User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(72)

72

4 stars

(18)

18

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "I loved the learning curve, from the beginning is clear how to create even relatively complex models. Also the sketch feature is awesome!"

  • "I loved the fact that the software is free for private consumers. It is fairly intuitive and easy to work with. All files can also easily be exported to 3D printers or milling machines"

  • "Very intuitive software with great features. The detail and ease of creating is impressive and really allows you to get the results that you want."

  • Cons

  • "It's now gotten more difficult to apply for a startup licence to be able to use the software for free for commercial purposes, but I still think it's worth it."

  • "Stability is a but shaky on low end machines, but with cloud saving I never loose work."

  • "If your computer is a bit old or outdated software may lag, but this is not really a Fusion 360 issue. Software works great!"

Browse Fusion 360 Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 88 results

August 2019

Ryan from BYU Crop Biomechanics Lab

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

The best CAD tool for hobbyists and anyone who wants to make something

I first used Fusion 360 as an undergrad because it was free for students, and later found out that it was also free for hobbyists. I love that approach to software, because I believe anyone should be able to dream something up and make it; Fusion 360 just provides one of the most powerful tools for that development process. I've used it to design robot parts, program machine toolpaths, and modify CAD designs from free libraries for fun. I really enjoy using it.

Pros

Fusion 360 set out to be the best integrated CAD and design software, and it certainly has achieved a lot of its goals. While not as high-powered as top-tier CAD programs, it holds its own and is uniquely designed with the user in mind. I love Fusion 360's cloud-based system; without having to store files locally, I can log in on any machine that has Fusion 360 and access my projects. The interface is clean and easily customized, and the tools are intuitive. There is also an active community that is great at answering questions, and a lot of YouTube tutorials put out by Autodesk and others that fully explore Fusion 360's functionality.

Cons

Because Fusion 360 is constantly being updated and new developments are being added regularly, sometimes you will open it up after a few weeks without using it and the interface will be different. If you're trying out a preview feature, you might not get to keep it if the development team decides to go in a different direction. But this is rare.

December 2019

Joshua from JNM Rise

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Machinery

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

JNM Rise Inc - Fusion360 Review

This software has been so easy to use from day one! I couldn't be more thrilled with it. Being an SME, it is offered on an annual basis free of charge. My network of engineers are amazed I am able to accomplish what I have using this software when the companies they come from are paying thousands for licensing. I also would like to note that Autodesk offer an incredible specialization to really round out your skills via Coursera.

Pros

This software has been an incredible tool for my business. Being that our principle service is Design and Engineering, Fusion 360 has offered all my team and I could ask for in a software. It has been very intuitive, and regular updates or feedback from the customer service team. In addition, there is a massive online community with video tutorials or guides both created by, or individual users of the Fusion360 software.

Cons

I can honestly say that there has not been an issue since day one of using the software. If I have a need to address, the online community are quick to provide thoughtful responses and guidance allowing me to solve any issues my team and I may have.

Reasons for Choosing Fusion 360

Cost was #1, but the ease of use and recommendations through the online community led me to download Fusion360 and as long as the software maintains its current state and continues with upgrades, I wont be in the market to explore alternatives. I highly recommend this software to anyone looking!!

December 2019

Kanad from IIT Guwahati

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Best 3D Modelling Software

As a hobbyist and educators Fusion 360 provides free licence for it.

Pros

Ease of use. Free 3 Year license for students and educators Fast and easy Model Analysis. Cloud-based Model storage.

Cons

As it is comparatively new software still contains some glitches and crashes or sometimes requires a restarting the computer to get it working.

December 2019

Luke from Linamar Corporation

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2019

Fantastic Modelling Software for FREE

Pros

Best part about this is that you can use it for free.

Cons

Functions in comparison to SolidWorks or Inventor are minimal.

December 2019

Raitis from Freelance

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

The most comprehensive software you can get for free

I have been using it in at least 3 different startups I worked at and it never disappointed. Yes, there are some quirks or it's lacking if you expect to find something specialized, but then again - it's a work in progress. Fusion 360 has one of the best and most responsive teams of developers and product designers who actually listen to what people report and ask for on forums and implement those features constantly. As in you don't have to wait for the release sometime next year and hope for the best.

