Zamzar

Zamzar Reviews

RATING:

4.63

(19)

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.63

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

5

Customer Support

4

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"For us conversion og PowerPoint presentations to JPEG is of great importance. It's done smooth and Zamzar crew were fast to customize to our needs regarding bigger image sizes."
  • icon"It is really simple to use, and it's faster than I thought it would be. The free version that we are using has a good allotment of conversions too."
  • icon"Zamzar is extremely easy to use - you upload the original file, select the target format and wait for a moment while the file is being converted."
  • icon"If I *had* to find one con, it's the inability to have several separate api keys for different environments. I ended up having more than one account with them to accomodate this."
  • icon"Some files that we have used have been really large, and have taken a while to convert. They also come across strange, as if they were translated differently."
  • icon"Sometimes the files come across a little weird. Also, they recently started charging for more than 5 conversions per day."

All Zamzar Reviews

1-19 of 19 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Matteo

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Machinery

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Conversione online gratuita

Uso frequentemente il servizio soprattutto per la conversione di fogli di calcolo dal vecchio formato .xls al nuovo formato .xlsx o per convertire su iPad un foglio di calcolo in un file .csv da importare sull’ERP aziendale.

Pros

Ottimo strumento web per la conversione dei file nei formati più disparati.

Cons

La versione gratuita ha un limite di 2 files ogni 24 ore.

Reasons for choosing Zamzar

Dopo diverse prove, ho riscontato una maggiore affidabilità nella conversione, soprattutto per la generazione di file .csv.

Bruno

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2020

Very reliable file conversions of high quality

Pros

The service just works. We've tried other file conversion services in the past, and the results were very disappointing. With Zamzar, the results are consistently good. Also, their support is friendly and responsive.

Cons

No real cons. The product is great. If I *had* to find one con, it's the inability to have several separate api keys for different environments. I ended up having more than one account with them to accomodate this. Not a huge deal.

Reasons for choosing Zamzar

Quality of conversion, responsiveness of their support team.

Shanon

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Photography

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

January 2022

Be Careful

I decided to try their free converter. The site made me use my credit card. I tried four images and then never used them again as I had the images converted professionally. Zamzar started to charge me. I received no email bill or anything. After three months I noticed a charge on my credit card. I had to Google them as I forgot who they were even, then go to their site and sign in and manually cancel. I use software from many companies and they all send an email invoice or confirmation except for Zamzar. It is a small amount so it is under the radar. I feel it is intentional and they scam people knowing most will not notice.

Pros

It was fairly easy to use and try overall

Cons

Hidden billing, started being charged and received no confirmation email or invoice

Response from Zamzar

Hi Shanon, we're glad you found our service easy to use. Sorry that you didn't realise that you'd signed up for a paid account with us, though. We offer a genuinely free service for up to 2 files per 24 hours, but as you were converting more than 2 files you would have been informed that you'd need to create a paid account to proceed. At the point you create a paid account, you select a plan to sign up to, select whether you want a monthly or annual subscription, enter your payment details, and agree to the price and terms of the subscription. We don't take any payment without you authorising this through the subscription signup form. The subscription then continues until you cancel it, which you can do at any time. We also send a confirmation email after you sign up, but it may be that this went into your spam folder. If you have any questions about your account, you can contact us directly at support@zamzar.com, and we'll be happy to help. From the Zamzar team.

Replied November 2022

User Profile

Jitendra

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Writing and Editing

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2022

A quick and easy way to convert file types

In my role as a blogger, I am quite satisfied with the document conversion capabilities of Zamzar

Pros

I liked the straightforward and quick conversion process of Zamzar along with its super friendly dashboard that shows the live status of document conversion. I also loved the easy way to get the converted document delivered directly to my email. I can download it directly on my computer. The entire thing is very easy and smooth. I no longer need to wrestle with the technicalities of converting files or document types- all thanks to the automated conversion procedure of Zamzar.

Cons

I think that the current limit of document conversion on basic version is insufficient for many real life use cases and it can be increased.

Robin

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2020

Most accurate docx to pdf conversion we have found

We have found our experience with Zamzar over the years we have used it to be fantastic. They were receptive to a tiered pricing structure as our requirements changed, have a friendly support team that is always helpful and their API that we use daily to send documents to for conversion has always been available and had no issues.

Pros

We looked at several docx to pdf cloud based converters a couple of years back that could recreate the layouts and fonts that we used in our documents. None that we tried were able to accurately convert the documents apart from Zamzar. We had originally questioned whether the cost to use the service was worth it but when you consider the complexities of building your own solution and maintaining it we realised that the cost was largely irrelevant. We use Zamzar's developer API in order to send docx files to it and have them returned back to our software. It has been rock solid over the last couple of years with no down time. The time to convert a file is always been within 5 seconds (I think).

Cons

If we really had to nitpick, we would love it if we didn't have to poll the API to check to see when the document had been converted and instead it could be more efficient if they could provide us with a web hook (maybe this is possible and we just haven't asked!).

Reasons for choosing Zamzar

It had the most accurate conversion of docx to pdf files.

Teisha

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Professional Training & Coaching

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2019

Great way to doctor PDFs

Good program...better when it was free but the best one I'm aware of.

Pros

As far as I can tell this is the best converting software out there and I've used a few. I believe this is referring to Zamzar based on the logo...anyways, when you convert a PDF on this program it comes over the way it looked on the PDF, pretty logical right? However, all their competitors aren't as clean at this process. Other software options, while converting a PDF, send the docx over in a weird format and sometimes so bad that it is unusable. Zamzar sends it over the way it is supposed to work..you can quickly edit and re-save without issue.

Cons

It used to be totally free but recently someone must of purchased them or they changed their business plan because now you can only do two free conversions every 24 hours which does cramp my style a bit. The pricing is pretty reasonable I guess but I'm fighting as to whether we move on it. This is why I know some of these other programs because I wanted to find another free version.

Anonymous

Company size: 1 employee

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2022

File conversion in a pinch

I use a lot of different attachments from various sources and many types of files while at work. Zamzar gives me the confidence that I can take any kind of document and convert it into the sort of file I need at the time.

Pros

Fast file conversions. Simply process anyone can do it. Any type of file can be converted to any other type of file.

Cons

To be honest I can't think of any cons with Zamzar never having any issues.

Matthew

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2019

Great resource and value

Great resource and would recommend it to anyone.

Pros

It is super easy to convert PDF files over to doc files. It is a quick process and you can start editing the document without and issue.

Cons

Sometimes the files come across a little weird. Also, they recently started charging for more than 5 conversions per day.

Staffan

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2020

superb

Pros

For us conversion og PowerPoint presentations to JPEG is of great importance. It's done smooth and Zamzar crew were fast to customize to our needs regarding bigger image sizes.

Cons

not much. At the moment we are satisfied with the service.

Jonathan

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2020

Invaluable software for file conversion

Pros

Ease of implementation Great file conversion fidelity Rapid support time

Cons

There's great value but I would love to see pricing tiers continue to decrease as we use more.

Kamila

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Translation and Localization

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2022

Hassle-free web-based file conversion tool

Pros

Zamzar is extremely easy to use - you upload the original file, select the target format and wait for a moment while the file is being converted. The software handles an extensive list of file formats and types, not only in the document domain, but also for multimedia or even e-books (!).

Cons

Even though Zamzar does process design-heavy files (pdf and the like) into editable document formats, the layout and text quality leaves quite a lot to be desired - so in these cases it's much better to employ proper OCR software and/or an actual human operator.

Ashley

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2019

ZamZar

USE THEM ALL THE TIME! Love them!

Pros

This online conversion has been a life saver or shall I say Job saver.

Cons

There are some files that are bigger and do take longer and so, you have to be able to not be at a deadline when doing something just in case it take a day or two.

Anonymous

Company size: 1 employee

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2019

Great for converting files

I use this as a freelance translator to convert various file formats.

Pros

This software makes it easy to convert files from one format to another, like jpg to pdf. Great for my needs.

Cons

Nothing I can think of at the moment. It fits my needs as a freelancer who needs to convert files from time to time.

Brendan

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2022

Amazing and simple file conversion software

Pros

I do a lot of research and reading, and most of the time that content is in PDFs. A number of times there have been files with resources and text that I can put to use, but my PC doesn’t have a native app that let’s me edit and copy from PDFs. Instead, I convert them to word files and go from there. Zamzar is so easy and fast for that. It’s one of my top bookmarks.

Cons

The paywall makes sense. They still let you use it for free, but sometimes I run into the daily limit on the free plan.

Anonymous

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2018

Quick and easy conversion. Great selection of file types

Pros

It is simple to use and does a very fast job of converting files. Additionally, the free version comes with a decent amount (max 100) of conversions, which is good for the quantity we use it for.

Cons

It doesn't convert all file types, but covers the basics for video, audio, image, document, etc. It doesn't convert things like step files or CAD to the best of my knowledge.

Nathaniel

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

November 2019

Great file converter

Pros

I convert files on occasion from PDF to docx to make some adjustments to documents prior to sending them to clients. The process is very quick and simple. It has been improved over the years which has made it a lot easier. Rather than send you an email to download you can do it straight from the browser which I really like.

Cons

You never had to pay for this until recently...I get it but I'm used to doing this as many times as I need for free but now I can only do it twice. I can usually get by but sometimes not so much.

Emily

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Facilities Services

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2019

Excellent Resource

Pros

It is really simple to use, and it's faster than I thought it would be. The free version that we are using has a good allotment of conversions too.

Cons

Some files that we have used have been really large, and have taken a while to convert. They also come across strange, as if they were translated differently.