All Twist Reviews

1-25 of 35 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Clemens

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2023

The true async alternative to Slack

I love it and do does the team.

PROS

It's just a totally different mindset. No "online" indicator, no "typing..." indicator. No need to madly dash off one-liners. Instead, calm and focused work. The Inbox makes sure nothing falls through the crack, the notification settings are sensible, the interface is neat and the whole philosophy of Twist and the team behind it (Doist, the same company that makes Todoist) are well aligned with the needs of remote and async teams.

CONS

It's a smaller company, with no venture backing, so some nice-to-have features are missing, as are some integrations: Everybody makes their product integrate with Slack, because that's the big incumbent.

Reason for choosing Twist

The way threads and channels work in twist is just much more organized than the chaotic way it turns out in Slack.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2020

Asynchronous chat

The whole team loved it because now instead of being distracted every time someone sends a message in some channel, people could finally spend time doing productive work and checking their email and Twist notifications when they want.

PROS

Threaded conversations are a killer feature. It's not a Slack-type thread where you can easily get lost, especially when trying to keep up with more than one thread. Twist threads resemble forum where you open or subscribe to topics and participate in meaningful conversations. Another feature I absolutely love is selecting people to notify when creating a new thread. It makes you consider who this message is important to before sending unlike with other messengers where everyone gets notified unless they mute the whole channel.

CONS

When we migrated from Twist alternative that was "noisier" and synchronous, we had a separate channel with real-time status updates from our CI server, uptime notifications, and real-time errors. This was a bit hard to do with Twist since it wasn't meant for that.

Reasons for switching to Twist

We got tired of never-ending notifications and the urge to participate in real-time conversations. It was notification anxiety.

Jamie

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2023

Customer Support is Absolutely Terrible.

Terrible customer service!

PROS

The intention is good, but if customer support cannot fix the technical issues that arise that limit the users from seeing what you put on the channels, then the platform is basically worthless as the communication tool that it was meant to be.

CONS

When there is an issue that you need resolved, do not count on customer support to help. You will have to either figure it out yourself, or just live with it. Customer service will only email you. It takes days to go back and forth when it could easily take 1 phone call to resolve an issue. They will NOT speak to you over the phone.

User Profile

Yann

Verified reviewer

Online Media, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

An excellent digital tool for asynchronous team communication

PROS

The one thing I'd like to mention, which isn't about a feature itself but more about a company philosophy (or, at least, it appears so), is Twist's emphasis on asynchronous, so on communication that doesn't happen at the same time. When it comes to the platform itself, my favorite feature is the Integrations that are available in Twist – one in particular: the Team Check-In. With the Team Check-In feature, you can create specific automated and recurring posts being published on Twist. This is powerful, especially if you're thinking about hosting a weekly standup meeting with the members of your team, you could use the automated Team Check-In coming into the picture and then have other members interact with something that was shared as part of the Team Check-In Automation.

CONS

I personally think that Twist is a very valuable tool for team communication, especially for the asynchronous. However, there's one feature I feel could be improved: the ability to navigate different threads. Finding a specific word, sentence or piece of advice you shared somewhere on Twist should be something that's found quickly and easily – but, unfortunately, that isn't often the case.

Nicole

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2018

Helps with managing projects using Threads

PROS

Twist is one of the best communication tool. It helps with creating new threads for each new projects. We can add different team members to different projects. Managing communication is easier in Twist as it stores all data into the cloud database. All contacts can be stored and personal messages can be sent.

Jeremy

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2018

Great communication and chatting application

PROS

Twist is a new product in the market yet but helps a lot with communicating with friends. It has great features like integrating with google documents.

CONS

Helps with sending quick messages. Allow people to join our channels to be part of a discussion. team members can be invited and added to various channels.

Alan

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2018

Helps with collaboration

PROS

Twist helps me with collaborating with my team members for various important discussions. It helps creating channels and discussion panels.

CONS

User interface is easy but sometimes the messages does not deliver immediately. Seems the issue with latest version of Twist.

User Profile

Zebo

Verified reviewer

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2018

Fantastic for contractors/freelancers/project managers

Outstanding! I am a very sensitive, focused, sensible, and accommodating contractor with my clients and team members. Twist has helped me to set healthy boundaries with them.

PROS

I love the fact that I am able to focus on my work without getting interrupted by any notifications. I am very disciplined with my time and I get bothered by unexpected notifications or random questions from colleagues. With Twist it requires users to create threads for any topic/questions - it makes the user think though and post an organized question that is though through and tag only people to it is addressed to. I moved from Slack to Twist and I don't regret it. I am super thankful for this platform help me to create a more sensible work environment.

CONS

EMOJIs :) Although I understand that Twist has purposely limited the emoji options for users not to be distracted. But that is the only thing I miss. Perhaps I will get used to it.

User Profile

Katarzyna

Verified reviewer

Writing and Editing, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

Easy and useful

I like it. It's perfect for companies employing 10-500 people. If there were more, I guess they would need some more functions, or groups, but in my case, it was really good. I just needed contact to my PMs usually. They contacted a few more people, but I think they liked Twist too.

PROS

It's perfect for jobs like mine (copywritting/translating). Communication must be quick and easy. I could notify anyone in my own thread or go to someone else's tread and do the same. It's really crucial, when PMs and editors change for every project. Everyone could see the threads, so if someone needed help, they could find the informations without having to ask anyone. The are private messages too of course, so it's not like you can't send private data.

CONS

I had troubles with mobile app. Some users were added to notifications by deafault and I didn't really know how to cancel it, when I just wanted to notify one of them.

Stan

Management Consulting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2018

Twist helps with internal communication

PROS

Twist has been a good tool for our team to manage internal communications. It helps sending text messages as well as google documents on the chat. We can create threads for projects based on a project name. history for the chat can be maintained easily.

CONS

It has a very clean UI. The mobile app works great and provides email notification everyday for activities.

Miguel

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

A Twist On Collaborative Communication

I thought that I had seen them all. But something as simple as creating multiple threads within a channel was bright enough to justify the development of yet another tool. It truly does help keep you focused and ignore the noise from the content you seek. Its search features are great with more variables to choose from than one can desire. And it's integration with my favorite To-Do list (ToDoist), this pretty much puts the icing on the cake.

PROS

At first glance, Twist looks very familiar to its competitors. But upon closer examination, it has some significant improvements over them. For starters, it has a very sophisticated search engine that goes beyond basic searches in the threaded conversations. With all the power of its competitors, it keeps much of the noise inherent in collaborative communication tools to a very low minimum. How does Twist keep conversations better organized? It uses channels and threads. Unlike competitors who are setup for a long thread in a channel, Twist lets you create channels with multiple threads to isolate relevant conversations into individual threads. This helps cut down on the noise a little and allows you to keep an eye on the thread with more importance. Another cool feature is its integration to their ToDoist product. You can add conversations as To-Do or Tasks in ToDoist right from Twist. Need to integrate with other applications? This is simple, too. Choose from a hand full of their existing application integrations, or Zapier, which adds hundreds more to the list. Twist is very easy to setup and very easy to use. If you have ever used a collaborative communication tool in the past, you got this.

CONS

Could not find a Con I could speak on behalf of. With a free test account to start with, all the features known to collaborative communication tools, and a few perks that keeps the noise down... Twist truly has not Cons.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

A Great Tool for Asynchronous Internal Communication

PROS

We have been using Twist as our primary tool for internal communication and have been very happy with the service.One of the things we appreciate most about Twist is that it is an asynchronous platform, which means that we don't have to worry about being bombarded with notifications all day. This has helped us to be more productive and focus on our work.We also use the free tier of Twist and have found that it meets most of our needs. It is a great way to keep our team organized and on the same page without having to spend a lot of money.

CONS

One potential downside to Twist is that it is not as feature-rich as some other communication tools on the market. However, for our team, the free tier provides more than enough features to get the job done.Additionally, it would be nice if there was a cheaper paid tier as an intermediate option. This would allow us to access more features without having to pay for the full-featured paid plan.

Anonymous

5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Project management solution

The user experience is very well thought out. It's simple and effective.

PROS

It can be adapted to any department in the company to collaborate and manage your project efficiently. It organizes the topics in such a way as to ensure progress.

CONS

I would like to have more features like monday.com

Andrew

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2018

Great teamwork product

PROS

I am so enthusiastic about Twist, it's really great. The general idea behind it is that it accomplishes what something like Slack does, but it is designed to not get in the way of work actually getting done. The topic threading is extremely well done, and administering a team through it seems very simple and intuitive, from my experience (I've been using it to organize a 3 person team for a couple of months). Twist has focused their design choices on actual productivity, and makes it easy to get back to conversations on your own schedule, without having to be online 24-7 to make sure you didn't miss anything important in a conversation. The search function, in my somewhat limited experience, is extremely good and useful. It also seems to be more affordable than something like Slack although I am not using the paid version yet (the project I'm using it for is informal and not funded atm), but mostly I just find that using it is much less stressful than other options I've used for team communication.

CONS

While this isn't really a technical problem, Twist still isn't the default communication app, so you can't just use this for anything you want, and you have to try to convert people to using it. In my case, I was setting up a new project and just told everyone we were giving it a try, and the reaction was very positive once they used it, however getting your team to buy into using it could be a problem.

Gabriel

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Very good to async companies

PROS

I'm a heavy user of Slack but sometimes Slack bothers you too much when you receive too many messages. On Twist, you can easily decide to answer threads later. It's very good if the drives are in this direction because everyone in the company needs to understand that it's a tool for async work and you may not receive an answer right away.

CONS

It's expensive as the number of users grows. It demands a shift of mentality of the whole company so it may be difficult to implement in some companies.

Simona

Publishing, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2022

Un software perfetto per il remote working in team

Ho lavorato per mesi con un team formato da persone provenienti da ogni parte del mondo in maniera organizzata. In situazioni simili, lo riutilizzerei volentieri.

PROS

Ho usato twist durante una collaborazione con un'azienda estera. L'ho trovato perfetto per comunicazioni estemporanee e non, perché permette di gestire gli interlocutori in maniera ottimale tenendo conto anche dei diversi fusi orari. Davvero molto versatile.

CONS

Non ci sono mai stati grandi inconvenienti, segnalo solo che per comunicazioni in tempo reale alla WhatsApp, però, forse è meglio un'opzione tipo Slack.

Mir

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

Twist helps me sending project information to design team

Great tool for communication (Especially on messaging, chat etc.)

PROS

Twist helps me communicating with our design team. It helps sending quick messages and keeps a history of messages. I can refer back to Twist when i need to see old messages.

CONS

It does not have any issue and works faster. It provides easy to use interface and helps communicating to team members.

User Profile

Jonathan

Verified reviewer

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2018

YES! Slack but BETTER!

All the benefits of a chat app, none of the confusion and distraction. LOVE IT.

PROS

What I LOVE about Twist is that the conversations are THREADED! Other chat apps like the big one every knows about Slack are like big open real-time chat rooms. It's hard to go back to something that was talked about before or to catch up on a project that was talked about when you weren't logged on (say, if you work different hours than the rest of the team) All these other chat apps act like they're a replacement for email. But they don't quite replace it all. ENTER TWIST. If you've ever used another chat app, like Slack, it's pretty much just like it, EXCEPT inside the channel, there's another layer of organization! So, inside the "Upcoming Live Event" channel, instead of everything in one fat pile, you can have a "food vendors" thread, an "emcee selection" thread, and a "t-shirt designs" thread.

CONS

I really wish the free tier was more generous. It's limited by time (keeps messages for 1 month) instead of number of messages (most recent 10,000 for example) so it ends up pressuring teams to purchase or abandon pretty quickly (which may or may not be a bad thing?)

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2018

Good team communication tool with additional functionality to be more effective and productive.

Team communication is much cleaner than other alternatives. It's still in it's infancy in terms of development, but they seem to have gotten off on the right foot.

PROS

A clean user interface. Clarity between threads and messages. Easily create teams (groups) or send messages to individuals. Add emojis/reactions to comments/threads/messages. @mentions allow for lightweight notifications and communication. #tags make it easy to find common topics. Decisions and Tasks/Actions make it easy to see action items and be able to look back to see why you did what you did. Guest User accounts allow for collaboration with temporary team members (perhaps someone with another company that you are partnering with). The price is one of the most competitive in the market, especially for the features. Integration with Todoist allows you to take your action items outside of the chat environment into more of a task-oriented environment.

CONS

Twist is a relatively new software solution so the number of integrations is lacking, but the product is supported by a strong company so it is only a matter of time before they build their market share, build new integrations, and attract more 3rd parties to develop their own integrations.

User Profile

Polo

Verified reviewer

Design, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2018

The calmer option to slack

PROS

Twist lets you follow work topics in a more calm, less real time than other tools. Which might work for your organization, I really liked the ability to create channels where more focused conversations can surge. Since it is not a chat, people tend to be more concise and focused on their messages, which is great.

CONS

It's not the easiest tool to grasp an idea on, it takes time to adjust your brain from real time communication to this threaded version.

Matt

Management Consulting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY