All Vitrium Security Reviews

1-25 of 69 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Dot

Verified reviewer

Professional Training & Coaching, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

Vitrium is totally working for us and has taken our operations up a level

The global pandemic plummeted us into the online space and we urgently needed to address distributing content. Our priority is peace of mind knowing people have got what we need them to have rather than being ferociously restrictive about every single item of content. The makeshift method we previously used gave us no way of proving what people had received, and we had very little control. Now we make our course resources accessible via the portal before, and up to 14 days after each course, so delegates can print off, download or whatever they want (or whatever we allow), then are deactivated as users from our system. This means we can recycle user 'seats' and work within the budget of our user allocations. Being based in UK, although we sell globally, a significant majority of our customers are UK NHS Trusts which have stringent security settings. Previously we had a lot of problems with NHS delegates not being able to access their materials. These problems are now resolved thankfully.

PROS

The control dashboard is simple neat and clean and very logical. We love the portal system which you can edit to showcase company branding. We have made it accessible from our website so from a customer point of view everything is integrated and seamless. Watermarking content in user-specific or general ways to suit is brilliant, and checking out that people have got what they need ok for the courses we put on is of massive importance. Probably the best over-arching things are that everything works and the customer support is brilliant.

CONS

Don't kid yourself that you'll get the hang of everything within 10 mins of messing around with the settings. You do have to put the time in to get your head round it - but that's less of a 'con' and more a reflection of the eye-watering range of configuration options there are. So you do have to invest some quality time to learn it - but everything you need is there, and it totally works.

Reason for choosing Vitrium Security

I loved the product and the UK Sales person was totally un-pushy and really really helpful. I never felt any pressure to buy at all. Which worked for me!

Vendor Response

Hi Dot, thank you so much for this great review and all your kind words! We truly appreciate your feedback and your business. We're very happy you've had a positive experience with the software, and are glad to hear Vitrium was able to support you in your transition to digital content after the pandemic and has allowed your organization to grow! We're excited to continue to support you and your business.

Replied October 2022

Diana

Education Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Easily Protected Resources

The customer service team at Vitrium always responds very quickly to our questions, and thus we can still solve our end-users concerns promptly.

PROS

After evaluating different market options, we chose Vitrium to protect our Educational Resources and share with our customers because the implementation process and its use for our end users are amicable while keeping all the security features we need.

CONS

There is nothing that I don't like. I love the features they offer such as annotation tools, customized view, and l look forward to the new additions Vitrium will offer.

Reasons for switching to Vitrium Security

I switched to Vitrium because they offer protection via hyperlinks and include videos. Also, the end-users now with Vitrium don't need to install any additional software. The process is transparent for my end-users. This was critical for me because many end-users refuse to install additional programs.

Vendor Response

Hi Diana, thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're thrilled to know that you're happy with the software and that there's nothing you dislike or have troubles with. Unlike our competitors, allowing our customers to protect multiple contet types, such as videos, is one of our priorities. We aim to make the journey for you and your end users as seamless as possbile, and pride ourselves on the fact that Vitrium does not require end users to download any kind of apps or plug-ins to access content.

Replied October 2022

Ryan

Business Supplies and Equipment, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2019

Satisfied

Satisfied. Customer service is helpful and have been able to resolve most issues quickly.

PROS

It is easy to use and does the job it needs to do.

CONS

I would like to see more features such as a secure way to put digital files on a thumb-drive or flash card. Also, I would suggest the following for files viewed online to make it function more inline with how adobe acrobat functions. - Add a toolbar button to show one page at a time and allow users to use PgUp/PgDown to flip (no scrolling) to the previous/next page. And make this compatible with a remote. - Add a toolbar button for true full screen mode where even the annotation tools are hidden from view.

Vendor Response

Thanks, Ryan for your detailed review. The option to download a protected PDF file and store or distribute them on thumb-drives or flash cards exists for years now. The issue is that your system is configured to use True SSO which requires your users first authenticate against your back-end. If you need to distribute files and have those users manually login to receive the secured content, then you could also request a 2nd account from Vitrium Systems that doesn't use SSO. Since v7.2.1, based on your feedback/request, there is a navigation toolbar at the top of the Web Viewer window for moving between pages Up/Down icons (rather than scrolling) including a 'jump to page #' field. Also, full-screen reading mode is available. We will consider your request as a future enhancement. Today, the Web Viewer provides the means to collapse the bigger annotation bar (to the left) but leaves the smaller annotation menu bar. Above and to the left of the window is the scaling and zoom toolbar.

Replied March 2019

Patrick

Publishing, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

Vitrium suits our needs to a T.

Vitrium made it possible for us to work with remote dealers for our products and provide them with an easy-to-use solution. The training and ongoing support we've received from Vitrium has been exemplary, which goes a long way toward inspiring confidence in their product.

PROS

We had a very specific need for supplying protected PDF documents to a select audience, and when we researched the various vendors in this space, Vitrium just checked all the boxes. Their software provides the level of protection we need, while still allowing for high-resolution printing without providing uncontrolled access to source documents.

CONS

Adding new users and setting up their access to individual documents (and modifying access for existing users) can be somewhat cumbersome; I wouldn't mind seeing Vitrium streamline this somewhat by enhancing the functions available in some dialog boxes.

Reason for choosing Vitrium Security

Vitrium offered a product that fit our needs more closely AND had a better price point.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for your great review, Patrick! We're very happy to hear Vitrium was the right DRM choice for you & has been able to help you provide protected PDFs to your customers without being too restrictive.

Replied October 2022

James

Security and Investigations, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2020

A systemic approach to system processes

It is the key factor which enables us to securely leverage our content for customer. It can sometimes prove challenging.

PROS

It was easy to use once I had the training required

CONS

It was difficult to implement for the team

Reason for choosing Vitrium Security

It worked within our platform to deliver the best results at the time.

Vendor Response

Hi James. Thank you for your feedback. CSA Group has helped push the envelope with DRM features and polices in Vitrium that our system wasn't originally designed to enforce, but that it does today. While your learning curve may have been steep, the system continues to evolve every few months with CSA's and other brilliant feature requests. The content protection offered and the tracking included are second to none.

Replied March 2020

Federico

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2022

Digital Right Management made easy

PROS

Cloud based Web portal allow quick deploy and fruition for end users. Print and Copy restrictions work properly and are not too difficult to understand and setup. Reporting could be improved but already has built in most reports.

CONS

No out-of-the-box connectors for other Content management systems but there are APIs to allow you reach the target if needed.

Reason for choosing Vitrium Security

Cloud based, Right priced, easy to setup and understand.

Reasons for switching to Vitrium Security

Outdated platform and very expensive migration to a same vendor solution.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2018

Secure and functional with great customer service

We were uncertain when going from a standard PDF approach to a more sophisticated digital rights management approach. It was new to us and we were unsure whether it would overly complicate the delivery of content. The people at Vitrium have gone the extra mile to help us out, from the very beginning. Service and access to the employees, even top management, are very important to us. This is something that usually does not happen when working with a big company. Rather than sending large PDFs that some email servers reject, we are now sending a link that provides simple, protected access to our content. We encounter a small customer-related problem from time to time, but the people at Vitrium are quick to help us resolve it. We highly recommend Vitrium without reservation.

PROS

Vitrium allows us to create a quick username and password for each customer, which speeds up our delivery process, compared to our previous system. The online web viewer is an easy way for customers to view the report. It also enables viewing on tablet computers.

CONS

The user interface does not display the number of devices on which users have accessed a document. That must be done manually by sorting and filtering a spreadsheet for each user and each document. A quick counter on the UI would be ideal, and should be simple to add.

Vendor Response

We are so grateful for your kind words. Thanks for sharing your review. In more recent versions of Vitrium, and for the enterprise subscriptions only, there's additional information provided for a given User's record under the Clear Usage window. There, at a glance, one can see Device Use, IP Address Use, Print Use, and File Use. However, it would seem that also providing File Use WITH Device Use per file would be useful and would help identify potential issues with end-users sharing content credentials. Vitrium also has plans on adding a notification system where administrators can define 'triggers' for things such as a user accessing content from n or more devices (or IPs) within a specified period of time.

Replied March 2019

Ron

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2020

DRM including video streaming

Digital rights management made easy and well as the ability to have DRM on streaming products such as videos.

PROS

Single sign on capability, test account included to use in test environments, fantastic customer support from implementation to the end user stage.

CONS

For true single sign on DNS routing and web service calls/ urls need to be configured, not a CON so to speak, just something to be aware of.

Vendor Response

Hi Ron, thank you for your feedback! As one of our longest standing customers, we truly appreciate your business and look forward to continue to support you and your team! You were one of the first to take the leap into video protection with us, and we're happy to know a few years later you're still reaping the benefits of the Vitrium software.

Replied October 2022

Daniel

Industrial Automation, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

Great software for delivering protected documents to end users

PROS

Multitude of options for users. Manually creating IDs and keys is useful in some cases, integrating with out customer database so users automatically get access to appropriate documents is useful in most others. Downloadable protected PDFs or webviewer based documents used entirely in the browser satisfies almost every customer.

CONS

The very rare instance where a system update brings down the system for half an hour to an hour always somehow coincides with when my crankiest customer just happened to try accessing their documents.

Vendor Response

Hi Daniel. Thanks for the feedback. Your comment is very true as no matter when we schedule an update, there's always someone globally that could be affected. However, we're now down to only minutes of downtime for an update due to greatly streamlined and automated release capabilities and soon may not have any downtime as we continue to evolve our system deployment abilities. This fully automated deployment can even be passed on to our self-hosted enterprise customers. Everyone is looking forward to that day!

Replied March 2020

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Easy and Effective PDF Protection

We have had a great experience in using Vitrium Security to protect documents which we deliver to our customers. Over the past 5+ years, Vitrium has added value to the information which we provide to our clients, and we are very happy with the service.

PROS

We appreciate the ease of use and the effectiveness in the protection afforded our documents in using Vitrium Security.

CONS

The sole area in which we would like to see improvement is in an easier method for users to select their own user name and password options for viewing documents.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your review. We are glad that you┬┐ve had a great experience in using Vitrium Security. Permissions are granted via user names which, in most cases, will be an email address. As many of the systems are integrated to 3rd party back-end systems, these email addresses are required to remain static in order to maintain the system relationships. However, an administrator of the Vitrium Administration UI can make the change to the end-users email address. However, an end-user must consult with the content vendor to request such a change.

Replied March 2019

Jennifer

Market Research, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

Vitrium PDF Protect Review

Excellent platform that has allowed our company to track usage and enforce DRM policies well.

PROS

Excellent ability to control and enforce user DRM policies.

CONS

They are some customizations that should just be part of the pricetag.

Reason for choosing Vitrium Security

Better price and bang for your buck.

Maria

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2020

Review from BSRIA information centre

Pretty easy to use from an administrators' point of view. But overall the customer experience has been better with the previous software we've used eg Locklizard - easier to search, download and print etc.

PROS

Easy to use for the administrator Multiple formats to share information Can limit number of prints and viewing to comply with British copyright Easy to load documents Easy web access - don't have to download bespoke viewing software Good software processing speeds and reasonable download speeds

CONS

Can be difficult for customers to print I have to be careful how I edit a document eg not use crop facility otherwise that hinders printing - eg it prints only one page at a time It is not easy to create reports - at least the customised reports that I would like eg how many items have been ordered/assigned and who ordered them I've not be able to find a way of viewing what a customer has ordered and editing the order (eg view and edit order history)

Reason for choosing Vitrium Security

Adobe makes you download another piece of software - customers hate that - and it doesn't limit printing to 2 copies only, which is what we needed.l

Reasons for switching to Vitrium Security

As question above

Vendor Response

Hi Maria, I know our team has spoken to you about your concerns. On the web viewer side, we released a brand new viewer earlier this year (May 2022) which has vastly improved the printing capabilities - no more funny cropping issues! While yes, our downloadable protected PDFs do require the Adobe app, usually we find Adobe Reader is quite a common PDF viewer that people use today. However, I'm happy to report that we now also support PDF-XChange Editor as well. Our customers like you choose Vitrium DRM software over our competitors because our competitors' products normally require users to download additional plug-ins or proprietary apps. With our web viewer, nothing additional needs to be installed and no messy plug-ins need to be installed for Adobe or PDF-XChange users either!

Replied October 2022

Linda

Publishing, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

The Best Option

Vitrium has been a critical part of my business. They have always treated my small business very professionally, as if I was a big business to them. Customer Support is very responsive. Excellent customer support.

PROS

Vitrium PDF protection has been a wonderful partner for my business since 2008. They are on top of changes in technology and have been very willing to understand and adapt to the unique requirements of my business. I am glad I chose them when I did.

CONS

Only compatible with Adobe Reader because of unique printing requirements. Unique printing requirements also mean that my customers cannot use protectedpdfs on iPads and other tablets.

Reason for choosing Vitrium Security

Most of the other PDF protection did not have the print options required.

Reasons for switching to Vitrium Security

CDs are old tech and I needed a downloadable solution.

Vendor Response

Hi Linda, we truly appreciate your feedback. We're really happy to hear you've had a great experience with our product, especially since you've been with us for over 10 years! We strive to stay on top of technological advances, and to successfully grow and adapt to the changing times. We will always provide you with the best support and will never dismiss your concerns based on the size of your business, that's a promise!

Replied October 2022

Sterling

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

One of the best and most affordable small business to enterprise level DRM solutions out there.

PROS

We use Vitrium mainly as a client PDF document security solution. It is cost effective, easy to use, with cogent and timely customer support that feels more like a part of your team rather than just another outsourced service run by low level customer service reps. When you need help. You get it directly from people who know the product and that save time, anxiety, and money.

CONS

With what it already does so efficiently with documents, would love for Vitrium to develop a multimedia DRM solution that covers audio and video so we wouldn't need to look for a DRM solution with a different company to cover those areas.

Vendor Response

Thank, Sterling so much for taking the time to leave us this amazing review. I'm sure you already know this today, but Vitrium now supports much more than PDF's today. A complete list, including video, is available here: https://support.vitrium.com/hc/en-us/articles/360000423563-What-file-formats-does-Vitrium-Security-protect-

Replied March 2019

Patricia

Non-Profit Organization Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2021

Review of Vitrium features

PROS

Vitrium is able to accommodate some of our business requirements that are enhancements to their product. They are easy to integrate with.

CONS

Vitrium should consider enhancing their APIs to allow for bulk processing, as we have run into issues when we submit a large number of API requests. Also, they need to support more PDF readers.

Vendor Response

Hi Patricia, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Vitrium! Oct 2022 update: We wanted to provide an update here as we have reached out to Patricia's team about this too. Vitrium has made vast improvements to its processing speed over the past couple of years for content processing. We do also offer a bulk upload & conversion utility, which is used by a few of our larger Enterprise customers too. We're always making more improvements to our server and back-end processing as we bring on larger customers like yours Patricia!

Replied October 2022

Courtney

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

Extremely helpful in keeping our client's documents secure

Very positive - we are a long-term client, and the price is very reasonable and fair for the benefits we have experienced. Has been very useful in helping to keep client documents and personal information secure. It just works the way we need it to!

PROS

Easy to set up and use. Easy to create log in details Easy to customise use specifically to needs of our company. Reliable company that is helpful when asked.

CONS

The way we use it means that the number of users can expand rapidly and removing users can take quite a bit of time.

Vendor Response

Oct 2022 update: Hi Courtney, we know we've updated you about the improvements we made in our software to support deleting multiple users at a time, but we want to thank you for providing this feedback. We add requests like this to our roadmap and it's great when we can release them and notify our customers about these improvements based on your feedback!

Replied October 2022

Aaron

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT