User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(35)

35

4 stars

(33)

33

3 stars

(3)

3

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(1)

1

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Browse Zimbra Collaboration Suite Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 72 results

March 2019

User Profile Picture

Giridhar from Miracle Software Systems, Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Best Email Client Software

Zimbra, an instant mail setup client which is the best for the corporate sector as we can easily deliver messages and receive the same which works in real time. I have been using Zimbra mail server from the past 2 years and it works remain excellent till time as I don't even have any late deliverability nor any delayed task on it. The features were actually well built for an employee who used to use this on a daily basis and can interact with their colleagues/staff members/clients easily and on time.

Pros

The most I like in Zimbra is: 1. Faster Deliverability of Emails in real time 2. Can add Email Signature to all our emails 3. Can send Events/Meetings Invites 4. User Responsive in design and lite speed software 5. Can use Out of Office option if you're in leave and send automatic responsive email to them 6. Can Import/Backup all emails/contacts with a single click 7. Can search through all our emails by using search options 8. There is an inbuilt Calendar for our quick meetings lookup in it

Cons

Hmm.. At Present, there's no cons or least liked about this software as I have been using it from past 2 years and going with the same speed till now :)

May 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Great solution for Linux based on-prem or cloud email collaboration suite

The deployment was easy, I was able to easily connect the server to our LDAP server and import all of our users. The migration of content was a bit more difficult due to the nature of our old system, practically nothing supports GroupWise, so we had to migrate one account at a time via IMAP from the old server to the new server.

Pros

It is based on Linux, it can do SSO sign-on with Active Directory, as well as most LDAP based authentication directory services. The web mail is full featured, not a light client. They provide both ActiveSync and CalDAV/CardDAV access, which is important for us as a design company using mostly Mac computers.

Cons

The software itself is great. My only issue was for the few times I needed to reach out to Zimbra/Synacor's support, the response time was a bit slow (1-2 days). I assume if this had been an outage and had called in rather than only email my request, I would've received a faster response.

Reasons for Choosing Zimbra Collaboration Suite

It is the product that integrated the best with macOS's native mail and calendar client. It is also based on open source technology (i.e., only the web front-end is proprietary, but all the engines/services powering it are open source software (Postfix, Amavis, SpamAssassin, etc).

Reasons for Switching to Zimbra Collaboration Suite

Novell was bought by another company and the quality of the product and support has gone down drastically in my opinion. We've had a number of acknowledged defects that have been open for over 18 months with no fixes, in some cases completely breaking the calendar functionality, which is a critical component for business operations.

August 2021

Stephanie from School District of Philadelphia

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2021

Zimbra Collaboration Suite

My experience with using Zimbra was favorable.

Pros

Zimbra was easy to use once you mastered learning how to use it.

Cons

I had no complaints about using this software. I would continue using it but it is no longer an option

April 2018

Syed Arbab from BankIslami Pakistan Limited

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2018

Its a good product with low cost on-premise mailing and collaboration suite!!

Our organization is based on Linux with end user using the same and we really don;t want to go MS Exchange option so we left with choices of Lotus Notes (Which is a very good yet expensive product), Novell groupwise and Zimbra. Having tested Zimbra around more than 10 years ago we choose this. It has the flexibility to provide mobile base, thick client and thin web base client. So it was good choice and we are quite satisfied with our decision back then

Pros

Its scale-able, robust, secure and low cost. Based on Postfix and other opensource packages it provides good emailing solution. All the included packages are thoroughly tested before included in release. With most of the world going to cloud for email for the organizations need low cost yet secure and scale-able on premise mailing solution Zimbra is a good option. It has very good Web base UI which is very easy to use. There is no performance issues. Visibility with logs is very good . Zimlets are very cool features you can add on

Cons

The support is a bit so so maybe because of change of so many owners of the company. The web ui can use skin option to make it look and feel like different email platform in the market, e.g. if someone is use to outlook or gmail ui then a them/skin could provide that

September 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2021

Good collaboration suite

Pros

- searching is great (as I remember it can search even inside archives) - good localization - intuitive UI/UX

Cons

- complicated backup flow - lack of mails management rules - lack of features in the mobile version

February 2019

User Profile Picture

Cynthia from Conduent

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2019

Zimbra Transition

Zimbra was chosen as a preferred suite for our company because it allows for a simple client that every member of our workforce could use without feeling overwhelmed with Outlook or Office 365. With Zimbra it has been easier to encourage collaboration with different teams and team members. More experienced team members who need or desire the muscles of Outlook and easily set Zimbra in Outlook.

Pros

Ok lets begin with the good. Zimbra is a suite that comes with the basic calendar, contact list and the ability to create tasks. It allows you to set reminders, tasks and appointments and share them with coworkers quickly. This is perhaps the best features of this software. It is a relatively simple program without all the bells and whistles of the beast known as Outlook. It is the simplicity of this software and security that makes it ideal for our company. We have just migrated to Zimbra and the roll out for the most part was successful. One thing I absolutely love about Zimbra is the ability to set it up in Outlook. This gives me the collaboration within my team using Zimbra and the features I've come to love in Outlook.

Cons

If you are use to the larger and more powerful collaboration suite known as Office 365, you'll be a bit disappointed with Zimbra. Zimbra is not going to search for you, talk for you or keep your emails forever. What you'll find is a simple program that allows you to collaborate with your coworkers and management without the bells and whistles. It can be a disappointment if you're use to a larger suite. Communication is limited to just responding to an email, and emails are set to a 30 day retention limit. You can use a "Zimlet" to capture and save emails however. As stated above being able to incorporate Zimbra into Outlook is a way to overcome some of the limitations of Zimbra.

June 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Zimbra -Messsage and Mail

Easily collaborate with your team and share documents. It's open source, making it simple to use and deploy for businesses of all sizes.

Pros

Documents can be shared instantly. We can use Zimbra desktops to obtain Zimbra experience. Sync your Google, Yahoo!, and Outlook calendars. Zimbra is a BSP hosting partner because of its flexible deployment and virtualization readiness. Vmware Vsphere and KVM hypervisors are also fully supported. In addition, unlike other email companies, Zimbra's technology never locks me out.

Cons

- Setting up the setup server is a little tricky for system administrators; it necessitates linux administrator knowledge. - When one service fails, it can affect others, particularly LDAP services.

May 2018

User Profile Picture

Elizabeth Del Valle from Ministerio del Poder Popular para la Agricultura Productiva y Tierras

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Zimbra Collaboration Suite is a great software that allows us to be communicated effectively.

Zimbra Collaboration Suite has brought me many benefits professionally speaking. Having this software has been a very pleasant experience since we migrated from another mail service to Zimbra. With this things seem simpler. Its interface helps a lot so that any user finds it easy to handle it.

Pros

What I like most about the Zimbra Collaboration Suite is that it groups several services in a single package. To have a list of contacts, a tool to plan activities, a calendar and most importantly: email service, covers all my needs at a professional level. It has been the best investment that has been made in the institution where I have been working for several years.

Cons

I really do not find major flaws in this software. For a low price I think it covers very well the needs that can be presented to us in an office to keep communications.

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Deepak from FIS

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Light weight, Cost-effective & User-Friendly Web-Email Collaboration product

While working in previous organization, came across this web based product, specially due to its open source nature, and easier to learn. It helped a great deal in being up-to-date by tracking official mails.It has all the features that an basic web email client needs to have. Specially during the times we were connected to VPN, it used to easily work even in low or restricted network connectivity.It had easier and user-friendly User Interface, including refresh button, to force reload emails as per convenience.

Pros

1. Specially the optimized nature of it to work on limited or lower network connectivity like VPN, 2. Cost effective and Opensource nature.

Cons

User Interface was laggy sometimes. It has sort of older look and feel compared to other open source email collaboration products. Sometimes it was not able to filter junk mails effectively compared microsoft exchange service.

May 2018

User Profile Picture

Estefanie Arlet from alcaldia de caracas

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Zimbra Collaboration Suite is a very useful communication tool that groups several functions.

Simply Zimbra Collaboration Suite is the best way to stay connected in the institution where I work. The planning of activities as well as the contact information of the different employees is centralized through this program. It is easier to communicate with the Zimbra Collaboration Suite.

Pros

The biggest advantage offered by Zimbra Collaboration Suite is the ability to communicate with other users by integrating various tools such as email, contact book, task planning and calendar in a single software and with a very simple interface.

Cons

Although Zimbra Collaboration Suite is a great software, sometimes it presents operating problems that are resolved by closing and opening the browser from where you work. Another aspect to improve is the design of the interface from the aesthetic point of view. It's simple but unattractive to look at.

August 2019

User Profile Picture

Andrea from Sun Microsystems

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Reliable email manager!

Zimbra is simply outstanding and easy to implement. It can also be used for data storage and sharing.

Pros

Zimbra is our email manager. Our team uses it daily to send and receive emails, it is a very productive solution for internal and external communication. What I like the best about Zimbra are its splendid storage volume and the mobile version. Our colleague has access to emails even when they are traveling or away from the office. Also, it is easy to manage for us and supports all the major platforms. Zimbra is fast and convenient.

Cons

The Mobile Version of Zimbra can really use an upgrade, we can only send messages and cannot attach files. I'm hoping Zimbra would upgrade their phone app very soon.

May 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

A very complete application for professional use

Pros

Easy to use. Available to access anywhere. Fast organization and sharing. Integrates with several other tools.

Cons

The web application works very well. The application for mobile devices has some flaws, among them, the loading of some thumbnails of the files that take a while.

March 2019

shashank from Miracle Software Systems

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

About Zimbra

Firstly we use this software to check the incoming mails from clients or colleagues. The experience is quite good while using this software as it is fast, more secure. It blocks the mails from the third party systems which are not trusted by this zimbra collaboration suite. We can integration this suite with informative applications like Ted, IBM redbooks to view our daily feeds which is quite helpful for the people who are more interested in gaining knowledge. Instead of sending individual messages to the clients or colleagues we send frequently, there is a looping option where we can send so many mails by copying the same people we send the mail often. We can flag the mails in case of important mails and store it in a directory for any necessary information that is contained in the mail. We can use emojis and stickers for friendly interactions with the people within the organization. We have quite a few regular options like Changing the font, font size, sending attachements along with the emails, referring of the previous mails. We can save the incoming mails by enabling the offline mode in case we are using zimbra in our personal computer. There is an inbuilt archive option where we can archive folders of big size for size compression so that it can be easily transmitted through a dedicated network. We can save all our business contacts. My overall experience using this software is so satisfying.

Pros

1) Can be accessed through any browser like Chrome, Firefox, Edge etc.. 2) Can be accessed through Personal Computer and Mobile 3) Inbox folders, addresses, contacts, tasks, calender scheduling dates can be shared among multiple users 4) Can schedule group meetings with a specific date and time using calenders 5) Personal tasks can be assigned or tasks can be assigned in groups. The progress of the task can be specified and the works to do further in regards to the task can also be specified. 6) A specified directory called brief case is available to store our files. 7) Zimlets are available to make the conversations between end to end users in a more formal, more interactive way. 8) Tags can be used to filter out the incoming mails that is to be called out in a particular category.

Cons

I didn't find any Cons. I find the working of this software Swift and smooth with no time lags while loading the incoming mails.

March 2018

JOSE from INCOSTAS

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

It's our business email platform.

We have achieved a centralized and secure administration of the company's email service. We have control of the entire service and it allows us to function efficiently and quickly.

Pros

It is a very stable platform. Its functionality is comparable to other mail service platforms. It is intuitive, it integrates quickly with existing platforms. Using the ActiveSync protocol allows communication in real time, the emails are "push mail" on all devices. You can share and centralize contact information and calendars within the same application. The service configuration options for each email account are quite broad, allowing users with different profiles. The account management console is very simple and easy to understand. I think the "My Maletin" service is a good concept, it allows you to share documents within the same space of the user's account.

Cons

The detailed values of the accounts and specific settings are not available in the administration console. The most complex configurations must be done via command line. The update processes are complex, since they must be done in a controlled environment, because they can produce an error and place the entire service offline. The internal DNS configuration processes are done by command line. User logs should be searched by command line, when they should be available in the web interface query services. There is no way for the graphical administration interface to see the emails that are arriving and which is coming out, for purposes of tracking any particular activity with a user, it is difficult to do so quickly.

April 2019

Howard from KPMG UK

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Business Supplies and Equipment

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

An integral tool for managerial issues

I think that Zimbra is a perfect tool for emailing and management. Despite some issues, it is very easy to implement the service and it helps to communicate with customers and colleagues in the handiest way.

Pros

To my mind, it is great that Zimbra gives an opportunity to share a calendar among colleagues and customers. It helps us to share all important data and meetings at any time. Another plus is a simple and user-friendly design. It is perfect both for qualified users and people who use it for the first time. And of course, emailing itself is on the top-level. It is easy to customize and make the necessary changes. Zimbra is an open source software with an opportunity to send emails, keep contacts, and make notes in the calendar. This service is perfect for remote work because I can keep an eye on everything and be sure, that everyone knows what they need to do.

Cons

I am convinced that Zimbra has more advantages than disadvantages. However, there are some issues to fix. Firstly, filters are hard to use and understand, because they aren’t flexible at all. Secondly, the software itself is quite hard to operate. Despite all pluses, the service still demands some basic IT skills. Thirdly, there might be some problems with data export and back up, because the software depends on servers.

June 2020

Umar from Lumina Datamatics Limited

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

Best Email Server

Its a best application i can say over all a great experience in best price using since 4years no major issue that i experienced till now. It helps to keep the back up of all your important mails avoid spam mails and the best thing it is compatible with multiple devices and browsers.

Pros

Its an open source server for email and web client which is designed for browser based interface.I can say its really cheap compare to other email servers. It helps you to create calendars, create backup of important file and also easy document storage. The compatibility with multiple devices and browser is the best feature of Zimbra.

Cons

Sometimes we get bugs when any new update comes to fix that they really take long time which is the only drawback that i feel till now.

August 2018

User Profile Picture

Tanmay from TomTom

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2018

Simplistic, Cost Efficient approach towards Email communication

- Functionality of sending and receiving mails - Appointments in Calendar - helped me in developing my basing understanding of mail clients - helped me in performing my daily work as our business runs through Zimbra

Pros

1. Open Source - Easy to Configure, Less capital needed, less memory Consuming and Secure 2. simplicity - the user interface is very friendly no need to introduce people on how to use it. 3. Functionality - availability of important basic functions like Calendar, Document Storage and mail backup is already there and is very easy to use . 4. ease - can be configured according to business requirements and use 5. Stability

Cons

1. Can Include many functionalities and add ons. 2. Hard to configure shared mailboxes and DL's 3. Cannot handle huge data and less storage space 4. GUI can be much improved

February 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

this tool has helped me in many ways especially as I use it daily to review my messages .

Pros

* I agree with the following points: 1- The general presentation menu is quite friendly to the eye., as well as its versatility to be used in cell phones. 2- I like the easy installation and the web administrative console which can be used for many admin tasks. The Desktop app is great and easy to use.

Cons

* I agree with the following points: 1- Sometimes there are some glitches in Zimbra, but in most cases clearing cache and restarting browser helps to solve them. 2- Hard to customize the installation, lost data when I needed to migrate to another server. The API uses XML-RPC which is not easy to use, JSON is a lot easier.

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Pedro Luis from BBVA Bancomer

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Simple, versatile and efficient.

Thanks to this software they have improved the relationships in our work team. Its diverse tools allow us to better plan our activities and keep us permanently communicated. Very good.

Pros

It is an economic software and very comfortable to work with. It is an easily accessible platform capable of integrating the most demanded requirements in an institution such as: mail, contacts, shared calendar and online documents. It is quite practical.

Cons

It is not the best option to integrate to mobile devices. I think it has several limitations when it comes to entering the Zimbra from a smart phone when compared to running on a desktop computer.

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Paola from BBVA Bancomer

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

It is a software that groups several functions allowing communication to be more effective

Thanks to Zimbra I have been able to keep better communication with my teammates and at the same time I have improved my ability to plan thanks to the tools that this software has. It has been a great alternative.

Pros

It has a very intuitive interface that makes this software an easy tool to use. In the same way its installation is very simple. Account with contacts, chat and tasks in addition to their email service. It is available for several platforms. It is accessible in terms of price

Cons

One aspect to improve is the interface design. I think it's somewhat antiquated if we compare it with other software of this type in the market.

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Daniel from Oficina Nacional de Contabilidad Publica "ONCOP"

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

I have used zimbra for almost 2 years and it has seemed a solid app for business mail system

A Personal and Work experience

Pros

It has been very adaptable to the needs of my company because it is open source It has been widely accepted by end users due to the application of web standards, which gives the user more reliability in the system. The administration interface has been very simple and functional when creating users, groups and requirements

Cons

The information filtering tools and emails have many details that have to be improved. The modules for the users themselves to change the password of their account have some problems.

August 2018

Carlos J. from Index

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

A very useful e-mail, agenda, and collaboration tool

This is a useful program that solves your communication needs and helps keep you up to date with your emails, your meetings, and your daily tasks

Pros

It doesn't require a program to be installed in your computer, and you can have access to it where ever you need to: Laptop, PC, Tablet, Phone. It can sync your personal calendar in your cell phone and keep you updated about your meetings, Task list, and reminders. You can filter e-mails by folders, and there is also a downloadable local version in case you need to work off-line.

Cons

It does not have a wide variety of themes.

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Nairoby from CANTV

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Free email service

I'm no longer at work where I use Zimbra, but I recommend it 100%

Pros

I met Zimbra when in one of my jobs they demanded the use of free software, which I thought was wonderful, I could not participate in the configuration of the service, however my support colleagues did it without knowing anything about the tool, following the manuals and the broad community that it has; the installation was a success, the next step was to provide users with their mail and a brief explanation of its use, but it really was not necessary since the tool was so intuitive that there was not someone who could not use it, we were all delighted with that we could access our mail from any device with Internet access, be able to schedule calendars and meetings, share email folders with other people, synchronize with any email client.

Cons

Few disadvantages you can have of a product like this, perhaps for those who managed the service could be somewhat complicated at the beginning, but not impossible to manage, since there was no interruption of the service at any time.

March 2018

Gilberto from Incostas

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

It is an innovative email messaging and collaboration suite. It is the free software solution

It is an innovative email messaging and collaboration suite. The powerful Zimbra web client integrates email, contacts, shared calendar

Pros

It is an innovative email messaging and collaboration suite. The powerful Zimbra web client integrates email, contacts, shared calendar. Another of Zimbra's functionality is connectivity with proprietary clients such as Microsoft Outlook. It is the free software solution

Cons

It has a unique password that compromises all services. If the directory server falls, we can not access the services

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Altagracia from Secretaría de Educación Pública

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Zimbra Collaboration Suite groups the functions that I need in a software to plan and communicate

With Zimbra I have improved substantially with respect to task planning and communication with my team. In the same way it has allowed us to save resources since it is a free software that offers a quality service.

Pros

One of Zimbra's positive aspects is that it offers e-mail, calendar, contact book and tasks in a single software, so I should not install other applications to enjoy these tools. Its interface is simple, facilitating its use for anyone who uses this program for the first time.

Cons

I believe that it has limitations when it is handled from smartphones if it is compared with its operation from desktop computers. From the aesthetic point of view it could improve its interface.

August 2019

Anton from W5H Solutions Ltd

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Great for small orgs that can't justify the cost of paid email suites

Pros

Great for small orgs that can't justify the cost of paid email suites but want the features that they may have become used to with Exchange/Outlook. The web app is pretty damned good, and the Zimbra Desktop app for Windows/Mac/etc is serviceable if you need to manage multiple accounts.

Cons

Requirement for extra apps on Android for CalDAV/CardDAV support as ActiveSync is only available in the paid (Network Edition).

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

E-mail made easy

Zimbra E-mail is very, very easy to use. Our little complaints are just nitpicky and isn't serious. We've been using Zimbra e-mail for over 5 years and have not had any major issuer. Our organization plans on keeping this service for years to come.

Pros

It is a basic e-mail system, quick, easy, great way to keep in touch with your staff.

Cons

it looks old, could look better, needs to be updated. I do wish it could handle e-mails with larger files. Desktop notification would be a great addon.

November 2018

Luca from Freelance

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Easy to use and full of features

I used Zimbra in my previous company and I liked the suite very much because it offered almost anything you'd need from an on-premise mail server. It also had some extra features like its own cloud support to share documents and files amongst users. The paid version also came with the connector for Outlook allowing users keep using their standard mail client application. I never had any issue to configure my email account on my mobile phones either through the MS Exchange protocol compatibility. It also comes with a rich web interface. Now it should also integrate a chat/conference and a document collaboration features but they were not available yet when I was using Zimbra so I can't tell anything about them.

Pros

Easy for the users It has its own cloud-like file sharing feature It works on almost any kind of device through standalone clients or rich web client.

Cons

Being Linux based it might be a bit harder to set-up and configure for Microsoft oriented admins

February 2018

David from ASCC

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Great collaboration and easy to use

This is a great software that makes collaboration a breeze!

Pros

This software is great for email and overall collaboration. It is easy to use and has helpful features. This is a great tool to keep up with our teams and makes collaboration a breeze.

Cons

I would like some more flexibility in the customization of the email. It is straight forward and simple but I would like to be able to customize a bit more.

February 2018

Yezid from Incostas

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Powerfull stable and integrated email platform

Pros

The Zimbra platform integrates open source apps in a very stable email application, Administration web gui is very complete and easy to use. Webmail client app is very complete for our users and customers.

Cons

Being a ver nice email application, at least the Network edition must be more compatible with platforms like MAC OS, this would be the point that make Zimbra to win users.

June 2020

Helen from Forida Limited

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Good for daily use

I am happy with the service, and would like to continue purchasing this service.

Pros

I enjoy the most is the filing style in Outlook is kept in Zimbra. I am an Outlook user, and I have several folders for storing the emails with project name filters. These filing ways are saved, and can be seen in Zimbra the website.

Cons

If the auto-filing options are available for the online services, that will help me out a lot. Currently, if I use the online services for a long period of time, the auto-filing option will be disabled.

May 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Community Edition of Zimbra - High bar to jump but the price is right!

Experience has been good to excellent.

Pros

The open source nature of a sophisticated multi-node email server can't be matched. Free??? This is great.

Cons

There is a high technological bar. One must be conversant with LDAP and understand how to make that run to properly implement the server. It is not for the faint of heart technologically.

June 2019

User Profile Picture

Hemant from Halo Media works

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Photography

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Good software to increase productivity

My overall experience is good. Actually very good in terms of value for money. I would recommend for others. Organizations that very big can afford others, but I think market segment for zimbra is different

Pros

Easy to organize things. I like the way you can tag and create a note for yourself

Cons

Sometimes it lags, maybe because I use browser based rather than the dextop app

August 2019

User Profile Picture

Amir from 11Seas

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Best and fast server for Emailing.

In short, Zimbra is a perfect tool to stay connected and can be used in a firm where you need to send and receive information. It is fast and you can send email to multiple contacts. Zimbra customer service is also very good.

Pros

Fast and reliable. Multiple options like attachments, font and color change. Sending email to multiple contacts at the same time.

Cons

User interface should be more eye catchy. Sometimes, we face trouble sending emails and page needs to be refreshed

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Great program for non expensive web client

Pros

Great for company that does not want expensive email web client. Does everything you want in an email client. Never had system crash and is pretty decent.

Cons

Not an exchange. restriction list is a bit weird. not easy to migrate to a newer version. backups of emails is a bit difficult.

March 2019

Calvin from TaxHawk, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2019

Not bad, but not perfect either.

Overall, it's not bad and it's much better than having everything on google's servers.

Pros

It's nice to have the entire company on the same (non-google) calendar and email.

Cons

The server-side email filters aren't robust enough and setting them up is not very user friendly.

April 2018

Randy from Houghton Chemical Corporation

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

My experience has been very positive.

Pros

We have been using Zimbra for over 8 years and have been very happy with it . Good functionality for the price.

Cons

Our current version does not allow individual users to add/change distribution lists. This function has to be performed by the admin.

October 2017

Peter from Anglo-American University

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

All my colleagues and I use Zimbra everyday for our communication and cooperation.

Pros

I like the implementation of various tools in Zimbra - I use mail, chat, calendar and briefcase in my everyday work.

Cons

Sometimes there are some glitches in Zimbra, but in most cases clearing cache and restarting browser helps to solve them.

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Email but a lot more

Pros

Fast webmail, email functionality works great, Clean interface and easy to use. Also has the calendar and portfolio features which is great addons.

Cons

Search function in email can be a bit limited.

February 2018

User Profile Picture

Rafael from INGENIERÍA DE CONSULTA INCOSTAS, SA

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2018

Personally, I prefer Microsoft Exchange email, especially for the download of attachments.

It really has not brought me many benefits since they imposed it on me as an email at work. I much preferred the presentation and management that the hotmail had a few years ago.

Pros

The general presentation menu is quite friendly to the eye., as well as its versatility to be used in cell phones.

Cons

The tricky process associated with downloading attachments compared to emails such as gmail or firefox.

December 2018

User Profile Picture

Branislav from NUCLEAR CORP LTD

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Cannot imagine daily routine without Zimbra

Pros

Cannot imagine daily routine without Zimbra. I using Zimbra for many years and I'm totally thankful for this toolkit.

Cons

I dont think there are any disadvantages for me using Zimbra.

September 2019

Lauren from Custom Care Physical Therapy, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2019

Helpful way to stay connected.

I have enjoyed using Zimbra, it took a little bit to get used to the format, but overall it's great!

Pros

I like that the entire Fyzical franchise emails pop up when I want to compose a new email. It is helpful to know how is available.

Cons

The read messages do not drop down to low priority, so if I leave one unread so I can come back to it. The message gets buried in the inbox.

Reasons for Choosing Zimbra Collaboration Suite

The franchise goes through a lengthy process of deciding which software to offer franchisees.

July 2019

User Profile Picture

Yasaru from Lanka Communication Services

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Totally comfortable with end user

We are providing mail services and also we use this internally. We have entire control of this. managing and using zimbra is such a good experience to do both user and admin roll.

Pros

In back end, It has many functional options like configuring email for an organization with such simple steps. As a user we have bulk messages options and variety of using this makes good value what we expected.

Cons

spam messages we got and handling those messages , security level.

March 2019

User Profile Picture

John from ICT Autority Kenya

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

An effective communication tool

Pros

Zimbra is an effective emailing tool which is customization depending on the needs of an organization. It is easy to use and support several languages making it vital for organizations that operate in different countries. Its versatility enables it to work in diverse environments.

Cons

For big organizations, it is difficult to configure and set-up. It also requires an active support team for managing user issues such as passwords.

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

I use it daily, and rarely did have a problem with it.

A resilient software, which makes me fell confident when sending/receiving e-mails.

Pros

The interface is beatiful, and intuitive as well. Since I can organise my new arriven messages, I feel good.

Cons

The zimlet for PGP could be improved. I can have only up to 10 public keys recorded. This is fairly few.

April 2019

User Profile Picture

Sujith from ZI Systech Private Limited.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

User friendly and economical suite for business needs

Pros

The best thing that you would like to have in the suite it is email interface. It is so user friendly and loaded with all the features that you might find it hard to have among other suites. You can Import your email history, organize your historical and present data with filters and set-up meeting slots with just one click.

Cons

Haven't tried any apart form this , so it won;t be justice to add my remarks to this

February 2017

Carlos from Fundación Instituto de Ingeniería

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Trustworthy

If you need an e-mail server, which you can use along with software like thunderbird, and able to manage calendars (work meetings), easy to use then you are in the indicated option.

February 2021

Tigran from ART advisors

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

Typical email interface

I think it is fine. Similar functionality to the Google suit.

Pros

I liked the fact that one can run it on a browser, making it compatible with any operating system. Email categorization with folders makes it easier to organize correspondence than Google mail.

Cons

It is somewhat unpolished and could produce strange from-end errors, but besides that there is not much to complain.

September 2020

Gabby from Academy of Medical Surgical Nurses

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Zimbra or Outlook?

Overall I enjoy using Zimbra. I find it easy to use, and I like some of the features that they overall, but overall I don't find it the best email software out there.

Pros

So, our company actually uses both Zimbra and Outlook. When it comes to Zimbra, I don't really have any complaints. It is easy to use. They have a chat feature that we recently started using within our company, and we are able to also store documents such as PTO policies and other important company documents.

Cons

Although I don't have any major complaints necessarily about Zimbra, I will say it almost seems "old" to me. Like we are using an old fashioned software. There aren't too many features within Zimbra, either, as compared to competitors such as Outlook.

June 2018

User Profile Picture

Ronny Leal - from Consultec-TI

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

This was the mail server that existed in an institution where he worked in certain occasions

Corporate email

Pros

Very good option for an institutional corporate email since it offers the basic functions for the management of work

Cons

It is very limited in certain options that have large email servers even in the capacity of shipments

Displaying 1 - 50 of 72 reviews