All OpenGov Permitting & Licensing Reviews

1-25 of 76 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Marlene

Government Administration, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Viewpoint Cloud

Viewpoint makes the overall permitting experience very easy. Of course there are a few older contractors that aren't comfortable on computers yet but overall everyone is happy. It also makes it easy for solar companies to pull their permits when they're out of state, they don't have to set a date to have someone drive down to pull it, they can do it right from their office.

PROS

I like the usability of the program. I like how fast and easy looking up permits is when title searchers and realtors come in to see permits and showing them how to use the website from their offices, and they like that they have access to it 24/7 as well. I like the capability of scanning in documents making my job filing much easier reducing the amount of paper we keep in the office.

CONS

The only gripe I have is locations for condos, apartments, or co-ops are hard for residents and contractors to find. Usually requires them calling to find out what address to use to get through the application. Also, the inability to delete a unit # once created I wish there was an option to be able to do that, in case its a duplicate.

James

Utilities, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

Good Service

In its current state, I enjoy it and find it easy to use. It is a far better system then the paper records the municipality used to use.

PROS

This software was a little rough in the beginning, but after some updates as well as other users getting used to it in the municipality that I work in, it's become pretty reliable. I like the ease that users have to upload documents and my ability to view and download them. I also especially like the ability to make comments internally.

CONS

I have not found an easy way to check permits that I have already completed. I see what looks like that option in my profile, however nothing loads when I click on completed. I also get spammed with "documents have been uploaded" to my email when they are uploaded on permits. This is not always important for me to know, and I do not see any settings that I can filter what kind of emails I receive from viewpointcloud.

Brad

Government Administration, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed December 2019

Needs work

The system is skipping the Fire Department on permits and the Demo permits are being approved by Engineering Department and not forwarded to Building official. Last I knew the code drop down box did not have option for 2019 new codes. It is difficult to process the CO's in Viewpoint it is a lot easier in Opal.

PROS

I can access the program from my I pad remotely.

CONS

Customer support is a big problem - there is no contact person for municipalities and it is a lot worse for customers filing permits who are having difficulty and have nobody at viewpoint to get assistance from. Contact information needs to be posted at the top of page when logged on to system. Please call [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] he has tried to file permit since yesterday afternoon.

Reasons for switching to OpenGov Permitting & Licensing

Statewide permitting

Susan

Government Administration, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2021

Parking permitting

Helpful with less traffic of people with the pandemic. It is more useful when documents are inaccurate you just send message and request information. This is also helpful when it is a renewal period, making the influx easier to handle.

PROS

integration very helpful during the covid period. Without the in person transaction the process through Opengov is so much more manageable.

CONS

I wish fixes with problems happened much quicker. It does seem to take a lot of time to resolve a problem.

Reasons for switching to OpenGov Permitting & Licensing

Ease of use, multiple offices can use

Ben

Public Safety, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2021

Monroe County Project Manager

The overall experience has been great. Files are organized, easy to find and everything is paperless. Inspections are much easier and faster since the software is portable and permits can be issued on site.

PROS

Every individual project is in one file. Easy to use and find files as needed.

CONS

Upload voicemails to the system. This would be very helpful with Code Enforcement and Court.

Reasons for switching to OpenGov Permitting & Licensing

BDS was out of date. Everything was paper so you would have to do an inspection and write everything down and then come back to the Office and type everything up. Then you would have to go and get signatures from Department heads and the applicant.

Tamie

Government Administration, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2019

It's OK

disappointing overall!! I personally was not here when this software was first installed. I had to figure it own on my own. We tried to get View Point to come here to help us with showing us all the features...(which I'm sure I do not know about or haven't figured out or had the time)....but of course that comes with a high price tag !!! The town was not willing to pay such a high price for them to come here for a couple hours from Boston, which is only 50 miles away to really see what the software has to offer!! And I don't have time to read pages and pages of "help/support"

PROS

Being able to look up permits at your fingertips. We are not live to the point of customers using it and we just use it for Inspectional Permits

CONS

Reports.... not easy to figure out and use. Lots of long processing time....issues getting bumped out while working on a permit. Small annoying issues of such as addresses not recognized when they clearly are there and exist. sometimes I just deal with the annoying issues and don't bother with support, because, mostly it's not worth it!

Reason for choosing OpenGov Permitting & Licensing

Unfortunately the previous Building Commissioner suggested it because another town was using it and recently found out that they no longer use it?? This was purchased long before I got here and it was our IT dept that handled it?

Michael

Public Safety, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2019

Viewpoint works well

Viewpoint is used city wide and has made our permitting process for city wide permitting and tracking so much easier. End of year tallies are a breeze.

PROS

This product has made our permitting process easier.

CONS

A lot of our contractors and customers don't like using viewpoint but if they want a permit they get used to it.

Reason for choosing OpenGov Permitting & Licensing

I was not in that process.

David

Government Administration, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

The funcitionallity of this software

PROS

Very comprehensive, includes lots of information

CONS

Ever time there is an upgrade or even a change in the look, there seems to be a lack of testing before the release. The glitches seem to take days or even weeks to repair. Which is frustrating.

Reasons for switching to OpenGov Permitting & Licensing

It was decided by the State Building Officials

Jeffrey

Government Administration, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2020

Permitting

Increased public use.

PROS

User friendly on the public side. Ability to customize the platform.

CONS

Reporting. Can't produce the forms we need, requiring us to still use paper forms.

Reason for choosing OpenGov Permitting & Licensing

RI State support of the product.

Reasons for switching to OpenGov Permitting & Licensing

More widely used platform.

Andrew

Public Safety, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

One change would be helpful

PROS

The ability to see what the others in my office are working on, and for keeping a permanent record of correspondence on a job.

CONS

On the contractor's side, they can only put one email address on a job. It would be nice the design professional, the contractor, and the owner all could receive emails on status changes, comments, and inspections.

David

Government Administration, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed December 2019

Could be better

I work for Richmond as well and approve all permits

PROS

For all easy permits like re-roof hot water heater replacement and so on, all that need little to no review

CONS

So many things that could make this system so much better and easier I would love to sit down and go over ideas but after many years since this system was just being proposed I have tried to make contact with viewpoint to no avail Seems like no one wants to improve the site

Reason for choosing OpenGov Permitting & Licensing

Wanted to try and state was pushing hard, I’m glad I did not for west Greenwich still too many issues

Dorinda

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2020

ViewPoint struggles to suceed due to the company itself

ViewPoint Cloud has streamlined the permitting process and helped us get to a near paperless process. This has been accomplished with a lot of work on our side and little to no support from ViewPoint. ViewPoint chronically overpromises and underdelivers. The ViewPoint Cloud product is o.k. and has great potential. The company has a lot to be desired. ViewPoint has recently been purchased, we have hopes that they can turn the management of the product around.

PROS

Once it is set up and works, it works well.

CONS

The company support is not there and it is difficult it get an accurate answer out of the company. They constantly promised that the "product could do that" or "ViewPoint would set that up for us", but after we committed to it we found that we did not get what was promised. Luckily we have most of the promises in writing, but that only helps so much if a product does not have that capability. The company will also do very little to set the system up for you. You must do nearly all the set-up and configuration yourself. Be ready to commit significant time to this to make it successful.

Reason for choosing OpenGov Permitting & Licensing

Cost

Paul

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2019

Great idea but...

PROS

The amount of information available is fantastic

CONS

Freezes a lot. Logs out randomly. Recognizes my password half the time. Its almost a guarantee that if I’m doing enforcement and I need to verify a permit for an address it will either log me out or freeze up. Such a great idea but needs some serious tuning to be worthy of the responsibility we rely on it for.

Tricia

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Permitting program that is easy to implement and very customizable

There are issues that have come up and the chat feature is helpful.

PROS

Ease of customizing, changing forms, adding restrictions, altering workflow. Hassle free

CONS

The software operates on a parcel base-that is based on homes and addresses. Our department manages municipal assets so we deal in street/ right of way location. This may seem like a subtle difference but it can be a problem especially around mapping permit locations

Nickolas

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

User Friendly

PROS

Very easy to use. We were able to add a few things and tweak a few things to best suit our needs.

CONS

Sometimes there is an issue when using an i-pad, but I believe that is an i-pad problem.

Alison

Government Administration, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2022

Town review

Helps keeps the office organized.

PROS

It is very user friendly, easy to communicate between inspectors

CONS

Sometimes slow and has connectivity issues, could be our internet system

James

Government Administration, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2019

I'm just a user in another Dept...

PROS

Can access scanned documents like building plans.

CONS

Poor export functionality. Lack of printed forms and reports.

Reasons for switching to OpenGov Permitting & Licensing

I'm in the Tax Assessor's office so I do not know

Terry

Government Administration, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Over the Top

PROS

The ease and user friendly of Viewpoint having everything in front of you on screen

CONS

sometimes how long it took to connect, but that was not viewpoint,

Jade

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE