All SpiraTeam Reviews

1-25 of 96 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

iain

Verified reviewer

10,000+ employees

Used free trial

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed September 2014

I'm a big fan of the application

I'm a big fan of the application. I manage the testing team for an IS department and was unhappy with the existing tools we had, so I evaluated a number of tools to replace what we used. The outcome put SpiraTest in the top 5. After using the free trial for a few weeks I was sold.

PROS

+ Excellent price: + Mature tool: + Good integration: + Good support:

CONS

SLA support for hosting: As I work for a big company , there’s a demand for 24hour support and clear SLAs. Inflectra don’t provide that level of cover. That said, I’ve not had any problems in the 9 months I have used the tool.

Peter

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

SpiraTeam - The HP ALM/HPQC Killer

My philosophy is that the tool should fit the project, not the other way round, so I use SpiraTeam as and when the project requires. All my tests begin life as Excel checklists. If we have specific requirements then I will make use of the Requirements and map them to Test Scripts to get full traceability from a requirements, through testing, through defect management to reporting of test coverage. We write and maintain our own legacy systems, so most of our projects only have high level requirements, hence there is little point using the full suite of SpiraTeam, as it is overkill for such small projects. For most projects, SpiraTeam is used as more of a project place holder at a very high level to track project details and capture any requirements documentation. It is inefficient to write test scripts in Excel for small projects and import them in to SpiraTeam and execute them from SpiraTeam, as this is a needless duplication of effort. I've implemented Exploratory Testing, so test scripts are high level one-liners, reading more like a checklist than a typical Step 1, Step 2, Step 3 style of test scripts. Familiarity with our own in-house software renders the need to write detailed step by step tests redundant. When new legislation is passed that we must comply with, I use SpiraTeam for Test Management to dot the I's and cross the T's, making use of requirements capture, test scripting, requirements mappings, test execution, defect management and Reporting.

PROS

Easier and more user-friendly to use than HP ALM/QC, whilst offering a similar level of comprehensive features, for a lot less outlay than HP's ALM/QC, IBM, CompuWare etc. SpiraTeam is flexible enough to be used differently for each project. For example, SpiraTeam can be used as a document repository for one project, just a test script and test execution tool for another, and as a full blown project life cycle tool encompassing requirements, tests, defects, management and reporting functions. The support provided by Inflectra is head and shoulders above the competition, showing the big boys how it should be done. Responses are prompt and with plenty of examples relevant to your industry sector to help get you going. Don't be surprised if [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] himself replies to your support request. It seems that the company's sales team are well versed in using the software tools that they sell. For us, it is the support that wins out over any rivals. Pricing is clear and upfront, unlike some of the smoke and mirrors sales tactics used by other vendors who shall remain nameless but here are some hints ... Has Problems, It Breaks More and Don't Expect to Last Long.

CONS

Upgrading from 5.4 to 6.0 fails. In the past upgrading other vendor tools has been a deal breaker when it failed. A tool should be able to upgrade itself without throwing any SQL errors or similar. Administrators and DBA's should not need to run any specific scripts or commands, the tool should do this automatically and without error. We are unable to take advantage of new features offered in 6.0 and beyond. Integration of any test tool with a business is not easy because the tool forces you to work its way rather than the tool supporting existing processes. I needed to write a VB script to translate/transpose my test scripts into the correct format for importing into SpiraTeam, as a consequence of the tool forcing the tester to work how the tool works.

Reason for choosing SpiraTeam

SpiraTeam offers more features, should we require them.

Dieter

Industrial Automation, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2017

You get more than you pay for SPIRATeam - easy to use - get better from update to update

- Great overview over the project progress - Easy administration effort

PROS

- easy administration - traceability over the whole development process - good test integration - integrated dokument versioning - good and fast support

CONS

- external test tool integration arn´t freeware anymore - text editor for inputs arn´t so good like in other tools

Tom

Telecommunications, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2016

Pretty Good!

Overall, I like SpiraTeam. There's a bunch of different ALM solutions out there. I prefer something easy of a lot of confusing functionality. SpiraTeam is somewhere in the middle. It has a good balance. I use it for keeping track of test cases, but don't use the requirements functionality. I wish we did use the Requirement functionality, but the developers I work with have a thing about NOT documenting what they are developing... In any case, I can produce the results of the test effort rather easily so the rest of the team can see where we are within the project. Some of the annoyances are the ability to produce a report and distribute to the rest of the team. With the templates that SpiraTeam provides, I would like something a lit bit different. The templates just don't provide the information that I need. I know there is a way to modify the templates, but never had time to devote to figure it out. Also, the way arranging tests in folders and then moving tests around in the folders has been difficult over the versions of SpiraTeam. I like how tests are arranged in that way. It helps keep everything organized in a good manner, but the implementation of it is not entirely perfect. test cases often get put in the wrong place and have to spend some time moving them around. My last annoyance is how test cases are copied and pasted. When pasting a test case, it places it on the top of the test case I copied, not underneath it. That bugs me more than anything. But when judging SpiraTeam as a whole, I do like the product, but it's those little interface annoyances that get in the way.

PROS

I like the concept of how test cases are arranged, within folders.

CONS

I don't like how the concept of the folders was implemented. Often times, when copying and pasting test cases, it gets placed in the wrong location. Have to spend extra time getting test cases and folders placed in the right location.

Vendor Response

Hi Tom Thanks so much for the very fair and detailed review, we appreciate the time you spent writing it. I would like to mention that in SpiraTeam v5.0 we completely overhauled the test case and test set folders in line with the issues you identified, so please try out the newest version and let us know if you have any suggestions or feedback.

Replied December 2016

Mark

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2019

Are you in Wagile Hell?

With Spira Team we are building out our B2B and B2C solutions. We use the Planning Boards for SPrint Planning and daily stand up reference. WE use the Incidents page for tracking defects and Test Cases for Test Management. We also use Requirements for High Level Requirements, decomposing into Use Cases. We can bring in third parties as required to communicate their cards.

PROS

Where you are in the B2B market and have tech clients who remain Waterfall in their planning, yet you are more enlightened, this is a suitable tool. It does allow you to plan your dev trains according to iterations and project onto a scrum board. At the same time it allows you to map these cards to a set of requirements. In addition, you can plan your test cases and track defects all in the one platform. Sure, you could go down the Atlassian route, Inflectra appears to be better value for money, especially when adding modules.

CONS

Insufficient integrations available with market defacto standard testing tools. The training model is on a consulting model - not great for start ups and scale ups. Need more training videos dealing with the set up in situations of increasing complexity! Was advised that Inflectra is responsive to customer feedback feature requests. Have not experienced this yet, despite regular feedback. Because most teams spend so much time in the Planning Board, more investment is required to improve usability of this page. Its good, just not great yet. It would be great to restrict visibility of external users to specific pages or to specific cards, instead we have to create separate projects for these groups, which is not always ideal when inserting external groups into internal team work.

Tammy

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2016

Requirements and Test Management in one place

The primary goal of the software we were looking for was the management of requirements and testing along with a built-in traceability matrix and reports. SpiraTeam included these at a reasonable cost. We purchased the 4.2 version and have not upgraded to the latest. We like the feature that not only maps the requirement to test case(s) but also indicates how many of the associated test cases have passed/failed. The filtering on tables for Requirements, Test Cases and Incidents is very helpful. Also like the folder and subfolder concepts to easily group system features. We have not used the Test Sets feature. We've been able to generate requirements and test reports and make some modifications. I am not a developer so this was a bit challenging and was not able to figure out how to create a report for bugs not linked to test cases. SpiraTeam does have a report showing Test Cases with associated incidents of which I was able to expand to get additional incident information other than just the ID. They have a handful of other reports as well. We used several administrative features. Adding new users and projects is fairly easy and straight forward. We configured the Incident work steps (workflow) to meet our business workflow (e.g., added Works as Designed and Close (by Design)), added some custom fields and adjusted field properties (e.g., hide, require) per the workstep. We used the email notifications feature as well. We also synchronized with Jira but abandoned this. We could not get the components to map but mostly because after trying it, we found it much easier to manage defects in one system for our internal processes. Once a bug is synchronized and written to Jira, you can only update it from Jira, not SpiraTeam. It would be nice to have a feature that lets you know when a test case should be retested because the associated bugs are fixed. Customer Service is responsive and professional. Sometimes I found answers to my questions on their Knowledge Base. Overall good experience. Really helps to see that requirements are covered by test cases and gives the ability to manage test case (pass/fail) in one place without having to use spreadsheets!

Sudha

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed October 2014

Spira Feedback

Spira is a very good QA tool. It is very easy to use and very nice documents to follow. Very affordable price. Very good customer service. I am very happy using this tool and pleased with the customer service quick responses. However, here are some of the improvements and enhancement suggestions. 1. Is this compatible to use in all the browsers. Currently, if I am using chrome, when I try to edit the test case there is no way of saving. Save button is disabled. Update button is not displaying on the edited step. Today I started using IE to see if it will work better. Any ideas on that which browser it works well or is it properly tested to use in all browsers? 2. If working on a test script or projects using Spira, user accidently deletes the test case, is there a way that we can restore the data? Any history to bring back the deleted test case? If this is not there now, I request to add as a future enhancement to benefit. 3. Why do we need in Test cases also Execute button and in Test Sets also Execute button? It is very confusing. Usually it should be in Test Sets. 4. Axosoft and Spira test documents can be clearer to understand from a QA tester perspective. 5. I am still learning and trying to experiment the full features. Thanks.

Vendor Response

Hi Sudha Thanks for the positive feedback. I think you have some questions as well as the review. For questions 1-5 I would submit a help desk ticket to us (if you have not already). In answer to the questions for anyone reading: 1) Spira works with all versions of Firefox, Safari, Chrome and Opera as well as IE8 or later. 2) If you delete a test case, simply go to Administration > Project History Changes and you can revert the delete. 3) You can execute a test case or a test set because sometimes smaller teams don't want to use the test set functionality and just assign test cases directly. For larger teams, test sets are optimal. 4) Thanks for the feedback, the integration with AxoSoft OnTime is an integration feature and is definitely more technical than the rest of the system.

Replied October 2014

Michael

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed May 2009

We are using Spirateam / Spiratest for test case management and for managing our testing workforce.

We are using Spirateam / Spiratest for test case management and for managing our testing workforce. Also we are using it to track test case execution. -> This is where I can recommend the tool to others Whatever question we had was answered by Inflectra customer service in a timely and competent way. As a software company ourselves I was very much impressed. -> This is a major reason to go and invest into Inflectra software. The money spent is worth every cent. We cannot use the integrated ticketing tool and unfortunately were not able to integrate with our Jira ticketing solution the way we planned. The promoted Jira interface was a major reason to select Spiratest and we were very disappointed that it does not really work. However this feature is promised for a later release 2009. -> We are hoping that Jira integration will be improved and integrated into the admin interface by the Spira development team as promised end of 2008.

PROS

- world class customer service - product is still improved and enhanced - cost/feature ratio is ok - helps us to improve software development process - we are using the Excel importer often also to create new testcases. This is really fast. - direct access to the MSSQL databaes allows custom report generation

CONS

- Jira integration is not really working - Jira integration is only done with cryptic configuration files and not using the web-admin interface. - doesn't work well with Firefox browsers - doesn't work under Linux - test case creation using the web-gui is kind of time consuming - reporting could be more configurable directly in Spiratest

David

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed May 2016

SpiraTeam and Inflectra great alround value

Very intuitive and easy to use application with custom role based access that suites any organisation. We have run the in-house version for over four years now and nothing much to complain about and when we've had a problem the support has been fantastic. We don't use the application to its fullest potential but extensively for test management and reporting.

PROS

Ease of use, no client installations, supports the main browser flora, a multitude of plugins for integration with other systems. Configuration flexibility. Plenty of features to grow in to. Fantastic support team and a vendor that listens to the user base addapting and improving the application at every new release. Very reasonable licensing and support fees.

CONS

I can only think of one drawback that is MS platform dependancy for the server installation and db.

Vendor Response

Thanks David

Replied May 2016

Anonymous

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

Have used SpiraTeam for several years and find the product features getting very rich.

Being able to demonstrate application lifecycle management in one application regardless of the framework of choice!

PROS

Recently, I used some of its custom reporting functionality and was amazed at the easy interface and the out-of-the-box functionality. Very good.

CONS

At this point, I can't think of anything as they have a good roadmap, webinars, and user groups that support most of the immediate questions I have had.

Jennifer

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

Reviewed December 2013

SPIRA Review

We have been using Spira for a number of years now overall find it very good for our needs. Pros: - Easy to track Test Cases and Releases - Easy to track Test Cases against Requirements - Reporting is straightforward and easy to follow - The Support team is always very quick in responding to our queries - The ability to copy test cases from project to project is a huge benefit to us - Export and Import add on for Word is a great tool that has been used by a number of our teams Cons: - We have had some issues where test cases have been deleted by accident and the roll back functionality did not quite work to revert them - now if this happens I generally revert directly through the database which is not ideal - Although there is a History tab this does not quite suit us for versioning our test cases - it would be great if there was proper versioning of test cases so you don't have to duplicate them - sometimes the front end gets a bit confused and we start seeing duplicate folders and test cases which can cause confusion and filter sometimes doesn't work correctly Overall the product is easy to use once you understand how everything links together. As with all tools there are some things we would change to make it more useful for ourselves. But the system has been a huge benefit to us from managing our test cases through the QA lifecycle.

Shibu

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed June 2011

Technical support

For the value of money it is worth to use ,but those who look at this as an alternative for QC the comfort of use is surely going to loose.

PROS

Remarkable technical support, for this I would really like to appreciate the Inflectra Support team especially to Adam who understood my issues and fixed it.

CONS

1. Very sad to know that an appropriate load testing certification is not yet done or not published yet. 2. Single database for all the projects for big firm like us who keeps huge date will be concern , suggestion is to keep seperate db for each project.

Vendor Response

- Unlike QC we chose to use a single database because many potential customers disliked the admin burden of QC and the inability to do cross-project reporting. - Load testing results for v3.1 in the process of being formatted for external consumption - The system has a different user interface than QC, some people like SpiraTeam's more than QC, some prefer QC, it depends what you are used to :-)

Replied June 2011

Pascal

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed March 2010

Good mid range ALM-software for a good price

good software covering a lot of functions for a good price

PROS

Very quick und friendly support with honest and competent answers. Interesting price. Important ALM-function are covered

CONS

However we miss some specific functions. Therefore we need workarounds or specific implementations: Cross-project associations or copy function for custom properties Render different attachments format (without coping them as image in the description field) in a HTML report Ability to change or add custom report Copying configuration between different installations Data migration from (other than the 4 supported tools) third party software with attachments Disabling not always used mandatory fields (planed effort) in the different asp pages

Subramanya

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed March 2010

Highly cost effective solution for test management

Great and simple tool, a cost effective solution.

PROS

1) Features available 2) Cost per feature 3) Integration with TestComplete & NUnit 4) Great Sales person; Adam helping end user better understanding of functionality, providing workaround and more importantly promptness in response.

CONS

1) Inflexibility in reports, though this could be overcome by customized xml reports, this customization could have been made simpler. 2) Dashboard is functional but not appealing 3) Testing tasks other than testcase execution could not be created 4) OS Env could not be mentioned for a test planning & execution

Vendor Response

For item (4) you just need to add OS/Env custom properties on the Test Runs and then you can specify such factors during testing.

Replied March 2010

Paras

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

Reviewed July 2014

SpiraTeam Review

Basis our current usage, we have found Spira to be a good SDLC tool till the testing stage. This has helped us tracking/recording and monitoring our test cases and test results. The workflow in which we are able to track the requirement from the initial requirement gathering stage to the release stage, including testing very effectively. It has also helped in keeping a tab on the release calender and hence effective Project Management. There is scope of improvement in the overall upload functionality, specially post appending our data. Creation of new workflow, still remains a challenge, which hopefully spira team is working towards addressing. It would be helpful, if we complete SDLC cycle, including post release management workflows as well.

Kelly Jo

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed January 2013

Review

I would definitely recommend this product to companies for test case writing and execution. The product is easy to use. The testing progression can be viewed quickly for management of the timeline. We do not use the product for the business requirements though.

PROS

Able to use test spreadsheet to write test cases and it is very simple to import into product. Test case execution is user friendly. Discrepancies can be tied to the test case. Discrepancies can be distributed amongst team members with ease for development and re-testing.

CONS

Large quantity of test cases in the import spreadsheet can cause it to lock up.

Riccardo

Oil & Energy, 201-500 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2020

Spira review

PROS

the feauture i like mosto are remote launch, easy to duplicate project structure

CONS

it's difficult tu upgrade the version. It will be appreciate a automate tool for version update

Vendor Response

Hi Riccardo, Thanks for the review. Sorry to hear about the difficulties you have run into upgrading your version. We released a completely new upgrading system in v6.0 last year, I'm not sure if you have tried that version? We have made continual improvements to the ease of use of the application itself and the upgrading tools in v6.0 and later.

Replied March 2020

Tony

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed October 2011

Customer Service/Product Review

I would recommend the product based on ease of use, customer support and moderate pricing model.

PROS

Customer support was excellent. The product features are clear and easy to use. The system is highly customizable using a hierarchical structure. The application produces high quality reports as well.

CONS

I would like to see some features that leverage graphics a bit more. Also the ability to link assets between projects and a more robust (and customizable) use case module will add some value (although I understand these are underway.

Sundaranatarajan

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed March 2012

Wondeful Product

Certainly very well suited product for the entire life cycle.

PROS

1. Feature rich product 2. Excellent support even during the weekends 3. Very good integration facilities offerd

CONS

1. Workflow support for requirements, test cases, test step etc similar to incident will be useful. This will allow differentiaing the requester and reviewer. 2. EA Integration does not have support for TAG values 3. Good if the product can support copying custom properties and list across projects.

Kent

Used free trial

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed February 2013

Great RM/TM tool for the price

Our company researched over 2 dozen tools while looking for a Req Mgmt/Test Mgmt solution. We are very pleased with our decision to use SpiraTeam. Several projects have adopted its use in the first few months of deployment, and all the internal reviews are positive. A common remark I hear is "The more I use SpiraTeam, the more I like it". As a result of our satisfaction with this tool we have also purchased Rapise for automated testing. Again we have been very pleased with the number of features and ease of use, not to mention its integration with SpiraTeam.

Kristin

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed September 2013

Loving SpiraTeam

We began using SpiraTeam about 6 months ago and and have been very happy with the tool. Overall, the tool is very easy to use and easy to learn. The customer service is excellent and unlike any other tool I have worked with in the past. We typically hear back on all help desk tickets within a few hours. There are a few performance issues with certain modules like requirements or test cases though. Importing tests is also quite cumbersome. We are hoping those issues are addressed in the next release.

Daniel

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed December 2008

Our QA team is committed to using this product for our needs. We would love to see it grow.

Our QA team is committed to using this product for our needs. We would love to see it grow and become more robust.

PROS

Good features. Stable. The best aspect about this tool is that Inflectra is commited to making it better. Customer service is great. Frequest releases. Bugs are fixed fast. Customer support is super fast and super helpful.

CONS

The UI has room to improve, feature-wise, but nothing bad about the product overall.

Marcus

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed March 2011

SpiraTeam Review

So far, we would highly recommend the product and the company. It is a great light-weight alternative to HP Quality Center, which we also evaluated.

PROS

Product is lightweight, flexible, feature-rich, responsive. Company has good documentation and provides excellent customer support. Reasonable pricing.

CONS

Only a few very minor issues so far, but nothing worth reporting.

Sharon

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed June 2010

Excellent support

Have just started using and it seems good thus far. Will have to use it some more before I can actually recommend it.

PROS

Just started using the tool and pretty easy. Had wueations and got immediate response form support staff- A nice person called Mike.

CONS

Too bad it does not have copy features for workflows etc from 1 project to another.

Chris

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE