What are Ansys Granta Selector users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Ansys Granta Selector software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.5

12 Reviews

5
6
4
6
3
0
2
0
1
0
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"For most of the commands, it has a kind of built-in artificial intelligence that knows what you want it to do without you telling it."
  • icon"Ease of learning and implementing. Probably the easiest CAD software in the market."
  • icon"Direct Modeling, Easy of use. Part programming and automation."
  • icon"Some things are a little difficult to do in SpaceClaim. For example editing of curved surfaces and other none uniform surfaces can be tricky."
  • icon"Occasionally has trouble when handling large asssemblies. Software's way of handling imported parts/constantly resourcing them can be tedious."

Jump to:

Browse all Ansys Granta Selector Reviews

  • Have you used Ansys Granta Selector and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 12 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 12 of 12 reviews

Anonymous

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2018

Simplest, easiest to use direct modeler with compatibility to all other mainstream CAD tools

The most 'non obvious' benefit was the ability to import a CAD file from multiple sources and save back out as a JT file in different JT standard release formats. This is FAR simpler than using many of the various translation tools we have to translate from CAD to a neutral format to JT.

Pros

SpaceClaim is so easy to use, even a lowly manager with no recent design experience can utilize it to produce rudimentary designs in record time. Direct modeling, and the ability to import from a wide range of CAD tools, as well as export in many of those same formats, makes reuse of existing designs a snap. With four basic sets of commands, almost anything you can imagine can be layed out in at least a preliminary state for your 'real' designers to complete using the tool of their choice. Or better yet, they can use SpaceClaim to finish the design in an extremely short time.

Cons

The interface and command set is so simple, I always feel like I am missing something. If you can't think in 3D, this my not be the tool for you. Drafting is NOT a strong suit, because SpaceClaim is all about design.

Turan

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

For Designers

Pros

Direct Modeling, Easy of use. Part programming and automation

Cons

There is not fundamental cons. Some functionalities need improvents like drawting etc

Reasons for switching to Ansys Granta Selector

SpaceClaim is designer oriented software. You just need to concentrate to your model. I think this is very powerful

Hanna

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

Spaceclaim Review

Overall, the software is good but I prefer other software with better assembly features.

Pros

I like that this software has features that allows for easy deletion of model parts. With other modeling software I have used in the past, problems arise when a component is changed or deleted. This software does not have this issue because it is not as strict. It is user friendly and easy to learn.

Cons

I don't like certain aspects of this software, the mating in the assembly section is sub-par. I also do not like that you have to undo a bunch of steps to change a component of the part being modeled.

Mandy

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2017

Direct Editing 3D Software

This software allows you to import virtually any CAD file into your CAD system, whether it was created in your CAD program or not. You can make changes, create drawings and export the revised file in the native format you need. Having the capability to modify any CAD file is huge! Can you imagine the time savings? Don't think of it as a replacement CAD software that you have to learn, think of it as an added tool which allows quick and accurate modifications to CAD files. We use this software in our service bureau because of the time efficiency for creating STL files for 3D printing. You can't beat the time savings of 50%!

Pros

Ease of use

Cons

Can't really think of any cons on the software itself. The only thing I would say is that you have to purchase the software license along with additional modules which allow for various native file formats to be exported.

Dino

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2019

Easy to Use - Great Functionality

I use SpaceClaim to design everything from simple plastic parts to highly complex mechanical systems. I still consider myself an intermediate user as there is much functionality that I have yet to utilize.

Pros

I use SpaceClaim because it has a simple user interface and performs almost every function you may need in a Mechanical 3D CAD tool. The learning curve on this software is very short when compared to SolidWorks.

Cons

Some things are a little difficult to do in SpaceClaim. For example editing of curved surfaces and other none uniform surfaces can be tricky.

James

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Design

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2018

I've used CAD software since the very first CAD software became available for personal computers.

The main benefit is the freedom to create without having to think too much about the technicalities of using the software.

Pros

Extremely intuitive! I started using the software without learning anything about the software. If you already know CAD software you can just start using it without looking at the manual! It's that easy to use! For most of the commands, it has a kind of built-in artificial intelligence that knows what you want it to do without you telling it. It can import just about anything and edit it just like it was created natively. You can do 3D edits in 2D section view, which is extremely useful when working on a complicated design. It can do things with faceted data that no other software can do, which makes it extremely useful for doing anything related to 3D printing, reverse engineering or working with 3D scan data.

User Profile

Michael

Verified reviewer

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2017

Easy to learn and use quickly to produce quality results

It is quick and simple to put out production drawings and files for CAMing

Pros

The software is simple. It is easy to quickly create accurate 3D designs and create drawings for production use. It is direct edit so making changes to imported data is quick and easy.

Cons

For some functionality you need to buy third-party addons. The drawings can take a bit of work to get looking professional but once you have the settings correct it is not too bad.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

Perfect for Intelligent Materials

This is my favorite material selection tool in ANSYS MDS.

Pros

The fact that it allows me to make smart material choices make it my most desirable materials selector. I have never seen a material selector that has such wide range libraries of comprehensive materials for simulation until ANSYS GRANTA Selector! Materials come with datasheet views of all attributes and properties making it easy to choose the exact material required for simulation. I like the fact that I can also filter materials based on the manufacturing process that may be required.

Cons

I am yet not seen anything undesirable about ANSYS GRANTA Selector. However, it can be overwhelming at first, especially going through the datasheets of materials.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2019

Great modeler product in the market

Trying to create various CAD models and using them for simulation purposes

Pros

The fact that anyone with little or no experience can use this product and the ease with which models can be created and simualted. A picture can be imported and created into a CAD model which is greatly useful

Cons

THe fact that the interface is still ebing developed and each release enhances it. Also the number of turorials available are quire less given that its new.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

Great CAD software for the price

Pros

Easy to use and intuitive interface, features many of the same tools that other top CAD software has. Able to provide quite a bit of extra funcitonality in the form of add ons and packages.

Cons

Occasionally has trouble when handling large asssemblies. Software's way of handling imported parts/constantly resourcing them can be tedious.

ARAVINDA

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

July 2020

Easiest CAD software. But limited.

Its a great software for quickly visualizing a part/assembly. But I need to create many variations of the designs as I am in full time development, which was not easy with this software.

Pros

Ease of learning and implementing. Probably the easiest CAD software in the market.

Cons

Not history based. Creating variations of a design is difficult.

Reasons for switching to Ansys Granta Selector

There does not seem to be continuous development of Alibre software.

Wesley

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2017

Spaceclaim is awesome

This product is easy to use, and is a great value for the money. Learned how to use this in a few days. Awesome Product!!!

Showing 1 - 12 of 12 reviews
Ansys Granta Selector

Ansys Granta Selector

4.5/5 out of 12 reviews
PriceDemo