Pros

It has all the features to satisfy you as a beginning or reasonably skilled maker - someone in mechanical engineering or digital manufacturing.

Cons

It's now gotten more difficult to apply for a startup licence to be able to use the software for free for commercial purposes, but I still think it's worth it.

December 2019

Aaron from University of Notre Dame

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Free for students and a great tool

Overall, I really like Fusion 360. It has been a very valuable tool for my outside hobbies in 3d printing and cnc cutting. It is by far the best software for small makers.

Pros

Although Fusion 360's user interface is very complex, it is fairly simple to navigate around the software. I really like each function is labeled and paired with a small graphic to visually show what will happen with this tool. Another great part of Fusion 360 is that you get a free version if you are a student with an edu email address.

Cons

Due to its complexity, I find myself constantly hunting for the correct tool while trying to build a 3D model.

January 2020

Alex from United States Navy

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Great for beginners

Use this daily for many things. Great for jumping in and creating stuff.

Pros

Only takes a few minutes to get you started. Much easier than other software. I was able to get going after just a few tutorials.

Cons

There is a learning curve if you havent used any software like this before but it is much easier than others

October 2019

Zachary from Sweet Capacity LLC

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Food Production

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

THE CAD/Modeling Software

Very quickly can mock up designs for printing or sculpting.

Pros

Using the hobby version (free for personal use) you get access to a full suite of CAD. It's very powerful, snappy, basically the gold standard in 2019.

Cons

It's hard to nitpick this software, especially at the pricepoint. Large installation footprint is a little bit disappointing, but oh well.

February 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Fusion 360

Pros

Easy to learn, easy to use, many useful features, compatibility with other softwares.

Cons

Pretty expencive, difficult to find errors

January 2020

Andrew from Ottawa Catholic School Board

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Powerful tool

Great for use in the classroom. Allows for manipulatives to be created to help reinforce topics.

Pros

Super powerful tool for design. Has everything you would ever need. Love the fact that they have created a free version for education workers.

Cons

Huge learning curve. Not particularly intuitive software, and tricky to use at first. Perhaps a little too powerful? If that is even a thing.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

An Excellent Tool for Designing 3d Prints and CAD Prototypes

In the context of Fusion being a tool for novices, it is an excellent tool to start designing in to learn the ins and outs of CAD and 3D modeling.

Pros

Fusion is a hybrid parametric modeling program offered by Autodesk. Fusion is the more entry level offerings in the Autodesk lineup, being simpler to use compared to their other offerings like Maya and 3DSMax, albeit while fulfilling a different role. One of the main benefits of Fusion 360 is that it is free. After then end of the trial you can choose to continue using the software as a hobbyist for free, allowing you to use it so long as you do not monetize the models created in Fusion. Being free, there is plenty of documentation and tutorials available to get started on Fusion and begin using it for CAD design. One of the areas where Fusion shines is for 3d printing, creating suitable printable models with ease. Fusion integrates with many models of 3d printers so that they can be directly printed from the program. For unsupported printers, Fusion can also export 3d printable formats such as .STL files for the printer to use. This is usually preferable anyways, as it allows for more flexibility compared to printing right in Fusion.

Cons

Fusion is a hybrid modeler, combining the features of a direct modeler and parametric modeler to create a more streamlined and easy to use tool overall. This means that some of the more complex parametric modeling tools and functions are missing from Fusion, making it unsuitable for more serious CAD design. While the interface is clean, many functions are often hidden behind too many mouse clicks that can make the program hard to navigate at times. this can be particularly confusing for those unaccustomed to 3D modeling or CAD software.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

A great alternative to the more expensive 3D modeling softwares out there

Pros

The cloud-based rendering is a great feature in Fusion 360 which puts way less strain on your cpu compared to a local render, allowing to continue working uninterrupted. There are a ton of render options for both your model and the background environment, and the final quality of the rendered images is fantastic. I like the cloud-based file sharing option which allows you to collaborate with others on the same project. It's also available for mac operating system as well as windows unlike some of its competitors. Regular updates and improvements that run relative unnoticed in the background, and they are constantly adding cool new features. It takes up very little room on your hard drive as the software is mostly cloud-based.

Cons

Fusion 360 is still a relative newcomer in the 3D modeling software world, and although I think it is a great contender to it's competitors, it is still very glitchy and crashes often. The output file format options are very limited compared to the input file format options.

December 2018

Christopher from Central Square Technologies, Inc

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

I use this for prototyping AND teaching children how to design 3D prints!

I've really been able to take my modeling and prototyping and even teaching STEM students to the next level.

Pros

Fantastic ease of use, easy to teach and learn. Everything is in places that makes sense and you can create models based on measurements very easily. The software is designed to go right to 3D printers and even CNC machines. Lot's of options for modeling types/contexts such as parametric and even sculpting primitives. The cloud platform makes it very easy to access your work from other computers/devices.. One of the most useful features for me is the fact it handles threads so well, easy to 3D print and have parts properly screw together. I tested over 30 different modeling software packages before I settled on this. No regrets.

Cons

The only real gripe I have is with the overall model of subscription services, I'd rather pay and own this type of software but I understand I am getting real time patches and updates.

October 2019

Martino from Higher Education

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Good work Autodesk!!

My overall experience with fusion is very much positive! I use it for every project i need to make and i'm very happy

Pros

With these software Autodesk tried to unify a lot of their softwares and i think they've created something really powerful and accessible. Fusion 360 is very powerful and free for hobbies or small companies. This is incredible!

Cons

Sometimes Fusion can behave strangely but Autodesk launches updates basically every week to fix problem or to add new features.

December 2018

Long from UCR

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Great Designs Require a Reliable Software

Thanks to Fusion 360, I have found myself relying on it constantly for virtual design testings. Of course, true testing requires real-world application; however, Fusion 360 has been fairly accurate with its simulated statistics. Ever since high-school, my team and I discovered Fusion 360 and used it for our design testings to which we 3D-printed and used for our Toyota-sponsored hydrogen car. By far one of the most reliable and useful software for prospective designers and engineers. Or you know, if you have a passion for these kind of fields, I recommend giving Fusion 360 a shot.

Pros

As an engineering major, Fusion 360 has become my go-to software when I feel the need to simulate any designs my team produces. It provides a multitude of options when creating designs, such as angular checks, grid-line-based auto adjustment, 360 degrees perspective, and so on. It also has a cloud feature that allows you to store your designs or even share it via email. I also find it particular helpful that you can do design tests such as putting it through a wind-funnel and seeing the air resistance as well as the designs performance in general.

Cons

Although I use this software quite often, I have to say it did take me a little time to figure out what each option did and how to become more fluent with my use of Fusion 360. Thereby, Fusion 360 is not for those that aren't willing to put in the effort and passion in running designs. It takes quite a bit of patience to understand the functionalities overall.

December 2018

Ryan from ATS

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Everything you could want.....and more

This is the only software I choose to use when starting a project. I have used other CAD packages in the past, but Fusion 360 has made everything easier. It's not just my top recommendation for CAD software, it's my only recommendation.

Pros

It has everything you could want in a single CAD/CAM package. You can take an idea from concept, through development, and then to manufacturing without switching programs. The software is very intuitive if you have ever used any other piece of CAD software. It's also very easy to experiment with different tools you may not normally use. With Fusion 360 it allows you to jump into Rendering or even some FEA analysis without having to learn an entirely new piece of software.

Cons

I dont have many. When getting started you may have a little trouble learning how bodies and components affect one another, but once you learn that then everything else is very intuitive.

February 2019

Kevin from construktiv GmbH

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Best choice for Makers

I was able to teach myself 3D CAD, and solve all my basic needs around 3D printing projects, like little accessories, cases or replacement parts for any broken item around the house.

Pros

Fusion 360 is an excellent piece of software for hobbyists and makers, especially considering that it's completely free, even for small businesses. The learning curve is very steep and if you are willing you can create complex designs all by yourself in very short time.

Cons

You need a basic understanding of the working principles of a 3D CAD software and you must be willing to try and learn. It's not as easy as working with primitives like in Tinkercad, but it's of course aimed at another group of people. What should also be noted, is that Fusion 360 is cloud based, so all your designs are stored there, which is convenient, when you access them from different locations but can also be a disadvantage if Autodesk will one day decide to pull the plug on the servers. If you are using an older Mac, be aware that they will soon drop support for macOS below version 10.13.

January 2019

JOHN from Navy

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Military

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

3D printing.

I love fusion 360. I use it for all my 3D modeling designing techniques. I find myself wanting to use this more and more with each use. It's honestly the best i have found yet.

Pros

This application blows others like sketchup out of the water. It allows me to create a components so that i can create an entire object within the application rather than creating seperate components and trying to merge them all in a different project/file.

Cons

Fusion 360 can cost a little much if you can't take advantage of its student license.

June 2019

Zoran from Mikroautomatik

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Must have tool for Hobbyist

I have been using Fusion for more than two years now, previously I have been using Solidworks but for hobbyist it is way to expensive

Pros

Ease of use and plenty of on line courses held by bunch of professionals. As a hobbyist I am using fusion to make models which later will be printed on 3D printer. For fast prototyping must have tool. Free for students and educators - hobbyists

Cons

I have no complaints regarding this software, it is stunning

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Great For Everyone

Fusion has provided me an insight into the world of CAD and helped me build up a useful skillset for engineering design

Pros

Versatile in its ability to construct anything, Has materials and structural testing suite and can produce a variety of dependable results (tested against irl results and had a 2% margin of error)

Cons

Takes some time to learn if not trained in previous renditions of the software, quite a few bugs with intercepting elements.

March 2019

Brandon from Aviation & Aerospace

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Great tool for 3d Printing!

Pros

The feature set of this tool was really great. I regularly design 3d models to print and this has played a key part in my learning. And it was really easy to use. I have used other cad tools in the past so I do have experience but I do think it would easy for anyone to pickup.

Cons

- Lack of simulation tools for 3d printed parts - Hard to do text or sketch on curved surfaces

August 2019

Alejandro from Pontificia Universidad Catlica de Chile

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Fantastic experience with Fusion 360

My experience with Autodesk Fusion 360 has been fantastic. It is an easy to use tool for beginners and a powerful one for experienced users.

Pros

I use Fusion 360 for designing both simple and complex models. Whenever I need to design a quick prototype, the user friendly and well designed interface allows me to rapidly create what I need. When working on a complex model, this software has every feature I need to turn my ideas into a reality. Fusion 360 has a fantastic user community, with a solution for virtually every problem I have encountered.

Cons

I have experienced some bugs with the ViewCube, where it stops responding and I'm not able to orbit my model. Besides, the browser sometimes persists over other programs even if I have minimized the main Fusion 360 window. Every bug I have experienced has been solved quickly, at most, by restarting Fusion 360.

November 2018

Dave from Entrepreneur

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

New to CAD/CAM, but very easy to learn.

I love it! I learned to use this software by following the training and tutorials from Academy.TitansofCNC.com Prior to using F360, I had used Sketchup and found it very limiting and "toyish". F360 to Sketchup is a like a Mack Truck compared to a Chevy S10, in a different league.

Pros

A lot of tutorials are available for learning the capabilities of this amazing software. Very intuitive and easy to use.

Cons

There are certain steps or procedures that must be followed, but this is more of the machining process than the software. The CAM operations are very intuitive.

August 2018

Steven from Futurist Playground

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

My current favorite 3D modeling tool for 3D prints

I use Fusion for rapid prototyping of medical devices, furniture, and art. I'm satisfied with the program and like that it is both Cloud Based and has offline capabilities.

Pros

Fusion 360 is pretty easy to use and the drop-downs are intuitive (assuming you're not new to modeling). I like how easy it is to export models to the CNC or 3D Printer.

Cons

I also do video game design and Fusion has NOT made that easy to do at all. It looks like I'll aso be using 3DSMax for awhile until they Fusion becomes a little more friendly to the VR world. It is super easy to accidentally delete previous work if you don't save before closing Fusion (Windows update is the bane of productivity and cause of a lot of lost work).

November 2018

Ted from State of Nevada

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

A very rewarding program to learn.

Pros

I like this program as it offers many features that can also be seen in programs such as Solidworks. However, Fusion can be acquired for free while Solidworks can cost quite a bit of money. Fusion also has a builtin CAM software so it can generate G-Code straight from the model that can also be designed in the program. Fusion is primarily a CAD program specifically for 3D design and it does a great job at that as well, the models can be easily designed once you get the hang of the program and models can also be easily exported to STL files for 3D printing later.

Cons

The program has a mild learning curve as the main concept of it is to first, draw out a 2D sketch and then extrude that into a 3D model, and even though it is a great alternative to Solidworks should Solidworks be a bit too expensive. It lacks a few features that Solidworks does have. However, the program is quite easy to learn from online tutorials and general trial and error.

January 2020

Miguel from Mezu

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Finally a 3D CAD/CAM design software cross-platform

I was a user of another software from the same company probably 14 years ago when I was taking a product design degree, and had to stop using it when I transitioned to Mac. It's great now to be able to use it again without having to create virtual machines! It's still the same great product, with a lot of new features

Pros

It's great to have a CAD/CAM software that runs natively on MacOS system. It has been my favourite tool to design, model, assemble and render projects, and all on the same tool. No exports needed or external render engines - it's all I need!

Cons

It can be a bit heavy when processing big fies, and performance-wise it could be improved on a MacOs systems.

August 2019

Silvio from Spaziodati

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Quick to learn but very complete

I've been using it mainly for 3D printed prototypes from years now and I will definitely keep using it. It is a great product, thanks!

Pros

I loved the learning curve, from the beginning is clear how to create even relatively complex models. Also the sketch feature is awesome!

Cons

Sometimes it slows down or chrashes when working on heavy files or gives login problems once in a while

December 2018

Brian from Eudora High School

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Fusion 360

I really enjoy Fusion 360, it has let me design projects that have helped further the design process in projects

Pros

I loved the fact that the software is free for private consumers. It is fairly intuitive and easy to work with. All files can also easily be exported to 3D printers or milling machines

Cons

There are some lacking functions that would be nice to have, the workspace is hard to manipulate sometimes and I wish it had a slicer built in

August 2019

Gabriel Junqueira from Impermitte Impermebilizao

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

From concept to finished product in one software

With a little patience and the help of the huge online community and tutorials, I can design, test and prepare for production (cnc milling or 3d printing) any part or assembly of parts with precision and confidence. It hugely saves on development time and cost.

Pros

The integrated workflow that covers all the steps in product development, from prototyping to final production, is very powerful. I love how I can simulate force to preview material strain and resistance and have a precise idea of the performance of the final part even before I am done designing it.

Cons

It is very feature rich and powerful, which means it is complex and has a long learning curve

September 2018

Oral from MiniFabrikam

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Consumer Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Autodesk Fusion 360 CAD review

It somewhat works slowly on my computer even my PC has sufficient hardware and my internet connection speed is high. Especially when you work on it, the network connection is on. The software needs connect to cloud servers at time intervals and that process keeps software slow. If you want to work faster than you should close the network connection.

Pros

It's a parametric software. That means it is possible that after drawing you could easily change previous parameters according to your current needs. Thus you don't need to draw it from scratch.

Cons

I use it for only 3d modelling. So I don't need any rendering, CNC functioning, sheet metal feature, stress analysing etc. That covers a huge place in my PC. Beside the software gets slow.

September 2018

Jordane from University of Technology

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Review of Overall Experience

Pros

On being introduced to the application for designing a school robot, it was very easy to utilize the package on basic terms. It offered tutorials as well as different modes of interface from rookie to expert. Thus as i became more familiar with the application, more and more features became available by switching to more comfortable modes. Enjoyed the mouse and keyboard interaction to maneuver 3d objects in space. Enjoyed the x,y and z references as similar to the AUTOCAD application,

Cons

The blue flashing interface with the 3d object troubled my epileptic condition. Thus i had to obtain glasses to continue using the product. The addition of different colour themes to Fusion 360 would make it near to perfect for a student like me.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Excellent software if you are a 3D designer!

We use Fusion to create 3D designs and do 3D printing we love it!

Pros

It is a great tool has all the options that you can need to create your design, you can import other files from other programs etc. If you need a software to create 3D designs look no more Fusion 360 is all you need.

Cons

If your computer is a bit old or outdated software may lag, but this is not really a Fusion 360 issue. Software works great!

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Great for hobbyists and students

Building my own 3D models for printing which can then be shared via online communities.

Pros

As a hobbyist who likes to "tinker" this software is extremely powerful and the discounted licensing makes it available. With the free hobbyist option I would not be able to justify the price for what I'm doing with it. It's also full featured with this license making it top quality and something I would recommend as a learning to industry platform.

Cons

I can be complex for beginners but thankfully there are many online resources and tutorials available to help with specific features and functionality.

April 2019

Thomas from Town of Stoneham

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Absolutely the most complete CAD/CAM package available

Pros

This program is the most powerful product I have ever used for 3D design. It is on par with AutoCADs other offerings and is available free for most users. It is constantly being updated with new features that only make a great program even better.

Cons

The only issue I have with the software is the learning curve. Watch tutorials on YouTube to get up to speed and you won't regret it.

April 2019

Korban from University of New Mexico

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Amazing Software For All Skill Levels

I use Fusion 360 for nearly all of my 3D design and analysis needs. I like that it has so many features packed into a single application. I can design an assembly and then run a thermal, mechanical strength, and fluid analysis on it. It is the perfect software for any skill level.

Pros

Easy to learn, many tutorials, very powerful, great for hobbyists and 3D printing

Cons

Needs to be signed into an Autodesk account to use

March 2019

Celina from Buffalo Automation

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Awesome program that encourages teamwork between engineers

I used Fusion 360 during a summer internship. It was an invaluable learning experience, as this software is an industry standard for engineers.

Pros

I love that multiple engineers can work under one development environment. People can work on different parts of the same project at the same time, so all work gets done much quicker overall.

Cons

I did not personally have any experience with this issue, but colleagues said that the software used to be extremely buggy and difficult to get working smoothly. This might be resolved already.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Great for Students

Pros

Free for students Can do what most top of the line software's can do Contains full range of development tools, from making parts, drawings, renders, and even CAM toolpaths! Collaborative editing works great!

Cons

Some features don't have shortcuts Some features from upper end software don't exist

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Easy to use and amazing tutorials

I have taught this software to 60 students for two semesters and it was really easy for students to grasp.

Pros

Step by step tutorials which help you learn it very quickly.

Cons

There are issues with the 3D models in the autodesk library. Some of them are outdated and not work with the latest version of the software.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

lots of potential, not easy to use

Pros

I like that the software is so advanced. There are so many things you can do like make detailed designs or real life proto types.

Cons

The cost is a deterrent. It is not easy to use for a beginner.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Design your Own 3d Prints!

Creating 3d Printable models with Fusion 360 are difficult yet rewarding when a model of the product is avalible.

Pros

Fantastic software, easy to learn, hard to master. A dumbed down version of Inventor, Fusion 360 is a great starter program for hobbiest and beginners. Tools are easy to use and make sense.

Cons

Learning curve for the program is rather steep. The difference between being a "Pro" and muddling through the file is a leap. There are quite a few online courses both free and paid that help you through the most difficult issues.

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

The easy and fun way to create!

Pros

The software isn't complicated to use and has lots to offer. There are many tools that help create and alter whatever you can put your mind to creating. Lots of useful tutorials for designing and a very helpful community for answering questions. I do 3d printing and create objects using Fusion 360.

Cons

As with any program you need to learn to use all the tools offered, with design programs I've found that sometimes tools can do more than one thing (and that isn't always notated in a tool tip).

February 2019

Kevin from Nanofiber Solutions

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Fusion 360 great for creating 3D parts

We rapidly prototype pilot medical devices and eventually final devices and this software is fantastic for those purposes.

