What are Umbraco CMS users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Umbraco CMS software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

3.93

14 Reviews

5
3
4
9
3
1
2
0
1
1
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Easy to use and preview work as you go to make amends and collaborate with colleagues."
  • icon"Umbraco is an easy to use system which I use daily in my role to build website pages, sharing information with members."
  • icon"The flexibility to create a range of different webpage layouts, without the need to do any coding is great, and the preview function is particularly useful."
  • icon"Basic stuff that should come out of the box like rel canonical tags etc. have to be custom coded - at least for the sites I have encountered. The search functionality within the CMS is horrible."
  • icon"Even then it was a hit or a miss which was not ideal. And even with a CDN in use, it was hard to get good PageSpeed scores with Umbraco."
  • icon"Therefore links become broken and you have to re-link post courier and then courier again."

Jump to:

Browse all Umbraco CMS Reviews

  • Have you used Umbraco CMS and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 14 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 14 of 14 reviews

Georgina

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

Umbraco review

We used Umbraco as a system to build the Scouts website. It is extremely well labeled, clear and intuitive. I have found that members of my team who need to use the software for their role are able to pick it up and use it easily.

Pros

Umbraco is an easy to use system which I use daily in my role to build website pages, sharing information with members. Main features which I like the most are that the templates and content blocks are easy to build on for administrators with basic understanding of website building. The labelling is clear and there are a wide variety of content blocks available to add. I find that Umbraco helps to create content which can be accessed by everyone. Using F12 and the ability to see how the information is viewed by users on different devices extremely useful, as well as the ability to caption images on the site, to allow users with screen readers to understand the information. In the search facility, it's extremely useful for a membership Organisation like the Scouts to be able to use the SEO hide from searches function. This helps to ensure that the right information reaches the right group of volunteers.

Cons

A feature which I think could be improved would be the ability to select and copy entire blocks from one website page to the next. It would also be useful to have more built in analytics of pages, rather than having to use additional add-ons like HotJar. An improvement to the software could be to use AI to improve the search function. When tagging in codex and the SEO, I spend time adding incorrect spellings of words in order for the webpage content to appear in the search bar if a incorrect spelling is made. It would be helpful if the system could identify regular incorrect spellings and add these as TAGs, so this doesn't have to completed manually.

User Profile

Ali

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

Powerful .NET-based CMS with the possibility of using the cloud or your servers

We have been using this CMS for many years and have used it for many of our clients' projects. There is also a two-week trial version that I think you should try and see how simple it is. It's Powerful .NET-based CMS with the possibility of using the cloud or installing on a local or custom web hosting server.

Pros

It is completely open-source, dot NET-based, and works very fast and smooth. I like the form builder section which is very simple and various forms can be easily created and used. The file and image management section is also very simple. Files and images can be easily categorized and named in custom folders. Also, it has a professional community and support team.

Cons

The online Photo editor is not professional enough and must upgrade. CMS has good facilities and performance on the windows servers and Microsoft Azure, but Umbraco developers must think about the Linux version because most projects are managed by Linux servers.

Reasons for choosing Umbraco CMS

It has great features and fair price, good community and professional support team.

Reasons for switching to Umbraco CMS

For a web project on Microsoft Azure, we needed a simple and open source CMS, it has all we need.

Sunaina

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

April 2021

Not my first choice when it comes to CMSs

Overall, if you have in-house devs ready to roll up their sleeves and custom code stuff, Umbraco should work out just fine. But if you are looking for a CMS that 'just works' out of the box, you may want to keep looking. At least that has been my experience thus far.

Pros

When you find your way around things, it is fairly easy to use. The pages can be updated fairly quickly and the WYSIWYG page editor is straightforward. What I liked the most was how quickly a page can be saved and published. But my list of gripes is probably longer than the stuff that I like.

Cons

Basic stuff that should come out of the box like rel canonical tags etc. have to be custom coded - at least for the sites I have encountered. The search functionality within the CMS is horrible. While carrying out some image optimisation, it was impossible to find the images with their URLs. I had to put in the exact filename to find those images. Even then it was a hit or a miss which was not ideal. And even with a CDN in use, it was hard to get good PageSpeed scores with Umbraco.

Reasons for choosing Umbraco CMS

It was not my call!

Brian

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2021

Umbraco - a great CMS option for .NET

Pros

Umbraco can be built and extended with C# (using Visual Studio), utilizes MVC framework, and is simple to setup. The newest version of Umbraco is being built with .NET Core, so it will likely get faster and continue to stay relevant in today's Microsoft .NET tech stack.

Cons

Occasional hiccups when starting are not uncommon. The errors provide less than ideal guidance on how to address them. Building your own property editor is done with Angular JS (older and less used as time goes on).

Reasons for choosing Umbraco CMS

Orchard I struggled to get working. It was slow and the content editing experience was not as good as Umbraco's. ButterCMS was looking like a good candidate and will likely be one that I try in the future for true headless CMS. Overall, Umbraco had the features I wanted, a fairly easy to customize backend, and the price (open source version) was right.

Jeremiah

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

Umbraco is a great CMS

We have over 300 websites based on the umbraco CMS. They are currently continually evolving and developing it. Umbraco 9 will be .net core to add even more flexability

Pros

Umbraco provides a lot of flexibility in setting up your website to give end users exactly how much or how little control and power over the content as you would like to provide them. It is very extendable with the ability to create about every type of web site you can imagine. It is built on microsoft .net currently which allows many developers to be able to dive in quickly to create solutions.

Cons

The learning curve is higher than some other CMS's out there but with that comes the extra ability to customize it more than other sites as well. The back end admin side is also light on Accessibility features at least up until version 8.14 or so.

Rene

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

A CMS Dream

Absolutely loved it and would choose to only work in this CMS if possible.

Pros

Ease of use, visual architecture/understanding where you were editing at all times, ability to access back-end configurations but logic to understand where they were located/how it related to front-end was extremely helpful. Good separation of code / content areas. Excellent media management and CDN with dynamic updating when an image/media file was replaced. Automation and features easily accessible/intuitive. Best user interface of any CMS on the market.

Cons

The cache seemed to work differently (better) but within a larger IT framework the cache caused a lot of issues in workflows overall. Everything else was the best.

Reasons for choosing Umbraco CMS

Cost and no annual lic fee

Charlotte

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

Umbraco

Generally good. Easy to use, and quick. Sometimes experience errors and deployment failures when too many users are in at the same time. Syncing issues from prep to prod cause problems.

Pros

Easy to use and easier to train other colleagues to use

Cons

Basic functionality at times. Content pages could offer more features. Least thing i like is when you deploy to courier a set of pages, Umbraco isn't clever enough to understand what needs to be deployed in a certain order. Therefore links become broken and you have to re-link post courier and then courier again.

Reasons for choosing Umbraco CMS

Easy to use

Kelly

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

Built our new site using Umbraco and it was easy

Overall, learning Umbraco from scratch six months ago to using it constantly now has been actually quite easy. I'm sure there's lots more to learn, but I think it's been a good upgrade for us.

Pros

What I liked the most was how intuitive it is. For the most part it was very straight forward to building our new public website using widgets and how it is structured. It is a much better CMS than our previous site.

Cons

It does have some interesting quirks, as most do. If you've made too many changes in a row things slow down and you need to refresh to keep it from randomly autofilling places you've already typed, but once you know what you need to do, it's not too bad.

Philipp

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

Katastrophe

Nicht zu empfehlen!

Pros

Ich kann wirklich keine Vorteile erkennen. Es gibt andere viel bessere CMS

Cons

Das CMS ist wirklich nichts für alle die sich ein bisschen Benutzerfreundlichkeit wünschen. Der Aufbau ist absolut wirr und macht teilweise keinen Sinn. Wenn man ein Problem hat sucht man lange nach Lösungen, oft ohne dafür eine Antwort zu kriegen oder man muss sich wieder an den Entwickler wenden. Dieses CMS kann ich nicht empfehlen. Vielleicht wenn man sich gerne viel mit Entwicklung auseinandersetzt aber dann muss man sagen, ist der Ertrag den man für die Zeit und die Leistung reinsteckt jämmerlich. Von mir aus gesehen fehlen auch die absoluten Basics die ein "Freundliches" CMS haben muss. Überlegt es euch gut. Ich nerv mich schon seit Monaten weil ich für einen Kunden der Umbraco benutzt das Online Marketing machen darf.

Tom

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

Umbraco CMS

Pros

Easy to use and preview work as you go to make amends and collaborate with colleagues.

Cons

Can be slow at times and often won't work well if multiple users are performing similar tasks at the same time.

Laura

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

Easy to use and great results

Pros

It's much easier to use than a CMS I had used previously. The flexibility to create a range of different webpage layouts, without the need to do any coding is great, and the preview function is particularly useful.

Cons

I haven't come across anything I dislike so far!

Jack

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

Great CMS

We use Umbraco to manage our websites and deploy content to thousands of users, it's reliable and fast!

Pros

We use Umbraco to manage our websites, it's a great CMS that makes managing a large and popular website slightly easier!

Cons

The system would really benefit from some additional plugins that allow for the backend to be easily customized by admins as user needs change.

Trevor

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2020

Very Good Product

We are using Umbraco to roll our a new digital banking platform. We are still in development, and it has proven to be stable.

Pros

Umbraco is a full featured CMS with many useful features. As knowledge grows with use of the product so too will utilization. The documentation and user forums are quite helpful. When building a site, it's preview function is useful to visualize how your site will look on different devices, quickly.

Cons

As this is a full featured products, the learning curve is a bit steep for beginners.

Matthew

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

Gets the job done

Pros

Easy to use, often self-explanatory. Always finding more and more helpful features.

Cons

Regular bugs when looking to upload images or deploy pages.

Showing 1 - 14 of 14 reviews
Umbraco CMS

Umbraco CMS

3.93/5 out of 14 reviews
PriceDemo