What are Fusion 360 users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Fusion 360 software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.62

151 Reviews

5
104
4
36
3
5
2
2
1
1
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"I can model parts and do an assembly in the same work space and that is a very nice and effective way of doing stuff. This is a very good software fore beginners to work with."
  • icon"There is also an active community that is great at answering questions, and a lot of YouTube tutorials put out by Autodesk and others that fully explore Fusion 360's functionality."
  • icon"This CAD package is very good for light use and user friendly for education."
  • icon"Sometimes Fusion can behave strangely but Autodesk launches updates basically every week to fix problem or to add new features."
  • icon"Sometimes it slows down or chrashes when working on heavy files or gives login problems once in a while."
  • icon"Coding itself is bad and people with coding background including myself thinks that this one software is built upon 2 different programming languages that contradict each other."

Jump to:

Browse all Fusion 360 Reviews

  • Have you used Fusion 360 and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 148 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 148 reviews

Andrew

Company size: 1 employee

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

October 2021

Not as powerful, but still very useful.

User Profile

Ajoob

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Chemicals

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

Best 3d designing and manufacturing software.

Fusion 360 is best software in our use for creating engineering designs with high precision. We do the designing of various part models using the software and the same is analysed using fusion 360.

Pros

Fusion 360 is mostly used by design Engineering team to create the product design in 2d and 3d. We use the software for designing product models and 3d simulation of the design. We can convert our 3d models easily into 2d models is a great feature. We do analysis of the design to test for errors before manufacturing and also we can easily make edits to the design as per needs.

Cons

Assembling of complex design is difficult as compared to other softwares. Proper training helps to overcome the issue. No other issues.

User Profile

Alejandro

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Fusion 360, a simple alternative for 3D mechanical design

The use that I have given to Fusion 360 is more oriented to modeling simple parts and parts to be printed in 3D, in these areas it is even more versatile than the other software I have used, such as Autodesk Invetor and SolidWorks, which I have used. used to perform complex assemblies and simulations. Fusion 360 has been very useful for me to make prototypes to scale in the 3D printer

Pros

Fusion 360 is a lighter and cheaper alternative for the design of 3d parts and machines, although it does not have all the features that can be found in specialized software such as Autodesk Inventor or SolidWorks, that simplicity and low cost can mean an advantage if what you want to design and draw is not very complex. Another great advantage is that Fusion 360 can be used for free if you are looking for a hobby use. For example to manufacture parts on your 3D printer or on your CNC router.

Cons

As it is a technical software, free modeling is somewhat restricted, so if you are looking to make aesthetic models or with complex shapes, this software is not the best alternative. In terms of mechanical design, although you can get good results with simple parts and machines, for complex assemblies it will also be somewhat limited and you will have to opt for options such as Autodesk Inventor.

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

Because the cost of Autodesk Inventor is much higher and it was not justified for the work that was going to be done

Houssein

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2022

Houssein houssainy fusion 360

So easy to use so good for furniture manifacturing, i say in description that i m working as 3d artist and ui ux designer but before thag i was working with my dad which is a carpenter

Pros

I start in learning 3d by this software beacuse it's so easy to use and understand how it work and i can make so amamzing decore or furniture in minute and showing it to my customers

Cons

I switch to blender because it's easier to make organic shapes so maybe thinking to add a sculpting mode to fusion and it will be perfect for me

Reasons for choosing Fusion 360

So easy to make simple and measured design

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

Organic shape so hard to make in fusion

Ilgaz

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Design

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2020

Overpriced and doesn't properly work

It's bad, i wouldnt recommend. I've started to use it because it was free to makers and small companies, then it got hella expensive and i wouldn't suggest to even touch it.

Pros

Ease of use and UI is elegant to look at.

Cons

Software isnt yet to be finished. Coding itself is bad and people with coding background including myself thinks that this one software is built upon 2 different programming languages that contradict each other. It's clunky and tries to bring you errors instead of trying to understand what you're trying to do and forums are full of self-boasting fans and dwellers which only to bring you that it has a "workaround" and you should be ashamed of yourself to bring the problem on the table. Everything is cloud. What i mean by everything i mean EVERYTHING. You dont have any privacy or any probability to work offline. Render costs you money. Even if youre a paid user. Little things come together and forms you this one big mess ball. Tl:Dr : i wouldnt touch this program ever again after this project ends.

Shoeb

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2022

An amazing tool developed by AutoDesk

Pros

The project management capabilities alongside its robust and easy to use UI makes it a dream for any designer to use.

Cons

The cost of getting the software on an yearly subscription is very high.

Reasons for choosing Fusion 360

It had an amazing interface.

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

Aged interface and complex tool finding in the software.

User Profile

sunny

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Automotive

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Best cloud based CAD software

Pros

its cloud based rendering helps me a lot because it helps me getting high quality image without using my pc power and instantly.

Cons

The software overall not have something i don't like but its getting Havier by every update which is a problem for old computer systems. because lot of student use fusion and have old PC.

Reasons for choosing Fusion 360

1. It's free for students 2. It's user interface 3. It's community support 4.some of it's unique features like T-spline modeling.

Marius

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2021

The permissive hobbyist license allows you to quickly design 3d printable things

Compared to freecad it's super easy too use and intuitive, and does not have any quirks.

Pros

The availability of the fusion 360 for hobbyists to have it for free is stunning. as one gets access to powerfull and intuitive cad tools.

Cons

In recent updates they removed some functionality for hobbyists. Also it's cloud based.

Reasons for choosing Fusion 360

There is more tutorials available for fusion 360 compared to freecad, also faster to design my designs.

Wil

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

Fusion 360

Pros

I came from using it in high school to using it for hobbies and business designs. Best CAD for MAC OS

Cons

Since the change in the free plan. Many changes have been made that taken away features from free users. However the software is great but the changes in licensing has had me move away from it however I still recommend it.

Reasons for choosing Fusion 360

Price

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

Needed a full featured MAC CAD program

Sreenath

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

Easing the solution by fusion

It is a pleasant and professional experience offered by fusion 360. As the name suggests a 360 degree coverage of the modelling world is brought into the package. Though the software is in its nascent stage it has managed to show the maturity at this level offering best of its capability and service

Pros

The interactive tool box and ease of using it coupled with cloud storage, thus overcoming the nuance of file saving that at times can get tedious with passage of time in large products

Cons

Advanced tools requires more refining that makes the modelling easier enabling user to gain more confidence in handling the product. Lack of tutorials in complex problems also needs to be addressed

Anonymous

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2022

Must have tool for 3d designers

Pros

In the past few years, I've developed a strong interest in 3D modelling and printing, and after experimenting with two or three different software packages and nearly giving up on the idea of learning, I discovered Fusion 360. It saved my life because it was so simple to understand and so beneficial thanks to the online learning platform. My knowledge has significantly increased, and I now have more confidence in my ability to apply it.

Cons

Adding new features to Fusion on a weekly basis is still a work in progress. It's difficult to keep up with all the advancements, but they're all very welcome!

Joshua

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Machinery

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2019

JNM Rise Inc - Fusion360 Review

This software has been so easy to use from day one! I couldn't be more thrilled with it. Being an SME, it is offered on an annual basis free of charge. My network of engineers are amazed I am able to accomplish what I have using this software when the companies they come from are paying thousands for licensing. I also would like to note that Autodesk offer an incredible specialization to really round out your skills via Coursera.

Pros

This software has been an incredible tool for my business. Being that our principle service is Design and Engineering, Fusion 360 has offered all my team and I could ask for in a software. It has been very intuitive, and regular updates or feedback from the customer service team. In addition, there is a massive online community with video tutorials or guides both created by, or individual users of the Fusion360 software.

Cons

I can honestly say that there has not been an issue since day one of using the software. If I have a need to address, the online community are quick to provide thoughtful responses and guidance allowing me to solve any issues my team and I may have.

Reasons for choosing Fusion 360

Cost was #1, but the ease of use and recommendations through the online community led me to download Fusion360 and as long as the software maintains its current state and continues with upgrades, I wont be in the market to explore alternatives. I highly recommend this software to anyone looking!!

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

When I transferred CAD date to my slicing software for printing, I found that in blend the data did not translate well. With Fusion360, I found that I was able to convert the CAD files immediately to a file type that could be used for slicing, then through that software create G Code for 3D Printing. It was absolutely critical to my company that we find the right software and Fusion360 checked every box!

Dheeraj

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

Its great Modelling and simulation software for rapid prototyping and iterative projects

Overall a great experience, I mainly use it for product renders and design mock-ups. I've participated at the Michelin Design challenge and was able to innovate with the help of Fusion 360 as student.

Pros

The user interface was much more easy to use as a beginner and over the 2 years as an experienced user. Fusion 360 has multiple avenues from modelling to rendering to CAM/3D printing simulation which is very helpful in not wasting time exporting it to 3D printing software and then modify the design.

Cons

The software seemed to not do a good job with respect to importing files of solidworks format and converting it over cloud. The speed of upload and download of files is quite slow and cloud rendering feature can be made more responsive/interactive.

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

Ease of use, much better and neater UI and workspace. Not technically sophisticated. Can model, simulate, motion study and validate manufacturing in a single application.

User Profile

Godwin

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

March 2021

Fusion 360, the always improving youngster in CAD/CAM/CAE!

3D modeling in Fusion 360 is a wonderful experience as I have designed products ranging from medical equipment to automotive technology to household tools and even industrial machine parts with ease.

Pros

First of all, you can never lose any file on Fusion 360. Even if you fail to save and your device shuts down, you can always get a recovered version on restarting Fusion on that device. Secondly, Fusion 360 is so light as compared to its other competitions as it really doesn't consume much of your OSD/ROM. Finally and obviously, you can easily get access to your design files from anywhere and at anytime you want it as Fusion saves them on the cloud.

Cons

Of course, Fusion 360 is cloud based and may consume internet data while it is running in "working online" mode. And in offline mode, user experience might not be smooth.

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

It wasn't really a switch but more of a new preference as it is easier to design a complete project assembly in a single file on Fusion 360.

Karim

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

If you're a 3d designer or have 3d printers, Fusion 360 is a great option.

Fusion 360 is a fantastic project management application that caters to 3D printing customers online. It's an excellent modeling tool that's required for a successful 3D printable design. Fusion 360 offers a unique module for 3d printing in addition to its solid features. It connects to Autodesk's MeshMixer, which is another 3D printing program. The extension *.stl is required for 3D printable files. Fusion 360, on the other hand, handles this file extension with ease. A 3D printable file with specific qualities is urgently required. If there are any flaws in the design, they must be fixed before 3d printing. This is done through MeshMixer, which can be found inside Fusion 360.

Pros

- Fusion 360 is an excellent choice for technical design projects. You can work on the same file with your teammate or customer because it can function on the cloud with numerous users. - Fusion 360's assembly features are another fantastic feature. Fusion 360 allowed you to quickly and easily create assembly pieces. - And, maybe most importantly, it has a parametric design. This provides a designer a lot of power. After you've completed your project, you can adjust some design parameters. As a result, after discussing the final design with your customer, making last-minute modifications on Fusion 360 is a breeze. - Fusion 360 is available for free and includes all functionality. It's an excellent software option for a startup with a limited budget.

Cons

- Fusion 360, despite having excellent cloud software, becomes extremely sluggish when using slow internet connections. - Fusion 360 consumes a significant amount of RAM on your smartphone. On your device, it's best to set the RAM setting as high as possible. - Fusion 360's sculpting and retopology capabilities lag behind those of competitor products.

Marco Luca

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2020

The next big thing

I'm very satisfied to have switched on Fusion360 and I use the simulation features that allows me to made structural calculations using fast cloud computing

Pros

Autodesk made a huge development over the year to create a high level product. There is not a best feature but a lot of good feature that melt together makes a very good software

Cons

The leak of some commads, but the development is going fast

Reasons for choosing Fusion 360

the price is lower and the development is huge

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

Autocad is old and leaks of many commands that now are need to design in a good way.

Shubham

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Design

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

Top-rated features for kinematics and simulation

We're an Robotics based Ed-tech startup with the help of which we're creating robotics and other technical solutions for our customers. Therefore, a lot of R&D we do, we create each and every single part or component of a robot in the software. We're rendering the models, creating scenarios and simulating in real time in order to get the right design values and material selection for our product

Pros

1. I've been using this software to create the kinematic links and simultaneously creating the mechanism joints resulting in getting the desired motion, I want to show in a simulation 2. With the help of it's feature recognition tool, it's easy to design each and every single part and can align them in a single tree 3. Easy to access shortcuts helps an advanced user to design components more quickly

Cons

As this software a cloud-based, it requires high-speed internet to stay logged in while designing and rendering the whole model. Constant updating is one thing that I'm concerned cause it popped out in the middle of your work

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

Solidworks is quite costly and the features that we were looking for were not present in it

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

An Excellent Tool for Designing 3d Prints and CAD Prototypes

In the context of Fusion being a tool for novices, it is an excellent tool to start designing in to learn the ins and outs of CAD and 3D modeling.

Pros

Fusion is a hybrid parametric modeling program offered by Autodesk. Fusion is the more entry level offerings in the Autodesk lineup, being simpler to use compared to their other offerings like Maya and 3DSMax, albeit while fulfilling a different role. One of the main benefits of Fusion 360 is that it is free. After then end of the trial you can choose to continue using the software as a hobbyist for free, allowing you to use it so long as you do not monetize the models created in Fusion. Being free, there is plenty of documentation and tutorials available to get started on Fusion and begin using it for CAD design. One of the areas where Fusion shines is for 3d printing, creating suitable printable models with ease. Fusion integrates with many models of 3d printers so that they can be directly printed from the program. For unsupported printers, Fusion can also export 3d printable formats such as .STL files for the printer to use. This is usually preferable anyways, as it allows for more flexibility compared to printing right in Fusion.

Cons

Fusion is a hybrid modeler, combining the features of a direct modeler and parametric modeler to create a more streamlined and easy to use tool overall. This means that some of the more complex parametric modeling tools and functions are missing from Fusion, making it unsuitable for more serious CAD design. While the interface is clean, many functions are often hidden behind too many mouse clicks that can make the program hard to navigate at times. this can be particularly confusing for those unaccustomed to 3D modeling or CAD software.

User Profile

David

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2020

Excellent 3D CAD design software

I have enjoined using it, I actually was able to finish a prototype design using tool, it saved my day since it allowed me to design an organic piece that I badly needed, that I was not able to design accurately with open source software that I was using at that time.

Pros

- There is a free version for Fusion 360 used for students, startups and teachers. - The modeling tools are really good they allow you to build organic shapes with ease. - The learning curve is not as steep. - It has an amazing support since is owned by Autodesk. - You can create machine code (G-Code) to send it to cut or 3D print. - There are several tutorials online and now is more used in the mechanical design industry.

Cons

The thing I did not like is that is entirely run on the cloud, you have to have an internet connection.

Reasons for choosing Fusion 360

Because I was able to use it for what i needed and was not crazy expensive and was also fast to design in it

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

I needed a solution that could export tool paths as G-Code to run in the router

Jason

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Best CAD software for the price

Fusion 360 has made it really easy to prototype designs, as it is much easier to pick up than a lot of other CAD software, like Inventor and Solidworks, and significantly cheaper.

Pros

First of all, it's really easy to use, and it can run on lower-specced machines that can't run other CAD solutions. I also love how it's cross-platform. I switched from Windows to macOS about a year ago, and still have to use Windows for certain software, but I can start a project on my Mac and easily open the same project on a Windows device. And everything is saved to the cloud so it's super easy to keep track of your files and switch between devices. Fusion also has a version history, so you can very easily rollback to older versions of a file, or even just rollback certain modifications to a file. Another benefit of the cloud storage is that I can just send an email with a link to my colleagues and they also have access to the same file that I'm working on, so no more worrying if other people have the correct or most up-to-date version of the file.

Cons

Sometimes Fusion takes a while to launch. Another issue I have is with the pricing of cloud renderings. If you are a student you have unlimited 'cloud credits', but for a hobbyist or business, you have to buy a pack of at least 100 credits for $100, and every time a cloud rendering or simulation is done, you have to pay one of those credits. It doesn't seem like much, but it does add up, and I would personally refrain from using the cloud rendering and simulation services.

Kanad

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2019

Best 3D Modelling Software

As a hobbyist and educators Fusion 360 provides free licence for it.

Pros

Ease of use. Free 3 Year license for students and educators Fast and easy Model Analysis. Cloud-based Model storage.

Cons

As it is comparatively new software still contains some glitches and crashes or sometimes requires a restarting the computer to get it working.

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

Ease of use and somehow better GUI than AutoCAD. Cloud Based model storage and analysis saved a lot of space.

Alex

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Design

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

Very useful software, free for personal/non commercial use

It's a great piece of software for people who want to work on projects that require CAD rendering. It's fairly intuitive to work with and with tutorials someone can easily learn the fundamentals and be working on their project in a few hours.

Pros

Free for non-commercial use. Powerful, intuitive tools. Great for hobbyists, 3d printing, non-commercial projects. Huge body of information and tutorials. cloud based storage

Cons

Has a learning curve, like any 3D rendering or engineering software. Can run into performance hitches occasionally. File management on cloud is occasionally confusing.

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

Needed more robust software suite

Kyle

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2021

Great Program for the price

For anyone who does not want to drop thousands of dollars on a modeling program, Fusion 360 is the best choice.

Pros

Fusion 360, I believe, is the best tool in its price range for 3D modeling. It is very affordable, and for the price, very powerful.

Cons

There are a few things here and there that I am unable to do in Fusion, however there is usually a workaround.

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

Much cheaper, and looks better than Creo

User Profile

Ryan

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

The best CAD tool for hobbyists and anyone who wants to make something

I first used Fusion 360 as an undergrad because it was free for students, and later found out that it was also free for hobbyists. I love that approach to software, because I believe anyone should be able to dream something up and make it; Fusion 360 just provides one of the most powerful tools for that development process. I've used it to design robot parts, program machine toolpaths, and modify CAD designs from free libraries for fun. I really enjoy using it.

Pros

Fusion 360 set out to be the best integrated CAD and design software, and it certainly has achieved a lot of its goals. While not as high-powered as top-tier CAD programs, it holds its own and is uniquely designed with the user in mind. I love Fusion 360's cloud-based system; without having to store files locally, I can log in on any machine that has Fusion 360 and access my projects. The interface is clean and easily customized, and the tools are intuitive. There is also an active community that is great at answering questions, and a lot of YouTube tutorials put out by Autodesk and others that fully explore Fusion 360's functionality.

Cons

Because Fusion 360 is constantly being updated and new developments are being added regularly, sometimes you will open it up after a few weeks without using it and the interface will be different. If you're trying out a preview feature, you might not get to keep it if the development team decides to go in a different direction. But this is rare.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2019

A great alternative to the more expensive 3D modeling softwares out there

Pros

The cloud-based rendering is a great feature in Fusion 360 which puts way less strain on your cpu compared to a local render, allowing to continue working uninterrupted. There are a ton of render options for both your model and the background environment, and the final quality of the rendered images is fantastic. I like the cloud-based file sharing option which allows you to collaborate with others on the same project. It's also available for mac operating system as well as windows unlike some of its competitors. Regular updates and improvements that run relative unnoticed in the background, and they are constantly adding cool new features. It takes up very little room on your hard drive as the software is mostly cloud-based.

Cons

Fusion 360 is still a relative newcomer in the 3D modeling software world, and although I think it is a great contender to it's competitors, it is still very glitchy and crashes often. The output file format options are very limited compared to the input file format options.

Showing 1 - 25 of 148 reviews
Fusion 360

Fusion 360

4.62/5 out of 151 reviews
Learn More