User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(18)

18

4 stars

(12)

12

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "What i like about vitrium is the easy to use function of it, there isn't too many issues so a smooth operating software is nice."

  • "Easy to track access, user friendly. Like the reports. Really professional and fast customer service. "

  • "Very well thought out product, protecting your content in commerce. Easy to integrate, 100% API enabled."

  • Cons

  • "Slow loading, and downloading times for PDF documents. Implementation took a little longer that we like, however it was still reasonable considering the complex systems we had to integrate with."

  • "Have had some glitches over the years. Weren’t able to reset access properly for a while. But the platforms rm seems quite it bit more stable recently."

  • "the only cons are the troubleshooting instructions can sometimes seem a little confusing to understand"

Browse Vitrium Security Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -36 of 14 results

January 2020

Mariana Giselle from Emu Systems

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

seems like a great company to grow with

Pros

The responsiveness of the Vitrium team has been great, and we have really appreciated their flexibility with our requests as we are all trying to figure out how to best implement their powerful DRM capabilities. Having everything trackable and protected has completely removed awkward NDA conversations about IP that we are still developing.

Cons

I guess because it is so applicable to so many ways of doing things, just trying to make sure we are integrating it properly and in conjunction with other aspects of our website development. That's not so much a reflection of Vitrium, though. They've been quite helpful in talking through applications with us.

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Secure and functional with great customer service

We were uncertain when going from a standard PDF approach to a more sophisticated digital rights management approach. It was new to us and we were unsure whether it would overly complicate the delivery of content. The people at Vitrium have gone the extra mile to help us out, from the very beginning. Service and access to the employees, even top management, are very important to us. This is something that usually does not happen when working with a big company. Rather than sending large PDFs that some email servers reject, we are now sending a link that provides simple, protected access to our content. We encounter a small customer-related problem from time to time, but the people at Vitrium are quick to help us resolve it. We highly recommend Vitrium without reservation.

Pros

Vitrium allows us to create a quick username and password for each customer, which speeds up our delivery process, compared to our previous system. The online web viewer is an easy way for customers to view the report. It also enables viewing on tablet computers.

Cons

The user interface does not display the number of devices on which users have accessed a document. That must be done manually by sorting and filtering a spreadsheet for each user and each document. A quick counter on the UI would be ideal, and should be simple to add.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Replied March 2019

We are so grateful for your kind words. Thanks for sharing your review. In more recent versions of Vitrium, and for the enterprise subscriptions only, there's additional information provided for a given User's record under the Clear Usage window. There, at a glance, one can see Device Use, IP Address Use, Print Use, and File Use. However, it would seem that also providing File Use WITH Device Use per file would be useful and would help identify potential issues with end-users sharing content credentials. Vitrium also has plans on adding a notification system where administrators can define 'triggers' for things such as a user accessing content from n or more devices (or IPs) within a specified period of time.

January 2020

Daniel from In-House Solutions Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Industrial Automation

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Great software for delivering protected documents to end users

Pros

Multitude of options for users. Manually creating IDs and keys is useful in some cases, integrating with out customer database so users automatically get access to appropriate documents is useful in most others. Downloadable protected PDFs or webviewer based documents used entirely in the browser satisfies almost every customer.

Cons

The very rare instance where a system update brings down the system for half an hour to an hour always somehow coincides with when my crankiest customer just happened to try accessing their documents.

January 2020

Carlos from Villarreal División Equipos SA de CV

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Import and Export

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

A natural use

The main challenge that our company always had is that our information was available to our clients in a simple and safe way, and it seems to me that this challenge has been met.

Pros

Actually for me it is very easy to use, I almost do not realize that I am using software, so I called this review "a natural use" since for me its use is already natural.

Cons

For now the experience has been excellent

January 2019

Ryan from IVES Training Group

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Business Supplies and Equipment

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

Satisfied

Satisfied. Customer service is helpful and have been able to resolve most issues quickly.

