All Cisco Jabber Reviews

1-25 of 1,320 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Chris

1,001 - 5,000 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed May 2022

Taking my office phone on the go!

User Profile

Benjamin

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

Excellent business-level communications

As far as chat/messaging utilities goes, you really can't beat this one since it easily integrates with many other cisco software products making for a seamless experience when working with others and communicating with clients.

PROS

It has most of the basic functions to allow easy communication and sharing of documents in an office environment. It also organizes any files making them easy to locate later when needed.

CONS

The history it stores for communications is a bit limited at times especially when you realize you need to go back to review a conversation only to find it was just outside the time limit it saves.

Reasons for switching to Cisco Jabber

The integration with other Cisco products was the primary reason.

David

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Where did Jabber go?

When we used Cisco Jabber, it satisfied our business needs with ease 7 years ago, but with licensing moving to the cloud, it makes the overall solution expansive without giving much value back

PROS

Cisco Jabber brought great chat and video capability to the PBX platform with little difficulty to deploy it into the environment

CONS

With everything moving to the cloud, WebEx software is taking over the software adding unnecessary bloatware into the simple environment

Reason for choosing Cisco Jabber

Since we were a Cisco shop with firewalls and switches, it was a great cost and easy deployment at the time

Reasons for switching to Cisco Jabber

It came with our E5 licensing which is a cost savings

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed June 2020

Improvement needed

It does its job - transferring information in a very quick and convenient way. It's easy to find users and reach out to them via chat and/or phone, and also allows for file sharing. However, I would highly recommend changing the interface to something more modern/aesthetically pleasing, and instigating an update that hinders the application from crashing as often as it does.

PROS

Jabber is quite straightforward to use, it's nice having all of the chats lined up in the sidebar so it's easily navigable from person to person. It also has the option of erasing chats if the program is exited out, which is of course a benefit from a proprietary standpoint (less so if you need to reference something that was said, of course). Not a lot of bells and whistles, so starting up the program is quite fast in the mornings, which I can appreciate. Since it's through Cisco, it also easily allows you to call people's work phones through the system.

CONS

While the user interface is straightforward, it also seems incredibly archaic and dull. During start-up it doesn't pull up the main "chat" screen, and instead pulls up a type of "home" screen where you can access your settings/any voicemails, but to actually chat a person (which I feel is the main purpose of this program), you need to search their name in a search bar > click on their name/chat icon > and it pulls everything up into its own separate window, which I find to be a bit of a waste of time. Additionally, when trying to share screenshots (by dragging into the chat box) the screenshots take up the FULL width of the screen, so I have to deal with scrolling back and forth to disseminate all of the information. It also does not allow me to drag + drop (or copy-paste) a received screenshot anywhere else. I have to first download the image onto my desktop. Again, seems like an unnecessary amount of steps. My biggest gripe, however, is that Jabber has the tendency to completely freeze and crash on a pretty daily basis. This has resulted in chats getting lost in the void, or being unable to go back and reference information that was sent mere minutes ago.

Tony

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2022

Useful and easy to use

Jabber has allowed our engineering team to stay in close contact during the pandemic so we can discuss solutions to problems and plan accordingly. In addition, our help desk started using it during the pandemic to discuss problems with the engineers, and request assistance or pass on a particularly difficult issue. We found jabber useful before the pandemic, and during it truly proved it’s worth.

PROS

Jabber is simple for end users to use, yet robust enough for IT professionals to use as well. I like the ability to personalize my offline notice. It is easy to have jabber set up on a mobile device as well as your computer, and both seem to work equally well. The ability to private message is very useful, and the fact that Jabber saves the conversations is very handy as well.

CONS

Sometimes messages sent on mobile do not show up on the computer. It is still saved on the mobile device, but it occasionally causes confusion.

Reason for choosing Cisco Jabber

Jabber was easier for our end users to use. It seamlessly joined with our active directory to allow our users to have access.

Reasons for switching to Cisco Jabber

More options, easier to use in our environment

Timmy

Computer Software, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2021

A handy, referential client that provides IM support for Webex Meetings

Manage the client while many technical workers and executives within our organization message on it (both to me and without me, to one another). Group chats are easy to convert into video calls, fully-fledged Webex conferences, or both depending on the needs of they conversation.

PROS

I love that IMs during Webex meetings made and/or hosted through Jabber will be saved, securely, forever. There are often times where a good point is made during a meeting and it's up to the secretary to remember the point, its context, and then send it out again. Jabber allows us to make and store these observations in real-time.

CONS

1-on-1 messages between users are stored locally on the disk. This can lead to problems with security if users are unaware their storage is local and their workspace security is compromised. Larger, group messages are encrypted and stored safely on the cloud, though.

Reasons for switching to Cisco Jabber

Slack messages still required a group of our size to switch to a separate client in order to have a separate multi-party video calling conference.

Reynaldo

Automotive, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

Good to use Cisco Jabber for Meetings, internal chat and conferences.

reduced time between users to ask for some information and have meetings from each desk.

PROS

Is easy to use, users didn't have a lot of training to learn how to use it, they find some features by themselves. Also we have it synchronized with Webex for external meetings.

CONS

The implementation it was complicated, they help us a lot with the server installation and synchronization with phones, but after that, we saw there are many features, a little confuse.

Reason for choosing Cisco Jabber

We have more than 5 years with Cisco Jabber, in that time we use a demo of Sametime but got a lot of issues, skype was an option too, but we decided for an internal chat, skype have the option for users to chat with external people.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2020

Team chatting

We as a team with more than 200 users per day have little issues will any off the dad to day stuff. It just works and works well.

PROS

I like the fact that is can control my desk phone. Working away I can answer my phone with just a mouse click and it pops up in my screen and or i can decline call and it goes to voice mail with just one click. Plus it can do other things like play voice mail and share your screen for quick meetings. Plus it has a Active Directory

CONS

Sometime the LDAP dose not bring over the new passwords when people are forced to change passwords. Than is about all we have had issues wish in 4 years.

Reason for choosing Cisco Jabber

It was more integrated with our phone system and gave us more functionality and better management.

User Profile

Heather

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2019

Jabber

I use Cisco Jabber constantly throughout the day, daily. It is a great tool to communicate with co-workers when you may not be available by phone. It is very user-friendly. I found it easy to add contacts, as well as set up different groups within my contacts. One of the features I really enjoy is that you can open previous one-on-one conversations and look back at what was said.

PROS

Easy to use Saves one-on-one conversations Easy to do group chats

CONS

It does not save group conversations after the conversation window has been closed.

Reasons for switching to Cisco Jabber

The company switched from Skype to Cisco Jabber.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2021

Overall its useable

Overall its a ok software to use

PROS

Easy to chat with team members and communication

CONS

Chat history takes longer to load and GUI is pretty bland.

Reasons for switching to Cisco Jabber

Slack has more integration with other third party tools like gsuite and slack give a array of options to communicate.

User Profile

Ravikumar

Verified reviewer

Consumer Services, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Jabber Review

Very Good and simple to use.

PROS

I like the video streaming quality and audio quality. Really very good

CONS

I think cost is the factor and ofcouse if you have a better negotiation then it can be sorted

Reasons for switching to Cisco Jabber

We had some issues with the solution so often that we thought we should change

User Profile

Jared

Verified reviewer

Machinery, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

The comprehensive unified communication solution to keep my team connected and collaborative.

Communication between team members is more fluid and efficient, which has resulted in greater productivity and collaboration in our projects. Integration with third party applications such as Microsoft Outlook and Google Calendars has further enhanced our planning and time management capabilities. Additionally, the ability to make high-quality voice and video calls has reduced the need for face-to-face meetings, saving time and resources. Overall, Cisco Jabber has been a valuable addition to our workflow and has significantly improved the way we communicate and collaborate in our organization.

PROS

Since I started using Cisco Jabber at work, I have experienced a noticeable improvement in communication and collaboration with my colleagues. I love how the app integrates instant messaging, voice and video calls, and file sharing into one platform. The presence feature allows me to easily see the availability of my teammates, facilitating fast and efficient communication. Plus, Cisco Jabber's compatibility with a wide range of devices and operating systems allows me to stay connected and collaborate no matter where I am.

CONS

Although Cisco Jabber offers a wide range of features, it also has some limitations. I have occasionally experienced stability and performance issues, especially during video conferences. Also, the user interface could be more intuitive, as it is sometimes difficult to find certain features or settings. Finally, to take full advantage of the capabilities of Cisco Jabber, it is necessary to have an adequate Cisco infrastructure, which can be expensive.

User Profile

Jamie

Verified reviewer

Machinery, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2018

Excellent corporate chat tool that works well with other Cisco products.

Jabber allows our users to communicate easily and efficiently throughout their work day. It gives quick access to WebEx and phone functions with other Cisco integrations.

PROS

Jabber is a solid chat client for the corporate environment. The desktop app is very robust and integrates well with other Cisco products. We have it integrated with our Cisco video phones and WebEx. You can share your desktop, launch a WebEx meeting or take calls over VOIP. It is easy to search for coworker with the active directory integration and organize contacts in groups. It also allows you to view missed calls and listen to voicemail if you have it integrated with your phone system. It will also remind you of WebEx meetings and allow you to launch them from the pop-up reminder. Overall, with the integrations, I believe it is one of the more feature complete chat clients on the market.

CONS

The mobile app is the only real weak point for Jabber. They have improved it a little over time, but it still has issues. I have used it both on iOS and Android and it is a battery hog. Significantly more battery drain when it is running. Also, it does not save login information when using single sign-on. This means I have to re-authenticate every time I open it fresh. This makes me question whether or not to open it when on the go. One other issue is slow file transfer. The feature is there and easy enough to select a file, but the transfer is very slow and fails at times. Could be better.

User Profile

Jamie

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Lost without Jabber

We implemented Jabber pretty quickly and painlessly in our company several years ago. It's been what we use for our employees to seek out help from team leads or hold meetings within their groups.

PROS

Jabber is incredibly easy to use, meaning even our less tech-comfortable members can and do use it without issue. It's a quick and easy way to collaborate or hold web conferences since everyone knows how to use it in our offices. Because everyone has an account that is logged in at the start of their shift, we know we will always be able to reach one another, which has come in handy several times. Numerous features also make this a winner.

CONS

It does have some bugs and connection issues at times. It can run a bit sluggish, requiring a connection reset or cache clearing. We have also noted that sometimes duplicate or unnecessary chat windows can be opened, which is distracting at best.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

Cisco Jabber in everyday life

I support users of the company where I work and they always speak very highly of Cisco Jabber, the Application has been improving more and more. I do conference call with it every day and I am more and more surprised, the application looks great and is easy to use.

PROS

Easy to implement software, I helped to implement the software in the company where I work and it was very smooth. Cisco Jabber is very intuitive and easily accepted by the user, you can use it on your computer and also on your mobile phone, an excellent and practical application, I strongly recommend Cisco Jabber.

CONS

The video-conference part is little disclosed when purchasing the Software. It would be a point where the marketing sector can invest, disseminate this functionality that JABBER has, so that they could get more customers.

Andrew

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Jabber is awesome!

It has been great, I like it a lot. Jabber has been a real pleasure to use over some of the other options out there.

PROS

I use Jabber everyday at my workplace and it is a great way to communicate. Here are a few of my favorite features... - Instant Messaging. you can easily add and manage contacts into groups, you can also start a group chat with a predefined contact group. - Like most messengers your status Is visible. You can also set a custom status. - The interface is clean and simple and can be made compact when needed to safe valuable screen space. - Jabber can also integrate with your phone! this means you can make calls though your desk phone. This of course needs to be setup by your organization beforehand. Making a call is as easy as right clicking on a contact and then selecting the call option or even pasting in a number and clicking the call button. - You also have the ability to initiate a screen sharing session which is a very cool collaborative function as well as video calling.

CONS

It can be configured to integrate with Active directory which is a great feature but sometimes when its time to update a password it does not always sync up correctly.

Duaha

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Cisco Jabber Review

I work in IT and there has been times when our remote connectivity software does not work. I've had to use cisco jabber to fix issues, but because it needs a system administrator's credentials to do certain things on the computer it kicks me off when the credential window pops up. Asides that, my overall experience with jabber is great. It's not really made to do remote work, but it has that functionality. If they look into upgrading that, I'm sure IT would love it.

PROS

I like how the ease of communication is at your fingertips, by simply typing in a colleague's name and being able to instantly message them. Another feature I really enjoy with cisco jabber is that you are able to share your screen with colleagues and if you need help with something, you can authorize them to take remote control of your mouse. This comes especially handy if you work in IT support and there are issues with remote connectivity. I've had to resort to using cisco jabber to assist staff with issues before. See it as a two in one kind of deal.

CONS

The only thing I don't like is that when a colleague shares their screen with me and I take control of the mouse, when asked to enter in system admin credentials it kicks me off and we have to reconnect.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2018

Something best to use for chatting!!

I am happily using cisco jabber from last 3 years in my office. And I am very satisfied with the features and its intelligences. Thank you cisco jabber team, you people have done excellent work.

PROS

It's has excellent intelligence of framing all things related to chat in a single window like: 1. It shows all the person name whom you have chatted in a column left side of display and at the same time it also shows number of messages that people are sending you. 2. It memories all messages in one to one message form. So user can read it later if needed. 3. It provides the feature to create chat group to discuss anything with many people at a time. 4. It provides the feature to share screen with other user and give read/write access which very useful for corporate sector. 5. Jabber has given many commonly used status like: Available, In meeting, do not disturb, offline..etc and also has feature to customise status. 6. It has excellent features of showing you notifications when particular person becomes available on jabber. 7. It has features to save chats.

CONS

1. Sometimes screenshots sent on jabber gets deleted.

Katie

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2020

Jabber is Clunky Compared to Other Interoffice Communication Tools.

It gets the job done, but for businesses that are looking for a smooth, connected type of instant messaging platform - this isn't it. But if you already have other Cisco products, the integration is useful.

PROS

Jabber is a very simple platform and the interface is user-friendly. For example, it's very obvious what you should click when you want to call someone, send them a quick online chat, or do a screenshare. You can also quickly and easily update your availability, and it's nice that whenever you're in a WebEx meeting, it automatically links up and shows that you're busy. Setting your other statuses (like away, Do Not Disturb, etc) is accomplished in a click of a button. It does integrate with Outlook too!

CONS

Jabber, while easy to use, is incredibly clunky. If you have more than 2-3 conversations going at once, it's very, very easy to get them mixed up - or to simply not see the newest message come through. The calling capabilities are super limited - we're typically only able to call once person at once, which means you have to use WebEx for more than one.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE