I wouldn't say that they are any more painful than updates in competing products. Integration with the Symfony Framework was a very good step which will make the product that much more stable and easier to update in the future.

Response from pimcore

Replied September 2018

Thank you very much for this review and your kind words, Igor! As Pimcore Gold Partner and winner of the case study of the year 2018 awards, Basilicom is a trusted partner and highly recommended Pimcore implementation partner! Best, Christian - Marketing & Partner Management

May 2017

Vandana from OSSCube Solutions Ltd.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2017

Outstanding framework for PIM/CMS/DAM/e-commerce needs

Pimcore has helped us set up very flexible and scalable PIM and CMS set up for our customers with less cost. We are able to extend the features based on the Customer's specific requirements without too much effort. Our developers love the ease with which they can extend the framework and contribute to community. Our customers are pleased with the features they get from the Product that makes their day to day tasks easy. We have been able to enable our non-IT business users to manage and control their PIM implementations with very basic training.

Pros

Pimcore is a very flexible and extendable framework combining PIM, DAM, CMS and e-commerce capabilities all in one suit. There are abundant features, so much that we still discover new ones with each implementation. The product is evolving and the Pimcore team keeps on adding new features and functionalities based on the market need. Almost all features are generic and extendible. It's easy for developers to add customized features and extend the existing features. We have done a lot of PIM and CMS implementation with various customers enabling the Business users, the Marketing teams and the IT teams, to create and publish content on the fly. We have implemented PIM solutions that give the Business owners complete control the Products data and content. We have implemented PIM with Workflow management providing Product teams to manage the Product Launch Sequences through Pimcore with complete notifications and dashboards giving Sr. management a real time view of the Products launch status

Cons

Since Pimcore is a framework and not a Product, some customizations are always required to implement customer requirements, which in other Product based software may be available out of box. But again that is something that makes it extendible and makes it possible to extend and implement any feature desired.

January 2020

Rita from Sundial Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

2.0

January 2020

Not my favourite

We currently have our main website on Pimcore, does the job but doesn't add anything great.

Pros

Does the job, you can run your website on Pimcore, update it. We have a bespoke version, which isn't ideal as then you're stuck with whoever developed your website - rather than being able to hire other developers.

Cons

It's not very easy to use, you can find your way around it but it does take a while. And as mentioned, because we have a bespoke solution that means that when we need anything changed, we are stuck with going back to the company that initially developed the website for us.

Response from Pimcore

Replied January 2020

Thank you very much for your review Rita. Pimcore is an enterprise digital experience platform (DXP). Its basic features are always enriched and highly tailored towards the individual digitization needs of its users. Especially larger companies with complex requirements value the large flexibility that this approach provides them in regards of providing a highly personalized experience to their customers. Pimcore is built for developers and empowers them to build great digital experiences fast and easily. As a consequence Pimcore is NOT an 'out-of-the-box' software product like Wordpress. When looking at your website I saw that you are running an outdated version of Pimcore, which is quite old already. I invite you give our latest version, Pimcore 6, a try, which makes the editing experience even more user-friendly and intuitive. Best, Christian (Marketing & Partner Management)

August 2019

Franck from Active Publishing

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Better and better

We work exclusively with PimCore since v3, which is to say how much we appreciate this software and just congratulate us. They are responsive and friendly. We are developing a set of bundles that allow the management of Print publications and the PimCore / Active WebToPrint solution is a great success. Their annual Inspire conference has opened up the international market to us naturally and we now have customers in Europe, USA, Africa, etc ... Many thanks to them without whom we would not have the success we have. I recommend VERY HIGHLY!

Pros

PimCore is the only open-source platform with full PIM, DAM and CMS capabilities. With our plugins, this is the only solution that allow to manage Print draf and publications, connected to InDesign or exporting directly to PDF HD CMYK, in addition to native features. With its GPL license, everything is accessible and it is easy to develop plugins, overload existing functions, modify the interface, etc ... A MUST HAVE

Cons

To be honest, not much. Can be a more user-friendly interface but the v6 should fix that

Reasons for Choosing Pimcore

Because it's the only truly open-source solution. Their competitors claiming to be open-source offer only an empty shell for which you must then pay to have half of the features offered by PimCore free. There is no equivalent

October 2016

Marc from Basilicom

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Best Open Source solution for building complex/holistic solutions

I'm a product manager and could hardly find a better solution to fit most of the needs companies have while transforming their business to gain advantages by going digital. Pimcore offers all features you expect from a CMS these days. Additionally its ready to personalize any kind of content and lets customers adapt to possibilities given through modern ways of recognizing users. The required tools for Asset Management are also build in. Especially for retailers or companies handling thousands of product data its tailor made to face the problems a Product information System has to solve. Organizing and classifying data works perfectly fine in pimcore. Its CMS and DAM functionalities lets you publish this data on every channel you need. If you're looking for a solution to rapidly prototype a piece of software you're also right using pimcore. Its flexible architecture offers you an effective way to arrange your data models and define where its information is published. My personal favorite is the api which is generated on the fly while modeling you data. So again, you're prototype benefits from the CMS, DAM and PIM Features. Additionally pimcore offers an ecommerce framework which I personally have no real experience with. Although pimcore is a great tool, it requires you to put some effort in learning it or consult an expert. This comes due to the huge possibilities pimcore offers. So its always a good idea to contact professionals.

Pros

- one platform with all features build in to start digital businesses - its open source - flexible data modelling - workflow support

Cons

- shallow learning curve

September 2016

Arndt from Basilicom

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2016

PIM, DAM and CMS in one solution

PIM truly is the first step for our clients in automation of business processes. But to succeed in the comprehensive digital transformation of businesses only PIM is not sufficient. We need a platform to integrate systems, store any kind of data and build highly customized e-business solutions. Pimcore provides sophisticated data management for PIM/MDM, fully integrated digital asset manamagent (DAM/MAM) and the most powerful content management engine (CMS) for publishing data. All in one solution. The Pimcore system is easy to understand for our clients. And it's easy for us to extend, which enables us not only to customize every business process but to do this in a smart and agile way to get things going even faster. The core development team at Pimcore and the healthy community provide releases in a fast and stable way which is crucial for requirements of enterprise solutions.

Pros

It combines PIM, DAM and CMS in one solution.

Cons

A market place for extensions will accelerate the collaboration within the partner network even more.

February 2019

Ram Awadh from Happiest Minds Technologies

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Great Platform for Building Enterprise Grade PIM, MDM, DAM application

Pimcore has helped our customer cut across data silos and get a unified clean view of their data and assets. It has help them improve their data quality and greatly reduce their time to market for months to days.

Pros

The key features I love about Pimcore: - Completely flexible and extensible data model that allows creating complex data model with ease. - Only platform having fully Integrated PIM, MDM and DAM features eliminating need for multiple application and no duplication of data - Completely open-source and zero license fees. - Built on Symfony, one more the most popular MVC frameworks for building enterprise application with PHP. - Great support from the vendor , partners and community.

Cons

Pimcore is a Platform, not an out of the box Software. It may not be the best choice if you are looking for one..

September 2016

Stefano from Blackbit neue Werbung neue Medien GmbH

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2016

Innovative Digital Commerce Framework connects Content and Commerce

Pimcore is an outstanding framework for Digital Commerce. It combines content and e-commerce in a way, it's been demanded for years, but has never actually been implemented in any framework or platform. Further, pimcore offers the functionality of a Content Management, - a Digital Asset Management (DAM), - and a Product Information Management system. In addition, pimcore provides a high-performance e-commerce framework to its partner agencies, in order to realize more ambitious Digital Commerce projects.

Pros

It is not only open source in terms of the license but by concept. It simplifies technology and enables the customer to participate in the digital revolution.

Cons

Pimcore will fail if you expect to find a complete solution for your business case right off the bat. It needs professional advise for customization an implementation.

May 2017

Shashi Kant from OSSCube Solution LTD.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

Very Flexible and Easy To Use for PIM, DAM and General purpose usage

-- Easy to use and learn -- Pimcore is a very good product for PIM, DAM and web content management. -- Can do almost everything which a MVC based framework does. -- DB Read and write inbuilt separation in configuration -- Library for Redis and CDN usage -- Good Documentation

Pros

-- Thin learning Curve for Developer -- Out of Box Functionality allows non Technical to manage the Admin -- Easy to manage Admin sections -- Redis Support -- Easy Customization -- API Support -- Supports the latest version of PHP -- Usage of Ext JS makes it more flexible -- Its flexible architecture offers you an effective way to arrange your data models and define where its information is published

Cons

-- Need to code for frontend -- E commerce Plug-in in not available for all. -- I am able to meet my all business need for my client till now. So do not find anything as cons for it

August 2017

Franck from Active Publishing

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Graphic Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Simply PERFECT

Many benefits.

Pros

Really easy to use. Perfect for developpers. No limitation. First PIM with DAM & CMS. Very powerfull. Good community, differents extensions, used with Active WebToPrint extensions, PimCore is the first WebToPrint 100% HMTL and Wysiwyg. The better MDM really open-source !!!

September 2018

Rahul from Happiest Minds Technologies

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Pimcore for Marketing

One of the best software for marketing agencies and chief marketing officer

Pros

This software is extremely powerful - One Single platform to manage PIM,DAM,CMS/UX and eCommerce. Good Documentation

Cons

pimcore is a framework not a product some times :( custmizations are required.

May 2017

Tarun from OSSCube

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2017

I am using this tool from last 2 year

used in web Portal/PIM/E-Commerce sections

Pros

It's a tool for PIM/DAM/CMS/E-Commerce . Helpful to resolve all customer needs ..... It's easy to know and play on this.

Cons

It is growing in terms of features and technology stack, But i think some of the doc sections need to enhance more.

January 2014

Dietmar from elements

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

January 2014

Simply the best choice

We are a leading e-commerce consultancy and are always looking for applications that help to simplify complex B2B and B2C e-commerce processes and satisfy even the most complex requirements. Our daily job is to deal with product information management and asset management for up to 1.000.000 products with more than 600 attributes each. We have to integrate with various ERP systems. Handle complex pricing and permission structured and care about complicated order processes. Then there is multi-channel publishung, web-to-print and mobile apps for data entry. In pimcore we found the integrated suite to handle all of this topics. It's based on a solid e-business framework that just makes this stuff possible. And it's just one application so it integrates quite well into existing IT structures. It's simply an awesome piece of software. Big time congrats.

April 2017

Michael from Hookeepa

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2017

Most Flexible and Easy To Use

We implemented Pimcore for PIM, DAM and CMS. Amazing that it contains all 3 modules in a seamless, drag and drop web-based UI. It's open source too......like Wordpress but so much more.

Pros

Drag and drop UI and all PIM, DAM and CMS

Cons

Plugins are not easy to find on the web.

September 2016

Matthijs from Youwe

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2016

Pimcore as a fundament

Pimcore provides a compelling and extendable open source fundament for MDM, PIM, DAM, and commerce across all customer touchpoints.

September 2016

Rob from Youwe

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2016

Leading opensource Pim solution

Pimcore is a multi dimensional MDM / PIM solution which allows you to easily manage all sorts of data and assets for any purposes.

September 2016

Britany from Pimcore

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2016

Great Product!

Even as a marketer with little technical experience, I am able to easily use Pimcore for my daily marketing activities.

Pros

I like that it is so easy to use.