All Fusion 360 Reviews

1-25 of 233 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Brock

51 - 200 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed April 2023

Fusion 360 quickly became our #1 Design software

User Profile

Jason

Verified reviewer

Oil & Energy, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2023

Quality 3-D modeling software that is inexpensive and user friendly

Fusion is an entry level product from Autodesk. It is not as "fancy" as Autodesk inventor or SolidWorks, but I promise you that it can do 95% of the most common modeling tasks that most people will need. The price point is perfect for company users so that nobody will complain about expensive software. The software lacks good simulation capabilities, but that is to be expected for the price point.I have convinced management at my company to cancel 3 license keys for a more expensive modeling tool and simultaneously get 5 other user licenses for Fusion 360 at a fraction of the cost. We haven't missed a beat, and now I have more people available to create the needed drawings for execution tasks and 3D models for FEA and CFD.

PROS

Fusion 360 is inexpensive and handles 99% of the modeling needs that I have. The user interface is simple and intuitive. It strikes a good balance between having what you really need easily available with minimal hunting as opposed to having a congested user interface with thousands of options that are all one click away if you can manage to find the right "button".

CONS

One previous con with Fusion 360 was not directly related with the software but rather with the updating experience. During the first update, my IT team struggled to the point I almost decided to cancel the subscription and switch to OnShape which is cloud based and doesn't require my IT team to do anything. To be fair to AutoDesk, I have never had problems updating the hobbyist version of 360 on my personal laptop. The last couple of updates were more easily managed by my IT team, so there might have been a learning curve for them. So this doesn't seem to be an issue anymore thankfully.Another previous con was related to software capabilities. At first, I really despised the lack of ability to incorporate weld symbols into the drawings. However, Fusion 360 added that capability and now I can provide detailed drawings with weld symbols without having to copy-paste pictures of weld symbols into the drawing. This too has been resolved and so it is no longer an issue either.The only remaining con I have with Fusion 360 is the simulation capabilities. I had moderate hopes that the FEA tool would be useful, but it seems to be linked to a limited amount of credits and limited types of simulation such as liner-FEA. It really seems like AutoDesk is just trying to "check the box" to say that Fusion 360 can perform FEA. Don't waste your time with the Simulation tools in Fusion 360. Find another tool for that such as SimScale, Abaqus, Ansys, etc.

Reason for choosing Fusion 360

Cost.

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

Cost

Dheeraj

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Its great Modelling and simulation software for rapid prototyping and iterative projects

Overall a great experience, I mainly use it for product renders and design mock-ups. I've participated at the Michelin Design challenge and was able to innovate with the help of Fusion 360 as student.

PROS

The user interface was much more easy to use as a beginner and over the 2 years as an experienced user. Fusion 360 has multiple avenues from modelling to rendering to CAM/3D printing simulation which is very helpful in not wasting time exporting it to 3D printing software and then modify the design.

CONS

The software seemed to not do a good job with respect to importing files of solidworks format and converting it over cloud. The speed of upload and download of files is quite slow and cloud rendering feature can be made more responsive/interactive.

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

Ease of use, much better and neater UI and workspace. Not technically sophisticated. Can model, simulate, motion study and validate manufacturing in a single application.

James

Furniture, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2023

Great In Theory. Clunky in Practice.

PROS

Parametric design. Clean interface. Decent rendering.

CONS

Bugs bugs bugs. Performance issues, regardless of the computer being used. Drawings are resource heavy. Changing events in the design tree often lead to major errors. Features randomly stop working. I have been using Fusion since 2016 and I can say pretty confidently that it continues to get more and more clunky.

Marco Luca

Design, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2020

The next big thing

I'm very satisfied to have switched on Fusion360 and I use the simulation features that allows me to made structural calculations using fast cloud computing

PROS

Autodesk made a huge development over the year to create a high level product. There is not a best feature but a lot of good feature that melt together makes a very good software

CONS

The leak of some commads, but the development is going fast

Reason for choosing Fusion 360

the price is lower and the development is huge

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

Autocad is old and leaks of many commands that now are need to design in a good way.

User Profile

Shubham

Verified reviewer

Design, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Top-rated features for kinematics and simulation

We're an Robotics based Ed-tech startup with the help of which we're creating robotics and other technical solutions for our customers. Therefore, a lot of R&D we do, we create each and every single part or component of a robot in the software. We're rendering the models, creating scenarios and simulating in real time in order to get the right design values and material selection for our product

PROS

1. I've been using this software to create the kinematic links and simultaneously creating the mechanism joints resulting in getting the desired motion, I want to show in a simulation 2. With the help of it's feature recognition tool, it's easy to design each and every single part and can align them in a single tree 3. Easy to access shortcuts helps an advanced user to design components more quickly

CONS

As this software a cloud-based, it requires high-speed internet to stay logged in while designing and rendering the whole model. Constant updating is one thing that I'm concerned cause it popped out in the middle of your work

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

Solidworks is quite costly and the features that we were looking for were not present in it

Kanad

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Best 3D Modelling Software

As a hobbyist and educators Fusion 360 provides free licence for it.

PROS

Ease of use. Free 3 Year license for students and educators Fast and easy Model Analysis. Cloud-based Model storage.

CONS

As it is comparatively new software still contains some glitches and crashes or sometimes requires a restarting the computer to get it working.

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

Ease of use and somehow better GUI than AutoCAD. Cloud Based model storage and analysis saved a lot of space.

John

Automotive, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Fusion 360, the software for all!

Overall, my experience with Fusion 360 has been lovely, loved drawing on it, loved simulating on it as well as the other typical CAD features you would expect!

PROS

Where to begin! Fusion 360 is an immersive experience when drawing, it is easy to draw the part with multiple commands that help make your drawing easier to come to life. You can also take your drawing directly to do a simulation, which is pretty accurate and easy to use as well, and it could be done on a cloud! Thus, you don't need much computing power to run your simulation!

CONS

Hard to say what this software lacked. For my time-to-time simple usage of the product, I found it very fulfilling from the aspects that you need as a mechanical engineer, I was able to share my drawing with my team in a simple manner, and I was able to save and go back to previous work without any issue.

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

Because I wanted a better simulation software.

Freddy

Design, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2021

A (Surprisingly) Nice Alternative for CAD/CAM

As I said previously the team had the idea that we were going to need additional software to design and produce all our prototypes (considering the special needs of our CNC machines), but we ended up adopting Fusion completely for the whole design process.

PROS

It's the most affordable CAD/CAM alternative for our team (and I know I'm not alone on that). Fusion has actually surprised us for good with its capabilities, since at first glance we thought we were going to need additional software to design and mechanize prototypes, but we ended up adopting Fusion completely even for using it directly with our dated CNC machines.

CONS

Learning the software from zero it's a bit hard, specially coming from other "traditional" softwares like Pro-Engineer and Solidworks, but it totally pays off in the end. But I would totally like to see more customizable keyboard shortcuts and interface parts.

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

By recommendation of other fellow designers. We were using multiple CAD/CAM software among the team members, but we needed something that was affordable for the entire team, without having to spend a whole lot of fundings.

Marius

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

The permissive hobbyist license allows you to quickly design 3d printable things

Compared to freecad it's super easy too use and intuitive, and does not have any quirks.

PROS

The availability of the fusion 360 for hobbyists to have it for free is stunning. as one gets access to powerfull and intuitive cad tools.

CONS

In recent updates they removed some functionality for hobbyists. Also it's cloud based.

Reason for choosing Fusion 360

There is more tutorials available for fusion 360 compared to freecad, also faster to design my designs.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2022

Best Prototypes making software

Very useful if you are creating prototypes specially when doing research and development.

PROS

The way you can integrate this CAD software with Additive manufacturing and creating the perfect prototype before going on mass production, easy to manipulate and Cloud drive becomes very useful when going between workshops.

CONS

It is very limited on creating features on CAD if you compare it with top design CAD software.

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

Fusion is better for creating prototypes , also pricing is way better.

Karim

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

If you're a 3d designer or have 3d printers, Fusion 360 is a great option.

Fusion 360 is a fantastic project management application that caters to 3D printing customers online. It's an excellent modeling tool that's required for a successful 3D printable design. Fusion 360 offers a unique module for 3d printing in addition to its solid features. It connects to Autodesk's MeshMixer, which is another 3D printing program. The extension *.stl is required for 3D printable files. Fusion 360, on the other hand, handles this file extension with ease. A 3D printable file with specific qualities is urgently required. If there are any flaws in the design, they must be fixed before 3d printing. This is done through MeshMixer, which can be found inside Fusion 360.

PROS

- Fusion 360 is an excellent choice for technical design projects. You can work on the same file with your teammate or customer because it can function on the cloud with numerous users. - Fusion 360's assembly features are another fantastic feature. Fusion 360 allowed you to quickly and easily create assembly pieces. - And, maybe most importantly, it has a parametric design. This provides a designer a lot of power. After you've completed your project, you can adjust some design parameters. As a result, after discussing the final design with your customer, making last-minute modifications on Fusion 360 is a breeze. - Fusion 360 is available for free and includes all functionality. It's an excellent software option for a startup with a limited budget.

CONS

- Fusion 360, despite having excellent cloud software, becomes extremely sluggish when using slow internet connections. - Fusion 360 consumes a significant amount of RAM on your smartphone. On your device, it's best to set the RAM setting as high as possible. - Fusion 360's sculpting and retopology capabilities lag behind those of competitor products.

Jason

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2020

Best CAD software for the price

Fusion 360 has made it really easy to prototype designs, as it is much easier to pick up than a lot of other CAD software, like Inventor and Solidworks, and significantly cheaper.

PROS

First of all, it's really easy to use, and it can run on lower-specced machines that can't run other CAD solutions. I also love how it's cross-platform. I switched from Windows to macOS about a year ago, and still have to use Windows for certain software, but I can start a project on my Mac and easily open the same project on a Windows device. And everything is saved to the cloud so it's super easy to keep track of your files and switch between devices. Fusion also has a version history, so you can very easily rollback to older versions of a file, or even just rollback certain modifications to a file. Another benefit of the cloud storage is that I can just send an email with a link to my colleagues and they also have access to the same file that I'm working on, so no more worrying if other people have the correct or most up-to-date version of the file.

CONS

Sometimes Fusion takes a while to launch. Another issue I have is with the pricing of cloud renderings. If you are a student you have unlimited 'cloud credits', but for a hobbyist or business, you have to buy a pack of at least 100 credits for $100, and every time a cloud rendering or simulation is done, you have to pay one of those credits. It doesn't seem like much, but it does add up, and I would personally refrain from using the cloud rendering and simulation services.

Alex

Design, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2020

Very useful software, free for personal/non commercial use

It's a great piece of software for people who want to work on projects that require CAD rendering. It's fairly intuitive to work with and with tutorials someone can easily learn the fundamentals and be working on their project in a few hours.

PROS

Free for non-commercial use. Powerful, intuitive tools. Great for hobbyists, 3d printing, non-commercial projects. Huge body of information and tutorials. cloud based storage

CONS

Has a learning curve, like any 3D rendering or engineering software. Can run into performance hitches occasionally. File management on cloud is occasionally confusing.

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

Needed more robust software suite

Wil

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Fusion 360

PROS

I came from using it in high school to using it for hobbies and business designs. Best CAD for MAC OS

CONS

Since the change in the free plan. Many changes have been made that taken away features from free users. However the software is great but the changes in licensing has had me move away from it however I still recommend it.

Reason for choosing Fusion 360

Price

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

Needed a full featured MAC CAD program

Martino

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

Good work Autodesk!!

My overall experience with fusion is very much positive! I use it for every project i need to make and i'm very happy

PROS

With these software Autodesk tried to unify a lot of their softwares and i think they've created something really powerful and accessible. Fusion 360 is very powerful and free for hobbies or small companies. This is incredible!

CONS

Sometimes Fusion can behave strangely but Autodesk launches updates basically every week to fix problem or to add new features.

User Profile

Raitis

Verified reviewer

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

The most comprehensive software you can get for free

I have been using it in at least 3 different startups I worked at and it never disappointed. Yes, there are some quirks or it's lacking if you expect to find something specialized, but then again - it's a work in progress. Fusion 360 has one of the best and most responsive teams of developers and product designers who actually listen to what people report and ask for on forums and implement those features constantly. As in you don't have to wait for the release sometime next year and hope for the best.

PROS

It has all the features to satisfy you as a beginning or reasonably skilled maker - someone in mechanical engineering or digital manufacturing.

CONS

It's now gotten more difficult to apply for a startup licence to be able to use the software for free for commercial purposes, but I still think it's worth it.

Reasons for switching to Fusion 360

I switched from the now discontinued Autodesk 123D suite which is incompatible in the feature set it provides. Mainly switched as my skills and requirements grew.

User Profile

Umar

Verified reviewer

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Fusion 360's fusion of incredibly innovative features

It has been very enlightening and 'easy on the eyes'. Unlike the complexity of similar applications such as Inventor and Solidworks, it was easy for me to get used to the interface quicker. The app has also opened my eyes to the innovative possibilities that CAD software can offer. Overall, it has been an awesome experience.

PROS

The software is a gamechanger in the domain of collaboration. It has allowed me to work on projects with people from across the globe. Another thing that stands out is its user interface. Despite its rather simple interface that resembles that of Tinkercad, it offers almost the exact set of advantages that Autodesk Inventor offers.

CONS

So so many features are behind a pay wall. I got frustrated when I wanted to perform some functions such as simulations. If some of the features in the pay wall can be included into the free version, it would be magnificent. And even if they do remain behind the pay wall, they should at least become much more cheaper. Instead of breaking the glass ceiling, Autodesk is making it

Greg

Consumer Electronics, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: