User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(15)

15

4 stars

(16)

16

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "I like that you write cookbook where you define, how your virtual machine should work. It makes deployments easy and everything run as smooth as it should."

  • "One of the best configuration management tools available in market, because of availability of wide varieties of extensions it helps you to write cookbooks for any kind of platforms "

  • "i have many registered nodes/system which i need to manage and run different scripts chef allows me to download scripts/cookbook from supermarket and i can execute the, on specific nodes."

  • Cons

  • "Nothing to dislike since it works as it should - uses Ruby for cookbook defining and i like this product."

  • "It can be difficult to track infrastructure as code if you have engineers making changes manually, and setting up permissions can be difficult at times."

  • "Templating language can be a bit hard to learn especially for those not already familiar with the Ruby programming language."

Browse Chef Enterprise Automation Stack Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -18 of 32 results

April 2019

User Profile Picture

Nidhi from IES Interactive Entertainment Studios

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

A tool for automation of complete infrastructure.

Chef is one of the best and simplest tool for configuration management and automation for code infrastructures. Chef made the deployment of 500+ hybrid environment of different projects which makes it simple with the help of automation.

Pros

Chef is a complete automation tool which help us to build the efficient infrastructure of code. It also helps to simplify the configuration management, monitoring and deployment. The build in templates for cloud and on-premises help to setup the configuration. Integration with different cloud and OS make it dynamic to flexible. Chef is one of the best and easiest tool for configuration management. The event feed provide the one stop notification for our all configurations. The customized compliance help to generate the reports for audits.

Cons

Chef needs to provide the simple wizards to setup the master & client nodes for different environment. Documentation search engine should be more enhanced. Chef should also come with the PUSH configuration as it is always recommended in such case when our infrastructure is scaling to frequently.

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Gurleen from Tech Mahindra

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Chef - The Configuration Mangement with power of DevOps

Chef is helping us to configure the build and deploy for the different server at the same time. Chef help us to implement the true DevOps environment for the development and product delivery.

Pros

Chef is the configuration management tool. It helps in automation build, deploys and manages the CI pipeline and also provides the collaboration and makes clean and easy way for release. The Open Source code make it transparent and easy to debug and customize it. Chef is the best tool to pick form the CM DevOps option as it has the most features that need a CI pipeline need it at the time of development and delivery. Chef is highly scalable with high availability as backup master node is also there.

Cons

Implementation is the most complex part. There should be wizards for the same to make it simple and easy. Master Node can be configured on linux only, So it makes it compulsory to know LINUX while setup of master node. ChefBook is not as easy as yaml scripting language.

February 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2020

Good automation tool

Happy to use it for automatic deployment when someone else did the hard stuff to configure it.

Pros

It offered a lot of automation capability, which for the rigth people unlocks deployment of the applications and it's written in Ruby.

Cons

The documentation was a bit scarce, and the available resources online were not that great at the time I tried this.

December 2020

Mehak from To The New

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

DevOps tool to manage application configuration.

Used it with a large application with multiple modules depending on each other and multiple servers and maintaining the configuration and keep them in sync would have been a really difficult task without the help of Chef.

Pros

The automation capability of Chef makes it very easy to integrate CI/CD pipelines. With a wide range of extensions present for Chef make is compatible with any kind of platform and the developer is able to write cookbooks for managing large numbers of serves and configuration.

Cons

There is no web console UI to update or manage the configurations. Chef is a very powerful tool so it is a resource-intensive tool and the code base is also large so not very suitable for small applications.

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Vandana from Deloitte India

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Chef - A DevOps Tool to manage your all configuration.

We manage the application and services so efficiently with it. The chef-solo also helps in learning and implementing the things. On production we use client/server mode to make it more productive. The elastic search indexing help the client node to handle the query in more efficient manner.

Pros

Chef is a powerful configuration management tool that manages and helps in automating the infrastructure with the advance software methodology . It helps in managing the timeline for release. Chef also provide the template infrastructure to configure the module according to the enterprise and DevOps standard. It really helps in deploying the project with the automation. It is written in Ruby and Erlang which run so efficiently on servers without using the must resources. The DevOps methodology helps in making a streamline for configuration and maintenance.

Cons

Implementation of Chef and opting the DevOps methodology is one of the complex part of it. Master Node can be only configurable in Linux\Unix platform. Learning curves are sharp but the brief documentation help and never let you stuck in any step.

October 2018

User Profile Picture

Sanchita from Amdocs

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Chef - A robust configuration management DevOps tool

We are using it in our production and Unit Test environment. The automation provide by the DevOps tool is really excellent. We have jump into the Chef Enterprise edition as it really helping us from so many years.

Pros

Chef is the one of the robust configuration management tool compared to the current market option. Chef is the DevOps engineers first choice as it is having a large community in the current dedicated market place. Highly scalability feature of the tool make it operation engineer first choice as it make possible to deploy the system with zero outage with the help of docker. Open source code provide the great transparency in the tool. Chef play a vital role in the DevOps software lifecycle as it manage the configuration and help to provide the automatic lifecycle.

Cons

Installation process is bit tricky, specially at the time of configuring master server for it. Master server can be setup on Linux/Unix machine. Chef need code based knowledge for scripting the tool which make it little complex. Documentation is also very large it must come with and fast guide.

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Stands the test of time

Pros

We've been using Chef in production for 7 years now. As other technologies have entered into the scene, Chef has continued to evolve and keep up with the latest trends. It remains a solid choice for configuration management and infrastructure deployment, whether on virtual machines, or containers.

Cons

Templating language can be a bit hard to learn especially for those not already familiar with the Ruby programming language.

August 2018

User Profile Picture

Abhinav from OATI

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Chef - The Configuration Magement Tool

Chef is configuration management tool which is helping in automation of deployment process by which we doing the same task with less amount of time with zero errors as its completely follow automatic process.

Pros

Chef is the one of the highly popular tool for configuration management tool for DevOps practice. Deploying of 100s severs with a automation process with zero human error can be possible by chef. Many MNCs and other organization are jumping to devOps with help of Chef. Its highy scalable with high availability of it as its having the provision of backup master agent server. Its design to deploy, configure and manage servers. Source Code is also available of GIT as its open source software tool.

Cons

Chef Master server can be configured to linux or unix, but client can be on wimdows also. Setup process is also lengthy then tool named Ansible. As it have to install for both master and client server to make it work.

December 2019

User Profile Picture

Darshan from IBM

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Automate your deployment using Chef

Chef is being widely used by most of the enterprise companies to automate remote management, server deployments

Pros

One of the best configuration management tools available in market, because of availability of wide varieties of extensions it helps you to write cookbooks for any kind of platforms

Cons

Agent based solution makes it less favorite for end-users who like agent less CI tools like ansible, salt stack

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Amazingly powerful configuration management tool

Pros

Chef is probably the best solution for enterprise configuration management. The language is very easy to use if you are familiar with Ruby and even if you are not the documentation is very easy to follow.

Cons

It is very resource intensive to perform Chef runs so is not very suited to low capacity server or VPS's. So its more suited to large enterprise where there are sufficient resources available.

May 2019

Emanuele from CSI Piemonte

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

A robust platform for devops

I use chef to automate the process of installing and configuring middleware like Apache httpd, Jboss EAP, etc. with full proficiency in terms of time and quality.

Pros

Chef is a powerful platform which, once setup, permits to achieve a big efficiency on installation and configuration of complex middleware and software components, as well on deploying artefacts.

Cons

Lack of full retro compatibility when switching to new versions of software. Long learning curve is also a con.

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Amazing VM customizer and config tool

I have used chef to automate virtual machine deployment process, config setup for different environments.

Pros

I like that you write cookbook where you define, how your virtual machine should work. It makes deployments easy and everything run as smooth as it should.

Cons

Nothing to dislike since it works as it should - uses Ruby for cookbook defining and i like this product.

January 2018

Biswajit from Yahoo Inc

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

Its nice to have such transparent configuration management tool

We made our hardware infrastructure much easier to manage through chef.

Pros

Chef is an open source tool for configuration management, focused on the developer side for its user base. Chef operates as a master-client model, with a separate workstation needed to control the master. It's based in Ruby, with pure Ruby used for most elements you write. The Chef design is transparent and based on following the instructions it's given, which means that you'll have to make sure your instructions are clear.Chef is good for development-focused teams and environments. It's good for enterprises looking for a more mature solution for a heterogeneous environment.

Cons

1. The learning curve is steep if you're not already familiar with Ruby and procedural coding. 2. It's not a simple tool, which can lead to large code bases and complicated environments. 3. Doesn't support push functionality.

December 2019

User Profile Picture

Trang from FPT Software

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Chef provide a center location for continues manage infrastructure

We use Chef to manage our system consist of multiple Components deployed in AWS EC2 and Local with Auto Scale and frequency deploy our new code with updating our Chef cookbook and push to the Chef server. With Chef we could make our infrastructure as code and have consistent between our different environment Dev, Test, UAT or Prod.

Pros

With Chef we are easy to manage a large scale remote VMs in cloud or On-premise. We are able to completely bootstrap a newly added VM into our system remotely including software install, Application deployment and startup. The upgrade software version of deploy a new version of code for all VMs is handled from the Chef server with just update its cookbook. Have numerous provided cookbook for almost solution and we just need to modify it

Cons

Chef cookbook syntax is quite complex for understanding and it does not have UI graphic to know the progress of executing and error of Cookbook in each destination nodes

May 2017

Krishna from Workday

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2017

Great for building systems the way we want them to be.

Pros

The best thing about Chef is that we can force servers to have the files we want on them with the content that we want and make sure that packages are installed/updated without much effort.

Cons

If you decide a file/package should not be placed/installed on a server anymore you have to explicitly state that you want to remove it. Deciding not to install it is not enough. Also, the unit tests have a pretty steep learning curve.

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Andrey from Atos IT Solutions and Services A/S

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

CM for DevOps

Works great for automated cloud deployments

Pros

Easy to implement, learn and use on daily basis for Configuration Management.

Cons

WebIU does not allow modifucation of configurations

March 2018

Tyler from Flying-S

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Satisfactory

Pros

Really liked that the ability that it allowed scaling to be done relatively easily and if I had any questions I got a response back quickly.

Cons

Set up did take some time and using their API. No complaints other than that. They are also very friendly with support questions and answers.

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Configuration management on fingertips

Pros

Mostly used for deploying on unit test systems(within 30 minutes) Automated software installation Simultaneously review the changes applied to servers

Cons

Not powerful as compared to ansible Training recommended(should have basic coding skills)

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

A good tool for management machine configurations and tracking infrastructure.

Pros

Once you configure your CLI and learn your away around setting up cookbooks and environments, it is easy to check in on the state of your infrastructure and perform updates and actions across many machines.

Cons

It can be difficult to track infrastructure as code if you have engineers making changes manually, and setting up permissions can be difficult at times.

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Gets the job done with a minimal amount of setup and commands.

Pros

I like that I can configure an entire Oracle middleware environment within a matter of hours, instead of it taking days. This works well for our dev/qa/prod environments.

Cons

Not very flexible with Windows configuration, there is also not a lot of documentation out there for specific Windows configurations.

April 2018

User Profile Picture

Nupur from ICICI Bank

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Banking

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

best devops tool

Pros

when it comes to configuration managementa nd maintianing same dependencies in various system chef can be used to write recepis and pulling them on the nodes.

Cons

The concept of chef server, node and workstation requires a lot of setup to start with.The process can be made more automated.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Server configuration automation and reporting with interface options.

gets the job done, medium ramp-up time to learn the syntax, plenty of features to make it worthwhile to use.

Pros

chef offers a CLI and GUI to report on fleets of deployed assets and configurations assigned to them.

Cons

getting at individual attributes and hosts can be cumbersome to parse from the command output.

April 2018

Abhishek from IIITB

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

good for CM

Pros

it helps in creating different nodes for different envronment and make runlist for each of them seaparately which makes configuration management easy.

Cons

setting up the environment is difficult and gives many errors which can be avoided by bringing more automation to the process.

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Versatile product

Overall versatile and easy to use,takes time to deploy, customization may require scripting knowledge

Pros

Extendable with scripting language, easy configuration files

Cons

Other platforms have better pre configured deployment scripts

May 2018

Vipallav from AVEVA

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

nice for configuration managenet

Pros

good to register nodes, then install cookbook sfrom supermarket. ready to use cookbooks simoly deploy them on registered nodes.

Cons

the architecture of chef server, chef client and chef nodes is difficult to understand for beginners ,Also it have lot of authentication access formalties for setup.

April 2018

vijay from ebay

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Good configuration management tool

Pros

Chef is widely used in industry and hence has very good documentation and support. It has been designed for programmers mindset, very convient to write instructions in ruby. It can scale to large environment without much issues.

Cons

It has pull mechanism and schedules. Hence changes are not immediately observed. It has some learning curve. I found the setup is little bit complicated.

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

chef alows me to configure management

Pros

i have many registered nodes/system which i need to manage and run different scripts chef allows me to download scripts/cookbook from supermarket and i can execute the, on specific nodes.

Cons

Chef is a complicated software, though it have very huge capabilities but seting up chef architecture require great level of knowledge in devops .

November 2018

Chirag from Grab

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Best Node Manager Tool

Pros

This tool has an amazing command line tool which is knife which makes it really easy to connect with different nodes and deploy the containers and files on them. It have really great client and server architecture. Many scripts are already available ready to use.

Cons

Understanding the tool is tough call in the beginning but once we get the basic terminology and installation clear, this tool is a great fun to use.

May 2017

MOSHE from WORKDAY

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2017

CONFIGURATION is great!

Pros

I love this software! Its so easy to use. The support team is always on par and able to help me out.

May 2018

User Profile Picture

Raul from Connexient

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Very good ruby based CD and CI tool

Pros

It has cloud configuration and automation, it includes management of security, you don't have to be a DevOps to use it, it has a world wide community. Eventhough it is Open Source is really stable, it offers analytics and reporting.

Cons

It is some how difficult to learn so the initial configurations and process are a bit hard, the delivery process has to be as canonical as posible, its documentation is not in one single container, and it could be difficult to find and review.

May 2018

Sanket from IIITB

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

The main thing I liked about chef was that (as I am beginner), they have interactive tutorials.

I used it for horizontal scalability in my project. I created dedicated webserver and database server using chef.

Pros

1) Easy and user-friendly user interface. 2) Configurations are quite easy. 3) Easy availability of various cookbooks on cookbook hub

Cons

1) Some things from tutorial are missing like project can be used directly to create docker image and consequently container, later which can be used for chef-node.

January 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

nice too for a server admin

Pros

the documentation is very good, I find a lot of informations there besides what is available in other places.

Cons

I for my self hate that mac is not supported as I do have to work on mac from time to time, so you are tied to windows and linux only.