Pros

Fusion 360 was great for our purposes: creating models for our pilot medical devices. The process is easy for anyone who is educated in this type of software.

Cons

We found only a highly capable desktop computer was able to smoothly run Fusion 360.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Easy to use, love price and cloud-based design

Used this for some basic models before building a prototype of a small robotic system, primarily because that's what they makerspace I was working with used and I needed to interface with their CNC machines. I was impressed with how quick the learning curve was, and was able to dive in and design quickly.

Pros

Learned this system after working with a number of other CAD systems in the past (solidworks, onshape and pro-E). It was a pretty easy learning curve. They also offer free usage to non-profits and startups making less than $100,000 per year, which is awesome for getting started with the system. I've seen a number of beginners learn the system to make simple 3d prints very quickly as well. Running off of the cloud is also great if computing power is limited.

Cons

As a newer software, there are sometimes features that have not yet been implemented making working clunkier.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2018

Best Software for modeling and simulation

With Fusion 360 I modeled a lot of mechanical parts as well as simulation

Pros

Fusion 360 is a software very rich in tools or one can develop our works is to make simulations and also to make good renderings. I liked this software very much. Thank you Autodesk.

Cons

The library is a bit modest and also the scene during the rendering is not good

October 2018

Brian from Computer Software

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

fantastic tool for 3d printing

Very positive experience with the software, being able to make designs and have them printed correctly.

Pros

Once you get the hang of it, it opens up a lot of doors for 3D printing enthusiasts. Work flow in fusion 360 is pretty simple and designs can be made fairly quickly.

Cons

Not so much a con necessarily, but this does require a fairly decent computer to run smoothly. I've had luck on desktops with decent a decent graphics cards and cpu, but on laptops it's been fairly difficult.

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Excellent for learning with tons of support online

It has worked out perfectly for me as a hobbyist. I build motorcycles and have saved a ton of money being able to prototype parts before sending them to get machined.

Pros

I recently picked up a 3D printer so I could start modeling motorcycle parts before getting them machined. I've learned everything I've needed to from the online forums and mostly youtube. It's super intuitive, and I highly recommend for anyone as a hobbyist or just interested in getting into 3d modeling.

Cons

It slows down my computer a lot but that's mostly because my computer is a bit older. It does have a pretty long learning curve but that should be expected with learning something new like 3d modeling.

March 2019

Chad from Jesco Industries

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Very Nice Product

Pros

This software has a ton of features for the money.

Cons

I wish there was better on-demand access for help

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Fusion 360 review

I've used fusion 360 to quickly model up basic parts and develop physical rapid prototypes on CNC mills.

Pros

In general I think fusion 360 is an amazing tool that runs seamlessly between CAD and CAM. No other CAD engine I've worked with has a built in CAD to CAM function that works so well, so it is very easy to make a model in the software and then have it made on a CNC mill very quickly.

Cons

However, I think the UI is generally clunky and unintuitive. Some of this may be bias as a CAD user working predominantly in SolidWorks. Nevertheless, I find that the work space is not easily navigated, and in particular transitioning between 2D and 3D working spaces is messy. Things like snaps that tie one feature to another don't perform as expected, and the feature tree layout feels off - it is unclear at first glance the relationships between features and bodies.

March 2019

Adrian from Telecommunications

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Fusion 360 by Autodesk

i like it very much, i developed very coplicated 3 d designs (at least for me very coplicated). it think that this software is very important also for specialists that are developing important physical pieces.

Pros

wow, for me it is the 3 d software, very nice, very good and exactly what i needed. the software is perfect to develop very complicated designs.

Cons

not all the functions are directly there, i mean in the menu to see them. sometimes you must search a little bit for some functions.

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Good, But not solidworks

Pros

This software is Cheap and easy to use. It has a lot of features including cam support built in which is nice for someone who doesn't need everything that some of the more expensive competitors offer

Cons

Coming from other CAD programs it is different and a not quite as easy to use. It's also not as prevalent in industry. If you're sharing drawings with bigger companies you may want to go witha more widely recognized software.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 88 reviews