Pros

It is easy to use and does the job it needs to do.

Cons

I would like to see more features such as a secure way to put digital files on a thumb-drive or flash card. Also, I would suggest the following for files viewed online to make it function more inline with how adobe acrobat functions. - Add a toolbar button to show one page at a time and allow users to use PgUp/PgDown to flip (no scrolling) to the previous/next page. And make this compatible with a remote. - Add a toolbar button for true full screen mode where even the annotation tools are hidden from view.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Replied March 2019

Thanks, Ryan for your detailed review. The option to download a protected PDF file and store or distribute them on thumb-drives or flash cards exists for years now. The issue is that your system is configured to use True SSO which requires your users first authenticate against your back-end. If you need to distribute files and have those users manually login to receive the secured content, then you could also request a 2nd account from Vitrium Systems that doesn't use SSO. Since v7.2.1, based on your feedback/request, there is a navigation toolbar at the top of the Web Viewer window for moving between pages Up/Down icons (rather than scrolling) including a 'jump to page #' field. Also, full-screen reading mode is available. We will consider your request as a future enhancement. Today, the Web Viewer provides the means to collapse the bigger annotation bar (to the left) but leaves the smaller annotation menu bar. Above and to the left of the window is the scaling and zoom toolbar.

June 2018

Sterling from Trubu Media Group

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

One of the best and most affordable small business to enterprise level DRM solutions out there.

Pros

We use Vitrium mainly as a client PDF document security solution. It is cost effective, easy to use, with cogent and timely customer support that feels more like a part of your team rather than just another outsourced service run by low level customer service reps. When you need help. You get it directly from people who know the product and that save time, anxiety, and money.

Cons

With what it already does so efficiently with documents, would love for Vitrium to develop a multimedia DRM solution that covers audio and video so we wouldn't need to look for a DRM solution with a different company to cover those areas.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Replied March 2019

Thank, Sterling so much for taking the time to leave us this amazing review. I'm sure you already know this today, but Vitrium now supports much more than PDF's today. A complete list, including video, is available here: https://support.vitrium.com/hc/en-us/articles/360000423563-What-file-formats-does-Vitrium-Security-protect-

June 2018

Michael from Write2Spell2Read

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Vitrium Security offers easy-to-use DRM for PDFs and other formats.

Pros

The ability to manage access to our documents in a very specific way. The DRM for PDFs is very granular. No plugins or proprietary software are required. The web viewer is brilliant and brings our documents to any device while still maintaining control.

Cons

It is possible to defeat the DRM for PDFs, although this is not trivial or quick. It suits our product perfectly, because it does not contain sensitive information, but instead hundreds of pages of proprietary images. Removing the DRM from all these pages is unfeasible. However, if you are protecting short, sensitive documents, you are better off using the web viewer, whose DRM can't be defeated.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Replied March 2019

Thanks for the kudos, Michael. Yes, we also believe that our proprietary Web Viewer product is much more secure than Adobe's PDF spec and we are constantly adding new features based on customer feedback. Video support is one of the biggest core product changes we delivered last fall and we're in the process of enabling inter-linked PDF's while maintaining links between multiple documents; Ability to embed files in a PDF and access same in the Web Viewer; and more ...

December 2018

Lindsay from BlueOrange Compliance

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2018

Vitrium

My company uses Vitirum to encrypt sensitive reports and send them to our clients. We are a consulting company specializing in IT Security and HIPAA Compliance.

Pros

I like that this is a very easy method for our customers to use, unlike other methods I have employed in the past I never have customers coming back to me with issues or complaints.

Cons

I don't like that we have to be the one to set the password for the client, each client should be able to change the password on their first login when we create an account. Also we should be able to revoke access to a document once sent to one user without revoking all users rights. Lastly, I would like permissions to be more granular. It would be nice to be able to give customers the ability to print without giving them the ability to edit the document.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Replied March 2019

Thanks, Lindsay, for your valuable feedback. Revoking access can be handled by utilizing DRM Settings when provisioning content to an individual user (as is the case on your account today). Remove the DRM assignment (set it to 'not set') and the user will lose access. However, when the user is in a group and that group is granted DRM permissions, you would have to remove the user from the group otherwise the entire group of users would lose access. Your request about the password is in the pipeline but has not been scheduled for development as yet. We're not sure what you're describing as content as it is always read-only to an end-users. Perhaps you're describing annotations and printing? A suggestion is to reach out to support@vitrium.com and pose your concerns as our team will be more than happy to assist you to find solutions to the concerns.

January 2020

Jennifer from Burton-Taylor International Consulting

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

You want to use this product.

The team at Vitrium have created a great product AND provide outstanding customer service.

Pros

The Vitrium platform allowed our company to customize our own internal process.

Cons

We had a few issues with the platform when downloading PDFs. The platform easily lets users few documents on the web viewer but we have a lot of users that want to download the documents onto their desktops which wasn't always a seamless process.

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Great technical support for a somewhat difficult to use product

Pros

The support team is extremely helpful and patient in working to resolve the issues that may emerge from protecting, distributing and opening documents.

Cons

My experience has been that it takes a lot of troubleshooting to get the document settings right. Users often have difficulty operating the software.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Replied March 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We always aim to deliver a great experience. Vitrium has produced several more videos including detailed ones on our DRM implementation which can be confusing by times. You may want to review some of these or simply email support@vitrium.com if you have specific hurdles that you're trying to cross. Our videos can be found here: https://support.vitrium.com/hc/en-us/categories/360000918811-Videos

June 2018

Ron from IVES Traininig Group

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

I would recommend Vitrium to anyone looking to protect their content on PDF's

Protect our content.

Pros

Reliable software. Very acceptable uptime. Software patches delivered on weekends with minimal interruptions to our clients.

Cons

Slow loading, and downloading times for PDF documents. Implementation took a little longer that we like, however it was still reasonable considering the complex systems we had to integrate with.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Replied March 2019

Thanks, Ron for your review. Last fall, there was a significant improvement made to the web viewer which greatly improved its ability to render the protected HTML5 content. However, you may need to re-protect older content. Reach out to support@vitrium.com if you have performance issues and we'll be happy to work with you to resolve them.

June 2018

Amelina from Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

always been good tech support is quick and helpful

Pros

What i like about vitrium is the easy to use function of it, there isn't too many issues so a smooth operating software is nice.

Cons

the only cons are the troubleshooting instructions can sometimes seem a little confusing to understand

Response from Vitrium Systems

Replied March 2019

Thanks, Amelina for your review. Vitrium has produced several more videos including detailed ones on our DRM implementation which can be confusing by times. You may want to review some of these or simply email support@vitrium.com if you have specific hurdles that you're trying to cross. Our videos can be found here: https://support.vitrium.com/hc/en-us/categories/360000918811-Videos

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Does what it says

Pros

Lots of flexibility for users to access pdfs(our primary use) setting expiry and resetting access. Able to limit access b device IP so people can’t just share your hard work.

Cons

Have had some glitches over the years. Weren’t able to reset access properly for a while. But the platforms rm seems quite it bit more stable recently.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Replied March 2019

Thank you very much for your great review! We are glad that our DRM technology gives you control over your PDFs. It's one of our core values to continuously improve our products, services and processes.

June 2018

Madalina from iData Research Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Market Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Unfortunately, it has been slow recently

Pros

Easy to track access, user friendly. Like the reports. Really professional and fast customer service.

Cons

Unfortunately, it has been really slow recently. It happens with small and large documents. Not being able to see user's passwords.

Response from Vitrium Systems

Replied March 2019

Thanks, Madalina for your feedback. Users passwords are a known sore spot and we'll be addressing that in the near future with a password reset feature for the end-users. However, if you'r eexperiencing slowness, please reach out to support@vitrium.com and someone will gladly investigate and help resolve the issue.