User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(17)

17

4 stars

(8)

8

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "this is the most affordable ... most simple photo database we could find on the market ... for a small company, it was exactly what we needed! "

  • "The interface is clean and simple. The uploading action is a simple drag and drop. Rules you can make for viewers in the management console."

  • "Easy to use compare to other image management application"

  • Cons

  • "I found the initial plan/purchase options a little confusing, as far as how many seats we got for how much money. The final contract was very satisfactory, but it took awhile to get there. "

  • "- Price is a little steep - Folder Sharing would be a nice add - When uploading in big numbers, sometimes there is issues"

  • "There are different ways to set user rights and you can create groups and rules all of it can become a bit complicated and it's sometimes hard to actually look through."

Browse Swivle Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -24 of 26 results

May 2019

Sarah from Second Harvest Food Bank of Middle Tennessee

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Great option for nonprofits

Before Swivle, the marketing team estimated a loss of 5 hours per week searching for assets living on 3 different servers and an undetermined number of Google Drives, Dropboxes, individual drives, etc. Often after an asset was located, we often still had to do investigative work to learn who is in the image, where it was taken, when, do we own the copyright, does the image illustrate the correct program, etc? Now we are spending less than 1 hour per week searching for assets, and we do no investigative work because all of the information we need is in the metadata.

Pros

I never say "I wish Swivle had X" because it has everything I need. Intuitive interface Compatible with all file types our team uses Preview and download in various pre-set sizes Drag-and-drop uploads Customizable metadata input Excellent filtered search tool - quickly find the ideal assets for every project - search tool even works within PDFs! Ability to track copyrights and copyright expiration dates Easy folders/collections/tagging tools for organization Affordable for a medium-size nonprofit

Cons

I found the initial plan/purchase options a little confusing, as far as how many seats we got for how much money. The final contract was very satisfactory, but it took awhile to get there.

Reasons for Choosing Swivle

Ability to search within PDFs and Word docs, and the Adobe integration

May 2019

Wes from Vanessa Mooney

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Simple, intuitive, powerful Digital Asset Management

Can't really ask for a better DAM for the power and storage offered at the price. So many other competitors may have a massive suite of features, but they seem to want your soul in exchange. Swivle really just gives you what you need, and stays out of your way.

Pros

Upon first use, you'll see that Swivle has a flexible UI with ability to toggle between masonry, thumbnail, list and filmstrip views. You can open and close panels to customize your view or change it depending on the task at hand. Don't need the folder browser or filter panel? Close them. What's great about the UI is that it feels like it's simple, but it's actually very powerful with beneficial little details, e.g. the "show files in subfolder" option which just makes browsing that much more helpful. The ability to create collections is great as a function separate from the browser, so you can assemble assets into your own custom groups without needing to duplicate assets or create folders. And then there's the ability to share a Collection via a share link, so outside agencies can get access to just those assets. This is a nice middle ground before giving full access as a portal user. And on that note, Portals is a great feature too for granting larger scale access to assets. Lastly, customer service is superb and engaged, and genuinely seems to care about your issues.

Cons

If you're working in a folder with a lot of assets, it can drag your browser a little bit when trying to scroll. There doesn't appear to be support for the HEIC image format yet (as far as generating thumbnails). Most people think assets are high-res JPGs or TIFs, and that makes sense, but we often take a lot of behind-the-scenes iphone photos at shoots, and treat them as assets, and give agencies access to them for marketing and things. So we've had to convert to JPG prior to upload, which isn't a big deal, but it's just an extra step.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2019

Works good for the price

Pros

This is our company's first DAM software. My favorite feature is the vast amount of meta data options. It's a lot easier for our sales reps to search for images by typing in a keyword instead of searching through a bunch of images. Overall I have found it very easy to use and great deal for the price.

Cons

I wish there was an easier way to download files. I also would like the option to send links with expiration dates, and the ability to drag and drop images and other media directly into apps.

Reasons for Choosing Swivle

We didn't need something as robust as Canto for our first DAM system.

Response from WoodWing

Replied May 2019

Thank you for your review! Creating share links with expiration dates and ingesting by drag and drop are already in place. We are also eager to learn what kind of easier way of download options you are envisioning. Please reach us out if you like a product demo or a call to discuss.

September 2017

Martin Dominik from Entlebucher Medienhaus

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Swivle is easy to use and offers a great range of useful functions.

Easier to search and find the right files, also more efficient for different tasks. We compared many different digital asset management systems and Swivle was the most flexible solution at a very reasonable cost and easy to set up. You can start using it within a day, not within weeks as with other DAMs you need to set up in your company's own network structure.

Pros

We first purchased Swivle to organize our picture library, but now also use it for all the PDFs of our different publications, videos and for our freelancers to submit data to the editorial office. It's easy to use and doesn't require lots of knowledge for new users. Working gets more and more flexible and individual and therefore it's great to have all the data in the cloud. Customer support also works perfectly, I always got good advice and helpful answers within a short period of time.

Cons

There are different ways to set user rights and you can create groups and rules all of it can become a bit complicated and it's sometimes hard to actually look through.

Response from WoodWing

Replied September 2017

Thanks Martin for your response! In Q3 or Q4 of 2017 we will release our new version of the Management Console, where we have greatly improved the way to set user rights, groups and rules.

September 2019

Joel from Noonday Collection

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

We love it

We use Swivle to provide marketing assets to our sales force, and as a home for our video and photography assets in house. It’s great!

Pros

It’s flexible. We have a private collection of assets and public collection. Ease of use. Many non technical users on my team contribute assets and have no issues using the app. Value. Good value considering what you get with higher priced competitors. Service. I get the support I need and have had the opportunity to give input when testing enhancements.

Cons

It’s not as easily usable on mobile. Opportunity to enhance.

Reasons for Choosing Swivle

Price and features

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2018

Anytime our company has had an issue, customer support has been very responsive and open to change.

Pros

Easy to organize and easy to share internally and externally. Clients can easily share images and files with our company that we all can access. The creators seem to take into consideration customer feedback to make the software better quality and easier to use.

Cons

Organizing how photos/files are viewed is limiting. There is an option to sort by 5 stars but it takes extra steps to get there and there aren't any other ways to mark important images. Upload takes a long time, even though we have a fast internet connection.

Response from WoodWing

Replied June 2018

Thanks for your kind words! It's much appreciated. I would love to discuss your limitations on organising the files. I might be able to point out an existing way that could help you. In June 2018 we will release Cloudfront Transfer Acceleration. This will significantly increase the upload speed, no matter where you are in the world.

September 2019

Samuel from Woodway USA

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2019

Cost and Productivity

Pros

The ability to provide great value at a reasonable cost is where Swivle stands out for smaller to medium sized businesses. I'm able to push information quickly and efficiently to multiple parties through this platform. The UI is simple and easy to use; it looks professional; and it has greatly improved our internal processes to increase productivity.

Cons

My only real complaint at the moment is that the portals are not optimized for mobile browsing. As a team that has a remote based sales staff, who often travel and work from their phone, this makes it difficult for them to push information to their customers.

April 2018

Andrew from Spotlight Media

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Unlimited storage. Affordable prices. Great customer service. Everything we need as a small company.

Pros

We use this site as a digital asset management system for our publishing company. We've used lots of different options for our storage needs and they have all been too expensive, slow, inaccessible or lousy user experience. I love that we are able to access our files anywhere in the world. We also use their tagging feature. Before we switched to Swivle, the organization of our more than 150,000 files was nightmarish. Now, it's an ease.

Cons

Honestly, I have no complaints about the software. Anytime we have an issue, we let their customer service team know and they are able to help us out.

April 2018

Sushant from Cure.Fit

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Great tool with easy to use and share capabilities. Also no limits to data storage.

Pros

I found this tool while looking for setting up a digital asset management base for the team in my company. We had Google Drive but turns out it had loads of visibility issues, access control and was too costly to manage. Swivle was solving most of it that we were truly looking for. Since we bought the license, me and my team mates have been using this religiously and literally selling it as one thing to go to for the other teams in the company. We are slowly making progress and soon enough it should be the only tool being used here in Cure.fit.

Cons

I feel the UI can be lot better as its very primitive at this point. Folder views, filters for search, naming multiple files, sharing files with external teams needs to be lot more dynamic and thought through.

Response from WoodWing

Replied April 2018

Hi Sushant, Thanks so much for taking the time to review Swivle. It's highly appreciated! I'm really curious about your thoughts how we can improve the UI. I will contact you directly about this. Thanks again!

September 2019

Ilse from Dolce World

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Helps me prepare the lay out of our magazine how I want it .

It helped me to have the overview over the magazine en to search for pictures when I need them.

Pros

easy to use and to find what I need on the moment I need it

Cons

Difficult to understand the full product and what it can do more

July 2018

Huong from Spotlight Media Inc.

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

The best experience for a photo server

Pros

We're a media company, so the ability to organize our photos and have it easy for everyone on the team to access was a must. Swivle met all of that (we've been using them since they were Elvis), not to mention their customer service is top notch. Anytime we run into issues OR worse, someone accidentally deleted the whole file, Swivle was there and helped us to restore and find the file we needed. They're super transparency about their maintenance time too, which we really appreciate. We especially love the folder sharing option or having a client directly upload photos to our folder.

Cons

Nothing at all. Maybe someway they can help us to bulk-tagging photos in our archives instead of having us going through manually of each photo.

Response from WoodWing

Replied July 2018

Thanks for the kind words about our product and our service. Much appreciated!

September 2017

Claudia from thegreenlabels.com

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

An intuitive cloud DAM where we manage all our creative assets

Our small team consists of multiple external people, we don't share an office. Before we were always searching for files, and using file sharing services to transfer assets. Now everything is organized in 1 place. You can easily find the right files, and because it is in the cloud it is of course always available.

Pros

It's really easy to get started with Swivle, there is no big learning curve. The interface is easily understood. Our designer loves the InDesign plugin, because now we have all our layouts available in the cloud, with automatic versioning. The request upload feature is great for working with freelancers, and the build in share feature eliminates the need for other file sharing services!

Cons

The user interface is very easy, but the admin interface could be a bit simpler. When you set up new users and their access rights, there are a lot of different options which take a while to get used to.

Response from WoodWing

Replied September 2017

Thanks for the great review. Currently we are working on improving the admin interface. In our new version we have simplified the configuration of users, groups and rules.

March 2019

Daryl from Demme Learning

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2019

It's been helpful, overall.

Pros

easy to learn, Allows us to organize and quickly find digital assets

Cons

Some things I'd like to see: - a "duplicate" function (in addition to "copy") that copies the asset into the exact same folder, instead of restarting at the root directory and requiring navigation every time an asset needs copied. - InDesign integration that automatically connects to Swivle, instead of needing to manually reconnect assets every time. - InDesign asset reconnection where you can select individual assets in InDesign to connect to Swivle, instead of a blanket "connect all" option.

June 2019

Juan from The British School in the Netherlands

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

A great tool to increase my companies productivity

Swivle is a great tool for our organization, we have thousands of photos and while it is taking a while to curate and tagging them properly, we immediately saw the results. It is very easy to use and it optimized my departments' workflow substantially.

Pros

The Portal works quite well, and the fact that I can share a link to a particular collection with external parties is great. We are also making a lot of use on the Upload requests.

Cons

- Price is a little steep - Folder Sharing would be a nice add - When uploading in big numbers, sometimes there is issues

September 2017

Stefan from Twenty Ten

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Photography

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2017

Fast, clean and simple

We use it to archive every job in the cloud. Now everything is fast exessible thru the cloud. And we don't have to worrie about backups.

Pros

The interface is clean and simple. The uploading action is a simple drag and drop. Rules you can make for viewers in the management console.

Cons

Some files are not supported yet in the software. For example scans of a camera with the extension.fff

May 2019

Angela from SOURCE ONE APPRAISAL

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Swivle review

swivle was helpful in our transition from our prior photo database... product works great!

Pros

this is the most affordable ... most simple photo database we could find on the market ... for a small company, it was exactly what we needed!

Cons

no complaints... again simple to use... simple to keep up to date w/ our daily photos!

May 2018

Fernando from La Nación newspaper

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Newspapers

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Excellent solution to manage, share and archive your digital files

Pros

We are an agency of photographers in Argentina and we found in Swvile a definitive solution to archive, organize and share with our clients all our production of thousands of photographs as an image bank Exceeds extensively to all other file sharing services as its interface allows you to find and view files easily and quickly Another of its strengths are the tools to share and deliver your work with your clients through personalized portals It is also a great solution for people who want to have all their files online, organized and with easy access at any time and anywhere.

Cons

It can still improve its interface and some search tools like its filter system but I recognize that they are making adjustments permanently as they receive feedbacks

August 2019

Mandy from Bocci

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Swivle as image management application

Useful for sales to share images with people who are outside of the organization.

Pros

Easy to use compare to other image management application

Cons

Interface. Not compatible with small screen desktop. Lots bugs, constantly refreshing the page.

May 2018

Fredrik from AB Stenströms Skjortfabrik

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Really easy to use and low starting fee creates great value!

An easy implementation and a quick ROI

Pros

I have evaluated 4-5 different DAM solutions but Swivle is by far the most complete solution. Low starting cost and easy to add on users and features as you go makes it perfect for an evolving business. The Brand portal, ability to send upload requests and tag images is great. Its easy to create filter on files needing retouch etc.

Cons

Actually, I have found none so far. It´s working great and considering the features available that other DAM solutions only make available in their enterprise offerings, Swivle stands out.

May 2018

Gracie from CNM LLC

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

2.0

May 2018

We are a media company using Swivle for our daily editorial content online and our print content.

Pros

It gives us a way to have users find images by typing a keyword instead of thumbing through hundreds of photos in dropbox that aren't organized in any way.

Cons

It is slow. It seems the more photos that are uploaded the more difficult it is to move through the system with ease. Also the folder structure isn't that intuitive when it comes to searching. It should be able to search within all folders even if you have one folder selected. This has confused people in the past.

May 2019

Samie from Bustld

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Been looking for something like this for years!

Pros

I have been looking for a program to properly store our 20,000+ photos for years. Coming across Swivle made all the difference and has sped up our team's productiveness immensely. It is easy to use and tag, then find what you need later. Game changer.

Cons

It takes a lot of time to implement if you have a decent number of photos because you have to manually tag each one (unless it's tagged in the photos metadata).

September 2019

Brian from UCLA Herb Alpert School of Music

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Finally an affordable DAM solution with a sleek UI

Pros

It's easy to use, easy to provide password-protected access to our front-facing library.

Cons

The organization of the management pannels and how to minimize them isnt as intuitive as Id like so it takes some learning to maximize screen size. I also wish that I could make the images even smaller so I can scroll through more photos faster.

Reasons for Choosing Swivle

Swivle had the best price and the features we were looking for.

September 2019

Bruno from Swiss Museum of Transport

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Museums and Institutions

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Price vs. Features top!

We've searched an easy to use dam for our budget. Swivle providing all the needed functions and our staff is very happy to us it.

Pros

- Easy to use - intuitive User Interface - Web based - Easy to set up

Cons

Medias are in the cloud. If the internet connection is down, no access is possible. But this case is (fortunately) very rare

Reasons for Choosing Swivle

Easy to use / Pricing

May 2018

Paige from Union for Reform Judaism

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Swivle is a great way to organize & save high-quality photos! It's helped our organization out a lot

Pros

I like how you can add tags to photos to make searching easier. I also like the collection function, so you can easily share photos with someone who does not have access.

Cons

I think the interface when viewing photos could be better. It feels like I can't view a large number of photos on the screen at once when I'm scrolling through.

May 2018

Spencer from Unicity International

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

My team has been working on Swivle and really enjoy the ease of uploading and tagging.

Pros

I like the visual format of this software so it's easy for the end user to find files and references when digging for information.

Cons

So far I don't have any cons on the software as we are still exploring and getting familiar with the new digital tool.

May 2019

Martin from Blue Ventures

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Excellent digital asset management

allows our team to properly manage and share imagery and design assets

Pros

Ease of use, tagging and search functionality, InDesign integration,

Cons

would appreciate closer integration with lightroom