All Website Toolbox Reviews

1-25 of 115 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

cathie

2 - 10 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed July 2021

Use it a lot!

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2018

LOVE Website Toolbox!

Our website forum is integral to our sales. As customers post photos on our forum it encourages others to buy the product. The forum provides a great customer community. It includes members from all around the world.

PROS

The number one thing I love about Website Toolbox is the ease of integrating a forum into my website. The forum sits on their servers so there's no software or maintenance required on my end. In addition their team will work closely with you to ensure your forum looks exactly like your website. Plus the flat monthly fee includes unlimited image storage which is so important to us since we cater to woodworkers and almost every post includes images. Website Toolbox is continually improving and upgrading the software which I love.

CONS

I don't have any negatives. One feature I'd love to see in the future would be a built in translator for foreign language posts and for members from different countries to be able to view the forum in their native language.

Vendor Response

Hi there! Thanks for your awesome 5-star review! There's nothing that makes us happier than seeing "love" in all capital letters! :) Built-in translation of user's posts to another user's current language is a fantastic suggestion. Thanks for that! We will add it in the future. Note that users can see the forum in their own language. The forum automatically detects the language that the user speaks and displays the forum in that language. 12 different languages are supported, and we can add any other language upon request. This is supported in any forum theme created within the last 2 years.

Replied December 2018

LUCAS

Education Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Clean and easy

Great!

PROS

The clean look of this form was crucial. We wanted something that looked native on our site and Website Toolbox's forum is perfect. Being able to use our branded colors and fonts made this seamless.

CONS

We had one issue with connecting our Memberspace accounts to the forum, and the Website Toolbox team says they are resolving it. I also wish that it was more clear that you can tag other users in your posts, though we just had to be upfront with how to do that.

Reasons for switching to Website Toolbox

Muut looks awful when integrated. Website Toolbox looks native.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your wonderful review Lucas! It's great to hear that your forum fit perfectly into your website! :)

Replied November 2019

Paige

Biotechnology, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2019

Farmers Agricultural Forum

It does serve as a resource for new farmers however it’s hard to keep people engaged because the posts do not automatically feed into other social media. First year I did not have a lot of traffic, this year I’ve had a lot more and the negative feedback I’ve gotten from users is embarrassing. I feel trapped because I can understand their frustrations but I can’t do anything about it.

PROS

It was easy enough to setup. I’m not familiar with other products.

CONS

Templates are outdated looking, fonts are outdated. Nearly impossible to filter into other social media sites, which is the main thing all of my users are looking for. It’s extremely difficult to organize topics, people post everywhere. People complain it’s hard to follow conversations. I also do not like not being able to customize the url.

Reason for choosing Website Toolbox

It seemed like a better option at the time, I had little experience with forum building.

Vendor Response

Hi Paige! Thanks for your feedback. I'm glad you found Website Toolbox easy to set up! We usually add new themes every few months. Just 2 days ago we added a new theme called Minimal. Each theme allows you to choose from over 34 of the most popular fonts provided by Google. You can easily preview and choose a font in the theme customizer. I see that your forum already has Facebook integration enabled. Please contact us (reply to this email) to let us us know how you'd like posts to filter into other social media sites. It is possible to have the post posted on Facebook when it is posted on the forum. You can create as many categories as you'd like so that people post in those categories. I'd recommend assigning a trusted moderator with limited permissions so that they can move topics into the correct category when it is in the wrong category. Users can receive email notifications of topics they're following or have posted in. I'll be glad to hear more about how we can improve.

Replied August 2019

Larry

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2018

Forum User only

They respond to support requests in a reasonable amount of time. They resolve issues on their end quickly. Communicating with my users has helped smooth a lot of potential issues.

PROS

It was relatively easy to set up and works (mostly) seamlessly. Does very nice job of setting up PayPal subscription accounts for paid forum features. Also tracks when users respond to a post and e-mails me.

CONS

Occasional glitches. Was throwing users out of paid access for a while but customer service fixed that promptly. Sometimes a customer cannot sign in and the issue resolves itself in a day but i can never tell if it was a user error or temporary software glitch. It has a lot of action logging features that I don't have time to play with. Many features are over my head (and available time) to install or implement. You can blame that on my head and lack of time, or on the software not being as user-friendly as it could be. I don't have anything else to compare it to. Access issues for a visually disabled user. Maybe this is beyond anyone's capacity to fix but I have a visually disabled user who is unable to consistently access the forum. Has to do with her text reading software not able to pick up click boxes and the like. I think that a tech would need to sit down with her at her computer to adequately understand the access issue. I suspect this is commonplace.

Vendor Response

Hi Larry! Thanks for the 5-star review! I'm glad Website Toolbox has been easy for you to set up and that you're earning money from your forum through our Paid Access feature! If you ever decide that you want to explore the more advanced features a bit more, try our help center for detailed guidance. Even better, just live chat, call, or email us anytime and we'd be glad to walk you through it! Thanks!

Replied December 2018

Wendy

Professional Training & Coaching, 1 employee

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

A True Asset

We all love it! As the Admin, I find it very easy to use and create content for the users. The users all love the ability to chat and get info from each other.

PROS

As a Life Coach, I occasionally run book groups for my clients, when I do I use this software. It has helped my clients be able to learn and grow and change their lives. I write assignments and then each client reads the book and posts their input on the board for the group to read and interact with. It helps the client to not feel that they are the only person dealing with a specific situation and helps them leave their issues behind them. Thanks for this very useful tool!

CONS

I currently have one client who has changed her name and unfortunately there is no way to change her name on her account. We have discovered that in order to begin using her new legal name she must close out her old account and begin a new one, but that would be abandoning all previous posts and content. I wish it was easier to edit personal info so that my client could edit her name and keep her contributions.

Vendor Response

Hi Wendy! Thanks for your great feedback! I'm so glad that the forum is helping all of your clients. As an admin, you can edit a user's username or their legal full name if they provided that. Here are instructions on how to change the username: https://www.websitetoolbox.com/support/changing-the-username-of-a-user-76 Here are instructions on how to edit a user's profile to change their full name: https://www.websitetoolbox.com/support/editing-members-254 (Users can also do that themselves.) If you're using a custom Single Sign On integration which uses the full name and because of that you aren't able to change that information, please contact our support team and we'll be glad to make the change for you.

Replied August 2019

Nataly

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Website Toolbox Review

Customer Service has been excellent! Always very responsive and helpful. They have taken suggestions given into consideration and several updates have been made, based on customer feedback. General set up is easy; cost is ok - depending on your needs there are tiers to chose from; available flexibility to set up your company theme, to match your website look or company logo/image

PROS

The ability to set up Topics and Categories for various communication categories is key to us, for its use. The flexibility provided in setting up these various groups allows us to address all areas of communication within the agency, by department, division, topic, area or project. The easy 'chat format', is similar to email and thus a comfortable layout for all to communicate in

CONS

not being able to maintain contacts that have not been active for a longer time period; losing those contracts does not allow us to then communicate with all in the agency via an email blast/main message; also, it is hard to upkeep the database of 'active members' as there is not 'unsubscribe feature' for members.

Reason for choosing Website Toolbox

at that time it was the best option we found, that addressed the flexibility we needed, for our communication needs and ability to link to our webpage

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2018

Easy to setup and get going

We moved from another bbs software platform and it was easy to setup and get running.

PROS

It has the basic features you would want in a bbs system, easy to set up and get up and running.

CONS

Some limited options with customizing the look and feel. Newer software has more features.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your review! I'm glad you found Website Toolbox to be easy to use and set up. Please check out the two new themes called Classic and Material that we've launched over the last few months. We're also in the final stages of launching several new themes called Minimal, Lights Out, and Compact. Next week we'll also be launching the newest and most powerful version of our easy theme editor, which gives you even more control over the appearance of your forum.

Replied October 2018

Benjamin

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

It simply works exactly how you would want it to.

It simply works how you want it to. Amazing support team. Amazing technical team. The most thorough FAQ help documentation I have seen with 500-1000 customisability DYI FAQ's. If you want forums on your site, its WebsiteTool Box or nothing in my view. I never leave reviews, take this one seriously!

PROS

Easy to use. Easy to implement into my website. It simply works. When you want something changed, support is there instantly to chat and fixes are implemented within 60-90 minutes in my experience. Setting an unbelievable standard. I never leave reviews, so take this one seriously!

CONS

90% of features are as needed, with a large degree of customisability. I will be looking into custom development with the team for the remaining 10%!

Reason for choosing Website Toolbox

The free demo, the help documentation and the overall modern design of the forums.

Bjorn

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Great product, great team

PROS

It's always a pleasure dealing with your team. I am a big fan of your platform.

CONS

Lack of built-in affiliate referral capabilities

Vendor Response

Thank you Bjorn! We're in the process of developing built-in affiliate referral capabilities.

Replied October 2023

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed October 2018

A Solid Forum Platform

The forum is a place for our users to share ideas and ask questions about how to use our product. It works really well for that.

PROS

Website Toolbox is easy to setup, easy for users to interact with and is a very reliable tool for hosting our online forum.

CONS

Some of our users struggle with more advanced features like adding in photos but this is typical of all forums that I use.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your review! It's great to hear that your forum was easy to set up, is easy for your users to interact with, and has proven to be reliable over the last 2 years you've been with us! We're constantly looking for ways to make the forum even more easy to use. We'll investigate how we can make photo uploading even more user-friendly. Thanks for your feedback.

Replied October 2018

Jeffery

Sports, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2019

A nice, easy to use software package to setup and manage forums

Our group is just a hobby group so wanted software that was easy to use and maintain. Love the software and the customer support is outstanding

PROS

Ease of setting up a forum. Ease of maintaining a forum.

CONS

Speed. Loads too slow sometimes. Some features will disappear for users occasionally.

Reason for choosing Website Toolbox

N/A

Vendor Response

Hi Jeffery, Thanks for your review! It's lovely to hear that Website Toolbox has been easy to set up and maintain and that you think our customer support is outstanding! :) We do build the platform for split second page loads, so if the page is loading slowly for you now or at any time, please contact us and let us know (websitetoolbox.com/contact). The issue could be caused by custom HTML that you may have added to the header/footer of your forum or by something else that is interfering with normal page loads. We'll be glad to investigate it for you.

Replied August 2019

cathie

Executive Office, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2019

Use it a lot!

I'm glad you have a tool like this - but I'm sure I'm using uniquely.

PROS

I like that it helps me to create a forum for my teams to share ideas and communicate what they are learning in trainings.

CONS

Can be wonky log in and stuff and the price jump from the first year I used it to now is a lot.. we only use it for a forum - for intercommunication - so the price we pay is high for what we are using. I understand that it can do much more than we use it for - but I wish there was tiered pricing that was more in line - or that we could have been grandfathered. The issue is that because I use with one team for 6 months and then close it out and then have to open another to use with the next training - it's frustrating for pricing and set up.

Reason for choosing Website Toolbox

I didn't see anything that would allow me the ease at the price point - now that you have gone up - I might be able to find something else...but I already knew your software.

Vendor Response

Hi Cathie, Thanks for your review! I'm glad it has been helpful for communication among your teams. I'd like to clarify that we do have tiered pricing. We have a Starter, Growth, and Pro plan that each serve a different size forum. You choose your plan when subscribing and can change it at any time. Your situation is definitely unique! If you're starting with a new team every 6 months, you can keep the same Website Toolbox account and just ask us to erase the content of your forum. That will allow you to start from scratch and still keep the same pricing due to grandfathering.

Replied August 2019

Dan

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2018

The Hyperacusis Network

Good way for people all over the world to communicate.

PROS

Ease of use, architecture of the message board.

CONS

Cost and customer support. There is no phone number to call when help is needed.

Vendor Response

Hi Dan, Thanks for your feedback! It's awesome to hear that Website Toolbox has been easy for you to use! We do provide phone support. Our phone number is published on our contact page: https://www.websitetoolbox.com/contact/. The phone number is 1-800-921-7803. We also provide live chat and email support. Feel free to reach out if you have any questions or concerns!

Replied October 2018

David

Capital Markets, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2019

Needing more features

Great customer service, but limited functions (payments, social media).

PROS

Ease of use makes the site an attractive option.

CONS

Would like to see more social media interface.

Reason for choosing Website Toolbox

Ease of use.

Vendor Response

Hi David, It seems like everyone loves our customer support and also how easy Website Toolbox is! Thanks for your feedback regarding the social media and payments features. Definitely check out our Facebook Connect integration (log in with Facebook) and our Paid Access feature (users can subscribe to your content or donate).

Replied August 2019

Michelle

Civic & Social Organization, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2018

Excellent upgrade from our last forum

Overall we are very pleased with Website Toolbox!

PROS

The ease of set up and online subscription payment.

CONS

I really wish there were push notifications when posts are made.

Vendor Response

Hi Michelle, Thanks for your 5-star review! I'm glad that the subscription payments feature has been earning you some money! Your users can choose to be notified via email when any new post occurs, when a topic they post in has a new reply, or when topics that they follow have new replies. This is a great way for them to stay engaged with the forum. We're also working on in-forum notifications of those events as well, just in case users would rather not receive email notifications. If you'd like to set up something more advanced or creative, like SMS (mobile text message) or browser push notifications, you can use our webhooks feature to develop that functionality. Please contact our support team if you need any assistance with setting those things up.

Replied December 2018

Tyshel

Automotive, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2020

MotorHead Gurus Forum

PROS

The product integrates easily and has the functions necessary for a forum. The support team is helpful with quick replies to request for assistance and questions.

CONS

The software works fine as a forum, but I hope that someday they sell the software license so it could be installed on my company's server rather than on my website as an embedded file.

Reason for choosing Website Toolbox

It was easier to use Website Toolbox rather build a forum and the customer service is a good support team.

Joseph

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT